Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

North Lake College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Career geared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    Bang for the buck

    You get all your money worth at North Lake.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the school.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned many things for the career I seek. *****

  • 12/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    North Lake is good for people that want to get their basics done or older people that are going back to school. It is a diverse campus so anyone can join and should feel comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find people you know and ask what teachers are good. There are some really cool teachers and some really boring teachers. You will do good if you study lots and get the good teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    North Lake is pretty cheep, especially if you live in District if you live out of district like me about $20 dollars more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like North Lake, because there are many clubs and activities you can join. The campus is pretty large and not just one building like NCTC. The campus is clean and is nice for a older campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at North Lake. The professors are all pretty nice and seem to really want to help you succeed. If you go to class and study, you will do fine.

  • 08/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone there is very easygoing. It's a great school to get all of your core courses done.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    besides the police station on-campus, there is a police presence in all the parking lots. there are also multiple areas where you can push a button and be immediately connected via speaker to an on-campus dispatcher for any police needs. this even includes jump-starting your car if your battery runs out!

    Clubs and Activities

    weekly student meetings and posters on the walls invite any students to attend gatherings.

    Great for these types of students

    great for a starter going into college, it's definitely a warm atmosphere where you can be comfortable.

    Bang for the buck

    great instructors, especially in the math and science area. they teach their craft with spectacular fluency and clarity.

    What to do for fun

    dallas is the place to be for fun on the weekends. there is always something happening in dallas, you can check out live performance and concerts at livenation.com or just hit up one of the clubs that are open most every weekend!

    Food and Dining

    the variety of food on-campus is limited to subway and vending machines. however the campus is located within 10 minutes drive of the nearby lyndon b johnson highway with plenty of food options around!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    it honestly depends on your class-load, i took five classes last semester. now i'm down to 4, which is considered a full load.

    Tips for prospective students

    get your work done long before it's due and enjoy the weekends with your fellow students!

    In three sentences

    north lake college carries about it a very casual but serious atmosphere. there are people walking by and having conversations all the time, however they are usually engaged in academic subjects. the library is also a wonderfully helpful facility.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police are very serious about keeping the students and faculty safe. patrol cars can be seen in the parking lots at all times, and there are emergency phones that can be found throughout the campus and parking lots. if a student stays late at school, they can ask a police officer to escort them to their cars, and the officers will happily oblige.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are multiple clubs available at north lake, and there are also many jobs that students can take advantage of.

    Great for these types of students

    every student can be found here, though this school is great for students who do not like large classes, and for students who want teachers who can personally help them to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bathrooms of each building seem to fit the personality of the students that spend time in those buildings. the science and math building, building c, for example, is a very clean, white room with interesting designs for the toilets. building g, the artistic building, has a very beautiful bathroom, with marble-looking counter tops, and colorful walls. building a, the main building which has mostly english and history classes, has very simple bathrooms which are to be used, not admired, because the users are itching to get back to their books. you can tell a lot about the people in each building by looking at their surroundings.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very cheap, and allows students to become core complete, or receive their associates degree for very little cost.

    What to do for fun

    there is a recreation center, with numerous televisions, which you can play games on. the theater group frequently advertises their plays, and students can attend for free. the school often has energetic musicians and other inspiring entertainers perform in the cafeteria, or the hallway leading to the cafeteria, during the day.

    Food and Dining

    the bookstore has a large selection of baked treats and goodies, as well as a large selection of drinks. vending machines can be found in every building, on every floor. the vending machines have a large variety of treats. the cafeteria has a pizza hut and a subway, as well as a small bakery. the cafeteria is always buzzing and full, and the food is well prepared, with good service.

    Dorm Life

    this school does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are all quite knowledgeable when it comes to their respective topics. they are all willing to help you if you ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    the staff is quite serious when it comes to keeping the campus clean, and to make sure that you recycle what you can. keeping the campus clean is easy if you just remember to dispose of your garbage in the appropriate places. there are tutors available for most classes. if you need help, you simply need to ask for it.

    In three sentences

    the students and staff at north lake are all eager to lend a helping hand to those around them, no matter the circumstances. the campus is very clean and beautiful, and students feel welcome and relaxed as they walk around. the students are well taken care of, and there are many opportunities for the students to improve their grades, if they choose to seek out the right resources.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police EVERYWHERE. Stay the speed limit and you will be just fine. They are clearly there for our protection.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a vast expanse of clubs and activities. For more information go to www.dcccd.edu and find the North Lake College tab.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for International students, open-minded students, and those who are still trying to figure out their part in life.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College, as a whole, is cheaper than going to a four year school. Buying your books online is also a great way to bring down expenses, but don't skimp on buying math books via internet. Many of them require a promocode that is located ONLY in new books.

