Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Nicholls State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any & every student that wants a great college with friendly students, intelligent teachers, & a wonderful atmosphere for learning!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't listen to what other people say about some of the teachers or classes. Some people find certain classes or professors harder than others, so don't be intimidated by opinions. Be confident in yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Nicholls is definitely an affordable college, (as affordable as college can be!) and you definitely get what you're paying for & more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE being at Nicholls. I am super-glad I chose Nicholls State University to further my education because the environment is wonderful. There are beautiful grounds to enjoy, quiet places to focus & study, & many friendly faces to help you out.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very friendly & willing to go out of their way to help you to the best of their ability. If you're having trouble with anything all you have to do is ask. The material covered in the classes are interesting & challenging.

  • 05/30/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for LD students

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is one of the safest in the country. It received an award and was in the news for it.

    Greek Life

    There are a good number of Sororities and Fraternities here. They are very active. There are no Greek housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many organizations that fit a plethora of students needs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want a small local college where they are not just a number. Also good for low income students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a number of organizations on campus that have there own traditions. Some of the dorm rooms have their own traditions as well.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for I supposed with this university. Though it could stand to be a little less expensive for its offerings.

    What to do for fun

    There's not very many things to do for fun on campus. Nothing is open on the weekends and during the week, the hours are inconvenient.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is all you can eat but the food is not always good. The food court in the Union is better then the Cafeteria, but it is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not that great and many aspects of dorm life could be improved.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that challenging if you pay attention and do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't miss they scholarships they give, apply early.

    In three sentences

    It's very affordable. It has a nice selection of majors. It has an excellent Culinary, Journalism, and Business program.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nicholls is great for fun, down-to-earth, friendly, relaxed students.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY! BE ORGANIZED! BE DETERMINED!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is fair, but with recent budget cuts it could change.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being on campus! The surroundings are beautiful and the campus is not to large. Everything is in walking distance. Also, there are alot of learning resources, lounges, study places, and snack places on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The smaller classroom settings allow you to be more attentive, and it is easier to gain one-on-one time with professors.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nicholls is great for every type of student. If you struggle in school we have a great tutoring center and very helpful teacher and also students are eager to help if you ask. If you are a genius our honor's program is awesome and they travel overseas twice a year. If you love people and having a hometown feel NICHOLLS IS DEFINITELY FOR YOU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantages of all the services at Nicholls. Meet as many staff as you can and form relationships with them because they are willing to help you throughout your college career. Join clubs because it makes college more fun and give you something to do for your down time. Stay on campus because if you don't you are missing out on half the fun of college.

    Bang for the buck

    Nicholls has a very reasonable tuition. For the amount of money one pays they would get a lot more than expected. All of the services and opportunities that Nicholls offer are unmeasurable. Every way the school can help you they will. All you have to do is ask and sometimes you don't even have to ask.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Nicholls. The dorms are warm and friendly. Always feels like you are at your home. The dorm staff are always friendly and ready to help. They come check on you often and always ask how your day has been.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn new things daily while attending Nicholls, whether it be learning street smart things or things in class. I love being there to learn.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I was invited for a tour and everyone was VERY friendly and helpful. The campus looked great and the dorms looked amazing. One of the professors took me to his classroom and talked to me about my intended major and what he suggested I take in high school next year for almost an hour. It was so personal. I loved it! No other campus anywhere has done that for me!

    Bang for the buck

    ????? Not ready to check financial aid yet.

    Will enjoy being here

    I sure hope so!

    Will learn a lot

    I sure hope so!

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nicholls is great for all kinds of people; from quiet people who like small groups and not going out much to people who consider themselves the life of the party. It's not hard to find your place in the Nicholls family.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. If there are any issues don't be afraid to ask around. Most students are just as helpful as the staff, so it won't be hard to find the answers that you seek. 2. Try to keep up to date on your progress in class. The teachers and student advisers are there to help if there are any issues. 3. Don't be afraid to get out there and talk to people. You never know what you might find.

    Bang for the buck

    To some the total cost of everything seems a bit much, but I say that it's worth every penny. Most of the dorms are great, the teachers are very helpful, the staff in the various departments on campus are willing to help with any issues one may have, and there is always something happening on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    This was the best decision I've ever made. I was concerned about not fitting in and being stuck in my room alone everyday. The people here are amazing. Despite the fact that everybody still have their groups that they like to be in, everybody gets along well despite their differences.

