Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Normandale Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for anyone that is not sure what they want to major in; want to start with generals to save money on those courses when they transfer; for people that want to earn more education for work; and pretty much anyone that wants to further their education should start here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for your courses early when you can, courses fill up fast. Order your books as soon as you can, and pick them up before your courses start. If you are an independent student, take at least one online course. They are good because you get the whole semester's assignments, and due dates, and you can work at your own pace. But make sure you get your assignments in on time!!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a community college, so the price is determined based on what courses you apply for and the number of credits you have. Courses can be anywhere from one (1) to five (5) credits. If you apply for financial aid, you could get most of it covered.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being here. I've taken a variety of courses that go towards my generals.

    Am learning a lot

    I am, but I did take a couple courses that were similar to those that I have taken in high school.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy small interactive classrooms will love Normandale. With such a small campus it is a fun place to relax and meet new people in the student center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships right away. To become familiar with the building take a tour of the place or get involved in PSEO in your High School as it is an easy way to get credits and stay ahead of schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarships available which make going to Normandale inexpensive. Many people that I know have attended Normandale for free based on their financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small enough that it is easy to find where you have to be. There are many opportunities to get involved in intramural activities whether your interests be sports or other clubs such as drama or science.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes the teachers at Normandale are very helpful and friendly. Normandale is a good cheap alternative to traditional 4 year colleges. Some of my past teachers have been teachers at st. Thomas and the university of Minnesota as well.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    ncc just expanded with a new building with a new cafeteria. the food is delicious and there is plenty of space.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the professor, college courses can either be really simple or be really challenging. either way, you will have to do your part in order to obtain the grade you wish to have.

    Tips for prospective students

    manage your time wisely, ask questions no matter how stupid you may think it is.

    In three sentences

    it's a good school because the professors are available for questions. it challenges you. it's a decent size for an individual to make friends and form study groups if necessary.

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Normandale is great for students who still want to live at home, or for those who don't know yet what they want to major in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships as soon as possible! Pay attention in class, do your work, and study for exams. In college, it is hard to get points, and many professors don't give you many opportunities to earn them. Often times the only opportunity to earn points is on exams.

    Bang for the buck

    Normandale is a great, cheaper alternative to a four year college. You can take classes at a less expensive price, and if you choose you can transfer your credits to a four year college!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how close Normandale is to my home. I enjoy taking classes here and hanging out in the Kopp Student Center.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors are very knowledgable and eager to help. I am taking a lot of science and math courses so I can major in Biology, and go on to pharmacy school.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety can be very helpful if you need a jump-start on your car.

    Bang for the buck

    depends completely on the teacher.

    What to do for fun

    there are many options of things to do with all of the clubs and the kopp student center.

    Tips for prospective students

    a tip use rate my professor to get the best match for your learning personality.

    In three sentences

    normandale is a great place to get general education done in the twin cities area. could use improvement on parking but this will be completed by fall 2012 according to the emails. many nice professors and helpful staff.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The security team is always around and they patrol all of the parking lots. It's really well lit at night and security can be reached from campus phones or they have a direct number. They are also very friendly and the location in a suburb helps. I feel safe walking to the back parking lot at 9 at night by myself, they have lit paths that you can see from quite a distance.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many options! And you can even start your own club if you have ten people who want to do it with you and the school even gives each club a budget for each semester.

    Great for these types of students

    If you aren't sure what you want to do with your life or you are just returning to school its a great place to explore interests and get back into the college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a beautiful Japanese Garden on the north side of campus that is a great place to relax and hang out with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome! The tuition and fees for one semester with 15 credits is about $3,000 dollars, and most people think that because its community college the classes aren't as good but that's totally untrue. The teachers and courses are very challenging.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and extra-curricular activities to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    They just put in a new dining wing with four different areas to choose from and everything is made fresh in front of you. They also have a health bar and two different coffee spots in other places on campus. Its good food and you get a lot for what you pay for.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors are very dedicated to what they do and most of them still participate in the activities in which they teach so they are very up to date and expect a lot from students. They expect you to do the work and if you have questions you have to ask, they won't baby anyone regardless of age.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to get generals done it's a really cheap way to do it and they transfer almost anywhere in the country. Also try classes that you might be curious about because it's not only cheap but it allows you to explore new areas of interest without paying thousands to try new things.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is a great starter school for anyone interested in just starting with their generals. They have many great programs and areas of interest for you to explore and they are very diverse. Transfer to other Minnesota colleges and universities is also made very easy through their MNTC program.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's public safety that tickets you for smoking to close to the doors.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    High school dropouts or GED holders.

