Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Park University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    North Park is a great college for any kind of student. It is such a diverse campus that You can't say its only great for one specific type of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great tip for any prospective students is to have a really detailed entree essay. The counselors love to hear all the details in your story.

    Bang for the buck

    Because North Park is in an urban setting they received a lot of funding from the city. Instead of using the money for the campus they gave the money to the students. In 2008 the tuition for north park actually decreased.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always some special event going on each weekend at North Park. Its a small campus so there are a lot of familiar faces.

    Am learning a lot

    It is very easy to learn everything you need to know at this school. The largest class size is 25 max. Your professors are always available to help you when you need extra help.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    North Park University is a great school for any and all kinds of people. It is a school with a lot of diversity among the students, as well as the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here is a tip for students that are thinking about coming here, when you come to the school for your visit ask your tour guide about the location of the OLDEST tree in Chicago. (It is right on campus, in the middle of the green space). Also, if you do decide to attend this university, make sure that you know all of your professor's names and try and make sure they remember yours for good reasons.

    Bang for the buck

    This school really does give you a lot more than what your paying for. For instance, the work-out facility, Helwig, was completed in the fall of 2006 Helwig Recreation Center houses a state-of-the-art workout facility, 200-meter indoor track, 35-yard practice football turf, basketball and volleyball courts, a climbing wall, coaches' offices, and classroom space. There are many things that a person or group of people could do here and not get bored. Also, every Tuesday and Thursday, there are ab work outs and yoga that is available for no extra charge.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is great. I love the vibe that I got when I first stepped onto this campus. The people that you will be going to school with and living around are loving, caring, and very good people. It didn't take me very long to meet new people and my friends. I am a football player and that was another way to help with the process.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot because the staff is able to get with each student one-on-one because this is not a big university like NIU or SIU. Here each class room has about 20-30 students. This allows the students to learn more and not have to compete for the teacher's attention as much.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Nursing Majors -Business Majors -Chemistry Majors -Biology Majors -International students -Social students

    Tips for prospective students

    -do not procrastinate -get sleep -when you are given an assignment, start it right away -look for any available on-campus jobs -buy used books -try to party only on the weekends because no one wants to go to class super tired the next day or even worse, not show up -show up to class (VERY IMPORTANT!) -take very good notes -if you are not there for a class, get the notes from one of your classmates and ask about any homework, due dates, changed due dates and tests/quizzes. -talk to your professor as much as possible. If you don't tell them you don't understand something, how are they supposed to be able to help you? -spend a lot of time at the library -check your email constantly for class cancellations, important class information from your professors, and updates on what is going on around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is semi-expensive to go to North Park, but if you are able to find the money to come here, it is definitely worth it. North Park is a great academic school and was ranked number one in the country for their Nursing program. Although it is a dry campus and not a big party school, you can always find some fun around the neighborhood or even downtown. The quality of the university's education is great and you will definitely get your money's worth here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy living here at North Park because the neighborhood is nice and the location of the restaurants and the L are perfect. If you go out and meet new people, there is always something to do. There is music in the Java Haus lounge, frisbee in the green space and plays in the LHA, so its nice that all of these are close by. its not a large campus so its not easy to get lost in which makes getting to class so much easier. Most classes are located in Carlson Tower, so the only trick is knowing which floor to get off at. The diversity of the university also plays a major role in why it is a great campus. There are always international students coming in from Korea, Sweden and many other different countries. The students get to meet so many new people and the more people they meet, the more comfortable their environment becomes because it becomes easy to talk to other people and to get to know one another more closely.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at this university are great. Since the class size is about 30 students, it is easy for the student to get to know their professors and spend time focusing on their key points in class, work on their flaws and correct whatever issues they may have. All the classrooms have a great projection set up so it makes it easier to learn with Powerpoints, pictures, movies, and Microsoft Word (for notes). Also, the construction of a new science building is coming up, so it going to be a great place to learn with all new equipment and everything.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    The community here is great. You get to know people really fast and the professors are really nice. You get opportunities to work in or Around Chicago and get work with some really cool people.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe since it's a Christian University! You can feel safe and secure in person and in spirit.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'll be interested in their spiritual groups knowing we are composed of two bodies the physical body and spiritual one... I've met my physical needs through food and exercise now I need to meet my spiritual body

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is very expensive for a supporting student like me but I believe education is an investment!

