Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Computer people

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a really good college and the campus is perfect for me Every building I need to go to is 5 minutes away from my dorm and if I have to travel far, the subway is about 10 minutes away

  • 05/31/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 2 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to pursue a career in anything especially in the sciences, engineering, and architecture then this is the college for you. Also, if you do not want a career in any of these fields then you are still at an advantage because there are so many different programs and opportunities for different students especially networking in the business world. You will be well prepared for any career after leaving NJIT. They give you the real world experience you need to be successful. I know i will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has always been my number one since I realized I wanted to pursue a career in the sciences. After attending spring and summer programs there I got a chance to really see how the college opearates and fell in love with the college's effort to make the campus a community.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to major in computer and engineering based careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great Financial Aid package

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I find it to be a little pricey, especially for the dorm and food.

    Am enjoying being here

    It can be a depressing school, weekends are dead, very little parties, but the city is a train ride away. Campus is safe. Food is horrible.

    Am learning a lot

    As an architecture major it is very hard to get a good nights rest. Unlike other majors, archies live in their studios and can stay in their for many days. There is a lot of work but there is an equal amount of learning when it comes to this school.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Computer-oriented, those interested in science, go-getters who want to get ahead.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY! Trust me, you won't regret it. And even if you decide NJIT isn't for you, don't lose out on the opportunity!

    Bang for the buck

    An affordable tution for an education you can't afford to pass up.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great campus, great education, division 1 atheltics and unlimited all day dining? Did I mention the dining includes stir fry, sushi and starbucks?

    Will learn a lot

    The comprehensive educational plan not only teaches you what you need to know, it teaches you what you WANT to know.

  • 11/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that have a set mind on pursuing a career in engineering, technology, or architecture. Also caters to students that intend to major in business, or design based.

    Tips for prospective students

    Usually people that say it sucks here is because they haven't made full use of the resources available to them. As an adult, realize that every little decision you make will have a huge consequence, whether good or bad, even months down the road. Ladies, don't be intimated by the male to female ratio. I got over the shock of being either the only or one of 3-5 girls in my classes by the 1st few days. The fellas here won't bite,!! Society of Women Engineer and the Murray Center for Women are there to help. Stereotypes will rarely be found here. EOP - a prime example - is so diverse. Get rid of your bias, and you'll find a whole new world of resources to help you reach your goal.

    Bang for the buck

    Many students attending NJIT accredit that to their Financial Aid Package and I couldn't agree more. The money that they give to students is AMAZING!! I advise that you keep tabs on your Financial Statement. This is at the top of the list along with your academics to keep track of. If you're a student who's not financially stable, HIGHLY apply for EOP as spots fill up quickly. EOP also allows for amazing discounts and a wider range of friends early on in the year. There are professional organizations such as the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE), Society of Women Engineers (SWE), and Society of Hispanic Profession Engineers (SHPE). They have career fairs and scholarships that allows for even more money to come your way.

    Am enjoying being here

    All ratings aside (i.e. The Princeton Review) NJIT is what you make of it. If you're the kid who stays in their dorm playing video/PC games, then your mostly likely going to say the school sucks. If all you do is party and do horrible in classes, your most likely going to agree with the nerd except that there's a social life. Basically, get involved and learn how to balance your activities. Join clubs or intramural sports. While this isn't a weekend school, the RA coordinators always have some sort of fun events posted. There is never a week when there isn't a fun activity, especially during Exam Weeks.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have the opportunity to take Honors/AP classes in your highschool (particularly in math and science) DO IT!! It's easy to fall behind and many times harder to catch up. The have the Center for Academic and Professional Enrichment (CAPE) which hosts walk-in & appointed tutoring to help you in your courses. Also, make use of your prof's study hours.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every email is connected to the campus public safety so if something goes on, we automatically receive information about it. There are also 24-hr police on duty.

    Greek Life

    If you're interested in being part of the Greek Life, we have plenty of recognized Fraternity and Sorority! We also have a co-ed community service Fraternity and National Honor Fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join and activities to participate such as the Highlander Games!

    What to do for fun

    NYC is 15 minutes away; Prudential and NJPAC is right around the corner; Rutgers-Newark and Essex County College is literally next to us; The Ironbound which has tons of good Portuguese restaurant!

    Food and Dining

    It has its days! There are a lot of fun themes though! I loved Hawaiian lunch! All the helpers wend all out with decorations and costumes! They make the food taste 10000x better!

    Dorm Life

    I think it depends on what building and on what floor you live in. During my first year, I lived in the architecture floor with my fellow architecture majors. Dorm life became fun because we all sort of have the same schedule and same bed time so we hang out at our lounges all the time!

    Academic Rigor

    Again, the classes are tough. If I were to turn back, I would enhance my time management skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be up to date with everything around the campus! It's fun once you actually participate!

    In three sentences

    The courses and subjects are tough but the key to understanding the lessons is to really pay attention and of course, take notes. The environment and social life is not that bad compare to what others say. Overall, I do recommend it for those who aspire to work in the technology and design world!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being around three other colleges, there are a lot of police around. Whenever something bad happen, no matter how little it is, NJIT will notify all the students the crime in full details.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like PC gaming, you belong here. There is a club here that host tournaments for the best multiplayer game on the PC. Did I forget to mention that they give out prizes.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gaming room in the school. In there you can bowl for a small price, play pool, chess, etc. The organizations on campus also set up games on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at NJIT is like that of a 4 star restaurant. Its buffet style and for a small fee you can eat as much as you want. Its a huge variety of food there, to much to explain.