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty affordable with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Go home?

    Food and Dining

    One small cafe which I have never eaten at. And a few vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very hard, unless you get a crappy teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for another high school-ey experience.

    In three sentences

    Not a very fun school to attend, but useful if you are just trying to take generals. Classes aren't very hard, but when the teachers aren't very tech savvy it's hard to keep track of your grades.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been any student safety incidents at Normandale since I have been attending. At least a 2 or 3 times a day you will see a campus police officer or two patrolling the halls/parking lots; which I imagine is a good deterrent for any potential trouble makers

    Greek Life

    The only Greek organization at Normandale is the Phi Theta Kappa honor society. Normandale has the Alpha Kappa Alpha chapter of PTK.

    Clubs and Activities

    anything from dance, to politics, is in the list of Normandale clubs and organizations

    Great for these types of students

    STEM majors, language majors, English majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Normandale does have a traditional Japanese garden on the north side of campus

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition rates at Normandale are AMAZING compared to local 4 year institutions. In many cases the tuition at Normandale is less than half that of tuition at a 4 year institution while taking the same courses.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student organizations there for students to get involved in; such as math club, pottery club, tae kwon do, dance, etc

    Food and Dining

    Normandale did just renovate the student center and the cafeteria; so the dining options there are phenomenal

    Academic Rigor

    class toughness is generally straight forward for Normandale classes. The basic intro classes (i.e. freshmen comp, college algebra, U.S. history, etc.) are very straight forward in how the material is taught; all you need to do is to take general notes and you will pass the class. But, in upper level classes (i.e. organic chemistry, calculus based physics, etc.) those classes can be very challenging at times; which is to be expected for upper level course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to make an appointment with an academic advisor as soon as you can; just to make sure that you have at least a basic check list of what classes you need to take to get your major. Go to the scholarship office as well, because I am sure that students will find at least a scholarship or two that fits to their planned career.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small enough that you are able to have a very in depth relationship with your teachers and classmates, but it is large enough that you don't feel crowded when walking through the halls. Every teacher in that school shares the same genuine interest of wanting their students to not only pass a class, but to excel in the material so much that they could teach others about it. The diversity at Normandale is so vast that students not only get an academic education, but a world education.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you keep your belonging with you, you should have no problems. Security is constantly roaming the parking lots and the buildings.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in the Black Student Alliance (BSA) which focuses on bringing students of African decent together and becoming leaders to better the school and community. Many clubs help the school. Finding people with similar traits as you can help you find friends as well as looks great on a college application or scholarship.

    Great for these types of students

    No matter if you prefer arts, math, history, music or embracing about your culture there is a club for you and a class that fits your preferences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the very last week of school a out door fun day was held which had barbeque food catered from a restaurant, kareoke, and games, and a hot wing eating contest which stirred up a huge crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    The counseling office might end up being your best friend the way in ended up being mine. The counselors are friendly and answer your questions and help fix your problems.

    What to do for fun

    The student Kopp has a pool table that students actively engage in daily. The school store hold just about every craving for a snack you may have. The Kopp center is a place to meet new friends, hang out with current friends and relaxing place to be in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat much because i tend to bring my own snacks and lunch to save money, but the food i do eat there is cooked by a chef in front you of, you have the power to add and take out ingredients which you do not desire.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community collede.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors provide me with the tools to learn, and when I still don't understand what is being taught, the tutoring center and math center assist me greatly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give yourself a tour before the day of your classes to get familiar with the school and where your classes will be. Be on time, unlike high school if you're not on time no one is there to hold your hand and tell you what you missed. Be friendly, no one likes a new school, so make friends as well as people that have attended previously.

    In three sentences

    Normandale Community College tutoring center has provided me with the skills and assistance to obtain higher grades. The school is welcoming with information and helps desks. The many food stands keep me nourished with the calories I need to stay energized to continue learning.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Have a wide range of activities and clubs ranging from diversity clubs, dance club to profession clubs such as Nursing club and technology club. Those who want to set up their own club can easily done so with the help of the students' working there.

