Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Nevada State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who enjoys a smaller campus than an ordinary university. Also great for students who want to learn and further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask the professors questions, they love to answer any question one may have. Take notes and study hard.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending Nevada State College. It is in a safe environment and it is a fun campus to attend school at.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers at Nevada State College work one-on-one with the students any time available. They help students understand the criteria and are wonderful to work with.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is very personal and comfortable campus. The community seems to be peaceful. The student to teacher ratio is better than a larger university.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school, although on three different campuses, is extremely close-knit and safe. We have round-the-clock security guards who keep our grounds safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Nevada State is extremely affordable, especially compared to the other colleges and universities available in Nevada.

    What to do for fun

    Nevada State College has a wide selection of student groups and social gatherings available.

    Food and Dining

    There could be a bigger selection of food on campus, however, there are plenty of places to eat around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are amazing at NSC! The professors offer challenge after challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with the three campuses as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is an affordable, close-knit college. The student body is incredibly friendly. The staff is understanding and will take however much time is needed to answer whatever questions you may have.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a moment in which I feel like my safety has been compromised under any circumstances. Each and every day on campus I feel completely safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Let me put this into perspective for you. I was looking at UNLV and Nevada State College, deciding which would be my best option for attending in pursuit of an education degree. The four year tuition at UNLV was going to be around $27,000+, whereas the four year tuition for Nevada State was going to be around $15,000 for the same number of credits and four year program!

    What to do for fun

    I have lived the majority of my life near North Las Vegas and I make the drive to Henderson twice a week (it is definitely worth it!). So, I would not be able to accurately discuss entertainment options that are around Henderson, that is other than many large and beautiful parks along with a few exciting parades that take place each year.

    Food and Dining

    Our food and dining consists of a few vending machines in each of the campus buildings along with a microwave. You are able to bring your own food and heat it up from lunch or dinner, or there are many fast food restaurants and a Starbucks less than two miles away from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have any dorms or housing but there are homes and apartments as close as being less than a block away from the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My entire life I have gone to magnet/academy schools taking advanced courses and pushing myself to exceed the standards, so coming to Nevada State not only was I prepared, but I have never felt overly stressed about any classes syllabus and academic material. Many of the required core classes taught material that I remember taking in my honors and advanced high school courses. This is not to say their education provided is lacking in any way, because that is far from the truth.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective/new students would be to go down to the Henderson campus and take a tour, let an advisor tell you about the school and talk to some of the attending students. I also recommend to spend the time looking into your possible classes and sit down with an academic advisor to look through your major's class requirements, because they already know which classes are offered in each semester and you can have a paper showing what the exact classes are that you need to take each semester from day one until graduation.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College offers many course directed for students in numerous majors and all the class sizes are wonderfully small. The campus is beautiful and kept up, it's also small enough to never get too lost yet large enough to feel comfortable and welcoming. The professors are wonderful and all care about their students and their students' achievement.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is mostly kept clean and safe, there are a few safety issues. Two that I find disturbing, one problem is that in the Liberal Arts and Sciences building the lab rooms are equipped with emergency water stations (Shower, eye flush) and a fire blanket, however if the fire blanket is kept in the back, locked up where only a professor may get to it and the water stations do not have proper drainage so if they are used it will flood the room and school and cause electrocution because of the power cords and plugs surrounding the stations.

    Greek Life

    Nevada State College does not have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    One thing NSC tries to do is create clubs and activities based on student interests. Each semester may have different clubs, however if you have an idea for a club that is not already a club you may suggest it and become the club organizer and make it happen.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is a great environment, small class sizes which allows one on one with professors. It is very great for those who need hands on learning, its almost like being in a high school class but with harder work.

    What to do for fun

    At NSC, there are student organizations, such as bowling nights, flag football. photography, newspaper and a number of events throughout the semester. However, due to the lack of advertisement, the events do not always have big turn outs, but still fun non the less for those who attend.

    Food and Dining

    Another thing that the college lacks is food/dining. The campus itself does not have food services for students. If you are at school, you either need to bring your own lunch, settle for vending machine snacks, go down the hill to the gas station's convenient store or drive a few miles to the closet fast food or restaurant of your choice.

    Dorm Life

    Nevada State College does not have student housing. Therefore if you are from out of state or unable to stay where you currently are, you will be required to find your own housing that is affordable to you and convenient for your commute. However there is an apartment complex right by the main campus that is walking distance, less than a mile.

