Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

North Central University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    North Central is great for students who are looking to follow God in His calling for their lives. Even if you are here for one semester, it will change your life. If you are looking to grow in your faith, North Central is a great place to learn and find a community to help you grow. All types of people attend North Central, from people with low GPAs to older adults trying to finish degrees. The best way to find out if it is a good college for you would be to visit their website: www.northcentral.edu or to schedule a campus visit day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since North Central is a private Christian school, it requires that all of its students have a personal relationship with Christ Jesus. It has an Assemblies of God affiliation, but the denominations here are not a big deal. I would recommend that if you are a student considering North Central to come to a campus visit day and see for yourself how wonderful the people here are. Also, if you are worried about being located in Downtown Minneapolis, I would recommend you talk to the security here. They are great people and everyone I know here feels very safe on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    While North Central is a private Christian University, it is fairly inexpensive. The cost of attendance for one year is around $20,000, while other comparable Christian colleges can add up to over $30,000 per year.

    Am enjoying being here

    North Central has a great atmosphere. I love being a part of this community. Since most students live on-campus, you get to know people on a personal level inside and outside of the classroom.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at North Central are great and well worth the money paid for them. Most of them cover subject matter that will relate to everyday life. Professors are caring and willing to help whenever a student needs it.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are outgoing and love to help. Like I said before, North Central is right in downtown Minneapolis so there is a lot of room for volunteer work through the school to help those in need! Students who are hard working and just love to have fun with people who are alike are 100% welcome!!

    Tips for prospective students

    North Central University is a Christ-Centered University so having a relationship with the Lord is very key. Just be ready for some interesting Bible courses and also to meet fellow Christians. This University is very respectable and is so much fun as well. Great Music Department as well as ASL (American Sign Language) Department.

    Bang for the buck

    North Central University is a private school thus is very expensive. It all depends on if you agree with its mission statement and what its attempts are. Some students may disagree with the classes they have to take, but for me i really appreciate them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a fun place to be! Right in downtown Minneapolis i rarely find myself bored. Within North Central its a small community so getting to know people is very easy!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at North Central University are outstanding! Not only do they cover all the criteria in a well fashioned manor, they are there for help and love to generate relationships.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security walks around campus 24/7, will pick you up from the light rail, escort you when you walk outside, etc. I have yet to feel truly threatened.

    Greek Life

    There is not much here, but there are different academic groups for each department.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of sports and groups, and because it is a smaller college you can be actively be involved in whatever you are interested in. There are groups that lean towards the helping side, such as helping sex traffic victims, and there are also all of the regular sports available.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are someone who is looking to be very involved with campus life, this is the college for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole campus is connected by skyways with the exception of two buildings. I had a semester where I never had a need to step outside, which was nice for the winter months. As far as traditions, there is The Week, which is basically one big carnival. There is also Battle of the Floors which is a competition where you put on one big drama skit with assigned themes. Be aware, however, that you are required to attend chapel everyday for an hour.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricy, but as far a private schools go, it is actually cheap. A ton of scholarships are also up for grabs.

    What to do for fun

    On the bright side, you are living RIGHT in downtown Minneapolis (and it's completely safe, don't worry). You can walk to target, through the skyways, to the stonearch, and so much more. Restaurants are in abundance, and you have the whole cities at the disposal of your hand with the light rail half a mile away and the metro bus stops right outside the door.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a special place. I can bet that by your third year you will be applying for an apartment in order to cook your own food. Meals do not roll over to the next week, and you are not allowed to share your meals with someone else. The food is far from being exceptional, and the cafeteria is often crowded with small times of open hours.

    Dorm Life

    There are basically three options. Newly renovated dorms, old school dorms, and dorms with a kitchen. You basically get what you pay for. However, community is never an issue, seeing as North Central goes out of its way to make sure no one is friendless.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, you will either get off easy of be put through a grueling course load. If you are looking into any English/Music/Education/Psychology field, just be prepared to put in your fair amount of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that enrolling in this school means you must take on a Bible minor (although you can still add another minor on top of that). Also be aware that not everyone at the school will act in accordance with the rules that are set by the college, which includes no drinking throughout the time you are enrolled at the university.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a place to grow spiritually and academically, North Central is a great place to do both. However, you will only get out of it what you put in. Thus, you may be surprised at the rigor (or lack thereof) of other students.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music students, bible/Jesus loving students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student. But I would say get to know some of your professors and staff members before you go. Also ask A LOT of questions, because I'm sure you have a lot, don't be afraid to ask.

