Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Newbury College-Brookline Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newbury College is a small campus setting and is great for anyone who wants a more personal college experience. The teachers care about everyone and are more than willing to help you succeed. It is close & convenient to downtown Boston via public transportation but is located in a residential setting. If you need any academic support Newbury College is always willing to help. It will be noticed if you don't attend class, but you will never be just an ID# here.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get out of classes what you put in. I make it a point to always attend class as this is my future and I plan to succeed. Failing is not a choice for me and I found I can work hard in class and still enjoy being a college student. Organization and multitasking is part of life in the real world and now is the time to start. Be open to options, activities, and seek the help that is available for you if you need it. Participate in all that you can, these are the best days of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is more reasonable than some schools and the financial aid office is more than helpful in trying to get aid for their students. The class size and caring attitude of the teachers makes Newbury College an outstanding choice. Lots of activities and the food is great too!

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though my commute is extremely long, I enjoy being at Newbury. I've thought of transferring (actually accepted), but decided not to because I feel like I belong here. My circumstances are difficult with commuting and having to work alot but it's definitely worth it. I've also made many good friends here. Plenty of sports and activities to get involved in too. Good friends, small class size, academic support and a small campus environment make Newbury where I want to stay.

    Am learning a lot

    My experience has been more than I hoped for when choosing to attend Newbury College. I've learned more in 1 1/2 yrs, esp. in math classes, than I learned in four years in a very well rated high school. The class size is small & personal. Your success matters here!

  • 11/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    G.P.A under 3.0

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great starter college to attend if you plan or have a desire to possibly transfer to a larger university.

    Bang for the buck

    The size of the college is somewhat to small for the cost as it compares with other local colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    Newbury on-campus living experience provides for a friendly environment and great students

    Am learning a lot

    The cirriculum is basic level of Junior College

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    kids that like small schools and enjoy getting to know everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn as much as u can about any schools that u plane to go to .

    Will enjoy being here

    i love the campus and will have the best time of my life here :)

    Will learn a lot

    people will learn a lot because it is a nice small school and u can get one on one time with your professor when needed.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hospitality are career oriented people who know what they are looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as resident then switch if your local do u can survive first year...live at home...housing isn't worth the cost.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey after the first year...the better your gap gets the more money the school offers.

    Am enjoying being here

    Free wifi and great community.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are patient and make sure you know the basics first.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is 5 minutes out of the city of Boston. So there's a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students make food for the students to actually eat. The food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    They give you an option to live off or on campus, and you can also choose who you would want to live with.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher know you by your full name, instead of just knowing you as one of their students

    In three sentences

    I love the classes that they offer at Newbury College. The size of the school is small, which means all my teacher know more about me. The location of the school is perfect.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I haven't started living there yet but the building seems very nice and i like the atmosphere it has.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers seem very attentive and helpful towards students.

    In three sentences

    It is very small but also homey. People are very friendly. Beautiful scenery.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a shuttle that runs until 11:45 every night from the nearest T stop to the school, so you don't have to walk along the dark street alone to get there or back. Unless, of course, you are trying to get back or go out after 11:45. The neighborhood is a really nice place though, where most every house is at least a small mansion, and I doubt that anyone even lives in most of them year-round. There is always security at the front of Weltman Hall, even during the day, and after 8 PM everyone must have an ID to enter the building, and all other doors are alarmed. You must sign in overnight guests at this time.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus, but not much fuss is made about them, so I don't really know what they do. They do have tables set up at lunch sometimes so you can inquire about it, and at the table they have sign up sheets for awareness walks or blood drives, stuff like that. Zumba is the only activity I really got involved in, and it was the most fun thing I think they could have had on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from the Bronx, Brooklyn or Queens. And the Culinary program seems pretty legit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is probably the only school in the area where everyone will root for the Giants in a Pats v Giants game, because everyone is from New York, for some reason.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the school is overpriced for what you get. I've heard a lot of people say how their teacher isn't teaching well, or is just plain wrong. I myself have had a few teachers where I felt their class was a waste of time and I would have learned more just Googling stuff. The dorms are so hot you feel like they're doing it on purpose and for the price of housing you think they would be able to do something about it. The campus looks amazing at it's absolutely beautiful, but they spend all their money landscaping instead of improving the insides of the buildings.

