Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

New Jersey City University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you guys are well organized, on time to class, and prepared for the next chapter.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoyed being here at NJCU, because I moved toward my goals of being the best at what I am. I also enjoyed the diverse population a comprehensive range of liberal arts and professional programs, strengthened by an emphasis on applied learning. I enjoyed how professor help there students right away when they need help.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned that you can get individual attention while you are in class. Plus, as much as it sucks that there's an attendance policy, it's seriously helpful. NJCU is a nice school with a great faculty. The Media Arts Program is wonderful (which was my major). They allow for a lot of creativity but still graded accordingly. The best thing about Media Arts was working with people. New Jersey City University is a good school. A lot of the students here have busy schedules and work full or part time. NJCU understands this and offers lots of night classes for people with work obligations. The students here are approachable and pretty much friendly, but most of the students here come to learn, and get a degree, not just sit around. Classes are fairly difficult and there are some amazing professors as well. The greatest thing about the professors at this school is that most of them really care about you and your success and most will bend over backward to help you if you ask.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is always security patrolling the premises, making you feel at ease.

    Greek Life

    The Kapas are really cute.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to have fun as well as inrich themselves with further education.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe NJCU is a school that makes the students' tuition and fees worth while. There is also a very convenient Bank of America ATM machine located right on the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends. Meet with them in the student union or Gothic lounge. There is always tons to do. Attend all of the sports games and events such as movie or game night, held by the fraternities and sororities. Most importantly, be sure to spend time in the Library.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but from what I have seen, the dorms are a very comfortable place to live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not allow your college social life to distract you from maintaining your academics.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey City University is an excellent school. The campus is beautifully structured and the student body is very diverse. Attending NJCU is a learning, as well as growing experience that I am grateful to be a part of.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there are many greeks around campus. the greeks on campus are also very active. you can see greeks everywhere always involved in different events activities and community services as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus. any club you can think of njcu most likely will have it. if they don't you can always start your own club as well. many different clubs have a lot of events and activities to do on campus as well. there is never a dull time on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus isn't as good as home cooked meals, but it is still pretty good. the food gets a little tiring after a while but it isn't all bad. some of the food i wouldn't recommend, but i do like some of it.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is a lot of fun, it is definitely way different from living at home. most of the time you go to sleep really late. you get to meet so many new people from many different places when you dorm. when you dorm you get the full college life experience.

    In three sentences

    attending njcu has been a great experience for me so far. i like all my professors here, and my classes have been a little challenging, but are going well. iv'e also been having a lot of fun here as well.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i live at home. i don't spend much time on campus other than going to class.

    Food and Dining

    i bring snacks. the vending machine can get expensive if you have to purchase snacks for every class. cafeteria is cool, you have to spend a min of $5 b4 u can use a debit/credit card.

    Dorm Life

    not living on campus

    Academic Rigor

    1st semester, still have to figure that out.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early for scholarships, eof, state aid, financial aid, and look into direct subsidized loans if necessary. for general classes, try renting the books instead of purchasing them. it's cheaper.

    In three sentences

    they have on campus parking. they also have shuttles that take you to the campus from the lot to the school and vice versa. they allow you to rent your books from the book store or purchase them as a web book.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    perfect most admirable

    Greek Life

    very good and interesting

    Clubs and Activities

    usually take place in the campus

    Great for these types of students

    international and hardworking

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    most of the time

    What to do for fun

    lot of workshops

    Food and Dining

    easily available cheap

    Dorm Life

    very comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    not much

    Tips for prospective students

    fantastic

    In three sentences

    very good experience

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jersey City is known for being a slightly unsafe area, but in my entire time at NJCU I have never witnessed anything bad or been part of anything that would harm me, the security staff does a great job of protecting the students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who is focused on their education rather than getting a fun college experience. This school is for those who want to get in and out of school, except that when they get out they are a much better and complete person than when they came in.

    Bang for the buck

    For how cheap a school this is compared to most schools around the area, NJCU is the definition of getting the bang for your buck. A good, serious, and focused education with a great staff of professors. You can graduate in four years or less if you are dedicated and hard-working, this is no cruising school.