    What to do for fun

    New Student Life Center is up and running as well as tennis, basketball, soccer, and volleyball courts.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining consists of Subway and vending machines. Those with dietary restrictions might find it hard to get the food they need.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers expect you to learn and there are definitely some that should be reviewed, but opinions are just that and every class should be an eye opening experience. While the classes are sometimes more difficult, there is a writing lab, science and math lab, and numerous opportunities for subject growth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with a 2 year plan. By going online or talking to someone on the advising team and making them write you a plan, you are taking initiative. Regardless of the lines, see your adviser ever semester to make sure you are on the right track.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College is a diverse yet basic Community College. With extreme emphasis on Nursing/Science and Preforming Arts/Fine Arts, this school is well rounded and very User-friendly. Don't let the cement walls and bleak color scheme fool you, there are many extracurricular activities here.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very diligent and are very visible. It is a very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    One class is excellent and worth well more than the tuition paid, the other, however, is inferior and not worth the tuition paid.

    Academic Rigor

    Chermistry is very academically rigorous, the Anatomy and Physiology, especially the lab portion, is not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your professors and see if you can gain insight into the instructor for lab classes.

    In three sentences

    The laboratory portion of the biology class is inferior to that where I attended before. The chemistry lecture and lab are very good and I am learning a lot.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any safety issues or problems around the college...

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who need a feel for college life, needing to further their education for their present job, or just for the affordability.

    Bang for the buck

    It is most definitely more affordable if nothing else.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of groups and gatherings for people of all walks to attend. from the arts and sciences to the business corporate levels you will find extra curricular activity for your interests.

    Food and Dining

    They only have a subway, but the food smells good coming out of the cafeteria ...

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You can make your classes as hard or as easy as you want. The teachers are there to educate you, they care about your progress, and they will do what it takes to help you reach your goals. If they don't have the answer they will direct you to someone who does or help you to find it!

    Tips for prospective students

    The online classes are little harder take or figure out sometimes. Try to take as many courses in school as possible. Not only do you get timely help but it is exercise you do not get sitting in front of a computer all day.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College is a small but sufficient College that serves the purpose which it was intended. There is plenty of space, classes, resources, and a little more financial freedom than a university for us little guys of low income. Now if they could just get a decent roofer!!

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are always patrolling campus and emergency call boxes are on campus if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    calendar is always full of events and clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students, continuing edu. new or planning to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    North Lake has several campuses to chose from depending on where you live.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for classes can not be beat. Very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs on campus, as well as theatre, dance and sports. You can meet so may new people with very little effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all services offered, example math and English lab. When applying for school go early for admissions and academic planning, it gets full quickly. Let the support staff help you, that is what they are there for.

    In three sentences

    North lake is a great learning environment, with a great support network for students. They offer a wide variety of certificates and degrees. They have classes schedules that are compatible with almost any schedule someone might need.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has been the most safest place I have been. They have security who stays on campus as well as the police department being no more than 3 miles up the road.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe North Lake is great for anyone who is interested in a fun and fast way getting their degree or certificate. However, North Lake has a huge wonderful returning adult program for older people who wish to obtain their degrees or certificates at a later age in life.

    What to do for fun

    I live here in Irving so I live right down the road from the school, but there are much activities to enjoy here. For one the campus has an awesome field for sports and indoor areas for swimming and etc. The local movie theatre is right down the road, however, the theatre department of North Lake is very talented and a joy to watch, plus it has free admission.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I can give to any prospective student is to do everything in advance. If you are transferring from another college it takes forever for a transcript so try to start ahead of time and be ready to register for classes when the time comes so you can get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College make it extremely simply to apply for admission and register for classes. Everybody from Financial Aid to Student Services are very helpful and nice. I would recommend this college to anyone who wishes to obtain thei Associates quick and easy or even for transfer credits, either way this is the way to go.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of campus police

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot club activities

    Great for these types of students

    Just coming out of high school and just want to take basic

    What to do for fun

    Alot of club of club activities

    Food and Dining

    Subway is food and dining

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a good school just to start out if you are nervous about college

