Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New River Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems like a nice, quite campus. From appearance, it seems safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not yet familiar with them.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that would like to get their general studies completed without paying the top dollar should look at this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    You really can't beat the prices here!

    What to do for fun

    Go to Virginia Tech football games! Swimming or fishing in local lakes or watersports are all fun.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has some good programs on an associate level. It seems to be a great, affordable school for general studies, also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships and grants ahead of time! Do not worry so much about not knowing who or what you want to become. Enjoy your time instead of stressing it.

    In three sentences

    New River is a friendly local college. They seem to care about the students and have individuals on hand to help guide you through the process. I feel that I will enjoy my time at this school.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few security guards, the campus is pretty small and I haven't heard of anything happening there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally have not participated in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who enjoy smaller classrooms with more interaction with the teacher, and also great for students who want to take classes from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is split in two locations. The main location is in Dublin while the second location is the New River Valley Mall in Christiansburg. You have to pay close attention when you are signing up for classes so that you don't accidentally sign up for a class in Dublin and one following in Christiansburg in 10 minutes...when it takes at least 20 minutes to get there.

    What to do for fun

    2 pool tables, ping pong, 61 television (you can bring your own gaming console), weekly activities, clubs, sports

    Food and Dining

    N/A Only food here is vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    N/A There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but not to the point where the work is impossible to do. Keeps you interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management, just because you don't have a deadline soon doesn't mean you have no work to do.

    In three sentences

    Small college classes. Wide variety of online courses available. Staff eager to help.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Campus Security, NRCC is located in a small town and is safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Church Activities

    Great for these types of students

    Community activities, volunteer, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Graduation Day, everyone is welcome!

    Bang for the buck

    Attending a Community College is less expensive, however there will always be unexpected expenses. I have had to sit in the library and check the text book out for two hours ( that is the library allows) and do my homework.

    What to do for fun

    Take a yoga class, or maybe some other form of exercise to release stress.

    Food and Dining

    None

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    The wonderful choice of deciding to go to a Community College is that you will recieve the same academic choices in class selection, as a four year institution. Your Professor will be there for you, there are also tutoring assistance sights.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maked sure you talk to your Professors, they are there to help you, use your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Currently, I am a full-time student enrolled in New River Community College majoring in Information Technology. I decided to attend a Community College, for several reasons the main being the difference in cost of tuition versus a four year University. Community Colleges are less expensive and the classrooms have fewer students in each class so the instructor has more time to give that a student that one on one time that may be needed.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lounge

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not treat this college as an easy pass.

    In three sentences

    The education that you receive there is as good as the effort you give. The college has some excellent teachers and should be taken seriously.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear that there some clubs to join and sports to go to where they compete against other community colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that it will be an absolutely great education for the price. Great transition from high school.

    Food and Dining

    In Dublin there is not much food court and study area. However at the mall site there is a lot of food options to choose from since it is right next door to the mall food court.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe that any student that wants to start off at a smaller school should absolutely consider New River.

    In three sentences

    This is a very nice and small school, with an extremely nice and helpful staff willing and ready to help any perspective students. I cannot wait to start my college career at New River, knowing that I will be well treated. I love the aspect of the small classes and a closer relationship with the teachers.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Luckily at the mall site you also have Mall Cops!

    Great for these types of students

    Working students and/or students planning on transferring to VT

    Bang for the buck

    WAY cheaper than taking courses at nearby VT and they transfer!

    What to do for fun

    Just school. I know there's some programs but for me.. it's all about getting a degree

    Food and Dining

    Food court at the mall makes it nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder then most community college programs since the professors are Virginia Tech affliates

    Tips for prospective students

    Lots of the teachers also work or have worked for Virginia Tech. The programs are hard and just like a bigger school they sometimes try to weed out students. Just stick it out... it gets better.

    In three sentences

    Nice school. Lots of distance ed options and with the Mall Site in Christiansburg, I don't have to drive all the way to Dublin. Very Nice!

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for young students who aren't sure where they are headed and busy moms returning to school and need a flexible schedule.

    Food and Dining

    Nearby Radford has lots of cute little restaurants with a variety of fare available!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have questions?? Don't be afraid to ask!

    In three sentences

    NRCC has a warm and welcoming staff. They have a great selection of classes both in-person and on-line. I found the counselors well informed and helpful.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few safety issues on campus and they were handled in a very timely and professional manner!!

