Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northampton County Area Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to a great college, that isn't too expensive, and earn your degree in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone in the school is very friendly. Don't be afraid to approach anyone about anything.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest schools around. It is after all a community college which is traditionally cheaper.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here and I actually hate when the semester ends. I wish I could go year round.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are great. The work is challenging but I do not feel overworked. I feel that the work really relates to my major as well.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though people look down upon community colleges, they're actually nicer than they seem. Just like going to a typical college.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously cheaper because its a community college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Teachers who enjoy teaching and are always around before and after class to help.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers have interesting stories and bits of information to make the lessons more enjoyable.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    get involved! northampton has something for everyone; ski club, business club, marketing club, outdoors club just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    self-motivated passionate hard working focused

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    northampton has a program called first impressions that gives students free business attire to have for interviews.

    Bang for the buck

    i pay a quarter of what other freshmen/sophomores are shelling out to big universities, and i am taking all of the same classes. also, northampton has a great transfer advising department, and agreements with many surrounding schools.

    What to do for fun

    the gym is nicely equipped with top of the line equipment, and there are a few basketball and tennis courts around campus. also, there are 2 student lounges where people tend to congregate. south-side bethlehem has a pretty nice bar scene, and the casino is always a good time.

    Food and Dining

    northampton's cafeteria food is halfway decent for the most part, but the northampton winds restaurant is amazing. the culinary students prepare 4 and 5 course meals under supervision of the head chefs in the program.

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know i commute, but i hear good things about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i attended bloomsburg before transferring to northampton, and the classes are much more difficult here. like i said before, teachers engage you so that usually translates to more coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    find something that you are passionate about and run with it. there are programs at northampton for every type of student, and they offer a variety of non-credit programs as well.

    In three sentences

    northampton community college is a place where learning is encouraged. professors don't sit in the front of class and read off of power-points, they engage students and change the learning process. also, class sizes are small (usually under 40) so you are more than just a number to teachers, they actually know your name.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    this school has clubs for everything! and if there isn't one that you would like to join, but you have one in mind it is simple to start your own. and the activities they do in the school are really fun and goofy.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs that get involved inside and outside the school.

    Food and Dining

    love their food!

    Dorm Life

    i do not dorm, but my friends that do dorm told me they enjoy it a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes you are taking at once it could be very difficult to understand all of them, but if you use the resources given to better your learning ability then anyone could do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    use all the resources given.

    In three sentences

    a great school that offers many opportunities to all of its students. the staff shows a lot of support to all of the students. they also offer many different ways to help students that are having trouble in classes and wish to receive help in order to get better grades.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for young and adult students. Offers online courses in almost every subject. This is a great college to go to, to save money but still have an opportunity to transfer to a traditional four year college. (Make sure if you plan to transfer, you know what courses the school your transferring to accepts for the degree you want)

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what degree you would like to earn and remember it may take you longer if you want to get into a selective admissions program such as any allied health programs: Nursing, etc. You will have to complete the general core courses first. Second, don't put off starting classes!! The sooner you start the sooner you'll earn that degree. So go for it. Go see an adviser today!

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the degrees you can earn. They also have a great financial aid program.

    Am enjoying being here

    They're younger students mixed with older students, depending when you attend classes you will see a higher ratio of younger student during daytime and older students attending night classes because they work.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great and want you to be successful.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'd say NCC is a great school for any type of student. There is a huge variety of people there, who study in every major you can imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to not slack off. Just because it's community college doesn't mean you don't have to work as hard. But remember to have fun and not get too stressed either.

    Bang for the buck

    It is absolutely one of the best ways to do your first year or two of college. It is extremely affordable and pretty much all of your credits transfer to other universities or colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it for the most part. However, I live at home and commute, so some part of it feels a bit like high school with more work. There is a lot more freedom though and the diversity of the student body is great.

