Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

North Hennepin Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who love diversity and being majorly involved with others and the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about professors before taking their classes.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the book worm types to the socialites there's a group and activity for you or if you prefer to be on your own give it a go.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for anyone that wants to go here is make friends with the professors and the other students. They are your friends and allies in the fight for higher education.

    Bang for the buck

    There's a little bit that could be better. You pay a Student Life Fee but sometimes you don't get to go to some of the student life Events because they're during the day. The prices are really good but a tiny bit high.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is really friendly and kind. You can meet people and make new friends really easily here. Everyone is willing to help you.

    Am learning a lot

    The college is good for learning and the teachers are willing to help you and throw a lot at you based on your learning ability

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great opportunity for those who like small school, small population, and close to home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class everyday and take notes. You don't want to miss a class lecture because you will fall behind class and its going to be hard to catch up.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good amount to start off college for a 2 yr.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here; there is lots of great professors and friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something new everyday and I just keep striving to learn more.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking for an inexpensive way to get through the first two years of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your class info. Watch out for online classes that you may think are regular classes.

  • 09/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't choose this school if you already have a college in mind early in the Fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap way to start out your first two years for generals.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang with friends and go to church events! also snowboard in the winter!

    Food and Dining

    the food is awesome and the dining rooms are kept very clean!

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    i would completely recommend this school i joined as pseo student and have loved every moment since the time i started!

    Tips for prospective students

    always confront a teacher when you are struggling!

    In three sentences

    it is a very warming school. i love the environment there. i am always able to get the help i need from my teachers.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    online student

    Bang for the buck

    i am a very busy mother of three boys. while i am attending school full-time online i am also planning our 2013 wedding.

    What to do for fun

    hang with my family and go out to movies, have dinner or lounge around while we play games.

    Food and Dining

    again online student.

    Dorm Life

    i am an online student and i don't believe they offer dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    online is great but they are still working out some bugs. hopefully they will be able to create a more easily flow website to combined all classes in one calendar. but overall i really enjoy working online with nhcc.

    In three sentences

    nhcc is a diverse school with tons of opportunities. currently i am attending nhcc full time online to able me to take part in my family activities. the instructors are very clear, easy to work with, and understanding.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a location on campus that i would always be is in the es hall way. i would always sit there with my friends and do homework or study. we are really excited for the new cbt building that just got done built.

    What to do for fun

    i love to just sit and talk with friends and hear many performances the student life bring into the campus center.

    Food and Dining

    food is a bit expensive but it doesn't hurt you that much because there is plenty of fast foods you can run to around the nhcc campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the class size is small which means more time with your instructor. i would rate my academic rigor at four out of five.

    Tips for prospective students

    looking for a small place to begin your college career north hennepin is the place to be. if you're undecided i suggest starting here and paying less is the way to go, we have helpful advisors and many resources you can utilize.

    In three sentences

    very affordable school with great opportunities to make you grow. helping student services that you can utilize to help you be successful. great advisors to help you with every step and north hennepin offers something for everyone.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security all around making sure that all students and facility members are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different clubs and activities. We usually have an event or something each day put on by student life or the different student organizations and clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like to be in the campus center when not in class. I get to meet other students and learn about them.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get the education and services for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs and organizations you can join. Also in the campus center is where most of the students hang out and do homework and just get to know one another.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. We have different ethics foods prepared different days of the week. Some of the food is high price but you get a chance to get a free meal with the food card they will provide. We also have a dollar menu.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenge is definitely there. The courses are rigorous but at the same if you can comprehend then you would be able to complete even with help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of what you want to do with your life. If you have questions make sure you ask many of them. Don't be afraid to get help from a tutor, instructor, or another peer.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college and wonderful instructors here to help. You can learn so much from the other students here. The tuition here is low and worth the money.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school have a great safety system. They make sure everyone is save and protected.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Meet new people

    Food and Dining

    Their food is great.

    In three sentences

    NHCC is very affordable. They have great teachers. NHCC is very convenient.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Club activities and there are lots of fun events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great and the prices are high.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Assignments are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class and do your work. The works are usually easy.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is really friendly and fun. The counseling office is really helpful. It is diverse.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They had security walking around the parking lots all the time and the campus was very safe feeling and there are always people around.

