Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Newman University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students looking for a small environment to learn & grow. Students that are looking to gain social interaction with students & faculty from various backgrounds, as it has a great international community at the school.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student athlete it was disappointing to find that I have to pay for laundering my workout & athletic uniforms. This is something that most schools provide as a service to student athletes. It adds to my laundry cost quite a bit since I have to work out on a daily basis.

    Am enjoying being here

    Like the small campus so students aren't just an ID students & faculty get to know you by name which creates an environment that you gain access to various forms of assistance if needed & guidance. I don't like the lack of on-campus work-study opportunities available for student athletes. It makes it very challenging for students to earn extra money to help supplement costs.

    Am learning a lot

    Instructors work hard trying to get to know students to better assist you in your studies so that you can be successful.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    friendly environment. small class size. good experience

  • 04/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newman is great for students who want a family atmosphere. Everybody knows everybody, at least by face and if not, by name. Even the teachers know you! It's impossible to hide, and I think it's great. Newman is for students who long for a beautiful, peaceful campus that provides you with any and everything you could possibly want.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage prospective students to visit. Campus is much more beautiful and moving in person than in pictures. It's easier to get a read on whether the atmosphere suits you or not when you visit.

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small community. Students who do best when they can work one on one with a teacher or enjoy small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, even if you think the school may be too expensive. They give out more scholarship money than you would think.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Newman is very expensive. There are a lot of Institutional scholarships available, though! And you really do get what you pay for - these people are here to ensure that you thrive and and grow and learn. They are genuinely concerned for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is a wonderful opportunity. There is always something going on. The campus is very safe and secure. In class, the teachers are very personable and enjoy interacting with their students.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are more than willing to work with you to make sure that you are achieving what you came here to do - learn. They understand that life does not always go exactly to plan and they are willing to put in the time with you to ensure that you stay on top of classes and personal life. They just want what is best for you.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    more cameras should be put in the parking lot areas. the only reason for this is to prevent cars of being broken into. the campus security does do routine drives through the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i rate this a four based on the scholarship opportunities. while newman university can be more expensive than a state college, newman makes up for it in their scholarships. athletes are more likely to continue their career at a ncaa division ii school as well while receiving a scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    wichita is the largest city in kansas. it offers a nightlife for students that want a break from the books. clubs like d&d's offer the country that kansas has to offer, while clubs like doc howard's puts a spin on the hip-hop aspect. also try the east and west mall for all the shopping needs.

    Food and Dining

    mabee dining center is the main joint to get grub from. they offer an unlimited meal plan and a ten meal plan a week for students living on campus. also, a scooters is located in the library for those students that are off campus, or those that just want the extra boost while studying.

    Dorm Life

    the campus has four residence halls on campus, all having their own pros and cons. cab, a student sponsored campus organization, tries to keep students involved throughout the school year with different actives.

    Academic Rigor

    a student to professor ratio hard to beat. professors are more likely to know the student personally. they attempt to help the student to achieve success. they are able to push students while teaching them personally.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out dorm life. consider community service scholarships. i strongly recommend exploring through our newer gym and library facilities.

    In three sentences

    closet community with a welcoming campus feeling. a strong student base university. a catholic affiliated university sponsored by the adores of the blood of christ.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do always see security on campus and many times I have to stay late on campus waiting for my ride, but I still see them around even at late hours. Besides that, there are always secure buildings students can go into if need be.

    Bang for the buck

    Newman is a private school so it definitely takes a hit to your bank account!! I was only able to receive a very small amount of financial aid & even with student loans, I still have a remaining balance to pay out of pocket for this semester alone. I don't quite feel that it is worth it for me due to the disappointment I've felt so far in the program.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities always going on all over the campus. With having a full-time job I'm not able to get involved as much as I'd really like but there are always emails going out to all of the students inviting us to join. I know they have Bingo nights, bowling nights, and comedy performances to name at least a few.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining facility on campus that students can purchase a meal plan if they desire. I've never utilized this as it is an added expense that I can't afford but the dining facility is quite nice & from what I've seen the food definitely looks edible!

    Dorm Life

    I actually live on my own so I've never experienced the dorm life although the apartments I've seen from the outside look very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The OTA classes that I am enrolled in are many of the intro classes so the schedule honestly has not been very tough this semester. I have been told it will definitely get harder this next semester but for now I am able to juggle everything pretty well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely ask around to other students to see how their experience has been especially in the area in which you're studying. Be sure to research financial aid and the different resources available to you especially in the area of student loans as I was basically left out in the cold trying to figure it all out myself.

    In three sentences

    I've been somewhat disappointed in my experience as a whole so far. The teaching & courses specific to my major haven't met any of my expectations of what I thought I would be getting out of the program. And I have been very frustrated with the lack of help in the way of guidance for financial aid & the different avenues associated with finances.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is alot of things like going to the mall, movies or shopping

    Tips for prospective students

    know where your classes are before starting

    In three sentences

    It is good school for people who want to have the college experience without the moving and rushing that colleges have

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a more serious or wholesome college experience, without being surrounded by students who aren't serious about their education. The students here are very kind, polite, and considerate. You won't be hearing of any crazy parties with drugs or alcohol.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't have a football team, because there is literally no where to build a field!