    Dorm Life

    Even though I do not live on campus, i been in the dorms countless times and I must say its better than expected. Its a lot more to do in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its tough. You have to put your all in your school work even when you do not have class. Luckily NJIT provides excellent tutoring programs to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it's an easy school to get into doesn't mean it's not hard. You have to put a lot of time in to your studies in all your classes.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey Institute of Technology is one of those schools where you must know your material. The school provides excellent programs that will help you in most situations. One of the better schools in the country.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It cant be very unsafe if you stray off campus during the nights. It is in newark their are project like areas close by but their is constant police security around. You feel very safe, but always be aware of your surroundings. don't travel alone, at night and blast music. You are just asking for the wrong attention

    Greek Life

    The greek life is great, I am a greek my self. I am part of delta epsilon psi, and we have the highest gpa on campus, the social life as a greek is great. Alot of the other greeks are very friendly, no hatred

    Bang for the buck

    It doens't have the best research and network opportunities but if you have a good gpa, jobs are fairly easy to find. Plus tuition isn't very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    If you are of age, there are very friendly bars, a few longues, two hookha bars, a few parks and reaction fields, and some museums. NYC is only a train ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Food its pretty good, way better than ru newark. The quality has increased substantially and there are many places to eat, well after 12 am.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the nicest, and don't have the best amenities, but it can be fun if you have a good group of friends. RA's are usually pretty lenient and so are the desk attendants, all very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    People think it isn't challenging but it is, there will be that class every semester where you will bust your butt, and still get a c+. Keep focused. The math courses are extremely challenging, ranked 6 in the country for a reason. Its at par with MIT MATH, beware.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focused, time partying is time wasted. Parties come and go time doesn't. Manage your time properly and you can enjoy all njit has to offer. Make the right friends, smart friends might be boring at times, but they will keep you out of trouble, and will be helpful later in life.

    In three sentences

    It's better than you would expect, and with the right attitude it can be a good experience. The social life isn't the most lively, but it exists and can be fun. Very generous staff.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If your grades match the criteria, make sure you apply for the Honors College. Even if your SATs or GPA is a little below what they are looking for, still apply!! You can make up for these things with a great interview.

    In three sentences

    I recently got accepted to the Albert Dorman Honors College and the amount in scholarships I received is incredible. The financial aid for this school is wonderful and based on my two visits to the campus I can say it is a great environment to be in and I am looking forward to attending next fall.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NJIT is very safe. They have their own police that protects the campus on top of the Newark police.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is flourishing. There are several Greek homes spread out around Newark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always posters and activities going on on campus. There is plenty to do when you're not studying or in class.

    Great for these types of students

    NJIT does a great job creating opportunities for their majors. For instance, architecture students have architectual floors located in the dorms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are interesting stories including the mascot especially dealing with the Division 1 soccer team.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a few good places to eat like around rutgers, which is directly next to the campus. There are not a lot of places to eat like other schools, but there is enough to have a few choices.

    What to do for fun

    Most students hang out in either their halls or major's floors. For instance, there is an architectural floor that I will plan on spending most of my time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is well-prepared and not bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    There are alot of nice students attending this college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of intelligent students attending this college. The academic competition is high.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is designed for architecture, business and engineering students. The limits are endless in these degrees, but there is not a very wide selection in majors that other school may have.

    In three sentences

    From what I have come across, the campus is cut off from the rest of Newark. NJIT does an excellent job seperating its institution from the craziness of Newark. I am very excited to attend and graduate with a masters is architecture and a duel degree in civil engineering.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety of food, as well you can cook your own food if you don't want to eat what its already prepare.

    Dorm Life

    This is my first semester, but i would say that they have great opportunities and they want you to be save, comfortable and to enjoy life.

    Academic Rigor

    Is pushing yourself beyond what you think is easy and achieve all your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead, meet with the Learning Disabilities Specialist before classes begin to submit documentation and arrange academic accommodations.

    In three sentences

    It has great opportunities for an Engineering Major. There are many clubs, societies to be enrolled and not only think about homework's, test or quizzes. The most important thing is that NJIT thinks about students first and then about money.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, not the party type

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to figure out what you really want to do. NJIT can be flexible if you want to test the waters in other majors.

    Bang for the buck

    I have always thought NJIT was worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a good school. Sometimes I do feel a little over my head though with the amount of work I have to do.

    Am learning a lot

    definitely am learning alot, some things I hadn't even expected.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Time management.Time management.Time management. Besides that, enjoy your college experience and be yourself!

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are so open minded and it's very easy to make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently studying Architecture at NJIT. The critics help you alot despite lack of experience. Faculty is also very understanding.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    be careful.. only you can measure your safety. its newark.

    Great for these types of students

    international students, anyone who feels different as if they don't belong.

    Bang for the buck

    school is what you make of it don't listen to everything you read.

    What to do for fun

    we have athletic center,game room, events on campus, make your own fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    read the curriculum for desired major before sitting down with advisers.

    In three sentences

    education wise njit is a great student. the professors are very intelligent and although some may not know how to profess their knowledge they are available if you need help. very influential school if one desires to go far in life.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    very great for minorities.

    What to do for fun

    there is a fitness area and arcade for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    come here with the will- power to work hard and know that it is not easy.

    In three sentences

    this school is very diverse and the professors are very dedicated.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no worries for safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    sports are a great way to meet new friends.

    Great for these types of students

    njit is great, but you have to study hard.

    What to do for fun

    plenty of clubs and sports. i play on the ice hockey team. we broke a school record by winning the first ever njit conference championship.

    Food and Dining

    it's wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    i commute, but have friends that stay at the university center. a great place.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want to pursue your dream vocation, njit is the one for you.

    In three sentences

    it is a wonderful and exciting school. the programs that are offered are outstanding. my major of architect is very intriguing. i have made many new friends.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    not a joke. you need to come ready to work and work hard in order to do good and succeed.

    In three sentences

    it okay if you are here to come and do a lot of work.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    guys who aren't looking to party and see lots of girls.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bubble tea

    What to do for fun

    clubs and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for hard math.

    In three sentences

    the college is for the area, a good living environment. the classes are excellent and transfering is hassel free.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    for the tuition price, njit is definitely the best choice for a student interested in engineering, sciences, architecture, etc.

    What to do for fun

    njit offers a recreation center with an indoor pool, gym, dance halls, etc. in the campus center, there is a lobby with bowling allies and billiard tables. outside, there is space as well as a soccer field to play outdoor sports. around the campus, the city of newark offers museums and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    a large variety of food is offered on and around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are small and there are many mechanical complaints about the dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    the program is very time consuming and can get challenging at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    only dorm if you can manage time and money. be prepared to spend more time at school than at home.

    In three sentences

    it's a small friendly campus. it's surrounded by a huge city. the academic program is more difficult than at most colleges.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley, game room, and pub that students go to to get away and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very accommodating considering there is a lot to choose from. Overall quality of the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept in good shape and are very comfortable. Most residents are respectful of each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic's are extremely demanding but doable as long as time is used wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your adviser as much as possible and don't let yourself fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Overall NJIT is a great academic school. It has an extremely friendly atmosphere. I would give NJIT a 9 out of 10 for overall happiness with NJIT.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The Best among the universities...