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for a variety of students! This is a very diverse campus but it is also small so it allows you to get to know everyone for who they truly are!

    What to do for fun

    On campus I enjoy taking part in fundraisers that are offered through my degree (Human Services) as well as interacting with the other students on campus. Outside of school I enjoy horseback riding, working out and spending time with the people that mean the most to me.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines that provide small meals as well as snacks. The bookstore on the main campus also has coffee and snacks to purchase. The satellite site offered in Christiansburg is within a mall so there is a food court close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor within New River Community College is challenging but not difficult. The professors push you to make your experience worth while but are also very open to struggles you may be having and ways to improve them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with a positive attitude and be willing to have class discussions! This college is very into the students opinions both in and out of the class settings.

    In three sentences

    New River Community College is a small campus with usually no more than 40 students per class. It is very welcoming and you will have a relationship with both the other students and the professors. I have never felt judged or out of place by anyone on campus!

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards that patrol the Dublin campus, which also includes the parking lots (don't forget your parking pass!) The mall site has their own security guards but should check in on the college side of the mall more often than they do.

    Bang for the buck

    Price is still great for in-state tuition but financial aid does not cover a lot of it if you only want to take 2 or 3 classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on every week. Ben Kramer send weekly notices about what will be going on in advance so you can plan to participate. Bake sales are also a great way to network with other students and get a affordable on-campus lunch.

    Food and Dining

    There is not too many options for food but the vending machines are always stocked with snacks and drinks. Vending machines with microwavable meals are also on site.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus housing options but the apartments close to the college are reasonably priced. Since NRCC serves local students, most are already living in the area but would be nice to see some housing close to campus for anyone who isn't from the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are knowledgeable in the material they teach and will always have an interest in making sure the students can learn the material and be available during office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into transfer programs to Virginia universities. Four-year colleges look favorably at students who attend Virginia community colleges before transferring their college.

    In three sentences

    Great college with two sites for students who do not want to travel very far. Professors are willing to work with you as long as you show up and are interested in learning the material. Computers are available to use when computer class labs are not in session; always a plus when you forget to bring your laptop!

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are by far the most cost effective way to complete your first two years of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    NRCC is effective. They are helpful with questions or concerns. NRCC is accessible.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As much as you can expect I guess. I think the crime rate is fairly low around both campuses and there's added security from the mall at the mall site.

    Greek Life

    New River Community College doesn't really have a greek life. There may be one or two organizations but none that I know of specifically.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have the student government organization along with several other religious and athletic groups available.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody. Absolutely anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    I LOVE how good the education is for the price I'm paying. It puts my mind at ease and gets rid of my worries about having to choose either going to school or working a job. I don't have to go into debt for this school.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports clubs to join and many, many other groups that deal with things like student government, religious groups, etc. The site I go to is located in the middle of Christiansburg. It's next several shops and restaurants. Really close by is the Huckleberry trail. If you own a car or like to walk around, you will have plenty to entertain yourself with, including the nearby bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    I go to the mall campus which is house inside of the NRV Mall and right next to the food court. There are five or six different choices for food throughout the mall and they are not particularly expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I gave this one star because this college does not have any dorm to speak of. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave this five stars based solely on the material being taught. The teachers are all engaging and stay on topic very well. They all know how to best engage the students. At the end of the day, I come away with the feeling of satisfaction over how much I have learned from each and every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's okay not to have your books on the first day of class. It is best to wait and see what the professors want you to get. DO NOT TEXT IN CLASS. No professor is tolerant of this. If a student is caught texting, the common thing to happen is to get kicked out of class.

    In three sentences

    New River Community College is an excellent education facility. The professors are wonderful and personable and the level of education here is of an amazing quality. I am happy to be a student here.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Something for every interest. Very involved student body.

    Food and Dining

    Almost everyday someone is selling food to raise money for something. Sports teams are always selling. Vending machines and the bookstore sells food also with microwaves in the lounge, you won't go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All different levels of challenges. What you put into your work is the success you will get out of it. Teachers do play a role in that though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college has a bad name but is actually a good adjustment to the college atmosphere. It is what you make it to be.

    In three sentences

    New River Community College is a great start to anyones college education. A good opportunity to raise your GPA to get into that dream school in order to pursue your dreams. Education that is easy on the bank.