Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Niagara County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think later in life students, like people who are coming back to school who have already started their life. They re either married or have kids or they are coming back for a second career. They offer classes that are later in the day so that it can fit anyone's schedule. Also students who want to do their prerequisites first they have great classes and they are all really affordable compared to other colleges or universities

    Tips for prospective students

    I would deffinetly suggest forming study groups with people that are focused and want to do well having other people there while you study helps you get different perspectives on a topic. I would also suggest going to your advisers. They are there to help you succeed and they are always willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely, the education that I am receiving here at NCCC would of cost me 3x as much if i would of gone to a big university and that doesn't include room and board of food.

    Am enjoying being here

    This School is great. They have so much to offer. From the different student activities, such a team building exercises in the ropes course to a wide variety of clubs for every student. This college really focuses on helping their students. They have daycare for students with children and a variety of class times so that it fits into the life of their students

    Am learning a lot

    I love the things that I am learning here at NCCC. The teachers and administrators really care about you as a student.They really make what we are learning interesting and I appreciate the education I am receiving here.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school if you don't know exactly what you wanna do for your future. But it's also a great school if you do! It's a great stepping stone to your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to class! You don't realize it but you can really get behind if you skip too many classes, but that's just college in general. It's definitely not like high school.

    Bang for the buck

    There's nothing wrong with going to community college when it saves you money! The only thing is that if you stay on campus, the suites are quite expensive. But I think the experience and education might be worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the people on campus. Everyone is very friendly, especially those that live on campus. I've made so many friends and its just a very welcoming environment.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been learning a lot at NCCC. I enjoy going to classes everyday because there not only interesting but the teachers are caring and make sure you understand.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a really good place that i would recommend people check out.

    Bang for the buck

    Great scholar ship opportunities.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is a very nice and simple place to go to.

    Will learn a lot

    It seems like a very good school where i can learn a lot.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is without a doubt the best value for your money, come here and get your basic classes out of the way and spend way less than a UNIVERSITY. Save the difference and put that money toward your ongoing education should you choose to continue.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy singing and bowling. I also enjoy a nice relaxing day at home watching movies or listening to music. The computer always keeps me from being bored.

    Food and Dining

    I rarely eat at the college due to the cost of doing so. Some students have a meal plan that allows them to include their meals in the tuition. For somebody who lives off campus, its simply more affordable to get my own food off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms and that is why I have rated the dorms at three stars. I know people who stay there and they say it is very nice. The dorms are fairly newly built and still have the NEW feeling to it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and study harder. This college puts a very large amount of points toward tests. So if you are alright with studying for several hours, this is going to be the best place for you.

    In three sentences

    Niagara County College makes no gimmicks in its catch phrase the smart place to start. It is exactly that! Come here and save money while still getting a quality college education/

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are multiple malls nearby. The Niagara Falls/Canada is close by and there are a bunch of other stuff. Like rock climbing, laser tag and other things.

    Food and Dining

    Speaking from someone who stayed at the dorms, but there should be a dinning hall open on the weekends. My first year I expected the cafeteria to be open on the weekends and only had a food card. I was pretty much starving on the weekends, because I spent all of my money on the food card. Some students that live at the dorms don't have cars.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at NCCC is interesting. There a lot of ignorant people at times. But, also if it was for management worrying more about the bad seeds, instead of the majority of people that do want to be there and live safely, there wouldn't be as much chaos.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors need to either care more about their students or need to not to expect the students to know everything they throw at them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please actually try in your classes. This isn't high school. It's not a four year university, but it is still not as simple as you may think. But won't be as difficult as it appears to be either.

    In three sentences

    This two year school is a great place to start for a college experience and I would give it a 7 out of 10. Depending on the department you are in, there are professors that are always there to help. I am glad I chose to come her first.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whenever there has been a situation on campus it is executed safely and calmly.

    Clubs and Activities

    They always have several clubs and student activities available to everyone!

    What to do for fun

    I work and go to school full time but; i enjoy outdoor sports and boating with my family.

    Food and Dining

    Always have get food and festivities for students on break!

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm but I hear they are beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic teacher with that help you in every way!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come into college knowing that you a here to learn, if you're not don't waste your peers or teachers time. These educators are here to prepare us for our future, you are no longer in high school!

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school, that only has its best interest for it's students. There are always opportunities for us to advance with both social and learning skills. I am proud to say I attend Niagara County Community College!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    even though the campus is small and usually on the safe end. i have come to find that the campus security does not do a quick job on something. they are slow to respond and slow to act when they arrive.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Niagara Community is a GREAT place if your wanting to do Culinary

    What to do for fun

    living right outside of Niagara there is a lot to do, but you will need a car.

