Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Dakota State College of Science Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If someone is looking to come to NDSCS it is a great school, and it's not a big school so you don't have to get worried you will not find anything. There is so many different programs to enter, I would tell everyone to come here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living in the dorms is awesome, it's amazing how many people you will meet. I love the atmoshpere of the college and everyone is so friendly. It's a great place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    My teachers really get me to learn things, they will help you with whatever you need help with. The teachers are really great here.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college offers many programs including Auto Tech, Auto Body, Diesel, Nursing, OTA, Dental Hygiene and Assisting as well as Liberal Arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure of anyone you know going to the college, live in the dorms if possible. It's a great experience and it becomes homey after getting used to them. The meals are good unless you are an extremely picky eater. The staff is very polite and helpful so you should have no trouble if you are confused on something.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low at this college compared to others in the state. I believe you really get your money's worth and more!

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus life is a little on the dull side since it is such a small town. They do try to plan activities to keep the students entertained. There is a game room in the student center as well as in many of the dorms. I found it easy to meet people too.

    Am learning a lot

    The college offers a wide variety of classes and the instructors are very good. It is easy to get in touch with your instructor if you have any questions or concerns and most are very timely about answering you.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    all around the college gives you a fun filled acedemic expirience that gets youfrom earning a grade to earning a paycheck.

    What to do for fun

    there is a variety of on campus activities that are constantly taking place. the students have everything from sports to academic activities to organizations.

    Food and Dining

    the college has a variety of different foods that are different than that of what the students might have had trough out their high school years.

    Dorm Life

    in the dorms they encorperate a variety of people and majors to help you meet new peopleto help enhance your college expirence. the college has also been instrumental in dorm activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a hands on experience that gives real life situations and informative skills related to what youwould like to major in north dakota state college of science is the college for you then.

    In three sentences

    north dakota state college of science is a hands on technical college that has done an excelent job of teaching. the college has been able to provide multiple skills needed for their majors that they offer. the instructors have enabled students through their teachings as to how to work/co-operate with a variety of people.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very friendly and always give the benefit of doubt. I've never had a problem with the police. They patrol day and night so there is a feeling of safety all the time. As I said before, Wahpeton is a small town so it isn't very scary to begin with!

    Greek Life

    There are no Sororities or Frats on campus or around campus. However only a half hour away is Fargo where there is Greek Life, and even more so at UND in Grand Forks!

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned before, there are countless activities on campus and off campus year round! They really keep us busy with fun new ideas every year! As for clubs, I am not in a club myself, but I think there are over 100 clubs. I will be in the Dental Hygiene club next year and this will help me meet more people as well as get help with my classes! However, there are also fun and goofy clubs, not just major related ones!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for down to earth people. There are no Sororities or Frat houses, and not many stuck up or rude people. There are so many farm boys, car guys, and just plain beer guys! As for girls, all girls here are very nice and down to earth. There aren't any girls wearing Gucci everyday...Just a friendly place. =)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oksoberfest! It is a night to keep teens from drinking and it is SO MUCH fun! You create a team of 6 people and get to design costumes and make a team sign. You participate in games like root beer pong, tippy cup, chug race, and many other drinking games. However instead of alcohol, you are drinking root beer! It is a lot of fun and a great way to meet MANY people. There are so many goofy contests and games put on by the school that I couldn't even begin to list everything!

    Bang for the buck

    I was surprised at how cheap this college year was for me. I won't get into personal detail about how much I spent, but it was thousands less than my friends who went to the U of M, NDSU, and UND. The classes are challangeing as I said before, but when talking with my friends from other schools who take the same classes as me, their classes sound much harder. For example, in my Chemistry class, to get and A the grade scale is 100% to 87% In some colleges its 100% to 93%That is quite a difference.