    Bang for the buck

    I only put a 3 because I am unsure yet, I haven't come yet!

    Will enjoy being here

    What can I say I'm excited!

    Will learn a lot

    I'm excited to learn so much here. I plan to go for Music Performance. I have done much research and have heard of some world class professors and instructors in the music degree area.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think the classes are worth the money I find this college very reasonably price for a DBA.

    What to do for fun

    I work and go to school. I also do go out with a friend. I also do spend some time with family

    Academic Rigor

    Academicly I like the classes and school verymuch eventhough that you are working indpendently I enjoy the one on one with my mentor.

    Tips for prospective students

    You work independently with your mentor.

    In three sentences

    They are located in AZ I am currently on Line Student for my DBA in International Business. Your work indepedently with your mentor.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Budget! Do not be afraid of budgeting. If you feel called to this school, go, but you need to be a steward of your money while being in college. Create a budget for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    North Central is extremely expensive and does not offer the best education, academically speaking.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school has a great atmosphere and is filled with quality people.

    Am learning a lot

    There are not great Professors in the Business Department.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have cameras around the campus with security. They also provide free escorts through the school to escort anyone who might have to go from one place or another around town. This is especially nice for female students who might have an off campus job and ride the light rail at later hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have sports including: men and women's Basketball, Cross Country, Soccer, Track & Field, Tennis, men's Golf and Baseball, women's Softball and Volleyball. They also have a several music groups, Student Activities Committee, Stundents in Free Enterprise, Student Ministries Board, Deaf Culture Fellowship, Student Senate, Delta Kappa, Alpha Chi, and Psi-Chi.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who would like to go to a school with a Christian based atmosphere and meet people who hold some of the same beliefs as you.

    What to do for fun

    They have chappel everyday and new speakers from all over speak. There are bands that come and preform at least once a month. Across the street from the University is a skate park and softball diamond. They have inter-mural sports and the gym and weight room are open for any students. Since the University is located in downtown Minneapolis there is several places in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    I ate there when I visited and they have a variety of choices for lunch that change everyday. They have big salad bar everyday and they also have a freezer of ice cream! The food plans can include breakfast, lunch, and dinner but if you are not a big breakfast eater I would recommend skipping the 3 meal plan and stick with 2.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paperwork for enrollment done quickly. This includes: Housing applications and Financial Aid.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus that is the middle of downtown Minneapolis so you will never be bored. The students and faculty are unbelievably nice and made me feel totally comfortable there. Everyone is so willing to help you with any questions, concerns, and they are all just really real people.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are always allerted when something around the campus has happend that the security is dealing with. since we are in the city there are some crime, usually something stolen out of a car, but it RARELY happens.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a Christian university the tuition is a little high but when you Know GOd wants you to GO to the College he will Provide a way for you too go.

    What to do for fun

    Our Campus is right in the middle of Minneapolis. We have parks and many places to take walks and runs. a lot of bike trails. and plenty of restaurants and theaters to go too.

    Food and Dining

    The food company is called Pioneer Catering and is very Good. They are a little repititious with what we eat during the week but still good food. Cant complain

    Dorm Life

    Very fun, interactive with other floors, and very comfortable yet small dorms in some halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers are fantastic and will make sure you understand what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and be ready for chapels and extra activities around Campus.

    In three sentences

    North Central University is an amazing College where you know the teachers care for you as and individual and care about your spiritual life as we. You Come here not only to get and education but to grow stronger in your relationship with Christ. The Teachers are very reliable and smart.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is pretty safe. We have on campus security that patrols the area and you can contact them if you have any problems.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of student groups on campus, they do a wide verity of things.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in music, missions, pastoral ministries and people looking for a good christian community in school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of the buildings are historical buildings in Minneapolis.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private christian school, not bad.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Minneapolis is great and close enough to walk to, the Mall Of America is about 30 mins away on the lightrail. there are different groups and activities the school provides, and many option in the area for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. Better than some schools I have been to, but not spectacular. For cafeteria food, I'd give it a 7 out of 10.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life! the community in the dorms is fantastic and creates strong binds between dorm-mates. There are also a lot of activities for the people living within the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and classes. Not too hard but you do have to work for your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for people trying to get to know you, do your class work, and do not over skip!