    What to do for fun

    The T is right down the street so it's not hard to get to Boston. Fenway and Park St are really great places to go for shopping and just hanging out. There's a ton of restaurants and clubs you have access to, as well as a bunch of other schools, so if you make friends with someone at a party there's a good chance they go to school less than 20 minutes away and you can hang out again.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and there's usually a wide variety. The school has a culinary program so sometimes those students make specialty dishes for the rest of the school. The best time to eat at the dining hall is during the annual Newbury Olympics, when they have a cook-off, and every dish is amazing. The only thing I hated: The dining hall closes at 7 every weekday and at 6 on he weekends. That is WAY too early for college students. When that closes, you either have to go out to eat, have snacks in your room, or buy something from a vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    Your roommate is half of your dorm experience. If you have a sucky one, you will hate dorm life, but if you get along, it will be amazing. But there are crazy people in Weltman Hall (because it's ALL freshman just being on their own for the first time) and their new found freedom goes to their heads. Sometimes people get drunk and run around screaming at 3 AM on a Tuesday, and you either deal with it, yell at them, or bug your RA until they do something. RA's can be kind of ridiculous too. They ignore some trouble makers while wrongly accusing the quiet people sometimes, depending on who your RA is. It's always 100 degrees in the dorms because the heat is on 24/7. They need at new heating system desperately.

    Academic Rigor

    The work I have in my program, Graphic Design, is rarely hard. Just time consuming. I haven't seen the point in a lot of the homework because it hasn't taught me anything. Some of it is really beneficial, but a lot of it is just because it's required, I think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't settle, and make sure you actually want to go here before you make your final decision.

    In three sentences

    Has a lot of pros and cons. Housing is ridiculous. Teachers could be better.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards they have probably couldn't hurt a fly and are not intimidating at all.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs are for the hospitality students as well as the commuter students.

    Great for these types of students

    Newbury is good for commuters. Students who just want to go to class then go home. Students who want to get their work done and thats it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes they have wing nights in the cafeteria. They give you chicken wings at nine at night. No one really goes, its stupid.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not worth the money. Every year the tuition is going up but their not using the money to update the school or anything. I'd like to know where all my moneys going.

    What to do for fun

    The only fun thing there is to do is take the train into Boston. There is absolutely nothing to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    For a school that has its own culinary program, a person would think that the food would be very good. Wrong. The food is horribly cooked and is overly priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are tiny and very plain. The hallways are very dark and dingy with carpet that was probably there since the school opened. Many students complain about the dorms but the administrators do nothing about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are very willing to help and are amazing at their job. While others have no clue what their doing and it is a mystery as to how they were able to get a job as a teacher. It's really the luck of the draw.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for something small and uninteresting, Newbury is the school for you. Tuition is very high, and I don't think its worth it.

    In three sentences

    Newbury is a very diverse school. It has a high school feel to it, however, it's very laid back as well. There are not many things happening and is kind of boring.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel incredibly safe on campus and I've never had a problem. It's a wonderful neighborhood to be in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a huge variety of clubs and activities but if you can get a group together they'll work with you to get one started.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for the really focused student because there's definitely plenty of opportunity to challenge yourself. Anyone who's focused on getting a head start on their career will love it here. I'm only a freshman and I've already networked quite a bit.

    Bang for the buck

    You might not get the classic 'freshman experience' but I love it here. It's a great quality education and we definitely get our money's worth. All the staff really care about the students and there is always someone you can ask for help. The charm of this school is it's size, it's small and a great community.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I would suggest finding a group of similar-minded people and just being social. There isn't a whole lot to do unless you want to spend a lot of time traveling to and from Boston, which is perfectly acceptable I do it a lot. There aren't many clubs but the one's we do have are pretty good. You can always take the fan van and watch the sports teams too.

    Food and Dining

    Food depends on how much you want to spend. The food in the dining hall isn't always the best but it's edible. There's a wide array of food in Boston but that can get expensive. There's some good restaurants just down the street in Brookline too. The meal plan is definitely enough, I never run out of meals. I ran out of dining points really fast though so keep track of those!