    What to do for fun

    Since Wahpeton is a small town I thought I would be bored out of my mind! However, there are many things to do in this little community! To keep it short and sweet I will list SOME activities I participated in this year via the community or put on my the school: Intramural volleyball, basketball, softball, dodge ball, free ice skating, kick ball, spent time at the zoo, skate park, free pool, jog on the trail, free and discounted movie nights, bowling, many dances, oksoberfest, attended football games, basketball games, softball games, ate at many restaurants, and many more things!

    Food and Dining

    SOMEHOW I managed to avoid the freshman 15! The food here is delicious! You get a choice of two hot meals, choices of hot side-dished, choices of deli sandwiches, salad bar, soup, desserts, cereal, fruits, and they even have a soft serve ice cream machine! Also, the culinary students will prepare dinner and lunches sometimes, always a treat!

    Dorm Life

    I am a college freshman and I chose to live in a co-ed 10 story dorm, and I am so happy I did! I am a very shy person and when you are living with so many people in one place, you have no choice but to meet people! I also loved my dorm because it had so much space and in Nordgaard (the one I stayed in) we got our own showers!

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the programs at NDSCS have the most high success rate in the ENTIRE STATE! Classes here are very challenging but so rewarding! It's so easy to get help because of small class sizes and availability of tutors and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that will feel a little more like home, I would definitely suggest North Dakota State College of Science. This is such a great college because it offers SO MANY degrees; you can pursue your major and be out in the work field in only two years!

    In three sentences

    I give North Dakota State College of Science 10 stars! All the students and teachers are very friendly. It's easy to find you way around and receive help if needed; which is VERY important to being successful.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Older than average.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost is affordable is anyone wanting to return to college.

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Academic Rigor

    Strong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focued!

    In three sentences

    NDSCS has worked with me. As a nontradiational students they have treated me well. The online program is a good program.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police are readily available. The small town atmosphere plays a big part in the safety of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most programs have their own club associated. It's a great way to form friendships and meet people in the classes ahead as well as new students to the program.

    Bang for the buck

    The value for the price is great. I'm in the Nursing program and with the two years, I will be fully prepared as an LPN.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the campus activities, there is biking, jogging, bowling, roller blading. In the winter there is snow mobiling and ice skating. Fishing is year round, (yep, they ice fish here).

    Food and Dining

    The food I've had on campus is very good and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply, I live in the campus apartments which are fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled by the small town location. These are classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    With the additional classes available in Fargo and online, finding a schedule that works for you is so much easier.

    In three sentences

    As a smaller college, the student teacher ratio in the classroom is smaller so there is more help available if you need it. The small town atmosphere make it a friendly campus. The programs and passion of the teachers make it a great place to learn.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I havent attended yet.

    In three sentences

    Very nice lay out of the school. Teachers seem very attentive to students. Looks like a four year campus.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never have to worry about my safety while on campus, there are plent of police on campus at every dance and sometimes just in the cafeteria.

    Greek Life

    I personally do not participate in a sorority but I do know that NDSCS has one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports are fun, stay involved and you will not have a problem making friends. The activities are interesting. They have guest speakers quite often and you can receive extra credit in some classes by writing a reaction for any event held on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and anyone who likes to have fun, the town of Wahpeton itself is not that big but it is just the right size for a two year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't been to Agawasie Day yet but it is supposed to be really fun. I know that it is a special thing at NDSCS and it is a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    At first it may seem like it is not the right college because it is small but once you start to make new friends it is so much fun. I encourage students to spend at least two semesters here before thinking of transferring, it is a great school and class sizes are perfect.

    What to do for fun

    There is free skating for college students at the ice rink on Wednesdays. There is a pool open for students at the Activity Center, along with an open gym.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food can sometimes be the same from week to week I feel. The menu does not change often and it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable, fun, easy to meet new people. Sometimes loud and annoying

    Academic Rigor

    Students are encouraged to do their best and the academic advisors are great. Most of the instructors at NDSCS are very helpful and are willing to answer any and all questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Concentrate on school as much as possible, spending a lot of time in the library and with a tutor helps me a lot. Get homework done as soon as possible, take at least and hour a day for each class to study.

