Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Central Michigan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I think I will enjoy being there because it is not too far from home and I have family living near there!

    Will learn a lot

    i have heard that this school has a great nursing program and i am going to apply

  • 10/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Considering that North Central Michigan College is a Community College, it is a great and affordable place to learn before I go off to a more expensive school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at North Central Michigan College as far as Community College's go.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the instructors that I have had at North Central Michigan College are always available and willing to help.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is ALWAYS a campus police officer patrolling and the state police monitor the driving to/from school since it does get busy and its by an elementary school down the street.

    Greek Life

    Good social life to get into. Opportunities

    Clubs and Activities

    Sooooo many to do or participate in!! Just ask in the office or look for a flyer

    Great for these types of students

    Fun Smart Money saving motivational Daring anyone can attend here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant think of anything unusual but we have some awesome art that people might think other wise...a giant horse scultpure made from metal and bolts.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone said oh I dont want to go to some community college I want the real expierence well guess what? Community college is just the same. I love it here, I have saved double of what some friends of mine at their 4 year university have saved. Getting the pre-reqs done is a breeze and compared to the university for the same education...you're paying just as much. Ive made good friends and met with some awesome advisors. I wouldnt trade my expierence for anything. Good school and great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do. Being located in petoskey there is downtown, full of shops and dining. Movie theater, shopping, and casino makes up for a good portion of the things to do around here.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is great, variety.

    Dorm Life

    Good housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes I have taken, each was unique.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college is no different than a university. Its just as serious but in the end you wont regret it. You've saved money and gained a great education and friends.

    In three sentences

    NCMC offers a friendly enviroment while still providing a professional atmosphere. It is the best choice I made after college. The people and students are great and I saved so much money. Recommended!

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is small and I have never felt any reason to worry while walking around this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the outdoors and want to pursue degrees in outdoor areas would do very well here. Lake State offers degrees at North Central and the location is the biggest benefit of all. All the natural wildlife and forest areas are all around the campus. The U.P. has even more preserved land and is within reasonable driving distance. As well, students who don't mind the cold and like having great snow hills around for some free time would love this place.

    Bang for the buck

    The average cost per semester isn't bad. It's a good place to start to get the basic classes out of the way without paying exorbatant tuition rates. They offer satellite degrees from other universities and make the transfer process easy.

    What to do for fun

    In the summer there are lots of things to do. Tons of trails and outdoor activities. State parks and beaches for warm weather. The casino is good for weekend nights as well as a few local bars. Majority of warm weather activities are geared towards outside. Bay Harbor and Boyne Resorts are within reach. During the winter, the Boyne Resorts are huge places for snow related activities such as skiing, cross country, snowboarding, and holiday parties.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't used the cafeteria but there are good restaurants, diners, and coffee shops in the surrounding area of Petoskey.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of the teachers I have had wanted to push us as far as we could go. They were reasonable in dealing with unexpected absences. They always made themselves available to help when there was an issue with materials. They wanted to see us as students exceed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend staying in contact with advisors every semester. Talking with the counselors when in trouble is always helpful, they have given good advice and rescources to use. Always keep a winter jacket and a pair of shorts on hand for the bipolar Michigan weather.

    In three sentences

    This is a great small school. The teachers have all been knowledgeable, helpful, and student oriented. They have numerous rescources to help get trhough school succesfully.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely on the safer side of campuses in Michigan. I haven't seen any unsafe behavior nor have I ever felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    I haven't seen any Greek life at North Central so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small college, it offers quite a few clubs. I haven't joined any yet, but there are flyers all over!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students just starting out. Also great for students who are coming from a bigger city who are looking for a smaller, quieter area to continue their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Throughout campus there are a great variety of creative statues and artwork. They really bring the campus to life, even in the winter time!

    Bang for the buck

    North Central's tuition costs are fairly low, even a little lower than other community colleges that I've checked into.

    What to do for fun

    North Central offers many free activities for students, as well as the community. The campus is also located near downtown Petoskey, which offers plenty of cafes and shopping boutiques.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria located on the second level of the gym building. It has really good food; there's something different everyday, and they have cookies! Also, it has a halfway cafe, located in the administration building, in case you don't have time to walk across campus to the big cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm at North Central but, I've heard that it's great. My friends say it's quiet and peaceful.