    Dorm Life

    There's not much to do in the dorms and the hallway tends to be a bit dirty. It's not because the college doesn't clean its just the byproduct of college students all living together. This is pretty much what you make of it, you can go into Boston and hang out with people. It's almost always quiet enough to study and the RA's are helpful and kind.

    Academic Rigor

    You won't slide by doing the minimum here! The teachers definitely pay attention and get everyone involved and participating. If they see you hunkered down in the back of the class they're going to call on you. At times the classes are a bit fast-paced and challenging but if you need help you can always ask your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest really hunkering down and getting ready to work if you plan on going here. The teachers really pay attention and you're not going to slide by doing the minimum amount of work. If you're looking to party this definitely isn't the school for you. The experience is definitely what you make of it, always be on the look out for new and exciting opportunities!

    In three sentences

    Newbury College is an absolutely wonderful school for people who want the big city with that small campus feeling. The class sizes are absolutely phenomenal, my biggest class has about 25 students. The teachers really take an interest but there isn't much in the way of clubs.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of clubs and activities to choose from !

    Bang for the buck

    The college personally charges way too much for room and board, but I do admit, they provide a really nice sized mirror. Overall, it is a fair price for it being a private college.

    What to do for fun

    I am currently involved in many clubs at the college, and I also do work study. Newbury College always has new events planned, whether is from the Resident Hall Council, or just from your RA. You can never get bored!

    Food and Dining

    The food overall is okay. They have something to appeal to every persons appetite, whether you are a pizza and burger person,. or a salad and wrap person. They are not the best chefs in the world, but they whip up some good food from time to time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly small, but there is a good amount of under-bed storage (you do not need bed risers).The dorms get really hot so make sure you bring a fan!

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are of course harder to please than others, but overall, the work is very challenging. Time management really comes into play when reaching for a high GPA, so make sure your teacher really notices your hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers expect the most from you, so it is always important to try your best in every class. Newbury College always enforces getting involved within the community by joining clubs. But of course, education will always come first.

    In three sentences

    Newbury college is for students who are looking for a close knit community among students and faculty. This college is great at welcoming new students. Definitely over-looked, this college is worth taking a tour of.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security, must show ID to enter dormitory buildings.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over a dozen clubs offered and the best part is if your club you have in mind isn't offered you can talk to campus activities to get one started up!

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary arts, pastry arts, hospitality, hotel administration majors.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sporting events to attend. And you are a train ride away from the city. You can easily take a trip into Boston to go shopping, see a movie, or even grab some food. As well as Campus Activities is always putting together outtings. .

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit or miss, somedays there are good things and somedays there aren't it all depends on what you like to eat. But the only downside to the dining hall hours it closes at 7pm Monday-Thursday and at 6pm Friday-Sunday. Which causes most students to order takeout.

    Dorm Life

    the Dorms vary between on and off campus housing. There is one all freshman dorm on campus, and two upper class-men dorms. As well as four off campus dorms. Brookline Manor is located at Coolidge Corner and is an all grades dorm. And then there are three satellite house located on beacon street right around the corner from Fenway park. All of the off campus dormitories receive a free T pass. And all dorms are conveniently located by the T trains to commute to campus for classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic policies are pretty straight forward. Most Professors give you at least 3 absences, and all professors give a syllabus outlining your entire semester. As long as you apply yourself and get the materials needed for that class you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any financial problems their counselors will do everything they can to help you out. No matter what problems you may be having there is someone you can go to for help. Newbury is big on being a small community but with a big heart, and this is 100% accurate.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1-10, I'd rate Newbury at 10. Newbury is on the rather small side but has a big heart, and is very helpful with all of their students. I would never transfer out.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    fashion and sports activities are always new and innovator.

    What to do for fun

    there is always cool activities on the campus. sport, interesting speakers.

    Tips for prospective students

    attendance and participation are very important. try to do not miss classes and always read the chapters assigned before class to participate.

