Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New Mexico State University-Alamogordo Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    nmsu a is the cheapest locol school and offers the same fundumentals as state but less hassel

    What to do for fun

    play pool study or look at the amazing views

    Food and Dining

    food and dining are excelent

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    rigor i don't know what the word means honestly

    Tips for prospective students

    check out your options that fit your needs and make your decision

    In three sentences

    nmsu a is a good school to learn live and thrive i have been going for a year now i just need a little bit of help for school .i plan on coming more years and inviting fellow friends

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    this is a good campus for getting your general education requirements out of the way. it is only a community college branch of nmsu which most people don't realize.

    What to do for fun

    i love to play board games with my husband and friends. just hanging out and watching tv or movies is fun too.

    Food and Dining

    i have not dined on campus, but i am sure it is fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    you must be dedicated if you plan on taking online courses. otherwise, you may really struggle to keep up.

    In three sentences

    the only courses i've taken were online so i can't give a campus review. i really loved my human biology class. i plan to transfer to the main campus in las cruces this summer to pursue a bachelor of science in biochemistry, but will still be taking some lower level courses online or on campus here in alamogordo.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, there's 2 pool tables, a fooseball table, and an airhockey table in the student services building. Between the clubs and organizations there's usually a few events to attend during the month.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the bistro is ok; kinda over-priced.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework can be challenging at times, but overall manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to an advisor when considering classes, they can help you find a good fit with a teacher. Use the ASC if you need help, it's a valuable resource.

    In three sentences

    NMSU-A has a nice campus. NMSU-A's advising and financial aid departments are very helpful and thorough. NMSU-A students are friendly.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will undoubtedly get the best education possible from this college. This is a community college, which means the prices are quite a bit lower than a university. There is no doubt that you will not love this college and the professors.

    What to do for fun

    At last count, NMSU-A had over 15 official student groups and organizations. You'll not only meet new friends, but also make contacts for a future career. There is also a pool hall in the student union building where a wide variety of students frequent to.

    Food and Dining

    NMSU-A provides a small bistro where food may be purchased, but the amount of choices you have are very limited. I recommend pack your own lunch and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    As this is a Community College, there are no dorms. However I lived at home when I attended NMSU-A. So, my dorm life was very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not ever hesitate to ask for help from your teachers. I can guarantee you that they only want what is best for you. Don't forget about your fellow students though! No matter where you turn, there will always be some one willing to help you through.

    In three sentences

    This college was an amazing experience for me to have. All the teachers have only the students best intrest at heart and will always be there for you when you need help. Simply the best college experience thus far.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is unusual in that it rests in the foothills of the mountains. As a result, the campus is designed aesthetically with horizontal lines and buildings actually seeming to rest in the curves of the mountain. While being well-kept, the grounds have a wonderful display of desert plants and wildlife.

    What to do for fun

    At least a few times a month the campus provides free food (usually as a barbecue) for students while promoting a fun event like a zombie-walk or even an education open-discussion on scholarships or other education related topics. The campus also sports a chess club, student government, and other clubs for anyone interested to join. Various community dance classes are offered through the school for anyone looking to learn everything from swing to waltz.

    Food and Dining

    NMSU-A has a small store for on-the-go lunches, snacks, and drinks. It provides a nice atmosphere for students to eat and study at the same time if they desire.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot honestly rate dorm rooms because the NMSUA campus does not have dorms. The main campus has dormitories, but as I am not attending the main campus I cannot honestly give a rating. I rated at 3 stars because I considered that to be neutral in this circumstance.

    Academic Rigor

    I consider NMSU-A to be a wonderful place for academics. Students can learn in small groups with special one-on-one instruction from teachers if necessary. The focus on knowledge feels less like a factory floor for the masses and more like a serious approach to career paths.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any students considering NMSU-A should know that the campus is scenically located at the foothill of a mountain overlooking the City of Alamogordo. All staff and attending students are friendly, interesting people with varied backgrounds and similar interests in brightening the future. The school also participates in local community events and promotes various causes.

    In three sentences

    The NMSU-A campus is a well-kept campus. Students and professors alike are dedicated to education and broadening horizons. When you're attending NMSU-A, you feel like your time there is well spent.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a ton of hiking and you could go to white sands.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is overpriced and has an awful selection.

    Dorm Life

    there aren't dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it's pretty darn easy depending on the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a class from mr. mcgowan. he is one of the best teachers i've ever had.

    In three sentences

    there are some excellent professors and frankly some bad professors. it is very easy to get a's. the class sizes are typically small.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    no clue.

