Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Central Texas College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any future students, NCTC is inexpensive close-by for anyone in the DFW area. NCTC is an excellent two-year school to start off for students wishing to either get their Associate's or transfer to a four-year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy used books. New textbooks are twice as much and really not worth buying for just one semester. Plan out each year's classes well in advanced and register early to snag a spot in each class you plan on taking. Mark your calendars for the book buy-backs which land at the end of each semester. Go for any scholarships you find and try your best to steer clear of loans.

    Bang for the buck

    For Fall 2008, Spring 2009, and now Fall 2009, my tuition is under, right at, or a little over $1,000. Used books are recommended if saving money is your goal.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm at the Corinth campus and live in Lewisville, so the commute is fairly decent. The staff is very helpful as far as admissions, tuition, and financial aid go. I was and still am extremely fortunate to attend NCTC.

    Am learning a lot

    Morning classes really are the best to take. You're able to go three or more times per week and have the best shot to have less in the class for better concentration. Evening classes tend to be larger, thus less time to speak with the professor on a one-on-one basis. Night classes are also longer and meet one or two times per week.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NCTC is great for any type of student. You can get all your basic classes done at an affordable cost in just two years. It is also a good place for students to get their associates degree before moving on to get a bachelors degree. No matter what you are interested in NCTC has something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many study groups for the hardest classes like Anatomy and Physiology and College Algebra it is a good idea to get involved with those because they really benefit. Students can also get involved with the Student Success center which helps students reach their highest goals while having fun at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is priced at an affordable rate. Classes are usually one thousand dollars or under depending how many you decide to take. Very good price range.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is splendid. There are outside benches to study on and get some sunshine or fresh air. The teachers and even the students are all friendly. It is a very warm and welcomeing place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    NCTC is a great place to be. Since the classes are smaller than other universities you are able to get one on one help with your professors which benefits a lot because you are able to learn a lot more and ask questions. The library has lots of resources for students anything from books, newspapers, magazines to computers, printers scanners. Anything you need the library has got it to help the students learning experience more beneficial and fun!

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not positive on your career goal, NCTC is a great place to start your basics and receive an associates degree. Also, they have a great nursing program, if you are interested in a nursing degree.

    Am learning a lot

    North Central Texas College offers a variety of many courses to take.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for all types of students. The classes were evenly dispersed with all ages of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communication with your professor is key to help you reach your goals. Use all of the available resources the school has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is minimal compared to a 4 year university. I feel that I definitely got my money's worth.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved NCTC, I attended the Corinth campus. The classes were small and the campus was in one building. I had been out of school for about 9 years and the experience was pleasant.

    Did learn a lot

    The relationship with your professor was awesome. I really enjoyed the class sizes and interactions with other students.

  • 10/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if you don't know what you want to do yet. Aim for the associates degree to get core classes out of the way. Also, the nursing program and hairstyling is a big part in campus. The Music Program is looking to grow, so If you play an INSTRUMENT, please look into into the music program. The professors will be happy to give you scholarship money.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus book store, buys books back and now allows people to rent out books for the semester, which is recommended to save money. If you commute, stack your classes together to allow you to make fewer trips or avoid long waiting times, but allow breaks. If you play an INSTRUMENT look into the music program. The professors will be happy to give you scholarship money.

    Bang for the buck

    It is well worth it to get your core classes out of the way, and It has a great nursing program.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many fun event's and a pool table at the Gainesville Campus. The Corinth campus feels like a high school, but the Gainesville campus allows you to walk outside and feel the weather.

    Am learning a lot

    The teacher's care about their student's and always tell you how they can help you out of class.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never felt uneasy at any campus.

    Great for these types of students

    dual credit, college freshmen, nursing - lvn or rn prospects as well as bridge (lvn-rn) prospects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    love the amount of blood drives they do on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    for the money, it's the best place to get started.

    Food and Dining

    gainesville cafeteria has the best breakfast.

