Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New Hampshire Institute of Art Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who can afford college without money from the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school isn't cheap, and the financial department isn't so helpful. Expect to be doing a lot of your own hard work to get money for school. This school may have a huge endowment, but don't expect to see any of it go toward you. Save up. Apply for everything. You'll need it.

    Bang for the buck

    My first year, I ran into a lot of problems, but this is because of the people that attend the school. Stealing is a big issue at this school, but that is because they refuse to install camera's where needed. Most teachers are amazing, but if you get the few bad ones, forget being able to appeal your grade. It's their dishonest word against your honest word.

    Am enjoying being here

    It has it's problems with the dorms, and some faculty, but overall, for a small community, it's not a bad school at all. I think once the school starts cracking down on dorm rules, and more security, the school will really benefit and be a lot more enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    For being a self taught artist, and not having an art department in High School, I am learning by far more than expected. How much you learn really depends on the teachers, and while it has it's bad teachers, most of the teachers at this school are really nice, understanding, and willing to go the extra mile to help out a student.

  • 04/14/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    learning a new enviroment

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure its what you want and enjoy it

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have a handful of clubs at the school. There might be more if we had time in our busy schedules to actually have clubs.

    What to do for fun

    They have great bar- b- Q's in the summer time in the beginning of school and the Rocky Horror Show the students put on is a blast! The Halloween and Masquerade parties are always fun. We have raffles and benefits too with nice turn outs.

    Food and Dining

    The food used to be better when we had the Salvador Deli... we had no meal plan so we learned to cook for ourselves. Then the school decided to get a meal plan and did not plan that through completely before they made students(Freshman and Sophomores) pay for a meal plan that wasn't up to par. Food was being shipped in from another college. It was not worth the mandatory $1500.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life used to be a lot better until they closed down the two older dorms. They didn't give a big enough notice to the students who already lived there, but they did allow some of the students who had been living off of the scholarship for one of the dorms to keep their scholarships if they lived in another dorm on campus. In general though... the other dorms are livable and clean.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school environment this school is a good fit. Make sure you save up a lot of money for school supplies and books, it really adds up.

    In three sentences

    Helpful teachers that care about encouraging students . Challenging classes that encourage creativeness . Poor help from admissions.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the school gives you a great education for a fairly decent price and they offer tons of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    its in central manchester and students like to hang out on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    we just got a brand new dining hall it is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    they expect you to do your work and they give you a respectful amount of time to get it done. homework is not really heavy but is not really light either.

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is smaller but you get more 1 on 1 time with teachers and students are easy to talk to and you skills improov greatly just over one year.

    In three sentences

    is a great and smaller school that has great teachers that are likeable and have great communication skills and a decent student life.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open minded . Creative and thoughtful . Down to earth .

    What to do for fun

    I commute , I don't live at the school .

    Dorm Life

    I commute , so I don't really know anything about forming there .

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great college , I would definitely encourage prospective students to take printmaking one at least and as many english classes as possible ; they are a lot of fun .

    In three sentences

    Helpful teachers that care about encouraging students . Challenging classes that encourage creativeness . Nurturing environment .

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's two drama programs (Two Bit players and Drama) that perform awesome plays. There's also a unique club called the Victorian club, where members dress up in Victorian style clothing. And oh yeah, there's a My Little Pony Club for those of you who still cherish this childhood fad.

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy and quite delicious. I wish they had more vegetarian options and more variety, but in general very good. Bonus: they have birthday cake every month to accomadate those who have birthdays that month and will sometimes give away prizes and candy just by simply answering a survey!

    Dorm Life

    From my experiences, everyone that lives on my floor are very friendly and we all support each other. We all understand what the other person is going through. You get a mixture of different personalities and backgrounds, no two students are the same.

    Academic Rigor

    You feel your skills and craft get stronger; you shape your inspiration and work into completely different molds than you started out with. You only go up, not down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for criticism and critques. The teachers and students know where you're starting from and their only purpose is to help, not hurt. It's important to get your finicial priorites straightened out, I'm learning this the hard way.

    In three sentences

    Culturally nourshing, encourages boldness, and you get to express your true colors whether it's through your hair, clothes, sexuality, or typically, through your artwork.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no security here. Forget being escorted by a security guard or phoning someone if something is suspicious like over at UNH. If you're in trouble better high tail it to the police station.

    Clubs and Activities

    Really none.

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of took my money and didn't really care that they still owed me money.

    What to do for fun

    Not much of anything.

