Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New Mexico State University-Dona Ana Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who want to get away from the big town. The school is very convenient and not very far away from anything. Las Cruces is a very small town. It is like a big circle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I have for upcoming students is just to stay focused on what you are doing. Sometimes I miss home but I have to remind myself why I am here. Don't do the whole partying thing. Its all overrated. If you fall behind its going to be hard to catch back up. Your parents are not there, so none is going to hold your hand for you and do your work. You have to do it on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is worth it. It was worth going here. I say that because I need teachers who are going to help me and not just fail me. They have a really good administration. I really like my school. I like being around positive people. As well as friendly people.

    Am enjoying being here

    My school has many things going on. they have snack bars computer rooms and many students. The students are really friendly and respectful. The students even help you around if you need the help.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at my school. The classrooms are smaller and the teachers take their time with you. Most of the teachers there are really friendly and patient with you. They want you to learn and be interested in what you are doing.They will repeat and reteach the lesson till you get it. if you don't get it they will stay after and help you out some more.

  • 12/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school has great programs for disabled students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind, come on if you're in college just keep going until you get to your goal.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is decent, no complains.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the ambient from this school. People are very nice and sociable, also it's not hard to get around the school.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers focus on each individual student. I you have any questions or concerns each teacher is attentive to give you an answer right away. Classrooms are quite small but that's the best part because teachers pay attention to you.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on around campus no matter what club you are in or not in. There are open fields and rang of land to run or do anything athletic. There are facilities to accommodate any activity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your applications and have everything ready before you actually get there so everything is already taken care of.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico state university helps their students in academics, and every aspect of their life given the closeness and caring of the faculty and students. Availability of tutoring and necessities for students are easily at their finger tips at all times. A great university to attend for any major and any student.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One way to stay in touch with the Campus safety is by email or text, they send everyone information about how to stay safe on campus or the events that has taken place throughout the campus that wasn't safe that day or alerts for the students.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do here at the Dona Ana branch, free food days, activities to help with homework or projects or just to get to know other students...etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is in the main building which is the student services, there they have everything to eat and drink. The tables are big enough so you could do your homework or have other students around, and there is enough light from the open windows.

    Academic Rigor

    The college has great programs to chose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would first tell you to go to the school find the computer lab's and the financial aid office and the food court and the library. This way you have the idea about where everything is at this point.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college. The people here are friendly and everything is easy to find. The food is good too.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Work out at the gym, go hiking and attend various sporting events most often football games.

    Food and Dining

    Although I understand the logic of it being a requirement for freshmen to have a meal plan, I wish that rule would change. I don�¢����t feel that the dining services are that great mainly due to the minimal variety of food. In all fairness they are currently going through a major construction project in the main dining hall which may account for my current experience. From a monetary standpoint it does make sense as it perhaps is less expensive as opposed to the alternative.

    Dorm Life

    I�¢����m currently staying at Pinion Hall I believe is one of the newer dorms on campus. So far it�¢����s been great I get along with my roommate very well. Living on campus definitely has its benefits. Primarily collaborating with work study groups is less problematic then if you were living of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors give plenty of homework stick with your game plan and work hard. Tutoring is available on campus at no extra charge. You just need to be disciplined to get it if needed. Being involved with study groups helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard from the start, the work load can creep up on you stay on top of your studies. Be aware that the Dona ana campus essentially a community college campus that seems internal to the main campus university. When taking classes here the credits will be paid for separately. Initially when looking at the university catalog it�¢����s hard to distinguish which classes are on which campus. Get involved with various activity's and make your college experience pleasurable.

    In three sentences

    I would highly recommend this school to anybody the professors are extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. The folks in the community of Dona Ana are a pleasure to get to know and be around. People on campus are extremely nice and I feel right at home here, this is highly recommended school and I look forward to continuing my degree hear at NMS.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The activities on campus are amazing especially the climbing wall in the activity center.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the activity center on campus where they have a gym and a climbing wall for students.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the employees in the dining are somewhat rude but I believe that it has to do with the busyness they have.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experience the dorm life but my friends say it's somewhat good and it is one of the best experiences they have had.