    Bang for the buck

    I am glad I went here because I saved a lot of money getting some general classes out of the way, and all of my credits transfer so it was a good choice.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports and clubs but I was not involved in them so I am not sure what they are like.

    Food and Dining

    Nice campus center and good food from what I have seen.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies on what classes you take and the teacher you have. Some don't require much homework or outside work, but you learn a lot in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the homework due, work ahead if possible and you will do great!

    In three sentences

    It has a nice campus and is easy to find classes. The class sizes are small to medium. All of the teachers I have had I really enjoy!

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far my experience has been safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have ALL types of social clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    I would check the clubs and different societies they have and network with those who have the same common goals as you do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The clock located at the front of the school has a distinctive ring of medieval times when the clock strikes the top of the hour. The middle of the school has places to sit outside and view the vestibule area where students commonly frequent.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a mother of 4 physical children and I look for clearance sales! The book store has what a student needs.

    What to do for fun

    Exercising and networking with others who are in different cultural societies are healthy when it comes to advancing your knowledge about things that exist outside of your self and what you know in your community.

    Food and Dining

    Based on others opinions I have heard they have good food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were challenging, demanding and very informative. The instructors prepared for what would be an actual encounter in the career paths that students choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before starting school be sure that you are very clear in the direction you want to go because the Federal Laws are always changing. If not, make sure that you have credits that will count toward your making a career change.

    In three sentences

    Although, I transferred to North Hennepin Community College in the fall of 2011 I would rate them a 4. The lowest being 1 and 5 being the highest.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It appears Campus Safety is fine. I have yet to witness any kind of disturbance that would put mine or anyone else's safety at risk.

    Greek Life

    I am unsure exactly what Greek Life means?

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I heard the clubs and activities are fun and great for a nice social mingle from other collegues, but I have a family to tend to so have little time to enjoy these activites.

    Great for these types of students

    North Hennepin Community College is great for a working adult or a parent looking to further their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am still fairly new so I really don't know any unusal traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As mentioned before this college is great to start if you are on a budget. Being an accredited school you have the chance to transfer to a more prestigious accredited college if needed.

    What to do for fun

    There's always the library to study or find a good read. Then there is the gym and sports you can participate in. There are also other activities and clubs as you would see in many schools and colleges. I unfortunately don't attend as I have a family take care of.

    Food and Dining

    I am mainly doing part time so I have yet to taste the cafe eatery at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am raising a family and live on my own. I have not checked out how the dorm life is like or how it works.

    Academic Rigor

    The Faculty and Staff are friendly and helpful. The professors so far from my experience want to teach you and help you become successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you or your family is on a tight budget this would be a great choice as it is affordable and accredited. Meaning you can least get started and transfer to a more prestigious accredited college in the state.

    In three sentences

    The community there is great and diverse. You have students ranging from fresh from high school to working adults and parents. There's a professional attitude atmosphere when you are on campus.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While the area of Brooklyn Park doesn't have the greatest reputation I always feel safe on campus and if there is ever an incident close to campus they promptly send out e-mails and other notifications to ensure the safety of their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    They seem to offer a lot but as a mainly online student up till now I don't know much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of single mothers and foreign students seem to take classes at North Hennepin. But I think that the school is great for students who are unsure about where they want to end up or even what they want to study because you can stock up on generals and transfer out when a school/degree catches your eye. Its also great if you don't want to go into as much debt. I am in zero debt and might only have to take out a student loan for $2,000 next semester before I complete my time here.

    Bang for the buck

    The school, as a community college, is very affordable. They have a great reputation with other schools in the state so transferring after getting your associates is made easy. Only a handful of my classes felt like I wasn't getting my money's worth but for the most part I was grateful for the inexpensive education I had purchased for myself.

    What to do for fun

    I've attended some on campus things- i.e. plays. That's always a fun way to feel involved. But off campus there is a lot to do. I have a lot of non-school friends who like to have fun. About 20 minutes south of the school there is a place called the New Hope Cinema Grill where you can get dinner and a movie. And if you're on a tight budget Tuesdays are $2.00 tickets and a decent sized piece of pizza for $2.50. We also like going to parks in the area. Close to where I live, so probably 15 min from school is the Coon Rapids Dam park- a lovely place for a picnic.

