Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New York Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/05/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IF your major is from Computer engineering, architecture or anything Technological i recommend this school to you. It specializes on technology so they will give you a high quality education. Also NYIT is also one of the safest colleges in America; Securities are alert of everything and will ask for your Id so they can know where you need to be or suppose to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your an athletic student this school might not be for you. It only has about 13 teams which one of them is in Division 1 (baseball) while the others are in division 2 and most of them are Intramural. And for clubs i would say it lacks a little from that but if your a student that likes to be on a single team such as me then try making it to this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The School is not that much expensive, it is about $24,000 a year. The school gave me a scholarship of $7,000 for academic achievement. If your GPA is higher than 2.9 you will probably get the same amount or even more. In addition, I got $5,550 from Pell Grant, $3,025 from TAP and I got a subsidized loan of $3,500 (Interest is paid by the government). That covers more then half of the tuition. Therefore, if people say is too expensive still apply you might be surprised how much money you can get.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is like a forest. There is trees everywhere and sometimes it get can chilly. So bring a jacket or a sweater. The campus is so big that they provide you buses to take you to the dorms (they are about 15 mins away from the campus) or where you need to be. The only reason i gave it three stars is because of the dorms. The dorm buildings were dirty, there was garbage everywhere. Once we took a step inside the building I saw a TV that it was so dusty it seemed it has been like that for years. The dorms were very small. When you walked in you'll see a space that's about 2 to 3 meters wide with 2 chairs (i think that's the space where you can chill out, (i don't know if its just me but i think it was to small) . If you made a left there was a double room (which you had a lot of space to relax) and if you went the opposite way you would find a single room ( very small but you had your own privacy), next to that would be the bathroom that it wasn't the best place to look at. I would say those are the only negative things for NYIT other than that its a good Institute.

    Will learn a lot

    I was truly impressed by innovative facilities and how my questions were answered in a friendly manner. I was impressed by their well-presented computer-engineering workshop. The teachers explained everything on what to do and what not. They also helped you if you need any. But that was a computer engineering teacher so i don't know if every teachers are like that for every major.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a free thinker, NYIT is for you. NYIT is very culturally diverse and students are exposed to different cultures, religions, and belief systems that will expand their own knowledge of who they are. NYIT is also for the hard workers as passion is a requirement for each major. Students are expected to give their all in everything they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students don't have to know exactly what they want in their future, NYIT has a very good reputation with guiding students throughout their educational career and even has a mentor program that makes students feel welcoming and taken care of.

    Bang for the buck

    NYIT is very generous on scholarships. First and foremost, their tuition alone is well worth it with a comfortable campus and womderful teachers. Along with a fair tuition NYIT also awards hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarships each year. Throughout high school I didn't feel as if my hard work would pay off, that is until NYIT paid for half my tuition. Now I am more motivated then ever to be successful.

    Am enjoying being here

    Perhaps one of the perks of attending NYIT is the campus. NYIT's campus offsets the stresses of college with peaceful and serene scenery, comfortable buildings, multiple eating areas, and a wonderful staff. NYIT has become my second home and I feel more comfortable there then anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    Throughout my college career I have been blessed to encounter some professors that have changed my perception of the world. For the first time in my educational career, the knowledge I was given was not censored, it was free to be interpreted however it was heard. I feel this is a luxury most commonly over looked. NYIT gave me the opportunity to learn without limits.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I personally don't believe this school gets as much recognition as it should. They truly prepare you for everything that is to come in your future.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is one big family, and the relationships you create with the students and Professors is amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    I would have never expected to learn as much as I have in the first semester of my freshman year.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch

    Greek Life

    I never became affiliated, but from what i heard, its very intuitive. Stay away from AXP

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities, when they were thrown, were very good. Talent shows, competitions, etc. Especially for Freshman!

    Great for these types of students

    Architecture students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The laundry room usually houses the events on campuses. There were video game competitions and galas as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorming is very expensive and not worth it. Only attend this school for Architecture and Medicine.

    What to do for fun

    Become very involved with the events that they throw on campus. They sometimes have dances and other things. Just make sure to keep a high awareness of this.

    Food and Dining

    Very mediocre. VERY. Don't expect a classy meal.