    What to do for fun

    Be positive in everything and remember is H=IJ means Happiness is inside job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and double check all the requirements!

    In three sentences

    I'm so blessed to get in their Nursing program. I waited for a while to get in but I know it was worth it! I heard and believe that through the school I'm closer to my dream to be a successful nurse!

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a great school for any type of person but for a headsup there are no frats here.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had a problem while attending north park and security is always around monitoring the parking lots and campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and activities on campus. almost every club you can think of as well as lots of sports for the athletic students.

    Bang for the buck

    north park prides itself on helping its students so they offer lots of financial assistance. they have many scholarships and financial aid to give to prospective and current students.

    What to do for fun

    there are always sports games, movie nights, exercising classes and field trips for students. there are a lot of restaurants in walking distance to hang out with friends between classes as well.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe's are cheap and really good. there's food available in every student building.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't dorm but i'm sure it's convenient and fun.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is tough and quick but there's always someone there to help you. tutors are everywhere, study groups, friends, teachers and counselors are all there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely apply and expect great things from this college, especially a warm welcome. the teachers are very open to assisting you with anything so don't be afraid to talk to them. do the campus tour, it was awesome and helpful. really give the professors a great entry essay. they love to read what you have to say.

    In three sentences

    north park is comprised of instructors that are patient, approachable and really into assisting you with your studies. this school is very involved with its students on a social and academic level. it holds many opportunities to assist students with any curricular needs they may have, ie: financial aid, tutoring, social events, etc...

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Well I hope I get to meet you at our great school.

    What to do for fun

    I play football and get together with the guys and play different sports in the gym later in the evening.

    Food and Dining

    I eat there everyday, three times a day. They have the best pizza and burgers and if you don't feel like eating indoors there is a subway, McDonalds and another fast food place where you can eat inside. You don't ever have to worry being hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The school has a great dorm, little hot in the summer, so bring fans. If this is your first time being away from your parents you might be saying I can't wait to get away, but you will miss them and if you have any problems with that you can go to your RA and they will be able to help you. I had a lot of problems, home sick, and after to weeks I was good. There are so many great people. The dorms are not really that big so don't bring your bedroom from home. Some bedding, towels, clothes, fans and I sure they told you rest. Well I hope I cover that.

    Academic Rigor

    I say like at any college if you keep ahead of the game and keep your studies up you will be o.k. It's not like high school if your having any problems with your work go to your teacher and you can get some help before it gets out of hand. Remember your teacher doesn't go to you and tell you to get help you have to do it for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Study hard in High School. 2. Do the best job you can on your A.C.T. 3. Finally, come to North Park with a smile on your face because they are welcome to take you will open arms

    In three sentences

    I would rate North Park a number one school. I left North Park after my first year because I thought another school would be better. Believe me once your at North Park with the great teachers and the super help you get from everyone you will not want to leave.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is not my first university but I am glad to become an alum of North Park University. I felt I got a lot out of my time here and truly made connections with my professors.

    What to do for fun

    You have all of Chicago as well as some great activities at the university. The events reflect the interests of all majors and involve the community to create a positive presence.

    Food and Dining

    Being located in the city, you have access to some great food. The staples such as Starbucks and Jimmy Johns are located across the street. The community is diverse with access to a variety of ethnic fare.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and comparable to any other university. The security is tight. They make it a point to get to know all students who live on and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They have high expectations and all the tools you need to be successful. Your degree will count for something. North Park has a following and is known among employers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your advising resources. Keep in touch with professors and advisers if you are having trouble in class. Utilize the expertise of the librarians online and in person for all research paper assistance.

    In three sentences

    Amazing classroom and online experience! The teachers and advisers are eager and sincere with helping you achieve your educational goals. This school is perfect for recent high school graduates, adults going back to college; Christians and non-Christians alike!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Can't comment.

    Greek Life

    Can't comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Can't comment.

    Great for these types of students

    SAL program is great for working adults. Classes are 7 weeks each and meet one night/week for 4 hours. I believe you can take as long as you would like to complete your degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can't comment.