    Tips for prospective students

    If u get a chance here, just go for it....

    In three sentences

    Its Awesum for mechanical engineering. I had a dream to attend this graduate school. And last but not the least, as its close to New York its a better place to study and job prospective is better.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    alot

    Clubs and Activities

    many

    Bang for the buck

    not many

    What to do for fun

    basketball

    Food and Dining

    all types of foods

    Dorm Life

    clean and nice

    Academic Rigor

    I hear that NJIT is a very difficult school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try hard in school. SAT is a big factor of acceptance into college. Try to maintain a 3.0.

    In three sentences

    The New Jersey Institute of Technology is one of the best engineering schools available in the state of New Jersey. They offer many opportunities for students like me to change their lives. NJIT also has a diverse community, which is one thing that is interesting to me.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Programmers great teachers in that area

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have no help when it comes to math which is a requirement and when you fail they dont care if the teacher did not teach you will have to pay full price even when there was no help and you asked for it.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is a great school to learn about technology, but as far as math the a lacking in support,tutorials to help students. The class are cheap and dirty especially the desks.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although it is located in Newark, the campus is extremely safe and there are lots of police officers always patrolling.

    Greek Life

    Amazing!! I am in Alpha Sigma Fi!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. It's very cultural.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Family day is amazing. Lots of fun activities and things to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school and not expensive compared to other universities.

    What to do for fun

    Join a frat and or social clubs.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, and affordable Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, never give up and keep a yes I can attitude.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is a challenging institute. NJIT is one of the best Institutions in the East Coast. NJIT is an amazing school.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing to do in the area

    In three sentences

    small campus everything is within walking distance the location seemed safe

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NYC Metro!

    Food and Dining

    Decent food in campus, but the city of Newark is awesome for food.

    Dorm Life

    Ghosttown on the weekends. However, the Ironbound section of Newark is 5 minutes away and really fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, you can learn a lot. Email instructors for course information before registering for a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with clubs that have positive hardworking students.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is great for self-motivated entrepreneurs in the making. However, there are also a lot of lazy students wasting space. If you are easily influenced by these type of people stay away.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 61

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) is an urban school with access to a variety of different housing, activities, cities, transportation, as well as affiliations with other schools such as UMDNJ and Rutgers, which allow students to take courses that NJIT may fall short of. NJIT, while a good technology university, is not ideal for a liberal arts education, where graduate study is concerned. Although NJIT is a public university, they are student-oriented and are willing to work with you if and when special circumstances arise that affect your education.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a high priority. They have a Newark Police Station on Campus and they are always broadcasting announcements to stay safe and they also patrol Campus as well. Dorms require your ID and guests will need to be registered for the duration of their stay in your dorm room.

    Greek Life

    While I never joined any of fraternities, I can tell you that Greek life are one of the highly active organizations on campus. From fund raising for Natural Catastrophes to fun activities and on campus rock concerts, Greek Life organizations are one of the top organization for that slight distraction you might need to take a breather from studies. If you feel you belong in a Greek Life Organization, you will not go wrong at NJIT.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities available at NJIT. From on campus paper called the vector to society of hispanic engineers, just about any club you can think of has a presence on campus. You can and may also start your own club as long as you follow the posted rules.

    Great for these types of students

    NJIT is great for students that strive for perfection and are not easily swayed. Any student that is serious about Architecture, Engineering, Information Technology, Programming, all these areas and more are highly diverse, challenging and rewarding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of to be honest ...

    Bang for the buck

    While like any form of education can be expensive, I believe NJIT offers a great bang for the buck. NJIT has been increasing its popularity is considered one of the top colleges for Technology and Innovation.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports that can be done. There are 2-3 gyms available, racquet ball court, volley ball courts, a soccer field, greek life, many clubs and activities are available as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good as well. Students have a buffet style type of payment and are allowed to mix and match food at will in the main cafeteria. From a grill station, to salad, to pizza, odds are they have something you will like to eat and enjoy. Food is always fresh and nutritious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The quality of all the dorms are top notch and clean. Very easy to get to your dorm and security is also taken very seriously. Guests must also be registered before they are allowed to your dorm. Cameras are also in place to also try and deter crimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying is a must especially for Mathematics and Science. As I stated before, professors will push you to your limits. Syllabuses are not only challenging, but it is guaranteed that you will learn material even if you already know the subject, you will still learn something new.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very diverse and serious college. This college takes academics extremely seriously, you will not get a free ride, meaning, you will not just Get an A for not trying. Professors will challenge you and push you to your limits.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is challenging and diverse. I believe this college to be a perfect fit for anyone serious about the latest in technology. I highly recommend this college for a great education in all areas including, Engineering, Business and Information Technology

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is always awake and patrols campus very often. They also are quick to respond. Moreover, you have campus police, Rutgers' campus police across the street, ECC security guard down the block, and Newark police station down the block as well.

    Greek Life

    There are many on campus from Social, Community service, to business.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always things going on campus, the more you do the more fun you will have!

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts

    Bang for the buck

    It's a cheap school compared to other Engineering schools and you get a goo education. However, you get so pissed off with how small the school is and how mean everyone is that it makes it kind of unbearable.

    What to do for fun

    Train rides to the city. Visit the local bars and restaurants. There are a lot of great restaurants in Newark.

    Food and Dining

    Gross! You never know if your full or just grossed out and lost your appetite.

    Dorm Life

    I 'm being nice and giving it a 4 just because the friends I've made make dorm life fun. However, the weekends are dead on campus, since the college is manly a commuter school. Also the dorms aren't that nice looking.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has a lot of hard classes. What makes them harder than most is all the professors with extremely thick accents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the first move when trying to make friends. A lot of people on campus are introverts.

    In three sentences

    It's a Challenging school. Since the faculty and staff are all smug the students tend to be smug as well. You learn a lot.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police always walking around on campus. They have access to fully equipped police cars, smart cars, and bicycles. They are integrated with Rutgers (Newark Campus) police and Newark police, who work full time with NJIT.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to succeed and get a great high paying job right after graduating. Students who have an interest in a career in anything related to Computers. Student who have an interest in Architecture.

    What to do for fun

    You can go see the highlanders play in a NCAA tournament or take a train to Times Square. You can join a club or become involved in a fraternity/sorority.