    In three sentences

    I love going to north lake college and I learned a lot on going to this school my major is nursing and they are preparing for the medical field.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    North Lake has five police SUVs and a few bicycle cops who cruise around all the time throughout the day and even into the night to make sure everything stays well. There are also place for you to press a button and it automatically calls 911 if they are not around when you need them to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in the Drama club which was the best decision i ever made since before i joined it i didn't know anyone my age in Dallas. Now it is like i have a family of 30+ people who really care about me. The directors Alice Butler and John Mosley are very wonderful people to work with as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lake outside the cafeteria with interesting statues and on the other side is very peaceful nature scenery for students to relax in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    If you play your cards right and set out a plan you will get your moneys worth out of this school.

    What to do for fun

    At North Lake they have the student life center which is always a nice place to relax. Between the life center and cafeteria there is always something going on. Whether its black history month or culture week or even job fairs; they usually plan something out which normally involves free stuff.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway inside along with a lot of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    With every school there are good classes and bad classes and it also depends on the student as well. Ive had wonderful teachers who worked with me when i got in a car accident and was out for a month and some who were not as nice. For the most part academic wise if you do the work and really try to learn you should be able to pass if you have a relationship with your teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy books from the book store! try amazon, look on message boards for anyone selling books or ask a friend! It will save you a lot of money in the long run.

    In three sentences

    I think its a very good community college. It is almost like a real university since most community colleges don't have sports teams. To me its pretty much like a mini version of a university which is very good for us students that way when we transfer it wont be too much of a shock.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Need to take a class for less money, dual credit students, high school graduates, and anyone else looking for a learning opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Computers, Music, and pretty much anything you're interested in.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of great food around and near the college, not just fast food!

    Dorm Life

    There Israel no dorms, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good in terms of academics. If you are taking math or science classes here are immensely great professors here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to pick teachers that challenge you, because you'll actually learn something. Try looking for a job on campus, it's fun and gives you extra money in your pocket at the end of the day. Take advantage of the many free tutoring services available * Get to know your professors, because they can help you when you want to apply for scholarships and other academic related opportunities.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College has awesome professors in every subject. The atmosphere is friendly and inviting. The services like library, computers, tutoring are simply amazing.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Hey have places to eat there and out side of North Lake

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm , but i do know that they have beautiful apartments that are cheep for the students that are going to north lake .

    In three sentences

    I think North Lake ls awesome . They Help every student there do good and the classes are good sizes.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    International Club, Anime Club, Rising Star Club, TRIO SSS Club... etc.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Student Life Center to watch movies, hang with friends, play games or be part of other activities. Go to the games. Join a Club.

    Food and Dining

    They have Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on a dorm, so I can't tell how the dorm life is. However; that area of Irving is really beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others but North Lake provides plenty of resources to make things easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club, you get to meet a lot of people and its a lot of fun!

    In three sentences

    North Lake has diversity. It is pretty clean, modern, has nice views, amazing professors, lots of student clubs and a subway. You can get all sorts of help whether is for writing, math, sciences, financial aid, counseling etc.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe here, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good dance/theater program

    Great for these types of students

    Single moms! And those on a limited budget but the value of education here is still very good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nursing building overlooks a lake. It is a beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    North Lake is excellent bang for the buck. I will graduate from nursing school and finish my bachelor's degree at uta in just a few months. I am a single mom and I have not had to take out student loans yet.

    What to do for fun

    Red River Honky Tonk is fun, fifteen minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The subway at the school is good with specials for broke college students. Lots of great dining nearby like chipotle, the Ranch Red hot and Blue and Blue Fish.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major, classes are tough but I have learned a lot, even scored near perfect on math and science on my hesi exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money and start your education here.

    In three sentences

    North Lake is an excellent choice for a junior college. The staff is friendly and I feel I have learned a lot from my classes. The campus is safe and is located on rolling hills and a lake fifteen minutes from Dallas.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police here every day. Nothing bad ever happens. This is my second semester so far, and there hasn't been one fight, which is a breath of fresh air.

    Greek Life

    The two that I've heard of so far is Psi Theta Kappa and Psi Beta (Psychology honor society club), which I'm involved in. I'm hoping to join Psi Theta Kappa next semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities that students can join. Some clubs even give out scholarships!