    Bang for the buck

    Can't comment.

    Food and Dining

    Can't comment.

    Dorm Life

    Can't comment.

    Academic Rigor

    Can't comment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! If you don't understand something or would like more information, ask. They are fantastic at connecting you with helpful staff.

    In three sentences

    The admission staff is great! The most attentive and caring I have encountered during my college career - no questions have been left unanswered or taken longer than a day for a response . They are willing to help with anything or directly you to someone who can instead, FAST!

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never any trouble on campus. Students can feel comfortable and safe in their enviroment.

    What to do for fun

    I don't live on campus but there are always different activies and events that are held.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very delicious and there are a lot of options to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to study for about thirty minutes each day for each course. Especially for test and quizes, dedicate about two hours two weeks in advanced and to read any assignments that are given, so that class disscusions may be easier and more interesting.

    In three sentences

    North Park University has excellent professors, where student's can connect on a more personal level. Has passionate courses, where teachers take lessons beyond to another level. and has friendly students who are willing to help those in need.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe in the campus. Outside is a different story

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    alot pretty much different types. Or you can create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    religious, students that like small communities small classrooms

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Streaking. Males

    Bang for the buck

    its pretty expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There isnt that much todo, you can join sports or clubs. If you become friends with a people in apartments you will go to parties, and there is a train nearby.

    Food and Dining

    It is not the best, it's kind of bad. But you wont die. Hey food is food.

    Dorm Life

    As long as your laidback and not a complainer you will be okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Alot of people are always in the library. Its kind of a thing todo.

    Tips for prospective students

    Socialize as much as possible. go to events, and try to hangout with everyone, not one group. Your in college not highschool.

    In three sentences

    northpark is very small, and like a small town. Pretty much everyone knows everyone. Reminds me of highschool, well dorm life.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    North Park is associated with the Evangelical Covenant Church, but nothing is mandatory besides two Bible or Theology classes. I feel as though I have grown more in my faith than I would have if I went to a school that required me to sign a statement of faith or had mandatory chapels. North Park offers two weekly chapels, and even though they are not required, they are often very full. Our University Ministries office is a huge blessing, and they offer great ways to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    My financial aid has been, for the most part, an incredible blessing. What is not covered by loans or grants I usually pay out of pocket, and I have been able to support myself the last 3 years without any additional loans. I also feel blessed by how many connections professors have, as well as the internship possibilities, being in Chicago.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of restaurants and cute coffee shops around the area. We are also close to the CTA - we're a few blocks from one of the El stops (the train), buses run on most streets surrounding campus, and plenty of things are within a bike-able or even walking distance. Chicago has lots of festivals and concerts, and many of them are free or low priced.

    Food and Dining

    ARA isn't the greatest. It is nice not to have to make your own food, but sometimes the repetition of the same foods gets old. There are lots of great restaurants around though, and most of them are priced well for a college budget, so it's not like ARA is the only option.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for the first two years I was at North Park and LOVED it. It was how I met most of my close friends now, and there is literally nothing like living in the dorms. The Resident Assistants (RAs) do a fantastic job of helping you adjust to life in Chicago/in college, especially freshman year, and it is a blast to be able to live in such close proximity to friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are pretty easy, but others are way more difficult. You can find a level that is good for you, but even if you are struggling, professors are really there to help you. They aren't going to always seek you out, but if you ask them for help, they are often really willing to work with you and are a huge help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! North Park has lots of clubs and groups to get involved in, and many of them help you get to know both the neighborhood and the city we go to school in. The on-campus houses and apartments often host Fika, a few hours of coffee and treats (for free! Free food will be the way to any college student's heart.) and hanging out with friends, which is a great way to get to know people! Don't be afraid of initial awkwardness - get out there and get to know people!