    Am learning a lot

    I can honestly say that I am learning a lot here at Nicholls. I'm happy that I decided to apply for this college. Most of the classes go at a steady pace and many of the teachers are willing to meet with their students if they are having problems in the class.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call boxes located all around campus in case you have an emergency. There are also police patrolling the campus at all time. The University has also just added a number of cameras across campus for safety.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in Greek Life. But there are a number of students who are and LOVE it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you can think of!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who come from small high schools who are looking for a college experience similar to that. Really any student can be fit here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite campus tradition is Crawfish Day. During the spring semester Crawfish Day takes place. The activities during that day include concerts, rides and free foood! Along with ALOT of boiled crawfish!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a warm friendly college experience, Nicholls is right for you. The academic along with the extra curricular activities offered can fit almost any personality. There is something here for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are always athletic events going on that provide a great atmosphere. Located only about 10 miles from the campus is a mall and movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here offers a variety of options that accommodate almost everyone's needs.There are also a number of other food venues located across campus that can help those who have a tight class schedule.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm experience has also been great. Residence life is something the University really focuses on. There are always dorm study groups and other dorm activities that help get students involved.

    Academic Rigor

    I really have not had any challenges or circumstances that have hindered my experience here. It is very easy to get in touch with professors for one on one help. There are multiple opportunities across campus that provide tutoring or help when needed. When I have concerns I go directly to my adviser who sends me in the right directions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should not be afraid to go out and meet knew people. I transferred to this small University after attending LSU for a year. When I got here I decided to swallow my pride and join organizations and meet knew people. This was the best decision of my life. I have made lifelong friendships and I have also discovered who I really am.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State University is an outstanding University. My college experience here has been amazing. I have learned who I really am and also what I want to do for the rest of my life.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of call boxes placed on walkways. campus police are always on patrol!

    Clubs and Activities

    art club!

    Great for these types of students

    small town students looking for an excellent education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bar in student union.

    Bang for the buck

    the fees are very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    play tennis, basketball, go for a run. the possibilities are endless since this university is in the heart of town.

    Food and Dining

    student union, cafeteria, restaurant and bar on campus plus lots of restaurants near campus.

    Dorm Life

    everything you need is close by.

    Academic Rigor

    very involved and complete courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the department of your desired major. they love it when prospective students want a closer look.

    In three sentences

    nicholls state is a great overall university. the art, nursing, education and culinary departments are among the best in the country. for personal one on one attention with a large school academics, go to nicholls state university.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is regularly patrolled by police officers, there is a police station on campus (right by the apartments), and there is a strict no-drug no-smoke policy on campus. there are call boxes on the sidewalks everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is literally a club for everything. it's pretty amazing. and most clubs are very, very involved.

    Great for these types of students

    great for art students definitely. i hear it's great for nursing and culinary students as well, and we have several renowned geneticists and scientists working on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a bar in the cafeteria. it does serve alcohol, but it also cards.

    Bang for the buck

    nicholls is not that bad as far as tuition goes. the dorms are pretty expensive, but other than that, the price is really good.

    What to do for fun

    definitely join in some of the fun campus activities like shark night and zombies vs. ninjas. there's always something happening, and the student council is good about keeping things active and fun.

    Food and Dining

    they have a huge variety of foods- ranging from pizza to custom-made foods like omlettes that you can select what you want in them. they have a different ethnic food every day as well.

    Academic Rigor

    i'd say that nicholls is about 3.5 stars on the academic rigor scale. i don't find it hard to get a's and b's, but you won't be able to get straight a's without major studying. most teachers here definitely grade so a c truly is average.

    Tips for prospective students

    i suggest applying for classes as early as possible. some classes that are necessary for graduation fill up very quickly. i know a few art students who needed one more class to graduate, but they kept waiting to apply, and found that it was full already.

    In three sentences

    nicholls is a terrific school for art students. i am one, and i love how diverse and welcoming our campus is; as i've remarked to a friend from another state, you know your classmates are awesome when all you have to do is say the game. and half the students start laughing and the other half moans.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nicholls is one of the safest campuses in the state of louisiana. it is rare a crime is committed on campus.