    Great for these types of students

    hard workers and motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i take online classes.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm very satisfied with the education i've recieved so far and especially at the low cost.

    What to do for fun

    take astronomy and learn about the universe!

    Food and Dining

    again, no idea.

    Dorm Life

    i have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers i've had so far are very supportive and fun too!

    Tips for prospective students

    get your financial aid application done early and your registering as well.

    In three sentences

    i love the teachers i've gotten to work with so far. the tuition is nice and cheap. the admissions staff is unfortunately very disorganized and not very helpful.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of a robbery, shooting, theft--or anything else like that. I would say the campus is pretty safe, given the area. I would stay there if I was a local.

    Greek Life

    Again, I do not have time to indulge in a sorority. I live in a military base, with my husband.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a full-time employee, wife, and student. I do not have time to be part of such events. Though, I would love to join the choir or the volleyball team!

    Great for these types of students

    Military spouses should definitely take advantage of this. Out of all my girlfriends on this base, I would say that probably 2 out of every 10 military wives I know actually attend school. this school is affordable and fun, and the faculty is very approachable. It is such a comfortable atmosphere!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not spend time on the campus. I live on base and take my courses online, and some courses that are not online are offered on base.

    Bang for the buck

    The best part of this campus is the price! College is very expensive, and in this economy, everyone is pinching their pennies. The credit hour rate is worth it. Not to mention, there is a set rate for 12 to 18 credit hours, meaning that when I take a full course load of 18 credit hours, I pay the same as someone who is only taking 12 credit hours! It is fairly cheap compared to my first college--$15,000/per year. This price is excellent!

    What to do for fun

    The New Mexico State University website is always jampacked with a fun calendar. There are always things happening to get students involved in the atmosphere. Though I can rarely make it, it is nice to see that the faculty care so much about motivating the students.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I live in military base housing. Therefore, I do not reside on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live on a military installation with my husband. I do not reside in the dormatories.

    Academic Rigor

    My instructors have all been very helpful to me, and the experience has been rewarding. Being a military spouse is difficult, and I am proud to say that they have greatly helped me advance myself through postsecondary education. Also, there are a lot of courses that are offered on the base. I take online courses through NMSU-A, and the other courses that I wish to take are on base, so I do not have to drive out to Alamogordo for class. It is pure nirvana!

    Tips for prospective students

    You must make sure to explain exactly what it is that you want to major in. Miscommunication is a big issue. Keep your head on straight, and do not forget to study! Don't be afraid to ask for help from other students; everyone is friendly and has been in the same place as you at one point in their life.

    In three sentences

    Excellent course list for an Associate's Degree, but not alot of choices for 300 or 400 level courses. Instructors can be very unclear, but also very helpful. The faculty and staff are always upbeat and friendly!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NMSU-A is more for atypical college students who are paying for their own education, paying their own bills, have families and jobs. It is not the typical college with parties, dorms, sorority/ fraternitiy pledging, and drunk nights. This college is for people strictly going to school to hurry up and finish. If you are looking for that authentic college experience, this is not the college for you.

    What to do for fun

    Alamogordo, New Mexico is not a place where people typically brag about fun activities but within an hour in any direction you can find activities such as mountain climbing, skiing, fishing, parachuting, horseback riding, camping, and other outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not impressive..that is all.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at NMSU-A but there are apartments nearby perfect for students. If you are looking for the dorm life college experience NMSU-las cruces would be a better fit (about an hour away).

    Academic Rigor

    Their are many academic opportunities at NMSU. My major is nursing right now and I can say that it is difficult but worth it. As for the other classes, some classes are difficult and some are easy, but the good thing about NMSU-A is that the classes are relatively small and the teachers are more readily available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Three tips for prospective students would be to come to NMSU-A with a plan on what you want to major in and what your want to be so that you aren't aimlessly taking classes, speak with an advisor so that you can develop an attainable goal, and apply for financial aid opportunities.

    In three sentences

    NMSU-A is an excellent school for mothers, fathers, continuing students, students who can't travel far, students with families, students with jobs, military members and other atypical college students. NMSU-A has some wonderful teachers, and some not so wonderful teachers but the school in general is very accommodating and perfect for a mother and nursing student like me.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a guy on patrol in a golf cart monitoring the campus regularly to make sure everything is fine. Also, the department of public safety of Alamogordo patrols the area in their vehicles to enforce the speeding and other laws.

    Greek Life

    No really sure it has any greek life to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    NMSUA has all kinds of clubs and activities on campus to keep you involved. They have rotary club, criminal justice club, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    It is good for students just coming out of high school, and sometimes students still in high school can get credits for attending as well. Other people who like the small town atmosphere may like attending here too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is located on the mountain top across from the local hospital GCRMC. The campus has great editions that have been added to NMSUA over the years.