    In three sentences

    North Park has been the perfect place for me. I have gotten to know friends through living in the dorms and the small community, have been challenged and grown, and gotten to explore Chicago. Going into my senior year, I am excited to help other students have a great experience at North Park as well.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college provides campus security with actual or former officers who offer you safe escort from campus buildings and train station. There are alarm buttons located all over campus to provide safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There many student organizations on campus driven by students for students. All from sports, cultural to musical and volunteering. Joining these clubs and activities also is a great way to get to know people. You also have the opportunities to contribute by joining the club's leaderships, the reward in the end can be leadership experience and even be nominated for your work.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is about 20 minutes with bus from campus. Downtown is about 30 minutes with train depending on the hour of the day. Many on campus student organizations offer activities, movie nights and food. Hang out, talk and play.

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining hall offers a variety of meals, but after a while you might get tired of it since it goes in a circle. Although it does offer all the nutrients you need to function, the taste might be boring for some people. They serve hot meals, sandwiches, fast food, salad and fruit stands. And cereal. In additional, there are many eateries around campus, from Jimmy Jones to Korean. Food is never a problem.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming will be strict for on campus residents. All guests must be registered and leave their IDs prior to entering their rooms. There cannot be guests in your room after midnight. The dorm life might not be as comfortable as you wish it to be, but it is satisfying enough for you to study. The walls are thinner, and the temperature might not be as ideal as you wish it to be either. The best is that you are close to your friends, and the campus provides everything you need in your studies.

    Academic Rigor

    Different professors have different expectations for different classes, but if you do not follow his or her instructions to pass the class, you better have a good explanation to be excused. You are expected to pass the class with a minimum grade of 'C', otherwise you will not receive the full credit points. It is up each student individually to complete each assignment unless excused at least a certain time before deadline. Absences will be noted, and it affects your grade. Breaking campus rules, you might result meeting the dean.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is OK to not know everything in the beginning, current and alumni students are more than happy to help you if you do wonder about anything, whether it is classes, subjects, professors or campus questions. It is smart to get to know some current students to help you prepare yourself and reduce whatever that might be your worries if you have any. Professors and other faculty members are there to help and guide you through everything, thus it is important that you ask whenever there is anything you are wondering about. Once you start college, please make friends! Be social, I can ensure you that you will always find someone who share the exact interests as you. Join the community by looking up clubs and activities. There's nothing to fear, only everything to look forward to.

    In three sentences

    The college provides a Christian atmosphere for prayers and worship, but also variety of opportunities to share your own beliefs and views. It has an interest for students, especially those with interesting backgrounds, whether it is projects, culture, views or sexuality, everyone is included in the community. As a college, it offers the best for the students to, not only study, but also be a part of a bigger educational and giving community.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I was told the food is good. But there is also a lot of restaurants and coffee shops across from campus

    Dorm Life

    Small but you don't spend a lot of time in your dorm so there is no problem. Its great if you don't mind community bathrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and be open.

    In three sentences

    North Park and its community is like a family. They are so welcoming, even the store owners! Great for students looking for a small close nit community like home.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus and their is always campus security

    What to do for fun

    Usually their are different events going on campus that you can attend however walking the streets of down town Chicago is also a great way to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to maintain a good g.p.a in High School

    In three sentences

    North Park is a great school and the people here are very friendly! Teachers are actually interested in getting to know your name and they want you to succeed.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I bike to campus, and have never felt any threat of theft. When I did have troubles with my bike, campus security was very helpful, even if it took them a few days to get a handle on my problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    You don't see much of North park's clubs, outside of the occasional fundraiser or bake sale in Carlson lobby. However, the University Ministries is a great way to get plugged in in almost any type of ministry that you could want.

    Great for these types of students

    Covenant! If your life has been invested in the covenant church, then you'll feel right at home at North Park. Being Swedish is also a plus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Charcoal Delights (Foster and Kedzie) and Beijo (on Foster) are two of my favorite places to grab something small to eat and to hang out with friends. Both are places you wouldn't expect to be so fantastic, but really are little gems close to campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I really am getting the most out of my North Park experience. It helps that their tuition isn't disastrously high.

    What to do for fun

    If you're a fan of coffee dates, then there's a Starbucks and a cute little cafe called Beijo across from campus that are perfect for hanging out in. The Viking Cafe and Java Haus are nice as well, and campus life hosts lots of fun activities on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Also being a commuter, I don't dine on campus very often. However, the cafe on the North Park campus is neat and fun. It's a nice place to hang out during the day and has some pretty good light snacks. The only downsides are when something runs out, and the prices, which I think are slightly too high.

