Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Niagara University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who comes from a small high school, a small town, or some one who doesn't want to be a number in a class room and wants that relationship with their professors where they know your name, grades and learning capabilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and acceptance of everyone. The people you meet and aren't too fond of can become your greatest friends. Take advantage of office hours and any extra time professors are willing to offer you.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say that Niagara is really worth its cost. If you take advantage of all that there is to offer at NU and make the most of your time here you will definitely feel as though you somewhat gained back what you ended up paying.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Niagara. I love the campus, the faculty and staff, as all the the people. Everyone is friendly and you always have someone to turn to when in need and the faculty will always go out of their way to be sure that you and your learning needs are met.

    Am learning a lot

    I really do feel as though I am learning a lot at Niagara. The professors engage the students in the conversation sparking our interest in what is being discussed as well as helping us better understand the criteria being covered.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Catholics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take 9 credits of religion and philosophy. They are mandated.

    Bang for the buck

    They just keep taking your money!! But they do give out a lot of scholarships.

    Am learning a lot

    It is a smaller University, and very catholic. Due to the small size, people tend to come precliqued. If you are a person who like to be involved in after school activities beware that each activity requires a $10 fee per semester and 3 hours of community service. Niagara is also a party school. The dorms do not have wi-fi. Not all the showers have hot water. And communication sucks! I came to NU with previous credit hours, but they still put me in a class of the same material. When I realized it, it was to late to switch classes. The only good thing about NU is that you may have many majors and minors.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you pick Niagara you will be very pleased with the school that is for sure. But make sure you are ok with eating pizza and fries everyday ......well not literally but the food is not that good. The dorms are not great either but you do get use to it. Other than the food or dorm the people here are great and very nice. The teachers also do care how you do in your classes and if you aren't sure on something that you talked about that day in class make sure you do go for help. Every teacher expresses that they have office hours not just to sit and stare at a computer but to help students and have them come in for help. Teachers want you to succeed not fail.

    Bang for the buck

    Niagara is an excellent school but I feel that for how much we pay to go to Niagara we should be living in better dorms with nicer bathrooms and better rooms. The food that is served is not the best either and they should maybe thing about serving something other than pizza and fries everyday at the dining hall.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment at Niagara is really great. The people are so nice and it feels like everyone is really close. It is a small campus but you get to know a lot of people really fast.

    Am learning a lot

    When I first started at Niagara I thought that it was going to be easy and the classes I would be taking were so easy but after the first week I didn't know as much as I thought. I had to work extra hard at my school work and was doing work six times a week at least. I did learn a lot after my first semester and I find myself talking about what I learned with my family sometimes.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have always helped if needed--except if you lock your keys in your car which i have done. they will help you if your car battery dies, and get you to your car if your uncomfortable alone after dark. if you need anything special i would just ask.

    Greek Life

    definitely things going on in this arena. again i do not have time for it, but i have seen and overheard some of their meetings in gallagher.

    Clubs and Activities

    while i personally do not have time to join any clubs i know they are all around. if you are interested you just have to ask. if there is nothing to your liking you can get permission and start one.

    Great for these types of students

    we have many different students. i am a 32 year old mom that works full-time and goes to school on a full-time basis as well. some people in my class are young with no other obligations, and there have been a few older well into their careers. niagara university for the most part has a very flexible and generous course offering. classes are offered at night and early in the morning, and a couple online.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of

    Bang for the buck

    niagara university is a bit pricey, but there are scholarships available as well as federal and state aid depending on need. the professors seem to really care about your current life situation, and what your plans on for after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot to do. there is an on campus gym, different clubs, team events, and plenty of different sports represented. nu usually sends an email out letting you know what is going on and it may be anything from a movie night, open skate, or game schedule.

    Food and Dining

    i give it a five just because there are several places on campus to get food. while clet hall is the official dining hall, galagher center also offers food. there is a pizza place, sandwhich deli, asian food, grill, mini store, and tim hortons all located in the lower level galagher center.

    Dorm Life

    i have never dormed or been in a dorm so they get a 5 out of default. i do know that some of the dorms are newly added.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are very informative, and will give you a sense of what you need to know in the real world. you have to take classes seriously, and put an honest effort in. if you do most professors will go out of their way to make sure you get the material. however, some teachers have a schedule that i feel is too demanding. you feel like you're caught up in a whirl wind and are not sure if you are going to land on your feet.

