Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

North Shore Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students who want a great education. I would say a student who is serious about learning yet likes to have fun. NSCC is serious about education but everyone there is happy and likes to find new, fun ways to learn. Anybody who likes to be apart of a community, or likes to get involve. Even if you've never been involved before! NSCC makes you feel comfortable to feel like you can be apart of something. It's all about being stress-free as well as keeping a safe, healthy, and sustainable environment to learn in. I would highly recommend NSCC for anyone and everyone looking for a place to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had any advice to give it would be: Remember to Breathe. Take care of yourself. Be respectful to yourself, others and the Earth. The teachers and staff at NSCC are always around to help you out, so never be afraid to ask for advice or questions. I have never felt so much at home on a campus before. And if you ever feel like there's nothing to do, think again! NSCC has a bunch of clubs and new projects always taking place. We love to see new faces getting involved. It's a lot of fun, you become a part of a family, and we get to leave knowing we've inspired someone else's life.

    Bang for the buck

    AMAZING education for the price you pay (compared to all the other colleges). Though, books are cheaper on Amazon than in the bookstore, of course! I absolutely recommend NSCC. Even if you just come for a year, then transfer! It's great because you're getting a very valued education for half the price you'd be paying at any other colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I Love North Shore!! What an amazing place to continue your education. Amazing teachers, facility and staff - and of course as well as the students. Everyone is here to learn and help others learn along the way. I am exceptionally proud of the new Sustainable building that just opened and the constant drive to push for more recycling. NSCC is very involved not just in the school, but in helping the communities around each campus too. You find you can really get involved :)

    Am learning a lot

    I love my teachers!! They are so inspirational! They get you to understand what they teach, not just guide right through the materials. I have always found that once a class is over, I leave wanting to change myself and change the world for the better. So inspiring and intelligent people. They have really encouraged me to pursue my dreams, and have even created new branches for me to follow as well.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    this school has teachers who care about you. there are a lot of courses to choose from. it has a great diversity as well

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are serious intercom techniques they they use, and test, every semester.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff to do, outside of campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is great! However, not the healthiest.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    All depending on your major, the classes can be challenging. However, professors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your course of study very well, this way, when you talk to advisers, you can fairly challenge their opinions, and ask intelligent questions.

    In three sentences

    North Shore is the ultimate melting pot, it obtains students from all backgrounds, and personalities. When it comes to classes, the school has a wide variety, however the semester planning could be better. As for sports, they could use more active promotion, for you don't really know when to sign up, etc.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There is no other place like NSCC. Come and see what the future holds for you. It trains you for the career of your choice.

    In three sentences

    A college with lots of opportunities. Has good professors and, that makes learning easy. Its a place to be.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all over just as well as on call staff in the front back and all around the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    check the tour

    Bang for the buck

    i am speechless to the amount of success i have made and going to continue to make. i have built my confidence so high that i have never been so determined the way that i am now which is willing and full of confidence with the courage to complete

    What to do for fun

    there a numerous amount of activitie.. dance,zumba,yoga,ect

    Food and Dining

    the cookies are the best. the food is all cooked in front of you it has a clean work area as well as as a dinning area which is to your comfort where you can study and relax with a nice view

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Academic Rigor

    i have not attended

    Tips for prospective students

    don't think that its not possible because it is

    In three sentences

    i have been attending the nscc for 2 years now and i have had the opprtunity to develpo in so many ways. i have camer across the most amazing professors. i have been introduced to multiple things that the college has to offer. i have had a few personal issues that the college accommodated in my favor. i am very grateful to be a student at the nsc.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security are friendly and alert!! they will even walk you to your car if you want them to..

    Clubs and Activities

    great diversity in the schools clubs..

    Bang for the buck

    the teachers i have had are all worth more that i paid for classes... hard to say that at beginning of school but in hind sight well worth it..

    What to do for fun

    hang out in student life area! a really nice bunch of active smart people!

    Food and Dining

    decent but this is the only thing lacking.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    i am only taking two classes, but i feel challenged which is good!!

    Tips for prospective students

    never be afrain=d to ask for help, everyone will go out of thier way to help. teachers and other students alike!

    In three sentences

    outstanding reliable caring faculty and teachers. fun community of students. i am most impressed with the level of support given by all memebers of this college!!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Greek Life

    i'm not sure this is any.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs. i don't have time to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    adult learners, high school graduates and everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the new health science building is the only zero emissions building in the state.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    study hard and get to know your classmates.