    Academic Rigor

    When considering the size of the school, and the low high school GPA requirement to get in, I feel that they expect students to get too high of grades for upper division classes. I understand that they want you to do good in your college life, but when accepting low GPA students, they should not expect their GPA to suddenly be 4.0 in college, which is harder than High School. I feel that NSC does not completely take into consideration the leniency of the admission requirements when they set GPA standards for upper division programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're currently contemplating what college to go to, NSC is a school you may consider. My advice to you would be to make sure the program you are interested in pursuing has a good graduation rate and a personally attainable GPA requirement to get into the program of interest. NSC is a great school, but it is newer and has a lot of kinks to work out, one being limited space in upper division classes (i.e. nursing school)

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is a small college that is easy to get into, but ha slow graduation rates. Getting into classes at times are difficult and can make your education last longer than four years, especially for those who do not take summer classes. However, it is a growing school and is very affordable.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club that a person wants, that person can ask and the board and senate can vote. If it passes that person can start a club in that area.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a tutoring room that anyone can schedule an appointment. It is free if the student pays for classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few sports teams and club and there are also a few special days during the year. Like Halloween or a Luau.

    Food and Dining

    They are making a cafeteria right now during the summer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club and get interactive with students, that way you won't feel like a stranger. I just joined the chess club which is small, but I love playing chess and I am trying to make the club bigger in attendance.

    In three sentences

    I just started interacting with some of the clubs and organizations. I just got voted in as one of the senators and hope that I can make a difference. Nevada State College is a small, but nice college to attend.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are the first person in their family to attend college. NSC gears itself to this category of student.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines only.

    Academic Rigor

    The pre-Nursing program (anatomy & physiology, chemistry) is difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in the Nursing program, stay competitive with a high overall GPA and pre-requisite GPA.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College (NSC) has small class sizes. It has a good nursing program. But state budget cuts have made the nursing program half the size it was a few years ago.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I study but there is lots to do. Mt Charlston is close and there is always area 51.

    Food and Dining

    Fast food is the staple for the college student unless they are studying to be a chef.

    Dorm Life

    Never done dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    If organized correctly the rigor is a snap.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research for grants and loans and compare them to what you can pay now in comparison to later.

    In three sentences

    This college is well organized. Very helpful personal. Many classes to choose from.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located in the middle of nowhere. You will need to drive a bit far to get food or to reach a shopping center.

    Bang for the buck

    The program needs to be more organized. The campus needs to be developed more and there needs to be an increase on student activities.

    What to do for fun

    Students can join a club on campus and sports teams. The student government occasionally holds dances during special holidays so that students can get together.

    Food and Dining

    The school lacks a dining facility, but I think they plan on building a food court in the near future.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitory living space is available.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Nevada State College is not difficult as long as you go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest future students to find a college counselor and keep up to date with their student account. Students should always get a second opinion and seek multiple advisers in order to receive the correct information based on their specific program.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College has a wonderful staff of professors. The campus is small and easy to learn. Unfortunately, the school seems unorganized when it comes to class registration and payments.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for business and nursing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are 4 different locations dealing with specific needs.

    What to do for fun

    Have a lot of time inbetween certain classes to study and/or get important things done.

    Food and Dining

    A cafe next to one of the locations to get food.

    Dorm Life

    No current housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Expected to make payment on each individual date it's due, only paying 25% of the tuition cost that is owed. Very important to keep grades up and do whatever you to arrive to class on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are numerous options dealing financial issues and classes, which will allow you to choose which class you would like. There are campus tours to choose when to go if you want to know how to get around school. Teachers will be glad to help one-on-one.

    In three sentences

    Has a great nursing program for those planning on to do something in the medical field. There is great and helpful assistance as well,and have small sized classes for one-on-one with teachers for help. The best thing to me that there is a low tuition cost for all students attending and a high rate of students accepted.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are not currently dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students on which professors are good.

    In three sentences

    Love the small class sizes, always adding new classes, and they have great professors.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All three campus locations have adequate outside lighting, and campus security patrolling the area.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that with Nevada State College students work hard for their degrees, but pay reasonable prices.

    Food and Dining

    All three campus locations offer vending machines, without many healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I live independently from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to register for classes early, and to truly evaluate the variety of majors offered before choosing one.