    In three sentences

    great professors with positive attitudes an always available to support students. the tutoring center is a very helpful tool for students who want to perform better.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go and hang out in the lounge or in the café! A lot of people go just to go and talk or just to do work. The courtyard is great for frisbee and many other games! Take the T to downtown Boston for shopping and more fun!

    Food and Dining

    For those who I know that dorm say the food is okay. The food isn't all too great but it counts for when you're hungry and you have nowhere to go for food. The Starbucks café is great, friendly staff and great choice of drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but for those who do say it is okay and not too great. I live outside of school, and the transit to school is alright and everything is good. Living outside of school and seeing the city is great everyday!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and very interesting! I feel like I'm getting a bang for my buck because of the fact that there's so many things I've learned and how much I've enjoyed learning it. Best classes ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff is perfect. All my professors are great and really fun! I haven't had a professor I dislike. They're extremely friendly and they help their students one-on-one for everything.

    In three sentences

    Newbury College is the place to be because it's not too far and it's not too close to Boston, and it is in a gorgeous area. The campus is great and the community is friendly and close knit! This school is the place to be, not only because of the people, but because of location.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go shopping on Newbury street.

    In three sentences

    My first year experience at Newbury college as a freshmen was very interesting. The campus is really small so it's easy to get around. The people are very friendly and welcoming. The professors are very understanding and are willing to work wit you.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of campus activities that happen on Newbury College Campus. We have trivia and comedy nights, games nights, and a the end of the year, Newbury College Olympics. There are also quite a few clubs to chose from so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is relatively good; it is run by Sodexo, like most of the colleges in the area. Our dining hall offers a much better selection of dining choices: full salad bar, a deli area, hot food selections, daily soups, and an exhibition section where students can customize their food selection to their liking. There are also a lot of juices, drinks, and premade food options for students who do not have time to eat in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls here are interesting and very lively. I currently live in the upper classmen 24 hour quiet house and it is very nice. Every residence hall is different; some are on campus while a few are off campus and it allows students to really experience what it is like to live on their own.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major a student chooses, the work load differs. In the most every department, it all depends on the teacher and how the class is run; my psychology teachers are not particularly demanding, but they expect the readings to be completed. Keeping on top of study and homework is important and not difficult when good time management is used.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live far from home like I do, make friends with people who live close to the school. Having friends who are in state makes holidays wonderful, as well as saving you cash when having to travel home. Also, invest in some kind of public transportation pass (MBTA), since that is the best way to get around Boston!

    In three sentences

    I love being here at Newbury College and being given the kind of opportunities I've had so far. The school's motto is Small Community, Big Heart and it lives up to that name. Newbury College is my home away from home and I couldn't be happier with the education I've received so far on my journey.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very strict about safety

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    - Chess Club - Athletics - Hockey Club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -lack an gym or field on the school - healthier if food was cooked less fried and more baked

    Bang for the buck

    Fun at times and dull at times

    What to do for fun

    creating study group with friends, meeting new people, exploring outside of newbury, experiencing the places near Cleveland circle and trips to down town Boston.

    Food and Dining

    Newbury offers different variety of dishes from different cultures. also, on the holidays they take interest in become very creative and almost every thing is professionally done.

    Dorm Life

    The co-ed dorm is not only fun but also i life learning lesson for the students of opposite sex get to learn to deal with each other in the same atmosphere. the dorms are pretty legit, and it's a good fit.

    Academic Rigor

    With the competitive work, as long as time is managed correctly and your head in the books, their is a good road to success in the near future. for instance, i finished my first freshman semester with a 3.5, taking 6 course credit classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Newbury College has a lot to offer academically if you intend on doing any thing pertaining to the business world. also, if you partake in sports, not only are your fellow pairs there for you but so are the faculty and staff. very supportive and welcoming atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Out of 10 i personally give newbury a 7. for so much money paid towards tuition and room and board, our money paid should be for the quality the school has and offers. more change would lead to more non transferring students.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There is a dunkin donuts and an applebees near by, yay

    In three sentences

    Love the atmosphere, its very welcoming and small which I love because I wasn't planning on attending a big college. Classrooms are small which is an advantage because you can get one on one assistance from your professors.