Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New River Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    that live in the Nicholas County area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared evey day for class

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and community enviroment.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you want, they probably offer or will start up.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wishing to continue or expand their knowledge and skills, even if it may have been years since you've been in a class room.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Must check out the Spring banquets!

    Bang for the buck

    They will push you, but it is only to make you ready for real life.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you can think of is offerend in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Offer tons of free events.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    They will push you to leanr and expand your knowledge , but it's for the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get up and start your schooling it will be over before you know it. Work hard and play later.

    In three sentences

    What a wonderful experience to attend school in your back yard to gain knowledge and skills while remaning close to your friends,family, and everything you love about home.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They don't really have anything for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have any food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    In any school you have to do the work. It takes real effort to make good greats.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up. It takes time to get your paper work done. When you are done it will all be worth it.

    In three sentences

    New river is a very good school. They have a smaller campus. Which is good for first time students.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe when I am at this campus. When you walk in there is a desk and someone is always there. I'm sure there are security cameras all around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs and activities available but I haven't had a chance to check into them. I know that during the summer the students did some drawings. The students fed us lunch one day and that was nice.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is ideal for any of all ages to further their education. I feel right at home with the mixture of different ages at the college. Great for some who may struggle because of the many tutors they have available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a conference room and they have a family fun film night. I haven't had a chance to attend but it sounds interesting. They have social outings from time to time. Since I'm a freshman I guess I will know more at a later time.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like the friendliness of the staff and students at this college. They are very helpful and there is never a dumb question. If they don't know the answer to your question they will track someone down that has the answers you need.

    What to do for fun

    I have seen a basketball ring outside. I don't think we have fun on our mind when we get to campus. The atmosphere is light but the main struture of the campus is for learning and helping one another achieve our dreams.

    Food and Dining

    Oh, you mean the vending machines. There is not a cafeteria or dining room at this facility. There are plenty of nearby restaurants to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms at this facility at this time. I haven't heard of any plans for any in the future. Perhaps because it is a community college there will be no plans for a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I took two summer classes and really enjoyed the pace. These classes were five weeks long so I don't think the pace would be quit as fast in the fall. There were many tutors available for additional help at no extra cost to you the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student, look at the catalog on their website to see what they offer. Orentation day was very helpful for me. The Dean and staff are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    New River Community and Technical College is a great campus. The people are very friendly and helpful. The professors are very professional and helpful.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New River is great for working student and students that have families that they have to care for.

    What to do for fun

    Play football and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    They do not offer these services.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    New River offers a variet you prepared for the variety of classes that both challenge you and get you prepared for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early so that you have everything in place when classes start.

    In three sentences

    New River is close to home. It is very affordable. Just overall a good place to start your higher education.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The locations of the chain of New River Community colleges are all in relatively safe locations, with friendly residents. College security is not present though on the downside.

    Greek Life

    not present

    Clubs and Activities

    student government association student tutoring services

    Great for these types of students

    parents employed persons low income families

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none are present

    Bang for the buck

    New River is an excellent choice for special case students such as: parents, employees, or any other scenario.

    What to do for fun

    Well the best thing that one could do is make friends with fellow students. The only recreation is occasional organized events such as a movie night. Beyond that possibilities are limited.

    Food and Dining

    The only time that food is provided is on special occasions or if someone brings food.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so one must find their own means of housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are reasonable with the workload they give. They understand that many students are parents, have jobs, or other matters present in their life.

    Tips for prospective students

    A prospective student should be prepared take notes and budget their time. Although there are many errors in the financial aid and business offices. Do not expect any easy ride since it is a community college. The academics are up to par with any university in the country. The instructors are passionate and educated about the subjects they teach.

    In three sentences

    A good experience for anyone who lives close to one. The staff cares about the well-being of the students. Perfect for anyone who has to schedule around work.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New River is a great school for students who don't want to go to a big school. New River is a smaller school where you can get a lot of one on one time with teachers if you need to. It is very personalized, that is why i chose to attend this school.

    What to do for fun

    Well, New river is located in the city so between classes there are plenty of restaurants and fast food places to go eat at. There is also a movie theater, golf course, and clothing outlets.

    Food and Dining

    New river does not have a kitchen or anything like that where students can get food, but they do sometimes have pizza and or cookies at the main hallway of the school for students to eat. That is why i gave them three stars because that is a very nice gesture for them to have snacks for the students to eat on.