    In three sentences

    Great school, good community and great teachers! The campus id nice and small, giving the feel of close community. Students and staff are very friendly and helpful!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus even though the area is a little sketchy at night.

    Greek Life

    There is little to none Greek life on campus which I don't mind.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to choose from I don't think I even know of them all yet.

    Great for these types of students

    North Central University is great for students who want to grow in their relationship with God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the floors is a blast!!

    Bang for the buck

    I am learning skills that will be with me forever. I am in a safe environment to grow and I would never change that.

    What to do for fun

    The lively city of Minneapolis is full of cheap ways to have fun which is perfect in college. I love walking to the Stone Arch Bridge and taking the Light Rail to Mall of America.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and the deli can get old but Chicken Tender Tuesdays are the best!

    Dorm Life

    There are so many opportunities to get to know people and to get involved. I love how close everyone is in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are ridiculously easy and some are extremely hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to be themselves. It's so important not to conform especially when you are meeting so many new people. Confidence is key because God made everyone with a purpose in mind, we should all be confident in that fact.

    In three sentences

    North Central University has an amazing community where students have a positive environment to grow spiritually and academically. Chapel is the best part of the day. So far I feel like the teachers care about each student's success in life and in the classroom which I really appreciate

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout with people who love the Lord.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    They pair you up with people with similar interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone looking for a Christian based community, North Central is the way to go.

    In three sentences

    North Central is a warm community, with people who are willing to reach out their hand to help others. I believe North Central is a great place to further education. North Central is also a community that will help you grow in your faith.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great. They are always on post and alert 24/7. There are security guards patrolling at every hour of every day. Unfortunately, because the school is located directly in downtown, it is not the safest place, but with care and use of logic, everyone can learn to be safe. In case of an incident, security will always be there in a matter of minutes.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at North Central.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are man clubs and activities, most of which are focused on spiritual growth or serving the community. Reach Out Minneapolis has many branches in which it reaches out to those in the area with programs such as R.O.S.E.S. (an outreach to women in prostitution), Operation Homeless (feeding the homeless), and Connecting Hope (a singing outreach). There are also prayer meetings with the prayer club, a film club, school sports, intramural sports, worship teams, and many, many more clubs and activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    NCU is great for Christian students who are interested in pursuing a life in the ministry or missionary field. Many students are Youth Pastor and music majors. This school is known for its great Worship Arts program. If you are a music or ministry major, definitely look into attending this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many unusual traditions on campus. During freshman Welcome Week, there is Funky Night (which I could try to explain, but would fail miserably at doing so). There is also a yearly school-wide Assassin tournament. The biggest event, however, is Battle of the Floors. I cannot explain these because they are somewhat campus secrets, but if you attend, you will definitely find out. ;)

    Bang for the buck

    North Central is one of the least expensive private Christian universities that I looked into. It is not the biggest, but it is definitely a good place for community and serving others. The classes are not rigorous and the academic programs are not the best, but it gets the job done.

    What to do for fun

    Living in downtown Minneapolis, there is a lot of things to do for fun. The Metrodome where the Minnesota Vikings play is a 3-minute walk from the school. Also a 5-minute walk is the Lightrail Station that can take you all throughout the city. It stops at the Mall of America, the United States' largest mall, where you can go to the movies or ride the Nickelodeon Universe amusement rides. The Target Field is a short lightrail ride or walk away, as well as Block E and some delicious dining in downtown. A few stops down the lightrail, one can go to Minnehaha Park and take a nature walk and see a lovely waterfall.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf serves okay food. Many people prefer to skip dinner and wait to get a transfer meal at the deli. It is great to have a buffet to eat from at the Caf, but sometimes the food gets repetitive and is slightly flavorless. Everyone must have a meal plan unless they live in apartments, Mensing, or are a commuter, but you are not refunded if you do not use all your meals, unfortunately.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is hectic. People are always having fun and going out. Groups are exclusive, but tightly knit. There are brother and sister floors and these pairings host events for their combined floors. There are people called Discipleship Leaders on each floor that help people along the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    NCU is not the most academically rigorous university I have seen. There are more important things on faculty, staff, and students' minds. You will find that classes are not difficult at all (unless you have Amy Anderson as a professor) and most of the focus is on the spiritual and servitude aspect of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the tips that I would give to prospective students is for them to get involved. There are many clubs and organizations that they can become involved in. Unfortunately, there is not much cultural diversity, but if you dig hard enough, you can find people to fit in with.