    Academic Rigor

    nursing classes were top notch as far as being challenging. however, being a fairly decent student, many of my other classes have been middle of the road in challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    register and verify enrollment and receipt of payment before the first day of class. if you pay at a time separate from the date of registration, you may be backed out of classes without knowing it.

    In three sentences

    this school has been very helpful - and relatively inexpensive- in guiding me in my schooling. i started taking dual credit classes as a high school student and have taken part of the rn program and several other core classes. highly recommended for hs students or those needing to finish basics.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Corinth campus is not a large one but there are several security guards located on the premises and they are visible.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of groups you can join on campus if desired.

    Food and Dining

    I attend classes at the Corinth campus. While there are two places located in the break area, there is no real cafeteria on campus. However, across the street there is a Mexican Restaurant and and Italian Restaurant, both of which are good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm this does not apply. The only campus I know of that has dorms is the campus located in Gainseville. It is also the main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering taking classes, before you register make sure you take a look at the rate the professor area. North Central Texas College has several campuses. Gaineseville, Bowie, Graham, Flower Mound, and Corinth. All campuses offer online courses as well as classes on each campus. though not all classes are offered online. No matter what you choose to go, you are in for a great learning experience.

    In three sentences

    Great College helpful programs programs designed to help students succeed

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NCTC has many activities for students to participate in. The Student Life Organization usually has several guests for students to attend. I personally like to attend the plays that they put on. I also am apart of their Visual Arts Club.

    Food and Dining

    NCTC also has a nice cafeteria. I have visited it for events but have never eaten there for lunch or dinner. I have how ever tried the food from their catering and it was very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I understand that NCTC has dorms, but I am unaware of what they are like because I do not live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    The proffessors here are very respectable, and most of them are very flexible and fair with helping you. I am only apart of the Visual Arts Club but am no part of an academic team.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that potential students register early for the classes that that they would like. The classes are small therefore they fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college, great for getting one on one time with instructors. The campus is easy to navigate and the faculty is very friendly. North Central Texas College is a great place for students to start their education if they are not certain on the degree that they want.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much happens on campus. Sometimes they have a guard patrol before they shut down for the night.

    Greek Life

    I'm guessing that Greek Life means Phi Theta Kappa? Phi Theta Kappa is somewhat joined with Honors. If you're in one you're in both.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors, Phi Theta Kappa, and games and politics club were a fun experience for me. They are very active and require participation, holding regular meetings and events. The games and politics clubs will have several games, such as risk or RPGs, which are interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students in the area looking for a cheap way to get their basics done or just want an associates. They offer several certificates in things such as agriculture, equine studies, drafting and programming, just be careful what you sign up for. You may sign up for a program, but end up having to go to school in Corinth to finish it because the Gainesville campus doesn't have enough students for them to offer every class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They hold quiditch matches! These people have a sense of humor.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools in my area, I would consider this school worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    There is a giant chess set, a pool table, and a ping pong table in the rec center. These games are great for when you need a break from your school work. There are also several clubs, such as honors or games and politics club that have regular meetings that you can attend. They also have several events every semester, such as students performing, comedians, and all sorts of things.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't as good as it used to be, but it isn't high school cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in their dorm, it's mainly for athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    You can meet some great teachers here! They love their subjects and many of them even make it interesting to listen to lecture. If you ask around about the teachers, you can be sure to sign up for the best classes. I have found that they were always happy to help if I ever had any questions. Even the teachers on my online classes were extremely helpful and made time to answer my questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hold on to your money! Save enough money to pay for your tuition, because you have to pay within the day that you register for classes. Most times, if you wait for the financial aid to be ready, all of the best class times will be taken and you'll have to weave your work schedule around some funky times. Also, try not to mess with the book store if you can, they are very expensive. If you buy anything from the book store, hold on to the receipt, not only can you sell back books, but sometimes the bookstore will have the wrong book on the shelf for your class! If this happens to you, they won't take the book back with the receipt, and that could be around 200 dollars down the drain.

