Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Central State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on duty every day to keep the campus safe and clean. They monitor every building on campus, as well as at the various off campus locations that North Central has for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    North Central offers a wide variety of different clubs and activities on campus through many of the different degree programs.

    Great for these types of students

    North Central has a wide variety of majors to choose from, making it a great college for students looking to pursue a degree in nearly any field of study. They have programs in business, health sciences, arts, technologies, and many others that help enhance and advance many future leaders of the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, the campus hosts an event call Rock'n'Ribs which is a rib cook off that brings in many individuals from the school and surrounding community. It is a greatly anticipated annual event that will continue for many years to come.

    Bang for the buck

    Though North Central State College is a smaller institution, they offer a very well structured and complete curriculum as well as low tuition costs and a great atmosphere for learning.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers several extra curricular activities and clubs for students to become involved in. They have sports, arts, and even business clubs and teams. North Central holds numerous student activities every month as well to allow time for students to relax and enjoy themselves while completing their educational goals.

    Food and Dining

    North Central offers student lounges in several locations, as well as reasonably priced food and beverages in every building. The student lounge at the main facility on campus is spacious and comfortable, allowing a perfect atmosphere for students to relax and unwind between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are some off campus facilities dedicated to students; however, I do not live in a dorm. I am able to live in my own home while attending college, and find this to be an advantage of attending North Central State College.

    Academic Rigor

    I face very few challenges with attending North Central State College. The class sizes are small, allowing more time for one-on-one time between teachers and students to facilitate any additional questions and tutoring that is necessary. Also, the technology and equipment that the school is equipped with is very up to date and modern; having computers in many classrooms, and open lab hours throughout the day for educational and personal needs is very efficient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choosing a college can be difficult, but staying at a small local college is always beneficial to individuals coming straight out of high school. North Central State has many kind and understanding teachers, as well as helpful students and staff. The knowledge that they provide during class sessions is always up to date, and their facilities are clean, friendly, and organized for student satisfaction and comfort. Choosing North Central State College in Mansfield Ohio will certainly get you on track to your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending North Central State College since fall of 2011, and find it to be a wonderful institution for learning. The knowledge that I have gained so far will certainly help me in my career after graduation, and this has been shown to me on numerous occasions with all of my classes through examples of real life situations. The price for tuition is very reasonable, and the small class sizes are ideal for a complete learning experience with significant hands on opportunities.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After everything that is going on in our world, I would never attend a school I did not think was safe.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY

    Food and Dining

    When I walked in, all I could smell was the goodness of food.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in a dorm, but if I would have went to college right after I got out of high school, I think it would have been a one in a life time experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to think of what you want in life, go after a career, not just a job.

    In three sentences

    I think North Central offer every student a chance to achieve their goal. North Central is big nice looking school. I think North Central will offer me a hand's on experience.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on-site campus security patrols around the clock

    Great for these types of students

    great for mature students who need evening classes

    Bang for the buck

    the campus hosts special events such as comedians, ventriloquist , rib cook-off, foam dance, costume party, etc... i appreciate the ease of attending this college. you can come and go to use the library and computer labs without hassle.

    Food and Dining

    there is a campus cafeteria that i have not eaten at. there is also a newly remodeled cafe that has a small but tasty menu in the comfort of a relaxing atmosphere. of campus within a few minutes there are other restaurants such as panera bread, taco bell, o'charley's, applebees, fazoli's, etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    become knowledgeable about the free resources that are offered by the college such as free tutoring, career counseling, personal counseling and resume assistance.

    In three sentences

    my experience at nc state college has been very positive. my classes have been small which has allowed me to easily connect with others. in my experience, the professors are personable and they respectfully treat students as individuals.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, the Ohio State Highway Patrol has an office on campus and is constantly on patrol.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in law or the medical field.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get your money's worth!