    Bang for the buck

    I was worried about the amount of loans I had to take out to attend this school, but they turned out to be about the same that other students pay to attend much larger schools. Here, I get personal attention and better classes for the same amount! Don't let the price tag scare you, they offer a lot of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    If you can't find anything fun to do on campus, Wichita is a big city with a lot of different activities to fill the time, no matter what you like!

    Food and Dining

    Staff is very friendly and the food is okay. If there is an event on-campus that is serving food though, then the dining hall is closed. It can be inconvenient for scheduling!

    Dorm Life

    So many activities, I can barely keep track. Leave your door open and someone is bound to at least say hi!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers take creative approaches to make class more interesting and easier to understand!

    Tips for prospective students

    The rooms in the freshman residence hall (New Hall) are pretty small, so don't bring a lot of stuff. Leave early enough to be early to your classes, because everyone else is early too!

    In three sentences

    Student body is more considerate than the average group of college-aged people. Classes offered cover a broad range of out-of-the-ordinary views of common subjects. A lot of social events planned by school!

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    No recommendations as I have not yet begun classes or attended activities at this university.

    Food and Dining

    Have not used these facilities yet.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure, I have not attended this university yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you FAFSA and transcripts in early. Meet with your adviser a few times before enrolling in your course schedule. Take the tour and orientation sessions available weeks before classes begin.

    In three sentences

    The campus in nice and easy to access information about where your classes will be held. The staff is easy to talk to and are courteous. The process of being admitted and enrolled was simple and easy to navigate.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. I feel fine walking from building to building in the middle of the night. We do have 24-hr Security. You can often see them riding around in the security car or a golf cart (perks of going to a small school :) ). That said, we have had some car thefts and break-ins.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel like you need to have a bit of a nerdy streak to come here! But that's also the crowd I hang out with. It's a small school, but there's something for almost everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, we do have a convent accross the pond (Catholic school) And there's Breakfast n' Bingo! The Sunday night before finals, the cafeteria opens at 9:00 (or later) and serves breakfast. Then Student Activities hosts a bingo. There's been things from gift cards to TVs to vaccuum cleaners. It's loads of fun!

    What to do for fun

    There's a variety of clubs on campus! I'm personally a member of the Psychology Club, HALO (Hispanic Leadership), Justice League (Criminal Justice Club), Running Club, and Theatre Club. I always have fun at those. I also have a blast in choir and plays when I get the chance. There's also 3 clubs in Wichita, each with different Lady's Nights. I recommend D&D's or Rodeo. There are parties off campus... weekly I think, but that's not my department.

    Food and Dining

    Many people complain about the food constantly. The food itself isn't that bad. So why did this get 2 stars? It's repeditive. I feel like we have panko/fried chicken every week. Also, as a freshman you're forced to buy the 19-All-You-Can-Eat Mealplan. It sounds good, but when your first class is at noon you just don't want to be awake between 7:30 and 9:15 for breakfast. It's a waste of money. There used to be a 14-Meal-Plan, and I'm not sure why they got rid of it.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorm called Beata this year. I like it because I live with 4 other girls, so there's always somebody around. There's plenty of good dorm options. The only problem is that there's not much participation in the activities. But honestly, just come and participate and you'll have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, I feel like I'm getting a good education. I'm a Criminal Justice Major, and I feel like the workload has not been too much. However, beware science majors! Newman is known for great biology/nursing/medical programs. You will love every minute, but you're going to need all of those minutes to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    What do you want to do? Chances are, you're eligible for some sort of scholarship for it. I feel like Newman gives out scholarships like candy, which is great because it's a pricey private school! Talk to the admissions counselors and see what's available.

    In three sentences

    Love the school! I have had so many experiences here that would not be possible at a large university! Plus, I feel like I am getting a good education.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Car theft was reported very often. Always saw parked security cars, never a security officer. :(

    Dorm Life

    Very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of classes were somewhat challenging.

    In three sentences

    Rad. Tech. program instructors are very unprofessional and uncaring. The entire program was very disorganized. This college is not worth the tuition.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at Newman is amazing. You can honestly leave you backpack, key, and phone around campus because you forgot it and it will most likely be there when you return. The security will check in on students and faculties to warn them of incoming storm and other precautions. Furthermore, there will be a security office around all day and night to ensure student safety.

    Greek Life

    The President of Newman is all for the Greek Life. All you have to do is talk to her (yes, president actually have time to interact with students) about any ideas you may have to improve your experience on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs include Chemistry, Medical Profession, Psychology, Environmental, and clubs for other departments and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Newman is great for students who have a passion for learning and having the willingness to work hard for a better future. Great for students who have a hard time taking notes in huge lectures halls. In addition, Newman is magnificent for students pursuing a medical career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual medallion hunting game where whoever finds this hidden medallion around campus will receive $200 as a reward.