    Bang for the buck

    North Lake College provides us with materials that saves me money. Books can be rented, which meant I didn't have to spend more. We even have a store that sells clothes, shoes, etc, and the only money they accpet are blazer bucks, which are easy to earn. Students can get blazer bucks by participating in workshops. Blazer bucks can also be purchased in the payment area, and it's not even expensive.

    What to do for fun

    This is my second semester here at North Lake. From the looks of it, people just like to chill in the Student life center, which has flat screens to watch movies, and it's also a great place to just hang with friends. Students also enjoy socializing in the cafeteria. I see people who bring games and play that with their friends. Students also have fun in the various amount of clubs provided here at North Lake. North Lake also has a huge lake located near the caferia. The part of the cafeteria that oversees the lake has clear glass walls, so students can gaze over the lake, while enjoying their meals. There are also chairs outside the cafeteria (near the lake), where students can eat their meal, while also enjoying nature, and socializing with friends. North Lake also has a dance team/drama class that perform in our stage area on some occasions, and students are welcome to go. There is much to do here at North Lake.

    Food and Dining

    The only restaurant we have here at Northlake is Subway. I wish we had more to choose from. Subway is not what I want to eat every day because I'm not even a huge subway fan. I wish there were more varieties to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Northlake has great teachers, who know what they're talking about. These teachers trained and passionate about what they teach; at least the ones that I've met have been that way. The teachers here will help with with whatever you need, and all you have to do is set up an appointment to meet them at their offices. It's that easy; just ask for help, and they will gladly do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because North Lake is a community college, does not mean incoming students can just blow it off. North Lake offers various degree programs, and even courses to transfer to a four year college. Incoming students should engage in class discussions and stay focus, whether it's for an associate degree or a transfer plan. Blowing off the courses provided would be a waste of time and money. Students should also get involved in extracurricular activities, clubs, etc. They should join in on the fun, but at the same time be focused on their school work. There are some students here who take this for granite. Every time I'm going to class (on the first floor), I see the same people sitting there in the lounge area. After class, they're still there. It's like they don't even move; they just go to school to sit and chat. But it will come to bite them back in the future. So I'm warning incoming students to stay focus, don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    North Lake College of Irving is the best route for saving money for college courses. The teachers and staff are incredible, and tends to students questions/concerns, tutoring, etc. There are numerous places in which students can socialize, and have a great time.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and organizations while you're here, get involved in programs for transfer students. Don't just do the minimum. Do your research about which professors are the best; will actually challenge you.

    In three sentences

    Some excellent teachers, some very poor ones. Some serious students, some not really so. Takes a bit of research to find resources.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Great for these types of students

    Student clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chinese new year, amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Meeting in clubs

    Food and Dining

    Subway is always good and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check ratemyprofessors.com for a good professor, do not want to be stuck with a bad teacher!

    In three sentences

    North lake college is where you can get done with all your basics for a low tuition. It is a chill environment and classes are somewhat easy depending on the professor. This school is great for students that are nit sure of their major or want to save money.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. There are real police officers working during school hours to make sure North Lake College remains a safe place.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that you can join. If you need help with your math or science class, you go to the tutoring centers that are available to you for free during school hours.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are looking for a low tuition.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of space to hang out with friends while taking a lunch break. You can bring your own lunch and heat it in the microwave or you can eat fresh at Subway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early so you can get the classes and professors that you want. Don't wait until the last minute. Become involved and you'll have the time of your life.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love North Lake College and I recommend anyone to go here. The advisers are helpful and the professors are there to help you during their office hours. If you're looking for a friendly environment and for a low tuition, then North Lake College is the school for you.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    This college is for commuters, but there are apartments you can rent that are next to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Do your work and you will get the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    -talk with your professors if you have any doubts about the class -get involved -make time for school work before anything else

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the small classes at North Lake College, you really get to communicate with the professors and class-mates. There is a wide variety of extracurricular activities you can you on campus that are fun. It is also very affordable and great for first time college students looking to transfer to a university in the future.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several security guards on and around campus throughout the school day. There are always people everywhere so you never feel unsafe or secluded. The buildings and parking lots are well lit at night. I have attended this campus for almost two years and I have not heard of anything that would make me feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about this one! Sorry!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sooooo many! Sports, theatre, sororities, charities, game groups, study groups, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    physically challenged/disabled, psychology students, people who are serious about wanting to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not really aware of any traditions on campus at the moment.