    In three sentences

    North Central Texas College in Gainesville is a ton of fun, it's own tiny community where you can know everyone. The teachers and staff are very helpful and friendly, but the bookstore is inefficient. They have a record of messing up the financial aid, putting the wrong books on the shelves, or being unprepared for the new school year.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gainesville has nothing to do really. You could go to the outlet mall or the small theater there. Or drive to Denton. Most people go to the casino.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's an easy college. But the financial aid people have no clue what they are doing. You will get the run around.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice small college. The workers don't always know what they are doing. It's hard to get any information here, from anyone.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join study groups and participate in club activities.

    Food and Dining

    Great snack bar.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has both easy and tough classes. Research classes and instructors and try to balance your schedule before registering for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, collect your records, previous transcripts, military DD-214, and shot records. Next, visit the financial aid office to learn how to pay for school. Lastly, meet with an adcedemic counselor to determine the right plan for your future.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school for first year college students or returning after several years out of school. School is safe, clean, professional, has excellent facilities, and knowledgeable instructors. School provides assistance with financial aid and academic counseling.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just srtarting college

    Tips for prospective students

    be very aware of what you are planning on majoring in, so you will get the right classes that will transfer to a 4 year college

    In three sentences

    is a good college to get stared

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are some pretty good places to eat fast food and sit down.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in the campus I'm attending.

    Academic Rigor

    Define Rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip is to focus on school, don't get side tracked on other things. Take the classes you can handle especially if you're going to be working. Turn in work on time and ask questions when in doubt.

    In three sentences

    I rate it an 8. The faculty is good and are very helpful. It is a good college to attend.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are very nice but strict... and all classrooms are locked when they are emptied. The parking lot is also watched closely for any funny business.

    Great for these types of students

    NCTC is good for hard-working students who like to work on their own... most classes do not do group projects or presentations, and almost everyone lives at home and just drives to school. It is very common to see fellow students from the same high school, but other than that, you don't really talk to anybody. The classes do not give you much socialization time, so it is good for shy people who are just trying to get through their classes!

    What to do for fun

    I lived at home, therefore I did not really do activities around the school or with people from the school! I'm sure it would have been different if I actually lived on campus with others.

    Food and Dining

    The Corinth campus has a small cafe, but I have not ever eaten there... the Flower Mound campus only has snacks in the Bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, I lived at home! I believe Gainesville may be the only campus that offers dorms. I have only attended the Flower Mound and Corinth campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends mostly on what professor you have for which class... most math classes use MyMathLab, which is completely online and automated, so you must always do the homework! Other classes may have homework that is just a completion grade, or not a grade at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up professors before choosing classes! I have had an excellent chemistry teacher, but an awful English professor... she would only show up half the time. Also, don't take for granted that online courses will be easier. I took an online music appreciation class and it was the most difficult class I had that semester. Choose times that will realistically work for you... I had a class at 8 AM and many people stopped coming after the first couple of weeks.

    In three sentences

    NCTC is a great choice for a junior college! The only thing is, although some professors are great at their job, others are either much too strict, or hardly do a thing. Altogether, I have enjoyed my last three semesters here.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Personally my favorite thing about his school is the amount of online classes that the offer. I have taken online courses the last two semesters and feel as though the professors and pushed me to better myself with each assignment.

    What to do for fun

    Once again, the campus' are very close to everyday activities and are available to the students with little to no transportation.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a variety of choices as far as food and dining and the prices are completely competitive. All of the campuses that I have been on are also very accessible to many food chains.

    Dorm Life

    Personally I have not lived in the dorms, but from what friends and fellow students have shared they all love the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at NCTC are/can be just as rigorous as if you were going to a full 4 year University but in my eyes the teaching staff are more hands on and alot more helpful when you need them to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    When deciding on schools, I would cosider NCTC for my first choice because the school works well to integrate their students from the high school experience to the college experience with little to no stress. This objective helps to keep students from feeling overwhelmed with going into a new learning environment.