    Food and Dining

    vegetarian options are not abundant, but you can survive.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    this is college. apply yourself and you will reap the benefits and knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    take classes, get to know your teachers and classmates. enjoy your experience.

    In three sentences

    the campus is smoke free. educators are knowledgeable. programs are designed for you to succeed, as long as you put in the work.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have activities like the health fare an other thigns like that

    Food and Dining

    The caf food isnt that bad, they have nice specials

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are good, some are harder than others, but their goal is all the same, to make sure all the students can learn the materials. if you need help the teachers are more than willing to do so.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Saved so much $$$

    Food and Dining

    Never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college...

    In three sentences

    Really not bad.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very nice campus police officers. Makes me feel safe that they are here at all times. It is unfortunate that they are unable to bear arms though. If we have an active shooter on campus they are limited in what they can actually do to protect employees and students.

    Clubs and Activities

    TRIo Women in Transition PHI THETA KAPPA

    Great for these types of students

    English as a second language students. High school graduates.

    Bang for the buck

    I have received my Associate's degree here and am able to transfer over to a four years school as a junior. I strongly suggest students attend a community college to get a feel for the college atmosphere and at the same time get the general education courses out of the way so they can concentrate and not loose motivation to study their program of interest when they move on.

    What to do for fun

    North Shore Community College has many, many opportunities for students to get involved with clubs, events and daily activities. The student life office has trips where they had volunteer students, staff and professors go to New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina occurred and helped build homes. We have a gym and basket ball court on the Lynn campus. We have a student center on the Danvers campus where students can play ping pong, play video games and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    On the Danvers campus the food selection is much wider and there is much more healthy choices available. On the Lynn campus it is geared primarily geared towards fried food unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not that rigorous. Professors are very passionate and student driven. If you attend, do the homework and communicate with your professors regularly or when you are struggling you will succeed. They like to see students try their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Financial Aide before May 1st every year. Sign up for orientation(if your a first time college student). Meet with an academic advisor for questions and help registering for the correct courses appropriate for your program of study. Meet with our transfer counselor when it is time and you decide to transfer.

    In three sentences

    North Shore Community college is a grate school to begin you academic career. They offer a MASS Transfer benefit that is worth looking into. You can cut 2 years of course work out (transfer as a junior) if you continue to a four year state college/university and you receive a percentage off tuition if you qualify.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Couldn't be happier. The teachers work well to help reach student's potential, especially since am taking evening classes. They understand that we have busy lives as it is and work with us.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Lynn campus has installed new doorknobs on all the doors in the buildings that will make it easier for everyone in the bulding to be safe if there is ever an emergency inside or outside the school. However, I'm not too sure how it works or it it will work like they hoped it would.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multicultural club, student newspaper called The Pennon, TRiO, etc. There is a list of all the clubs and organization that NSCC offers. There are so many to choose from. You can also submit a request to start your own club or organization that is not already offered at NSCC.

    Great for these types of students

    NSCC is great for students looking to cut down the cost of their education. You can get your associates degree here then transfer to a 4 year school as a junior to complete your bachelors degree. It's also great for returning students or older adults who haven't been in school for years.

    Bang for the buck

    North Shore is a very affordable school with great payment plan options.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can join a club. I know that the multicultural club does lots of fun activities. If you're taking classes at the Lynn campus and have time between classes, you can walk down to Lynn beach. It's great for a quick run or to just sit on a bench overlooking the water and study. There's not many fun things to do on campus, though.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at the Lynn campus is pretty small but the food is good. I like that they have fresh fruit that you can buy. There s also a salad bar with lots of options. I usually only eat salad or fruit but I know that they offer chicken and fries and I beleve pasta.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't speak about other majors but the coursework for the Early Childhood Education field is very tough. It's a lot of work and long hours doing projects and homework. The instructers are wonderful and very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip for prospective students is to try to get a comprehensive health insurance plan because the plan offered at NSCC is over priced and the plan doesn't offer much coverage.

    In three sentences

    North Shore is an excellent school to earn you associates degree. They offer a variety of helpful resources for academics and financal need. I reccommend this school to anyone.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's right on route one, so there are many things to do on your breaks if you know the area or commute. Usually when I have my two hour breaks, I will go get something to eat, hit the mall, or go for a coffee run.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food? can't get much better.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging, all depends on your major. But, the tutoring center is amazing, and everyone there has been very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind when applying for college, nobody is going to look down on you for going to a community college. But just because it's a community college don't think you'll be getting a free ride and breeze through the classes, it is the same difficulty and needs the same amount of attention as any other school.