    What to do for fun

    Go to gym to play a wide range of sports such as soccer, badminton, volleyball, basketball... or can go to work out which is next to the gym. In the summer, if you prefer enjoying the nice weather and feeling the late afternoon breeze, there is a beautiful Japanese Garden for students to enjoy the serenity of the combination of water, trees, bridges, rocks...

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage into building up relationship with your professors such as comming to class and ask questions during and outside of class time. Try to balance time so you have a good chunk of time to study and don't get behind reading schedule. Always stay ahead of the game such as know your assignments' due dates in advance or any other major projects so you can plan out accordingly. Beside focusing on academic, I encourage you to have at least one extracurricular activities and clubs in the campus as a way to gain experiences while release stress from school's work.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice, friendly and a supportive place for two-year degree or transferable credits. The staffs are excellent and knowledgeful as well as supportive and dedicated. The school is expanding and more and more students are comming into the school.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfamiliar.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working busy people!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Japanese garden behind campus is beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    Very fun place!

    What to do for fun

    Normandale is very close to a mall with lots of fun items located around it!

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the dining center, but they just built a brand new eatery.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus dorms at Normandale.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Normandale is a very challenging, but it isn't difficult if you maintain your studies on an active level.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that you do your research and make sure Normandale is the right place for you.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is a fun and exciting place to learn. The atmosphere is very inviting and leaves a good impression on students. I love going to college here.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe if you don't believe me check out the crime report on the school web page.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    GSSA (gay straight student alliance), Diversity, Juggling, Young Democrates, Young Republicans, Arcialogy, Black Student Alliance, Student Senate, Latino club, break dancing club, creative writing club, their are plenty of others the school hosts.

    Great for these types of students

    All around if you want to learn come to Normandale.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The GSSA that I am involved in has hosted a Drag Show on a yearly basis. Various other clubs host events as well such as the Latino club hosts a Cinco De Mayo celebration.

    Bang for the buck

    Tell a little more about my self? or the school?

    What to do for fun

    I volunteer at a local hospital, lift weights, hang out with friends, preform stand up comedy as well as help with ESL.

    Food and Dining

    Take it or leave it. I bring a lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    Their is no Dorm life all students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Class can be difficult depending what you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid distractions such as facebook. Ask for help when needed. Get involved with the school in various programs.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is a school that the teachers care for the students. Their is a fantastic academic help center. It is a welcoming environment.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to play sports, enjoy the campus scenery, or just hang out with friends (they are so easy to make at Normandale).

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and currently expanding!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there is not a dorm life, yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your assignments. This is a great tip for any prospective college student anywhere, but more importantly at Normandale because if you don't, it's impossible to catch up.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is an exceptional place to be if you are desiring to gain excellent skills in and out of the classroom at the college level. Their main focus is to gain a better understanding.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus security patroling the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to further their education and save some money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a Japanese garden with a giant koi pond.

    Bang for the buck

    They always seem to be trying to improve different aspects of the school.

    What to do for fun

    You can play a game of pool, hang out in the lounge or at one of the cafes, or even check out the Japanese gardens.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafes and meal options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of everything and always ask for help when you need it. Asking for help sooner than later is always better.

    In three sentences

    Normandale Community College has amazing Professors. They are always reachable by phone, email, or in person. The school does a great job in assisting its students.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes are not too difficult, so I think the cost is worth it, not too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I like to utilize the outdoor seating areas between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is food available all over the school, which is nice and the hours seem to be good as well.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    I am 30 years old, so I do not find the classes as challenging as some younger students do. Some classes are more difficult than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    I make sure to look at Ratemyprofessor.com people put pretty good advice on the teachers there. Get to class early so you can find parking.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending Normandale. It is an easy school to navigate. I have really liked most of my teachers, some I didn't care for, but they were in their last year before retiring.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Normandale has a STEM academy that is very interactive and the mentors are available. In addition to being a great asset for information, they also offer books to rent and scholarship options for Science and Math degree students.