    Greek Life

    the organizations that are on campus include: theta xi, kappa alpha order (ka), kappa sigma (kappa sig) , sigma alpha epsilon (sae) , tau kappa epsilon (tke) ,phi kappa theta (pkt), delta zeta, sigma sigma sigma ,phi mu,alpha phi alpha, delta sigma theta, kappa alpha psi, sigma gamma rho, and omega psi phi.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs on campus. some include jr. acf ( junior american culianary federation), spa-which is the club that organizes campus events, nicholls biology society, chi alpha, bcm, alpha ii omega and many other organizations. almost too many to name!

    Great for these types of students

    nicholls is great for students who want to feel like they are home. it is also great for students who like that small town feel.

    What to do for fun

    nicholls has many events that are fun. alive at five during homecoming week is fun. it is an event with live music and chances to get free stuff. crawfish day is the biggest event at nicholls. on that day, nicholls students get free crawfish and there is live music, games, and even more food. there is a game of zombies vs. humans during the fall semester and there are intramural sports. also there are a few clubs and bars that are supposed to be fun.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is not horrible here but it can be pretty good depending on what they are cooking.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty nice. they have three new dorms and two older ones. everybody who lives in the dorms are pretty friendly and the living is nice. most dorm buildings come with a computer lab and a kitchen downstairs near the lobby.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers at nicholls state are so nice. they are always willing to help you. get to know your teachers and ask about them before you register for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved! the best way to meet friends is to find your niche and get involved by joining some sort of organization. it also helps to hang out in the lobby of your dorms, i've seen plenty make friends by hanging out in the dorm lobbies. also go to any events around campus like homecoming and craw fish day. those are the two biggest events on campus and they are a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    a school surrounded by a supporting community. the teachers are very nice and always willing to help you. very friendly and warm people work and attend nicholls so it is easy to make friends.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a Member of one of the 3 sororities on campus. The university also has a number of fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Small Town, Nursing, or Culinary.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Swamp stomp, Crawfish Day.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools.

    What to do for fun

    Fishing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get rain boots.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls is a small University in Thibodaux. It's great for Nursing and Culinary Majors. The teachers are generally very nice and the school has a lot to offer if you don't mind the small town.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    medical/nursing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Annual crawfish boil free to students and families.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the student union, drive 20-30 mins down the road and catch a movie, check out the local park or the clubs around town, and join a sorority/fraternity.

    Food and Dining

    There are several opportunities for fine dining on and around Nicholls.

    Dorm Life

    Very comfy for the most part, pleasant people for the most part, but a bit expensive without financial aid.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll learn what you need to know while here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check around with other students for the best teachers and avoid housing on campus unless you can get a scholarship.

    In three sentences

    The tuition is pretty cheap and for most programs available it's worth what you do spend. Small classes mean better student-teacher relations. Overall, it's a very good school.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hide and Seek at Midnight on Saturdays, in the quad. Just saying.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is usually good food in my opinion, but it's usually better when we have guests or field trips. It's the main choice for your meal plan here, though.

    Dorm Life

    Again, simple and easy to get along with, as long as you are behaved and express your true personality.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and who teaches it, classes can be like a box of chocolates, you'll never know what you'll get, unless you ask someone more experienced who has had classes here before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and look for things that will interest you.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls is fun once you get used to living here and start expressing yourself to others within your major and even in your general education classes. Your major's classes will be more fun, more than likely after you've taken the prerequisites but don't give up no matter what. You will find things to do here, you just have to look for them and be yourself.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! Nice security and emergency areas in great quantity.

    Greek Life

    I don't participate in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Much to do. Art, history, math, music, sports and so much more!

    Bang for the buck

    Nicholls smaller classes definitively make me feel like I am getting my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There's a great downtown for the nightlife for such a rural school. There are many clubs and sports to participate in. Many people from all over the world to meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and do well your first semester. Look up teachers prior to taking classes,

    In three sentences

    Love the great atmosphere of the clean campus. I enjoy the small classes and more focused teacher-student education. It's a great form of Harvard on the Bayou!