    Dorm Life

    NA. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class and the teacher. As an online student (initially) some classes seemed like they were just read-the-book and complete-the-test classes with little academic challenge and little teacher involvement. But there are some where the professors really care about you learning and understanding. So, like I said, use ratemyprofessor and don't be afraid to ask the college staff for advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of the ratemyprofessor.com website! It comes in handy when deciding who to take classes with. If you need help, ask for it. I started out being very independent as a student but now I'm regretting not asking for help sooner. Its nice to get advice on classes and such from the advisers and department heads.

    In three sentences

    Some of the general courses seem like a waste of time. But once you get into the major specific courses it is evident that the professors are passionate about their field and their students. Overall its great, affordable eduction.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I LOVE IT WHEN THEY HAVE STUDENT EVENTS, THEY GIVE AWAY T-SHIRTS AND MANY OTHER THINGS. THEY ALSO HAVE EVENTS FOR THE STUDENT ALL DAY LONG.

    Food and Dining

    LAST TIME I CHECK THE PRICES WERE A BIT HIGH.

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE SURE TO DOUBLE OR EVEN TRIPLE CHECK ANY DIRECTION BEING GIVEN. I WAS TOLD ATTEND THE ORIENTATION MEANT FOR RETURNING STUDENTS. i GO SIGN UP AND THEY SAY THERE IS NON, SO THEY SIGN ME UP FOR THE REGULAR ORIENTATION. I SPEND FOUR HOURS THERE AND THEY TELL ME I HAVE TO ATTEND A DIFFERENT ORIENTATION. ANOTHER ONE ARE THEY CRAZY? SO, I WOULD RECOMMEND RECHECKING WHAT THEY TELL YOU SOMETIMES TO CLARIFY ANYTHING YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT.

    In three sentences

    I WOULD SAY IT IS IN A GOOD LOCATION, NOT TOO FAR FROM WHERE I LIVE AND IT HAS A NICE CMPUS. FROM MY EXPERIENCE THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT AND THEY MAKE CLASS INTERESTING. ONLY THING ABOUT NORTH HENNEPIN IS THAT THEY ARE INCOHERENT IN COMMUNICATION.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually just hang out in the library with my friends. Going to the gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students is to make sure you ask for help. No one is going to feed you if you don't say you're hungry. Coming to this college has thought me a lot about resources and how to manage them.

    In three sentences

    North Hennepin is a small community. The classes are easy to navigate. The professors work hard to help students succeed.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to get involved in, and all of the ones I've joined have been great.

    Bang for the buck

    Good classes for about as cheap as you'll get them!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to get involved in! I have joined the Creative Writing Club, their Christian Bible Study and Thi Pheta Kappa.

    Food and Dining

    All of the food I've had there has been delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had both extremely challenging classes and extremely easy ones. It all depends on what you decide to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with the homework, and you'll do just fine. The professors are mostly pretty lenient, but they want you to succeed, so listen to them and don't blow them off.

    In three sentences

    This is a great, incredibly diverse school. There are tons of clubs or organizations to get involved in and expand your interests. The professors have been great so far, always willing to help and ready to make class interesting.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety police is really easy to talk too.

    Bang for the buck

    Something you really wanted for awhile.

    What to do for fun

    I just work and have school.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Is good and challenging

    In three sentences

    North hennipen is a really good college. It's very resourceful and helpful. The staff is very helpful and easy to talk too.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I will do my homework first as always. But when I'm done I either play games or else study for a few minutes. Other than that, I play sports as in football to keep myself healthy and physically smarter.

