Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

North Carolina Wesleyan College (NCWC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students who are serious about their studies. If you want to party your way through college, plan to go somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you have all financial aid information together. If you are having trouble in your classes, go visit you professor in his or her office; they are more than willing to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    Not a lot on campus to do, but you can find something you'll enjoy spending your time with.

    Am enjoying being here

    The friends you make here will make your time here worth while. The campus feel like one big family and everyone pretty much knows one another.

    Am learning a lot

    Because this is a small campus, the professors have a better opportunity to answer as many questions as possible as well as have more one on one time with each student.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is improving so much! We just got our first on-campus cop, and they installed much more lighting and are trying to bring more security cameras to the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are various sororities & fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many. I really don't know them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Small-town residents, determined academic-types, athletes, international students, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this rock that everyone paints on... It's kinda cool... oh, and there's the Refuge Super-Bowl party every year! Now THAT'S fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let details ruin your entire experience. The reason I say this is because no college is perfect. I hear students complain about the same things at a large private school I was going to go to. Be optimistic.

    What to do for fun

    Rocky Mount doesn't really have much: there's a mall, a movie theater, a roller-skating ring and some putt-putt places. If you're looking to SAVE some money however, really pay attention to your email! They send out one every week that shows all the different activities going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It's kinda hit and miss in the cafeteria. Some days are absolutely amazing, while others make you want to walk to McDonald's! Just be wary...

    Dorm Life

    When I first came here, it was kinda sketchy. Thankfully though, the Housing office is doing all they can to improve the quality of dorm life! Otherwise, I would not still be living here.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here will more than challenge you. They make you think. There may be one or two you need to avoid, but most will devote their time to you and will teach you and stretch you the best they know how.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a look at the education itself in making your decision. That is what is going to get you a job someday, not the activities on campus.

    In three sentences

    The education itself is pure quality. The dorms are okay depending on where you stay. Try not to eat in the cafeteria on certain days, but mostly it's fine.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an Police Officer who lives on campus in one of the dorm apartments and we also have a Security Officer who is on call all hours of the day and night.

    Greek Life

    We have 2 Sororities and 2 Fraternities here on campus and they meet once a month for Greek Council. They are a great group of people and love to have fun!!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs here that you can get involved in and you should really take advantage of them all. A few out of the many are: SAC, FCA, and SGA.

    Great for these types of students

    NCWC is wonderful for Student Athletes because we have a magnificent athletic programs as well as a work out room and weight room.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The President of Wesleyan gives each Freshmen a chess piece, the Bishop. And he tells us to place it on our desk or dresser as a piece of motivation. And when we walk across the stage to graduate he wants us to give it back to him as a statement of I did it, I finished. It is a really creative thing and really does keep me personally motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    NCWC is a wonderful community to be involved in and it is a great way to spend your college time. I love attending NC Wesleyan. Go Bishops!!!

    What to do for fun

    Our campus has many organizations that host events throughout the week. On almost every Friday there is a dance hosted by one of the clubs. Along with that we have volleyball and basketball tournaments and other fun activities. In the Hartness Center there is a gaming system for the students to play XBox or Wii and they also have pool tables, a ping pong table and music; periodically tournaments for these will be held as well.

    Food and Dining

    All the servers at the cafeteria are very sweet and love to serve you. The food is nutritional and there is always plenty of options to choose from. Along with the cafeteria we have a Starbucks in our library that serves all types of coffees and goodies! During the evening we also have the Grill where you can go get a late dinner. The Grill has many choices and a large menu of diverse items.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are being renovated so they are going to be looking superb sometime soon. Overall you have lots of storage options for your clothing and other items.

    Academic Rigor

    Our Professors are extremely wonderful teachers, they enjoy questions and want to help you succeed. Every one of them has an open door policy and enjoys meeting with their students. Overall the academics at Wesleyan are wonderful and we have a library full of resources as well as Math and Writing Centers to encourage you along the way. Here at NCWC we also have a dedicated Honors Program where you can take specific Honor Courses to better your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to become a student here at Wesleyan I encourage you to come out and take a visit on campus; everyone is very welcoming and you will feel right at home. I encourage you to get involved on campus and join organizations and clubs. Many of our students are athletes as well so we are a very active college. Lastly don't take your resources for granted because here at Wesleyan you have more than you need in order to succeed.

    In three sentences

    NC Wesleyan has a wonderful community feeling; as you travel around campus the communication and attitudes between the students, faculty, and staff is very intimate and friendly. The campus is not only beautiful but is has wonderful resources provided to the students as well as a helpful environment for learning. Overall my experience on campus has been wonderful and I enjoy achieving every day with the Bishop Pride.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who like smaller colleges and students who are interested in playing tennis and baseball. It is also great for international students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in the weekly events whether it's a party or a city clean-up. Don't be afraid to approach professors when you need help.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive college, but I learn so much that it makes the price worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college has weekly activities for the students to mingle and have fun. There's dances, contests, t-shirt making, and more. Every week there is something new happening. I enjoy using the gym available in school and playing games in the game room.