    Food and Dining

    The food like most other colleges is not superb but according people that have attended multiple colleges, the food at NJIT is not too bad. There is continuous dinning, a pub, salad bar, international foods, a Taco Bell. There is also a Subway really close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough but there are resources available on campus to help you succeed (professors, study groups/sessions, free tutoring center, and your friends).

    Tips for prospective students

    Review your math skills over the summer before you start college. Connect with people that are attending the college using social media services.

    In three sentences

    One of the largest college towns in the US, which includes NJIT, Rutgers (Newark Campus), and UMDNJ. A tough school but bearable. You won't regret attending there.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The many police departments on and surrounding campus keep it very safe.

    Greek Life

    Amazing students leaders are all in Greek Life. They are very big on campus and do a lot for the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Intrinsic Cafe is a great place to hang out. On Friday they have 2 for $5 bubble tea.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest colleges in the country and with a very high payback rate since all the careers are in technology.

    What to do for fun

    Go to parties, participate in activities on campus, take the train to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average but there are many options and GDS always tries to keep things new and exciting.

    Dorm Life

    The ResLife office is great and those who live on campus really feel the sense of community within the residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging since they are mainly math and science based. There are many resources to help students succeed in these courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Joining Greek Life at NJIT is a great way to make many connections and give yourself experience. Don't be afraid to ask for help in a course when you need it, there are many places that offer free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is a diverse and well-rounded school. The courses are challenging and rewarding. There are many clubs and activities which make it easy to get involved.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since it's in Newark, there will a lot of places to check out. Also, there seems to be sports, so maybe play Quittech?

    Food and Dining

    I generally liked the foods served there. Then again, I like anything that tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    I used the dorm in Cypress. It smelled like sweat. Real badly. The beds were softer than I thought. Oh, and four people, one bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Math. Everyone was stressing the importance of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do very well on math, both in high school and SAT. That way, you don't have to take 107 over the summer.

    In three sentences

    An excellent place to be surrounded in. Very diverse, generous staffs, great location. Except be prepared to take intense and competitive math class.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For a school in the middle of Newark, NJ, it's actually quite safe. The police aren't the sharpest, but there's a lot of them.

    Greek Life

    It's pretty active, I have no interest in it though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not enough to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Foreign exchange students and those who enjoy video games to human interaction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The architecture studios are always busy, so if you're lonely, look there!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a state school, so the tuition isn't horrible. Just spend your money wisely.

    What to do for fun

    The local bar is fun, but the proximity of the school to New York City is really where you will find the most to do.

    Food and Dining

    The local dining hall is awful. However, there's great ethnic food around town if you know where to look.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of the buildings is pretty poor. There is also little to do on or around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    A little bureaucratic, but rigid. You have to know what you're doing to make it through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider commuting. There isn't too much to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    It's tough. The programs themselves are pretty intense, the lack of social scene can be draining, and competition can overwhelm you. You need to be creative and find ways to make the best of your education here.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's ok

    Greek Life

    Best thing on campus, if your not an athlete.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds, dorks, losers, smart.

    What to do for fun

    There's really not much to do, so during the night I go out to the frat houses.

    Food and Dining

    It's the same disgusting food all the time, I got food poisoning from bad chicken once.

    Dorm Life

    Reslife sucks, but dorming freshman year is the best decision ever.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is easy to get into, very difficult to get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have good time management and ways to relieve stress.

    In three sentences

    NJIT has a great environment with amazing students. The work load though is very stressful, beyond what I think college should withhold. On top of being stressful, there are not enough activities to help de-stress.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe during the day but try not to go out of campus alone when it gets dark.

    Greek Life

    There is a new Greek center being built in what used to be a parking lot. Fraternity Row is where most of the fraternity houses reside. They hold lots of events and like to include non-Greek students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs http://studentsenate.njit.edu/index.php/clubs/ Each club usually holds events and there are certain days where they all make booths outside in order to recruit new members. There are a lot of activities on campus you just have to have time to look for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who really want to meet lots of new people and are good students. It's also for students who don't want to go to a big school. You can walk from one point to another in about five minutes.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Prudential Center where they hold events, NYC is very close and it is easy to take a train or a bus. There is a park nearby that is famous for the Cherry Blossom trees.

    Food and Dining

    There is a street about 10 minutes away called Ferry St where there is a lot of good food. The restaurants are mostly Portuguese, Spanish, and Brazilian. It's really good. On campus there is a Dining hall, a few sandwich shops, Indian Cuisine, and a small store for quick foods. There are also grease trucks on the streets and a pub in the main building.

    Dorm Life

    There are different dorms in which some have private bathrooms for each suite and others are public to the entire floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be very difficult depending on the teaching style of the professor and your ability ti keep up with the material. There are classes that the only way you could possibly fail is if you never show up, but not many.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is really important if you are planning to get good grades. There are few classes that slacking won't jeopardize your GPA.

    In three sentences

    It's a very diverse school with many international students. It is definitely cool getting to know all of them and the many different cultural backgrounds.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several occasions a year where students get mugged ON CAMPUS after dark but it's generally a very safe campus during the day. DO NOT got off campus when dark, even during the day don't if you don't have to.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a hell of a degree for the price you pay.

    What to do for fun

    You can play frisbee and go to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    You are forced to purchase a $1,500 meal plan if you are a freshman or sophomore which is absolutely ridiculous considering the food served isn't that great. Even the most basic of all, pancakes. They have no taste! It's like chewing plastic.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms aren't well maintained and once you start moving away from your window you'll start loosing reception on your phone. The lighting is terrible. There really is no 'dorm life' I can only tell you what the dorm is like.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum seems to be a little hard. The professors aren't that great, not because they don't know what they're teach but rather because they can barely speak English.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for 'the most bang for your buck' and you want to major in engineering and live in NJ then NJIT is the place for you. But no one at NJIT could promise that it will be fun.

    In three sentences

    Great education for the price you pay. You'll find some very smart and talented students as well as those who have no idea what they're doing. Campus life isn't terrible but its not good either.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Me personally, I like to shoot pool, play video games, and interact with the student body. I'm also from Newark, N.J., so fun is always me here at NJIT.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not a problem because if you do not want on campus there are plenty of good restaurant and cafe in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool because there is always something going on here at the school. Also if you have a great circle of friends boredom is never a factor.

    Academic Rigor

    I like it here because of the quality of performance that is expected from the professors and acamdemic workload for the student in order for him/her to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good way to get your feet wet here is to constantly network and take advantage of opportunities that may pique your interest.