    In three sentences

    NCU is a great place for someone who is looking for a small community environment. Faculty, staff, and student body are all tightly woven and have great relationships. It is also a Christian environment for those who enjoy a spiritual side to their education.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour a day security that will drive in the dark to pick you up at anytime.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus because it supports my Christian values. The professors here are interested in my spiritual and leadership growth along with my academic growth.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When I am not busy with school or work i plan to just hang out with my friends and enjoy the outside and the surrounding city. When i have time i would like to visit my family to catch up with them.

    Food and Dining

    Anything is good for a poor college student

    Dorm Life

    Meeting people is important and would be easier once you have people that can depend on. They can help you study and be there when you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what College i go to it would be hard and important to stay on top of my grades, making sure they are good.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a new student hear but I think that it is important to outreach to people and make new friends. It would be good to stay busy with school and work. But to make as many friends as possible

    In three sentences

    I am eager to go to North Central and experience all that it has to offer. I am ready to learn and meet new people, wanting to make new friends. I want to experience a new state and a university

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do for fun at North Central University. It is located right in the center of downtown Minneapolis! The city has a ton of things to do. Also, the college itself has many things to do. You can play basketball with friends, do many fun things in the Carlson lounge, and participate in the many activities the school throws.

    Food and Dining

    The food at North Central is alright. Sometimes they have a good meal but it is nothing exceptional. They do not have that big of a variety of food and sometimes it doesn't taste the best. It is definitely an adventure at times with the food.

    Dorm Life

    The other students in the dorms are amazing. You become close quickly, no matter who you are. People at this school are always there for you and are always willing to help. There is accountability and other encouraging and upbuilding things that the students in the dorms do to stay connected and to grow.

    Academic Rigor

    This school isn't exactly based on the academics but rather is more focused on impacting the community and being ready to go out into the world. It focuses more on growing you as a person. The academics do help, but you get more out of the university if you are out in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I have are to be financially ready. Apply for scholarships and FASFA. Also be ready to get involved in the community. It may seem difficult at first, but it really allows you to grow as an individual.

    In three sentences

    North Central is a great college that I have grown and matured in. It encourages and allows students to get involved in the community. Even though it is expensive, it will give students an experience that no other school can give.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While we are in downtown, and there are occasional thefts in the apartments, we have a great security system.

    Greek Life

    We dont have any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of things to do around campus, especially minstry opportunites.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students looking to go further in ministry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Weekly chapel and weekly evangelism around downtown.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a theology, pastoral (children, youth, pastor), missions or music major, it is so worth the money, math majors and science majors, this isnt the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things around Minneapolis, as well as clubs on campus, exercise classes, weekend trips, and a lot to do in surrounding areas as well.

    Food and Dining

    I recommend not having a large meal plan. The food isn't the greatest. I moved to a dorm where you dont have to have a plan, and I jst cook my own food.

    Dorm Life

    It is a great community, and there is a lot to do, however there are some rules and regulations that have to be followed.

    Academic Rigor

    The music and theology teachers are amazing and some of the best in their field. The gen-ed teachers however, are below par.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is expensive, so make sure that you either have a plan or go to a jr. college first..I wish I had!

    In three sentences

    North Central Is a great community. They car about students a lot. The only problem is that the music department is political and tough...but what school isn't like that.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not in the best part of town. This means that people do need to take common sense steps towards keeping yourself safe. It is best to not walk around on the streets late at night, but the school does have skyways which make it easy to move throughout the campus without being on the street. The campus security is also very good at escorting people to their cars or picking them up from the Light Rail if they are coming back to school from an off-campus job. The school does a good job of keeping the students and campus safe, especially with the crime that does happen in the area.