    Bang for the buck

    I would definitely recommend this campus to any student interested in furthering their education, although most people have to transfer to another larger campus like in Las Cruces at NMSU.

    What to do for fun

    I love to do martial arts, currently a 2nd degree black belt in korean tae kwon do. I have tae kwon do classes in the evenings on mondays, wednesdays, and fridays..I use hobby to keep me in shape and also to help me keep my mind on track. I find it very relaxing. Also, I have fun with my three kids 18 months, 3 years, and 4 years old. I try to spend a lot of time with them and I enjoy watching them grow up.

    Food and Dining

    They have food on campus and vending machines, in case you get thirsty. Although, NMSU at Alamogordo is much smaller then say NMSU at Las Cruces. We do not have dining and cafes on campus like they do on Las Cruce Campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not had the opportunity to live in the dorm rooms. I'm a mom of 3 beautiful babies and I took time off from college to have them at age 21. When I started college in the beginning I lived with my parents, then getting married I moved out into my own place.

    Academic Rigor

    Try not to overdue it on academic classes, when first starting plan out your classes and break them up with core/fun classes. This way you will have a combination of your classes you have to take and classes that you find interesting. The interesting classes will keep you going, while the required classes may be a bit more boring to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips would be to get familiar with the campus, so that you can find your classes in a timely manner and also to relieve any stress on your first day. Don't be afraid to ask questions about financial aid and other resources like registration.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University of Alamogordo is a very friendly and small academic place. When entering the building of the student services I am greeted immediately with a warm smile from all the staff members there.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Health and safety are key elements to a good education.

    Clubs and Activities

    From the chess club to the mathletes many activities are availabe to our students.

    Great for these types of students

    Most learning types will be compatible with our great staff of instructors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our zombie walk this year was very scary and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Education from this location is well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    I like shooting, reading, swimming, and dancing.

    Food and Dining

    I love pizza. There many of my favorite dishes made here with love and all the right flavors!

    Dorm Life

    Bring a picture from home and your new home life will feel like it once did.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work pays off daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time for class and success will follow you for all your days!

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University is a great school with a very helpful staff. My registration process was fun and fast. It my new home for education.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small, tightly knit community means everyone gets along and even when they don't, respect is still shown by all parties.

    Greek Life

    None of that here.

    Clubs and Activities

    While not a member of any, cork-boards around campus are always filled with recruiting flyers for clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Busy, working students out on their own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is located on a large hill, so watch for longboarders while driving!

    Bang for the buck

    Easy to pay for and plenty of options course wise.

    What to do for fun

    Town itself is quite small, but there is a mall, movie theater and plenty of gyms around.

    Food and Dining

    Again, small campus so no restaurants or anything like that.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! Have to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you're studious and pay attention, classes are a breeze, they even have online classes, which surprised me with so small a college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up early for parking if you drive! And take Sociology classes, even if their just elective for you, Lockhart is an amazing teacher.

    In three sentences

    While being a much smaller campus than most, it's still a great learning environment. The teachers are attentive to their students, and the atmosphere is open, which makes learning, for me at least, a lot less stressful. Even the administrative staff is friendly!

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They hold events at the theater and in the bistro, they also have clubs and study groups you can join.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small bistro that sells sandwiches and other items during the day but not during the summer session.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms, its a small college, the larger branch in Las Cruses has some though.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it is a community college it doesn't mean they are lenient. They are strict, but they do understand situations that can arise. Never be afraid to approach them.

    In three sentences

    Great, you feel like you can really connect with the professors and get one on one time with them. They also don't mind challenging you even when you are at a community college. I would recommend it to anyone who is scared to go try school again.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a small safe town but the college its self has nothing

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults returning to college and first year students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    The prices seem very reasonable to me. less then $1000 for 13 credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in town.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many restaurants in town.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask someone in the financial aid office about scholarships.

    In three sentences

    NMSUA is a good school. All the employees are nice and helpful. Their web site has helpful tools and information.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good college choice.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus with a good program for the degree i want. It's not to far from home. Everyone there seemed nice to work with.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    can't say

    Tips for prospective students

    Take any and all classes with Mr James Gallagher,Mr,Overstreet an Dr. Keith. You won't be disapointed.