    Food and Dining

    NHIA is only saved in the category from how awesome the Manchester area food is and the variety. However the school cafeterias are really awful.

    Dorm Life

    Commuters are basically exempt from this.

    Academic Rigor

    Good teachers but the variety of classes is lacking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look elsewhere for comparable schools; you will have a much more enjoyable experience.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers, bad school, poor attitudes from some employees.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    five of the seven main buildings are key-card protected. This is very safe and re-assuring. The other buildings have security guards on duty from 7pm to 11pm when the studios are open.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at this school

    Clubs and Activities

    We pay a activity fee, so join at least one to get your money's worth. There are a lot of options, from neo-victorian club, agricultural, dance, thrifting, student government, Gay-straight alliacnes and gaming club. It is also super easy to make a club and available space for the clubs to meet.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to attend this school for Illustration, painting or photography, this school is for you. The illustration department is the largest department, the painting department has a very successful group of staff and the photo department offers photo processes that are not taught at other schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is located around the a park which is pretty nice and convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    This is among the cheapest of art schools. The education is worth it 100 percent.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a school club or go to the gym to work out/swim. Mostly, students relax when they have free time by watching movies and hanging out with friends because we spend a lot of time working on assignments. There are also school events like open mic nights, movie showings and gallery openings.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is less than satisfactory and not receptive to student suggestions. It is mandatory for freshman and sophomore students.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms are pretty good to live in. There are a variety of living styles depending on the dorms. Some dorms even have single rooms. The actual rooms are very big and relatively new.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic classes do not have the highest emphasis placed on them, therefor they are not duper rigorous. However, your studio classes are very rigorous and expect a lot from each student.

    Tips for prospective students

    -try not to live in plaza 2 because there are a lot of kinks to be worked out at that dorm, but there is a great sense of community that no other dorm has. -join a club to take your mind off of your school work. -go to ALL gallery openings, you never know who you will get to meet. -take advantage of all school offered trips. Usually they are one-of-a-kind and very cheap

    In three sentences

    New Hampshire Institute of Art creates great opportunities for their students, regarding extra-cirriculars, experienced artists as professors and their willingness to modify your education to help you. There school prizes itself on its Illustration program. Most of the professors provide insightful, well-rounded education.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They offer top notch education without the top notch price tag.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of shops downtown. Movie theater, mall, places to eat. There is a nice park right outside the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. People are friendly and willing to help you out. The dorm rooms are pretty good. Some better than others. But all are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many programs/majors to choose from. Each one is great. First year students have the opportunity to try several different majors. Which is a big plus for those that are unsure of their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be lazy. Do your work. If you need help, ask for it. The professors are willing to go above and beyond to help you succeed here. Don't be fooled by the small size of the school. The education is top notch if you put the effort in.

    In three sentences

    The education you receive here is better than you may think. The professors are professional and work with you to achieve your maximum potential. NHIA is becoming one of the top small colleges in the North East.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a student center where there is a TV and pool table. You can walk around to Manchester or take the shuttle somewhere.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't used the school's cafe but there are great little restaurants around the buildings and they are relatively good prices.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a dormer so I can't really rate it.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard but manageable, but you have to be committed to working hard. Teachers are willing to talk to you and give extra help if you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get caught up with being the best artist or best writer, enjoy working with fellow students that have the same passion as you.

    In three sentences

    The Institute of Art is a great place to learn what you want to do with your art. Especially now that there is a creative writing major there are more options on what you want to do. The professors are kind and down to Earth so can have an actual conversation with them

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    How are the after class activities here? Are there any athletic clubs? Is it easy to start a club?

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security and all the dorms have locking doors, etc., but Manchester is a scary place for such a small city and the violence has been escalating.

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Art. All the time.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan isn't too great, but there's other options, like restaurants and grocery stores nearby.

    Dorm Life

    It's alright. People are nice and there's lots of art going on, but there's no campus and not too many places to go to hang out in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    It's an art school so the academics aren't as tough as the studio classes, which are generally pretty tough. Be prepared to work a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch tutorials online and practice your painting/drawing skills using still-lifes and draw the figure as much as possible. Grades don't matter nearly as much as the quality of your portfolio and how prepared you are to work hard. Make your art as great as possible before you get here so you don't feel too overwhelmed, but never think you're better than anyone else, because they will catch up.

    In three sentences

    This school is lots of work with little reward. There are some great teachers and some poor teachers. It's a good school for self-motivated and self-directed students.