    Bang for the buck

    I think learning is the key to an amazing life. Education is knowledge, and knowledge is certainly power that only you can use to your advantage. While in school you meet so many wonderfully diverse people, some unlikely friends, and some best friends. Some people you are grouped up with for a lesson, a tutor session or a life time. I met my best friend in college when I first attended over ten years ago.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of organizations and associations on campus in which to choose from. You can volunteer for your sorority, fraternity or your local charity, it is all organized on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The only restaurant we have in our food court, if you can call it that, is Subway. However, there are several vending machines and a couple of microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    I currently do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, the professors are old school so you will have to put in a little work. But you pay for what you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students looking to attend this college will need to be serious about learning. Students should be respectful by not texting in class or dressing like a bum or thug, meaning pull up the pants! This school also offers many fun opportunities aside from learning.

    In three sentences

    North Lake Community College has the most amazing professors! They are all old school, meaning they do things the way they were taught years ago (when the technology was not so good) so they expect a lot from their students. This has pushed me to be a better student and now I am thinking past my masters degree!

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The have a gym and pool, some clubs, but other than that there is not much that goes on.

    Food and Dining

    The only place to eat on campus is subway. However there are plenty of places in the general area to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not overly difficult. The most teachers are willing to work with you as long as you show up and do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get the times that you want.

    In three sentences

    North Lake is a decent college. The tuition is not expensive. Good class timing.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police enforce throughout the day and securities at night. Campus law is very strict. They are always ready to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    Book store is great! They are price reasonably and all your daily needs.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports field and club, also swimming and activities like dancing and theatre.

    Food and Dining

    On campus they have a subway, which is a very healthy choice. They also have many restaurant and fast food within ten minutes from campus.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dormitory but have many great apartment in the area!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to the advisor for help with planning classes. They are great help.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College is a very diverse school. The provide great help and tutoring for all courses and major. The campus is also very beautiful.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe with the amount of officers on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Its good for student who are motivated and are looking to save money on a year or two of college

    Bang for the buck

    community college is the best value for your dollor in terms of getting very cheap college credits that transfer with you.

    Food and Dining

    The only dining option on campus is a sub-way.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the classes is not challenging if you take time and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must stay motivated and get in and get out.

    In three sentences

    North lake is a good place to start your education. Its fine to attend for a couple of semesters, but after a while the school takes a toll on you. The atmosphere is not exactly what i was hoping for in a college.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different sports you can play and many different groups that you can join to make your college life more interesting.

    Food and Dining

    They have subway which I go to quite often.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't ever lived here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this school has a good academic standing. This is a great college to get a degree from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour to see how nice the campus is. Talk to the staff and you will see that this place is a very welcoming place to learn and earn your degree.

    In three sentences

    I think that North Lake College is a great college to go to. The teachers are great and very helpful. I have been to many different colleges and North Lake is the college I like most!

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is really important at North Lake, since the opening of the DART station. Constant patrol of campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned previously.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great start for all that are trying to save money and a stepping stone for the college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable

    What to do for fun

    I highly encourage everyone to check out the many clubs and organizations we have on campus found through student life. As former officers of North Lakes' Phi Theta Kappa chapter and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, I have received so much wisdom and experience through these organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is ok

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are not easy, but go to your professors or tutoring labs if you are struggling in any of your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think just because you are at a community college the classes are easier. Study and work as hard as you can. The teachers at North Lake really want you to understand the subjects they're teaching, so don't be afraid to ask for help or go to the many tutoring labs and services on campus.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join a sport team.

    Food and Dining

    They have Subway Mc Donald and all that

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorm so.

    Academic Rigor

    North Lake College offer most class that most university have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until last minute to enroll.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College is perfect for students with low income especially like myself. They offer plenty of classes and degrees. Highly recommended.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a smaller, flexible community college to get you started in school or help you continue school, North Lake is great!

    In three sentences

    North Lake College is a small but well organized community college. The professors are well-educated, patient, and have a passion for teaching. North Lake has a diverse group of students and faculty.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lost of on campus police so you always feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most people gather in the cafe or rec room those are the main hang out spots.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable and they offer payment plans.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has several sports and also has a student rec room across from the cafe.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway in the cafe area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always communicate with your professors, they're there to help you and most have such flexible meeting times if you call or email them. It's a great school to go to for those people that are weary of a big university lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    North Lake is a great community college, most classes there are a small student to teacher ratio and the resources there are amazing. The school is a great supporter of the arts as well and most professors are friendly and work with your schedule if you have a problem. Also most of the buildings are connected on the second floor and a rec room.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has many places to when there is a fire in one building, tornadoes, and multiple other instances. I feel safe walking around the school everyday.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that go on during the week. There are so many clubs, in fact that it is hard to find them all.