    In three sentences

    I would rate NCTC with an 8 out 10 for a Junior College. The Professors that I have had thus far ave been extremely encouraging and insightful. The Corinth campus is like a small community where everything is right at the palm of your hands without getting lost.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see a guard on duty when I leave at 9pm everynight. I feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    I think NCTC is great for timid seniors coming out of highschool as well as the older person who wants to either go back and finish school or like myself, start for the first time ever.

    What to do for fun

    I have a family at home and work fulltime, so for my fun, I try to spend time with my family going to movies, zoo, things like that.

    Food and Dining

    Corinth Campus has a small food court area set up. They seem to have everything from sandwiches to pizza to pasta.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I live off campus with my family

    Academic Rigor

    With being out of school for almost 20 years and going back to school for the first time is alittle daunting in itself. It has been a challenge getting into the study routine. Some of the course work is a little more difficult than others, but that is what makes school, school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask your advisor anything about school. Whether is is about financial aid, what class to take and even who they would recommend for a teacher in a course you are about to sign up for.

    In three sentences

    I have done classes on campus and online and have had great success thus far. Registration is easy and the advisors are very helpful. At the Corinth campus bookstore, it is kind of crazy when going to get your books, but they have it pretty well organized.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am taking my first 2 years of classes here, and then transferring to a four year institution. Each semester I have paid 1/3 of the cost of a semester at a major college.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of sports and extra curricular activities, as well as random classes you can take.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafe had good food and decent pricing

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home so I am not sure

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging enough to keep you interested but not too much to make you hate your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The earlier you can enroll the better, you get prime time choices for classes and professors.

    In three sentences

    NCTC is a great school to get the basics out of the way; with cheap classes friendly professors and flexible schedules, it is a great educational opportunity.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    haven't had or saw any problems

    Clubs and Activities

    student life is awsome

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for all types of students

    Bang for the buck

    right down the road is the frank buck zoo, check it out sometime, it is great

    What to do for fun

    go out with the student life program for events and gatherings or spend time with my wife and kids back home

    Food and Dining

    there are many great restaraunts as well as a onsite dining facility

    Dorm Life

    sorry i cant tell you about dorm life as i commute everyday from Denison, a town 45 miles away, my house is wonderful

    Academic Rigor

    the classes here are great

    Tips for prospective students

    what are you waiting for NCTC is great and do get on board with the student life program as it enhances the experience.

    In three sentences

    it has been one of the best experiences of my life thus far. it has taken me to places i would have never dreamed id get to go. and has allowed me the opportunity to do things i otherwise would not have got to do.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have joined the Game and Politics club, I strongly encourage everyone to join. We get together once or twice a week and plays games while having discussions about everyday events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, and there is always enough places to sit.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed or been in a dorm, so I cannot give any insight.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class and the teacher. Most teachers are great at explaining the material, but some classes build on previous experience and expect the students to know what to do.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are low income, and/or aren't sure what they want to do yet. Or those who didn't get into the college they wanted, so they can take classes here and transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    It's priced really well if you live in the county.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do in Denton, it's ridiculous. There's the Town Square, hookah bars, bars, FRY STREET!

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to try any of the food since I'm taking only online classes, but the times I've been there, it smells good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't a very hard school, but I still study and try my hardest so I can get into the University I really want to go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest the online classes if you have a full time job. Study hard, so that you can get into a better university. Make sure that you make your deadlines for financial aid. If you apply for a loan, make sure that you go get your debit card from the Business Office before the loan goes through so you don't have to wait for the debit card to come in before you can use the loan.

    In three sentences

    They have a great online program. The Introduction to Psychology teacher for the online classes is phenomenal. Concepts of Fitness and Wellness is extremely boring, and the teacher is not very involved.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security throughout the campus all day from early in the morning to late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Leadership organization, honors program, student government...

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't come from rich families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have options for students who are interesting in traveling. A you have to do is attempt the college.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap college especially if you're in district.

    What to do for fun

    There are several student organizations you can attend and get to know people. They also throw in concerts and free food in the lobby every once in awhile.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent drinks and food is healthy although somewhat expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good. Always be careful no matter where you are.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not difficult if you pay attention an study outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books early and apply for financial aid extra early. To avoid waiting in line go early. They open at 8 so be there on time. Also check your email regularly.