    Dorm Life

    The only reason I enjoyed dorm life was because I wanted an escape from my household. Other than that, dorming life was very basic and mediocre. I never realized how mediocre it was because I just wanted to get out of my house for once. The food is very mediocre, except for the Panther's Den, another location to buy food. However, dining dollars are separate from this location. Dorming life was very mediocre! Roofs leaked, heaters broke.

    Tips for prospective students

    As mentioned earlier, this school is very expensive. I'd suggest you attend this school if you really want to get into Architecture or Medicine. Dorming can be a hassle at times, since the dorms are located a little distance from the school. Transportation buses are issued to accommodate this, but it can be annoying after a while. I'd only attend this school for the mentioned subjects.

    In three sentences

    NYiT has very basic, but expensive housing. The education here is pretty top notch for Architecture and Medicine, but a little more than basic in other fields. It is a very expensive school.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not much to its its greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs but members are rare to find sometimes, much people are not dedicated and the club is usually left with no members

    Great for these types of students

    Architecture, engineering

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Manhattan location is amazing but really expensive

    What to do for fun

    go to the guy or hang around the city

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of options

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is good you get to meet a lot of great people

    Academic Rigor

    Its not that hard.. depending on your major

    Tips for prospective students

    think about it twice its better to pay this kind of tuition foe graduate school

    In three sentences

    NYIT is really expensive

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is always an event calendar with on campus and off campus events.

    Food and Dining

    food is good and there is a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    unknown since i dont dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the help from the staff. the student solutions center and counselors are a great resource.

    In three sentences

    although nyit is a large college with international campuses, the old westbury location is small campus. its size only means that you will receive more individualized attention and help, and you will have many familiar faces. this is a great first time college campus as well.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is alot of security guards on campus so the school is well protected

    Clubs and Activities

    there is different clubs and activities in the school. soocer and volley ball and etc. i am a aias member for my architecture club. as a student it is a good thing to join the club because it teaches you alot of the things about architecture.

    Great for these types of students

    as a student you get to choose any major you want to peruse your career in. the school also have different sports for student to participate in liie soccer , football and etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i attend manhattan campus and i love the location. rite by columbus circle and central park. student can go hang out there at central park during summer and is not far is just across the street from the school

    What to do for fun

    i live in the studio , sleep in the student. architecture is my life. i eat , breath architecture. is my hobby.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is very delicious. serve all kinds of food.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is very comfortable for students. especially outsider who comes from different country and attending the school, the find more comfortable and the location is good because they get to explored the city life.

    Tips for prospective students

    student always participate in achitvities and

    In three sentences

    ranking Best Colleges is Regional Universities (North), 68. Its tuition and fees are $27,290 (2011-12). is one of the best architecture school in the new york city.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe.

    Greek Life

    Not really any Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Architects, engineers and nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The SAC is where people hang out. Be sure to check it out.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in Long Island. There is tons of shopping, great restaurants and its close to the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good at NYIT. Watch for the freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not that great but they are live-able

    Academic Rigor

    It's not terribly hard but it's challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's expensive.

    In three sentences

    NYIT is a great school. They are focused on teaching you what you need to know for your major and I enjoy that. I feel like when I graduate I will be ready for a career in my field.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good

    Greek Life

    Useless

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't see what they do

    Great for these types of students

    Athletics, students interested in science majors

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. The most boring school i have ever been to

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm so i have know idea but the school should get their own dorms cause they have enough space on their property to build dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The Best

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a serious student and you want a very good school to have serious studies then this is your school

    In three sentences

    The Professors are very good. The classes are interesting. The school is neat and very attractive.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very good school...Expensive...Teachers are soso

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'v seen some interesting computer and sports clubs. Might join some.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds.

    What to do for fun

    Reading.

    Food and Dining

    Their food looks appealing but i do not eat much at schools.

    Dorm Life

    I do not sleep in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are disciplined and flexible. Everyone seems to have their ambitions straight.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax during the test that you have to take before getting your schedule for the school.

    In three sentences

    Very impressive. Alot of computers. Might prove a challenge.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security in every building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Currently expanding in Manhattan.

    Bang for the buck

    NYIT is a little more expensive than I would like... with continually rising tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Central Park, countless museums, Lincoln Center, so much more!

    Food and Dining

    Various places of price and quality available in the city, however NYIT doesn't provide anything worth while.