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police circling around campus often and alert you when something has happened on campus

    Greek Life

    There's a handful or groups that you can rush for

    Clubs and Activities

    Most colleges offer organizations/clubs that you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are ready to learn

    Bang for the buck

    By attending all the services that are in your tuition will help to get your bang for the buck

    What to do for fun

    Attend all athletic games that interest you. Also, join a lot of organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There is a meal program offered in different locations on campus

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem old from the outside but i will be a commuter and not living on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide where and to what buildings you will be commuting from.

    In three sentences

    It's a seven out of ten scale. The campus buildings seem to be older then a lot of other campuses. Although, its very welcoming.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The union isn't that good but if you have the extra money and time during lunch, the cafeteria's food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms but I have only heard good things so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study alot and don't be too nervous to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the classes and helpfulness of the teachers. The classes have proven to be difficult but with the help of my teachers, I'm able to pass my classes. I have also enjoyed the school activities offered to us during the year such as the crawfish day and family day.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus cops patrol the parking lots throughout everyday.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always cooking up something good. Also in the student union, they have a sandwich shop and pizza place.

    Dorm Life

    Although I have never lived in the dorms, I have been in them. They are nicely decorated and makes students feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Nicholls State University has courses that challenge you to learn about your studies. Many majors, such as nursing, have hands on practice in the clinical setting for students.

    In three sentences

    If I were to rate Nicholls State University, I would give it a 10. I love that it's a small college with a wide variety of degrees. Being that it's a smaller college, staff are able to put in more one on one time with the students.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is pretty good around the campus. To be honest, there's nothing to really worry about. The area is pretty calm and safe. Everyone around is pretty loving and friendly!

    Greek Life

    I never had a chance to check out the Greek Life, but I've heard from others that it has changed their life. Things they wouldn't have did on a normal basis they did because of Greek Life. An by doing so, it made their college experience 10x better!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many different clubs to join as to helping other people or students, to just hosting events and having fun around the college.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love average size colleges. It's big enough to go around and enjoy ever aspect of the college and naturally not get lost and find your way around easily, but at the same time not too big as to the size would scare you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't been on campus much to get around the campus traditions but the faculty is extremely fun!

    Bang for the buck

    The money is well spent. There's something to do at all times and the food is absolutely amazing!

    What to do for fun

    There was pools which caught my interest. There's the student union which ALWAYS have something fun going on everyday. The GYM and sports looked fun to relax and have fun with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure about other colleges but the food is amazing. First day and it seemed like I went to a buffet at the cafe!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have been newly renovated, so everything is perfect!

    Academic Rigor

    None at all. Stay at the top of your game and always put your education first and college life will be fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus. Visit the student union and make new friends. Get the Nicholls experience and tour the campus.

    In three sentences

    A amazing college that's just what I expected. Looks perfect to spend my first 4 college years of my life. Campus life looks absolute amazing.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus housing department has great safety regulations. The campus in general has specific rules regarding the safety of everyone on campus. I have never had a problem with not feeling safe at Nicholls.

    Greek Life

    Greek life looks very fun. I attended a Greek competition this year and it was awesome to see everybody joining together to perform. My roommate is in a Sorority and she always tells us about the fun organizations they provide for the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nicholls has a ton of activities to get everyone involved. I have made plenty of new friends just from attending these activities. There are plenty of options for different groups with different hobbies to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, fun loving, open minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Jubilee Festival and Swamp Stomp Festival annually. Those are the best unique festivals at Nicholls and my highlights of the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is always a stressful issue at any college but it's all worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Nicholls State has many fun events on campus. Some include, concerts, plays, movie nights, poetry readings, fund raising, different themed parties and more. Attending these events gave me a better social life and on-campus experience.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of food options in the cafeteria. I just wish they would provide more quantities of healthier food items. The quality of the food is great most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    I applaud Nicholls for the awesome staff in the dorms. They are always willing to help us when we have a problem. I have had my share of unique roommates, but I only took a star off due to the environment in one of the dorms I stayed in before it was renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student who sometimes struggles with Academics, my opinion will not be biased. Nicholls has a good amount of standards for students to do well in class. They give you more than enough warnings for you to be motivated enough to pick your grades up or face the consequences.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to tell future students not to be nervous because at Nicholls State, everyone will welcome you with open arms. Do not judge the school by its location, there are many fun experiences awaiting you. Speak up if you need help, everyone in the faculty is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Out of the three years of attending Nicholls State University, I must say it was the most fun, eventful, and stressful times of my life. I have made a lot of new friends and have no complaints education wise. I am almost graduating and I couldn't have done it without Nicholls.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really awesome. I would eat every day in the cafeteria if I could, and the cafeteria is large.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in a dorm, but my friends who do love it. The dorms are nice and clean, and they have plenty of space.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challanging. You have to stay on top of your work in order to completely succeed. There are always assignments after assignments.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State is a nice quiet place, and everyone is so friendly. The professors are great and very helpful. The atmosphere is perfect for a college.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the best in the state.