    Dorm Life

    New River does not have dorms on there campus, so that's why I only gave one star. It is located in the city so there would not really be any room to put dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Four out of five stars due to the fact that no school is perfect in my eys. Every school along with every person has at least one flaw.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending New River, then i highly suggest you follow through with that plan. It is a great school, you will love the teachers, and everyone is very nice.

    In three sentences

    New River is a great school in my opinion. There are great teachers there who know what they are doing and it is not a bigger school so you don't have as much opportunity to get lost on campus. I plan to pursue my degree there because it is such a great school.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have a security guard but beyond that...

    Greek Life

    none that im aware of

    Clubs and Activities

    model UN and SGA

    Bang for the buck

    most credits transfer.

    What to do for fun

    small town community 2yr college

    Food and Dining

    no cafe

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    ive found that every class is easy

    Tips for prospective students

    find: cheap housing, cheap car w/snow tires, part time job.

    In three sentences

    a cheap real college education. close to I-77 and town majority of faculty are easily accessible

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    It's great to get involved in something.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    I highly recommend this school. Going in I was worried about the value of education I would recieve. The faculty here make sure you are prepared and ready when you leave their classes. Great experience.

    What to do for fun

    NRCTC offers a variety of social functions thorughout the year, but we also have an arena, movie theater, and tons of places to shop in the community.

    Food and Dining

    we have great restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available at my campus

    Academic Rigor

    Very Challenging, but the instructors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard Watch for deadlines for financial aid and other activities. Get involved in something.

    In three sentences

    NRCTC is a challenge. NRCTC has great instructors. NRCTC have great social functions for a community college.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't available since it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest students come to class on time everyday. As well as come prepared and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    New River Community and Technical College has the same education as other colleges but is much more cost efficient. I highly suggest other from this area to go there to get there basics if they have a 4 year college plan.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus security guard on site.

    Clubs and Activities

    New River offers different inter mural activities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're ready to jump into the workforce, but you're unable to spend four years at a university; this is the place to go. I want to be a registered nurse, so I'm getting my LPN certification and will be able to work in about 18 months; then I'll be able to continue my education up through my bachelors degree online.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable college experience.

    What to do for fun

    New River offers get-togethers fairly often, and offer banquets for students.

    Food and Dining

    No dining

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I've been very challenged at this college. I have enjoyed everything about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for a fair student to teacher ratio. Teachers are able to recognize you by name; and not just by a number. STUDY! Just because this is a community college, doesn't mean that it's going to be easy. It is fast paced, and you earn a certificate/degree more quickly, but be prepared to stick your face in the books.

    In three sentences

    All of the professors I've had up until this point have been very encouraging and helpful. The campus is tightly knit; and easily accessible. My educational experiences has exceeded my expectations; as I'm a transfer from WVU, my learning experience is much more hands on.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a policeman that comes through often, and is most seen after noontime. Since I've been at New River, I haven't nor has the other students that attend experienced any type of accidents or severe hazards. If anything, someone could have slipped and fell but the halls and lobby are fairly clean and kept in an acceptable condition as far as safety goes.

    What to do for fun

    There's contests every now and then, but the best one I've been around to notice is the pumpkin carving in the fall. I've never participated but there is some amazing art that comes out of moving a knife precisely throughout a large berry! Yes, pumpkins are berries!

    Food and Dining

    Quite often the school lobby has a table set up with coffee, and depending on what time of year it is, decorations with matching treats. This is expected a lot more around testing times. I personally have not tried any of the food they have put out but every one who has had a taste are outgoing about how good it turned out.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here at New River Community and Technical College. It's a simple building with rooms every where you turn. If dorms did exist, I'd probably rate them a four because I've never known, of all of my dorm living experiences, there to be a five star dorm in existence somewhere!

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, it just depends on the instructor and class you are taking. The only way it would be truly tough for you to handle, is if the instructor was not there for you when you need help. If you do run into a difficult moment or two, you can always contact the school's tutor or a classmate if you're comfortable with that.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking into going to New River Community and Technical College, I'd expect easy-going instructors who will do whatever they can to make sure you understand what is being taught for the day. Every day I'd bring my laptop with me and use it for typing notes because Microsoft Word had a lot more space for error than my piece of notebook paper.

    In three sentences

    The online teaching system is very professional, but I have experienced one instructor not being on for weeks at a time, and leaving us with very little instruction or help when we need it most. When it comes to the campus instructors, I absolutely loved my first semester because they were always available to answer my questions and never let me feel stressed about any assignment given. The only problem I do have with New River is the parking lot, which might be a silly issue to bring forward but it does bother me enough to with the overall small space and crazy drivers around here!