Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Iowa Area Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NIACC is great for any student who wants a good education at a great price. Students who would like to work or who want a flexible class schedule should definitely consider NIACC. NIACC also has a variety of students from all over the world. In my time at NIACC, I met students from as far away as California, Chicago, Illinois, London, England, Africa, and Germany. I am sure there are many more students that I did not have a chance to meet. There are also a lot of non-traditional students. This includes students older than normal college age. It is a great experience for traditional students to get to work with non-traditional students in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college. You will not get a good glimpse of the college online, so visit and get the whole experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I was able to graduate from NIACC with out any student loans. NIACC makes it very easy to pay for your classes and will accept any scholarships or financial aid. They also have many work study opportunities for in pocket money or for money to go towards your tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    North Iowa Area Community College, or NIACC, is close to many towns. With this convenience, it is easy for students to travel to classes each day and to plan a work schedule around class schedules. I chose to live in the dorms on campus instead of drive each day. The dorms are close enough to campus to be a short walk to campus, but far enough to feel like you aren't at college, but in an apartment living with roommates. The dorms are very active so there is always someone new to meet. The eatery in the dorms serve great food and have a very friendly staff. On campus, in between classes, the Activity Center, or AC, has a food court, jukebox, and the campus bookstore. This is a great place to hang out with friends. In the library, there is a coffee shop called Cafe Bean. You can buy a cup of coffee from the librarians for a dollar and use the self-serve coffee machine. You can win free coffee by using your own non-disposable coffee canister or mug.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are informational and what you would expect from a college class. The professors are very knowledgeable and answer and questions you have. They will work with you outside of class to help you understand the material to the best of your ability. No professors set up their class for failure. Each professor challenges the students, but not to the point of the student being overwhelmed.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students from small schools, students looking to save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to advisors and ask a lot of questions. Although campus is small and easy to get around, go early before your first day of classes and find all of your classrooms. It helped me feel more confident on my first day!

    Bang for the buck

    In the three semesters I have spent at NIACC, I have only taken one class that I didn't think was worth my time and money. NIACC also has several 2-year programs available for students. They also have a lot of classes that will transfer to most universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love that the school is fairly small. The class sizes are about the same as my high school classes, which I love. It helps with the transition from high school to a university and makes it easier to meet new people. I like the teachers and the atmosphere. The counselors are also very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part, the I have had instructors have been fairly average. They are knowledgeable and well prepared for each class, which I believe is very important. Some of their teaching strategies may not be effective, though.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NIACC is great for the Northern Iowan who doesn't want to leave home just yet, or who wants to save a lot of money. It gives kids in the area a great opportunity to receive higher education close to home, and is a great stepping stone to a brighter future. It is also great for non-traditional students, as NIACC offers a myriad of night classes and can work with almost any schedule. Choose NIACC first, and you'll be on your way to a great future.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing I could tell prospective students is to apply for as many scholarships as possible. NIACC is cheap, and you can pretty much pay off your entire tuition no problem. And even though it is close to home for most people attending, get involved. Go out for a sport or a musical activity. Your NIACC experience will be better for you if you get to know people.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering scholarships and work-study paid for all of my tuition, I definitely got a lot of bang for my buck. NIACC is pretty inexpensive when it comes to education, and is a great place to receive an education. If you're considering going to NIACC, apply for as many scholarships as you can, and work! You can be debt free after two years at NIACC.

    Did enjoy being here

    I had a great time at NIACC. There was plenty to do outside of going to class. There were tons of activities going on in the Activity Center, such as holiday cookie decorating, magic shows and this year, they brought in a chainsaw juggler to entertain the students. Besides the Activity Center, there were shows and concerts going on in the Auditorium, and students got discounts to go see them. For the most part, everyone there is friendly, including the staff.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot at NIACC and was very impressed by how much the instructors knew and were able to teach. The instructors are very good, and are always able to explain further if a student has any questions. They pretty much want you to be successful and they will help you as much as you need.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students returning to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great opportunities and many c;lass options are available.

