Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New England School of Communications Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NESCom is the school for creative students who are driven and want to get the most out of their education. Here at NESCom, you will learn a lot in whatever field you decide to major in: after graduation (or even during school!) you'll be productive on Day 1 of your new job in your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get an interview and a tour! The tour of the school, seeing all of the equipment and seeing the current students in action is definitely what sealed the deal for me.

    Bang for the buck

    For being a private college and having all of the high tech equipment what we do, the bang for the buck is pretty banging. Tuition is roughly $12,000 a year (w/o room and board) and considering all of the equipment that we're learning and training on, and all of what we're learning, that's an awesome price!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small, close-knit community feel of NESCom. Everyone knows everyone else. The students support each other and are always willing to help out in their projects. With such a small teacher to student ratio, you get to know them on a personal level and they take an interest in how you're learning and doing with school. All NESComers have pride in what they do and their school; it is obvious that we all love being here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am studying Video Production. This industry is constantly coming out with new and better equipment and NESCom is always right up there with them. The students are taught on the best equipment and by teachers who have been out in the field and know what they're doing and teaching. The thing that I enjoy about the NESCom classes are that even if you are a video student, you can take classes in Marketing, or Journalism or Theatre, or Photography or whatever, you can fine-tune your education to what you want to learn.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The average cost per year is around $11,800. Activity, lab, and orientation fees also average around $930.

    Will enjoy being here

    This school seems very enjoyable. If you are learning and interacting in things you enjoy you will have a great time at school.

    Will learn a lot

    The New England School of Communications is a great school. There are great graphics programs and there are majors any artist would be interested in. You will go in depth in your majors and learn as much as possible in your time at this school.

  • 12/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students who are coming out of high school strictly, but not older.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in video and audio I hear they are excellent. Three students left one class, and dropped journalsim there because of an instructor named Patten. Unfortunately the ego in this department had nothing to do with education.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hands on students will love it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gazebo is a great place to do homework or just hangout on a warm night!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be passionate!

    In three sentences

    It's my home! The people I have met here are the only support system I have for continuing my education. The academic system they have is top notch.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen anyone get hurt on campus and the security guys are usually cool. They let people into building and will hang out and play cards when they're on their way home and just haven't left yet. Bunch of cool guys.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities on campus but Greek life has never appealed to me so I haven't paid much attention to it. They're not huge because the campus is so small but they definitely exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pretty much everything you could want. There is a club for gamers, church goers, theater, sports and a club for musicians. We even have a chapter of the Audio Engineering Society.

    Great for these types of students

    NESCom shares a campus with Husson University. There are all sorts of students that are always on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the Y. It's the connecting point of the sidewalks between three building. People go there to smoke or when they're really drunk and just want to hang out. There are also some woods that are nice to walk around in and the Furman center for watching TV and playing video games.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth it. I chose to go here because it was the cheapest school offering what I wanted. I didn't realize it was one of the best places in the country for my major.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want. I chose to play cards and video games and hang out with friends in the dorms but there are some bars and a place to gamble downtown.

    Food and Dining

    They just basically built a new dining commons out of the old one. It should be rad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are OK. Some of them have broken furniture and they're always way too hot in the winter. They just made a new building which should be pretty awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    For classes related to your major, and more specifically in audio you must be a good student. Any class related to your major that you get below a C in results in you not being able to continue in that major. There are a lot of ways to fail audio. The easiest thing is to make that number one on your list of things to do. Don't party if you have a lab or class coming up. Don't be late for class. Actually do the reading and homework and actually study. The first 2 years are easy and then it gets incredibly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here wanting to make beats. This isn't a school about being a producer.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is great and has one of the best audio courses the country has to offer. The faculty have a complete understanding of what they are doing and leave no room for guessing. The labs and studios are great.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe. One can walk outside late at night and not have to worry about getting mugged or killed. Crime around here is more drunk related with the occasional things stolen out of dorms.

    Greek Life

    There are about 3 or 4 Greek organizations on camp and they are shared with Husson.

    Great for these types of students

    People that want to get a great education in the media field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Greek organizations paint rocks in terms of traditions but to fit in you have to call the Dickerman Dining Commons by its nickname.