    Greek Life

    There is not Greek life at North Central.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and groups to join. There are a number of different bands and choirs for those musically inclined. There are a lot of intramural sports teams. There are also Division III sports teams at the college. There are also some major specific clubs that can be joined.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to grow in their faith and get a great education.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of North Central is incredibly good for a private university. It is just a few thousand more than the University of Minnesota. This is a great deal for students who want to not only have their college education, but who also want to have a Christian atmosphere to grow in. It is definitely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of common areas where people hang out on campus. There are also a number of events through bro-sis floor events, and through the Student Activities Council. In the winter there are always a number of people attending the basketball games on campus. There are also a number of intramural teams and events that are a great draw for students. Being in downtown Minneapolis opens up the opportunities to off campus enjoyment, such as walks around downtown, in the skyways, and to the Stone Arch Bridge.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a fan of the cafeteria. I have only eaten there a couple times, since I am a commuter, but each time I did not feel well after. There is a deli that has a lot of options and has less of the greasy fried food. The deli is a good alternative. It is convenient being in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, since there are a number of places to eat off campus. It is a short walk to get into the skyway system, which can take you to a variety of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and commute, but the dorm life seems to be good. People enjoy the sense of community there comes with living on campus. There are plenty of quieter times on the dorm floors for people who need to study. There are a lot of events between brother and sister floors, that encourage getting to know other students. There is the drawback of very few open dorm hours. Only four hours Friday, Saturday, and Sunday are available for guys and girls to be on each otherâ??s' floors. This does minimize the available places to hang out with the other gender.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at North Central all depends on the major and area of study. The music program is excellent. The business department is one of the best there is, and is very vigorous and thorough. The Bible and theology classes are also very good, and the professors are excellent and definitely know their areas of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like any college, you need to be ready for a different type of workload and be ready to be responsible for your assignments and work. There are a number of long research papers that must be written in the theology classes that are required of all the students. Another tip is to have a good attitude about going to chapel, which is required, and to just enjoy the environment you have chosen to be a part of.

    In three sentences

    North Central will help you to grow spiritually. It is a great community to be a part of. It is very affordable for a private university.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have I.D. scanners to get into each building and a 24-hr security team that checks each building. Since the campus is in downtown Minneapolis, security has escorts that can take you to some of the buildings that are a couple blocks from the main part of campus. They also have a shuttle to the lightrail station so that students don't have to walk downtown late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different student-lead ministries and groups that one can get plugged into. You will never be bored, res life makes sure of that.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking to go into ministry or grow closer in their walk with Christ.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the beginning of the year, some of the residence halls will have their annual parties. In Miller Hall this usually becomes a huge dance party in the middle of Elliot Avenue. At Carlson Hall, its a party on the patio, I'm not quite sure what they do, there's always a lot of chanting that happens during this party.

    What to do for fun

    North Central is in downtown Minneapolis, this gives students access to coffee shops, restaurants, libraries, and parks all with in a couple of blocks. Also, it is easy to get to Uptown, and the U of M which always have fun things to do. North Central is also located around Elliot Park, there is a play ground, and in the warm weather many students play baseball, kickball, frisbee or football in the park, and in the winter there's the annual midnight snowball fight. A short lightrail ride can get you to the Mall of America. Also, doing events with your Brother-Sister floors is usually pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    The school is getting better at catering to students with special dietary needs such as gluten free or vegetarian. It might be a bit hard to be a vegan, not too many options. The food can vary day to day, some days better than others.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are in older buildings, they may not look as impressive, but they have a homey feeling to them. Because of the age of the rooms, it gives the students a bit more flexibility to be creative with how they arrange their rooms with out having to worry about damaging furniture. The newer dorms are equally just as nice, and the apartments are comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely credentialed, they want you to pursue academic excellence. The classes are challenging but not overwhelming, and you glean plenty of concepts that you can apply to your life straight away.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a wonderful Christ-centered community/family, North Central is the place for you. The staff and faculty work with students to ensure personal growth and genuinely care about you as a person. The dorm life is geared towards getting you connected and not isolated and feeling alone. The caf takes a little getting used to.

    In three sentences

    North Central is wonderful at creating a community atmosphere. The academics challenge but do not overwhelm. The staff and faculty always provide students with opportunities to grow in all aspects of life.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm extremely excited to attend NCU this fall! The admissions counselors have been extremely helpful over the internet and have answered every question I've had with accurate and specific answers. God has called me to this school and I'm excited to see what He has in store for me there!

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very strict about their campus safety!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything in on time for chances to win some prizes. If you don't get something turned in on time they will call you and let you know but are very nice about it.

    In three sentences

    They are very easy to get a hold of your advisors. They always call you back as soon as they can. They make signing up for college less stressful.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NCU is located downtown, so there is a risk of robberies, muggings, etc. but NCU has a security team that does an excellent job of keeping us safe and responding quickly if any potentially dangerous situations do arise.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of on-campus clubs and activities, which are pretty well attended. My favorite clubs/activities, however, are the ones that involve interaction with the community. There are so many diverse people groups and opportunities in the neighborhood and I think it is important to get out of NCU and interact with our neighbors.