    Am learning a lot

    It is one of the highest rated community colleges in Pennsylvania, and has a ton of well-educated professors. I am learning a lot both academically and about college life in general.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants a solid education and to save a little bit of money is the right student for this college! College is expensive but this school offers an affordable price for the first two years so that students do not have to spend more than required! Students can actually graduate from their four-year school with half the debt than those who went all four years at a private or state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take NCC's programs seriously and invest your time into what it has to offer! Be open and willing to try everything! NCC is a great place to meet friends that we can transfer with! Also, do the work you have to do. It can be hard and demanding or very easy- depending on your strengths, but do your best academically! If you build a solid relationship with your professors, they can help you with recommendations.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is absolutely worth every penny! NCC is rated in the top 50 community colleges in the continental U.S.! It is the only community college from Pennsylvania to reach this acknowledgment! This school aligns its programs to other universities so that students who graduate and transfer enter as juniors instead of starting over! This makes transferring much easier and it saves money! Credits can be so annoying to transfer but many four year schools accept NCC's credits! This saves so much money!

    Am enjoying being here

    NCC offers a diverse set of classes for every student. Some of the classses require community involvement adn this is a great idea! This helps students build up resumes, build connections, and plan for a future life. It allows students to dabble in different vocations and community service projects so that students know what they would like to pursue after leaving NCC. Also, NCC offers a great amount of extracurricular activities including the fine arts to a surplus amount of clubs! Students can experience a four year college with a two year price!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is fantastic! I love my classes and my professors! I have/had professors from Lehigh University, Kutztown U, NYU, Temple, Moravian, and others! We get the same intelligent professors from these four year schools with the better price! The professors are challenging but they expect success and are willing to work with students.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student that is willing to try!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your heads up. Northampton is a great community college that will help you get on the right track to starting a career. It's okay to not know what you want to do, your advisers will help you decide and schedule classes that would work best for you in your field.

    Bang for the buck

    College isn't cheap– but with Northampton's payment plans and lower tuition, I feel more proud than burdened to be a college student.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it. It's not too far from home and so far, my schedules have been manageable.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Communication Design Major and I feel without Northampton Community College, I would not be as prepared to continue to start at a four-year University when finished here. I've learned a lot about design, fine arts, and writing.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All. Really. All of the professors I had were very friendly and made learning fun. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all the events you can! There are so many plays, special guests, movie showings, and cultural activities! It's something you shouldn't miss out on!

    Bang for the buck

    This one of the cheapest colleges I've seen! Since it's technically a community college, the costs stay pretty low. But there are so many students, it could easily become a full blown university. The payment plans are really easy to work with as well!

    Did enjoy being here

    It was a great experience. It's just a great learning environment.

    Did learn a lot

    The English department at this school is fantastic. They're very down to earth and are really passionate about teaching. I really learned a lot from them and was not bored for a second! I'm still friends with my adviser after leaving the school!

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students not quite ready to leave home, those looking for a jump start into college, students coming back to school after a long period of time.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay for my own tuition, compared to some other schools, not a bad price!

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like this was the best transition from high school to college, great learning environment and helpful professors.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive. I don't mind the work, but I can't stand most of the teachers.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to stand out or else a teacher may decide to bully you.

    In three sentences

    It is overall a decent school. The teachers generally don't care about you though, and there are even a few who are antagonistic. I can't wait to be done here.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    File all of your papers in time!

    In three sentences

    Best financial choice to further academic knowledge. Huge campus, filled with opportunities for an lifetime experience! One of the best community colleges in Pennsylvania.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch! Safety is their main concern. Cameras around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Limited availability.

    Clubs and Activities

    Available in many varieties.

    Great for these types of students

    Come one, come all! Young and old are equals!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the bricks on the sidewalks are in remembrance of people who have passed away.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to say that being a middle aged student that I feel welcomed. The diversity of students there is quite impressing! Tuition for classes are reasonable, manageable, and can also be put on a payment plan.

    What to do for fun

    There are things going on all of the time. Papers are posted around campus and in emails.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria sells a variety of different food both hot and cold. Prices are quite reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Available but limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent curriculum!