    In three sentences

    Really great school with campuses across DFW area. The classes are small and the professors really get to know you. Their website makes it easy to access stuff online. The office staff are friendly and get things done in a professional manner.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't know what to pursuit in college, what college to go to, have kids, you want to live at home for a couple more years, or just want to save money for your dream school, or just want to get the basics out of the way at a cheaper price, NCTC is the right choice.

    Food and Dining

    NCTC Corinth has many options for food but you have to leave campus and drive like 2 or 3 miles on the highway to get food. Flower Mound, is a little easier but again, is not on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, but I know Gainesville campus has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great. Homework and lectures as well as tests are just like college, but the classroom atmosphere is a little less stressful. The classes feel easier and the teachers are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If location is more important than schedule, then i would suggest NCTC Flower Mound over Corinth, is newer and closer to food. Corinth has more classes though.

    In three sentences

    NCTC is a good choice. It has great teachers and it feels like high school in a more mature atmosphere with more responsibility. It's a great choice for students who want to save money and/or don't know where to go to school.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well if you're willing to find the interesting spots in Denton then it's fun I guess. It's nice living near Dallas and surrounding area- if you're willing to head 30mins-2hrs out there's a lot more to do. Also, Denton and surrounding/Dallas, etc. has a lot of music and art- so if you're into that kind of stuff then you should enjoy it.

    Food and Dining

    Corinth campus: Kanapkis food is expensive, Swee Bubble is good Chinese food but odd drinks- some people like it more though :).

    Dorm Life

    No idea- haven't lived in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too hard from what I've experienced so far- but that differs for different people. You still have to put in hours and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work! At any college, just do it without procrastinating. Make an effort to make friends- it's really easy to get through the semester not knowing people, and it's hard without people you know in a class, so make an effort to talk to people.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse in ethnicity and culture. The Corinth campus doesn't have a whole lot going on, but it has the most students. Very cheap!!!

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are new to college, trying to finish up basics, or even go back to school, this campus is great for all to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    By far the cheapest school I've found, the teachers are amazing here!

    What to do for fun

    There are restaurants, a gym, and a mall all close to the Campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, at least not at the Corinth Campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up on time, it's very rude and annoying to show up late. Even if the homework isn't a grade, do it, even if you don't want to. Online classes are great if you have the discipline to actually sit down at home and do it.

    In three sentences

    NCTC Corinth Campus is a great learning environment for all ages. The faculty is amazingly helpful and patient. Also, NCTC does everything it can to help the students succeed.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at this school is ok but could be worse. I never see any type of security around, but we are a small town also.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Im unexperienced in this area.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can get there core subjects here but they also have departments such as nursing, cosmetology, drafting, criminal justice and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not heard of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Like i said its a small school but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Join student life group for fun activities and games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite alright and dining isn't bad!

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms here, however, I had a cousin that did and she loved it. She even became a dorm monitor.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at this school are fantastic. Even for a small college, it has a wide range of degree choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great place to start because of the size and the great teaching.

    In three sentences

    NCTC is a great school. The professors here are well educated and know what they are talking about. It's a small junior college but it works well.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student!

    What to do for fun

    Great activities due to UNT, TWU, and NCTC in Denton.

    In three sentences

    Great Dual credit classes. Started while in High School. Great professors that were willing to help.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never saw any incidents while I was there

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Still wanting to live at home yet want to get a good education

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper that in district tuition at my previous college and more of a class selection.

    What to do for fun

    It's right by Denton so there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The small cafeteria has wonderful food and are very efficient at getting your food to you.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at the Corinth site.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers that made everything easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a class on the third floor never wear a jacket. Get to know your teachers and you will love your classes.

    In three sentences

    Not big enough for the amount of students there. Teachers are great and the class size is never over 25 due to teaching space. Parking at the Corinth site is down right terrible

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Camera's and security guards are keeping us safe!