    What to do for fun

    Your best bet for fun is to get social and to join as many organizations, clubs, or fraternities as possible, the area around campus is not really party or fun friendly so it will be up to the connections you make how much fun you get out of your experience at NJCU.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options on food at NJCU, around the entire campus there are plenty of food trucks that sell quality breakfast and lunch for fair prices, and while the school student center does sell decent food, it is a bit overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, I commute but from what I have heard it is decent, but there is a reason why people don't flock to dorm at this school; it is not a party school. With no huge campus there is no room for giant fraternity parties or events of the sort. NJCU is mostly a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Course loads are very heavy, but manageable if you are dedicated and want to learn and get something out of the class. Since I am a journalism major the writing and the reading have been very plentiful, but if you are up to the challenge you will come out a much better and polished reader and writer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take this school lightly, there is a reason they call it the Harvard on the boulevard. The classes are tough and many of the professors will treat you as though you were an ivy league student because they believe you deserve the same kind of education people are getting at Brown.

    In three sentences

    Based on my experience at NJCU I can say that it is one of the best, and most affordable schools in New Jersey. In my four years I have learned things beyond my initial expectations, and have truly grown thanks to all my professors. It is a serious school for those who are dedicated to their craft and want to succeed.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is somewhat safe but it is not recommended to walk around the area outside of campus at night.

    Greek Life

    huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor society, school newspaper faculty, swimming, and lots more

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated students, students who need help, or students who want a good education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The students' online accounts are called Gothic accounts

    Bang for the buck

    New Jersey City University has a fantastic Education program and they have a visual arts building, along with free access to their fitness gym.

    What to do for fun

    New Jersey City University's music department constantly produces musicals, symphony concerts, voice recitals, as well as plays and other kinds of events coordinated by other departments. There's always something to do and/or participate it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! New Jersey City University has lots of great food inside their cafeteria but also, surrounding the campus are many great places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, but you must be responsible. The dorms are clean and lots of nice and good students dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty demanding. The professors have said that they feel that everyone who attends this school should receive a good education and they make sure of it, but if you are having a hard time keeping up with academics they always find a way to help you work around you problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you're not sure about what you want to study, just contact an advisers via e-mail and they usually get back to you quickly. You will get the help you need if you just ask for it. They make your life as easy as possible just go for it. Plus it's one of the cheapest schools to attend with really creative professors.

    In three sentences

    I am currently an Early Childhood Education, English Literature major and Piano Performance minor. New Jersey City University is in my heart because the professors really care about their students, and go out of their way to help and push the students to do better. I'm so proud and honor to attend NJCU and pursue my dreams.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has events for all students to participate as well as fraternities and sororities and various clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent variety of food, as well as healthy.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've heard from friends and other students its a blast, and gives you the real college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, this university provides so many opportunities, it really is a waste when you don't participate. Be Proactive.

    In three sentences

    So far during my first two semesters everything has been an awesome experience. The teachers are great, the staff are helpful, and the students are respectful and courteous. I see myself graduating here in a few years and I can honestly say that I look forward to the time I spend and will spend at this university.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NJCU is really safe. And I give them 100%

    Greek Life

    I hear that the Greek life is really fun and responsible. I can wait to be on it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I attend to be in the soccer, volleyball, or track team because they are really important to me and NJCU is a great place to join a team

    Great for these types of students

    I will give the students in that school 100%

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the location.

    What to do for fun

    NJCU have a lot for fun and can't wait to be a part of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great students100%

    In three sentences

    New jersey city university is a place to be. NJCU make me realize that I could be anyone I want. NJCU have an amazing campus.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New Jersey City University is one of the most diverse campuses I've ever experienced. While walking to class, one can hear languages spoken by students from all around the world. You'll meet friends from countries that you may have never known about.

    Bang for the buck

    New Jersey City University currently has the lowest tuition in the state of New Jersey. Yet, with its small student population in comparison of the a private college, One shall find the college a great value.

    What to do for fun

    New Jersey City University might not be a large University, but they are very close to a large city... New York City. With a Light Rail only 2 blocks away. You can easily put yourself in the middle of the action in the city that never sleeps. It's the New York University Alternative!!