    In three sentences

    I have returned to school after 20yrs and am proud to attend this school .I have wonderful, insightful teachers,who are helping me achieve my goal. My new career will be everything i hope for with their help.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus to my experience is very safe. You do not usually here many bad cases of anything happening on the campus. Yes they do have occasional lock downs but for the most part it is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who do not plan to do big majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The glass room is definitely unusual. You can lounge there. You could also do homework or play chess.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room area where you can play pool and enjoy your time. They also have a glass room where you can lounge or play chess.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee shop type area for students to have a snack or beverage. The area is fairly nice. The hot chocolate was not particularly a favorite.

    Dorm Life

    There are no campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers intend to make sure you understand the academic curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to register on time to avoid extra fees.

    In three sentences

    The NMSU Alamogordo campus is very professional with the students. The employees are very helpful and understanding of what is needing to be done. I find the tutoring station to be very helpful in improving my academic understandings.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for non traditional students and very military friendly!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very economical compared to main campus. Take all the classes you can before you transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the zoo. Go bowling on base. Visit the movies theater.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    College is supposed to be challenging just use your time wisely and study as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your paperwork done in a timely manner and utilize all of the resources available to you i.e. study rooms, student resources, student center.

    In three sentences

    NMSUA is a great transitional school and very organized. It is just big enough to give you that college feel, but intimate enough to create a good learning environment. I would give it an 8 out of 10.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have email alerts of any emergency situations. AND if there is a snake in the area they will inform you and make sure the environment is as safe as possible!!

    Great for these types of students

    any type.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dont have any as of yet...but am willing to make some as soon as i can and for as long as i can lol.

    Bang for the buck

    They help you with as much financial aid as possible. It is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Travel, shopping, enjoying family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the bomb so far as from what i have tasted!

    Tips for prospective students

    ask ask ask there is no such thing as a dumb question or a stupid question.

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome. They have been so helpful and informative with the application, registration and admission processes. They are very polite, informed and enthusiastic about me beginning the process of making a better life.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ive never heard anything bad at this campus

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot of american legion going on

    Great for these types of students

    This would be a good college for students who don't learn well in huge enviroments.

    What to do for fun

    Last year we had a zombe day in the quad.

    Food and Dining

    Theres a small area with some expensive snack foods but other than that not really anything available.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but not to th point where you want to give up and die.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say make sure you do you research before entering classes, the admins are not very informitive.

    In three sentences

    I would say this is a good school. The classes are small and controlled while the teachers are nice but not to forgiving. I love the online classes.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at this school. They have an alert system where they text you if anything dangerous is happening and they have a call system.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in any sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have chess club. I'm not involved in any clubs because I'm too busy with my two kids and husband! AND SCHOOL!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for nursing students. They also have a lot of mechanical classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't attended long enough to really know.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't go wrong when your getting eduction and the price for school is AFFORDABLE!!!

    What to do for fun

    They usually provide lunches in the courtyard which is pretty cool.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't too bad. It's a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I really like this college and how helpful everyone is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just show up for class and you'll succeed and professors will appreciate your effort.

    In three sentences

    I was skeptical about this college given how small the town is, but I was very impressed with how helpful every professor was. They all went above and beyond to help me succeed, even the online professors. I'm actually looking forward to school and to be in class with Dr. Lombrana again.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During the day it is a safe campus, however night time seems a bit unsafe. The lighting is not very good and the security officers are never in the dark areas.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is definitely great for small town students or those who do not do well in a large setting.

    Bang for the buck

    I have currently been taking advantage of the dual credit program and my high school has paid for my college up to this point. However, I believe the education I have received for the price I have seen on the receipts provided to my school has definitely been well worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    This is a very small campus and there isn't any extra curriculum activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The campus offers vending machines and a snack facility but not a major restaurant area.

    Dorm Life

    This particular University does not offer a dorm facility.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience most of the professors I have had haven't been very helpful. I found out that the student academic centers were more beneficial than my professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip for prospective students would be try to be the first to order the books necessary for the course you have entered because they never have enough and sometimes it takes them too long to get them in and you will end up falling behind in your course. If you are struggling in a course and not receiving the help you think you deserve talk to your professor's boss immediately. Take advantage of the student academic support center.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University of Alamogordo is helpful for the classes they offer. Their staff is not knowledgeable for required classes needed in a field of major that they do not offer. The dual credit adviser is not helpful and is extremely hard to get in touch with.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is a good value for the money.

    Food and Dining

    We have a snack shack.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The courses that I have taken have been challenging.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University- Alamogordo has given me the opportunity to grow. I have found my classes to be challenging and a educational.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers on campus but the do not portal and the one time I needed to see them they were not there.