    In three sentences

    North Dakota State College of Science is a college where students are not just numbers. It is a good place to start out for students looking for somewhere small

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The schools always has have dances, comedians, and sporting events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but I feel like we have a lot fo the same meals.

    Dorm Life

    I like living in the dorms, but I wish they would have more activities so you could get to know your neighbors better.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging at times, but the teachers are always there to answer questions and make sure you understand what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell students to make sure that they attend class as much as possible and also to try their best.

    In three sentences

    I love attending school here! The teachers are very nice and are willing to work with you if you have questions. The classes are challenging, but fun at the same time.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops can hassle you sometimes, but overall it is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much of a greek life here at NDSCS.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is quite an array of clubs and activities to choose from. You just have to find one that fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone from the MN, ND, SD or Montana areas, this is a great school to come to.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for what you pay for your education! You are almost guaranteed a job upon completing a program of study here and it is a very cost effective education.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot locally, besides frisbee golfing. You can rollerblade, ice skate, swim and work out. Fargo is only 45 minutes away and can offer a variety of entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    Overall, the food is pretty good. It does get pretty repetitive once and awhile, but there are plenty of local restaurants to choose from as well!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty decent, comparitively speaking. They have a nice mix of students throughout campus and the dorms aren't too far from anywhere on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and staff here expect a lot out of you, but it isnt too difficult until you get into some of the higher level classes of your program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a buddy to roommate with, before you get stuck with a random one. Also, get involved! This place can get rather boring, especially in the wintertime, so definitely join a club or activity!

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent 2 year school that offers a variety of majors. The dorms and food are decent and it has a lot of intramural activities to join in on. It's a great overall experience.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You will get the best education here! If you want to be hired after graduation start here!

    In three sentences

    This school is a great one! lots of hands on and clinical experience!

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wahpeton is quite a small town so there isn't much to do. We have to get creative. We have game nights with our suite mates and friends. We go bowling and out to eat on the weekends to mix it up a little bit. The campus sometimes offers activities that we can participate it, and I enjoy that.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not very impressed with the food offered at NDSCS. I feel like for the most part the meals are unhealthy. Serving fries at every meal and soaking everything in butter is not appealing to me. I would rather make my own food in my room than eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    It may get loud from night to night, but living in the dorms on campus is 80% of the college experience. It teaches you how to live and fend for yourself. The RA's are always there when you need them and everyone gets along and has respect for each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics offered at NDSCS are just what I was looking for. They offer all of the classes that I need to progress through to earn my degree. It is very challenging but also very do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to keep your priorities straight, school work in college is way different than college. Have a solid positive attitude about your experience and make it happen.

    In three sentences

    Attending NDSCS has been the best experience of my life so far. Accepting and welcoming people, both fellow classmates and professors. Everyone gets along and that makes living on campus absolutely awesome.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get in, get graduated, and get a career - this is the place for you. Most programs take two years and our school has a 99% placement rate.

    What to do for fun

    Get used to driving around a lot, going mudding, and attending a lot of parties. It's a very small town so there isn't much going on!

    Dorm Life

    5 stars for Forkner and Riley Hall, more so of a three star for Walton, Schultz, and Nordgaard. One star for Robertson (also known as Robo... don't sign up for this dorm!)

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for Riley or Forkner Hall, they may cost more but they are SO worth it! They're recently remodeled and have the best heating and air conditioning on campus and are close to all of the general education buildings.

    In three sentences

    The small classes here make it easy to learn. Nearly everyone is friendly and outgoing. The campus is big enough to feel like a college but small enough to get from class to class within five minutes or so.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always available to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students plan a lot of activities and we stay pretty busy and have fun!

    What to do for fun

    I go to the student events when I can, I normally am working.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are available and they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. There is also an additional area where you may purchase a meal.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is always having a good time and people find things to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard in class, stay focused and you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and get you're stuff done, then have fun.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly people, easy to make new friends.