    Dorm Life

    Apartments in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    The architectural program is extremely intense. Often students will work overnight in the studios.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the city. Familiarize yourself with the subway system. Pack a lunch.

    In three sentences

    NYIT has two campuses in New York. I enthusiastically attend the Manhattan Campus. The location in incredible and curriculum is challenging.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Besides hangout around the campus, the dorm students plan activities, shopping center is near by, and a movie theater is around. But of course, the wonderful and peaceful Central Park is close by to just enjoy the serene nature.

    Food and Dining

    Many areas are around where you can get a nice meal, whether on campus or around it. many shops lay around with delicious desserts, succulent food with wonderful flavors.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in the dorms, but I have been there a few times and it's pretty nice. A nice assortment of students, everyone is lively around there and it's like a second home.

    Academic Rigor

    Stick to your syllabus, pay attention in class, copy every important piece of information. Do not skip out on anything. make sure to email your professors, keep up to date in all your work and always strive for more information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, get to know the students, get to know the teachers, counselors, everyone there. They really go the extra mile for all those who show that they are interested in getting involved.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful, loving, and caring family once you get to know everyone and all the programs there. You really feel at home once you're there, and wonderful programs that push you to excel.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, you just need to be willing to walk a little way to get to it. :)

    Dorm Life

    the students are fun but also no when it is time to calm down and do work, or allow you to do yours.

    In three sentences

    This school is all-incusive academically. It allows you to meet, learn and interact with student from different countries. NYIT also has a wide rage of studies to choose from.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been an problem on campus as far as safety. Security is always on the premisses.

    Greek Life

    It seems fun. I'm not interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs and activities to partake in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student. International, Technical, medical, there is room for all who desire to become what they dream.

    Bang for the buck

    Although its extremely expensive to attend this institution, you do get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups and programs you can be apart of at NYIT. I never had the time to devote to any of these groups/programs but they seem to be quite interesting. I will try next semester to be more involved

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend this school to anyone, whether it be a recent high school graduate, or a thirty-five year old. This institution is very diverse, and thats a plus.

    In three sentences

    This school offers great programs. Admissions is extremely easy, and the staff is very helpful. I would rate this school an 8 out of 10. It's not perfect but its the closest thing to it.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards in every corner of the NYiT campus. This in itself shows me how safe my school really is and makes me focus more on school.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I hear the clubs and activities are excellent. Not sure for myself just yet for the school does not allow first year students to join clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Really unsure there are a few athletic courts that I viewed while commuting through the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Always have a wide variety of food located in the food center. Once a week they even have a sale going on for the sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm at this school but from visiting I could tell it was really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors actually work with you and want to see you pass with a high grade which was amazing for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not waste any time with getting your work done. As an incoming freshmen it is very overwhelming and you should be prepared to hit the street running.

    In three sentences

    This college is a very warm and welcoming school. At first just as any freshmen it could be tough to open up but there are so many friendly people around that its hard to not fit in. Its an amazing school and should definitely plan on going here.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not so much greek life as I would expect.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different types of clubs and activities, some are related to major and others are outside the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Living/residence halls are located 5 miles off campus at another college.

    Bang for the buck

    Not the bang for your buck, some majors it is worth it, but for other majors not all. Not the best for Business, English or Communication Arts major.

    Food and Dining

    Overall not bad, but could use some new things.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have their own residence hall, they rent out floor space from other buildings to be used as resident space.

    Academic Rigor

    some professor just hand out A's to students because professors don't want to anything while other teach what they are suppose to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please stay on top of your things, otherwise the college does not care.

    In three sentences

    NYIT has good professor for some courses, but for some they are really bad. Also Bursar, Financial Aid, Admissions, Student Solution doesn't have the best service

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe. The guards know nearly every student and they ID whoever they don't remember well.

    What to do for fun

    In the Manhattan Campus exists a gaming room. There is several gyms right next to the campus. The campus is also located near Central Park, so lot of activities you can enjoy in the park such as bike riding.

    Food and Dining

    The Manhattan campus is located near Central Park South. A lot of restaurant options near. NYIT has a cafeteria, and near it is a very convenient deli.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of choices, but need to apply very early.

    Academic Rigor

    Homework is not very complicated, but teachers expect a lot and grade harshly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your classes and schedule. If you are not doing well in a class you might be withdrawn from it.