    Dorm Life

    Being a commuter, I have not lived in a dorm, however I can say that the on campus apartments are very nice and a great arrangement for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic planning guides and advisors from North Park have removed so much stress from my life- I know what classes I should be taking each year for my major, and making classes fit together is much easier. Classes are well taught and include a variety of different and new assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    The small campus is wonderful- everything is pretty easy to get to as quickly as you need to get there. I highly recommend staying a night on campus before school starts, even if you plan on commuting.

    In three sentences

    What first drew me to North park was its beautiful campus. It was a major plus to having my major and being easy to commute to and from. In only a year I have met so many people and learned many things.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Neighborhood is sketchy but as long as you are in campus, you are safe. security guys escort you to the train station or anywhere in campus. They are nice most of times.

    Greek Life

    We don't have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Medieval foam sword fight club, enough said.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wants a community and willing to embrace liberty of others...... Students who wants to be hippies

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman streak! In April fool's day, all freshman guys get naked and run around the campus in front of whole student body at midnight. People come out to watch them, yes. Neighborhood complains annually but every time they call the police, oh well, what's done is done.

    Bang for the buck

    This is only me and my roommate know, so it's a really big deal! Bottled Gatorades in the library are 75 cents while those are 2.5$ in the gym. I don't think inspector found out about that yet. I've been taking advantage of that for a whole year. It's a better deal than target!

    What to do for fun

    There's one thrift store called village 2 blocks away from the campus. have some tacky Tuesday fun, then if you get bored, go out to downtown. There are not many things to do in neighborhood.

    Food and Dining

    If you are a vegetarian, it's a horrible place to get a meal plan. Their breakfast is my favorite especially cereals, bagels and milk. Oops!

    Dorm Life

    It's a good place to get to know people especially if you are a freshman girl, they all put newly incoming girls into the round dorm called Anderson. There's a bathroom in the middle of circle so you occasionally see the people. Good to socialize but not really private and such a small room for 2 people.

    Academic Rigor

    Because it's a small campus, you see whole entire school body around sometimes it feels like I am in high school. Some professors makes me wonder if I am really in high school. They are smart and qualified I am sure but I do not really know if they are using the right methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus is beautiful but make sure to attend the classes and get to know the professors!

    In three sentences

    They claim they are intentionally urban, purposefully multicultural, liberal Christian. The thing is because it's such a small community, Christians know about each other too much, it is urban only if you are willing to take the el for 45 minutes, and multicultural but they hang with who they look like.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    check out more than one school.

    In three sentences

    This is a nice school.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The overall design and quality of the food and cafeteria is lacking.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorms, Anderson is a really fun one with the common rooms in the middle.

    Academic Rigor

    There are challenging courses but overall manageable.

    In three sentences

    Great location on the outside of Chicago. Smaller campus and good music program. New building next year and hopefully a new dining service.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a good school but not in the best neighborhood.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I'm at North Park, I feel safe. There's always securities circling around campus to make sure everything's fine. Also, the securities would also pick you up from wherever you are if it's in the middle of the night. For commuters and students going to North Park, if it's dark outside they'll offer to give you a ride to the train station or from the train station to school. The Kimball brown line is just four blocks away if you take the river path. So it isn't so much to walk, so I have yet to take an offer.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite pricey, but it is worth the money. I'm a nursing student and they seem to have a great nursing program. I've met with other nursing students who are higher level than me and they say it's a great program. Also, the professors are very helpful and you can visit writing advisers to help you on your essays; It doesn't matter for which subject.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of events in North Park, there's star seeing in the library, fun workouts in the Gym; from karate to pilates, many concerts and plays to see. Also, in one of the dorms there's an area called Java Haus, it's almost like a poetry place, there's talent contests and a mini store that you can even buy ramen/noodles in a cup. Activities outside of campus would be the weekend Anime club, as well as chances to go see the Cubs, White Sox, go to Six Flags, and museums as well.