    Academic Rigor

    The education at NMSU is excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    To get involve around campus and the organizations they have to offer.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State is one of the most involved universities, I have ever seen. They involve their students in a variety of activities around campus. They promote diversity around the campus and classroom.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there isn't a lot of crime that happens here. we have campus officers that patrol the campus the entire day. it's very hard to get anything passed them.

    Greek Life

    i am a member of delta gamma. joining greek life is such an amazing experience. there are life long friends and unexpected events that you will take place in. it is something that will change your life forever.

    What to do for fun

    anything. literally. there are so many intramural sports. there's an activity center that comes with tuition. the campus is always a nice place to walk around. there's a mall a few miles down the road and plenty of restaurants to dine at.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is just like any college campus. it definitely isn't the best place out there, but it is by far not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    i have met so many new friends living in the dorms. my first roommate and i are literally inseparable. we've been best friends since day one. there are kitchens here that all of the residence are free to use.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are the most important thing here. it's something that is taken very seriously. we've all been told that college professors don't care, but here, they do. the last thing that they want is a failing student.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't fear being out of state. honestly, getting a new beginning and a fresh start was the best decision i could have ever made. if you feel that this is the right college for you, then go for it. don't look back on anything. i know i won't.

    In three sentences

    new mexico state university is not just a college campus; it's a new beginning. i would not change a thing about where i attend college. this campus is truly the best.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great but could have one or two security guards at east campus and cameras in the parking lot to ensure there is no break ins

    Greek Life

    Not in one but heard they are very good and fun especially the Frat houses who do lots of community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs for whatever interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students, many people I've talk to enjoy it and see it better than NMSU

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The DACC Main Campus is on the west side of town and you have to spend most of your time driving to class, home, and work. The DACC East Mesa Campus is on east side of town

    Bang for the buck

    YES! This school will help you reach for you goals if you're willing to reach for the stars!

    What to do for fun

    Local events. sports, fairs, downtown mall market on Saturday, just ask around.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but could be a bit cheaper

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but many of my friends do and they say they really enjoy living there

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher's help you reach your goals and most are trained in the class they teach

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the school as much as possible, the better you know the school the less anxious you'll be and attend a new student orientation if they offer one.

    In three sentences

    Four stars, very good school, cheap, teacher's and students are helpful

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus if good. If you ever need them, all you have to do is call and they are there in seconds. There are also security guards that walk the campus all day while classes are in session.

    Greek Life

    I do not know anything about the Greek life. All I know is that they have a great Greek deli across the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of clubs to get into. There are clubs for fraternities and soroeties.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are the student who wants to get a degree in a small college, then I recommend a community college. If you want all the action of being in dorms and hanging with friends, go to a state university.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe you get all the services you need for the money you pay to go to school.

    What to do for fun

    We have football games to go to---there is a bowling alley in the town----There are a lot of great things to do in Las Cruces, NM.

    Food and Dining

    I have had the chance to grab a snack in the cafeteria and it was not bad. You have a great variety to choose from. Most students eat on the run.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorms. I live off campus with my husband and 6 pets.

    Academic Rigor

    We all know that studying is not easy. When you study, do it for an hour and walk away for a break. If you are meant to be on the dean's list, it will happen for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just plan on a lot of studying. Fun times are good but always put you studying first. Just say to yourself that you can do this and everything will go smooth for you.

    In three sentences

    Dona Ana Community College is a friendly small college on the grounds of New Mexico State University. I like the one-on-one help I get from the professors. All of the advisors/counselors are very patient when it comes to helping you pick classes.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe there's even phones outside by lightposts so that if at any time you feel in danger you can call and campus police shows up right away. You can also call and request an escort to walk you to your car or from one class to the other if you are a nighttime student.

    Greek Life

    Same clubs as in other universities are offered here. I don't belong to the Greek Life therefore I'm not interested in this type of lifestyle.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs there they have just opened up a pagan and new age club which is really interesting because you would be amazed that now they really do have all the religions in a club at this college. They have a lesbian, gay, transgender, bisexual club as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, Business Management, Foreign students, Chicano Studies, History, and Elementary teachers. We do have one of the best engineering colleges available and our instructors are very well known members of the community.

    Bang for the buck

    I find that the price for the classes and books is really very good and that the instructors we have are very good at the knowledge of the material that they teach. They are always willing to help out students and set up appointments for conferences. They really do have your success at heart and not just your money.

