Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Newberry College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is great in their own way. So i can't really explain this one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and enjoy smiling and being happy. Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Really don't understand this one but Newberry rocked when i came down there.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, i will enjoy every moment at Newberry if i go there. It seems to be working with me for now.

    Will learn a lot

    They are organized and they care about others and there education. Newberry showed me how to be responsible for myself and how to care about others and my work also if i go to Newberry i would be proud and love to wake up every morning wanting to be in class. Newberry is an averaged school to be at and also enjoy why your there on campus and everyone gets along wonderfully and they are all so interjected and calm.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newberry is great for students who like that small hometown feel and where everybody knows everybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know this is where you want to be and don't take your first year for granted. focus on why you are there so you can maintain having good grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Newberry is a private college and the cost is higher than a traditional college, I feel that tuition could be a little less than what it is.

    Am enjoying being here

    Enjoy being here because I got to meet a lot of new people and Newberry is very diverse and I like that

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot during my freshman year at Newberry. At first I thought adjusting to a new environment would be hard but it wasn't.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newberry is great for students that like the small town feel but still like to have plenty to do while at school. There is a perfect balance of busy and bored. It is also good for students who thrive in smaller classes and desire to be a student that stands out in the crowd.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that students sit in on classes at their prospective schools. When attending college, the majority of time will be spent in the classroom so it is important to see if the learning environment will help you succeed

    Bang for the buck

    With being a small private institution, Newberry is not the most inexpensive school in South Carolina, but it is well worth paying the extra money. The College is very good about taking the extra money and really spending it on the student body. From the school hosted student activities, to the free printing and laundry on campus, it is obvious after only a few weeks on campus that the college's main priority is the students!

    Am enjoying being here

    The college community is very exciting at Newberry. We have a variety of organizations and a student body that enjoys being involved. There is always some event to take part in and the college's fine art and lecture program helps to find speakers that are not just educational but fun. It is a very easy school to get involved, make friends and I have enjoyed every minute of my first year here.

    Am learning a lot

    Newberry College's learning experience is very unique. The small class sizes make it easy to have a one on one relationship with your professor. The instructors are always more than willing to spend the extra time and energy to make sure that the class or individual understands the concept. At Newberry you are not another number, but a student to a professor that wants to see you succeed. With this small learning environment there are many opportunities for students to explore outside of classroom as well.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to pursue a degree in a small setting then Newberry is the right school for you !

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on your A game. Make good grades. Don't stress or overwhelm yourself about college because college isn't hard. Avoid partying the first two semesters so you can get a understanding of college life.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a private school so of course you are going to pay a little extra than a traditional public school, but don't let this discourage you because a education from this school is very beneficial to your career.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very quiet and no one bothers you. Schedule of classes are very flexible; you can enjoy extra curricular activities without worrying to study; they give you ample opportunities . Newberry is above average. I say this because the faculty treats every one like family; They will make sure you will not get homesick.

    Am learning a lot

    College life is not as hard as everyone depicts it to be.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy a quaint and small atmosphere would love Newberry College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keeping your GPA up helps with attaining scholarships. Anything that can be done to help pay for tuition is important. Join sports teams, make good grades, apply for scholarships and grants etc...

    Bang for the buck

    Newberry College is a private Lutheran college. Therefore, it is a bit on the pricey side. On the plus side, there are many grants and scholarships available for students to ease that load.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very enjoyable being at a small town college. Everyone is very friendly, and the campus makes it enjoyable always being near your friends. The campus is beautiful, and there are so many organizations that are great to be a part of.

    Am learning a lot

    Newberry College has a well rounded academic curriculum. Their core requirements allow students to explore other subjects outside of their major. All of the professors are very helpful and willing to assist in anyway that they can.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newberry is good for students who want a good connection to not only the school but the community. Newberry reaches out and helps the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the small town discourage you, it is fun while college is in session. Also don't be discourage because it is a small school. Because it is a small school, people are more helpful and get to know you better. Newberry offers the same as big universities such as greek life and NCAA sports.