    Tips for prospective students

    map out a path that covers your four years, and the goals you want to accomplish. especially if you want to have a minor in a particular field because it will tie up most of your free electives. it is also good to pick up these classes early enough in case you decide you want to change programs. dorms are available, there's always an event, and the students are really great. there is help in many places at nu and i would recommend using the social network to help you along. it has been great for me to branch out and meet new people especially because i am an untraditional student.

    In three sentences

    niagara university has a great teaching staff; some of which work int the field they teach. they are very good about keeping you aware of current and up coming events. biggest criticism the current parking arrangement; be prepared to walk about 2-3 blocks to get to class.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who like small classes, one and one experiences

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy college where every. Food kinda sucks so get walmart giftcards to buy food

    Bang for the buck

    It's college so it's going to cost you no matter what. Niagara might be more expensive but you do get a more personal approach

    Am enjoying being here

    It's fun. Make some friends and you can have a great time here. Most RA's are cool and allow you to do alot

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that if you want to learn you can take class where you will learn what you need to or if you want you can take the history of music for a easy grade

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is on call 24/7. They respond immediately to various situations and can help with just about any problem there is on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about every single activity, interest or hobby you could ever think of on campus. From NUPS (NU Poetry Society) to the Ski Club, you are bound to find something that suits you and your hobbies.

    What to do for fun

    Need something to do? Our CPB (Campus Programming Board) plans and delivers activities that suits all types of adventures. From professional sports games to Laser Tag, it is all there! There is usually a new event on and off campus every single weekend, so there is always something to do when you're not studying or slaving over papers.

    Food and Dining

    NU has two places on campus to find food: Clet Dining Hall, which is an all-you-can-eat buffet, and the Gallagher Center, where our Purple Eagle basketball team represents us proudly. Both operate until late night (11 PM) and satisfies the hunger needs of the students across the entire day.

    Dorm Life

    Niagara University has 5 dorm halls: Seton, O'Shea, Clet, OD, and Lynch. Out of the 5, 2 of those house single rooms. If you prefer to live by yourself, OD and Lynch are perfect for you. If you can't live without the noise of 50 other students living on your floor, then the first 3 are for you. Now that our work order process has changed, it has become easier to report a damaged or broken utility in the dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    NU's Education and Business programs are, by far, the most competitive and challenging in the country. All students who graduate from NU find jobs within a few month's time, if not sooner. Although a 2.5 GPA is required in both Business and Education, it serves as a pinnacle for students to strive to go above and beyond what is simply asked of them in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are new to the NU community, make sure you become friends with the RA's! They are there to not only make sure that your move-in day is a success, but to also ensure that you know your way around the campus. It is nice to be able to talk to people who have been there for years and will not steer you wrong.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University offers some of the most rigorous programs you will ever find at a college or university. Here, students can also flourish artistically, with many programs and events that encourage students to express themselves. Overall, Niagara University should be on every high school senior's list of schools.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Niagara University is worth the money. There is a family feel and you are getting what you pay for in your classes and the jobs they help you with. As an education student I will need help finding places for observation hours and student teaching. Niagara will do that for you and help you find safe places for you to find a job.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun on campus. You can hang out with friends in the dorm lounges or go to the gorge. You can also attend the sports games with friends. Canada isn't far away so you can even go and visit the other side of the border if you have a passport or enhanced licence. The campus has a lot of clubs and groups so that you are never bored on weekends or on your breaks between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food on the campus is both healthy and there are a wide variety of options. There are vegetarian options and there is also an ice cream bar. The staff at the dining halls are very nice and ask you how you are doing when getting your food. The main dining hall is a buffet style while the separate hall is more of a pick up and go style. The food is good and you never run out of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and have a home feeling. There are numerous activities that you can do on campus as a resident student to meet people on your floor. You can go to games that are free to Niagara students. There are same-sex floors with two bathrooms on each floor. The dorm halls are kept very nice and clean and there is no problem trying to find a quiet place to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard but not overwhelming. The professors challenge you and help you learn new things. They will also take the time to make sure you understand the curriculum before moving on. They also help you find job placements your senior year and where to get experience when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend this college then you will need to find a balance between your school and social life. This school is known for its close knit community and academic record. The games are fun to watch and it is a great way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University is a place that you will feel like home. There are many things to do on campus to keep you busy. As soon as you walk onto the campus you feel like family and your academic goals can be reached there.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for all students who might want t attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get to take a tour its really good and everyone there is super nice as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It has great scholar ships for inside the school and financial aid benefits.