    Bang for the buck

    NIACC is a very cost effective college that most individuals can afford.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel comfortable attending classes North Iowa Area Community College.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn lots of new things from the dedicated instructors at North Iowa Area Community College

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone trying to start fresh.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to every thing that goes on. Make sure you know what classes you will need from the START! Do not get roped into taking things that you do not need. You should make sure you visit with the counselor that knows your field and the classes you will need, not just any counselor.

    Bang for the buck

    There is alot of old material that is being taught. Personally I would like to learn about the now, not the foundations. I understand that the foundations are necessary but if we waste a whole semester on the foundation what are we really learning?

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers and the writers work bench staff make being at NIACC enjoyful.

    Am learning a lot

    Surprisingly to me I have learned alot at NIACC. I thought I would just freshen up but I have learned and relearned so many things. Due to the learning I have gained I am thinking or other careers and positive things that I can do with my choosen career.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important in a learning atmosphere. NIACC is a very friendly campus, there are always students, faculty or staff members around. NIACC has recently put in a security system that can lock every door on campus within 20 seconds. I definitely feel safe when on NIACC's beautiful campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    NIACC Clubs and Activities: Education Club, Nursing Club, CEO Club, Snow Boarding Club, Physical Theory Club, Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society, Pond Fest, NIACC Singers, Chorus, Concert Band and Choir, Quadlibet, attend sporting event which are free to students with a NIACC ID, Collegiate Entrepreneurs' Organization, Defensive Tactics Club, Disc Golf Club, Student Environmental Affairs Club, Student Senate, Equality Alliance (NIACC�s gay-straight alliance), Tennis Club, Forum Club, Theatre Club, Logo's (Student Newspaper), Global Diversity and many more Global Diversity Vocal Music INK: NIACC's Literary Magazine Young Democrats/Young Republicans

    Great for these types of students

    NIACC is great for students who need to be known by the teacher, who need to ask question, who need small classes and want an awesome college experience. NIACC really prepares students well for transferring on to other college and universities. I am proud to say I attended NIACC first and that is truly is the perfect fit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NIACC not only has one-on-one attention and small class sizes, but the Professors are willing to help any and every student who wants the extra help. Each and every staff member wants each student to succeed. The professors and staff member always have a smile on and know students by name! An interesting fact about NIACC is they have a farm that is right on campus that the Agricultural Students run. The money that is made off the land either goes back into the Ag program or goes in to NIACC Foundation Scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are many intramural activities such as basketball, tennis, volleyball. Along with intramural activities, Student Senate member host many activities where students can when cash prizes. There are many clubs to participate in, but it is up to the student to get involved!

    Food and Dining

    There are two full-time adult chefs who do an excellent job keeping a variety of delicious foods. You will not go hungry! If you let the chefs know, sometimes they make special sandwiches if a student is busy during lunch or dinner.

    Dorm Life

    I currently commute, but NIACC will be getting brand new dorms and they will be ready to go about Fall 2014!

    Academic Rigor

    NIACC has wonderful professors that help students transfer, well and prepared, to other colleges and universities. Each professor wants their students to succeed and be the best they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective student would be get involved and make college the best experience ever. College is every thing you make it! Do your research, make visits, and choose the college that is the perfect fit you!

    In three sentences

    NIACC is a small campus and great for traditional and non-traditional students. NIACC is safe and very welcoming with many scholarships available. NIACC truly can be the perfect fit and is worth every penny spent.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have very good food and Mason city has alot of eining oportunities for every type of person

    Academic Rigor

    Its what you make it out to be the classes are tough but totally worth it

    In three sentences

    Niacc is a very good school the teachers are very knowledgable about their subjects that they teach and they are very helpful in making sure you understand the material. Niacc has been a very positive experience for me.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, concerts, disc golf, golf, parks, bike and walking trails.

    Food and Dining

    Great restaurants in town for any budget. Cafeteria available

    Academic Rigor

    unknown yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes at NIACC while still in high school to get a jump on your college education.

