Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Central Missouri College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town students who would like to stay closer to home for the first couple years.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a really good college to start out at before moving on to a four year school.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the campus offers a variety of activities, clubs and organizations, collegiete sports

    Food and Dining

    actually never ate on campus either

    Dorm Life

    live off campus actually havnt been in the dorms. i do know that they do have a tv lobby, each room has a internet jack, and cable jack.

    Academic Rigor

    good academic standards, good transfer options, good attendence policy cause things do happen, so far great teachers, good choice of career options, or if your undecided this college would be great you can take all courses online and save money from expenses of living on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get all your finanical aid and school information sent in ahead of time. it takes time for the financial aid to go through so if you don't you'll have to make a down payment out of your pocket. i would make a checklist to make sure you get everything done and turned in. don't assume anything make sure you contact the school if you have any questions you won't get a letter in the mail very often, it's up to you to remember or find out, sign up for classes as soon as possible they fill up fast especially online courses

    In three sentences

    they have online courses for certain degrees, and the degree programs are offered at more places than just at the college for students who live around the missouri area. they also have smaller classes than other universities and colleges so you can get more one on one help from the teachers. the only trouble is getting accurate information to and from the college for outreach students.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Includes a very ineffective and unprofessional administrative staff as well as many unusual academic policies that more progressive colleges in the area do not use. A large amount of technical difficulties were encountered while using their online student account system SAIL. The school email setup is also very strange and difficult to use.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun my friends and i play card games, video games, or watch tv when we feel like staying inside. going out there is a yard to play football, soccer, or whatever sport you like. there is a gym to shoot hoops or work out even just walk around the track.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning area is located underneath the girls dorm. it was close for walking and staying out of the cold or wind. the dinning area is always clean with fresh foods. there is even a salad bar with fresh foods everyday. the cooks are friendly and do a good job making foods that everyone can find something they like.

    Dorm Life

    there is always a weekly activity in the dorms. it is a great way to meet others. there is a lobby area with a tv that we like to play the wii at or just relax and watch movies. there is also a study area that made it easy to meet up with other students in the same classes as you to study together.

    Academic Rigor

    the staff and teachers are wonderful when asking for help. any teacher would gladly talk with you after class or during their office hours, they love their job here. the sss and the arc are also good sources to find help with student tours that have taken the same classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    study is the best tip i can give. write notes as fast as you can and read over them every night, not just the night before the test. teachers will teach as much as they can in a short about of time so be ready to listen and learn.

    In three sentences

    i started attending north central missouri college in fall 2010. i went there straight from high school to do my entrance courses for nursing lpn and rn and have even been able to finish all of my entrance courses for my bsn. the staff was helpful and friendly helping my select classes that would transfer to the four year college i plan to attend.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I wished I would have joined a sorority so that I could have included it on my resume and would have been eligible for some scholarships. So if you can join a club, do so, it will help you in the long run.

    Food and Dining

    Did not live in Trenton while attending.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus so I can't tell you about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I took all my classes online. I would say that the most important thing to consider about online classes is to make sure you stay on top of your work and keep track of deadlines. If you can stay organized by doing those two things, you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will deal with a lot of automated answering services, which will seem frustrating at first, but leave your information along with your phone number and they will get back to you promptly (usually the same day).

    In three sentences

    They have excellent customer service skills there. They are quick to answer any questions you may have about financial aide, registration etc. They make the students their top priority and I would definitely recommend their college to anyone.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NCMC is the perfect college for those planning on getting their degrees in agriculture or for anyone planning on receiving their AA degree. It is a great starter college, especially.

    Food and Dining

    Many of the meals I have eaten at NCMC are very good. I didn't expect the food to be as good as it is and the meals vary each week.

    Dorm Life

    From the little time I have spent in the NCMC dorms, it has been an enjoyable experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, the academic rigor at NCMC are appropriate for the students. The classes that I have taken so far are slightly difficult for me, but that's because I chose to challenge myself with the more difficult classes at NCMC.

