Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

New England Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just be careful to plan for travel to and from the campus, there are no dorms for students available.

    Will enjoy being here

    Unlike most of the colleges in New England I found with a game design program, they actual have a nice campus instead of a building and a parking lot. They just moved the tech and medical departments to a new campus and from what I seen it is just a nice.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel that this school is great for a person who just wants to concentrate on their desired degree, and finish in less time than a four year college. Also, a person you must work and take care of a home, maybe someone who is married with children. Then hours are really great, so you can still work either in am or pm and have your weekends to work, or spend time with your family.

    Tips for prospective students

    To really research your dream career and find the best school that will fit your needs. Set up appointments to meet with an advisor, and even to receive a tour of the school. See what it has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little pricey, but they do try to help you with payment options, and give you many scholarship websites. I still can't complain, knowing it is only an 18 month program.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have attended this school for one quarter so far, and return back next quarter, which is on January 3, 2012. I am so excited to start my next quarter and eager to meet my professors. I am enjoying every bit of this experience at New England Tech.

    Am learning a lot

    While I was a student in High School, I had a lot of trouble with math and staying interested. After passing my math class with an A at New England Tech, I was amazed. Then professor was amazing!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Simple and easy

    Great for these types of students

    Students makes a positive and negative impact about schools due to characters and intelligence.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I hate when people smoke on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Socializing and playing pool.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is always a positive step to follow your dreams and bring it to light

    In three sentences

    They are the best right now and they have all hands on deck..

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library!

    Food and Dining

    Very delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Do not have on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Programs are designed to prepare you for your career and the professors are very knowledgable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and meet with admissions and discuss your options. You will definitely be impressed and want to go if your program is offered there.

    In three sentences

    The college campus is very beautiful and welcoming. The staff knows what they're doing and are very helpful. I'm looking forward to attending there next week.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is best for students who are motivated, engaged in education, have a passion for anything, and want a good education because they care not just because they are forced to go to college. Students who like to work in smaller classes rather than lecture halls will also enjoy NEIT.

    Bang for the buck

    This education is very worth the money spent. Unlike traditional Universities students at NEIT will immediately begin working in their Major the first quarter they enroll. There are still general education courses that must be taken but they are along side the Major courses. The general courses also for the most part relate in some ways to your Major so that the skills learned there can be applied to your career later on.

    What to do for fun

    The school does not have sports teams but they do have some clubs and groups related to majors and some that are simply based on interests. The town also offers many places to enjoy some downtime.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a really nice place to eat or even just meet with friends. The food however is a little pricy for what you get. To compensate for this there are many places such as Dave's Market, Panera Bread, Starbucks, fast foods etc. very close to the school so if you have a break you can go get cheaper foods.

    Dorm Life

    This is more of a personal opinion rather than fact. Some people like the way that living is set up and some don't. NEIT does NOT have dorms but they do connect students in similar majors with landlords in the area. The school does not take part in paying for your apartment or bills unless you have the student loans set up to cover them. This means most students have jobs as well as going to school. However, even as a full time student is it doable and the experience is very enriching.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses start out light but will get harder like anywhere else. They aren't too difficult that they can't be done but because the quarters are only 10 weeks at a time you may only have a class 10 times before its over. That means there is a lot of time you must do work outside of class and ask questions immediately if you don't understand. Don't be afraid to ask for help, it's worse to not ask and fall behind than to ask and seem silly. The teachers are very willing and available to help outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For new students I would recommend having the money ready to buy books BUT DON'T BUY THEM BEFORE THE QUARTER STARTS. Mostly this applies to the general courses such as math and english because more than likely you will not use them very much, if at all. The library has a lot of school books on reserve for you to borrow to save hundreds of dollars. The books that are for the classes in your major wouldn't hurt you to buy ahead of time because a lot can be used as reference later on in life but it's still a good idea to wait until the teacher confirms you will need the book for the course.

    In three sentences

    This college dives directly into your major so there's no wasting time. Money is a struggle no matter where you go but by far this is the most affordable school in New England for technical majors. The environment is great and the teachers are very relatable.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that live local

    Bang for the buck

    only program for surgical tech in the area that offers associates degree in short time frame

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms as of now

    In three sentences

    high standards for its students. great programs to choose from teachers go above and beyond to help students to succeed.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a complete college. They will help you with everything you need. Instructors are in the current job, that they are teaching you. So you will have experienced people teaching you. You will have hands on the experience because you will be doing the exact same thing that you will do when you graduate. Look at it as a practice and a very good experience.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several guards on duty at all times, patrolling the campus. I don't recall if they're armed, but I somehow doubt it.