    In three sentences

    The Nevada State College three campus locations are close in proximity. The college offers smaller class sizes giving the students a personalized experience. Thirdly, the teachers display a true passion for their given field.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there are some activities that are organized by the student government and that are held at the main building complex. Most of the fun can be had a few miles away by driving into nearby Las Vegas.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many options with regard to food and dining on campus. There are of course food places nearby, but it would be a driving distance away. On the plus side, the college is currently in the midst of new construction, and they are adding a cafe and food place in the Dawson building at the main campus location. It should be done and open in the near future which is promising since its not ideal to have to go driving around for nourishment in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    This is not really applicable to me since I do not live on campus. I commute to campus for classes.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of student resources in place to help students succeed in their educational endeavors (i.e. free tutoring available online through Webcampus system, as well as in-person at the Student Activities Center on campus). Emphasis is placed on academic success and excellence in the programs offered; for example, it is required students maintain a minimum GPA to remain in a program like Speech Language Pathology or Nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college for certain degrees, particularly in Speech and Language Pathology and Nursing. Since class sizes are small (the largest class there is consists of 40 students- usually the biology courses), it is important to actually attend in-class lectures and labs.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I feel Nevada State College (NSC) is a great school that has a growing (and very active) student body every year. Tuition prices are fair and very much worth the education you will get here. While it is still a relatively small college, the larger instructor to student ratio greatly benefits the students since the caliber of instructors is comparable to any major university and any other 4-year institution.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do not offer any options outside of vending machines and the closest fast food is 10 mins away,

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer dorm living

    Tips for prospective students

    review your professor before you sign up for any class. Check ratemyprofessor.com the students are spot on with reviews.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I heard that it was great.

    Dorm Life

    Im not living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended this school yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply early and go to the orientation.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is a small school which means there is more one-on-one learning with the teacher. The tuition is cheaper when compared to the other schools in Nevada. My friend attends this school and so far she loves it!

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They add a lot of fees that they do not tell you about prior, and use books especially made for their school which makes it difficult to buy them elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Surf the internet?

    Food and Dining

    There's a 'cafeteria' - if you can even call it that - in ONE building. Keep in mind you need to drive to get to all the different buildings. Other than that, there's only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There currently are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small, which is the only thing I like about this school. Some teachers expect so much, and other teachers do not even care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only attend this school if you seriously cannot afford something better like UNLV or out of state. People say that this school is up and coming, but they've been around for ten years and do not have their stuff together.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are good, but everything else is horrible. None of the depsrtments (registrar, finacnial aid, ect.) know what they're talking about, and no one is able to answer your questions, and consistently screw things up. I only went here one semester, and will NOT be attending this school after this semster.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is almost always some type of club event going on. Many of which you can just sit in from time to time even if you are not a member. The interactive touch screens in many locations of the campus also make them a new, fun way to do things from homework to playing games.

    Food and Dining

    NSC just opened it's new cafeteria last semester. It is a small selection, and a bit overpriced. Granted, this is not the schools fault, but the catering company that runs it, but it still needs work.

    Dorm Life

    As a small campus, there is no dorm. However, the Student Centers and Labs in each building make it a decent place to hang around before and after classes. Many students spend a good majority of their days in these student areas despite not having class for hours previously of after.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are challenging, but not difficult. This is to say there is more than adequate information to compete with most universities work load, but the instructors are often very capable at explaining these topics in a multitude of fashions. This makes it much easier to comprehend the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend this campus for any undergraduate students. Make sure to learn about the potential teachers as they often follow you up through your classes. (EX: your teacher for BIO 196 may be your same teacher for Bio 197 and above so choose well).

    In three sentences

    NSC is a great college. It's small-town feeling and close-nit student/teacher interactions make it a comfortable place to attend classes. The faculty and student government upgrade the school rapidly, and with focus.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus, well lite and monitered by sercuity. But even though the necessary precautions are taken to ensure safety the students should still be aware of their surroundings.

    Greek Life

    I am unsure what this question is asking me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs to join here at NSC from the LGBT club to the premedical society. Its a great way to meet new people and find lasting friendships.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student, whether they are quiet or outgoing they will certainly enjoy their learning experience here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NSC is located in the middle of no where, but one day there will be a bigger population.

    Bang for the buck

    You certainly get a bang for your buck here, the class sizes are small and you get one on one attention from professors. The professors here love what they do and value the students education and overall success.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs to join here at NSC from the LGBT club to the premedical society. Its a great way to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    There arent many choices for food here on campus, there is a cafe but its over priced and the workers are rude to students. The closest fast food joint is 5 miles away.