    Dorm Life

    Even though the dorms are new, they do have there flaws but all in all; the dorms are a good experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have to buckle down and try

    In three sentences

    Niagara Community College is a well rounded Institute to learn. They have helpful staff, who's willing to do what they can to help you succeed. Even though college is hard, the staff will make enjoyable.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    parking lot is safe especially for students that attend evening classes, security patrols the area around the clock

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campus is smokefree..love that!

    What to do for fun

    go to the mall, movies, hang out with family. love learning anything new pertaining to the human body

    Food and Dining

    tim hortons is available, school cafeteria isn't bad, a little pricey

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus, but i heard many great things from other students who does.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay in touch with your advisors. make sure you understand all aspects of college life (tuition, withdrawal, financial aid, gpa)

    In three sentences

    classroom size is great, professors are very knowledgeable and supportive, tuition is affordable

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security always in sight

    Clubs and Activities

    every imaginable

    Great for these types of students

    First year students. Certificate programs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tim Horton's

    What to do for fun

    Scenery outside is beautiful. Art gallery and library are good for study

    Food and Dining

    Food is so delicious and fresh. There are two Tim Horton's on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Close to campus and affordable

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions because a lot of people have helpful opinions.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful. They encourage students to succeed in life and help out at all costs. I would recommend this school to everyone who is looking for a two year college.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play pool, go bowling, watch sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Many options, including Tim Hortons.

    Dorm Life

    They are new and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies depending on the classes you take and the major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new experiences.

    In three sentences

    NCCC is a smart place to start. It is very affordable and easy to get financial aid. There are many courses to choose from.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    General security is good, those officers seem to care about what they do but as stated above dorm security officers dont seem to care

    Clubs and Activities

    Zoo Crew. We do fun events such as fishbowl and such to raise money and we go trips to other zoos

    What to do for fun

    Racket Ball!!

    Food and Dining

    Its ok but not too much healthy choices and it gets olds after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Only flaw to this place. I hate the dorms and the people that live in them. They get all these ignorant scumbags from NYC and such that insist on bringing the ghetto to the dorms with them instead of trying to better their lives. They do drugs in their rooms that constantly set off the fire alarms at like 3 in the morning and are too loud and inconsiderate to others. Security does not do a thing about them either. Not worth it !! I intern at the zoo and i can just say one thing, the animal barns and off exhibit holdings are much cleaner.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going into the field i am in (animal managemant), make the extra time and effort for studying and never miss classes

    In three sentences

    Love the program i am currently in. Time sure goes by in classes out here and the people around here for the most part are friendly and helpful.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, knowing where to go for security, and everything around me. They have cops/police on campus monitoring everything. If something happens, they handle it calmly and meets the situation at the matter of the hand. There are emergency sheet on each door in the classroom in case of anything for professor or students or other people in the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    SPB - Student Programming Board - is a great club and a lot of fun! We work together to create the event for everyone to have fun. It's already paid by the school through your financial aid automatically. It's a great benefit for people to build up their leadership skill and social skills. It's fun, we work together, meet up once a week on Wednesday, and it's free!

    Bang for the buck

    Normally, I would say head to the Financial Aid Office to see what they suggest. If it doesn't work out for you, then head to the cashier's office. If you're in the need of scholarship, then check online and it's for the next semester you're arriving into. If you feel for the need of a job, I would recommend to apply to either Barnes and Noble College store (at least a month or two early before the starting semester), bowling, and Tim Horton are the places that are more than likely to hire.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of fun to get involved. There are many clubs to get into like Foriegn Language, Disability Club, Student Programming Board, Human Services Club, Student Life, etc... All these clubs have so much going on and the events are usually posted up on posters in the hallway, so keep your eyes open. Most events are free, sometimes it's nice to let off some stress and have fun. Plus, sometimes there are free food/drinks/prizes to get if you participate. There's a small arcade area in the cafeteria and a bowling area ($1 per person and a student ID is required).

    Food and Dining

    We have two Tim Hortons, one nearby the library/next to the art gallery and one at the student center. At the student center, you're more than likely to get the varieties of Tim Hortons to buy from like you'd normal get at the usual Tim Hortons. We have two cafeteria. The one in the student center and Tim Hortons, they provide different meals and options for you to pick. They do have vegetarian options and some healthy choices as well. They make plenty of sandwiches, provide snacks and desserts, and different drinks to have milk, juice, pop/soda, energy drink, water (varies), and tea. If you're interested for the healthier types, then the upstairs cafeteria would be a wise choice. It's like one section is similar to subway, only you can pick as a sub/sandwich/bun for your main meals. They have desserts that are either sugar free, gluten free, or no fat. There's a salad bar you can make of your own like fruit salad, lettuce salad, egg salad, etc... They do have desserts like brownies or cheesecake or cake. Cookies as well - I would suggest the school made, it's delicious from what I have heard. If you get yourself a meal card, you're saving yourself some money because you won't get taxed on. All you need is to start with $25 to have a meal card.