    Tips for prospective students

    Help is available to any question. Everyone is knowledgeable and teachers are down-to-earth. Administration is there for your every need.

    In three sentences

    Northampton County Area Community College offers flexible classes both on campus and off. The staff puts the E in excellence! They are with you every step of the way!

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well-lit and open. Security guards monitor the campus frequently and will walk you to your car if you ask them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students. Whether you are a first time student or you are returning later in life the staff will work with you and help you figure out exactly what you want or what you need.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a solid education at a community college price. You really learn a lot from the classes. The professors work with you to make sure you are learning and getting a good experience.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is beautiful. You can walk around the campus and take in the beauty. The library is a great place to sneak away to for some relaxation. There is also a beautiful gym that is available for the students.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria and amazing food. They also have rather healthy food and it is reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but you walk away and you know the material. I have had very good professors. They have been very nice and very willing to help out the students. They take the time to explain things to you if you are having a hard time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great starter school. The tuition is reasonable. The staff is willing to work with you. The professors are great. The classes are very flexible. There are many online courses as well as evening ones.

    In three sentences

    Easy to navigate around campus. Highly educated professors. Very helpful staff ready to answer your questions.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe area, safe school!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many active clubs and activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a community college!

    What to do for fun

    Many active school clubs, sports, and activities!

    Food and Dining

    Food its alright. Many choices, prices are fair!

    Dorm Life

    Only community college in PA that houses students!

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous in its academic!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, play hard!

    In three sentences

    Northampton Community College is great Community college. Its academic quality excels in community colleges. Fun, active, a great learning experience!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After my tour, I felt that there is a level of security that keeps all students safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure if this community college has this. But, I may join in my 3rd or 4th year (when I transfer)

    Clubs and Activities

    On my tour we were informed of many, I say many different types of clubs and activities that are available on campus. We are encouraged to get to know a get involved in our Community College Life. And, that's what I am planning to do!

    Great for these types of students

    Attenting a Community College is great for everyone, but especially for the ones with a limited income, single parents, or some who want to save some money and still get a great start to their 4 year degree!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not familiar with any yet. I guess I have to wait and see as I become more familiar with my new school environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is a great Bang for the BucK!

    What to do for fun

    There are many close by places to visit within walking distance. There is also mass transit system.

    Food and Dining

    I really have not had a chance to experience this area. From my tour, it seemed that there a various choices to students.

    Dorm Life

    I appied for a R.A in the Dorms. I missed the deadline! I will be reapplying next semester. I took the dorm tour when visiting the college and had a chance to speak to one of the R.A's, She said it was work, but having your room paid for; was all worth the hard work that came with being a R.A.

    Academic Rigor

    I won't know until I start classes. But, from what I have heard from other students....pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a 4 year degree (as I am). Starting at a reputable community college is a great start to that, and save money all at the same time.

    In three sentences

    I have not started classes yet. I will be starting this August 2012. I am a Freshman, and very excited about attending a college that is affordable and close to my mom!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i hope i love the food on campus. i love to eat my culture food. im looking forward to the food and dining

    Dorm Life

    my dorm life will be the same as living home. I'm so happy to be going on campus. i cant wait to meet my roommate

    Academic Rigor

    nutrition, french 2, anatomy/physiology, theology, ELA 4

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor Society

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent professors.

    What to do for fun

    Small clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Only Snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Mildly tough and competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take advantage of a two year college.

    In three sentences

    This community college is very comfortable. This community college is laid back. This community college is well respected.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on the campus. All of the classes rooms are equipped with a very news touch activated alarm system which if activated alerts campus security. There is a very strong presence of the campus security throughout the parking lots and buildings.

    Greek Life

    very limited

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a constant array of free events for students that are not in clubs, and there are more clubs than you can count. The school really puts forth an effort to bring the student body together and tries to help the students experience new things.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that are just looking to find what they want to do, or those that are sure of what they want to do. A great school for any student of any age and of any walk of life.

    Bang for the buck

    A student can get the full college experience at this school. The free resources offered real show were your money is going.