    In three sentences

    I like NJIT because of the networking and connectivity that is available for students to enter the job industry. NJIT is a good school for someone looking for an academic challenge. I like it here because of the availabilty of resources.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Extracurricular activities, clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    I quite enjoyed the different options. From taco bell to a buffet, there is something for everyone. I haven't complained yet!

    Dorm Life

    Campus gives you access to everything you need but it is a small campus. Dorm buildings and rooms are designed simply.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics in certain circumstances (depending on the individual) can be quite challenging. Engineering students and students at the college of art and design are constantly challenged and are typically the most busy. Teachers expect you to go beyond and not just pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, you will succeed at this school if you maintain organization. As long as you keep on top of all your classwork, you will do fine. The school is quite challenging but the result is worth it. Take advantage of office hours of your professors and different clubs.

    In three sentences

    Academically focused school that is motivating. Teachers are great and classes challenging. It is a small campus with a great chance at meeting friends.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    being that you are in Newark NJ campus safety is beefed up, not campus police, they are REAL cops!

    Greek Life

    HUGE! go greek and your life will be completely different!!

    Bang for the buck

    i really regret going here. i am not happy, but already too many credits in to leave. so i have to stick it out

    What to do for fun

    make friends early on and party!!!

    Food and Dining

    If you do not like dining plans do not come here

    Dorm Life

    Keep in mind you are living in building built years ago in Newark NJ. the UC is the place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't like to study don't come here

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into the school, all aspects before committing.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse school. It is not the best party school and the ratio of girls to guys is terrible. Lower level teachers are terrible but the core higher level teachers are better.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location of the campus is definitely not ideal, as it is located in Newark, and it seems like you're taking a risk every time you go out at night. I often received emails from the school and local police department of armed robberies and assaults just a block away pr even right outside the dorms.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is alright at NJIT, but certainly not as exciting or inviting as in other schools. The frats are all located along one street, commonly referred to as frat road. However, crimes, robberies, and assaults are a common re occurrence along the houses on the street. However, NJIT is in the process of developing a new safe frat village alongside the campus which would certainly seem like an attractive option for the frats and a safer option for party-goers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join, varying from sports clubs to robotics to video games to chess and on and on. It is a small campus so the clubs do not meet very often or have a lot of locations to meet at, but they variety of clubs and social activities is certainly nice.

    Great for these types of students

    NJIT is pretty much for people that enjoy mathematics, science, and technology. If you are interested in physics, engineering, and computers, then this is definitely the place for you. The core curriculum is heavily based upon these subjects, and make NJIT an attractive option for those who enjoy math, science, and technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any specific campus-wide traditions that I know off, but NJIT often has small events like a Midnight Breakfast for those living in the dorms, or petting zoos and club fairs. The campus center is the hub of the entire campus, where most people meet and hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools around the area and the country, NJIT is really a great value for prospective students IF the major that they want to pursue is offered at NJIT.

    What to do for fun

    The track field is always open whenever it isn't being used by a sports team, so people often use it for recreational sports use. For fun people often go to the campus center basement where there is a game room and people usually hang out. It's a very diverse school, so if you're a social person you may enjoy meeting new people from across the globe, notably Europe and Africa.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is your average college food. Certainly edible and sometimes even good, but hardly gourmet options. There are some rather good dining options within the Campus Center, and some terrific food nearby outside the campus, but you'll have to spend quite a bit out of pocket.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life overall is okay, but some dorms are certainly much better than other dorms. Some cheaper dorms often smell, are home to insects and even rodents, and have maintenance problems all the time. Often times I would have to talk the stairs up and down to and from the sixth floor because both of the elevators were broken. The dorms that offer suites with individual bathrooms are rather cozy yet spacious, and I found I had an excellent experience in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    NJIT is certainly a challenging school no matter what your major is, and most dorm rooms are filled with students studying around the clock. I managed to achieve a 3.88 GPA my first semester, but I really had to work for it. Expect a college experience filled with challenging courses, foreign professors with thick accents, and some sleepless nights.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on campus probably only ideal for those who live far from Newark, and this is evident as NJIT is a commuter school. Prepare yourself for challenging courses and a big workload. Try to get involved in the clubs and organizations offered, but the sports events are not big attractions. Hard to build a social life with people that don't share the same interests.

    In three sentences

    Good school for those that want to be engineers or have a passion for science and technology. Not for those interested in the liberal arts. NJIT offers a nice variety of clubs and activities. The athletics aren't a big focus on campus and not a safe location.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The surrounding area isn't pleasant but there is plenty of security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Formula SAE

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bar on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    They have a buffet style cafeteria which isn't too bad but I prefer to bring lunch and save money.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm so I am not sure but I don't hear any complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others. It truly depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and get good grades.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey Institute of Technology is a good school. I enjoy going here. I wish it was closer to my house.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I saw the cafeteria at NJIT and was pretty impressed. They have a make your own food station which can potentially help you learn how to cook in the future. As well as an all you can eat meals. They also have a variety of foods for you to try. My mouth is watering just by thinking about the food there.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear, classes can be pretty difficult if your not prepared for college level work. If you manage your time and use the resources available at NJIT then you may have a chance to do really well in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you had a bad start during your freshman or sophomore years, then try to do excellent during the last few years. Also try to join the extra-curricular activities in your school. It can help strengthen your application for colleges and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is a great school for those who are interested in S.T.E.M. field related majors. The place looks really nice and the people seem friendly when I visited the campus. I can't wait to go to this college for engineering during the fall.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intervarsity christian fellowship, study in the basement library, National Society of Black Engineers

    Food and Dining

    get flex points

    Dorm Life

    you make the best of it

    Academic Rigor

    for no reason

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come

    In three sentences

    this school isn't awesome

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in safe keeping, however, at night it can be dangerous walking alone on the borders of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities that are constantly held on campus whether it be by the faculty or the students. The following are some of the activities: rock climbing, water balloon fights, renaissance festival, and more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and other places to eat at NJIT whether you are looking to eat a healthy meal or to indulge in fast foods.