    Dorm Life

    I live on campus and worth taking out the loans, you simply have to cover the first payment of Fall and Spring for $1056 per semester. They do take 10% of your financial aid to cover part it for you. Pro: 4 bedrooms + living room, it's like an apartment suite Two bathrooms, kitchen, and one small closet. Free wifi and cable Dorms do provide event once or twice a month, best to check out their bulletin board. They have a mail room (if you want your NCCC mail to come to you, best to go to the Record Office to allow it to happen). Security is 24/7 with a security guard, each hallway have key card to signal in order to get through, and the dorm's door is heavily and strong lock. You're more than likely to feel safe. You have a desk + chair, wardrobe, dresser, bed, furniture for the living room, and a shower curtain. Plus, electric oven, microwave, and a dishwasher. We have a few good lobbies to hang out, some have fireplace, one is like a small library with random books, and some entertainment lobby. Cons: Fire alarm sensor is very sensitive, best not to burn or smoke anything off. Fire alarm tends to happen a lot, best to be prepare to have your coat, keys ready to go as you go out the door. (There's about 6 alarm in the four bedroom, so no chances of missing that). Walls don't give you much quiet privacy, you'll be more than likely to hear people from hallways and outside of your windows. If you hear anything and they're disrupting your stay, then report it to the director. The director does lives with us on campus and usually supervises for certain event like a small holiday/occasion party. We do have Dorm RA being with us on the trip to malls or other places. There isn't much going on, so I would recommend checking out events that goes on campus - SPB (Student Programming Board) always have something going on once a week or so, depending on the occasions. There are other clubs too. So, I would recommend bringing your own games/video games/activities that you call fun. Other than that, they match you up with your roommates and my roommates are fun to be with.

    Academic Rigor

    There are plenty of courses to take. If you have 12 credit, the rest of the credits are free courses. However, there isn't much 'art' courses like Photography course or enough ASL (American Sign Languages) courses since there's only Intro and Second level. Other than that, it's really expand out plenty of courses in most field and majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors are much different than your typical high school teachers. They really make their lectures interesting and it's depending on who you have. You have to be able to keep up with their homework, studying 2 hours a day per subject, and manage your own time. It's important to use available programs like Writing Center or Math Center (although, you don't get too much help with math that much). There are plenty of tutors available to help you keep up with your work. The library have plenty available resources for you to go after. Most of the professors and the staff members are friendly and willing to help you in what you need. Professors have offices hours and it is important to know because you will ask questions outside of their class for any reasons. It's also important to show up to ALL of your class, no matter what. Your attendances are very important and it affects your grades, but contacting your professor is important as well if you are sick or have an appointment to deal with. Lastly, check your emails as much as you can, including Angel website to keep up what is expected of you.

    In three sentences

    NCCC is pretty much your typical school and willing to help you out in the best effort they can. They provide plenty of opportunities once it is given or shown. There are many things going on during school hours and night hours.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its ok

    Clubs and Activities

    un known

    Great for these types of students

    no car

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lot of young stuipid teens

    Bang for the buck

    cheap

    What to do for fun

    library, gym watch tv, eat nothing ...

    Food and Dining

    food is good but super expensive no food plans if living on dorm you buy you own food dining is only open during day not night

    Dorm Life

    nice dorms your own bedroom kitchen with stove fridge and dish washer living room and nice bathroom DOWN SIDE must have car everything is 20 mins away in the middle of no where nothing to do it boring

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and students

    Tips for prospective students

    it doesn't matter if you don't know what you want to do they will help, you find what interest you

    In three sentences

    NCCC is a great school for a new start. NCCC teachers are care and always there to help you. Also the school just opened a new culinary institute, there always open to new ideas

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mentioned above, Art guild! Also they have Stress Free Day(get free massage and hand treatment) Fires, Dinner with a movie and more!

    Great for these types of students

    Mature students looking to learn and grow as an individual and meet new friends in the process.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A few nice courtyards and all of the art rooms are attached.