    Greek Life

    I see Greek Life everywhere! Signs and posters everywhere, There are several types.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't really join any clubs yet but I can see them and trust me there is so much!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a school everyone, really. I walk around school and I see different types of students with same hobbies. There is all types of people here. There is no way you can feel left out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the students will have Humans vs. Zombies it will take over the course of a week. Humans will wear a bandana on their head and Zombies will wear it on their arms. Building are the only safe place. Humans are also able to shoot the zombies with nerf guns. So beware of Zombies even when you are changing classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I live on campus and have a meal plan and all together with my tuition is about 6500. Everything is pretty cheap here besides textbooks and such.

    What to do for fun

    They will always something to do! From movie nights to concerts, it's never a bore. Just the other night, my dorm had a movie night!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazing. I had ribs for breakfast! They would provide fresh fruits and stuff. The food is never the same everyday. They even have a coffee shop on campus! I go there all the time! Their blueberry muffins are to die for!

    Dorm Life

    I live in South Babington and we have fun EVERY night! The people here are so fun and friendly. There is never a boring night.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here don't baby you. You have to be able to do things on your own and be able to keep up with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your homework. Don't get caught up with all the events.

    In three sentences

    The people are very friendly and helpful. There's always something to do. Tuition isn't too bad.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, attend games for free.

    Food and Dining

    A wide variety of food options but the options of healthy food is very slim.

    Dorm Life

    A few activities but could be better. Seems like the only type of fun students have is off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good, teachers help one on one and the tutoring center is very helpful also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a daily routine to stay on top of your grades before classes consume you in.

    In three sentences

    This school is very beautiful. Teachers are very helpful both inside and outside class. Friendly environment to be in.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play pool, Human vs. zombies, 24 hour Walmart, Movie Nights, Karaoke, Bowling, Skating, Paintball, Mall, Movies, and Sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is always good, sometimes the cafeteria doesn't serve the greatest food but the colonel's retreat and jazzmans cafe is always there the save the day.

    Dorm Life

    Babington is probably the greater dorm than all the others because of it being the perfect median. Not too old and not very new. And the residents there are very engaged with one another, it's like a whole other family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your homework and classwork, otherwise your grades will slip without you even realizing it.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls state University is a small college in a small town. You'll make friends very quickly depending on how involved you are or even depending on where you reside. But other than that its tons of fun.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parties and basketball games

    Tips for prospective students

    just make sure it offers everything you are looking for

    In three sentences

    Great small collehe

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nicholls State University police are a headache. They fail at everything.

    What to do for fun

    In my dorm we have several gaming tournaments like Madden, 2K, UFC, etc. Sometimes we may even go shoot pool, or go to the recreational center and play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria definitely is not the best. Eating the same food everyday repetitively isn't good for the body nor do I like it.

    Dorm Life

    Whenever you live on campus, you just have to make the best of it.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what professors you have that will make your academic experience beneficial. Sometimes you'll have a bad teacher and have to teach yourself the information. That's just how college is.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first come to Nicholls you have to start off strong. If you come here and fool around the first month, you're just messing over yourself. It's easy to start off bad and hard to pick back up. Avoid that, handle your business right from the beginning to end. The parties are going to come and go, but your grades are most important.