    What to do for fun

    When in between classes, students have the opportunity to go to the student lounge and play video games, or watch a movie. There are various sports that can be played and musicians can practice their instruments.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway that offers quite a bit of healthy choices for the staff and students. This Subway offers all of the same foods as any normal Subway would offer, along with the choice of coffee, a great help to college kids.

    Dorm Life

    Since this college is only a community college, there is no need for dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here challenge the student to academically and successfully achieve the professors' standards and goals. Professors are willing to meet one-on-one with a student to make sure the student understands the material fully. Class sizes are the average high school class size, which is 20-1 student-teacher ratio.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a great way to transition from high school to college, or from a major college. Students that come to this college have a high percentage of succeeding in the world and at other colleges. When coming into this school, be sure to challenge yourself, not too much, but enough that you can get the most out of everything.

    In three sentences

    North Lake is a great community school that has lots to offer. The atmosphere here is great with amazing professors. There are always activities and promotions going on that allows students to figure out their motives.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Subway within the campus is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    In three sentences

    North Lake is pretty laid back overall. From the teachers I have already had, they are laid back and understanding too. The experience here is very enjoyable and worry-free.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I consider this campus on of the safest in the DFW!

    Greek Life

    PHI THETA KAPPA!!! I love being a member and feel proud that my hard work in school shows by being a member!

    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many as possible and you'll make lots of friends!

    Great for these types of students

    People with high ambitions and goals! People that want to go places!

    Bang for the buck

    The best Bang for your buck because you will get the best education.

    What to do for fun

    I love dancing and becoming part of the dance club, was an awesome experience for me! This school offers a lot of different clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly have only eaten here once at the Subway and it was like any othe Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at North Lake, but the commute is not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the classes that you choose. Since I am working hard to get into a great Med school program, I push myself to harder than other students. Ultimately, you have to set your own standards and expectations for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing that a college student can do is not to slack off!! Be on top of your game from the beginning of classes and pride yourself in turning in your assigments early. That way, you do not have to stress and be on a time crunch like most students.

    In three sentences

    North Lake is a great school and the help that you get from the teachers, honestly motivates you to work harder. Deciding to come to this school was a no brainer because everyone truly cares about your success! I will forever be greatful for the great education, that I can afford at North Lake.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are awesome and they are very aware of things that go on around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    North Lake has a variety of clubs and activities to do for and with the students, it is up to the student to take advantage.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is welcome at all times, we do not discriminate

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students love to walk around our lake and take their lunches out on the grass by the lake and relax.

    Bang for the buck

    Walk around the campus and once the student gets the feel for the campus they will love it!!!

    What to do for fun

    North Lake student life throws things for the students at least every week. They are open about keeping the students involved in the school and community. Fall semester of 2013 the student life center had a chalk day where students drew on the ground with chalk of how they felt or what they like doing.

    Food and Dining

    North Lake only has Subway as the dining experience. A lot of students have insisted on the school to bring in another vendor, but no answer on what they will do. Students do have the options outside of the school, McDonald's and Jack in the Box, along with Chic-File are right down the street.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at the college are their for the students, they will take time out of their day in order to help the students out. They actually care, I came from a college in west Texas and the professor out their, could careless. The professors know ALL of their students name. If a person does not understand a certain subject they have great tutors and labs for the students to attend outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your game, and if not ALWAYS ASK QUESTIONS. Never feel like you are asking to many questions, that is why the advisors and professors are here for.

    In three sentences

    North Lake is a step up for educating students. They go above and beyond to help the students out and get them to the level they would like to be at. North Lake is overall one of the best community colleges a person can attend!

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many extra curricular choices at North Lake.

    Food and Dining

    The only thing on campus is a Subway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and register online first before seeing an advisor.

    In three sentences

    North Lake College, over all I have enjoyed my experience. The advisors were confusing and only semi helpful, registering online was easier for me. The campus is beautiful and North Lake offers so many extra curricular activities and programs that are phenomenal!!!