Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New Mexico Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good tuition. Said to be the cheapest tuition in the world.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do here in hobbs... but Lubbock Tx is 2 hours away, shopping! :)

    Food and Dining

    I love the breakfast burritos

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very well planned out, and great instructors

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus to your school work. The food is good :)

    In three sentences

    Very nice school, with very very cheap tuition. All the instructors know what they are talking about and very kind. I would recommend this school to any general studies students.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always securities driving around ready to hellp when needed and campus is arranged in a fairy safe way, not much ups and down.

    Greek Life

    none really

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and activies in whick you can be involve, be it political or honors programs.

    Great for these types of students

    great for those students who really wat to succeed and learn, because here you can get one on one attention when needed. So this is exceptionally good for those who regularly want personal help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a cowboy museum on campus, always thought that was kind of wierd.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY AFFORDABLE!! WORTH EVERY PENNY

    What to do for fun

    you can always go support the school teams that play on campus, and the college is always providing free activities for the students

    Tips for prospective students

    begin here if you live close to hobbs, it really is worth it. Study alot and always be on top of things. Also if you attend class it will help out soo much.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico junior college is a great college. You can get personal attention from the faculty when needed, and the teachers seem interested that you learn the course work. It is also very affordable.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working

    Tips for prospective students

    manage money weiser

    Bang for the buck

    an affordable college

    Will enjoy being here

    close to home

    Will learn a lot

    basics

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of activities

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    Friendly

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Join NMJC and enjoy how fun it is to go back to school.

    In three sentences

    Great College, enjoyed all the professors. Clean, friendly, and safe environment. Easy to attend and receive all the help you need.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols 24/7 I believe.

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking for an affordable education or an affordable associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    This college probably offers the most affordable associates degrees around. Also most of the other classes are transferable to many universities including Texas Tech university.

    What to do for fun

    There are always neat things going on on campus, like picture book making, stuff an animal workshops, and so much more. There are also things to do off campus as well, just off campus there is a gorgeous running trail, a movie theater, the lea county event center that has concerts and monster trucks.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has wonderful food. The snack bar has the best breakfast burritos in town. The food is very affordable even in the snack bar. There is everything from pizza, salads, burgers, fries, chicken strips, and much more.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms, but there are really nice dorm rooms that are fairly new and affordable. I have seen the dorms and have friends that stayed in the doorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The content for nursing and pre-nursing is challenging but the professors have extensive knowledge and are amazing at explaining the content in several different ways to make learning the information easier no matter what kind of learner you are. Studying in the nursing program is a necessity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and ask for help if you need it. All of the professors I had classes with were extremely helpful and more than willing to stay and explain content after class.

    In three sentences

    This school is great, the professors care about you and your performance. The nursing program is an excellent choice and very affordable. I have no complaints about my experience at this college.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The JC pays for us to get into the movies, the have fun things going on in the court yard.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the appartments and absolutly love it, you will have some roommates you like and others you don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell future students not to give up. The first semester is going to be the hardest just getting into the swing of things. Go to class.

    In three sentences

    I just finished my first first semester here at NMJC and I really loved it. The professers were really understanding and made you feel like you were wanted there. They also gave you one on one time when you needed it.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This was a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said before they have alot of tutoring. Sports games (baseball/basketball) are often happening at nights. Several concerts occured during the year. The musuem is right next door but I didn't find many students were interested in the museum. Alot of the students had jobs and didn't get involved with activities. Several times they provided free shirt making/ring engraving events.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't have alot of money for college but still want to pursue a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I never lived on campus so I wasn't involved with any unusual traditions? I never even heard of any traditions?

    Bang for the buck

    This school is so good if your trying to save money for a 4 year because they have an amazingly reasonable price!

    What to do for fun

    This school had just begun re-starting their drama program and had many concerts come in so if that is something your interested in they did provide that. Apparently in the dorms they had an activity for all students every wednesday but overall I found most students desired more activities and events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat at the cafeteria but I heard it was not very good. They were working on improving it this last semester.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms so I cannot answer this one.

    Academic Rigor

    I took only basic classes and found most of them to be not too high of a difficulty level. I think academic wise that NMJC had some great teachers and was good overall. If your planning on going into a field that requires math I think that this is the one academic weakness at the Junior college. Their were some very debatable math teachers and would recommend getting your math classes at a different school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to just be responsible. Show up to class and do the work and you should not have trouble passing. It's not like the classes here are extremely difficult and require alot of study time, they just require you to be on top of things. When signing up for classes allow for alot of time because often the counselling offices are very busy and require a long wait. And I would have an idea of what you want to take before talking to a counsellor.

    In three sentences

    For the most part the staff at NMJC is a friendly staff. Not a very eventful campus at NMJC but pretty good sports teams. They have alot of tutoring resources and things available to students.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make relationships with other students, college is the place to make friends that you will have for the rest of your life, so don't miss the opportunity.

    Food and Dining

    The food they served was decent but certainly could have been a whole lot better.

    Dorm Life

    From my experience, I thought it was great living with the baseball team. We always had something going on inside or outside in the courtyard and it was a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really want to see you succeed so show up to class and listen to them and just do the work. If you take care of it when it's assigned, everything becomes much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay connected with the school and its events. It is a small college so try to get what you can from the experience.

    In three sentences

    After attending the junior college for a year, I can say that the teaching is good and the teacher's really care about the success of the student. I played baseball and liked the respect the professors had for the athletes and understood the time we would be missing due to our sports. The dorms and apartments were also well kept by the janitorial staff.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at the college day or night.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea about Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any activities, but I hear there are many that other students are a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students that are fed up with a college or university not caring about them and wanting extra support from the staff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very inexpensive to go here compared to other private colleges and I find the teachers and administration are just as good.

    What to do for fun

    They have many sporting activities to attend, and a rodeo museum and activity center right next to the college.

    Food and Dining

    Other then the vending machines I have not ate at this college.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed on campus, but the dorms are new and look very appealing.

    Academic Rigor

    I find this adequate but not over done. You will definitely learn in the classroom and online, but it is not impossible. It's great for someone fresh out of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are taking online classes, be proactive and complete your assignments on time, or you will receive a lower then expected grade. Still, these classes are great if there is not much time. In class classes are the best because the teachers seem to be more understanding.

    In three sentences

    I was very impressed with this school. They are extremely helpful and thorough from classes to financial aid. I would recommend this school to anyone in the area or online.