    In three sentences

    A great education for less cost. It is close to home. A great place to start college and transfer on.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I think they have some very different ones and they have alot

    Great for these types of students

    Who werent so great in high school. Want to start off small instead of starting off big

    Food and Dining

    I've heard the food is good not sure yet

    Dorm Life

    Can't give a rating yet, I havent lived in them yet but they're building new ones

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes and so far I like my professors. They're more than willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you weren't a very good student in high school go here first to get your feet wet.

    In three sentences

    I love how small it is. I feel like they care for me more and I'm not a number. Want you to succeeded

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security 24/7, and RA's who walk around throughout the day and night. They do not check inside the rooms, so you still have privacy. Cops everyone now and then will come in the parking lot and make sure things are fine.

    What to do for fun

    There is extracurricular activities, sport teams games and events, as well as intramural sports. There are many things that go on around campus, such as during basketball games at halftime there is chances to win money. When it's warm, there are concerts or bands that take place on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is decent. There will be a new dinning hall and food mart in the new dorms for a better experience. The food is good with the occasional not so good meal, but there is always pizza as a 2nd choice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms now are old but suitable for living. They are building brand new dorms for the start of the 2014 fall semester. The new dorms are extremely nice.

    Academic Rigor

    NIACC is rated 14th in nation in academics. The academics are great, and NIACC is dedicated to making you successful. The teachers are willing to do whatever it takes to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to play sports, the athletic programs are some of the best in the nation in JUCO. The classroom sizes are small, leaving it almost like it is one on one with the teacher.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, and looks for your best interest as a student. The staff is friendly and helpful. NIACC looks out for you after your two years here.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are frequent athletic and musical events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is always fresh food and ready-made meals and drinks available.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are traditional and non-traditional students at NIACC. Teachers are open for office hours and are willing to answer any questions you have. The difficulty of the educational material depends on the class but the teachers do a very good job at making information understandable. There are supplemental instruction sessions and tutors for students who need additional help.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be prepared for class. 2. Get involved in campus activities. 3. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I have been very pleased with my experience here. The teachers take time to get to know you and make sure you are doing well in class. Campus is small and easy to find your way around.

  • 10/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. Since I have been at NIACC and from what I have heard from others is that the campus is really safe and that nothing bad ever happens. I feel like if I were to leave my dorm room unlocked when I left for class in the morning that when I came back everything would still be in the same spot I left it in. You can't get that at other colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Probably the most popular spot on campus when school is going on is the Activities Center or the Rec Center. These two spots are always full of great people and it always has a good vibe.

    Bang for the buck

    With how low the prices are at NIACC, you are definitely getting more than you are paying for. They could be charging a lot more than they are for all that they offer so it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I am on the 2014 NIACC Volleyball team so all of my fall semester is taken up by that amazing sport but when I am not in volleyball I go to watch all the other NIACC athletic teams play their games. I love to go and support the soccer team, the wrestling team, and the baseball team the most because they are the one's who come to the volleyball games to support us.

    Food and Dining

    The food at NIACC isn't like dining at a five star restaurant. You have to go in with the mind set that the food is going to be prepared like how college students want their food. Quick and easy. Now that is not to say that the food tastes bad at all because it is good, but expect to be eating like you're at a classy Hardee's or Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love the dorm life. Coming from California all the way to Iowa I was really scared to make friends and I thought that it was going to be scary. Living in the dorms here at NIACC has helped me make so many new friends and I have grown so close to them. I would definitely recommend living in the dorms,.

    Academic Rigor

    The class work from any class may be overwhelming at first, but the teachers actually care about you and are willing to help no matter the circumstance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to enter college here. Everyone will help you adjust to your new surrounding. Live in the dorms because getting the experience to meet new and exciting people is the best opportunity. Make sure to get involved as well and go to as many things as possible.

    In three sentences

    NIACC is the most comforting college a student can go to. Everyone around here has great hospitality and is extremely caring. I wouldn't want to go anywhere else but here.