    What to do for fun

    many clubs are offered to the student body

    Food and Dining

    The school has a well staffed dining facility that has a wide and forever changing menu, it is very clean and fairly priced.

    Dorm Life

    not staying in a dorm, put have been told that they are nice

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging classes that evoke thought.

    Tips for prospective students

    file FASFA early, pre-order books, take advantage of all the resources presented to you

    In three sentences

    A great school to start or finish your education. Offers many programs whether you plan to transfer or finish. A large amount of free resources.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Affordable, yet excellent education. Friendly school environment, great food, excellent variety of clubs, endless opportunities for students.

    What to do for fun

    There is an incredible amount of student activities. From community service, to presentations in the community room, club activities, talent shows, music, shows, special guest performers, and more!

    Food and Dining

    Food is SUPERB! Great quality, taste, selection, and healthy-choice options for students. The prices of food are also reasonable! I am highly impressed by our school's food and I would recommend it to anyone. Service is consistently fast, friendly, and wonderful!

    Dorm Life

    I do not have any experience with the dorms of our school. I have seen the dorms and they are very modern looking, safe, and clean. Our main campus is beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    The school programs and classes definitely feel intense, but are manageable. The professors take the time to help students understand the lessons and encourage us to ask questions. There is a good amount of homework and writing assignments, tests are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for the school and classes. Join clubs and find out about community service opportunities which shape you as a person and look great on your resume. Don't buy all your books new, rent or buy older copies to save money!

    In three sentences

    Quality faculty that seem very friendly, knowledgeable, and motivated. I think the school campus is beautiful, very clean, and well built. Students see our school like a second home as it is highly student/community-friendly.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The fitness center is fairly new and free for students

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive in time to park and get to class.

    In three sentences

    Northampton is a strong community college with teachers that truly care and is widely accepted to numerous 4-year institutions. I have attended as a traditional and non-traditional student and the flexibility and array of day, night, and online courses make it easy to fit into any schedule. The biggest complaint about NACC is tight parking, which tells you how great a school it is if there are that many students enrolled

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    No matter what ou can't get bored you wil have a goo deal of studying and there is tons of private places you can go without being interrupted. in between classes depending how long you have the gym to go to or even meet teachers if it's during their meeting time the library has mostly everything you need

    What to do for fun

    lubs, festivals, events, sports games

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention to everything the professors have to ay. Get your work done in a timely fashion or you will be left behind.

    In three sentences

    a relaxing environment all the teachers and staff are willing to help no matter what. so many activities and clubs to join ranging from every topic possible.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Secure Campus with 24/7 Security

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs and various activities. The biggest Club is International Students Organization which performs many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who cant afford expensive colleges and those who are looking to continue their education after long time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing is unusual on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Work & Study hours. Financial Aid.

    What to do for fun

    Join Cubs and enjoy the campus life. They organize many activities such as Trips, Events, etc

    Food and Dining

    Poor Food Quality. Mostly Junk Food.

    Dorm Life

    Safe and Sound Place to live. Nice Location. Strict in following Rules like No Smoking, No alcohol etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Nice and helpful Faculties. Knowledgeable and actively helpful if you are in need. Good and Concise Course material. Fair Exams and Grades. No Cheating.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the good place if you are looking for good academics and leadership skills.

    In three sentences

    The Campus and the Faculties are very good. Study and Exams i find easy. But not good Food available in cafeteria. Difficulty : 4/10

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price per credit is very cost friendly and this makes getting an education with Northampton community college easier

    What to do for fun

    In my spare time I go the the fitness center, where there are tons of weights and exercise machines. I also spend a lot of time in the computer lab

    Food and Dining

    There are several eating spots on campus. There a main cafeteria for the students, several snack stops and a restaurant that is run by the students

    Dorm Life

    They have a couple dorms and all are located adjacent to center of campus. This helps for those days when you are running late to class

    Academic Rigor

    With the small class sizes, even most of the tough classes can appear to be easier. They have a learning center on campus that is open most of the day to answer questions on many different subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to meet with your guidance counselor. Explore opportunities the school has to offer you and let your counselor know your career goals.