    Will enjoy being here

    Can't wait to learn more about it, and to possibly start taking classes there.

    Will learn a lot

    Can't wait to go, i have toured the college and it looks like a great place to be and to learn.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is present on campus and are often seen driving around campus or at the front desk in residence halls during the evenings.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternites on campus that students can join but they are not popular if it wasnt for a few fliers and the student activity fair you wouldnt know there were any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of different clubs that students can join. Each club charges a fee to be an official memeber of the club and community service hours are required.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who wants to be apart of a small university that offers a good student/ professor interaction classroom environment.

    Bang for the buck

    There is not much bang for your buck considering the university could make many improvements from the quality of living in the dorm rooms to the quality of food services on campus. Overall the school is pretty expensive although financial aid is available but there is not much that the university gives in return for your $$$$.

    What to do for fun

    There are weekly campus events not all are worth participating in. Due to the small town stature students often have to travel to either canada or buffalo to have entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There is not much variety to the main dining hall. Utensils are often dirty and there have been rodent spottings.

    Dorm Life

    You can choose to live in a double or triple occupancy room or a single room for an additional price. Dorm rooms are equipped with wifi, an ethernet connection, telephone services and cable television although all wires and accessories are not included. Showers are often cold and bathrooms are not kept up to decent clean standards. Rooms can become either too cold or too hot and washing machines although are built into the price of housing are often in use and have a wet dog odor.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are extremely informational and are worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and come prepared with questions you may have about the school. On the tours you get a chance to taste the food which can be extremely repetitive and questionable at times. If you are able to stay a night in the dorms to experience how living on campus is through the Niagara Nights program. If you enroll in the school make sure you have a laptop even though there is a 24 hour computer lab. There is a university bus that runs wednesday, friday, saturday and sunday to local places for students who don't have transportation.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University is a school where you are a name and not just a number which is something that the university prides itself on. Overall you can learn alot from professors who have a great amount of exprience in their fields. Professors offer office hours and are really helpful. The school has its ups and downs just like any other school. The town is small as well as the campus.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security does a great job. During open houses I could see them patrolling around in their cars and an officer or two at each dorm.

    Greek Life

    Though Niagara does mention initially that there are fraternities and sororities on campus, they are not as prominent at Niagara as they are at other universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost every major on campus, so if you can't find your place amongst any other clubs you always have these. However there are fees to pay for just about every club to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that is used to suburban settings, small classroom sizes and actually knowing their teacher (not being just a face in their class) would love to attend NU.

    Bang for the buck

    While NU does a good hob with what they have, their dorms need to be improved (increasing room size)

    What to do for fun

    Because Niagara University is located near a small town, there isn't too much to do if you aren't the small-town type (likes to walk around looking at antique shops or go into little shops and shop around for a bit). However Niagara Falls, Buffalo, and Canada are within a half-an-hour trip and - if you're willing - you can travel for two hours to get to Toronto.

    Food and Dining

    There are mixed reviews on food, but if you don't enjoy food on campus there are many good restaraunts near campus that you can eat at.

    Dorm Life

    NU has a generally friendly environment. The students and staff can become like family and the closeness of the campus can ensure that you will find friends quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Though it really depends on what major you're going for, Niagara does all it can to educate their students for the path they're going on. However the requirement of a minimum of three religious classes to be taken over the course of your college career turns some students away from going to NU.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is excellent. it is a fairly isolated campus in a very nice area so there isn't generally a problem with safety. the campus police are always making rounds though and are there if you should need them.

    Greek Life

    there isn't much of a greek life on campus. there are a few sorority's but it isn't a giant deal as depicted in many television shows.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of clubs and activities to join whether you want to play a club sport or get involved in student government, a language club or just something you have an interest in. there are always new clubs forming. the campus planning board is always planning activities for the students.

    Great for these types of students

    niagara is great for students who like a more personal element, and don't want to sit in a giant lecture hall with hundreds of other students. the class sizes are generally fairly small at around 30 students, sometimes less and sometimes more depending on the level of class. i have one class where i am one of six students which is awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    although the university is a little pricey, it is well worth it for the education you receive. i could have gotten a full ride to university at buffalo but i chose to go to niagara because the class sizes were smaller and they have a great education program.