    Bang for the buck

    This tution is high for this school but the money is being used very well to help the students. There is free laundry and in movie rooms. Also free paper to use for printing and entertainment. The campus put on events for the students such as bowling nights or concerts for the students. Also the classrooms are up to date in technology.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is in a small town. The closest movies, mall, and other attractions are in Columbia. This can be helpful because all you have to focus on is school work but it can get boring.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here care a lot about your education. Because of the small learning environment, the teachers can focus on you as a individual student. Unlike big universities where you are being taught by a teachers aid, you have the professor in the room. They make themselves available to the students.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is AMAZING, I joined a sorority this year and i fell in love with them. we do all kinds of philanthropy events and we love being around each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The flying pie is a local hangout spot in newberry. the owners are super friendly and we always have a good time whenever we go there. There is also Dopeys, the small buger joint on campus, which has been open since the school was founded. its open really late so kids who are studying can go grab a buger.

    What to do for fun

    There are always frat parties on the weekends, and if you get in with them on their good side, they have little get together's to relive stress over the weekdays. Thursdays are college night at the flying pie, and a lot of students get together there to hangout. and ids who live off campus like to throw parties all the time. Not to mention the school always plans something fun to do lots of times during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe at newberry seems to be the same food over and over again, but its good food, and they do try to mix it up.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay, and every student has to go through it. you get really close to the people on your hall, and thats how you start your first relationships in college.

    Academic Rigor

    Theres a lot of schoolwork involved, but the teachers are always there to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep on top of your schoolwork, and dont go out every night. keep to the social scene but dont over do it.

    In three sentences

    Newberry is an awesome school, especially for Music majors. The cafe is pretty good, and the student activities are even better. Ive loved my experience here so far.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very little trouble happens in newberry because it is a small town and police have know where to hide and always seem to be around.

    Greek Life

    Many greeks on campus including myself, this past year I pledged Tau Kappa Epsilon.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tennis, Wrestling, Soccer, Volleyball, Golf, Football, Baseball, Softball, Lacrosse, Band, Theatre, Chorus, Fraternities, and Sororities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that come to mind, but to be entirely honest, I haven't looked around much.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school, that for a full-time student would cost anywhere from $25,000-$34,000 per year, making it one of the most expensive schools in South Carolina and very unaffordable without plenty of scholarship money.

    What to do for fun

    When not hanging out with my friends, i train constantly because i am a college wrestler, or practice my instruments because I am a musician and studying Music Education.

    Food and Dining

    All the food is made daily and cooked by chefs who appear to be highly qualified. There is always various dishes and daily they make different foods from the previous day which to me shows their vast culinary knowledge. My only year there was last year and there were no complaints at all.

    Dorm Life

    While there have been accounts of mold found in some of the dorms, janitors clean them daily. Also, students don't often make messes because the people found responsible for messing up a hall with trash (littering, etc.) will be fined, if no one is found solely responsible then the whole floor is sued which often keeps students in check.

    Academic Rigor

    While mainly famous for their amazing chemistry department, Newberry College also has a growing music program that really challenges the majority of its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I honestly have no answer to this because school is out for the summer and i have no means to find the answer.

    In three sentences

    It is basically a giant family in which I love everyone there. I've learned a lot because they retaught me how to study and teachers are more available since it's a small college and there aren't 400 people classes. I have had a great college experience thus far because i am a student who learns best in small places and Newberry College is the perfect place for that.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i do not eat on campus so i can not comment on this either. but from what i hear the food is not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus. so i can not really comment on this part.

    Academic Rigor

    for the most part it is like every other college; just the classes are smaller.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would be in greek life or play a sport. try to get involved other than just being a student.

    In three sentences

    newberry college has very small classes which is better for learning. but it is such a small school you feel like you are in high school all over again.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an outstanding security system around campus, and we all feel extremely safe every day.

    Greek Life

    There are many different Greeks on campus. A variety for all types of persons!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many opportunities for the students. The only thing is that they need to get involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the graduating class donates an item to the campus that is remembered for all years to come!

    Bang for the buck

    Because Newberry College is a private college, there is more to pay for tuition, etc. However, it is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things around campus that are here for students to get involved and have fun on days that need a lift. The student organizations create many events throughout the year that bring creative things to the campus so that all students can enjoy. These things are usually free to students of Newberry College.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria dining area has been recently renovated and creates a great area to dine and spend some quality time with friends. Although the food is cafeteria food, it speaks for itself (in a good way).