    Food and Dining

    The food served is on par with that of other Universities I've been to. The main difference is how fast you can get your meal. Some colleges tend to have students backed up, waiting to be served. I've never had that problem here.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, So I am unable to answer this question

    Academic Rigor

    I rated the Academic Rigor for three starts instead of four not because the classes are not challenging, but because tutoring is widely available. The campus consists of rather small amount of students. So, anyone with difficulties in a class or classes, can easily find tutors to assist yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, please advise that the University is not very large, so having classes within 10 minutes of one another can be achieved.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey City University can be best summed up as this; A private college feel with a public college price. With a campus of about 8,900 students, You'll be identified as a person, not a number.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a gym where you can work out, swim or play basketball. They have dance clubs, special events like Meet The Greeks where you see a lot of step dances and the DJ playing some great music.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food to choose from like salad, pizza, sandwiches, hamburgers you name it. The people who serve you are very friendly almost as if you knew them for years.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I do not know much about dorming other than what people told me. It is a great experience from what I heard.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are pretty tough. I guess it all depends on your major really. The language arts classes can be a little demanding, but as long as you stay on your toes and focus it shouldn't be too difficukt.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should visit the campus and take a look to see if New Jersey City University is the right place for them. I was once in their shoes so I know how it feels. I went to some of the events that NJCU was having like the Meet The Greek events. They really make you feel welcome and show you a good time. That is what won we over but again, they should come see for themselves if this is the campus they want to be in.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey City University is a great campus! It is vibrant, small and the people are friendly here. My favorite part about it is that the campus as small classes for better student to teacher interaction.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security all over

    Greek Life

    All the Greeks are Latina's but all the groups are diverse. Everyone plays a part and I think it is so cool

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for eveyone, Math Club, Science Club, Black National Honor Society Club, a club for people who are dealing with their sexuality(LBQT), and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love being in everyone dorms. They are so cute. I love being in GSUB too that's where some of the food is.

    Bang for the buck

    At first I did not know where I wanted to go to school. I am really glad i choose this school. It has a good tuition the food is great, everyone care about everyone,, and you can't go wrong with this choice.

    What to do for fun

    You could join many activities that take place on campus. You could go to the water front. You could go to New York City and many other places too. This campus is in the middle of a lot of fun places.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent Excellent ! I love the different variety's this college has to offer. They have just about everything.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've seen dorm life seems great. I did not dorm yet, but i plan to in my second year which will be in the upcoming fall

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise this school is great as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you have to do when you have to do it. Do not rush anything. Also, enjoy it all.

    In three sentences

    This school is extremely diverse. Help is always available when it comes to anything. This college is no ordinary college.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Film and theatre are offered to students in alternate months.Other functions of music,science departmental clubs and often free food serves as facility of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafetaria and dinning facilities are satisfactory in taste and cleanliness but costly for many students.

    Dorm Life

    The campus life is nice experience for the students of NJCU.The atmosphere,community and cleanliness has been very attractive and peaceful.

    Academic Rigor

    The university is processing in all the areas of education.It provides satisfactory atmosphere to flourish student's academic creativity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard working students are encouraged in the university.It offers many opportunities to its prospective students.The best tip is to study on regular base.

    In three sentences

    The university is fantastic.It has nice and cooperative professors.It has good retention rate.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe this campus is very safe. I took evening classes and there awas always security around.

    Clubs and Activities

    This University is always having artists and poets perform, which is great for those who don't want to leave the campus and still be entertained.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are used to city lifestyle because there is always traffic when it comes to parking. Also, this University is good for those who like a more loose curriculum.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, some Departments are better than others. In my case, I got what I paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Jersey City is great for Filipinos because there are a lot of Filipino restaurants in the area. Also, it is very close to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    Food was good. There was a variety of healthy food, but a little on the expensive side. The dining area was large and comfortable.

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Sociology major, I felt our requirements were pretty-easy. I probably could have been challenged more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before applying, make sure you talk to the Department professors and see if they are organized. Some Departments are better than others. The Psychology Department and the Criminal Department are both great.