    What to do for fun

    canada is within a half an hour from niagara, in particular clifton hill which has a pretty well known, popular night life. there are clubs in buffalo, and there are plenty of places to shop within minutes of the university, including an outlet mall. visiting niagara falls is always a good option.

    Food and Dining

    there are pretty much two places to get food, clet hall which is the dining hall and the lower level gallagher center which has an assortment of places to buy food including a tim hortons. i don't eat at clet hall but a lot of the students say it isn't exactly the best. i generally pack my lunches as i commute but if i don't have lunch i grab food at lower level gallagher center.

    Dorm Life

    i do not personally dorm, i commute but i have friends who dorm and a friend who is an ra. the dorms are a little older but they have a good atmosphere and everyone is fairly friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    niagara values a rounded education and they teach you valuable things to go into the real world and put your major into action through a job. the professors make sure that they are not giving you an easy a and at the same time don't make it impossible to get an a. academics are greatly valued.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved on campus, it's the best way to make connections both professionally and personally. take the time to know your professors and make sure that they get to know you because it is a lot easier for them to help you succeed when they know you and can put a face to the name, which is much more attainable in the small class sizes niagara has.

    In three sentences

    niagara university is a wonderful place to go for your undergraduate and graduate as well. with its small class sizes and extremely knowledgeable professors you are sure to get an excellent education. the professors and staff are very caring and willing to help you succeed.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Greek Life

    there is some

    Clubs and Activities

    Girls club hockey. many other clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the small connected feel for a college. Those who dont mind that there isnt a ton to do around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive college.

    What to do for fun

    the out let mall and the big mall is only an hour away. Also a few bars and clubs around or can drive into buffalo for a bigger variety.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad but not to big of a variety. Love the tim hortons on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun new dorms. They have been updated recently and students all hang out together.

    Academic Rigor

    Not a very hard school. High acceptance rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    nice campus and dorms. Great place to live.

    In three sentences

    A very small and friendly campus. Everyone knows everyone. Fun things to do off campus.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great guys/ladies! They'll even drive you to your car if it's parked far away (trust me, it will be, unless you want an excess of parking tickets).

    Greek Life

    Terrible. One fraternity and one sorority. Neither of them are allowed to live off-campus. Purely academic.

    Clubs and Activities

    A bunch of interesting clubs to choose from. Many of them major-related to get you more involved.

    Great for these types of students

    I think athletes enjoy Niagara University the most.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really. It is a Catholic school however, so there are a lot of people dressed up early for Sunday mass.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely an academically amazing school, but extremely pricey. About 16k a semester, 32k a year.

    What to do for fun

    Niagara Falls is pretty... dead. Not a whole lot to do. Hopefully you can find some good friends to keep things interesting. However, Niagara does offer a lot of discounts and events that are definitely fun, but I never attended any.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of options. Dining hall is pretty gross, and the Gallagher Center has a lot of fried foods. Really difficult to eat healthy here!

    Dorm Life

    Cliquey. Just not for me, but I know a lot of people who made lifelong friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good, accredited school.

    In three sentences

    Niagara has amazing professors that really care about their students and make a huge effort to help them figure out where they're going in life. However, their disciplinary system is based purely on punishment. I thought they should try to work with students who are cooperative.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus safety who are patrolling 24/7 and are very responsive when something happens or when called!

    Clubs and Activities

    Endless list of things to do!

    Great for these types of students

    -Academic -Studious

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for what you get and I believe that this school is one of the best private schools in the country.

    What to do for fun

    5 minutes from Niagara Falls!! Walking the gorge, and taking trips to Canada. The school has an awesome student trips programs all over the country.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo food. Stars speak for themselves.

    Dorm Life

    Easy, laid back, and I made a lot of awesome friends!

    Academic Rigor

    It is school, what do you expect? I give it five stars because I take 18 credits a semester to keep busy and possibly graduate early!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades high so that you can get into the honors program. If accepted into the program, your resume will be out of this world! Be creative and express your thoughts and feelings!