    Am learning a lot

    Because the classes are small you are able to interact more with the professors and get help when needed. The school has tutors to help with classes, and a writing center to help with essays and papers. Any student can easily set meetings with professors for further help in classes.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is pretty good. We have campus security but, we also have the police department to annual inspection on the campus. But the student never know when.

    Greek Life

    We have aka's to delta, and Phi Alpha Phi.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have the honor society and the leadership program.

    Great for these types of students

    We have talent shows, and other big programs. We do a lot plays and we also have art museum.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you first arrive on campus we have a waterfall. We also have lounging around for student, or faculty to sit.

    Bang for the buck

    Our library has been remodeled, and know we have even more book, our computers have been upgraded. We even have great wireless Internet connection. We have the math and writing lab to help the students who need help in those areas. We also have tutors we help the students in other subjects.

    What to do for fun

    We have the gym where the boys and the girls are able to play basketball, and the can also workout if they choose. Then we have tournaments were they have to choose whoever they want on their team to play against another team. Whether it basketball, volleyball, or football. We also have a place called the Hartness Center were students are able to go to whenever they want to. They can play pool, watch television, or even get on the computer.

    Food and Dining

    Since freshman year the food is a lot better. If there is a problem with the food just let the manager know and he will fix it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the best but they are working on each hallway every time we go home for the summer. In every building students are able to cook.

    Academic Rigor

    The only way a student can fall is if they don't try or put any effort into doing their work or going to class. That's were the one-on-one with the students come in at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this school is a little expensive it's still worth coming to because you actually get your money worth. I feel like everyday we are improving in something different.

    In three sentences

    North Carolina Wesleyan College is a great school if the student wants a great education. This school also offers one-on-one with the teachers meaning the teachers know you by name. Also, the teachers make sure the student learns the curriculum.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very informative, and the work is fairly reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for hard working adults. The night classes have mature students who are eager to learn.

    In three sentences

    North Carolina Wesleyan College is a great school for adults who live a busy lifestyle. I work two jobs, but since Wesleyan provides night classes, I am still able to work and go to school. I am truly honored to be a student at North Carolina Wesleyan College and I'm very thankful they provided me a chance to further my education.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has security 24 hours a day even though it's a small campus.

    What to do for fun

    Although there's not a lot to do at NCWC you have to be creative and begin your own functions and hobbies. I love meeting new people.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very important as far as quality at any university. Although most of the time most college students prefer to eat off campus, take advantage of all the free incentives that come with the school. I have learned to budget and when I can treat myself off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life the freshmen year is okay but once you make it past the freshmen year and obtain a good GPA it's awesome. No more sharing, private dorms are available. However, having a room mate has it's advantages and disadvantages.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I acheive everything I attempt by working hard and being dedicated. Smaller class room settings allow me to be more personal with my professor. I passed each one of my exams with a B or Higher. I feel empowered at NCWC. You must study hard and play less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students will need to be focused and serious about their future. Leave all the games behind and come with a serious mind. In order to be successful and any college you must be independent and willing to act as a young adult. You will no longer have anyone to hold your hand, you will be your guide.

    In three sentences

    NC Wesleyan's small classroom size is an advantage in learning and having a one on one relationship with your professor. The staff is very helpful and make your contact time very personable. NC Wesleyan is a great school to acheive your goals set for the present and future.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security that drives around campus. I have never heard of anyone getting hurt, or in trouble.

    Greek Life

    Just recently started Sororities and Fraternities on campus, and they always have fun activities going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs that anyone can join. There are always fun activities going on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who don't mind small schools, where everyone knows each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hartness center, is the game room. Big TV, nice couches, pool tables, ping pong, and the NCWC grill.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very very pricey, but there are a lot of scholarships and grants that you can get.

    What to do for fun

    Almost every Wednesday the school funds something fun to do on campus. The Circus visits every year. There are intramural games and sports games always going on. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is buffet style, and there are always different foods to try.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot of fun, there are always people around and something fun going on. There is never a dull moment. Also the Dorms are being renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard, but they teach you a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small campus, you don't have to drive. Bring a bike!

    In three sentences

    NCWC is small school, and it is very easy to get to know other people. There is always something going on, on campus that is fun for the students. Because the campus is so small, it is easy to get to know your teachers and get personal help from them.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I participated in Drama and plays, watched TV, played video games, talked on cell phone, visited shopping malls, ate at restaurants and fast food places. I also traveled and played on the football team.