    Food and Dining

    I will be a part time student working. I will be working to have money to support myself.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been to a college' person's or anyone else's dorm before. But from how I live in my house, I can sometime adapt easily to new things. So living in the dorms will be fine.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion, NHCC has a quality that I'll like to master one day, and that is Accounting. Another is that the tuition is in a good range for new coming freshman.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always find some campus security walking or chatting with students in the halls or outside or in the office . Always willing to help from small to big. You can even request to have the officer escort you to your car at night if you feel uncomfortable. They are very helpful and sweet and funny! :)

    Clubs and Activities

    The is a wide variety of clubs, groups and organizations & activities to participate on the campus and you can even create your own group or organization if you wish to.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very diverse from ethnic students to international. You can meet a wide variety of students in just one class. Students who have dreads to mohawks to students who have just come from half way across the country to even your friend from high school or your next door neighbor.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and fee's rate is great! The most affordable community college in the state of Minnesota! Totally worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Their are many groups, events, plays and get togethers being thrown together. In the Campus Center their are days where music plays, people can eat , relax and laugh in between classes and free popcorn (which is delicious & awesome) is being handed out and you can get as many as you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and wonderful and just recently they even added the new Caribou Coffee in the new business building. Both dining and Caribou Coffee is delicious & convenient but at the same time the prices can be a bit high. Then again... it is college.

    Dorm Life

    Their is no dorm room on this campus. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I stated before, we are only human but that doesn't mean to push yourself for the best that you can possibly be. their is a difference between overworking yourself and then pushing yourself to become somebody and enjoy life and make yourself known.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tips that I can give a prospective student is 3: 1. Stay focused on your goal and where you want to be for your future. This will encourage you to never give up on your hopes and dreams. 2. Don't nbecome discouraged if you hit a bump in the road with tests, homework or a bad letter grade. Like always get yourself up, dust yourself off and try again but this time you know to try harder and to use a different route. 3 Don't overwork yourself. Especially if it is your freshmen year. We are only human and as human beings we can only do so much in our power. With the power that we have we can use it multiply it over time, learn from mistakes and grow and become even more stronger for the future.

    In three sentences

    North Hennepin is a very rewarding experience. The instructors are very supportive and you gain many great and lasting relationships not only with the students but as well with the professors. It's also a very friendly environment.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've only taken classes online o far, so I have no comment about the food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as rigorous as a 4-year university. Don't assume it's easy just because its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes, budget your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    NHCC is a great place to take freshman/sophomore level classes inexpensively. Many courses are offered online, so it's convenient for people who are working while taking classes. The professors are great.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are cheap compared to a 4-year university. If you're looking to do generals and then transfer, do it! I saved tons by going to North Hennepin for my general.

    Food and Dining

    Never tried the food on campus but they've to vending machines every where.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all classes are easy but if you do some research you can pick good classes with good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a walk through, the campus is relatively small and you can ask to sit in on a class.

    In three sentences

    Definitely a flexible school with lots of class options. I have plenty of time to be a full time student and work part time. Teachers are really nice and you can always talk to them if you have problems.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have not attended this College yet, but from all the reviews it looks like a great college to go to. I am planning on attending in the fall semester of 2014. My plans are to get my generals done for Marketing.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers at the Public Safety office are always willing to walk students to their car, help start their cars, and they also keep the lost and found at there office.

    Greek Life

    No greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Located inside of the Campus Center, Student Life supports a large range of clubs and organizations. There are clubs that range from Multicultural Club, Anthropology Club, GLBT Club, to Hmong Cub, and Student Nurses Association to just name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a student that loves diversity, affordable tuition, and a warm welcome then North Hennepin Community College is the college for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus center is where everyone on comes to just relax, grab a meal, meet with visiting universities, study, and sign up and make clubs/organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    North Hennepin Community College is affordable. The college offers a large amount of FREE events for students. All you've got to do is come and have a good time.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something going on campus. Whether it be a debate or having all your instructors dance at the Campus Center. There are tons of things to do. The recreation center always has a fun tournament for students and staff to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different options to choose from. There are also multiple different spots for a quick grab for something to eat right before you head to class.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but there are always postings around the school of available, affordable apartments for rent/rooms for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors make sure their students really understand what is being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! I entered the school without any friends. It helped a lot to join a club through Student Life because now I feel much more comfortable and confident as a student.

    In three sentences

    North Hennepin Community College is a college with a atmosphere that draws you in. Everyone, from students to staff are ALWAYS WILLING to help each other out. Everyone in college is going after a specific goal, at NHCC, we make sure we get everyone to reach their goals together.