    In three sentences

    Niagara University is a very exciting and diverse school. The school challenges your mind and helps you to excel in any career field. I plan to complete my bachelors and masters degree here.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see them driving around and they are all very friendly. Everywhere you look, you'll see their Jeeps driving around, and trust me, it's hard to miss them. If you feel uncomfortable walking across campus at night, you can call them and they will drive you back to your dorm or wherever you have to go.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple sororities (Alpha Sigma Alpha and Phi Sigma Sigma) and fraternities (Delta Chi Epsilon and Tau Kappa Epsilon) on campus. They are heavily focused on the organizations they support and community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs and activities. You'll never be bored. Promise!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it is a Catholic and Vincentian university, Mass is held every Sunday at 11am and 10pm. So you have to opportunity to attend Mass if you are Catholic. Not really an unusual tradition, but it's not seen on many campuses. We also do FirstFest in September to welcome all the students back to campus, and this usually includes a barbecue, inflatables, and music and if the weather holds up, and outdoor movie on a 60' screen. We also do something very similar to this during RidgeFest, which is our end of the year celebration in April.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, it is definitely worth the tuition. Yes, it's expensive, but it's a Catholic university with great offerings, so the price is worth it. There is a ton of financial aid available too. You can't go wrong with the education you get here.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs to join and many campus activities planned, such as trips to a Yankee's game in Toronto, a Bills game, and a Sabres game, as well as a show at Shea's. If you like watching sports, or even if you don't, I recommend joining N-Zone, which is the student fan section at Men's hockey and basketball games. You get pizza before every game and a t-shirt. You also get to go to the hockey games when we play at Canisius. Definitely recommend joining this, as it is only $15! There are clubs for each college and major, and for every organization and activity you can think of. If there's a club you want to join but it is not available, all you need is a group of people interested and a faculty advisor and you can start the club yourself! Downtown Niagara Falls (both US and Canada) and the Village of Lewiston are also only 20 minutes and 10 minutes away, respectively, and there are lots of things to do there. Outdoor ice skating, the casino, restaurants, the Falls, Maid of the Mist, Cave of the Winds, anything you can imagine being in a tourist hotspot will be there.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good. There's pizza, pasta, and burgers every night along with a salad bar. There's a sundae station too with 12 different flavors of ice cream. In the student center there's a deli station, a grill station, a pizza station, a convenience store, and a Tim Horton's, along with a Tim Horton's in Bisgrove Hall (business/education building).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms in Seton and O'Shea are actually pretty decently sized compared to other schools. There's lots of activities planned on the floors by the CA's (community advisors) and everyone gets to know everyone. These dorms, however, are mostly freshmen, so they can get noisy at times. If you want to live in a quieter building, Clet is where you should live. Lynch and O'Donoghue are mostly singles, and there is the option to live in the apartments and Varsity Village when you are a junior or senior. Definitely live on campus; you'll miss out if you don't.

    Academic Rigor

    I am entering my Junior year in the fall, and I have to say, the classes definitely keep you on your toes. Some are less difficult than others, but if you take the initiative to talk to your professor and seek help, you will definitely succeed. By doing that, I have managed to pull my GPA up over a 3.0 and finished this past semester with my highest semester and overall GPA yet. The professors and counselors are there to help you; it's up to you whether or not you choose to take advantage of those opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a top ranked Hospitality school, this is the place to go. The College of Hospitality is nationally-ranked and offers the best Hotel, Tourism, and Sport Management Programs in the area. They also have an excellent College of Education, College of Business, and College of Arts and Sciences, as well as a fantastic Academic Exploration Program if you're undecided. You can't go wrong with any program or college here.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University has a great family atmosphere and definitely feels like my second home. The faculty and staff are all amazing and willing to help you and make sure you are performing to the best of your ability. With the small campus, small class sizes, and tons of things to do, Niagara is definitely the best school to attend.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I study for fun or off in the woods on a ROTC trip. I hike the gorge, hang out at the Niagara Falls Power Authority, go to buffalo alot and going to wal-mart at 2am with friends. My friends also like to go to canada

    Food and Dining

    Im from the South so I naturally have issues with the food here and there hours of operations, and the sometimes limited selections. I love the fact that there is a ice cream sation with some of the most delicous favors to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Not too fond of the dorms itself because they are small but last year I got to live in one of the Varsity Village houses on campus with my ROTC friends and it was pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Im a science major minoring in military science so academics are very rigorous and require to stay on top of your studies. It does get rough at time but the professors will work will you as long as they see you working your hardest to put in the effort, they will provide that extra support you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your coming here from another state when you are factoring in cost include travel and food, and expect not to go home for every small break like Thankgiving. Get to know your teachers and classmates, it help time to go by faster and you get the extra help in academics. Last but not lease make the most of the experience and use your resources wisely.