    What to do for fun

    To name a few examples: there is a Tech club, a G.A.M.E.R.S. CLUB, improv, acappella, and a chapter of PRSSA. Most of the clubs are joined with Husson University. NESComers are now able to do sports as a part of the Husson sports team. Off campus there are plenty of restaurants and stores nearby. There are also a couple of theaters (both movie and playhouses) nearby, one place in particular has Dollar Tuesdays at the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are better than others, but on the whole its not so bad. There is not a lot of options in terms of vegetarian meals though.

    Dorm Life

    Really pleasant once you get the swing of things.

    Academic Rigor

    The specialized classes are really detailed and the teachers are always willing to work with you so long as you make the effort to get the help. The general classes depend on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are ever lonely or bored, hang out at the Furman. It's a popular spot to hang out, watch TV, game and play ping-pong or pool.

    In three sentences

    NESCom is an amazing place to go to to learn about camera work, though it has yet to become a place for film. The atmosphere is professional in its dedication to the field yet relaxing in its social environment.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bass player

    Tips for prospective students

    look into this school

    In three sentences

    Great school, love campus

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Uniformed security officers and a department of safety and security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list for activities, organizations, athletics, and recreation.

    Great for these types of students

    Technology based artistic students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NESCOM is made up of about 500 students but with its connection to Husson University, it has the amenities of a large university.

    Bang for the buck

    At $7500.00 per semester, this is a good bang for the buck if they have the needs you require as a student.

    What to do for fun

    Being able to use a fully functional performance space as a lab is going to be great fun and learning experience.

    Food and Dining

    The newly renovated dining facility was centrally located and provides many meal plans for students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms comprised of four residential halls were clean and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    Having not taken a class yet, the course descriptions and variety of specialty classes provided are what I need to get the next level of training to be prosperous in my career field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of their flexible times to visit the campus and see first hand if they have what you need to be a professional in your field.

    In three sentences

    NESCOM provides the equipment and software consistent with the platforms I need to know for future use in my profession. The Gracie Theater on campus provides real world application of skills needed to launch into the next level of education I need in order to acquire the skills to do the behind the scenes work to make sure the show goes on. Having a low ratio of students to faculty, NESCOM shares the Husson University campus giving a student the benefits of both an intimate classroom setting while still providing all the amenities of a larger university.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is some, but I do not associate myself with it.

    Great for these types of students

    Tech savy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Calling the dickermann dining commons the d*ck.

    What to do for fun

    Playing on audio boards!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work. You must be passionate about the field you are studying in, in order to succeed in later courses. That does not mean you have to be passionate out of the gate, but as long as you gain it over time and dedicate yourself to your classes and your major, you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    The New England School of Communications is a great college. This school gives you the tools to succeed, as long as you have the drive to learn and use them. This school is the best school I can think of in terms of what you get for the money.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is great and there is always something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great , even if you are in Carlise or another. Get to know you floor!!!

    Academic Rigor

    There is always a way to get help if its needed.

    In three sentences

    NESCOM is an amazing place to be. It has fantastic one on one with teachers, and they actually take you opinion seriously. There is always a place that you will fit in.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not really

    Great for these types of students

    If your interested in Audio Engineering this is a good choice

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    has a lot of new equipment for Audio, Video etc

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good place for audio engineering. Teachers are good. Start in audio labs first semester.

    In three sentences

    The school is good for Audio Engineering. Not a lot of parties. Nice gym.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe on campus and will continue to. We're a small campus with more than enough security to make every student feel comfortable. They are always a phone call away and do escorts around campus at any time.

    Bang for the buck

    I was surprised at how cheap NESCom actually was. I'm very excited to continue going to the school and getting an education worth well more than what I've paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless amounts of things to do for fun. There are many places near and around campus to enjoy whether you have a car on campus or not.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good at the Dickerman Dining Hall actually. Many friends of mine complain about their college cafeterias and I can in no way participate in it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright, it's just as I expected it would be, I doubt any place gets a 5 in this category.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but not too challenging. Truly the perfect mix for my learning style.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your Dining Dollars and meal plan fully! They do not roll over, so once they're gone (you've paid for them) they're gone!!

    In three sentences

    An amazing school. Definitely supplies students with stunning new technologies and constantly challenges students to be the best they can. Awesome atmosphere as well for learning.