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not dorm at NJIT, I have friends that do and it is very convenient for them to attend class on time and study.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at NJIT certainly challenge to do well and are not to be taken lightly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to stay on top of your school work, form study groups, seek out tutoring whenever needed.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is a wonderful place to not only study engineering, but to experience diversity among the student body. Also, there are many clubs and organizations that one can get involved with to start networking and build leadership skills. Finally, this school is at the forefront of technology and will give students the edge they need to be competitive in their field of study.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always visible. When you enter and exit the parking deck or lot, security is there. I've never felt I should fear for myself or my property on campus. Any issues reported with security and students occur when students are off campus.

    Greek Life

    There are several Greek organizations on campus. The Greeks have a positive impact on the campus sponsoring safety events, raising awareness for causes and raising funds for them as well. There is a significant Greek presence on campus and a new housing facility for the Greeks will be opened fall 2013.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large number of clubs and activities. Pre-professional clubs are great for students who may be in a small major to connect with other students and for students going down the same career path to make connects before graduate school.

    Great for these types of students

    NJIT is great for students who want to work hard and be challenged as they earn their degree. This college has a great reputation that coupled with a student's hard work will get his or her foot in the door. NJIT is close to New York City allowing a student to have a lot of opportunity for internships and co-ops abroad. The college is very diverse and embraces diversity. If you're a student who is a global citizen and likes experiencing new cultures, this is the right fit for you. If you don't have a car or want to stay close to home, the college is easily accessible by public transportation and has several parking lots and a deck making it easy for commuters. The school has a large commuting population and provides resources for commuters such as lounges and study areas.

    Bang for the buck

    NJIT is one of the best public institutes in the state and is reported to be one of the top institutes to return investment. There is an extensive alumni network which students can tap into for resources down the line.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are intramural basketball, soccer and football. There are always activities going on during the Wednesday common hour for free run by the clubs on campus. Clubs will occasionally set up a table in the Campus Center lobby to raise awareness of their organization and provide food or a game for students to partake in. Clubs are another form of entertainment on campus. On campus, there is a variety of clubs appealing to the diverse student population.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the dining hall but the other options available on campus are great. The food on campus is not expensive and there are other options off campus that are not too far away and are relatively inexpensive. On campus, there is a convenience store where one can purchase snacks and quick meals; a pizzeria, a sandwich counter; a Mediterranean and Middle East station; a Taco Bell; a grill; and a salad bar. Off campus but very close, there is a bubble tea shop, Chinese restaurant, Subway and Pizza Hut. There are two grease trucks always on Warren Street. With Rutgers Newark across the street from the New Jersey Institute of Technology's campus, students can go there for other dining options. A little walk down Bleeker Street although worth the exercise is Elbow Room which sells variations of macaroni and cheese.

    Dorm Life

    I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    As a member of the Honors college, Honors classes are a nice change of pace from my regular classes. I would suggest any one who is a strong writer to take Honor Humanities classes. I feel engaged in my classes for my major and love the discussion facilitated by my professors. I earn every grade and don't feel like professors give handouts. I love the challenge I get here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in your community and on your high school campus. Make the most of your classes in high school they will help prepare you for classes here. If possible, take AP classes and use the transfer credit to knock out prerequisites. The layout of the campus is perfect. The longest walk from building to building is ten minutes. The dorms are placed right next to buildings were classes are held.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey Institute of Technology is a diverse campus with many opportunities for students to excel. The faculty in the History department are the best on campus and truly care about their students' success in the class. There are a variety of clubs and Greek organizations on campus to help a student feel right at home.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus Security is crazy here I feel so safe because everywhere I walk I always see an NJIT cop so I feel fine walking on campus by myself. Even though I am in the middle of Newark I still feel safe.

    Greek Life

    As a female there isn't that many sororities on campus. 1. Alpha Sigma Tau (AST) 2. Delta phi epsilon (D phi E) 3. Sigma _____ Kappa (local sorority) 4. Lambda Tau Omega (my personal favorite organization) (LTO)

    Clubs and Activities

    i am involved in two professtional organization soon to be three. 1. Society of Women Engineers (SWE) 2. National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) 3. Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE)

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to clubs in NY like Webster Hall or go to iron bound in newark because there is always something going on down there. Also i like to go shopping in downtown newark as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food takes a while to get use to but to be honest it is really not all that great. GDS sucks!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay but you really have to go out to find something to do because on the weekends the campus is died and nothing happens on the weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really hard and depending on your professor it can either help you pass the class or help you fail the class. Take your pick.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead of the class. Always read the book and do problems from the book you use for class. Also take REALLY good notes! It will help you make it through college.

    In three sentences

    The school is about a 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. The campus is small and not a party school. So if you are serious about your work this is a perfect setting for you.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not as issue on campus but due to the fact that it is located in Newark , say a lot about concern for safety. Minor theft usually occurs which includes breaking into cars and assaults but what other college doesn't have any safety isssue

    Great for these types of students

    Science, technology and engineering students then NJIT is the perfect candidate for you. Aspect to have a blast because the school is very competitive and if you can't take the heat,Get the f out the kitchen. But seriously majority of the student are males, so if that's not an issue for you, you will enjoy your school year.

    What to do for fun

    There are limit to things you can do for fun on campus, there's a fun game room for student with lots of fun games and also a bowling alley. If that's not enough to been fun for you, there's prudential center like 10 minutes of walk away from the campus. That's a ideal area to enjoy your weekend which includes New Jersey Devil home games and College Basketball.

    Food and Dining

    NJIT is surrounded with unlimited resources, even on campus there are great restaurant which includes pizzeria, Italian restaurant and all kind of tasty food for student liking. There are different option of restaurant student can go around the campus that serves 24/7

    Dorm Life

    Eh dorm life is quite boring to me due to the fact that almost 85% of students are male. Lets be real its full of nerds, so there are not enough outing, parties. So you think coming to NJIT will be full of parties every weekend, you might as well just stay home

    Academic Rigor

    NJIT academic level can seem hard for incoming student due to the fact that its known as an engineering school but don't stress yourself out because the class are pretty much straight forward

    Tips for prospective students

    Have positive attitude because it brings the best out of you and might as well enjoy the campus life

    In three sentences

    What can i say about NJIT? Well this is a great school with great professors and faculty willing to go out of their way to help others adapt to school life. When i first came in as a transfer student, the environment was pretty much familiar with me since i live in Newark. The campus is not too big, it makes life easier for new students.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a police station right on the NJIT campus. There are also security guards around the campus. The desk attendants and Residence administrators assist in protecting the students of NJIT. In addition, students are required to swipe their card into the parking lot, those who do not have their card are not permitted into the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    innovation club Christian club where christian's meet and pray. There are clubs for homosexuals. In this club homosexuals gather together, share experiences and sometimes have game nights.