    What to do for fun

    Exercising and working out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Only one little coffee shop and a cafeteria, but so far the food has been pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but assistance is always available and teachers give great responses over email.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a calculator and notebooks well in advance. Take the time to scout out were classes are before your first day, or you might make a bad first impression.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is absolutely awesome. My classes have been challenging and enlightening, and the teachers are interactive and helpful. The counselors are always helpful and willing to sit down with you on short notice

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    limited, but available

    Great for these types of students

    students who are looking to save money, students who want an AA, students who want to transfer into a 4-year college, and students who feel like they need a clean new slate from high school

    Bang for the buck

    reasonably prices courses and now has convient free parking and shuttle

    What to do for fun

    very few clubs, but enough to touch base on the primary ones like theater and other arts, as well as math.

    Food and Dining

    nothing much to eat on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, and the professor. But I definitely learned a lot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and you will do very well. Research professors before registering for courses.

    In three sentences

    You will get your best value from this school. The location is in a nice area. The class sizes are small and transfer to most major universities.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have nothing to say but only one word : completely safe!

    What to do for fun

    You can play billiards, watch movies, or surfing the Web in the Kopp Student Center. This is a brand new and modern-looking Student Center. The center is the pride of Normandale students!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is an unprecedented experience! They have got all traditional, American food as well as others from countries around the world.

    Dorm Life

    Since I live with my mom and dad in an apartment, I am not sure how great the dorm life is

    Academic Rigor

    The demand from the teachers is very high. If you don't focus and do your homework daily, you will be failing right away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get prepared with your English and your Math to ace the Accuplacer (a kind of assessment test you must take before you enter Normandale). Then the rest is all up to you to study!

    In three sentences

    Normandale Community College is a great place for me to learn! It saves tuition fee for you since it is just one third of the University's price. Most importantly, you can get lectures from teachers with PhD degree just like at the University of Minnesota.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Personally, I find Normandale to be safe. It's a comfortable environment, and many people here get along well. There are also security guards on campus who go around and are constantly on the watch or on patrol as well, which adds on to the safety here at Normandale.

    Greek Life

    By Greek Life, I will explain the honors society that we have here at Normandale. Our chapter here is Phi Theta Kappa, and it is a wonderful organization for students who meet the requirements. They offer a plethora of transfer-scholarships that makes Phi Theta Kappa worth it!

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities here at Normandale are thriving. There are plenty of club organizations here that meet at school, and are open to everyone. If you want to participate and get to know fellow students here, you'll for sure be able to do so just by joining a club and being active. I'd especially recommend Phi Theta Kappa, Student Senate, and Dance club, (just to name a few!)

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, Normandale has grown to become diverse in all aspects, like ethnicity, wealth, background, and so forth. I recommend Normandale to anyone, especially those who wish to complete their generals or Associate's Degree without being in as much debt as they would be if they attended another state/private university. Normandale is all about good quality education for an affordable price, and they truly do live up to that expectation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Normandale recently constructed the Kopp Center, which is a popular place for students to hang out, study, and socialize. It's right next to our campus store, which sells a wide variety of things from food, to clothes, or electioncs, as well as two cafes. This is where the pool tables, modern furnishings, and awesome view of the Japanese Garden is located. It is honestly always filled with students, and is a great place to relax and socialize.

    Bang for the buck

    Normandale offers courses for very cheap prices compared to state or private universities. Not only is it affordable, but the classes as well as professors are of high quality. I seriously recommend Normandale if you are interested in working out your generals or Associate's Degree in an affordable way.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities that you can do for fun and leisure here at Normandale. Besides a plethora of computers that can be used for studying or the internet (yes, Facebook), there are pool tables on campus, club activities, the Japanese Garden (which is beautiful, I suggest checking it out on Google), and many events that Normandale's Program Board hosts such as karaoke!

    Food and Dining

    Normandale has recently undergone some new, and fantastic changes. There is now an excellent cafeteria that serves a wide variety of food and drinks that are of great quality. Also, throughout campus, there are even more vendors that sell just as high quality of food. The price is not all that bad for what you are getting. I highly recommend the pasta here! It's amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, there are no dorms. However, the reason why I would rate this 3/5 is because there are plenty of apartments and town-homes in the Bloomington area. If you are interested in housing nearby, it will not be difficult to find a place.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the courses here at Normandale are excellent. They can be challenging, and will require a lot of effort and hard work. Here, it is necessary to be organized and to keep up with your classes. Good grades, equals good effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest meeting and planning with an academic adviser early on in your educational career. Also, when searching for what professor or class you might want to take, I advise you check out www.ratemyprofessors.com for tips and advice from those who have taken those subjects/professors. It helped me, and I hope it helps you as well!