    Dorm Life

    NSC does not have dorms on campus, maybe in a few years.

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes here are great and interesting, while they can be difficult you walk away with a better understanding of concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your grades or you will end up wasting thousands of dollars.

    In three sentences

    I love the professors here theyre so willing to help you. The faculity however has in my opinion lost touch with the students. Overall this school could use some improvments, but in time the kinks will work out.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards patrolling, it definitely makes me feel safe when I have to stay there late at night!

    Food and Dining

    Definitely need some more food options at the new campus!

    Dorm Life

    At this point in time this school does not offer any dorms. I hope to see this change.

    Tips for prospective students

    To incoming students, I would say: Keep an open mind. The school is still up and coming, but never the less a great place to be!

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is a great school! It is small enough to get one on one time with the PHENOMENAL professors, but still has wonderful school spirit!

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't really know.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafeteria not so good.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teacher's and good classes to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carpool if possible.

    In three sentences

    This school has really great teacher's who are helpful with any questions you have. I love it. It's good that we don't pay for parking, but it's so hard to find parking.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very small, so everybody feels safe. Everybody knows everybody and familiar faces everywhere. Faculty and students share walkways together so it feels like if you are in a family home; the safest place a person can feel!

    Great for these types of students

    Nevada State is only ten years old so still needs learning and growing to have that university culture. So if campus culture is what you are looking for this is not the school. But if you have a busy life and still pursing higher education then this is the school for you. The tuition is low, the teachers car, the types of classes and schedules are flexible so you can fulfill your dream of completing college and better your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nevada State seems to be right in the middle of a desert! When you look out the windows of the buildings you see mountains and miles of desert landscape. I doubt there is another school in the country with views like this.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a 4-year college, within a metropolitan area of Las Vegas, NV. The tuition is very low compared to other 4-year university institutions, so if money is a problem this is a great college to go to. It is an accredited institution so you can transfer anywhere if you choose to. The price for a college degree at this school compared to other schools? Cant be beaten! They have online courses, hybrid courses, night and day classes, on campus classes, distant learning classes. The school is there to help you complete your college degree.

    What to do for fun

    The school has plans to add buildings to make the school more fun in the next couple years. The school recently received the approvals to start building by the authorities, so by 2015 the school should have bigger and better buildings. But at the moment, activities and fun for students are sub-par.

    Food and Dining

    This is a very small school and has only one small cafe. The school has plans for growth in the next coming years so hopefully they add more like food and dining to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are there to help. So the rigor is less than other schools I been to. Some teachers told the class in others schools 'if you don't know this stuff, then you shouldn't be in this class. Which I feel is very closed minded and uncaring. But at Nevada State I never heard a teacher tell anybody that. They work with their students to make sure they understand what is being taught to them, which is why I love this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start of college as if you're starting off a new job. Work hard and plan for the future. There are perks everywhere for a hard working student and once your done you will be ready for the next level.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. It is small but the teachers really care about their students. I will recommend this school to anyone!

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nevada State College offers many activities for their students. In the Spring semester of 2013 they had a Hula themed carnival which was a great way to meet new people that you go to school with.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be reasonably priced at times especially if you're rushing to your next class. They could use a little bit of more variety though.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms at Nevada State College.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone at this school takes their education very seriously and succeeds academically. The professors do a great job in helping their kids be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you pay attention in your science classes. Although they have great science teachers, they can be really tough on you.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is a great school! The class sizes are a good size and all the professors that had me knew my name. Also, The liberal arts and sciences building is beautiful next to the mountains!

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our school is small and it is like a family environment, so much so that we even know our security guards by first name and feel safe. There haven't been any major problems that I have known of, but any minor problems (a disruptive person coming on to campus, for example) were taken care of swiftly and professionally that most people wouldn't even know that there was an issue to begin with.

    Clubs and Activities

    This past year, the student government approved 20+ clubs to be recognized. There is something for everyone Running club, Chess club, Kappa Delta Pi (academic organization for Education majors,) Latino Scorpions Club, Black Student Organization, Blue Marble and the list goes on! If you want to create a club, the process is easy and if any questions arise, a student government member or their adviser is more than happy to walk you through the process.