    What to do for fun

    there's a swimming pool, a gym to play basketball and a fitness center. There's also different museums that are available to viewing and Barnes and Noble on campus. You can also check out the different opportunities for games, concerts, and other interesting topics being held at the brand new convention center.

    Food and Dining

    Does offer different restaurants and snack bars for students with varying schedules. From daytime to nighttime students and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to tutoring and academic advising. They really do help you plan your degree plan and tutoring helps if you get stuck on a problem. Make sure you get the right books and begin reading them and taking notes. If you take online classes make sure you read the notes and power points that the teacher leaves for you it makes the material so much easier to understand.

    In three sentences

    I have loved the way everyone is so friendly and willing to answer any questions you may have. They are also very helpful and offer different tutoring and computer labs to help you succeed in school. They're online courses are really very well planned out and knowledgeable.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always concerts/events coming to the campus. Plus many events hosted by the university and clubs. Many are free and great for children of all ages, plus many adult-only events.

    Food and Dining

    For a school cafeteria, the food is varied and usually quite good. And there are many restaurants located throughout campus that deal with parts of the meal plan, allowing you to eat for free to an extent. My family loves to go eat at the cafeteria with me, and that says something if a 10 year old loves going there.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate dorm life very well, I'm married and living in family housing. While tiny and older, the housing here fits smaller families very well. Me and my wife, and our 10 year old child fit very well in the 2 bedroom units. The price is reasonable (630 a month) and includes: Phone, Internet, Cable, Water, Gas, Electricity, and Trash. Plus I hear they are planning on demolishing these buildings, and rebuilding with new houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Even in classes where you do well, you are always pushed to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to your professors, they are almost always willing to listen to you and help you with your problems, either understanding something, or if there is a problem in your personal life that is/could affect your school work, and work with you as much as possible to help you pass their class.

    In three sentences

    Very good school for an associates degree, with many classes transferable to any other college. Great campus and campus life. Quiet living areas, with connections to the main city.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police available 24/7

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Snack bar is reasonable and the school tries to bring in free food from local companies.

    Dorm Life

    NA. Only lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Admission and Advisor Staff can be more helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to apply, but get a check off list if you are a transfer student or things will be missed on your student account.

    In three sentences

    Tuition cost is reasonable. Wonderful art instructors. Parking sucks.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can honestely say that I feel safe at my school. There is always security around the school. I know that if I run into trouble I can always ask them for help.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not go to clubs but I do go to activities that involve families such as celebrating the day of the child or any other activities that involve my family.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who cannot afford to go to other universities. Classes are not expensive and they get to save more money. Financial aid is provided for those who qualify for it. There are also two campus and can chose whatever is closer to their homes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In Leon Guanajuato, Mexico our tradition for a funeral is that we do not burry the dead instead they place them in a tomb for seven years and then we burry them.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like spending time with my classmates and go out to eat or just have a coffee. I get to share memories and good moments with them.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining I really don't do because I bring my own food from home just to save some money.

    Dorm Life

    I have never had a dorm life but I have friends who say they like haivng dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe every school has rules to follow and it depends on the individual on how they want to proceed on the rules. Dealing with people who are stricked or harsh is part of every day life expiriences.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone who wants to attend collage I would advise not to change their major once they chose one. It will be a waist of time just changing your major specially if the credits will not transfer. Also they must keep in mind that financial aid will only cover for sertain amount of time. If you go over your credits it may be difficult to get any financial aid.

    In three sentences

    I believe that this collage offers many opportunities for anyone who wants a career. It has very good instructors. It provides good advisors who are willing to help you chose a career or simply help you chose you classes.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard of any problems on campus, but there are campus police to solve anything that comes up. As far as I know, the campus is relatively safe.

    Food and Dining

    There are some pretty good places nearby to eat as well as snack machines and a lunch area for students to grab a quick bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but they do not seem all that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Class difficulty depends on which course or major a person pursues, but there are many options available to help the student with any problem they have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get classes you desire, otherwise they will fill up fast. Talk to the teachers and ask for help if needed or the course may become more difficult than it need be. Check for emails or updates on the school website, and make sure to complete homework by the assigned due date.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start off at before transferring to a bigger school. Class sizes are smaller, and students can get more one on one with the teacher. Professors provide info. on how to reach them if students need help and are open to any questions the student may have.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do feel safe here, and if anything happens around the campus, I get text messages and emails letting me know.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    haven't noticed anything unusual.