    Great for these types of students

    NCU is great for music, missions, or ministry majors in particular.

    Bang for the buck

    NCU does have a fairly reasonable tuition rate compared to other universities in the area, especially compared to other private/Christian universities.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do on campus, but there is a lot to do nearby as it is located in the middle of downtown. The Stone Arch Bridge over the Mississippi river is very close and is a beautiful place to walk to. There are a lot of restaurants and stores downtown. The Metrodome is also only a couple blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is overpriced and not very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends on which residence hall you live in. Overall, the community at NCU is very strong and intimate, but some of the rooms are not as nice as they could be.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the major. My major, psychology, is fairly rigorous, but other majors are less so.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to school for music, ministry, or missions, this is a great school for you. If you are going for math, English, psychology, social work, or any sort of science field, NCU may still be a great option for you, but be prepared to receive less support (including financial support).

    In three sentences

    Overall North Central is an excellent school with a great location and great opportunities. One downside is a lot of rules and strict requirements and a lot of fees. It is great for students pursuing areas of ministry, but it does have a tendency to place a greater emphasis on music, ministry, and mission majors and overlook other majors.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    North Central has all sorts of activities, so much so that a person has to learn to say no to everything that is happening. A team that creates random events for campus life to attend is called SAC, they create a lot of fun events such as movie nights, stand up comedies, single guy competitions, and so much more. There is also intramural sports and all kinds of smaller activities that occur on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Last year (2012/2013) The cafeteria food was pretty good, but was so repetitive that one would get so sick of it, they went out to buy food. The college plans on changing this upcoming year.

    Dorm Life

    Women and men are separated to keep sexuality out of our minds. Everyone is a Christian so you do not have to be afraid of talking with anybody about Jesus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers can be very helpful and excited for the students, doing their best to get each student to learn, not just pass the class. Their are some teachers that are not that great, but every campus has this issue. Most professors here are some of the best that I have ever met in my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to delve DEEP into Christ, this is the best place to possibly go. Some might be scared due to the excited and very spiritual nature of the university, but do not let that keep you away. If you truly try to go deeper with your relationship with Christ here, it will happen.

    In three sentences

    North Central University is very Pentecostal driven, and cares deeply for each and every students lives. They do their best to see each student graduate with the least amount of debt possible and help find out where the students passions are. This university is Christ centered, much prayer and Bible talk happens within this campus.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Campus security guards which are actual students who do it for a job. The security guards though do not go far off campus. Most people would warn you not to travel Minneapolis alone at night, always travel in groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural Sports and Bro-sis events, as well as a group on campus known as SAC which wishes to get Christians involved in business.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who follow Christ and want a school with their same beliefs. Students who want to enter the ministry. Students who love the city-life. Students who enjoy a small tight-knit school

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bit spendy to go to North Central University, it is a private Christian school so they tend to be more expensive than public colleges. I believe compared to other Christian colleges they are a bit cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with others in their dorm rooms playing video games to watching movies. Play foos-ball in the Carlson lobby or even play Pool at the Billiards table. Travel around the city of Minneapolis going shopping, eating out, or take a scenic walk over the bridge nearby. Minnehaha Falls is a nice park, not too far, can just take a bus or the LightRail there. Play intramural sports with other students in the gym. Students play sports such as football, baseball, basketball, and soccer. There is currently no actual College football team at North Central University, just flag-football intramural. Get involved in churches nearby for Bible Studies or volunteer to help out in youth ministry.