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty small university in the city of Thibodaux, Louisiana. The professors definitely aren't the best but you can pass classes if you stay focused. The advisors seriously care about each student's future.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus employes University Police, made up of some of the finest men and women you will ever meet. There are also call boxes all over campus, that if an emergency happens, you are a push of a button from contacting the police. Also the school holds meetings with residents and staff on being safe and spotting unsafe situations.

    Greek Life

    There are tons to choose from. There is even a area in the union where these organizations can decorate and advertise themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    -SPA -NAACP -Accounting Club -International Club -WISE

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get a great education, with a small community, but also enjoys a little fun here and now.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall Nicholls is a great school. Its in a quiet area but the school works on giving its students fun activities to joy but in a safe way. I especially love, free Scranton day. People line up for them, especially if you have a exam you forgot about and need to grab one on the go. And there are lots of professors that will leave you in pure awe. Some of these people have affected my life and opened my mind in the greatest of ways and I thank them for that. This is one school that you may not hear about often, but once you leave it, you will not be able to stop talking about it. GO COLONELS!!!

    What to do for fun

    The campus have many activities that happen through out the week to engage its students. Things such as Movie nights, Crawfish Day, Throw a Pie at Professors Day, and so on.

    Food and Dining

    Nicholls not only offers cafeteria food, but a union full of other choices. Some of those choices would be a salad bar, sandwich shop(kind of like Subway), pizza place, Jazz-mans(coffee shop) and even Colonel Retreat(offer wings, burgers, and beer). Prices are a downside, all on campus residents have to buy a meal plan. If you stay in the dorms you can end up spending over 1400 on a meal plan alone. If you live in the apartments though you have an option of $500 declining balance.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms(also apartments) are very nice, though if you are not use to leaving with so many people, it can get crazy for you. The prices of some of the nicer building are very expensive. I suggest once you have attained over 30 hours, look into moving to Nicholls apartments(better value for your money)

    Academic Rigor

    Nicholls has a its fair share of easy and difficult courses. As long as you put in all the effort you can, you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Fully understand cost and make sure you stay in a budget. -Don't be afraid to use the tutoring center or see a counselor. -Study a little every day, but remember to give yourself some fun -Do everything you can to succeed. Take advantage of all Nicholls gives you

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State is a great community full of encouraging people, wonderful culture, and some of the best professors in the country. When you attend school here, you meet people that you will know for life. Though some classes can be difficult, the overall experience is great.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, union with a restaurant and a few quick eat booths and small supermarket on campus. I prefer bringing my own lunch because the options are not always the healthiest and very limited. I would seek living in an apartment and heading to the nearest grocery store, Rouse, and cooking my own meals.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter to Nicholls State University so can't say much about dorm life except the fact that my on campus living friends seemed to enjoy it very much so. There's pools for swimming, a tennis court, super nice basketball court in the newly built recreational center on campus which also has a full gym, showers, locker room, cafe, etc. Lots of fun activities on and off of campus as well as international students who like to make the most of college. Just put yourself out there and get involved!

    Academic Rigor

    Nicholls overall has a very well rounded education system. I suppose what degree you are pursuing would have an impact on the academic rigor specifically for you. Were there some tough classes, sure, but nothing you cannot conquer if you want it bad enough. This very dependent on the course and teacher you are enrolled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the people around you, in your classes and on around campus. Don't be bashful and ask questions. It can only benefit you throughout your time spent here at Nicholls. It is essential in meeting new friends, business partners, getting tips on future classes, study partners, job opportunities, scholarships and may even save you a few hundred dollars by borrowing books from others. My other suggestion is if you want to get something accomplished, be persistent and don't give up if you are turned away, keep going. Good things are bound to come from it.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State University offers a friendly, welcoming atmosphere where you can feel right at home. The University is filled with superb teachers whom you can build a great relationship with making your learning experience much more personal than larger universities. Although, Nicholls is mostly a commuter school for the students in the area, there are tons of colorful extracurricular activities to get involved in and make lasting friendships.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't focus on the partied that go on, but the degrees that are being handed out at the end of each school year

    In three sentences

    A clean. well kept facility Small and well equipped for students who need one-on-one attention Just right for a variety of students