    Academic Rigor

    North Central has a great variety of classes on campus and online, all with great professors that I've seen so far!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to apply! If you want a dorm room, make sure you apply early because the rooms go fast. Also, if you want to get into the classes that follow your area of study, apply early as well because those fill up quickly as well!

    In three sentences

    North Central Michigan College is a great place to start earning a degree! It offers a wide variety of classes on campus, as well as online. Not only is it a beautiful place to attend class, but it is also a friendly college. Accordingly, I do not regret choosing North Central for my starting point.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I fell very safe here. Typical small town life.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type. I went here years ago as high school graduate and I am now a stay at home mom with a home business. Even though I am busier than I have ever been, I find North Central still fits my schedule and my budget!

    Food and Dining

    I am not in the main campus. Most people eat fast food in the nearby town.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in the dorms this year.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes challenge me, but I don't feel like they ask too much from me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started early on your financial aid stuff and research what books you need so you can find the best deal.

    In three sentences

    Most of the staff is helpful and highly knowledgeable. When asking questions I receive an answer promptly. My teachers are great and classrooms are small.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in Petoskey Michigan, in beautiful northern Michigan. The campus is within driving distance to many attractions such as the bay, and Lake Michigan. There are many light houses, beaches and related activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not an on campus student, so again, I don't know.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to make sure you have your financial aid in order as well as to enroll in the classes you need.

    In three sentences

    North Central Michigan College is nearby and offers online classes. They have professors who have 'hands on' experience in the field. The staff in admissions and financial aid have been very helpful.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have not dined there yet.

    Dorm Life

    Not staying in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They strive for student to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into every situation with a positive outlook!

    In three sentences

    A helpful, courteous staff willing to take time to answer all your questions. Beautiful campus. Affordable for first time student looking to transfer or get a two year degree/certificate.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't seen any safety or anything of that nature on the campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I see flyers all over all the time about activities and such, but most of them cost $15 or more to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Just starting out who don't want to be that far from home just to get a taste of college life but want to transfer later on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of................

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for easy easy easy this is the college for you, but I don't believe it is worth what i paid for since I am not getting the help I need in class.

    What to do for fun

    Since I am not the average age of the college student I work the rest of the time I am not in class.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't been to the cafeteria but they do have little food courts everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorms here so i am unaware of how the dorm life is but if you are going to stay in a dorm don't waste money on doing so at a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Th workload is fairly decent but you have to spend a lot of time covering the material in detail at home since the professors are more interested in getting the paycheck.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to start at a beginning school this would be great for you. But only attend this school if you are planning to transfer because I am starting college late in my life and am very disappointed with the way things are run.

    In three sentences

    The flexibility of the schedules are great. However, the professors are not! They make you teach yourself.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love walking on the nature paths. They are so pretty in the fall and spring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions when you are unsure of something. There is so much help available and don't be afraid to use it.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with my experiences at North Central Michigan College. I have not had a teacher that is not willing to help someone who wants the help.

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The local movie theater offers free movies nights for students and staff. Just show your NCMC I.D. at the front desk. I really enjoyed getting to see Heaven is for Real for free, as well as meeting some other students. They also have ping-pong tournaments, or you can just grab a partner and play on a table in the main lobby (if there isn't one set up, ask for one). That's fun, too; I love ping-pong!

    Food and Dining

    I have no idea what the food is like. I've never eaten there. I'm sure I'll find out later.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a resident yet. However, I hope to be one in the autumn. Let's see what God has in mind!

    Academic Rigor

    Keep in mind: NCMC is not a four-year university, it's a two-year community college. That being said, it's a good place to start if you want to cover your general education requirements and earn your Associate's Degree for transferring without spending all your savings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the lead math tutor as your math teacher, if you're a beginning math student; he's wonderful! I used to have trouble with math, and now, after working with him, I have an A.

    In three sentences

    NCMC is a good community college. The staff are friendly and helpful, and you can get some good coursework done close to home, which is affordable and gives you a nice sense of accomplishment. Overall, I would recommend this college to others, especially students just out of high school who don't want the pressure of a big university right away.