    In three sentences

    It's a hit or miss with the staff you talk. Some are passionate about their jobs and some hate it. When the staff hates their job it really comes through to the students.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    excellent faculty and a dedicated specialized service department

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school to be able to focus on your work. It is a dry campus which does not distract any students. I recommend this school to anyone who wants to exceed in the present and future.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe because there are security guards all over the building during day and night. Security officers are available throughout the campus by vehicle or on foot. There is a shuttle that transports students from school to the nearest student parking lots.

    Food and Dining

    School cafeteria offers many food varieties such as Subway. There are many healthy choices such as fresh fruit smoothies and fresh quesadillas made daily. Cereals, natural teas, and healthy fruit snacks are also offered.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenges presented by different classes are the following: Professors expect students to follow through with their homework and study materials. Professors expect students to think outside the box and keep an open mind. If a professor presents difficult reading material, he or she expects students to read a couple of times in order to understand it.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a new student attending NJCU, you should go on their website and read their resources page. This page will allow you to receive help through the different campus resources available at the school. This page will allow you to see the steps that you need to take in order to have a smooth transition into college. Transfer credit information, and what office and phone numbers are posted for students for example. If you are a transfer student, there are also steps listed to follow in order to have a smooth transition into college. For example, to go to the Student Advisement office to have your transcript evaluated as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey City University is close to home. It provides students with many career study choices such as business, criminal justice and nursing. There is a great opportunity to meet people from all over the state.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Better than community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Many choices some that are actually healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it's pretty bad.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of work can be required but as long as you try you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you show motivation you can pass.

    In three sentences

    Great friendly environment. Dedicated teachers. Computers need to be updated.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety: that is the top thing that those security gaurds have in mind. People that are commuting everyday, once you use the parking lot you will have a shuttle picking you up to take you to campus and there will be a shuttle picking you up from campus to take you to the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities there is alot, everyday there is always something going on. You will always know because you will be sent e-mails and flyers will be around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not pricey. It is average and you have a lot of opportunities and chances.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going around campus, it's always an adventure everyday.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the BEST especially their sandwiches and their pizza.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but what my classmates tell me is that everyday is an adventure.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Biology major, professors are very helpful to you and they are always there to help. But once you enter in that classroom there is no playing around, professors do not joke. They expect things to be done in a nicely timely manner.

    In three sentences

    It is absolutely a dream come true. I wouldn't want it any other way.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety two thumbs up!

    Greek Life

    This school is for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of clubs ranging from sports to education.

    Great for these types of students

    For all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Waterfront and huge library.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy their daycare service while I am in class my child is on campus learning too!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or chill in the entertainment room next to the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    I love thier salad bar and cheese burgers.

    Dorm Life

    A few of my fellow classmates dorm and they love it; safe and qiet.

    Academic Rigor

    I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your professors in beginning, middle, and towards the end of the semester to avoid any confusion or grade issues.

    In three sentences

    I like all my professors and course loud is average but doable. Getting to class is a breeze as all public transportations are accessible. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. I call this my second home.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe on campus. Go a few blocks in any direction and it's starts to get a little questionable.

    Greek Life

    There are some frats/sororities but they don't have houses.

    Great for these types of students

    Broke commuters and teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some great views from the tops of the assorted buildings if you can find your way up there. Also the attic above hepburn that leads into the clock tower is really cool.

    What to do for fun

    work out in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is decent and there is a starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Can't say for sure because i'm a commuter but there aren't many people in the dorms. From what i've heard there isn't much going on.

    Academic Rigor

    It really varies from professor to professor. Overall, it's not super difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to a few different schools.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent commuter school thats relatively easy to get into. The campus is nice enough and it's close to NYC. The art department has a nice facility and most of the professors are on their game.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit in the cafe

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on time Always ask for help Do not procrastinate

    In three sentences

    New Jersey City is a cool university nice and small. Everyone is pretty cool and the classes are very easy to find. There's a;ways help on campus and not to stressful trying to register for classes.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good

    What to do for fun

    Join the different clubs the university provides and participate in all the activities from the university.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic material is rigorous but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Compare tuition prices Quality of teaching The variety of majors

    In three sentences

    NJCU is a great university, especially in the Counseling field. The professors are very professional and very helpful with the students. I'm happy to be a NJCU student.