    Great for these types of students

    Every kind of student! Young, old, returning after a break, with children or without, married or single, continuing education after already obtaining your Bachelor's, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a mountain right behind one of our campuses and we have dubbed it Mt. Scorpion and take hikes as big groups up the mountain various time throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think that this college is affordable and the cost does not affect the quality of education. In fact, I think that I receive a higher quality of education by being in smaller classes as opposed to a class of 120 in a bigger university. Faculty and staff work one-on-one with you and often times, even arrange times outside of their normal office hours or after class to explain a concept or give advice.

    What to do for fun

    Besides joining student organizations? You can grab a bite to eat by just walking ten minutes, go to the car show or art exhibit or farmer's market (it changes every week!)

    Food and Dining

    While we only have one cafe on campus (and that's where the three stars came from,) there are plenty of places to go just outside of one of campuses which is in the heart of downtown.

    Dorm Life

    Currently, Nevada State does not offer dorms, but we are looking into it for the near future!

    Academic Rigor

    I have consistently felt challenged throughout my coursework with case studies, partner and group assignments as well as individual research.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Your college experience is what YOU make of it, so join one of the clubs that are offered- anything from Chess Club to Latino Scorpions Club.

    In three sentences

    Nevada State College is a college that is very diverse. There is a good majority of non-traditional students, mixed with young and old students. Faculty and staff are helpful and can always find an answer to your questions.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our many securities are well trained and are alert in case of any emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There various clubs in school I encourage students to seek them out and welcome them to open a club if the one you want is not available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like hands on and one on one education, with small class sizes it allows students and professors to communicate and interact with each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school owns one of the many mountains around the school mount. Scorpion where students are challenged to a hike and once success is reached one must write their name for the future generation of students so they too can leave their mark.

    Bang for the buck

    Nevada State College home of the scorpions a school and a home.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to choose from are great my personal favorite is the flag football team.

    Food and Dining

    the many restaurants and fast food places around the school are excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Nevada state is a small school therefore there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics in Nevada state are rigorous but filled with reward if one maintains that focus throughout a course success becomes inevitable.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask about the nepatla program and how to be admitted in it, it is a perfect transition for upcoming freshmen.

    In three sentences

    Nevada state college is a school that is growing and allows its students to grow along with it. The environment feels like home it is a small school that enhances creativity and success. Nevada state college is not just a school it is a home.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The reason I chose NSC was because it is cheaper than UNLV p/credits.

    What to do for fun

    It's Las Vegas!

    Food and Dining

    Not too much in the form of food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm living that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Since this is the school that I have had to take my tough classes (anatomy/physiology) at I give it 4 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have all information you think you need to help you when asking questions. Especially for the admissions department. They have young students who assist and often times I found myself figuring out what needed to be done on my own.

    In three sentences

    It is an okay college for me to get done what I need to do. I am not planning on graduating from NSC. I am taking upper division credits in order to apply for another college to get my masters.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. There is always security patrolling, even after dark.

    Bang for the buck

    I did a side by side comparison with other schools in the area. The cost of tuition at Nevada State is by far the least expensive.

    What to do for fun

    This school is located in Henderson, only a few minutes from Las Vegas and its world famous Strip. Regardless of your interests, you will never become bored with the area. Just don't let yourself become distracted by all the people, lights and action.

    Food and Dining

    Food and snack counters are located throughout. Pretty good food, a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorms. The cost of living in this area is reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I have done well. I am currently working and attending school. I was able to obtain a 3.7 GPA this past semester, but it did not come easy. Just like with any school, you must dedicate a certain amount of hours per week for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, you will get out of the experience what you put into it. Also I would take advantage of the hybrid courses if you can dedicate study time at home. Regardless of if you take online courses, hybrid courses or in class courses you must set aside time for studying, stick to it and make it a routine.

    In three sentences

    I can appreciate the diversity of this school. The college is not big, therefore students will gain a more personalized experience with instructors. Nevada State is one of the more affordable schools in the Las Vegas area.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security roaming the campus. Never witnessed or was a victim of any criminal activity.

    What to do for fun

    There are some study groups that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines scatter around, but no cafeteria or anything like that.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or on campus living that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the content varies from professor to professor, but on an average I was able to keep up if I studied every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely speak to your adviser and adhere to the degree program they give you.

    In three sentences

    NSC is an excellent choice for a school where you get the most bang for your buck. There are only two choices in Las Vegas for 4 year degrees, Nevada State College and UNLV. Nevada State College is cheaper.