    In three sentences

    Northampton community college is a small college. They have small class sizes for teachers to have more direct teachings with their students. There are also lots of activities to do on the campus

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A bunch of clubs. Thats it. Not much but alot of options.

    Food and Dining

    Good food. Not that good for the price. Very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus. However i did see inside the apartments, it is very nice. Simple, but nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging school. Just because it is a Community College doesn't mean the school isn't great. It is very challenging,

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest not taking Dr. Gina Turner she is unfair. She is also very tough and unreasonable. Northampton is also very nice inside and out.

    In three sentences

    Northampton Community College is very challenging. It is a great school. Northampton is cheap, and makes it affordable or anyone to go to this fabulous school.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They serve pretty much the same food all the time and it is very pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms so I have no idea.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only go here if there is a major that your really interested in if not you will be bored.

    In three sentences

    By attending this school I feel like I never left high school, and I hated high school. The teachers are all nice and helpful. The school itself feels like your inside a prision the whole day a lot of the class rooms do not have windows.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Right next to Linden Street which has tons to offer!

    Dorm Life

    A community college with a residence hall? What? Yes, one of the great perks of going to Northampton!

    In three sentences

    Great campus. Great professors. Great SCHOOL!

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Same college courses and experiences for 10x less. What more could you ask for?

    Food and Dining

    Yumm...

    Dorm Life

    They have great dorms! whoo!

    Academic Rigor

    Don't underestimate this school.

    In three sentences

    Initially I didn't want to go because I wanted the campus experience. But once I visited I realized that they do have that available for students. I can't wait.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe Facility, never have i felt the need to worry about something happening.

    Great for these types of students

    NCC is great for all students, whether you are coming back to pursue another career, know the career you want to pursue, and especially those undecided on a major. they have so many options and your adviser will be more than willing to help you find a good fit.

    Bang for the buck

    With the price of education today, you can;t beat the education you get for the price per course.

    What to do for fun

    The students always have something going on, whether it be a dance or some sort of tournament. There is a gym or you can just hangout with friends in the lounge or student life zone.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is well priced and the food is always good. Never had an issue with anything i ordered and the variety is always a good change.

    Dorm Life

    Can't help here, since i do not stay in the dorms, But never heard complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be a bit demanding but if you keep up on the classwork and any homework you are given then you should have no problem what so ever. If for some reason you do, talk to you professor and they are always more than happy to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending NCC, just maintain a good work ethic towards schoolwork and do your homework on the classes and professors your will be having. make sure you are prepared for class and the classes will not be an issue.

    In three sentences

    Northampton Community College possesses a great relaxed school environment. The professors are great, always willing to help and are extremely knowledgeable on the subjects they teach. It's a great fit for anyone, whether you know what you want to pursue as a career or whether you are still undecided, NCC is a great place to get a good education without he cost of a university.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. However we do get emails occasionally about events that happened on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I qualify for financial aid and they gave me more than enough to complete the year.

    Food and Dining

    Try the grilled cheese.

    Dorm Life

    There are not many dorms, if you were looking to live on campus and live in county forget about it.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor depends on the classes you choose to take. Some will be easier than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great two year school to get your general credits out of the way. Get involved in clubs and do not be afraid to use the library.

    In three sentences

    I rate NACC a 7 out of ten. The classes are interesting and many of the professors work with you. The school lost three points because they do not have many full time majors, such as psychology.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is none.

    Food and Dining

    Dining could be better but then again it is a school, and its really down to the chosen food supplier.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot really say much about the dorms because i was not accepted for the dorm life they have, but, seeing it looks very nice ,organized, and safe

    Academic Rigor

    All teachers are very willing to set up appointments to talk with questioning students

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to take your time, don't stress out about your classes or meeting new people because everything will fall into place just the intended.