    Greek Life

    Huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs to join such as Honors and the great thing about school sponsored clubs is that they feed you!

    Great for these types of students

    Middle aged students. There is a great diversity at this school and I would say that there are just about as many older people (30+) as there are 18-23 year old's!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well if there are any unusual traditions, I don't know about them.

    Bang for the buck

    You can CLEP out of classes, ask an adviser how. This is when you test out of a class. No one told me about this and had I known, I would not have taken a few of the classes that are available to test out of.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities in student life. I think they even kayak all summer long.

    Food and Dining

    Depends on the location that you are at. I have been to two of the five campuses. One has a good choice in food and the other is over priced and limited on food selection.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a Dorm but from what I have seen, it looks to be great.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers make it hard to fail but others make it extremely hard to pass. I think there may even be weed out classes there. Scary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful of the professors you select, ask other students for recommendations. Show up to class, don't procrastinate and study study study.

    In three sentences

    North Central Texas College is a great start for anyone not wanting to go to a University right away. You can be successful there and available to you is great support especially in writing and math.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security roaming around all the time.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there are any.

    Great for these types of students

    For people who likes small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You either have to go through a neighborhood to get there, or break a U if you are coming from I-35 N.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than UNT, and the classes are easier.

    What to do for fun

    Study with your classmates outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    They have a snack bar and a deli, but I've only ever bought a Gatorade and a bag of chips from the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There was no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes was very easy, making it even easier to slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are all very nice. The work is some what easy if you pay attention.

    In three sentences

    The college I attended was in the Corinth campus, where all of the classes were in one building. It had a high school feel to it and was very small and intimate. I left because I wanted more of a college life.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are mostly interested in getting there education and focusing on school and academics.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is way cheaper than a four year university, and I am absolutely loving it so far. You get a good education for an excellent price.

    What to do for fun

    The campuses host many events that students can attend. There are many get togethers where you can meet other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't register late because you won't be able to get all the classes you want! Other than that just stay positive, and try to get all your homework and everything done on time. If you stay up to date on all your assignments you should do fine!

    In three sentences

    I love this college so far. My teachers are nice and seem to really care about the students. I feel comfortable and look forward to earning my associates degree here.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Few options, but tasty options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your instructors before choosing your classes, and have a plan.

    In three sentences

    NCTC can be either a good place to get your basics done or a good place to get a 2 year technical degree. There are a good number of options here, and tuition is a good price. The instructors are hit-and-miss; it just depends on who you get.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have taken a break from college and want to finish their associates and transfer, or new students who feel they are not ready for a university

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun in gainesville but 30 minutes down the road is Denton Texas, the college atmosphere in the city is accompanied by awesome local restaraunts, mall, bowling, and college students just about everywhere that you'll never be bored whenever you visit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of the sources around you. From one on one appointments with the professors, to not having to set up a time with a tutor in the math lab. Some of the resources wont be available as much whenever you transfer to a university

    In three sentences

    North Central Texas College, the college thats perfect if you are intimidated by the big name universities. Great professors who know what universities expect and help you prepare for any challenge you may face at a four year college. The perfect stepping stone to prepare you for the journey ahead.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not a huge dining area in the Corinth campus but the food is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on the Corinth campus

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I would have had a better experience if I had looked up my professor first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for big classes. Research your professor before you take the class. Don't buy your books early because chances are you don't need them. Stay on top of homework (slacking off adds up).

    In three sentences

    I have been attending NCTC in Corinth for 1 semester. In my almost 5 months of being here I have made maybe three new friends? I came to school wanting to meet new people and also get my basics ready to transfer to university. The people at this school are here to sit in class and leave - no one is there to make friends. But on the academic side I haven't had the best experience so far. I didn't look up my professors before I signed up for the class so I got a teacher that speaks in circles and a teacher that speaks incredibly fast and monotone.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is rather safe, so students are rest assured to be safe and secure.

    Great for these types of students

    North Central Texas College is a great school for students who are just trying to ease their way into college and not get into things quickly, but overall it is for everyone I would say!

