Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New England College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NEC definitely helps with financing the education here. They seem to also putting money towards good use like building a new turf field

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found that a lot of people seem to go home on weekends and there is not a lot of weekend life especially if you don't party.

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman I found my classes very easy especially coming from a high school that had very rigorous academics. Having classes that were easy at times was nice because it wasn't as stressful and helped with the transition.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small, safe campus and town.

    Greek Life

    Not a big Greek Life atmosphere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good sports atmosphere.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts students will do well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is lots of diversity at this school. You will meet many interesting people from all over the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid dept.

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, hiking,fishing. Great for outdoor enthusiasts.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes but helpful professors for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be assertive with your academic advisors. You may be assigned to one that has no idea how to guide you because they don't even specialize in your field of interest. If needed, pick your own advisor like a professor that has knowledge in your field if interest.

    In three sentences

    Small college community. Quaint New England town.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can go into town and shop. the school also has a good gym which is where i spend most of my time. you can also fish the river on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the diet consist of mostly healthy foods and there's a good variety. there is also good-hygiene.

    Dorm Life

    although the dorm rooms are a bit small you can fit all of your things easily. the beds are comfortable and there are plenty of shelves for all of my things.

    Academic Rigor

    the curricular is easy to understand, the professors are good at explaining things. if you need extra help they are glad to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and have good time management.

    In three sentences

    new england college is a friendly environment; the campus is calm and quiet and the professors are easy going and easy to talk to.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a vegetarian or have other special food needs, the choices are very limited at the dining hall.

    In three sentences

    I've made a lot of great friends here and I love that the professors are accessible. The food selections at the Dining Hall is less than desireable.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you need campus safety and it is an emergency they are right there and do not wait till they are ready. Also with campus safety they are protective over the students so if it is late and your walking alone or from student parking lot they would give you a ride to your dorm so they know that you are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would say that this school is supportive in everything that is hosted here. When it comes to sports they really are and encourage everyone else to also come to support the team or anything that is going on for that day.

    What to do for fun

    New England college is in a little town there is nothing you can really do unless you have a car which most people that come here do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here can be okay, but the dining closes early, and sometimes they cook the same thing in the same week. Also we get flex cash and which is depended on the meal plan you choose. Flex cash is you ca spend the money on your i.d. at the cafe on campus and once that is gone either you can put money on it or you have to wait till next semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need any help make sure you go to the library for tutor seasons that are already set-up. Make sure you go to class especially the lectures and labs because it is hard to make up or get notes. Also make sure you come prepared to learn and not just mess around.

    In three sentences

    I would say New England College is a diversity school. It knows how to do things to get people to interact with the community. It also has all the help you need when it comes to school work.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I used to play ping pong with my friends in my free time. I always miss the fun part in NEC because i always commute from home so. But i would say campus students do more fun than commuters.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly speaking food and dining is excellent in New England College. I knew because i went to New England College Gilmore several times to eat lunch. I had ate many good and fresh foods. It is better than cafe sometime if you are very hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly speaking i am very unknown about the dorm life because i commute from my home. I live in concord, New Hampshire with my family members. But seeing from outside dorm life is very good as i known so far form my friends. I used to go there with my friends in their room and hang out sometimes. Dorm life is so far so good.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a second year student of New England College i would rate NEC 9 out of 10. NEC covered almost all academic majors with more than 1200 students. Students are free to choose their majors or they can keep their major undecided. They can first study Liberal arts science classes first or study together.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to tell them to go and visit New England College once. Please schedule an appointment and do a college tour with one of our students or staff. Please go to some classes and introduce with some professors and tell little bit about your self and interests, And, also please get some recommendations from them.

    In three sentences

    New England College is a great platform for every student to complete their degrees. All professor and staff are very friendly with students and every one can get chance to know each student. Professor can talk with individual student in a class while teaching due to the less population in a class. I love New England College because i am a ESL student and i found many supporters to support me.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are options for everything and if there is something you want to start the office of student involvement will help with anything!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that generally need to talk one on one with professors or who prefer a small town feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a covered bridge within walking distance!

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where you're living. Freshman dorms are always loud.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't mess with Professor Nagelsen.

    In three sentences

    New England College is a small campus with a real sense of community. Small class sizes allow professors to give each individual student one on one attention. I would recommend it for those students looking for a smaller campus.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot of food variety other than the cafeteria food, which is not great food.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not very challenging and professors don't listen to students that want more rigorous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students at this college are not very serious about education, most of students attending this college are looking to party away from their homes.

    In three sentences

    New England College is a small liberal arts institution. Professors at this college are great and care about their students. However if you are looking to take rigorous courses, this is not the place for you.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Friendly and helpful when needed. Many students think that they're out to get them

    Greek Life

    1 frat full of dorks

    Clubs and Activities

    Only a few to choose from. Adventure bound is quite interesting and fun

    Great for these types of students

    Good if you need a more 1 on 1 type of learning. The professors know you and care about how well you do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They try to start new traditions each year that are lost before they can even become traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Way to expensive for what you get.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing to do in the small town of Henniker. Everything is at least 25 minutes away in Concord.

    Food and Dining

    Simple as this.. the food sucks

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not in great condition.Old residence halls are nothing to brag about.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty easy as long as you show up and do your work as you are expected to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here

    In three sentences

    New England College is a small college located in a small town in the middle of nowhere.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Best, Sustainable, homeland

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. Sometimes its good and sometimes not so good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is good. I like my room.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes I'm academic challenge and some i am not.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    No scholarships for online students.

    In three sentences

    It's a terrible college an very unorganized No many benefits for students. No scholarships to online students.

  • 06/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always there when needed they are always close by and reachable at all times they are consistent with patrolling around making sure everyone is okay

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not really a big deal at New England College it's kind of small organization it would be better if more people knew about it and wanted to be apart of it

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities are a very big deal at New England College everyone always attends even the professors and everyone always shows a lot of school spirit when it comes to supporting clubs and sports teams

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i don't think there is ant unusual places or traditions on campus

    What to do for fun

    interact with others as much as possible get out as much as you can and try to attend school functions. there is always stuff to do around campus there are plays things to do in the dorm rooms with RA's and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    manage your time wisely make sure school work is the main focus and enjoy your college experience

    In three sentences

    New England college is a good liberal arts school is very diverse and gives students a chance to grow and change into something outstanding.