    In three sentences

    I really love the sense of freedom I have at this school. It's really helped me grow as a person. This past year has helped me realize exactly what I can do.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Typically see students lounging and hanging out around campus. There are also events held here sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    Do not dine hear myself, but I have not heard any bad news about it.

    Dorm Life

    Did not dorm myself, but I hear it is not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Typically good academically. Assignments are difficult but also reasonable at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not underestimate the schoolwork you will be receiving. Work hard and stay focused during the years you spend at Northampton.

    In three sentences

    Very good academically. Better campus than expected. Very good school to start off at.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is high.

    Greek Life

    Strong greek like on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options for clubs and activities, I wouldn't even be able to mention them all. If there wasn't a club that you were looking for, you can easily suggest it and have it created.

    Great for these types of students

    All types that want to save money and get the real college feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The community college experience that you get on NCC is the same as you get on a real college campus, so I would suggest going here as opposed to going to a regular campus for thousands more.

    Bang for the buck

    The school tuition has gone up, but comparatively the cost is DEFINITELY worth the community college atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    In the area there is plenty to do, and the school always has fun activities held.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is delicious. They have both veggie meals and many alternative options, along with delicious meat filled meals.

    Dorm Life

    I have not had personal experience with the dorm life at NCC, but I've heard that it is amazing. It is the only community college on the East Coast that offers dorms, so this is a big plus for many.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic options are quite expansive, and no matter what your interests, NCC is right for a variety of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering going to NCC, I would definitely suggest speaking with an advisor or the counseling staff, they are very helpful and attentive. If you know what you want to do, good for you. Still, speak with the staff to make sure you're taking the proper classes and are lined up for the right transfer.

    In three sentences

    I like northampton community college because the school really puts the students first. Teachers are always ready to help students, and there is a great volunteer base active at the school. Finally, the cost is quite low, and the options for education are vast.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paperwork in on time, don't discount this school just because it's a community college, and work hard!

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The teachers are so nice and really helpful. I did so much better here than I did at my last school because of the teachers and the quality of education.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable tuition and great way to start your degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are may clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is quick and cheap, not any healthy options.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it depends on what type of student you are and your dedication to your studies. It is college after all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions. If you are unsure ASK.

    In three sentences

    It is a great stepping stone toward your four year degree. The low student/teacher ratio is ideal for students of all ages. All teachers and staff want you to succeed and will help you in any way.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 60 clubs, there is at least one club that a person would be interested in. If you don't like any of the clubs you can start your own club. There are also over 5 sports for women and men to compete in.

    What to do for fun

    They host many events throughout each month. In the first month Quad fest is basically a big party with a live dj, prizes and free food.

    Food and Dining

    Many food choices, even for vegetarians and vegans, and they are really tasty.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to the dorms early, because they fill quickly.

    In three sentences

    Northampton is a very friendly school, they are very helpful in tutoring and just about anything. Most teachers a very personable with their students. They also have a good variety of food choices.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very good and cheap community college. Definitely a good place to start if you're short on money.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost everything, and if there isn't a club for what you're looking for, they are always open to letting students start new clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for a very reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some activity going on, whether it is zumba in the life zone, to board game day. There are TONS of clubs and organizations to join. The college is always buzzing with things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is kind of expensive, but so worth the price. You get a lot and there is a wide variety of choice and the quality is great.

    Dorm Life

    I commute. I don't know what the dorms are like.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but sometimes not challenging enough.

    In three sentences

    Northampton Community College is a great school because they have a wide variety of classes. They also provide a lot of extracurricular activities. They community is strong and everyone, students and professors, are welcoming and friendly.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had to deal with campus safety, so I couldn't comment.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is any Greek life offered at this campus, so here again I cannot speak of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was not involved in any clubs at this university, so I cannot speak of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to a University, the price is definitely on point for the education they offer. Obviously, you cannot attain a bachelor's degree here, so you must transfer out if that's your goal (as was mine), but for any 2 year program I would definitely recommend NCC.