    Great for these types of students

    NJIT is great for students who have a passion for science and technology. It is also great for business majors. Students can join the innovation club and compete in NJIT's annual even where student create a product and win money. Above all, this school is built for student who value a quality education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is interesting how NJIT makes sure all their students are getting what they need from the school. In the basement, many Muslims gather to pray during the sunrise and sunset times.

    Bang for the buck

    NJIT gives students quality education. The professors care about their students and try their best to help their students in weak areas. The whole school system works together to make sure every single student is getting what they paid for. NJIT even assists students if they have problems getting a job. There are many jobs students can take at NJIT, such as proctoring, desk attendant jobs, residence life jobs or research jobs.

    What to do for fun

    There are several events at NJIT. In the Fall, students are given the opportunity to join groups within the school. At this event, music is played, food is served, NJIT t-shirts are given, and many other free things given out. There are other various activities where students have a chance to win items such as video game consoles or tablets. Sometimes there are even game nights where students have a chance to win prizes. Magicians come to the college a few times a year, as well as bands and comedians.

    Food and Dining

    Food is provided in the campus center. There are many delicious meals. Students and faculty can also get food at Tiernan. This food is mostly snack food and is distributed by chemistry majors. There are also vending machines full of snacks and beverages almost everywhere you turn.

    Dorm Life

    Students are allowed to sign in their friends or family members as guests to stay over. In the dorms there are lounges for students to relax. Sofas, tables, vending machines, televisions and game tables are provided for students. There are also quiet rooms where students can study alone. For safety, desk attendants check students in. Those who do not have their card on them are asked to give their school ID number and have to sign in. Then they are given a warning, if the student fails to bring their student card again, then they are reported. This is important to ensure the safety of other students. Our desk attendants are fellow students. The job is very flexible and works around the schedule of the employee. This gives students the opportunity to get money when they are available. There are also Resident administrators who help with any problems on each floor of the dorms. This isn't as flexible of a job, but NJIT pays for the resident administrators living expenses.

    Academic Rigor

    NJIT offer students a quality education. NJIT does not tolerate dishonesty is the work of its students. Students are expected to submit their own work, and those caught cheating will be deal with consequences. Turnitin.com is one of the systems NJIT uses to check the work of its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    New Jersey Institute of technology is notorious for its math. The math here is very difficult, and students should be prepared to take notes. Though some subjects are difficult, students must not be afraid to ask for help from their professors. Additional help is available from tutors. Students can request a private tutoring session or can go to a group tutoring session. There are many ways to succeed in this school, but effort is needed. This is not a school where students can sleep in class and expect to get a good grade. If a student is under a stress, there are therapists available at the school as well.

    In three sentences

    New Jersey Institute of Technology is an exceptional school. Here students can choose to pursue careers in various fields such as Technology, science, business, communications. It even offers a joint program where pre-med students can continue their education with the neighboring school UMDNJ.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition goes up every year, and compared to other colleges room and board is relatively the same, or more so cheaper. Sometimes a student is limited to the courses he/she can take because of their prerequisites required.

    What to do for fun

    Reslife has programs sometimes; however the most stuff is at the campus center. Wish there was more student body programs, and more free stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Not many places to eat. The Gourmet Dining Service is great at first and as time passes on, it loses its touch. Other places in campus center have better food. Other restaurants and cafes around campus, not too far away.

    Dorm Life

    It is okay. Wish the dorms were bigger. Not many places to eat in the evening.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors know what they are talking and are happy to be teaching. Some are stubborn and mean and do not care at all. Others confuse you and fail to care if you understand or not and just go on with teaching the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most of the majors are great here, just do your research, and make sure you know what you want to do. Many opportunities for jobs, especially if you know the right people, and join the right organizations.

    In three sentences

    Its a good college overall; a lot of the professors, especially in the math, engineering, and design department know what they are talking about. Wish were more things to do on campus; however it is small so its easier to get around. As a design student, I love it.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nice gym and a game room that has pool tables and bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    NJIT is gonna make you work hard, really hard, but that hard work will definitely pay off in the future.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is for smart students only. Advanced technology. One of the top schools in New jersey.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Good for an engineering school, just dont expect to have a social life for four months.

    In three sentences

    Very good school educational wise. Not much social interaction. Rutgers is very intimidating since its across the street.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NJIT would be described as secure as a campus could get with 8 different police forces in the campus area.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sorities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    NJIT hosts activities for every sort of students from College Sports to Yugioh.

    Great for these types of students

    NJIT would best for STEM majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NJIT has a monthly Career Fair in the athletic center.

    Bang for the buck

    The current NJIT tuition package is only $28,000 for in-state students.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the game room. Have a party. See a show in the pub.

    Food and Dining

    GDS offers a buffet style dining experience; plus there is a Subway, Pizza Hut and Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    There are four major dorms on campus; Cypress Hall, Laurel, Redwood and the Albert Dorman's Honor college dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    NJIT is not a school for the lazy or the shiftless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and submit your financial aid packages on time.

    In three sentences

    The New Jersey Institute of Technology is Newark's premier Science and Technology school. It is known pushing 95 percent of graduates directly into the workforce with occupations earning large salaries.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even with the swath of cops, there are regular robberies on the outskirts of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to focus on math, science, or computers.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, it's nothing exceptional, but it's cheap, so you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    The game room is pretty nice, and there are plenty of clubs, but I do not recommend stepping off campus. There were two armed robberies in the last week, just outside of campus.

    Food and Dining

    GDS is hit or miss; sometimes they have great food, but too often they are out of condiments, drinks, and utensils.

    Dorm Life

    Unless you live in the honors dorm, you will have a pretty bad experience. Hallways are gross, elevators are broken, and everything is shoddy and in a state of disrepair.

    Academic Rigor

    NJIT is middling as far as academics go; not terribly difficult, but definitely not a pushover.

    In three sentences

    Decent teachers, decent facilities, decent food... you get the idea. NJIT is a decent school, but nothing to write home about. But, it's one of the cheapest schools around, so it's a worthwhile investment for low-income students.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in Newark and is literally surrounded by (for lack of a better word) a ghetto. We constantly get emails from the Public Safety Department concerning robbery. The suspects usually do get caught, and I have to say that the situation has improved compared to the past (hence the second star). The campus police also offers escort if you ever have to walk somewhere at night and feel uncomfortable.