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on where you live on campus, but our college has wonderful Resident Advisers and staff that make your stay in the 'dorms' as comfortable as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The one-to-one attention that professors give their students is unbelievable because our college has the best academics. The ratio of students to professor is amazing because you are always heard and given the time you need in and out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Newberry College is a private, religion-affiliated school, but it welcomes all denominations. Come here ready to learn to the fullest. Be involved around campus because you will meet many wonderful people around campus.

    In three sentences

    Newberry College is the best choice for students who are looking for a school with a good sense of community, good academics, and great opportunities all around. This school has everything from a wonderful student body and staff to a welcoming place for the outside community as well. I can truly say it has been a wonderful experience.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are always on duty. They are all nice and friendly. They patrol the entire campus every hour all day and night.

    Greek Life

    We have three sororities and three fraternities at Newberry College. I can personally say that Greek life is one of the best things that a student can do through the college. My fraternity has helped me through so much and continues to do so(Theta Chi).

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek live is amazing and there is a very nice SGA at Newberry College. Newberry has many clubs and religious groups to be joined. There are so many that one cannot attend all of the events held in a week that is pu on for the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Newberry is an athlete school. There is also a very good band. If you do not have a profession in sports or and art then it is probably not for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell tower, walk under monument in located in the middle of campus. If you walk under it before you graduate then you will not graduate. Not to mention the majority of the school's buildings were used in the civil war.

    Bang for the buck

    Newberry is a very expensive college but in my eyes it is so worth what you are paying. I have been at Newberry for one year and i have had the best experiences of my life. The bang is so much more than worth the buck.

    What to do for fun

    In Newberry there is always something fun to do. Most of the time it is just hanging out in the dorms. The FCA always has an event going on also.

    Food and Dining

    The food could improve. Over the last year the food has improved and has maintained its improvements so far. Be cautious of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely amazing. I have met some of the best people i have ever seen in my life in my dorm. You will meet your best friends in a dorm at Newberry College

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Newberry are very prestigious but are flawed in some minor ways. The professors will go out of their way for a student as long as respect is maintained. Newberry is a Hell yourself environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and don't fall into friend groups that will not benefit you. Have character in every aspect of your life and you will succeed at newberry. Talk to your professors like they are your friends and they will become your best friends.

    In three sentences

    Newberry is over all the best decision that i have ever made. It has changed my life for the better and continues to do so. All of the people in Newberry are very kind and caring people that are easy to love.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is wonderful! They are always working hard and make you feel at ease. Everyone is friendly and willing to help at any hour.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is incredible at Newberry College. All members are actively involved on campus and they are constantly striving to become men and women of character and conduct.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities to chose from at Newberry and there is always opportunities to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Newberry is great for students that want to be involved on campus and have a personalized learning experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rumor has it that students who walk under the bell tower in the center of campus will not graduate in four years...Let's see how many people can prove this wrong!

    Bang for the buck

    The Newberry College experience is worth every penny spent.

    What to do for fun

    Newberry College, located in a small town, sponsors events so frequently that there is hardly a moment to be bored. From athletic games, to theater performances, to Greek life events students are always busy.

    Food and Dining

    At Newberry food is always a priority. With the numerous options and the servers genuine southern hospitality students rarely leave a meal unsatisfied.

    Dorm Life

    Although Newberry has small dorm rooms, because of some of the historical buildings, the dorm life experience can not be compared. The Residence Life Coordinatiors are incredible and the growth and learning that occurs in the dorms makes it often a second classroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Newberry College size contributes much to the academic rigor of the school. With small class sizes of sometimes only ten students, there is no room for excuses. Professors hold students to high expectations and teach so that students are challenged and prepared to succeed in the work force.

    Tips for prospective students

    As cliche as it may sound, get involved! Your first year is an adventure. Dive into the opportunities on campus available you never know what you might end up loving. Make your first year memorable!

    In three sentences

    Newberry College is a wonderful undergraduate institution that prides itself on its personalized learning experiences. The professors are actively engaged with the students and work to not only teach but to instill a love of learning inside each individual. The environment is warm, welcoming, and each year Newberry College continues to offer a home to the students attending.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of great clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy smaller settings, country fell, and just the good down home feel.