    Food and Dining

    North Central University is in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, so there are alot of restaurants around. Students are especially close to the Mall of America(biggest mall in America) which allows for great shopping and food. The cafeteria food at North Central University is not very good, but it is done in buffet style with alot to choose from, so you can usually find at least one good food item to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I have loved dorm life in the Carlson dorms at North Central University. The dorms are full of Godly men who are hilarious, kind, and sarcastic. Dorms in Carlson are criticized for being small, but I find them rather homey. Everyone's dorm room doors are pretty close to each others, so its very easy to hang out with people who are nearby. Oftentimes guys just leave their room doors open, as a sign that basically anyone can just come in and relax. The floors tend to meet on Tuesdays for what is called Lifecore, where we just tend to talk about Life in general. It is kinda like a group devotional or group study. Topics range from family life, to evangelism. Its just a fun get together usually involving food. On weekends girls and guys are allowed to go to each other's dorm rooms. Dorm room doors cannot be shut while mixed genders are in a room. Open dorms ends at 10 p.m. They will send people around to make sure all guys are out of girls rooms and girls are out of guys rooms. Often over weekends their are bro-sis events which involve for example: the third floor of guys will go ice skating with the 5th floor of girls in miller. Both the men and women will be assigned bro-sis floors for the entire year doing events together. Fun events involving bro-sis floors are Battle of the Floors where everyone in the school is apart of their own bro-sis group and competes against other bro-sis groups. Each group will perform a skit in-front of the entire school with certain themes that have to be used.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very willing to help and they are very much focused on Christ. There are small class sizes which helps students easily get in touch with professor. Some classes will certainly be more rigorous than others depending on subject and teacher. North Central though does boast wonderful BIblical scholars renowned for their insights into Biblical teaching, such as Amy Anderson. North Central University just rather recently became a full-fledged University, (so things are being worked on), but the University constantly makes great strides forward to improve academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be a bit aware that the cafeteria serves better food when new students are visiting. The Philips dorms,though they may seem nicer than other dorms, they have a stigma on campus of being filled with the snobby/rich students. Carlson for men is the better choice for men. The dorms known as Mensing are the farthest from campus, but some people like it for the fact you can cook your own food there. Warning: It is noisy since its filled with musicians. Woman should go to Miller dorms. There are apartments as well, but usually priority goes to older students. Also for new students coming to campus having a car would be a big plus, its a little hard to do fun stuff around the cities without a car. Yes, people can use buses, but most students if they ride along with you, would rather ride in someones car.

    In three sentences

    North Central is a very Christ centered campus with faculty and students willing to openly share about Christ. The University though small, is a wonderful leader in Christ-centered education. Its great being apart of a University that wants you to follow the call, God has put on your life.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read, Movies, hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Really good

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and do what u need to do to be your best

    In three sentences

    Very church involved people. Teachers and Staff are very understanding and helpful. Great inviornemnt

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the most safe campuses. Security is always roaming around checking everything out. Even if you leave campus you are safe. Security is available to escort you somewhere if you want.

    Greek Life

    Since NCU is a Pentecostal school they do not have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of different clubs and activities you can get involved in. You can even start your own club if they don't have what you are looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    NCU is great for any type of student. This is not a one size fits all kind of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    North Central is located next to one of the most diverse neighborhood in Minneapolis.

    Bang for the buck

    North Central is totally worth the money. Everything is amazing at this school. Your spiritual life is molded and you are stretched and grow closer to God every day. The teachers are great. There are tons of classes and majors. Every student here is wonderful. They care about getting to know you as a person and are always super friendly.

    What to do for fun

    We never run out of things to do. You can walk a short distance downtown, or take the light rail out to Mall of America. There are tons of coffee shops close by, or if you prefer to stay in, you can watch a movie. You could also hang out in the lounge areas or the library.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually pretty good. We have a lot of different options for lunch. You can eat in the cafeteria or you can get deli if you are in a hurry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are good. The community is what makes it great. You are right down the hall from your best friend.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are amazing. The teachers are great about helping you and they spark your interest in the class. NCU offers a lot of different classes that you get to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the dorm you want to live in. Go visit it and make sure it is what you want. Make sure your major is available and meet with a financial counselor.

    In three sentences

    North Central is the best college. The spiritual aspect is absolutely phenomenal. The teachers are amazing and NCU offers tons of majors.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play tennis, workout, and hangout with friends for fun. North Central has a high percentage of people getting married as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is eat all you want, but if you are in the dorm it is manditory to be on the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm has a bible study floor time called life group. You also have restricted hours where you can have coed time on the floors. You also have a brother or sister floor it would be the opposite gender you are.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically we are pushed but all the teachers are extremely personal. This helps when classes get tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    come with an open heart ready to have a changed heart. Come ready to not just be a number but a name that makes a difference in the NCU community.