    Food and Dining

    North Park, has a cafeteria for those who dorm and those who are commuters. I'm a commuter but I have tasted the cafeteria food for those who dorm; it's meh, it could be better. They have a lot of options from pizza to Indian food. They also have different kinds of cereal, ice cream, and a salad bar. Then there's the cafe for commuters called the Viking Cafe, they don't have many options for meals, but they do have a lot for snacks. They serve coffee,Tazo tea, espressos, smoothies, fruit yogurt, a long with different types of muffins, and cinnamon rolls. As for the meals, they're basically sandwiches, paninis, and breakfast wraps. The Viking Cafe can get crowded but you can take the food to go and sit in the lobby or outside in the patio. So overall it's really good, everyone loves the paninis.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly haven't dorm. However, I've met people who have, some like it and some don't. Most people that I've met have liked dorming, however they have disliked the possibility of being flooded and having no AC.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors I've had would want to push you to your limits, they know you can do much more and that's what they want to show you. They'll give a helping hand, a small push, so you'll know you can do a lot and that you could do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to be another number for professors this is the right place for you, most professors would like to get to know you. Also, if you're interested in French this is also a great place, although we have only one French professor she is awesome and very friendly. She's expanding the French language in many schools as well. If you think about dorming, I don't recommend the cafeteria food. Overall, this is a great university, plus there's a Starbuck's, Jimmy Johns, McDonald's, Mexican Food, Chinese food, and even Indian food.

    In three sentences

    North Park University is small but has everything you need and want from a university. The campus consists of many buildings, and is currently adding a new building for science classes; it's a very beautiful building. Many of the professors are friendly and are there to help and guide you in the subject and even in other issues.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though Chicago has a horrible reputation for safety, the North Park/Albany Park neighborhood is very safe. The campus security folks are all former Chicago policemen and are good at what they do. They do campus escorts from dusk to dawn within a mile of campus and respond to calls quickly.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty much nonexistent at North Park, but no one misses it much.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many opportunities, causes, and groups meet on campus. If there isn't an event, there's a forum. Groups of every kind can be found, even LARPing groups that meet in the campus center.

    Great for these types of students

    Eccentric people who are prepared to have their minds widened belong at North Park. More conservative, closed off people still fit well and tend to open up a bit during their time there. There's really a place for everyone here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't even ask about The Streak. On nice days in fall or spring, The Hump (the grassy knoll on campus) will be covered in people studying, talking, slacklining, kicking a soccer ball around, or drawing. You'll have to watch out for frisbees since there's a course for frolfing around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many private schools, North Park offers more for less. The location, faculty, opportunities, beautiful campus, and community makes for a worthwhile experience. They also offer many different kinds of scholarships that can make a significant difference in your tuition bill.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Chicago. Take advantage of the L station being close to campus and pretend to be a tourist for a day. Go to the Armitage stop of the brown line and try one of the Italian restaurants there. The Bourgeois Pig off of the Fullerton stop is a great study place for when you want to get off campus but still need to be productive. There's always some kind of events or group happening on campus as well, so you won't ever be bored!

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is provided by Aramark, on a lower level of quality than at many places. There is always something edible to eat but not necessarily something you didn't eat yesterday. If you know which stations to go to and which foods to avoid, you will be better off. There were rumors of a re-designed cafeteria and menu, however, which could change everything.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the dorm you choose, you may have a loud, very social experience or a quieter, more solitary experience. Resident assistants differ in their level of involvement, but as with much of life, it's what you make it. If you take the time to get to know your neighbors and RA, you will have a better experience. The actual buildings are middle of the road as far as dorms are concerned and are continually being updated.

    Academic Rigor

    As a humanities student, it's more the rigor of intensity of thought that is difficult at North Park, something you can choose to participate in or opt out of. The experience is rich with professors who have intriguing perspectives and ask questions of you that change the way you think. The sciences have a reputation for being incredibly difficult, not only in assignment load but in exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit a school in a cornfield or college town somewhere, then visit North Park. Make connections with the admissions people when you come and send in your application early on.