    In three sentences

    NU is a small university which makes the classes great but the campus can get pretty boring. Its a private school so can expensive but if you can afford or have assistance with the bill its great. They have great staff as well at students but the dorms are super small.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres so many things to do for fun around Niagara University. Your so close to main attractions such as the actual Niagara Falls and the factory outlet. Theres always something going on around campus so you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food is absolutely AMAZING. Fair price for the quality of food. Love the dining hall, All you can eat buffet.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm because i live so close to the university. I hear the dorms arn't that great. Campus is life is amazing though.

    Academic Rigor

    I havn't took any classes yet, but my classes that i registered for are my interest. From other students, i hear the teachers teach very well. Only way you would fail is if you dont show up.

    In three sentences

    So far, Niagara University is a beautiful campus. I like how small it is which helps students get around campus fast. Also, I love how cheap it is for a private catholic university.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    tke is a great fraternity with great people. i joined my freshman year and love it

    What to do for fun

    every weekend there are different activities that take place on campus from ice skating to flag football

    Tips for prospective students

    dorming is the best way to meet new friends and do not be afraid to join clubs and organizations

    In three sentences

    it is a great school. the classes are not to big and the teachers are always approachable. my advisor also helps with any problems i have.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A club for every major and every inetrest.

    Bang for the buck

    everything included in your tuition.

    What to do for fun

    sporting events, late night niagara

    Food and Dining

    great fries

    Dorm Life

    great people. super clean. furniture not the best

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard but also stayed involved.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University is an amazing college. It sets you up to have a great job once you leave and once in a lifetime chances while here.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is clearly present at NU. They drive around campus and visit buildings to make sure students are safe. There are also emergency stations around campus that will alert campus safety with any problems. They are very strict with parking and will give you a ticket if parked improperly.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities that are active on campus. They also do a lot in the community to help others.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs, and even more activities. It seems like everyday there is an event at NU for commuters and residents alike. For each club that a student joins, they have to participate in 3 hours of community service, making the student more well-rounded.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, dedicated students that enjoy a multitude of opportunities and a school where everyone knows almost everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual tradition at NU is the purple chicken. The purple chicken, which is a real chicken dyed purple, is brought out for basketball games against St. Bonaventure University because of a long lasting rivalry.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of NU is at par with a private school education, but it's a worthwhile investment. The education is superb and the people are some of the most amazing individuals you could ever meet.

    What to do for fun

    There are opportunities to become involved at NU, whether it be the school cheering section for basketball and hockey games, joining one of NUs many clubs (over 100), or going to late night Niagara every Friday night. These create memories that will last a lifetime.

    Food and Dining

    Clet and Lower Level Gallagher have great food. Chefs make your food right in front of you! The staff is so cordial, and always have smiles. Oh, and shouldn't forget to mention Clet is an all you can eat buffet!

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but from what I hear, the dorms are a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Niagara has high expectations, and a lot of homework. It's worth it. With an exceptional high job placement rate, those late night studying hours make your future look bright!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and make sure you participate. You'll be surprised how many professors will go out of their way to simply learn your name and answer any questions a student may have.

    In three sentences

    Niagara is not just a school; it's a home. Everyone has purple pride that makes the small community a tight knit family. The sky is the limit with the amount of opportunity for success at NU!

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is part of Lewiston Police so it is very safe and they are always easy to reach and on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is right beside Niagara River so that you can see Canada on the other side. It is very close to the boarder so you can always go and check it out if you have a passport. Niagara Falls is only 10 minutes away so you can always check it out as well.

    What to do for fun

    The local town, Lewiston is a great town to hang out. Niagara Falls is very close to the campus and it has lots of attractions.

    Food and Dining

    It has various choices and always freshly cooked.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm is very close to most of the classrooms, library and dinning halls. Also it is close to the public transportation, such as bus.

    Academic Rigor

    * If you do your work and ask questions to your professors, it will not be difficult. However, it requires you to have deeper understanding, knowledge and advanced writing skills. There is a Writing Center to help students who are not so good at writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Do not hesitate to ask anything to anyone. Especially for any offices, such as Dean's office, Financial office, etc. 2) If you are Education major, you will love the learning settings and its system. 3) Get involve.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University has a great community and caring environment. The number of students in each class is small that all students have great learning opportunities. Also it is a good way to know your professors and your classmates.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Niagara's campus offers an incredibly safe environment. It is a very small community and atmosphere, and you will become familiar with a majority of the university's population in a very short period of time! Also, Campus Safety is always around for your convenience.