    In three sentences

    North Central University is a school based on their faith foundation. They do there best to lay down guidelines for students to follow, that way we are guided by biblical teachings. We are pushed to grow daily in our faith and to pursue Christ at a deeper level.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe because of our awesome security team. You will recognize most of them as students but they go through training and they are legit. They are passionate about their jobs and they do a wonderful job keeping us safe.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any Greek life on campus. There are groups you can join but they aren't sororities or fraternities like you see on TV. The majority of them are bible studies or academic groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school always has something exciting going on as far as activities, events and speakers. We have a few clubs but there aren't enough students to really have bunch. If you are passionate about something though, people have started clubs pretty quickly around here.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are passionate about the Lord and willing to learn then you will do great! Also, be mindful that a lot of the students here are a little immature compared to what you may be used to, or at least that was the case with me. Just try to have a good attitude and an open mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't really have unusual traditions. We do an annual Community Outreach Day and also the snowball fight on the first snow fall of the year is pretty cool. We are in the middle of the city so there is no telling what all you can get in to.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, you are paying a huge amount of money just to be in an environment where you can praise the Lord. If that isn't enough for you then I'd reconsider. It can really wear you down if you don't feel like all of the debt you are adding up will be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    We are in the middle of the city and the metro transit system will take you just about anywhere. The Mall of America is about 45 minutes away on the light rail which is super awesome if you've never been. There is always something to do and I suspect it would take years to figure everything out.

    Food and Dining

    The food really is NOT that awesome. My friends and I eat out a lot just because it is literally a lot of the same stuff over and over again. The contract is under review this year though so hopefully it will get better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really clean, nice and fun most of the time. Most of them are kind of small but they have heat. If you want air conditioning, live in Phillipps because Miller doesn't have it. Also, you have to buy your own toilet paper unless you live in Miller because your suite shares a bathroom in Phillipps but there are community bathrooms in Miller.

    Academic Rigor

    I transferred from a larger university and the work there was a lot more rigorous. There are a few professors who are really difficult in terms of work load but otherwise everything is pretty easy to keep up with. I haven't been overwhelmed by any one assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prayerful in making your decision about where to attend college. Also, visit on your own without the guides if at all possible so you can get a real feel for the campus without all of the speeches and stuff. Just be yourself and don't feel like you need to conform because if you focus too much about what others think of you then you'll miss out on your opportunity to grow in who God made you to be.

    In three sentences

    The spiritual atmosphere on this campus can't be compared to any other place I've been. I love having chapel every single day and praying before every class. I have never been in a place where the professors actually care and are passionate about what they do.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each building is locked and can only be accessed by a student I.D. Underclassmen and students under the age of 21 have a 1:30 am curfew. We have security officers who do regular rounds around the campus, and an escort system that will drive students to places such as the light rail or anywhere within 2 blocks away from the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of student lead organizations and student ministry opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    North Central is great for Christ centered people, who are looking for guidance, support and a great Christian environment where they can grow in their faith and discover more about their purpose and calling. (Not just for people looking to work within the Church).

    What to do for fun

    There things to do for fun. North Central is located right next to a neighborhood park, there's a a skate park, a basket ball court, a small field and a playground. Therefore, one can go and hangout there on their leisure time in the Spring and early Fall. Also being right in downtown Minneapolis, we are also about two blocks away from the Metrodome stadium which now, in 2014, is being remodeled. When it is back up students can go catch a Vikings game. We are also about a mile away from Nicollet Mall, a bus ride away from Uptown, and lastly, the Mall of America is about a half and hour ride on the light rail (stop located right next to the Metrodome).

    Food and Dining

    There is variety. However one might chose to avoid a meal plan at all cost. The way our meal plan works is, you can sign up for either 7, 10, 14, 18 meals a week. However, if you do not use all those meals that week, they do not roll over. Therefore, you are technically losing/ wasting money. We are also not offered supper on Sundays.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can get very mundane. However, it is what you make it. On occasion we do have weekend student life events which are fun. Yet, it would be in your best interest to fully invest in your floor because the community will support you are much as they can.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not extremely difficult. However managing your time wisely is something that takes a lot of work. Though classes may assign a lot of work you are truly getting the best. We have quality professors, who desire to pour out their wisdom. These professors don't just know the content they are teaching, but have backgrounds and professional experience in the fields you want to go into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students will want to visit the campus before committing to attending North Central. To make the best of you experience at NCU, find friends who are adventurous and are willing to get off campus with you.

    In three sentences

    North Central University is a University keen on training up well rounded Assemblies of God Students. NCU strives to get their students out into the community and serving those around them. Not only is NCU very community focused it is also focused on getting students to apply what they are learning in the classroom to their everyday lives.