    What to do for fun

    There are no fun activity's on campus. We do not have any sports teams. Alamogordo is a small town and does not have much going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is decent but very overpriced. Alamogordo is a small town so there are great restaurants nearby. If you are not going to be leaving campus for lunch bring your own food you will save a lot of money.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at NMSUA. You will have to rent or buy a place nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are good and well trained, and NMSUA offers a good range of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live close to the school. You can save a lot of money by riding a bike or walking to school. There is a great bike shop in town the has great bikes for commuting. I bought one and had them put a rack on it so I can carry all my stuff. Bring your lunch from home the food on campus is over priced.

    In three sentences

    I would give NMSUA a B. The school it's self is nice and the staff are great. They are nice and helpful, but not all of them seem to know what they are doing. I have been given wrong information before. NMSUA has a nice, but small, student support center. There are not enough computers to go around and I often can not work because there are no open computers. It also gets very loud in the support center. The staff do not keep it quiet and it makes it hard to work or study. Most of the teachers take time for their students.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe campus is safe but look out for poles; they tend to jump out in front of you if you're not looking where you are going :)

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here that I've noticed.

    Great for these types of students

    NMSU-A is great for those students who are going to college for the first time. Classes are smaller and works hand in hand with students.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing. I have not noticed any clubs meeting up and Alamogordo is an extremely small town with a lot of military coming and going.

    Food and Dining

    Nmsu-a doesn't have good food on campus so everyone has to go else where for food but it's within a ten minute drive to find somewhere to eat.

    Dorm Life

    NMSU-A doesn't have dorms. Most students room with other people In houses or apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors know what they're talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your classes before the first day. It'll help reduce anxiety and the typical freshman I don't know where I'm going expression

    In three sentences

    The professors are extremely helpful and nice. This is my first semester in college ever and all of the professors that I've asked for help, they are extremely willing to help out in any possible way. Even the students are down to earth.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are regular police patrols on campus and it is in a safer part of town.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs from which to choose.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students and those will limited funding.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of tuition, you can't beat NMSU-A. I am getting a quality education for far less than the cost of the state 4 year universities, saving thousands by getting the associates degree first.

    What to do for fun

    Alamogordo has the typical movie theater, small mall, and various sports bars.

    Food and Dining

    There are many good, inexpensive options for dining in Alamogordo.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered are challenging and engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with your student advisor. They know what they are doing when they help you select not only the classes you should take, but the instructor that would be the best fit as well.

    In three sentences

    This is a very friendly campus for returning adults. I would recommend anyone thinking about returning to college look here first. It has been a great experience.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    New Mexico is a great school! Professors actually care and are there for you. The support is one of the best.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus sends out warnings to students whenever even the slightest threat is given. The campus safety is incredible.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to ease into college life and save money at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Earth day, which was last held on April 22nd, 2014 and was hosted on the campus patio. Also, Take Back the Night, which was held on April 11th, 2014 was hosted at the Tays Center and is an awareness march for sexual assault and domestic violence.

    Bang for the buck

    I am confident that choosing to go to NMSU-A was the best decision I could have made for college choices. The relatively low cost of tuition as well as the overall helpfulness from NMSU-A staff made my first semester amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Located right next to the food shop is the game room that has pool tables inside. It is a very nice place to go between classes for food and fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food served is quite good and, as I have seen, come in nicely sized portions. The food area is located in a central area on campus that makes it easily accessible after any class.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student fresh out of high school, the change in how seriously instructors take assignments was immediately noticed. It was tough getting used to the demanding assignments that were required of me but trying hard to keep up turned out to have a major payoff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and keep up to date with your assignments. As long as you follow the instructions that your instructor gives you, every class will come easy for you. Talk to your advisor if you are ever unsure of anything when it comes to your schooling. They are extremely helpful when it comes to setting you on the right path to earning your degree.

    In three sentences

    NMSU-A is a great school for anyone either just starting college or wishing to get back into their education. The campus is located in a nice spot in Alamogordo and can be seen from almost anywhere in the city. The staff is universally kind, helpful, and responsive to any questions that a student might have.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Getting involved with the surrounding community is a great was to have fun. Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity is worth anyone's time.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is relatively delicious but is a little pricey. The food is well worth the extra.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived in the dorms but I have heard NMSUA takes care of all of their dorm students well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is 5 stars. Classes are geared towards a learning student. They challenge the students to think outside the box while learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who want to apply, apply early. New Mexico State University Alamogordo works well with military families so do not be afraid to ask those questions as well.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University is very personable. They put the need for the students first and support the students well being. NMSUA has wonderful professional professors and they have a wonderful online class tracker.