    Greek Life

    We have several different opportunities for both men and women to get involved in sorority life. It is a great chance to engage in fun activities and meet new people.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small university there are an abundance of clubs and activities available to students. From a long list of intramural sports teams to all different kinds of clubs and sororities, there are endless opportunities to get involved. The only thing I'm still waiting for is a Book Club!

    Great for these types of students

    Niagara is a perfect place for someone who prefers a more personal touch to his or her education. Many larger, even more prestigious schools, offer great educational opportunities, but lack that personal touch. At Niagara, your professors will know you by name after a week or two which makes it easy to approach them for extra help. many of my professors have become mentors to me, and I still go to them for valuable advice or references even though I am no longer in their classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Niagara has some pretty interesting traditions including Build-an-Eagle day! Every fall semester build-a-bear machines are set up in lower-level Gallagher where stuffed eagles are created and handed out to students for free or a very low cost! It's a really cute tradition that I always look forward to, along with the Winter Ball that takes place in late-November/early-December with horse-drawn carriages.

    Bang for the buck

    Niagara University offers an exceptional education for its cost. I have been so impressed with the quality of my classes at the price I am paying. Niagara offers amazing scholarships that make it affordable for anyone, even for someone like myself who is paying completely for his/her own education.

    What to do for fun

    Niagara is a beautiful campus that is located right on the Niagara Falls gorge. I could never get sick of visiting the Falls and walking its numerous scenic routes, from Three Sisters' Island to Devil's Hole. There is also an Outlet Mall very close to campus along with several good quality restaurants. Lewiston is a beautiful city that has many small businesses that are locally owned, and is home to ArtPark where famous band have been known to give concerts. The Canadian border is also just a few miles away from campus, where one can enjoy the bustling streets of Clifton Hill and the beautiful view of the falls from the view of our lovely Canadian neighbors.

    Food and Dining

    Although I do not invest in a meal plan, there are two cafeterias on campus that seem to offer sufficient meals, along with a convenience store. My favorite, however, is the two different Tim Hortans locations that are always filled with students looking for coffee in between classes. There are also some excellent restaurants near the campus, including St. A's Pizzeria.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I cannot truly rate the quality of dorming at Niagara, but I have never heard anything negative from others who do dorm. Also, I have been inside Seton Hall and was impressed with the size of the rooms, even the ones available to freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    Niagara's acceptance rate is quite high for a private university. However, do not discredit its standards and academic quality. I have been so impressed with the education I have received from Niagara, and especially the profound experience and knowledge of the professors in their given fields of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be alarmed by the cost of Niagara's tuition before you have applied. It offers incredible scholarships as a reward to those who achieved academic excellence in high school. Also, don't be afraid to get involved in clubs and activities right away upon attending!

    In three sentences

    Niagara University has provided me with unbelievable learning experiences both in the classroom and in the real world. Its small environment creates a very personal atmosphere that has allowed me to meet and interact with some extraordinary people. Best of all, despite its status as a private university, it offers an abundance of scholarships that makes it affordable for people from all different backgrounds.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe. Campus Safety is always around and willing to help when you need it-car trouble other random things

    What to do for fun

    Sporting Events are great but not a ton to do there-make your own fun!

    Food and Dining

    Somedays good, somedays not so good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need updating, CAs are decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Very Balanced, work is there, but so is support from faculty

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend an overnight make sure its the right vibe.

    In three sentences

    Great Criminal Justice Professors. Decent food options, D1 sports, dorms need updating but otherwise nice campus.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around when you need them but they aren't bothersome.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and two fraternities on campus. Each are very different from each other. Two of which have a house. You can meet a lot of great people this way.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are a lot of clubs and activities on campus. There are professional clubs as well as laid back fun clubs. Campus activities always has something planned on the weekend and through out the week.

    Great for these types of students

    The school does not have too much diversity. Everyone is close to the same, but it is not boring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their aren't too many unusual traditions on campus, but their is always something going on. The campus is secluded and right along the gorge. It's a lot of fun to go walk the gorge or go into Lewiston or Niagara Falls.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but they offer a lot of financial aid. From who I've talked too a lot of people about why they chose Niagara and they said because they offered them the most money.