    Food and Dining

    From what I heard about college food universal, the rating is about the same. Sometimes the menu was excellent and tasted very good. Dining facility was pleasant and attractive.

    Dorm Life

    So far dorm life has been pleasant and quiet. I had a good room mate

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent if there is a curriculum you are interested in taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus before deciding to attend. Ask questions and gather all information that you can concerning the college. Take home written information and brochures to read at home to help you make a decision whether or not you want to attend.

    In three sentences

    Tuition is high,but is definitely recommended for students who need personal academic assistance from instructors. This is a small college and is a good environment for students who can not cope with a large campus environment.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ones that are soley there to learn and dont care much for the rest of the college experience

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The villas are the best place to be if you can get in!

    What to do for fun

    Not a school with lots of events and the area is very rural so not much to do off campus either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a very open mind and definately try to get involved in whatever activities you can

    In three sentences

    Noth Carolina Wesleyan College is the perfect place to be for a stable environment. The classes are small and that allows the teacher-student relationship to build easily.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are events that you can go to if you don't like to party. Usually what I do is talk to my roommate and a friend.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't like the cafeteria food that well but the grill that they have on campus is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm seems fun and it is at times but then you have those times where you just want to get away. Having a dorm room comes with responsibilities just like everything else. Fortunately for me, I get along with my roommate amazingly well.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics go, they are wonderful. You get hands on experiences with each class at least once a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    One big tip that I would give to other students is time management. Without it, you will be lost.

    In three sentences

    During the time that I have been a student here at North Carolina Wesleyan College, I have to say that it is a wonderful school. Everybody knows you and the teachers do everything they can to help you when you need assistance. All the staff members talk to you whether you are one of their students or not.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend the many activities the school offer for students and family.

    Food and Dining

    Nice dinning area and food.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    There appears to be no academic difficulties for me

    Tips for prospective students

    Just show up for class and study, you will do great.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the college small class rooms, teacher to student ratio and the class meetings. The environment is awesome and the teachers are knowledgeable.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You need a key to get into all dorms and rooms. Campus is patrolled by a private security firm hourly up until about midnight. Campus is also patrolled by the Rocky Mount police dept hourly after midnight and thoughout the day.

    Greek Life

    Almost nonexistent, there are only 2 sororities and 1 fraternity. Those have little to no participants.

    What to do for fun

    Wesleyan has many clubs that try to entertain the students on the weekends by offering parties and volunteer activities for students to do. Wesleyan also offers some off campus activities for students such as athletic games and eductional opportunities. To get to these things you must provide your own transportation, however.

    Food and Dining

    Wesleyan offer 3 dining options. The cafeteria, the internet cafe, and the late night grill. The food is average and similar to any other schools food. It serves the purpose, and they try to offer you healthy alternatives. There could be more variety, but you get what you pay for, I suppose.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is literally non existent. The dorms are dirty and unclean. If you happen to get into the older dorms such as Nash, Collins, Petteway, and Edgecombe then you will be amazed by the newly renovated first floors, but once you get into the second and third floors you will be highly underwhelmed. The second and third floors are dirty and original to 1959 when the school first opened. The furniture is old and on its last leg, and the rooms are either too hot in the summer or to cold in the winter due to the 30+ year old heating and cooling units.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Wesleyan is about average. Students range in GPA from very low to very high. Most workloads depend on the teacher, some teachers give you a ridiculous amount of work to do that is nearly impossible to finish in their desired time span and other teachers give you no work to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming to Wesleyan, then you must not have high expectations. Wesleyan is a private institution that bases everything on funding from donors. The tuition is very expensive and will sometimes have you wondering what your money is going toward.

    In three sentences

    NC Wesleyan is a college that strives for appearances and looking good to those in the community.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security 24/7/365. If you need help, they are there, no matter what the situation is.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have sports for both men and women.They also have a lot of clubs, and if they don't have a club you want, all you have to do is ask to create the club and they will let you.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is open everyday until 11pm, they do have parties, and sports are a big thing there.

    Food and Dining

    You can basically eat whenever you want, as long as you have a meal plan. The only reason i give it a 4 out of 5 is because they don't have a huge selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty good.There is no lights out time. There is only one coed dorm. Also, while you are in the dorms, you can make a lot new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at NCWC isn't that difficult, just like every other schoo. If you do the work, study, and do good on the tests/quizes you should be fine. The other problem about NCWC is that they don't offer a few majors that some students would want.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to NCWC, then apply. It is a great school, and everybody makes you feel welcomed. You will meet a lot of people at your freshman/transfer orientation.