    Greek Life

    I don't have any information on this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs with which to be involved. I'm in Video & Audio Production, so I tend to go with the Film and Animation Club and I'm taking an interest in checking out the After Effects club. As I said before, in another statement, these clubs are a great way to further hone the skills you're learning, as well as making inroads with people whom you might meet or need later on in life, who share your same tech interests. You never know who someone else might know, if you know what I mean.

    Great for these types of students

    Tech Geeks.

    Bang for the buck

    It's hard for me to say how much bang for the buck I'm getting, seeing as it's not a cheap school, and I do have to pay it all back. I'm thinking that anything I get, as far as good stuff, I deserve (and I don't use that term very loosely at all -- in fact, I cringe almost anytime when deserve is used). With that said, they do try to keep everything up to date. But you have to figure, that which hundreds of people using the same computers day after day, they will eventually wear out a bit faster than the one you might have at home.

    What to do for fun

    While there's a student lounge with PingPong and a pool table, there are also clubs that are often related to your tech, which are both fun and educational, and a great way to make inroads with others. I would suggest that you put your life on hold for about the next 18 to 36 months, and save the fun for later ... unless getting substandard grades is okay with you. And if it's okay with you, it's okay with me, as it'll probably give me an edge over you in the workplace. ;)

    Food and Dining

    There's a decent selection of cold sandwiches and salads, fried stuff such as mozzarella sticks, onion rings, french fries, along with burgers, pizza, and similar items; also soups from Au Bon Pain, which are quite tasty; plenty of drink selections, and plenty of dining room, with several wide-screen TV's, and WiFi.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms at NEIT, though I believe that's in the works.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors expect a lot out of you, and they should, since they're training you for the real world. The projects, if taken seriously, can be helpful as part of your resume.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avail yourself to the Academic Skills Department, if you're having trouble with your classes. The people there are kind and very eager to help you to get on the right track, and will meet you at whatever level you're at. Please pull your pants up. No one wants to see your underwear, nor do they want to sit in a seat where you just sat ... in your underwear. And don't use four-letter words. They really frown upon that here ... and it's quite unprofessional.

    In three sentences

    The facilities are state of the art (for the most part), and very clean. The staff are helpful, the instructors (at least most of them) are kind, interesting and interested. There's plenty of parking, even though so many complain that there isn't, simply because they might have to walk a little ways to get into the building, especially in the rain. Of course, that's what umbrellas are for.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to newport

    Tips for prospective students

    get your books online

    In three sentences

    I just started. So far so good. What I don't understand is how any college can charge tuition for refresher math and english. I know they need to charge something but I think the fee should be next to nothing for something you learn in H.S

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New England Tech is the safest because there's always security outside and inside the campus. They also have a clean environment.

    What to do for fun

    Of what I've seen they have ping pong and you can play pool table.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is good and the space is spacious to study and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my parents

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started my classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard if you really want to follow your dreams. Always stay confident in what you do.

    In three sentences

    New England Tech is a really good college for students who love hands on work. Everyone in the school is friendly, helpful and they make sure all of your questions are answered. All of the classes are pretty easy to get to and not complicated.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus always has security even at night. Having night students its important to have someone watching our cars as well as when we are walking to our cars someone there at all times just in case!

    Clubs and Activities

    I have to say there are a lot activities and events going on at campuses. I am always receiving emails regarding when there are going to be club meetings and different activities that multiple technologies are holding.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to get done with school fast and are willing to work harder and a faster speed to complete a quarter in 10 weeks.

    Bang for the buck

    Right now I am having a difficult time finding a way to pay for my tuition for my last two quarters of my bachelors degree. Anything that I can earn/ win would help me a lot.

    What to do for fun

    When not working and at school I spend time with family. Not having a lot of free time available during the week I like to spend as much as can relaxing with family

    Food and Dining

    The food at the food court is getting better. There is a lot of space and table in the dining area, helps with having time in between classes to sit down study while eating something before having to go to another class.

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not live in a dorm, so I am not sure how the dorm life is. While finishing school I live with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are based on ten week. Then a week of break/ vacation then the next semester starts. Its more work because you only have ten weeks to do all the material that needs to be covered. But if your willing to work hard and stay focus the time goes by quick and the two and a half months go by quick.

    In three sentences

    Over all the experience with New England Tech this far has been good. I do not have much complaints about the school in general. I already graduated and received my associates degree and I am working on my bachelors degree now. The education that I have received from my instructors have been helpful.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Zombie heaven! Kids just move from class to class with occasional trips to the cafeteria. No excitement here.

    Greek Life

    It'll be what you make of it yourself. No dorms, no fraternities, no sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Basic activities in the EG campus (ping-pong, pool) a few clubs (Chess, visual arts, etc.)