    What to do for fun

    Newman has an activities committee that organizes games, dances, parties, concerts, and other events like, â??open mic night.â??

    Food and Dining

    There is a salad bar for students who want to stay healthy or are on an athletic team. The chief uses vegetable oil to make his foods for consideration of students with certain allergies like, peanuts. Overall, the cafeteria staff accounts for studentâ??s needs and help them save money when they can.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. The roommates and suitemates get along and help each other out. They all respect each otherâ??s study and sleep time. Furthermore, when there is no school, the students on their respected floor will gather for games and movies to pass the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Newman may not have as many classes or majors as other huge universities like, Wichita State University, but they make up for it by making classes more rigorous. The professors expect student to turn in their work on time, work ahead if needed, and be able to study for an up-coming test while learning new materials in lectures when needed. Newman is a small university that focuses heavily on the academic growth of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing to do is establish a good relation with your professors and your peers because they will help you tremendously. Do not procrastinate or you will definitely fall behind and struggle for the test. Also, take some fun classes to ease your stress and to refocus on the necessary classes.

    In three sentences

    Newman is a great school with knowledgeable professors and nice peers. The professors are dedicated to the studentâ??s growth in their respected fields. The small class size allows professor-students interaction, which helps students truly understand the materials in lecture.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Newman University is great for students who don't like a ton of people in their classes. The average amount of students I had in my classes were about 25. The campus is also small enough to see from one side to the other and you can walk about anywhere on campus in 7 min!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is actually pretty decent!

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms look like hotels from the outside and are really clean on the inside!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers always seem to know their subjects really well!

    In three sentences

    Newman University is an amazing college. They have a great open campus that is always well-kept. I always feel safe when walking through the campus!

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe on campus, though there have been problems with car theft and damage. Security seems prominent, but they can't be everywhere (which is surprising, considering the size of our campus).

    Greek Life

    Newman has very little Greek life.A group of guys tried to start a fraternity, and you can be in it by status, but the campus isn't big enough for a building for the frat. Newman focuses more on academics than social organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a few clubs, and some are more active than others. There are a lot of professionals clubs (for nursing, medical students, educators, and such) and interest clubs like math, writing, or the environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. Newman has students from all over the country, all over the world. It may be a Catholic college, but they are very tolerant of those who are not Christian. For anyone who wants a small school experience, Newman is a great option to consider.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Newman sits right next to the ASC Center, a home and nursing facility for the Adorers of the Blood of Christ. The grounds of the convent are very nice and provide a nice place for an evening walk/run.

    Bang for the buck

    I won't lie, Newman is pretty expensive. But if you get scholarships (there are tons through the school and through the ASC Sisters who founded the school), you definitely get your money's worth from the academic programs that Newman provides.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board plans fun activities, so every week there's something going on. Because we're a small school, there probably isn't as much as you would find on a public school's campus, but there is lots to do in the surrounding community: bowling, ice skating, and Time Warp Tuesdays at the Palace movie theater, where you can get in for something like a dollar.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall has pretty decent food, though the times aren't very flexible; it is only open at certain times during the day.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorms, pods, and apartment type living is available (depending on your class standing). Courtesy quiet hours are established but now always observed, but most dorms are quieter here than they would be at a larger school. Laundry is available in each building, but you have to bring your own quarters and detergent.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professor. Some are very challenging, and some are only moderately challenging. Most classes provide enough of a challenge to make you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships. Newman has tons of them and they make Newman much more affordable.

    In three sentences

    Newman is a private school, small but intimate. With that comes closeness with professors and fellow classmates. It has excellent nursing, education, science, and business programs.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Newman have different events that you can bring family and friends to show your spirit! You can also receive free stuff- a- bear on Valentine Day to give to your lover.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live at dorm.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live at dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Newman is focusing on students' academics and how students can transform the society after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the time at Newman and work hard on time management if you want to succeed!

    In three sentences

    A beautiful small campus where I can easily find classes. Newman is like my home where I enjoy studying and socializing with friends. Many staff and professors at Newman are friendly and helpful to give me advices and be there for my concerns.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Newman has plenty of activities for students including athletics, clubs, student groups, academic clubs, and free events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good in the cafe and student center. There is a scooters located in the bookstore with all types of tasty food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are safe, clean, and in close proximity to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Newman is very challenging in academics and the classes will challenge the student and prepare them for their future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be: exhaust all the resources that the campus has to offer (they are there to help), have a clear financial plan and be firm with financial aid staff, get friendly with your advisor and ask many questions, and finally, keep track of classes and the requirements needed to graduate.

    In three sentences

    Newman University is truly a wonderful college where a student is allowed to grow academically and spiritually. This college offers small classes taught by professors having doctorate degrees, an abundance of academic support, and a wonderful staff that are always doing their best assist students to their best abilities. Newman University is a place where a student can succeed and achieve their goals.