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is one of the best decisions you will ever make I have made sisters that I will be friends with for a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room in the student union, the recreational center is also fantastic and brand new for exercising.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is always fresh. The food in the union snack bar is fresh as well. They have plenty of vending machines on the campus as well. Jazzmans had a great selection of food and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but from being in friends dorms they are very nice. They are kept clean. There are usually no problems with safety in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics are fantastic at Nicholls State University. They have many programs and degrees for students to choose from. The teachers are always there to help, yet they make it challenging for you to learn, so you get something out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early for parking because most parking spots are taken early. Apply early for campus jobs those go quick.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State University has a very safe and enviornmental friendly campus. All of the staff and teachers are willing to help you pass your classes. It is a small campus for a university, but it is perfect if you do not feel like going to a bigger university.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Best food in the region. Hands down

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful housing options; Very spacious and the housing staff are wonderful people

    Academic Rigor

    It's up to your motivation, but the environment is heavily engulfed with academics and professors to help you along the way

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your studies seriously, because your professors take you seriously Don't eat off campus and waste your buck, the cafeteria has amazing food You will make friends Stay positive because chances are the person walking by you is giving you a smile

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State University is where you want to be if you want a life-changing education. Located in the small town of Thibodaux, Louisiana, you are away from all the big-city school distractions that would hinder you from staying diligent with professors that keep you on track. If you want to become a prominent member of society, Nicholls State is where you want to be.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    if you are out of state, tuition is completely through the roof. its an additional $4000 a semester to go here

    Food and Dining

    I got sick many times due to the fact they reheat their food more than once and serve it multiple times until it is gone

    Dorm Life

    you will get locked out of your room many times in some halls by suitemates

    Academic Rigor

    professors don't help the students much and those that do, are never where they say they will be

    Tips for prospective students

    do NOT go here

    In three sentences

    The school is not worth going to if you have any sort of financial issues. they take forever to accept financial aid of those that need it most and they don't take enough to cover tuition. also, if you are having personal problems and it begins to affect your grades, the vice president of the school will tell you to suck it up and be an adult about it.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Scholars,Millet,and Zeringue are the best three residential halls.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying for housing, your top three dorm preferences should be Scholars, Millet, and Zeringue.

    In three sentences

    The people here are very friendly,especially the cafeteria workers. The dorms are nice to live in. There are many clubs/organizations to join.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nicholls State University has its own Campus Police Department, as well as Campus Police ready for any emergency. The Police Department also has students who ride around campus on golf carts with walkie talkies stationed at all dorm halls for safety of the students living on campus and walking around at night. Nicholls also offers a number of emergency poles with a button that is able to be pushed if an emergency occurs.

    Greek Life

    Although I do not participate, Nicholls has Greek Life for guys and girls of all kinds. Delta Zeta, SigmaSigmaSigma, and Phi Mu are a few girl options, while TKE, KA, and Sigma are some options for boys.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nicholls offers a number of activities and clubs for their students to join. Band, Cheerleading, Dance Team, Football, Softball, etc. are offered for people who have experience in these functions. SPA, SGA, NEAT, and NSSLA are a few options for clubs, but pretty much every major has a club for their students.

    Great for these types of students

    Nicholls is great for any type of student. There is something for everyone no matter what you like to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Marching Band begins every pre-game show in a big letter N formation, and moves into different positions while playing their music. Not unusual, but very traditional, is bid week for the sororities and fraternities. An unusual game that most students participate in is called zombies vs. humans. People go around campus wearing different colored bandannas to represent which team they are on. If a zombie touches a human, the human becomes a zombie, so on and so forth.

    Bang for the buck

    Nicholls tuition is much lower than other Universities I have researched. Besides Community Colleges, Nicholls is one of the cheapest routes to go. The cafeteria is a bit pricey, but you do get plenty of food. The Union is also a tad pricey, but again, the amount of food you would get is pretty much worth it. The surrounding area restaurants are very reasonable, which makes dining out easy as well. Books can be expensive, but rental and used options, make it cheaper to get your books for school.

    What to do for fun

    The Recreation Center, which is new to Nicholls campus is an awesome place to exercise, play football, baseball, tennis, or many other sports. There are bathrooms with showers, and lockers for personal items. Nicholls is also surrounded by different restaurants, bars, and stores, making it easy to find something to do. Houma is only about twenty minutes away and has a shopping mall, plus numerous clothing and specialty item stores. There is also a bowling alley and a movie theater in Houma for people who want to find something to do outside of Thibodaux.