    In three sentences

    Normandale Community College is an excellent choice for those who wish to complete their generals and transfer, or to complete their Associate's Degree. The courses and professors here are of great quality, and the tuition is affordable compared to state or private universities. I highly recommend this community college.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Normandale has a great community, with dozens of groups and clubs. It has a wide variety of courses available in the evenings as well as day courses. There's a beautiful recently added student center to relax and lounge in.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of anything bad happen here.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you take any activities it is what you put in it, that is what you will get out of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Who are willing to learn, and have an open mind about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal per credit.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs can be fun, or hanging out with classmates during free time.

    Food and Dining

    It tastes okay.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. I do not live at school, so i'm not sure how good it is to be honest.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what classes you are taking, and what your strengths can be. It can definitely work you out if you struggle with math, but don't worry the teachers will help you if you ask. Again, depends on how many classes you decide to take at one time, it is up to you and your level of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to study for a career field which you enjoy doing. Normandale has many options for you to choose from, so take your time. Do not overload with school take two classes to start, then work your way up. Most of all have fun learning.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school because its cost per credit is low. Plus, the teachers here are very helpful when needed. I also enjoy that my classes are not to cramped with many people. It is a great place to be.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are are several cafes within Normandale. They are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Normandale has some really good teachers that push their students but some that don't require much effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use resources like counselors and tutors. Make sure you are taking the credits that you need to in order to finish your degree or transfer.

    In three sentences

    Normandale Community College is a cheaper alternative to the standard university. It has many benefits such as small classrooms and caring professors. Defiantly worth your time.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full time security staff on campus and no violent activities on campus ever. 5 star rating for security.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students coming out of the military or older students coming back to grow their skill set. Also a great place to go for kids coming out of high school who aren't sure what they want to do for a career.

    Bang for the buck

    At ninety dollars a credit Normandale is a great place to get your necessary classes under your belt before you declare for your major. It also prepares the older student for the transition to a 4 year school. One other thing, free parking!

    What to do for fun

    Normandale CC does have a football team, the lions they play every Saturday during the fall season and win more than they lose. There are plenty of clubs to partake in even though its a community college, including chess club, fitness clubs, book clubs and travel clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria at Normandale CC. However there are plenty of food stands with healthy choices as well as fast food items.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic challenges are easily overcome at Normandale CC. The professors are easily accessible and ensure each student is properly prepared if the student applies oneself. With a school load of 1 hour out of class for every hour in class a student can ensure an A grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of becoming a student at Normandale the process is not as intimidating as once thought. The financial aide office is very helpful walking prospective students through the loan process. The records office is very accommodating in making sure prospective students have all the necessary documentation.

    In three sentences

    Normadale is a forward thinking, progressive community college where they allow the process of becoming a student after a long hiatus a possibility. This first rate community college is well laid out, and easy to navigate. Any rating below 5 stars out of 5 stars would be doing the college an injustice.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is VERY safe. There are a few security people but i don't see them very often. I feel more safe at school then I do at the Mall of America bus station. It's a lot more safe than other colleges because there are people there who are determined and dont have time to mess around.

    Greek Life

    I know they have Phi Beta Kappa. I know they have a couple more groups but i don't really know much about them, but they have lots of booths, and tables that give out a lot of information about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in too many clubs but they have many clubs on campus. The college wants all of its students to be involved. There are religious, athletic, political, and educational clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Normandale is great for students who are not sure about what they want to do in life. It is an excellent place to discover what you want your major to be. It is also affordable enough to not have too much debt after leaving the college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really like the Japanese Garden. It is so pretty in all seasons and it is a great place to just reside and meditate. It is very peaceful and an excellent place to think.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is excellent. I do not currently pay for my own tuition but it is amazing compared to other Universities. The books on the other hand are extremely expensive. I think they could be so much cheaper than what they really are.