    What to do for fun

    The school tends to be a bit dead during the weekend to say the least, because a lot of people go visit home.

    Food and Dining

    The GDS provides a variety of meals that are actually pretty good. No complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but from what I've heard it's fair. Depends on the hall really, but not worse than any other college housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses do tend to be somewhat challenging, so be careful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're serious about getting an engineering or an architecture degree this school is great. You'll get a lot of resources and great quality courses, which according to some are on MIT level. If you're going for an easy major, and you're looking for a vibrant social scene-this school is NOT for you.

    In three sentences

    This is a very affordable school for its standard. People tend to complain about the gender ratio and lack of a party scene, but you'll like it if you're here for the right reasons which is learning.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around during the daytime and provide excellent comfort when need be.

    Greek Life

    Very little influence on campus. Barely scene.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently a cadet in the Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) on campus and will be attending pilot training upon completion of my bachelor' in May 2014. I have received beneficial leadership and management training that no college alone can teach.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are less worried about their social life then their academic life.

    Bang for the buck

    Ok however the athletic facilities never change

    What to do for fun

    New York City is the best place to go for fun whether you are over or under 21. You can go to concerts in central park and finish off the night in times square or you can go to a show on Broadway and finish up the scene dancing in Manhattan.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus food and dining facilities are of decent quality but lacks variety. The off-campus places to eat are great and are of wide variety. Portuguese, Brazilian, Italian, and Spanish are some of the ethnic foods that can be found locally.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigorousness of academics is all dependent on your major. For the Business major the workload between professors fluctuates but averages out at about 3 stars give or take.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a social environment where their is a high school spirit then this is not the college for you. If you are looking just to go to school for an education then this is the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    The school has poor athletic accessibility for the average student and has a poor social atmosphere. Public transportation is easily available which comes in handy due to the close proximity of New York City. The professors at the university are either great or horrible so make sure you do your research before taking a class.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Reading.

    Food and Dining

    never tried

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard work & practice leads to success

    In three sentences

    Amazing college for international students. Great Bachelors Program. Excellent Teaching staff.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to New York City as often as possible. It is one of the greatest cities in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key!

    In three sentences

    I have gotten a decent education here so far. The social scene is pretty lame unless you make an effort. Being close to New York City is a definite plus.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is beyond great despite rumors of the dangers of Newark. There are patrols on every part of campus during all hours of the day. Dangers are everywhere but it is rare that anything negative or threatening happens on NJIT campus. Though it is advise to walk with a friend or a group when leaving the campus late night (after 11pm until sunrise)

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are interesting in game room activities NJIT has a Bowling Team, and Pool Team . . . To differ from the stick playing pool game, NJIT also has a Swim Team and many other Clubs, including one that I will become a part of soon entitled Association for Computing Machinery or ACM. This is kind of like a powerhouse Computer Programming group of students, mentors as well as tutors. NJIT has a lot of different Fraternities and Sororities to choose from also. You cannot go wrong with getting involved in a club or activities on campus at NJIT.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite location on campus would have to be the basement of the Library. I like to call it the Dead Zone. The basement of the Library in NJIT is literally almost always empty it is a great place to study and never be disturb by anyone.

    What to do for fun

    I am really a student bug, I like to make sure I have all of my work out of the way before I even take a deep breath. I enjoy going to NJIT's game room to play pool, as well as vigorous programming and learning a variety of subjects ahead of time from Calculus I & II, Physics and many other Programming Languages, feats and tasks. I love making and producing music on the side while being a producer. Volunteering, Interning and Freelancing to help others while at the same time becoming proficient and learning more about the different talents and/or skills I've acquired over time.

    Food and Dining

    NJIT has a variety of different places to eat on Campus in which all is great. Taco Bell, Danny's, Starbucks, All you can eat buffet (GDS) as well as many other options; not to mention the Greek Trucks on campus and on the neighboring Rutgers campus.

    Dorm Life

    NJIT dorms are great, they are highly protected also giving students who live in Newark and are accustomed to the morbid rumors of the dangers of Newark, serenity. Most of the dorms are equipped with their own personal game rooms although NJIT has a public game room of it's own. NJIT dorms also enlist many weekly activities such as Movie Night for it's residents.

    Academic Rigor

    NJIT's academic rigor speaks for itself. NJIT is one of a handful of schools that Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) accepts academic credit from.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student, particularly students who want to attend NJIT try your best and make sure you go slightly ahead with the content on your syllabus for a better understanding. It is easy to get left behind at an Engineering school, especially of NJIT's work capacity.

    In three sentences

    NJIT is the school that everyone expect it isn't until they actually arrive there. Growing up in Newark I was faced with the down grading physical aspect that the dangers of Newark was as far as my life could and would go. Enrolling in NJIT change that negative train of though I had inserted in my head for many years; NJIT is a life changer.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can travel to New York City for fun. That is what I do almostt every month.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but you get an unlimited meal plan which is helpful.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but some people are anti-social.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but there is help available.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say put yourself out there. Talk to everyone, including students, professors, and alumni. You never know who can help you.

    In three sentences

    The school is a good value for the price that you pay. The community is quiet and small. There is ample opportunity but you need to search for it.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Options are plentiful, you can go to the free gym, the game room or join in on the many events NJIT holds for students/faculty. There are also many clubs for all wakes of life to join.

    Food and Dining

    From what I've seen the food doesn't look that bad. There are plenty of local restaurants around the immediate area and a Taco Bell, Starbucks and several other food choices on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No comment, I do not dorm at NJIT.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes really depend on your teacher. They range from strict teachers: homework given every class, pop- quizzes etc. to very relaxed teachers: no homework, no need for attendance etc.As always, just study and don't let yourself be overwhelmed by unnecessary distractions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the bad area of Newark discourage you. During the day, there are many on campus officers and the Newark police patrolling. As long as you keep aware of your surroundings and keep street smart, you will be fine. Also, the male to female ratio is, unfortunately, almost nonexistent.Keep focused on your studies and graduate!

    In three sentences

    NJIT is a college that really shines when it comes to budget colleges and the payoff has been ranked top in many well known lists. Campus is a little hard to look at considering all the continuous construction happening. NJIT holds many events and ultimately want to see everyone do well as seen by all the free extra help programs available.