    Bang for the buck

    they are a SUNY school so very affordable. Most students who qualify for FinAid will have everything paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs! The only one I ever made it into was the Art Guild and became the president for a semester as well. fundraising a feild trips for all students.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are a little scary. They have 2 Tim Hortins inside the school. They did have a culinary program but they moved to a separate campus. When they were here you could get lots of nice dishes, some even free.

    Dorm Life

    Never dormed but hear they are nice! They are all new(within the last 3 years)

    Academic Rigor

    The Fine Arts program is hard, not everyone will make it. The instructors there are meant to get you prepared for the real world and that is exactly what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with the paperwork required, not everyone graduates on time because something simple got overlooked! Make sure you can handle about 15 hours of drawing/painting homework a week. no excuses!

    In three sentences

    The fine arts program is a little known gem at this school. The faculty are active members in the field that they are instructing you on. They give out awards to the students that shine, and let students know about opportunities to take advantage of.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am transferring to NU in the fall with only a year and a half to go. Because I started out at NCCC I will pay less for my education overall and will spend less time at a pricey four year institution. The woman at the financial office at NU that because I started at NCCC and figured out what I wanted to do, its better for me financially in the long-run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to manage your time. NCCC may be a community college but its still a college, which means you need to put in the time and effort to get good grades. As long as you do your work and don't wait until the last minute, you will be fine and get the grades you really want.

    In three sentences

    Its a great place to go if you have no idea what you want to do with the rest of your life. NCCC has many transfer agreements with many local colleges,so your credits will transfer to a four year institution. Its a small community school so the professors will get to know you and help you.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always on patrol to keep those safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are are great variety of clubs and activities for students. You can even ask to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who have stopped college and want to return. People looking for a career change. People who are skeptical about beginning college on a large campus. People who want a more one on one teaching within a classroom. People who want to save lots of money in college.

    Bang for the buck

    As an alumni of NCCC, I can honestly say the quality of the education I received while in attendance was beyond what I expected. There are a variety of scholarships available to students of all backgrounds as well. You save so much money and stress by beginning here.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of extracurricular activities and clubs to participate in as well as a great selection of sports teams to choose from. Being in between the cities of Buffalo, NY and Niagara Falls, NY and also minutes from the Canadian border give students many options of things to do during downtown time. There are always concerts,comedy events, Buffalo Bills events, Buffalo Sabres events, Darien Lake Theme Park events,....etc

    Food and Dining

    There are a good variety of food choices. Something for every appetite.

    Dorm Life

    NCCC recently acquired dorms in the last few years to accommodate the many students that were coming from across the US to attend the campus. They are practically brand new and in great proximity to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes available for all academic levels. The faculty is always available to aid students for any reason. The programs and courses really are completely adaptable to anyone's schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great way to begin a college career if you are not completely sure what you want to do or if you feel you are not ready for huge college campus experience. You can save thousands of dollars beginning at a community college.

    In three sentences

    NCCC is a great college. There are a good variety of programs with great flexibility to fit any schedule. I would rank NCCC in the top 5 of community colleges in the US.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports and stury.

    Food and Dining

    The best one.

    Dorm Life

    Iam wishing to live on dorms this fall or next spring.

    In three sentences

    Niagara County Community College is a opportunity to get your future career, i love it.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Those working and paying there own way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tim Hortons

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive education

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or organization, get involved and you will have plenty of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of choices for a community college.

    Dorm Life

    Rarely do you find housing at a community college, however the housing here is brand new and top notch.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put the time in, study and stay on top of things you should have no problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with any of the many student organizations will make your time there more rewarding.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start a degree program, and get the general education requirements out of the way. It is very economical to attend and the instruction is high quality. There are also plenty of majors to choose from.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves to cook or bake!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the falls and go out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary Institute has lots of great food and different places to go!

    Dorm Life

    I like that I stay at the Quality Hotel across from the Culinary Institute.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are awesome and very helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep up on when payments are due (they are really bad at telling you ahead of time)

    In three sentences

    I go to the Culinary Institute and I absolutely love it! Although it is a half hour away from the actual campus, there is a bus that you can take incase you don't have a car. I would rate this college a seven out of ten!

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking to take basic classes for a future 4-year degree, or someone who wants an Associate's degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nice, quiet library, is great for reading and concentrating. The cafeteria, however, is not. The children are quite noisy and obnoxious.

    Bang for the buck

    Easy to get good grades and get an Associate's degree here.

    What to do for fun

    Find a quiet spot in the library and read a book in a comfortable chair.

    Food and Dining

    They offer great food in the cafeteria for good prices.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, do the reading, and you will get an A.

    In three sentences

    Community College for a low price. Classes may be too easy, standards are a bit disappointing. If you need an associate's degree, this is the place to be.