    What to do for fun

    I am going to be in a volleyball class next semester which I think is extremely fun. We also have pool tables, clubs, and different activities the students can go to in their spare time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. The taste is delicious and I haven't tasted anything gross yet.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms here at Normandale. It is a community college. But there are student apartments across the street from the school that are very convienent for those who may not want to travel from a long way.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are incredible and you really learn and uncover things you may not have realized in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register ahead for your classes because there is a better chance of getting the time of class you want. It is not good to be on a waiting list from the beginning so be sure to know your correct courses in advance. Get a lancer rewards card so you get free food sometimes in the cafeteria.

    In three sentences

    Big enough school to get around easily without crowded hallways but small enough to know a lot of people. The academics gets you caught up with everything that you may have not understood in high school. The classes are easy enough to pass with an A.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt threatened, been threatened, or worried about my safety or the safety of my peers. I know there are security guards but in the two years that I've been at Normandale I haven't seen two students so much as yell at one another. I do believe that if anyone did feel threatened, and they told ANY employee, that person would be given immediate assistance.

    Greek Life

    As a two year institution there are only two Fraternities that I know of on Normandale. Both are for students with high academic achievement.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a plethora of clubs and organizations. If you have a hobby or an interest, there are people at Normandale who will have that interest too.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Normandale attempts to reach all generals studies students. More recently I believe they've begun the groundwork for a lot of selective and cooperative degree focuses in line with four year institutions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the summer there are a lot of outdoor areas to find. Inside, all around the campus, there are benches, seats, tables, and alcoves where large or small groups can meet and associate. Watch out for the L300 classrooms. They're on the top floor of the library and you won't see them unless you actually go into the library and ascend the stairs. Don't be shy, get in there!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like every class I've been in has given me more, never less, than what I've put into it, and that includes monetary values.

    What to do for fun

    There's a plethora of clubs and organizations. If you have a hobby or an interest, there are people at Normandale who will have that interest too.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria. Lots of food choices. Lots of seating. Lots of nooks to disappear into. You may be in the middle of a lunch room but it feels like you're in a small diner.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have always felt challenged. The classes I've had have expected its students to read, write, and do an assortment of projects and assignments. This is a works based style of academia.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized. Take your professors as serious as you expect them to take you. If you have questions, don't be afraid to ask, everyone on staff is happy to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is a warm school with great professors. It's very diverse and has great resources. The computer lab, student center, library, cafeteria and gym make it a comfortable place to spend your whole day.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many activities to take part in at the school.

    Food and Dining

    There are many choices but also they could have some more healthier options

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This is a good college to show you what life is more like. It is challenging but the teachers are also there to help you out along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try the Minnesota transfer curriculum.

    In three sentences

    I think this is a good transition college to find out what you are interested in while also continuing your education.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food, very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents.

    In three sentences

    This college is great. The students here are very sweet and kind, as well as the teachers. The learning environment is great here.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras are installed in numerous areas. Security is super friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Japanese Garden that actually has fish!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    This campus offers various on campus work-study opportunities that allow you to study and work at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    Numerous clubs: badminton, volleyball, basketball, soccer, yu-gi-oh, chess, latino, etc. Check out the website at Normandale.edu

    Food and Dining

    This school has a juice bar, a small and medium cafe like area, and a cafeteria with a grill, Asian section, salad area, and pizza area.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and has no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a positive attitude for success. Meet new people, make new friends, and be willing to add something to the late. Be willing to learn and change.

    In three sentences

    This is a very diverse school so it has a lot of culture. It has a very positive atmosphere with numerous places to meet people and numerous study areas (about 6 computer centers)!

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Tips for prospective students

    To be successful just study hard and hard

    In three sentences

    It's the best place to learn!

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I couldn't feel any safer. There are codes and security for everything. Not too much to disturb life, but enough to feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, indecisive, listeners and achievers.

    Bang for the buck

    In great proximity and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    See a main stage production.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is delicious and nutritious. A winning team.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but living with family will help you save up.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as though I am being challenged intellectually as well as academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep track of due dates and fees. They can creep up on you. Dates in the mirror are closer than they appear.