    Bang for the buck

    College isnt the cheapest around, but the education you get makes it worth it. I currently work at a business where I use my college knowledge already and see how much it already helps me.

    What to do for fun

    Take a stroll through historic downtown newberry, hit up the many different restuarants around, or play tennis or swim in the campus pool.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is nice with plenty of seating, food is great.

    Dorm Life

    dont live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect a lot from you, challenge you daily, but that is what makes you a better person in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus, you will fall in love. Be nice and say Hello, everyone is great here.

    In three sentences

    I love this college, it is in a small, quiet, quaint town. The school offers beautiful historic building and amazing scenery. The students here are great and are there to learn, they do not disrupt class like you have at most colleges.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very few break ins, just do not leave your door unlocked for over 20 minutes if you are not in your room.

    Greek Life

    Very small but at the same time very strong role

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities every weekend and during the week but they are not the most fun

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is open and can make their own fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One haunted hall, observatory on the top of the math and science building, great walking roads, and down the street from everything in town.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are paying thirty two thousand dollars to go here you will be disappointed but if you are receiving scholarships and its around the 15,000 dollars a year range it is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and such, Greek life has a large role in the schools activities.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food, bad hours

    Dorm Life

    All freshman dorm, it was very fun and cool to know every single person in your class was within a staircase.

    Academic Rigor

    It felt like a high school most of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep asking for more, every person I know gets offered very weak scholarships and if they deny them the school normally offers a better one.

    In three sentences

    Newberry is a small school that has the small school feeling. There is not the amazing opportunities you will get at a school with ten thousand plus students. But you can get as many credits as you want and the class sizes are small.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing serious has ever happend at newberry

    Greek Life

    plenty of the faturnity houses

    Clubs and Activities

    more then 100 clubs and activitys during the school year

    Great for these types of students

    anybody that is looking to play a sport in a divison 2 school

    Bang for the buck

    very pricy college if you do not have scholarships

    Food and Dining

    cafateria food is awsome and the restraunts around the campus are also great

    In three sentences

    Newberry is a outstanding college for their accademics, and sports. The student diversity spreads all across the world, and united states. The College stresses the most on thier students succeding

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is well seen on campus ans you can sign up to receive texts of weather reports or safety concerns and other notifications.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list, not to mention sports.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a lot of history.

    Bang for the buck

    It's well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go see a football game or join one of the many many organizations on campus. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food and there are other eateries on campus.

    Dorm Life

    My goodness, what an experience. You have to come and see. I'm not going to tell you and ruin it for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes keep you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and take a tour. Better yet, stay overnight and see for yourself. Newberry has everything you need for a successful college career.

    In three sentences

    Newberry college is an awesome place. The staff really care about the students. The college has so much to offer.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of stuff to do for fun. There are things like ACE, which is all campus events, we have religion groups, sports etc

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but we have the same thing every week. The only thing I would change is the times they have.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. The RA's are the best as well. We have a community bathroom but they are very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here at Newberry are great. If you play any sports then you are required to attend study hall. That is to give a chance to stay focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell the future students of Newberry College to study hard and stay focus. It can get hard and stressful at times but with time everything will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Newberry College is a great school. The people here are great and the students are nice. I love it here.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the actual campus before deciding to attend.

    In three sentences

    Newberry College provides a great experience to meet lots of different people from all over. Although, they do not do their best to provide top professors to teach. My experience at NC has been a good one.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security has golf carts and a car that are always patrolling the small campus.

    Greek Life

    3 IFC Fraternities and 3 National Panhellenic Sororities - Go Sigma Sigma Sigma! :) Eta Beta Chapter

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs and activities and if Newberry doesn't have one you want then you can easily start it up yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small class sizes and don't mind a tiny school where everybody knows everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tradition says that if you walk under the bell tower then you won't graduate in four years.