    Food and Dining

    Just like cafeteria food. But there are restaurants around that very easy to get to. They are in walking distance which is great.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending school here. There are friendly and helpful instructors and advisers who are willing to sit down and assist you with anything. I would give this school a 9/10!!

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New Mexico State University has a great safety record! When parties go on the students know that they must keep the party under control. Police cars are constantly seen doing surveillance on the campus just to make sure that no one steps out of line.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of hang out spots for the students on University, and we have a lot of late night diners for those students who have study sessions, or who just want to get away from their homework for awhile.

    Food and Dining

    It's affordable food and the students themselves cook it, which is a plus because your still supporting the students even while you eat! The dining area is spacious and their are always empty seats available to you no matter when you decide to go in and snack. The environment is a friendly and warm place. You will feel as if you are back home in no time

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small and cramped, you share a bathroom not only with your room-mate but also with your neighbors. The walls are also very thin so if you plan on studying in your room you're going to have background noise, and better luck in the library. The good thing about the dorms is that they are secure, no one can get in without knowing that specific dorms code. They also have dorms for just women and men so if you don't want a mixed sex dorm they have that option for you as well.

    Academic Rigor

    New Mexico State University offers multiple academic possibilities for their students. The academic advisers work tirelessly to make sure that the students take the correct courses to finish their selected major in a timely manor.

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University is a over all 4 star rating. The campus is clean and safe. It's an organized community in itself, people can be themselves here and not feel judged or bullied. This college offers student housing for all their students, no one is turned away.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Heard its good!

    Dorm Life

    I have heard that they are pretty good!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go there with your heart in the books and you will do great.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good school. It has many programs to choose from and has a nice campus. It is also really good at retaining its freshmen.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus has a lot of activities for fun.

    Food and Dining

    No comment

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms makes commuting to classes easier and faster.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Attend class -Take good notes -Ask questions -Study for quizzes, tests, and exams

    In three sentences

    New Mexico State University is a very good school that I definitely recommend to other students.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safty they even call you just to make sure you know the campus secriuty number

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs, join a sport it takes up spare time and keeps you fit.

    Great for these types of students

    Study time. Great tutors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cancer awareness is a big deal at this school witch is a good thing because cancer runs in my family.

    Bang for the buck

    McDonalds

    What to do for fun

    Go to the local bar and grills

    Food and Dining

    DACC needs a cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Im an off campus student

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic advisors

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to believe in yourself and you can take your schooling far.

    In three sentences

    I have learned alot this past semester and am very exited to continue my education at DACC. I enjoded the one on one teaching from all the teachers. I appriciated that they valued my attendence as equal as any other student.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As far as I've seen there aren't any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't ready to go to a university or state college can attending community college to get started with their basics, then they can work their way up to a bigger college.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers at DACC are great. They always have positive attitudes and have great personalities.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. Basically you go in, go to class, and get out.

    Food and Dining

    Once in a while the staff, as well as some students, at Dona Ana have a bake sale or a concession stand and sell food and drinks. There is also a soda and snack vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Dona Ana Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to just go hard and not give up on your goals. This is a good school where teachers are willing to help you and not just fail you. You can do anything if you put your mind to it.

    In three sentences

    I am attending Dona Ana Community College to get my basics. I have completed my first semester there and am currently taking my second semester. In my opinion it is a great school, it is small but calm and peaceful and is the perfect environment to study and get work done. I am very pleased with this college.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    DACC has a friendly environmental. Educators teach well the subject of matter. Have great programs.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I greatly enjoyed my experience at DACC and NMSU. Of course not every instructor was amazing, but overall I was very pleased with the level of dedication.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is campus security all day and night and also police is near campus so they are there if anything does happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons or clubs and activities on campus and they look really fun to do im not in one but they do allot of stuff that looks fun.

    Great for these types of students

    they have amazing 3D animation classes with awesome teachers.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good they have a buffet that you pay 8$ for and you can eat all you want and there is allot of good stuff.

    Dorm Life

    DACC Does not have dorms but the living in New Mexico is really good and cheap and there are a lot of places near the school.