    What to do for fun

    The school is a D1-athletic school. Hockey and Basketball are the two biggest sports on campus. It's fun to go to those. Niagara Falls is close by as well as Canada. There are a few places to go out too on your Thursday-Saturday nights.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall on campus that is on your meal plan, then there is a dinning area in the main campus center. They take money, but you get some on your meal plan. There are plenty of options, it might be hard to adjust to the food, but it's not terrible.

    Dorm Life

    Really get to know the people on your floor and your neighbors. My floor got super close and people envied us. We were all such great friends, did everything together, and it made living together a lot easier.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do really care about your grades so they are always their to help. It's not like high school, there is work involved. Your GPA does matter and you shouldn't blow-off any classes, even the gen-eds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus, you will meet a lot more people, get more involved, and have a lot of fun. Get involved, their are a lot of clubs and sports teams to join on campus.

    In three sentences

    This school has great potential with a lot of opportunities. The campus is small and has a lot more commuters then residents. You really get to know your fellow classmates as well as professors by being in such a small environment.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had an incident in the first couple of weeks of college in my freshman year, and i was astonished on how professional, quick and amazing the campus safety was.

    What to do for fun

    NU brings in different things to do; parties with mechanical bulls, comedians, musicians, magicians and there is also a shuttle that takes you to local places like Wegmans and Walmart for students that do not have transportation. Talk about Wegmans, the founder of this huge franchise is a Niagara University graduate.

    Food and Dining

    You definately have to aclimate to the food at college; its so much different than what im used too, so when im gone for a while, and then come back, my stomach needs adjusting to it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is a lot of fun; you make little communities on your floors and friendships that last.

    Academic Rigor

    College is hard, im not going to lie, but when you put hard work into these rigorous classes, and you get your papers back and that hard work shows, its worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself; dont put on a face that isn't yours to get people to like you. Whether you realize it or not, everyone is scared and nervous, some are just better at hiding it than others. And when you are presented with an opportunity to broaden your horizons, especially with friends.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love attending Niagara University; the professors are top-notch, students are friendly and the opportunities that they present to their students are unfounded. I was very apprehensive about attending college at first, but those fears were proved wrong.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around and also easy to get along with.

    Greek Life

    Our school has traditional Sororities and Frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm apart of everything and that's what helps me when I get lonely throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Be active, active, active that's my number one suggestion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Gorge, it's a place you must visit.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though Niagara University is an expensive University, however it will be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    I play pool, I go swimming, to the movies and I'm also apart of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There's nothing like mom's food, but our campus does have it's perks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. The RA's are extremely fun... most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't extremely hard, however the professor does give a lot of assignments that at times become over whelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy, we all were once new students. The Professors are awesome if you need help ASK they will help you and they love to feel needed. Lastly be open to making friends with everyone not just one crowd. It will make your experience much better.

    In three sentences

    Niagara University is definitely a place where you learn about different cultures and experience new things. As long as you're open minded to the new experience and become active you will feel like you're at home.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a great job. And if you ever feel uncomfortable walking somewhere late at night, or don't feel like walking at all, you can always call them for a ride.

    Greek Life

    We have have two fraternities and two sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of it, Niagara probably has a club for it! And if they don't , the staff is usually supportive of you starting one up.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to be a part of something bigger. If you enjoy school a lot or if you don't, it doesn't really matter. Niagara can become what you make it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At New Student Orientation every fall we take a walk own to Whirlpool State Park which is right near the water. So pretty!

    Bang for the buck

    Niagara is located at Monteagle Ridge, at the gorge down to the Niagara River. Every day you get to see the beautiful view and it's only a short walk if you want to view it up close. That's something that's priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Attend Late Night parties, go to hockey games, clubs, and just hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, although it isn't my mom's.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but they have a great commuter board.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload and level is not impossible, but it is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, that's how you can decide where you want to go. Also, take a tour; I fell in love with my campus when I took mine.

    In three sentences

    I personally love it here at Niagara. I enjoy my classes, especially the small sizes and I have amazing, intelligent professors. Also, I have made amazing friends and there are so many extracurricular available.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am very involved in Campus Ministry. There are also many sports events going on on campus that you can attend. And of course, there are a couple of great hangout spots in Lewiston to go to when you have time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, maybe a little old after a few months, but overall it is enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not dorm, but my friends tell me that it is a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are very challenging and push me to think and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and sit in on a class. Take a tour and try and picture yourself there.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school with academically challenging classes. I have also made amazing friends and the environment is welcoming. Finally, there are many great extracurricular and athletic opportunities available as well as an active Campus Ministry.