    In three sentences

    I would rate NCWC a 7.5 out of 10. The reason being is because they don't have all the majors a lot of other schools have. But they do have a great staff, and NCWC's location is beautiful.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student event and volunteer

    Food and Dining

    N a

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Love it wonderful professor

    Tips for prospective students

    5 and 8 week classes

    In three sentences

    I love the two pluses two program was a great idea love it. This is a great program for working adults.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security always walking in and out of the dorms. Most of the security guards are really nice and friendly as well. You can always call them to unlock your door if you get locked out. All buildings are locked and they do their job.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities are actually nice and the Sororities are sweet as well. They do not haze. They welcome pledgers to join them and always advertise their life, and have activities like formals or travel to other states to meet with their chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs to join like SGA, Psychology club, and you can start your own if you can get enough people to join or the international club as well.There are some sports you can try out for since it is a Division III school. There's also intramural sports as well.

    Great for these types of students

    The small environment, small classes allows teachers and professors help you individually to learn and develop better critical thinking skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The president invites students to his house. Your schedule is already made for you as a freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    The money that you pay for is not really worth the food,other residential halls, but the education for those who learn better in a smaller environments may be worth it. A lot of people I meet transfer, because they can't afford it and the lack of scholarships they offer.

    What to do for fun

    I play tennis for the school, but there's always some kind of activity going on after school like Sororities inviting pledgers and Fraternities doing the same. There's a Hartness Center, which has 4 pool tables, 2 ping-pong tables and 2 plasma T.V.s. Only one of them can be used for someone to plug in their consoles to play games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is tasteless and bland. I could go on and on, but I feel as if I'm in a retiring home. I somehow gained weight from the food which makes me sad.

    Dorm Life

    The missing star is when the Resident Assistant does not do their job. We have had many noise complaints. I live in Edgecombe, which is an all girls dorm. It's been recently renovated, but our A/C has broken and have not been fixed after our complaint. The other residents are atrocious and out of control, but everything is very clean, neat, and pretty. It has great safety measures, because doors lock on each story.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is challenging. A person cannot just show up for class and pass with flying colors. They have to try and become curious intellectually. Professors will provide help, but the student must comply by putting in effort. Most of the professors will provide a syllabus and if a student misses one day, he or she will miss a lot of went on in class. They are very serious about attendance, and academic probation will be enforced. After five days of absence, the teacher is allowed to fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would give tips to students that they should probably commute, because it's very noisy on campus and even in the library that's where people hangout. If you really want to study and get the A you deserve, then study sessions would help you towards your goal or going to the writing center. If a liberal arts school will help you learn and a small campus for less walking and not hard to get lost in would help you then this is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    North Carolina Wesleyan College has small classes, teachers whom are enthusiastic to teach students and have free time specifically scheduled for students to gain a better understanding on their assignment. On the other hand, some students and teachers who do not know how to handle an immature class then you won't learn anything. It has it's pros and cons.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been a improved in the campus security recently. Campus security is available 24/7 for students. Students can feel much secure than before.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Phi Alpha - the first Black, Inter-Collegiate Greek-Lettered fraternity. Alpha Sigma Phi - the 10th oldest fraternity in the United States.(Popular) Delta Phi Epsilon - a National Panhellenic Conference affiliated social sorority.(Popular) Omicron Delta Kappa - national honorary leadership fraternity. Phi Eta Sigma - national collegiate scholastic honor society for freshman. Pi Gamma Mu - International Honor Society for Social Sciences. Psi Chi - National Honor Society for Psychology. Sigma Tau Delta - International English Honors Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Heartness Center for Pool and Ping pong and Mims gallery for arts and performance.

    Great for these types of students

    Silent person, calm, not want to get involve in college party or fun and athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once city police came to the college due to the problem of drug use and weapon at students dorm. Also there was some dispute at the final day of the fall semester 2013 where there were few arrivals of cops.

    Bang for the buck

    NOT FARE!! Students spend more than 35K annually for the college but it's not even worth of 10%.

    What to do for fun

    Almost nothing. There is heartness center at the college where students can go for pool and ping-pong. Also sometimes there is college party with almost not more than 10 people.

    Food and Dining

    Regarding the students from foreign, there is the availability of international food. But sometimes it gets often bad especially at the weekend where almost half of the students go back to their homes and other half students at college has to suffer the horrible meal.

    Dorm Life

    There are 9 residence hall for students and each dorm is provided with double or single bedroom, kitchen, common showers and common restroom.

    Academic Rigor

    College has more than 25 majors and 14 minors with a class ratio of 17: 1. So professors are able to know their students very well and help with their academic skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good for those who wants to proceed there education in one cool and silent place far from the crowded areas.

    In three sentences

    Far from the crowd, NC Wesleyan College is small with a diversity of students from different parts of the world, different sports and more than 25 majors and 14 minors to choose. All the staff members, professors and students are friendly and helpful to each other and professors gives extra efforts to the students to develop their skills. Since the college is in rural place students often lacks the facilities for extra curricular activities and also with the limited resource in college makes students difficult to live.