    Academic Rigor

    there really are not that many challenges but the teachers do keep you on your feet and ask allot of questions so always pay attention.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My family and I love to go camping and fishing. My husband is a big hunter so we all take trips and go as a family. We also have a big family so we usually have the kids in some type of sport.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and you get plenty of selections. They have a menu you can order from, plus they have plenty of places near by, which some are walking distance as well.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. I live at home near by which is only 20 minutes, My travel is not too bad, but from what I heard the dorms are pretty good, and they have plenty of room.

    Academic Rigor

    Teach real life situations, and explain everything in a way we can understand. All the teachers I have had, have been really nice and worked with me when I don't understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know your due dates and everything will be fine. The teachers are willing to work with you as long as you talk to them and let them know what is going on!

    In three sentences

    This school has been awesome, I think the teachers are really nice, as well as helpful. I have also enjoyed my classmates. I have had tons of fun in this school and have been happy with them.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to read my favorite books. Watch documentary's and volunteer at the El Paso Zoo. I also enjoy spending time with my family, I love to cook and I like to be outside in the nature. I go hiking, I cook for fun, and I play with my pets.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love the food. The DACC cafeteria serves great hot food like breakfast burritos and hot beverages. the cafeteria have many sorts of different foods that the students can choose from. And sometimes we even get free food like chili dogs, burritos, hot dogs and many other things. DACC staff is extremely nice to their students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms but I have heard from close friends that they are so comfortable and relaxing. they say it is a great place to live in during your school years because you live with other students and you feel as if you are a huge family reaching for a same goal witch is to be a successful person in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    For many students college is difficult but with the help of family members and especially the communication you have with your professors help you through out the semester. I have personally have some rough times but I always find my way out with the help of tutors, professors and family members and friends who attend DACC as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I recommend that you attend DACC because it is a great start to your career. Professor's and all members of staff are very kind and helpful. Professors at DACC not only educate you more but they encourage you to fight for your dreams.

    In three sentences

    Dona Ana Community College has expanded my knowledge with the help of great professors. I believe DACC is a great school for students to attend because you gain the knowledge that you did not have before. Being a DACC student makes me proud because this college takes their students education extremely seriously.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is okay I suppose. The only thing is that NMSU police are so rude and just want to be anywhere. Even in the most ridiculous of times.

    Greek Life

    Greek life seems to be fun and great. I am not a part of it, but they seem to have a lot of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs associated with NMSU. Especially with all of the fraternities and sororities. They are involved with the school and you meet so many different people.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for people who are majoring in agricultural studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not familiar with any unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    School is so expensive these days. I feel like the campus raises tuition so that they can pay themselves more.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun on campus! Sports related and socially. There are football and basketball games! Even though the football team is not great, its still nice to get out and support the teams.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is awesome! They have so many different restaurants. Which can be bad because its sad that people would rather go on campus to eat than to study/learn.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are untidy and frankly, they're gross. They are so dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are way too big and makes concentrating very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please have all of your questions in order before you go in to talk to an advisor because it seems they don't go into the best detail about everything. You have to ask specific questions so they can get you the best answers.

    In three sentences

    NMSU has a beautiful campus but their employees and advisors are unhelpful. They seem very unwilling to help those who need it. I do really enjoy the actual campus though.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here. Security is there if you need it but to be honest I never feel uncomfortable.

    Great for these types of students

    If you work and have a busy life then this is the place for you. I work and go to school and that is it.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great for the tuition you pay.

    What to do for fun

    I don't do off campus stuff. Just school and work.

    Food and Dining

    Never had the food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I am not able to say what it's like.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work, but nothing you can't handle. You just can't procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that has great tuition and a great education this place will be great.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. The classes are flexible with my work. They are there to help you get an education.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who just want to learn.

    Food and Dining

    Great, lots of Dions. Variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    NMSU dorms or stay at home. There is a good combination of students in dorms or that stayed at home.

    Academic Rigor

    You are get a great education with instructors straight from NMSU, but cheaper! Teachers team up with canvas so you get the information face to face or online...either way it gets to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated to get the help you need, help is everywhere.

    In three sentences

    The E.M. campus is beautiful and promotes learning. Instructors care about student success. DACC is a great affordable way to transfer to NMSU.