    In three sentences

    A great college, with a lot of choices. Faculty and students are very friendly and understanding.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore Downtown manhattan

    Tips for prospective students

    Good school for continued education

    In three sentences

    Good school

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am spending the fun time with my wife and daughters

    Food and Dining

    the food available is very convenient and the Cafeteria is marvelous

    Dorm Life

    The school does not have a housing program

    Academic Rigor

    I want to be from the top 10% of the school to take Honor gardes

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like osteopathic medicine to be your career, NYIT COM should be your choice

    In three sentences

    I am enrolled in the Doctor of Osteopathic School Of NYIT and consider it as one of the best schools allover the nation that teaches osteopathic medicine, the working team that support the medical student are very oriented with the nature of their jobs, the professors are very dedicated and knowledgeable

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    it is one of the good school for engineering medium.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best campus that offers the best education.It provides its students all latest technology learning tools.It makes every student to survive in the education prospect.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a student lounge, game room and computer rooms.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food here and a variety of restaurants and stores here.

    Dorm Life

    I can't answer this because i don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The school education relies on technology and so you can learn most of the stuff online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good Luck

    In three sentences

    The students are socially awkward here but the ones you that aren't are actually pretty cool. NYIT gives off a very chilled environment. I enjoy it here but I wished it wasn't so expensive.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do once you become involved. There are approximately 30 clubs and organizations which include sororities,fraternities, red cross and the student government association. During the fall NYIT also has a inter mural games for athletes and non athletes to take part in for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The wide variety of food is delightful. The school has 4 different dining areas for the different locations at the school, which caters to the students preferences and needs.

    Dorm Life

    Although the dorms are not directly on campus, the school made arrangements for students to get to the main campus by buses. It also encourages students to be good with time in order to be punctual for class.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at the school is superb

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that prospective students be open minded to diversity and to get involved in any club or organization.

    In three sentences

    I really like The New York Institute of Technology. I enjoy being a part of a diverse community and school that has a lot to offer. Being a student at The New York Institute of Technology has furthered my ability to become a member of several groups and take part in several activities at school.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Manhattan! After classes are done, you can hop on a train and go to any of your friend's houses, Times Square, see a Broadway play, shop in the village, go to museums, or stay close and stroll through Central Park. If you can't go too far, we have a game room that has a television, (bring your own video game system) pool, ping pong, and arcade machine. We have 2 great places to lounge in the school. But when you do have the time, seriously, explore Manhattan and get to know your train lines. That is how you really get to know what there is to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at the NYIT Manhattan campus is nothing to rave about. They have packaged foods and little sandwiches and muffins for students to grab if they are running late to class. But be warned, it is expensive. Even if you are on a meal plan, you need to budget your cash. Eating around the area is pricey as well. You're in Manhattan, so you pay for the convenience. However, there is this place on 55th St. and Broadway that sells pizza for $1, so you're welcome. :-)

    Dorm Life

    I have no rating for dorm life because I currently live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I took 4 classes this semester. I liked 3 out of 4 of my professors. The workload is pretty hefty at times, (especially in Architecture classes) but that is to be expected. Do your work, and you will be fine. The professors are very understanding. You can always e-mail them or make an appointment with them. FREE Tutoring is always an option for many classes as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have your financial aid, scholarships, and grants together before getting here. This school is about $15,000 a semester, so you need to have a financial plan. Also, VERY IMPORTANT: STAY ON TOP OF YOUR STUFF. The financial aid office, bursar, and Student Solutions Center don't really help you unless you nag them to. You will have to go and find things out for yourself a lot of times, so just be aware of what is going on. Check your nyit.edu e-mail as well as personal e-mail often.

    In three sentences

    NYIT (Manhattan Campus) is a school for those who like city life, but a small classroom setting. The community here is very friendly and helpful. Though the school is expensive, it is worth it for the experience.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports Clubs Parties/Dances May Fest

    Academic Rigor

    Average

    Tips for prospective students

    Read your textbooks! Listen in class and then go home and go over the slides while taking notes! Do not try and write down notes from the slides while the teacher is talking in class or else you will not hear anything he/she has to say.

    In three sentences

    NYIT is a neat/tidy campus. The help is always on task, and they are able to assist you with all your needs readily. Most teachers get straight to the point and actually take their time out to teach you (disregarding a few).