    What to do for fun

    What you can do for fun on the North Central Texas campus is that they have a gym and basketball court and they also have little activities for us students to do,

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great and has top quality food that will keep you coming back for more!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on this campus sadly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at North Central Texas is well established an the teachers here are fair with the students.

    In three sentences

    I would honestly and full heartedly say that North Central Texas college is a great start for anyone who wants to go to college. Granted that it is indeed a small school scale wise and not the size of a university, but that doesn't trump the great quality of the school!

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Living at home means provided food. I don't have to worry about food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, therefore not having to live in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    North Central Texas College is an excellent community college. It is affordable for college students who are having to work throughout their college career. The teachers are willing to work with the students and provide a great atmosphere to learn in.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a security guard there at all hours of the day to watch over students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who feel they're not sure of their future job. Students who want follow their dreams, but don't have a lot of money.

    Food and Dining

    The NCTC store always has wonderful snacks to make it through your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors will keep you at the edge of your seat with learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to checkout your professors on ratemyprofessors.com to see if they're what you have in mind. Always keep up with what your grades are on Angel.

    In three sentences

    This school is very convenient with your everyday busy schedule.The expense for classes are less expensive compared to other schools. NCTC is a splendid place to start right after high-school!

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The faculty goes to a lot of trouble when keeping their students safety in mind. We are now a tobacco free campus so smoking and drinking is not tolerated. Rules are also enforced at the dorms if the rules the tenants have agreed to are broken with keeping both the peace of mind, stress of school and studies, and safety of the other students residing at those same dorms in mind.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here we have sports, horses, and sororities. Each have many different facets to them and are diverse in both their types and their different disciplines. This school has a very good athletics and horse program and are known to recruit and give scholarships to each which is a big help to many students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those looking to go into the horse industry or those who desire to get their nursing degree. It also has a great cosmetology, agriculture, and arts facilities, degrees, and programs as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This a great school to come too, not only to get your feet wet but that the tuition is extremely affordable and you are being taught by professors many of which could or have taught at universities that give you an open door policy that you cannot always get and many of the courses here are able to transfer to universities which can be a big help to many students, especially those going in for the long haul to get their Masters or more.

    What to do for fun

    There is a small theatre and the Frank Buck Zoo here that you can go to, but for the most part you would want to head to Denton or Decatur to find additional options.

    Food and Dining

    This school has a very good food program, but if that does not appeal to you there are both restaurants and fast food very close by that is both affordable and within easy driving distance for those worried about gas expenses.

    Dorm Life

    Both dorms are located within walking distance of the campus, are affordable, have good food plans, and have a good RA system going. The dorms are fair with warnings but uphold the rules and keep all of the students safety and well being in mind at all times.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has a great academic program both for those in athletics and not. The Faculty here put in a lot of effort to meet the needs of current and future students and pride themselves on their graduates especially those who went the extra mile and receive honors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your interested in equine studies here you are in the middle of horse country and will have many opportunities presented to you. This school is also renowned for it's nursing program and has also had many successful art and cosmetology graduates that have become very successful. You also get the benefit of professors that have open door policies and will be more than happy to help you if they can, along with a very diverse tutoring program.

    In three sentences

    I am currently attending the Gainesville Campus. It is a very resourceful school that has very devoted teachers and faculty and has a very diverse course and certificate program and a wonderful student success program.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Corinth campus offers a few varieties of food choices, from breakfast options, any drink is offered (minus alcohol of course) and there is even a small thai kiosk with delicious egg rolls.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are offered only at the Gainesville campus, I have not personally been to them but from other students are heard they are suitable dorms fora community college.

    Academic Rigor

    North Central Texas College offers all the basic classes any college student will need and it is possible to pass all of the classes as long as the work is done and the student studies. There are no particular classes known to be harder than the next but depending on your major, a student could get into some tough classes.

    In three sentences

    Great community college! The classes are small so it's easier to get one on one help from the teacher and have your questions answered. I go back and forth between the Flower Mound campus and the Corinth campus and enjoy both.