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars if you get lots of scholarships! The fitness center is just one room with two treadmills but there is an outdoor pool open part of the year. It's really easy to get involved on campus and the faculty/staff obviously really care about students. They take the time to get to know you and try to help you find jobs and internships. Things can be unorganized with the administration and financial aid can drive you crazy.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in Newberry but you can go to Harbison which is 45 minutes away for fun. They are building a movie theatre and bowling alley in Newberry though so it should be complete in a bit. Also nearby there is a roller skating rink and an ice skating rink.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is repetitive, the same over and over and you get tired of it. But it's not bad quality.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen are all in one dorm that is not super clean and is pretty noisy. But upperclassmen housing is awesome! Campus is small so walking anywhere is easy. Or you can stay a half mile away at the Oakland Mills dorm/apartments which are huge!

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy core classes but beyond that it depends on the class. Challenging political science courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace opportunities, sometimes you have to make your own fun in Newberry but there are plenty of things to do for the good of the community.

    In three sentences

    Newberry College has super small sizes, I have one class with five other students, and once you get past core classes (with about 30 students max) they are all tiny. Newberry College is a great place to get involved in the community and make lasting friendships. Newberry College is a very comfortable, friendly place where you can feel safe.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food can be a wonderful way to discover what you like, love and hate.

    Dorm Life

    small don't bring mor than you need and you may want to bring less than you need because it is pretty tight with just the beds, chest draw and desk in ther

    Academic Rigor

    Read, read, and then read some more .

    Tips for prospective students

    Get active and don't let the time of day stop you from doing what you love. Newberry is a small town and you may not know many people. Make sure you learn who to hang around and who you should probably stay away from. Do not procrastinate.. this word and action, really can hurt you

    In three sentences

    The Newberry, s.c campus is small and you can walk the entire thing in about ten to fifteen minutes. I love the fact that most of the classes have no more than 26 students, it make me feel like i am not just a number. i never thought i would enjoy it as much as i do.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Certain clubs have difficulty with membership, because the there are so few students within them.

    Great for these types of students

    Newberry is great for any student looking for a small personal college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a superstition that any student who walks under the bell in the middle of campus will not graduate in four years.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much in the surrounding town for fun. Most students drive to Columbia for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Often food can be good, but daily it gets repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older. Therefore, unless you pay more for the newer dorms, the dorms are unattractive and less appealing.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously some classes are harder than others, but overall classes are made as simple as possible. Teachers ensure the students learn what they need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the college first. Be aware that the college is affiliated with the ELCA, which is a Lutheran association. However, the college is very accepting to students of any religion.

    In three sentences

    Newberry is a close-knit campus with friendly staff and students. The campus is safe, I never feel in danger walking on campus at night.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Newberry College has an extremely safe campus and is located in one of the safest towns in the southeastern United States.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities to chose from, whether it be social, honors, or professional.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs, student organizations, and other groups to be a part of on the campus. Athletics is also a very large part of Newberry College, and there are a wide range of various sports and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Newberry College is a great college for students who like being in a small and closed atmosphere. The campus is small and everything is in walking distance. It is also a very welcoming and friendly atmosphere, as all of the professors and faculty are eager to help their students and improve their own methods of teaching.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is believed that the campus bell tower is cursed and whoever walks underneath it will never graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    At a little over 30,000 dollars a year, Newberry College can certainly be considered an expensive school. Despite some minor needs for improvements and renovations, the college is most definitely an excellent school and I am absolutely pleased with the years I have attended it so far.

    What to do for fun

    Being in a small town and community, Newberry does not have many places to go for fun. The closest place with an adequate amount of entertainment is in Columbia, which is about 40-45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food and cafeteria is tolerable, but it could most definitely use some improvements. On some days at lunch time the cafeteria is too full and there is nowhere to sit. There is also not that much of variety in food choices.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman and lower-class dorms are quite old and in need of improvements, but the upperclassmen dorms are very nice, and a new apartment building was just made a few years ago. It is located a quarter of a mile off of the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a major focus at Newberry College. There is a well-structed core curriculum and several academic programs which promote a well-balanced academic education. Newberry College also has a Summerland Honors Program, which focuses on learning from discussions among peers rather than lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend that any potential students consider attending Newberry College. Although it may not be a large or luxurious school, its high quality education and commitment to the community makes up for what it may lack in size.

    In three sentences

    Newberry College is unique in the idea that it is a tight, close-knit community. All of the professors actually know and relate to the students. Newberry College is not only a place for higher learning, but also a family and a higher sense of community.