    In three sentences

    North Park University offers interesting, challenging classes from remarkable professors who are invested in education. The atmosphere both inside and outside the classroom broadens one's horizons, particularly due to the incredible diversity of the student population. The out-of-class opportunities extend learning to real-world situations.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Keep in mind we're in Chicago. This year we've had several gun-related incidents, including a mugging of a student. Campus security officers are often kinda jerky and try to dissuade students from using their services (one of them told my NON-PREGNANT friend that it was good she was getting her traveling in before the baby came.... he also told us it was nonsensical that we ask for an escort across campus at night.) I personally feel safe on and off campus during the day, even by myself, but it's not a good idea to go out alone too long after dark.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of these. Many culture-based organizations that hold regular events... outings and activities organized by the Bridge committee.... activities every which way you turn! Theatre performances! Gospel choir concerts! Weekend spiritual retreats! And many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Christians (especially liberal Christians), Swedes, Evangelical Covenant members, nursing students, opera singers, storefront theatre enthusiasts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The night is April 1st... the scene is the bridge over the North Branch of the Chicago River... the sight is approximately twenty naked freshman boys dashing along at midnight while a giant crowd cheers. This is The Streak. Enough said.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is overall mediocre, but campus life and the opportunities for spiritual formation are great. If you talk to the right people, you can have a lot of opportunities here.

    What to do for fun

    Dude! You're in Chicago! The Brown Line runs right near campus, so it's easy to get downtown... and from there, you can do anything. The Belmont stop is a common hangout spot for students, with a popular frozen yogurt joint and Clarke's restaurant. Residence Life offers many opportunities for student activities throughout the year... movie nights, open mics, bowling, etc. Chicago is always chock-full of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great, but it's not as bad as they say. The dining hall was recently remodeled and looks quite attractive. One of the main beefs students have with ARA (the cafeteria) is that, although our meal plans are prepaid, we are not allowed to use our meal plan for guests or bring food out of the cafeteria. It is a bad value for your money.

    Dorm Life

    If you live in a dorm you're required to have a meal plan-- that's the downside of dorm life. Our cafeteria is famously mediocre. But I find the dorms generally fun. I like being around other people, I enjoy the opportunity to meet others, and it's nice (I must admit) to not have to cook for myself. It isn't too rowdy, and you can make good friends on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    If I had wanted a college that would challenge me academically, I would not have chosen North Park. It does have three outstanding programs-- Nursing, Music, and Education-- but eveything else is mediocre. Professors are often very relaxed on deadlines, which can make it hard to get work done on time, and often don't check up on whether you've done the reading or not. I went a whole quad in one of my Spanish classes practically without doing any homework, and I got a B because I did well on the tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    You probably won't visit the dining hall as much as you think you will. I signed up for the average meal plan, 15 per week, and it was waaaaay too much for me. Professors are often very lax on deadlines, so discipline yourself to get your work done on time.

    In three sentences

    I really love North Park; it has helped me grow and learn to be an adult. However, that doesn't mean it's perfect (the dining hall is one example...). It's a good place to be if you value life experience over academic rigor.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, there are not a lot of extra activities for students to do on campus but the school itself is not too far from many sources of entertainment within the city itself.

    Food and Dining

    Students are limited to one source of food on campus, the limited hours often cause student-athletes, like myself, to miss meals regularly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on campus is somewhat lacking in comparison to the rest of the campus. Many residents, myself included, have noticed several improvements that could be made to the areas of the school set aside for student living.

    Academic Rigor

    As a transfer student, I have found a noticeable difference in the level of difficulty related to the courses I have completed. These courses, however, are taught by very knowledgeable instructors with a great deal of detail and passion.

    Tips for prospective students

    All prospective students should take into consideration each and every potential college that meets their base needs in areas relating to their intended major, the vicinity of the school as related to how close or far they wish to be from their home/family, and the amount of money that they are willing to be accountable for paying on tuition.

    In three sentences

    The school is a small private, religious college. Its located on a very small, but beautiful campus in Chicago. The level of academic excellence in the classroom is held to a high, but realistic, standard.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't really say that the neighborhood is the safest place, but North Park University has appropriate security.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go to Helwig (the gym) and play some sports with some friends. There are times that I go to the library and check out some board games with some friends.

    In three sentences

    North Park University offers many opportunities from academics to activities. Professors will give full attention and help students that seek it. Staff is generally friendly except for a few student services employees.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    There admissions rep. is really helpful always answers any question I have.