    In three sentences

    North Central MIssouri College is a great starter college for anyone. Even if you're still in high school, NCMC offers a dual credit program which allows high school students to prepare for college level work . The community at NCMC is wonderful and the students are very involved in many kinds of activities, programs, and community work.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I took online classes so I am not familiar with North Central's campus safety.

    Greek Life

    I have never experienced North Central's Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I have heard North Central's clubs and activities are great, but again I have never experienced them for myself.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like the small-town feel and don't want to go to a college over flowing with people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not experience these things as I took online classes there.

    Bang for the buck

    North Central Missouri College is a pretty affordable place to take classes! They have so many classes to choose from that are offered in several different semesters and there are more than one techer to choose from in most of them also.

    What to do for fun

    I took online classes so I haven't spent much time in Trenton to see what all they have to offer for fun. Their sports teams would be fun activities to join.

    Food and Dining

    I can't rate the food and dining because I have never personally experienced it.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really rate the dorm life because I took online classes. I do know that the dorms are pretty small though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes at this college I would reccomend meeting with your teachers at some point so they can put a face to your name and not think that you are just another student that wants to pass as easy as possible and doesn't care.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college to complete general education requirements and pre-requisits at. I have heard the nursing program is great as well. It is also very affordable and is an A+ school if you are eligible for that program.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They don't have much dining. They have a cafeteria for students on a food plan. They also have a little coffee shop with sandwiches and pizza which isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I don't really know too much. Whenever I went on a tour of the college in high school they showed me the dorms and I have to say is whoa! They're dorms are tiny!

    Academic Rigor

    There seems to be a lot of academics. I personally was invited to be a part of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and I currently am. They do a great job at recognizing academic students.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    unacceptable

    Dorm Life

    unacceptable

    Academic Rigor

    unacceptable

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend this college

    In three sentences

    Warning: do not attend this college. The president and his staff are the most unethical individuals I have ever dealt with. Their mission is profit and centers around taking advantage of students' money using technology-based strategies. It may take some time, however, they will be caught and prosecuted.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even late at night, you can't get any safer than a quiet little farm town in Missouri. There are no curfews for the dorms but only for the opposite sex since there are male and female dorms. The only safety issue is for commuters trying to make it to school in bad weather witch the school board takes in to account and is able to cancel classes.

    Greek Life

    None as far as I can remember. Since this school is a community college, studies are the main focus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs besides book club from the campus library and the Ag. club from local farmers who go to school there just to name two. There are more but those are the only I remember.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters that live near by benefit from this school the most because financial aid covers everything but books. With a little money saved up you can have the two years basic AA degree for less at any other school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some fun different things happen within the dorms with the RA's setting up different games each week or so to win money prizes or small gift cards from the local shops.

    What to do for fun

    Living in the dorm kept you near campus with the main square within walking distance. There are no true hangout spots for students besides the dorms and shopping is limited to stores like Dollar General and Hy-vee for basic needs. Very small, farm oriented town for a college to be.

    Food and Dining

    Dining was good, in my opinion. Daily salad bar with breakfast, lunch, and dinner and normally two different main course meals served by the dorm cafeteria staff. Food outside of the dorm is a bit limited, being a small town you only have normal fast food chains you would normally see in Northern Missouri cities.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are a bit larger than that of other larger colleges I have visited. This helps when trying to adjust from home life to small college dorm room living. I took advantage of all the spaces on campus to help adjust as well, not just the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    With it being a community college, the studies are for the less advances, I felt. It helped me understand how to study for higher level college classes, while still being simple enough for returning students who struggled a little on their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the small size fool you! It is a wonderful school with caring teachers that would love to see you learn! With most of the students from surrounding areas, you meet lots of new people and if you live in the dorms, lots of study friends that help out with similar classes.

    In three sentences

    A wonderfully small community driven school. I felt at home in the dorms there meeting new friends and with it only being 20 minutes away from home, was easy for me to adjust. For just getting my basic AA degree for transfer, it was indeed the perfect choice for any beginning college student fresh out of high school!