    In three sentences

    North Shore has probably been the best decision that I made when applying and enrolling into college. I feel that i am getting the same education as state schools for a fraction of the cost. Not to mention, all of the professors that I've had are extra friendly and willing to help.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for motivated individuals who want to learn and actually be at school.

    What to do for fun

    My main purpose was to be there to learn, but they do have clubs at the school that one can join and be apart of.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is cozy and the food is made fresh, but somewhat expensive- like most colleges.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is no joke like numerous individuals may think because it is a community college; honestly, you will get a great education if you put in the time and want to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend the college as an option to take classes until you are sure you know what you want to have as an intended major. You will get a great education at a affordable price!

    In three sentences

    Very well run and organized. Has a beautiful new campus with amazing teacher willing to help you succeed. The school is affordable and is a fantastic place to get a great education.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Legit

    Great for these types of students

    self motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    the school programs are great.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of school programs.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get your seat in a good class.

    In three sentences

    NSCC is a great school with many beneficial faculty and staff members. The curriculum is outstanding and it is very easy to get classes.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police is everywhere you need them to be.

    Great for these types of students

    diversity, everyone is here

    Bang for the buck

    you save so much money and have great professors to top it off.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is a good place to get food in a hurry.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    difficult if you don't pay attention or study but easy if you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere of the school. They have very good counselors and everyone is very friendly.Teachers are also very nice and understanding.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study

    In three sentences

    Thank you for keeping the Certificate in Wellness & Healing Arts program, it is wonderful to have a community college with a holistic focus.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police checking doors and walking around. I will also mention the are available 24/7 as well as in the school and out.

    Clubs and Activities

    What they have to offer students is quite amazing i you ask me.. They have everything from culture to inside and out side clubs.. But not just our the student our families are always welcomed as well

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think anything is unusual. I believe that this school tries to be open minded to all and everyone's likes dislikes and beliefs

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of groups to your liking that are available.. There is yoga dance book club athletic club there are different kinds of culture groups. I guess it depends on what you like. i also have seen situations where if it's not offered the staff are always willing to consider.

    Food and Dining

    If you attend this school you have to try the BL T'S. The staff is amazing. The work area is always clean and sanitized. The food is always freshly cooked to your liking. The cafeteria s always cleaned with the most amazing view and comfortable setting.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I attended this school thinking that I was alone. I was all wrong I have now been here since 2010 pursuing my career. There are so many options. The students are more than willing to help. They offer help around the clock. They help keep you motivated when you think that you can't. There are over a dozen of support groups if you don't understand. They have child care,flexible schedule's..etc

    In three sentences

    This school is life changing. This school is motivational. This school has a a variety of ways to succeed.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police always watch everywhere they can and walk around the school as much as possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Halloween there is a party held for children and its very fun to help out.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, field trips, and the time from time get together.

    Food and Dining

    Its kind of cheap and well, what you get is what you pay for.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms around but a lot of apartment buildings, who gives low rents to students who attend here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors challenge you, others will be a breeze because they teacher easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look up your professors. Talk to your advisers. Online courses are 20% teacher and 80% you.

    In three sentences

    It is a great and easy pace college for those who are too scared to go too far from home. There is a ton to do around here; clubs, activities, and classes. Also, join Trio!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both campuses are kept completely safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Always look for clubs and activities you are interested in and get involved. It is an incredibly rewarding experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. This school offers a diverse community and will meet the needs of any student.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education and not very expensive. It also helps you build up a good academic record to get transfer scholarships if you plan to continue your education.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and student activities. It's a great way to meet people and you will learn more about yourself in the process.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses can be challenging, but if you do the work and work with your teacher when you have difficulties you can always succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, enjoy yourself, try new things, and get involved! If you do these things you will learn a lot about yourself and get an excellent head start in your education.

    In three sentences

    NSCC was very important to me. This school is where I discovered my passion for learning and the environment. Because of NSCC I know what my dreams are and I am still following them.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is homey and the people working have great attitudes

    Academic Rigor

    Good pace for all levels

    In three sentences

    A great school for someone that has been out for some time. The teachers are easy to talk to and are very reassuring. The school makes you feel at ease when you walk through the doors.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There is value here, compared to other CC is in there area

    What to do for fun

    read

    Food and Dining

    Adequate small food area

    Dorm Life

    live at home

    Academic Rigor

    It can be tough if you are taking 4-5 courses, but its not bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

    In three sentences

    Great school and staff, I cant believe how much they help and care about people. All my teachers have doctorates, they are the best, believe me. I hope to help the school someday.