    Great for these types of students

    Great if you want to study all day. Make sure you check out clubs, organizations and potential college jobs. You'll need to fill the time somehow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no traditions at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get the education, but the college could put in a little effort to improve the student experience, especially for those not spending their day at the East Greenwich campus.

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot in the way of nightlife unless you go to Providence. The malls are usually busy enough and you might meet someone you like. Plenty of clubs available although none are endorsed or supported by New England Tech.

    Food and Dining

    Only East Greenwich campus has a canteen, but you'd do better nutritionally and financially, going elsewhere. The other campuses get a visit from the roach coach 3 times a day, cheap but...

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Plenty of private accommodation available near the various campuses, you will almost certainly need your own transport. The school does run shuttle buses by they rarely if ever coincide with your class start and end times.

    Academic Rigor

    A tough college, but if you study, and pay attention you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from outside Rhode Island, then try to get involved with outside activities, volunteer if you have to. There is no student life at the college and you will have to make your own entertainment. The bookstore is expensive, use online resources like Amazon, and Craigslist. You'll get your books way cheaper than anything the school will sell you.

    In three sentences

    Room for improvement. The college is generally good, the professors and instructors are a very dedicated group and are excellent in imparting their knowledge. The school is sorely lacking in student life activities.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room equipped with pool tables, televisions, and more.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dormitories. All students live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study fro the accuplacer tests and do well on them

    In three sentences

    The school is very well maintained and decorated. The professors have tons of experience in their fields. They have top of the line technology fro all majors.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study groups are always fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to focus and concentrate. Utilize all the resources they have available to you and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    NEIT is a fast pace learning environment. I feel the Instructors are very knowledgeable and accommodating. They make learning easy. Overall rating 10 out of 10.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing bad to say about campus safety never had a problem or heard of someone having a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of club and activities that go on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    that would be a great place for someone that might not have a place to go to do homework without being distracted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lodges where you can go to relax or do homework

    Bang for the buck

    The main building of the school was just build a few years back its beautiful inside and there equiment for each major is up to par with all the latest technology.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    food is really good its not very big becasue it a comuter school no dorms but is big enough for its not to be crowed all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is a great school with whatever major you will pick you will learn so much and the hands on help you get ready for a career out the real would.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school i recieved my associates degree from this school. The criminal Justice program there is one of a kind never a dul moment. The staff show that they love teaching to students and help get to our goals in life.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is sufficient. We have everything except a metal detector

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide range of clubs, both academic and civil

    Great for these types of students

    students who know what degree program they want to study are conscious about there at or sat results; because that doesnt matter here

    Bang for the buck

    School is near movie theater, shopping district and golfing grounds

    What to do for fun

    there are a numerous amount of clubs on campus. I am a member of the rotaract club

    Food and Dining

    I love the food! they have hot lunch, to subs to pastries to burgers....everything for everyone

    Dorm Life

    Currently dorms are not available but in FALL 2015 dorms will be available for students. They are being built feet away from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It challenging yet students are able to keep on track if determined

    Tips for prospective students

    Take you time, study hard, and most importantly have fun while learning.

    In three sentences

    I give this school a 3 out of 5 only because it doesn't have dorms or a specified sporting team. However New England Institute is a magnificent technical institution that prepares you for the real work work environment. With short length degree programs, it is a fast- paced environment yet you are able to keep on track.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and student activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food, nothing too special.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but not impossible. I work full time and go to school 3 nights a week. I usually have 3-4 hours of homework each week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Audit some classes, get away from the tours and speak to the students. I highly recommend this school.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are small, my largest class this quarter has eight students in it. The classes reflect skills that are currently in need in industry. The curriculum is designed to give students 2 hours of lab time (hands-on) for every 1 hour of lecture.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is like regular college food. It is not too healthy, but there are coffee shops close by.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have on campus housing. If needed, they will help you find housing fairly close to school at affordable costs. They are in the process of building dorm buildings which maybe done next year or the following year.

    Academic Rigor

    The information taught in classes is not challenging in itself, but with only 10 weeks to learn the information in each class, you will have to study hard and stay focused

    Tips for prospective students

    Walk in and take a tour. You will be given a chance to learn about available programs as well as financial aid. All your questions will be answered and you will not be pressured into making a decision

    In three sentences

    New England Institute of Technology is expanding and providing top grade education with new equipment to teach both with a visual and hands-on approach. Their new campus in East Greenwich, RI is very modern and provides a great learning environment as well as a great places to study and socialize with fellow classmates. I am in my first quarter, but so far I have had all the time and help that I need from professors as well as staff.