    What to do for fun

    The campus holds several events a month, from comedy, to culture sharing, to activist speakers. There are several movie theaters located near by, as well as, plenty of stores to shop at. If you are the outdoor type, there are numerous state parks within 30 miles of campus where you can hike, fish, swim, or boat.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a three story building that was built recently, in the last few years, that holds a cafeteria, rec rooms, weight room, even a video game console. The food is great with a wide variety of food and drinks at a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely harder than one may expect at a state college. The courses are challenging and are current with the times. There is plenty of honor society's and bonuses for those who work hard and achieve high scores.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an adviser in the Student Success Center. They are very knowledgeable and know what a future student will need to succeed. Take advantage of the new student resources as well. The school offers everything from diplomats to show you around and make you comfortable, to extensive tutoring in most subjects, to programs that will help ease the burden the cost of college may put on your finances.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a degree in paralegal studies or criminal justice, the instructors that teach the core courses are excellent. You will receive a top-notch education for a fraction of the price. The college also has several transfer options that cannot be beat!

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    From researching other colleges, NCSC is very inexpensive yet the classes are not lacking.

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten in the cafeteria. There are plenty of affordable off campus restaurants nearby though.

    Dorm Life

    Off-campus living

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak up when you feel the need. Your opinions or questions may help another student. This is how I've gotten a lot more out of all of my classes.

    In three sentences

    Without knowledge of other colleges, I love this one! The teachers are very understanding and patient. I think it's beneficial that it is a college for all ages.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of on and off campus opportunities!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food around and on campus! The pizza in Eisenhower is amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenge, but a good challenge. This is supposed to be college, so there has to be some amount of difficulty. Don't let that steer you away!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to be if you aren't 100% sure of your major! You can come here, take a few classes (at a low price) and figure out what you want to do!

    In three sentences

    North Central is affordable and close to home. I love the small class sizes. The professors are also wonderful. NCSC has many opportunities to get involved.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always alert and driving around checking on the students and their vehicles. And the few times I've known of someone losing their keys or purse, the items were retrieved within 30 minutes, due to the professionalism of the campus security officers and numerous lost and found locations.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, our chapter is Beta Theta Eta

    Great for these types of students

    North Central State College is definitely a great educational institution for a non-traditional student who are trying to improve their life for themselves or their family (children). They also have a great program for individuals over the age of 60 who want to take classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely chose North Central State College over the Wayne Campus for the University of Akron, because of the affordable tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do even if you are not part of an organization. Sometimes there are theme parties, sporting events, campus cook-outs, concerts, and stand up comedy shows.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food and prices. Also, there are vending machines and microwaves in different buildings on campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, there dorms are not included on this campus. However, housing in the area is affordable for a traditional or non-traditional college student.

    Academic Rigor

    North Central State College is very flexible. This college makes scheduling classes easy, whether on campus or on-line. North Central State College also makes it easy to transfer to a 4 year college to obtain a bachelors degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students coming to North Central State College could greatly benefit from being involved in the campus clubs, organizations, and events. All students could benefit from the tutoring center by either giving help or receiving help. Three things prospective students should also consider being part of are: Phi Theta Kappa; honor society 3.5 GPA or higher, Psi Beta; psychology honor society 3.0 GPA or higher, and Student Government Association.

    In three sentences

    North Central State College is the third college I've attended, and for the first time I feel that I am being properly assisted to achieve my degree. The admissions department made sure that I understood the information I being given and my options as a student, before moving to a different topic. The faculty, staff, and adjunct instructors make the non-traditional students feel welcomed and treat all of the students on campus with great respect.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bowling, bars, go carts, etc

    Food and Dining

    never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    didn't stay in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much grant and free money as possible