    Food and Dining

    Nicholls State University's cafeteria offers a variety of different food to choose from. From themed cuisine to pizza and burgers, there is something for everyone. The cafeteria also offers a salad bar and a sandwich line for the health conscious athlete, so that there is something for everyone to munch on. The union also offers a variety of places to eat, including a salad buffet, sandwich shop, pizza place, and a burger joint. There is so much to choose from, you literally can eat something different each day of the week, not to mention the breakfast is delectable.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a dorm for a year, and it was one of the best experiences of my life. I met so many new people and was able to learn more about different cultures. Living in the International Dorm, also known as Zeringue Hall, I learned about people from France, England, Jordan, Russia, etc. I had so many friends and different experiences with each and every one of them. Dorm life is exciting, but it is harder to make sure your school work gets finished. Washing clothes, grocery shopping for goodies, and hanging out with people is hard to balance, but can be done!

    Academic Rigor

    Nicholls State University has a lot of classes that will challenge you, but it is worth it to do as well as you can in all classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, you are paying for it anyway, and it doesn't pay to miss classes when you have to make up more work. Teachers, for the most part, are on your side and will do whatever they can to help you, especially within your major. Don't worry about what other people are doing, be yourself and do what you feel is right.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls State University is an awesome place to meet new people, learn, and to get a degree from. Nicholls offers different sports, activities, and clubs that are available for students to enjoy themselves and meet new people. Nicholls also now has the new Recreation Center, where there are tons of opportunities for exercise, playing sports, and interacting with others.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus was rated one of the safest in all of Louisiana(or the US) I believe. Which I think is great :)

    Greek Life

    They have three sororities and so fraternities. They are all pretty fantastic and really want to make a difference for their philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have over 100 organizations at Nicholls so really, anyone could find somewhere they belong. Plus, you'll never get bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have the Eternal Flame which is lit all year except for the summer. I think it's really neat.

    Bang for the buck

    Nicholls is one of the cheaper schools in Louisiana. But you really get your money's worth. The classes are wonderful and most of the teachers are willing to help anyone in need. Which to be is the bang for my bucks.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends. But I do love to walk around campus, also.

    Food and Dining

    First off, they have a great Cafeteria. They always have food. Plus, the cafeteria ladies are super sweet. :) They have other places you can eat like the Colonels Retreat. That place seriously has the best chicken fingers. The only downfall is that your food may take awhile to get to you.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms, personally. I live in the newer ones and they always make me feel like home. The bulletin boards always show that something going on and if there is something you need to know, it's probably up there. The people that sign you into the dorms are some of the friendliest people I've met at Nicholls.

    Academic Rigor

    I would imagine every college has it's challenging classes. Just gotta push through the classes. In most cases, as long as you try your best, you should be fine. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small campus, which is great! But always bring an umbrella! (Somehow I always forget mine when it rains!) Take a campus tour on a gorgeous day at Nicholls and you won't regret it. The scenery around the campus is heavenly.

    In three sentences

    Nicholls is a beautiful place to be. You can make friends so easily and they always have something going on. Don't miss out!

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student union is a great place to meet new people and socialize. Also student have been know to arrange movie nights in the lobby and invite the whole dorm.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is healthy and nutricional. However if your the type of person that like to cheat on your diet you can come too. The student cafe has a burger grill, sandwich/wrap deli, and pizza buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Ellender dormitory is a co-ed suite style facility. Each suite can house up to four student. Two of the four students will share one side of the suite each with there own bed, work space, outlet, and closet. There are four dryers and washers located down stairs near the main lobby, one fully equipped kitchen area, and a large open lobby with a TV area and pool table.

    Academic Rigor

    I can say the work load was manageable and not really difficult. Treat all assignments like a challenge and tackle them head on. procrastination will be your greatest down fall

    Tips for prospective students

    Sitting in the front of class is encouraged. Being in the front allows you to build a relationship with your teacher. If you are an active learner in the classroom you can actively study in your dorm room.