    What to do for fun

    They offer sports, but I never got involved in them. I was always working out in the gym or studying.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria provided descent food, as I would grab lunch after lab sometimes. Nothing spectacular, but some food was tasty nonetheless.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak to the Dorm Life, as I lived at home with my parents while attending.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses were a walk in the park, but it all depends on what you're studying. Obviously my biology-related courses were much more rigorous than my sociology and English courses for instance. If you're willing to learn and put in the work, the academic rigor should not hinder anyone from taking courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn, and have a great time while learning whatever you have come to learn. NCC offers a great relaxed vibe to their campus, but don't let that hinder you from your studies - some classes are very tough!

    In three sentences

    Northampton Community College provides a great learning environment for people of many differing academic majors. The professors I had were very knowledgeable and offered assistance whenever I needed them (as I was a pre-med major having difficult courses such as Organic Chemistry 1 and 2 - I often needed assistance outside of the classroom and Dr. Gelormo was always very accommodating and helpful). Their big campus has much to offer a variety of studies, as different buildings are practically built for their prospective majors.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always around and easy to find

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish club

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is cheap, so I would guess you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, hopefully they do something fun, there is not much on campus.

    Food and Dining

    not a lot of space but food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Very limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Average depends on the class. The science classes are hard and the rest are easy to moderate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Makes sure you take classes that your credits will transfer. Talk to your instructors, otherwise they will not recognize you and mark you absent and then you are on your own when they withdraw you.

    In three sentences

    Northampton is a good starting college, it is a good school for transitioning from high school to college. This college does not provide a 'college' experience like other colleges, this one is very independent and you have to run in circles to get information. Since all the professor teach at different colleges also, it is very hard to have the same experience from class to class on how they operate; there is not a standard way.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often see campus security driving around the parking lots and I also see security guards walking around the school so I would say the campus is well secured.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities available for students. There are signs and flyers hanging up all over the school to inform students of the many clubs and activities the school offers.

    Great for these types of students

    I'd say NCC is a great school for any student. It's in an area of all ages and is made for anybody. There are actually many middle aged people that attend this college. There is a wide variety of students by age and location.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Northampton Community College is a very affordable college with how excellent the programs and majors are. Ranked very high for a community college and would recommend this school to anyone who is starting out and is looking for a cheaper college to go to.

    What to do for fun

    NCC offers a huge variety of clubs and activities and there is always something going on in the Student Life Zone for students to take a break from school work and hang out with other fellow students! Not many places to go out to close to campus. Mostly food stores, convenient stores, and places to eat. Bowling alley about ten minutes away. You have to drive a little further for a mall and other places to shop.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I think the food is very good! The pizza is awesome and they have a very large variety of food to choose from. It can be a bit expensive but it's very good.

    Dorm Life

    I am from the area so I don't stay in the dorms but from what I hear from students they are pretty nice. Nothing too fancy and most of the people you meet in the dorms are easy going.

    Academic Rigor

    Make time to study and focus on your classes. NCC expects hard work and dedication from their students. Most professors are easy going and laid back so they do not require as much study time as others but you are most likely going to come across a very difficult time consuming class. Overall the classes are average in difficulty but definitely take time out to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in a health science major and need classes such as chemistry or anatomy, you need to focus and study hard. NCC offers fantastic science courses with great professors who know their stuff. Although many students find them more difficult than most other science courses at other colleges, it's worth the many hours of studying and note taking and will be of much help in your future career/plans. Besides that I think NCC is affordable for most students and it is an excellent college to start out at.

    In three sentences

    Northampton Community College is an excellent school with many programs and majors to offer. This school has very well educated professors and offer free tutoring with some of the best tutors I've ever met, especially in the science departments. Although it is a little more expensive than most other community colleges, it is worth going here to get an excellent affordable education.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is a quadfest it is where you can see what clubs the school has to offer and just have a great time with friends and even meet other people.

    What to do for fun

    It is a community college which has parties once in awhile but there are other things to do around the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every class and ask questions

    In three sentences

    I would have to say the Northampton is a great school and the staff is always willing to help you in any way they can.