    In three sentences

    The guidance is very helpful. The layout of the school is very easy. Many different studies available.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    We have many non-traditional students as well as students who are transfers or starting out here until going to a four-year college. I am a transfer and I am so happy ending up here.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay out of pocket for school now and it is a very reasonable priced school per class, which is perfect.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports clubs, extra curricular activities, events, and many other things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria which is a good size and has different options as far as what kind of food one can get there.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, especially Science classes, are difficult enough to learn but the professors accommodate all kinds of learning styles to fit yours best so that everyone can not only pass the classes but learn as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    North Central is a great college to attend, especially if you live within driving distance. The price is great compared to past schools I have attended and it has a very welcoming atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending North Central State College. The campus is nice and the professors are great, they really work with you to help you learn and answer any questions you may have. Also, since I am not eligible to receive financial aid it is a school I am able to pay out of pocket for.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Classrooms are improving with embedded tutors. I like that the classes are smaller so individual attention can be provided. Tuition is cheaper than most competitors in the area.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs here at North Central State College. They have everything from Student Government and Phi Thetta Kappa to Skydiving Club and Fitness Club. You do not need very much to start a club. For what is needed to start a club, all you need to do is talk with a representative in the Student Union on the second floor, which is the floor above the cafeteria.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, non-traditional, people who work part time or full time, people who have children, people who both work and have children, and any student who needs to build credits to transfer to a four year institution.

    What to do for fun

    Occasionally, there are dances that North Central State College hosts. They normally are around Halloween and Thanksgiving. They also host Rock-n-Ribs, where they have rib and other food stands in the parking lot that sell their food over the course of three days in July. There is normally great music that is played at Rock-n-Ribs, mainly blues and rock. In addition to these, there are TAG events in the Student Union. This is short for Tuesday Afternoon Get together. These are events are for students to join and have a free lunch and have a free show, which is normally a comedian.

    Food and Dining

    The food at North Central State College is very expensive. Not many students buy food from here. The dining room is very open and spacious with plenty of room to sit down, relax, and do homework.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at North Central State College, but there are apartments near downtown Mansfield.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at North Central State College is challenging, yet rewarding. Each class has its challenges, but if you look at the material consistently and apply it to the real world, students have no problem succeeding in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, North Central State College will welcome you with open arms. They help you transition into college, whether you are entering straight out of high school or if you are going back to school after some time away from school. Do not be afraid to look for help, because they will help you if you want it. There are many programs that are available to provide assistance for students, from tutoring centers to services that help with personal issues that students have. A tip for in the classroom is that if a class is to go over a specific chapter, the professors expect you to read it before class, except for the first day of each class. These are normally a meet and greet with the professor and fellow classmates. The last piece of advice I will share is to have confidence in yourself, because that will carry you through college as well as in life when you graduate.

    In three sentences

    North Central State College is a great college to start at to receive a great education. The faculty really want to see you succeed and will work with you to overcome any obstacles you may have. They also prepare students for when they enter the real world and look for jobs after students graduate.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is nasty and cost way too much, my advice, go down the road to chipolte or something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Ashland university and take the BSN program there, you will be very disappointed and very stressed out if you don't. NC state was good till i got to the Nursing program and it all changed. They are the warden and you are the inmate. they want to control your entire life. i understand that being a nursing/college student takes away from your life, which is fine, but these people want to dictate to you on what to wear to school. last time i checked this was a free country, and i am paying to go there, they are not paying me to come there. but they sure act like it.

    In three sentences

    The RN nursing program is a big Joke. very unorganized, They are implementing a kaki and polo shirt uniform that you will have to wear to lecture class, sorry, but its college not high school or private school. they treat you like 5th graders.

  • 10/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Pre-health

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and there will be opportunities held on campus at times.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing much to offer besides vending machines. Across campus on the OSU side there is the cyber cafe which has food and drink options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You get out what you put in. With the professors I have experienced so far, they are there to help, just don't be afraid to ask. It gets hard, but you have to put the time in outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good for saving money, although financial aid didn't cover all of mine, leaving me to pay about $1500 out of pocket. Which may not sound bad, but since I pay for college myself, it becomes difficult.

    In three sentences

    NCSC gives opportunity for many health majors. Unfortunately, they only accept for fall semester; it would be easier for all if they accepted into the health programs twice a year. However, the resources are there to learn if you put the effort in.. for a community college.