    In three sentences

    Diversity at its finest. This school encompasses the truth behind its mission. I feel very comfortable beginning my post-secondary education here.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have security who walks in campus and drives around the parking lots

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS OF THEM

    Great for these types of students

    TRANSFER PSEO PEOPLE LOOKING FOR TWO YEAR DEGREES/CERTIFICATES

    Bang for the buck

    Defiantly beats a four year university in price for your generals! half the cost, sometimes even more depending on the college

    What to do for fun

    The Student Koop Center and the Japanese Garden are the places to be, pool tables, gaming systems, computers, chill areas, relaxing, hang out spot for most students

    Food and Dining

    Good food! They have a lot of restaurants to choose from, you can find some really cheep and fresh food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, you live off campus, but they do have a lot of really nice apartments near by!

    Academic Rigor

    Normandale has some very tough teachers who will push your ability to learn. Their science department has a lot of very knowledgeable professors who will expect you to learn a lot more on your own, but are always there to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Normandale if you are undecided on a major, want to save money on generals, or if you just want to get a two year degree. It maybe a community college but that doesn't mean that it is not accredited or any easier, so you still need to try your best!

    In three sentences

    Normandale is a very nice college if you are looking at starting off your generals at a community college. They school is very transferable with most of it credits to Minnesota four year universities. The class are also a lot smaller so it is an easier transition from high school to a sense of what college classes will be like.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not part of any clubs but they have a lot of different ones to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not aware of any

    Bang for the buck

    I am paying out of pocket for the courses I am taking at Normandale and have been able to do so with no problems so far. There are also financial aid options for those that go that route.

    What to do for fun

    There are pool tables in one of the recreation areas, there is also a gym for those that want to work out. There are multiple outdoor areas to sit or walk around in the summer time.

    Food and Dining

    Multiple options for getting food and drink.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes you want to take and apply early to ensure that you get the time and days you want/need.

    In three sentences

    Tuition at Normandale is very reasonable. The options for different classes is good and the class sizes are small which allows for professors to help students succeed. Overall I have been satisfied with my experience so far at Normandale.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is all over the parking lots which is nice because everyone drives to campus, and security cameras help keep an extra eye out.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about it but there is a club that is called PHI, and you have to be invited to it by the dean for academic excellence.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of, from juggling, to break dancing, to even cooking and sewing.

    Great for these types of students

    The majority of the crowd is young 20s late teen, but the older students that attend Normandale seem to fit in just fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Karaoke day is always pretty neat, and many of the student like to participate in card games and even video game tournaments.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money for the type of education and perks you're getting from this facility.

    What to do for fun

    Loads of clubs, make some friends, and some pretty neat elective classes that I've gotten to try out.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices range from fast food to a salad bar. Most of it seems to be pretty healthy, especially since you can see the cooks dishing it up for you on the spot.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, which is AWESOME! I feel like I'm free to do whatever I want whenever i want. just like it should be.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are tough on you, but most of them aren't going to sit back and watch you fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to talk to some of the students on campus, they are usually very nice and understanding in the kind of circumstances that you live in. Also try to register for required classes first; they go quick.

    In three sentences

    This was the perfect choice school for me being a full time worker and a full time student. The time that I put into school works perfectly with my crazy busy schedule, and I can still find time to live my life. I save money, and I feel like I'm still getting the best education that this country has to offer.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in the commons you can play pool, sit and watch tv or play on your computer, if you desire peace you can go for a walk in the Japanese garden.

    Food and Dining

    the new addition of the commons and all the food are great

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    not to tough, it all depends on the classes you choose

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a sweater, even if it is hot outside. Arrive 30 min before your class so you can find parking.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school. When there is a problem with your account it take days to resolve and they send you in circles trying to fix it.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Student life is pretty good. Games, events, clubs, lots to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    They have awesome food in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Normandale

    Academic Rigor

    It feels like 13th grade most of the time, but there are many worthwhile teachers.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres a lot of cafes, and restaurants close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    It's easy finding healthy options, the cafeteria has a lot of options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish your registration and Financial Aid applications months ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to navigate. The teachers and staff are pretty helpful. There is a lot of resources.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Normandale offers an excellent education for a reasonable price.

    Food and Dining

    Because Normandale does not have dorms, the food and dining is limited.

    Dorm Life

    Normandale does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Normandale offers a wide variety of challenging classes, especially for a community college. Students who meet the criteria for Honors Classes also have the option of taking classes with a high academic standard.

    In three sentences

    Normandale is an excellent school. The teachers are knowledgeable, the class sizes are small, and the education is thorough. Overall, Normandale offers a quality education at a low cost.