Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeast Alabama Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent safety

    Greek Life

    not a lot of greek life

    Great for these types of students

    anyone thats on a budet

    What to do for fun

    play cards in student center

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    give it your best it goes by faster than you think good luck

    In three sentences

    NACC is a great starter school. I wished they had more scholarships. NACC has a great theater department.

  • 08/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who live within 50 miles and can't afford big school tuition!

    Bang for the buck

    Technology is very up-to-date, especially for a rural community college!

    Am enjoying being here

    Nice campus.

  • 03/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Did enjoy being here

    I mostly enjoyed my experience at Northeast AL Community College until I signed up for graduation which is still a nightmare! I finished my last semester at this school in the Fall of 2009 and I did everything I was required to do to be able to graduate. I should have gotten my diploma no later than spring of 2010. It is now March 2011 and I still don't have my diploma. I have contacted the people over that area several times and they continue to put me off. My account didn't even get updated to show I had completed a program until August 2010, 8 months after I graduated. Good thing I had not sent my transcript to any potential employers! Needless to say I am extremely frustrated over the whole ordeal. I think this is something worth considering when choosing a school because after dealing with all the stress you have to go through to complete the classes you should not have to stress over getting the diploma you have earned and paid for. Other than this the rest of my experience was fairly good. All of my teachers were very nice.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Playing rook and reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take online classes unless you are prepared to accept the responsibility and are able to teach yourself. Never procrastinate, it will never end well. Finally, always make the effort to connect with your teachers they make much better liaisons than they do enemies.

    In three sentences

    I rate Northeast Alabama Community college a 8 out of 10. I enrolled at Northeast in Fall 2011 and I have to say that my experience there has been very pleasant. I've enjoyed having the option to take my classes online and though the software is shaky at times, it's overall a very easy going process.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have weights in the gym, the gym is always open, there's a walking path, and the coffee cafe. other than that there really isn't anything here.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good actually. not many choices with food, but coffee is really big here and they have soooooo many flavors.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    if you are intelligent and expect to be challenged then this is not the school for you. i think the assignments are at high school level- as well as the teaching.

    In three sentences

    not all the teachers have doctorates or kept up-to-date with what they are teaching. it is a high school environment. if you are from this area you may think that the classes are hard, but if you come from an area where education requirements are set at a higher level than this will be a cakewalk. this school really makes me think of a small town high school.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards on campus at all times!

    Greek Life

    pretty abundant.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs and activities to be involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    all of them! you will still be going to school with all the kids you went to high school with!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none i can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    if you are unsure about your future, start here! the costs are far less!

    What to do for fun

    about 20 minutes from campus, either way, there are lots of restaurants, shops, etc....

    Food and Dining

    there is a great little burger joint across the street!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at northeast.

    Academic Rigor

    it is challenging but on a more one-on-one basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for any and all scholarships. go to the campus before starting classes so that you will know where you are going!

    In three sentences

    this is a great place to start your college education. teachers genuinely care about the students. the costs are far less than starting at a graduate college.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NACC has a great campus police staff. They are usually patrolling the campus almost all the time.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Mu Alpha Theta, Phi Theta Kappa, Sigma Kappa Delta, SGA

    Great for these types of students

    Students from Jackson and DeKalb Counties usually attend. I have even seen someone from Tennessee attend NACC.

    Bang for the buck

    NACC has a reasonable tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    NACC offers Phi Theta Kappa, Mu Alpha Theta, Sigma Kappa Delta, SGA, yearbook, and other clubs to join,. But the college is in a small town, so there is not much to do off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at NACC.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are fairly easy especially if you do what you are told to do. (going to class, taking notes, studying)

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes are mainly easy. Getting active in clubs the college has to offer was a wonderful choice I made. It made my last year at NACC so much better than I expected.

    In three sentences

    It's a great starter college. The teachers work with the students so much to help the students understand concepts. NACC has a great tutoring program to also help students as well.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing. Best nursing program.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and close to my home in Rainsville! Great teachers, campus, and friendly people.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies with each teacher. Friends have given me tips on which teachers I should and shouldn't take.

    In three sentences

    I've heard from many that Northeast is a great school. I've been to the campus on several occassions and it looks nice. Also, many have told me that the Nursing program is the best around!

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome campus police presence. Always willing to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join as well as basketball team for the average joe.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nice walking trail that allows nice quiet time.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges, I feel like Northeast gives me more than I pay for. Great instructors and a nice campus that is always ready to help.

    What to do for fun

    Northeast offers many plays in the state of the art theater.

    Food and Dining

    Northeast has a top notched lunchroom and coffee stand.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    This being my first semester after being out of school for 20 years, I was afraid college would be too hard. Many free tutors are available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all scholarships available. Contact an advisor as soon as you can. They offer lots of info and opinions concerning your selected major.

    In three sentences

    Best decision I made was to enroll in Northeast Alabama Community college. Class sizes are small with more one on one with each instructor. Very nice college that is growing leaps and bounds!

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe here once.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Outdoorsy events mostly.

    Great for these types of students

    Low income, tech students, and basic studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New here, don't know a whole lot about the place.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent school for the money, wouldn't want to be anywhere else right now.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of areas around Northeast Al CC, most of it is outdoorsy though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult but I've learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start college as soon as possible. Do NOT get into debt, 18-22 years old is to young to have that on your shoulders. Study for the COMPASS test.

    In three sentences

    A very quite peaceful campus. All the employees are very nice and helpful. You really can tell that they care about your education, as well as your future.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food was good.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms

    In three sentences

    Nice school for just out of high school students who can't afford a hefty tuition. Not a very good school for the average working adult. The majority of the online teachers have some sort of in class tests and only give evening times to take the test. The ones I've had were not willing to reschedule, even due to work. I don't feel like this school accommodates working adults. It caters more to students just out of high school who don't have full time jobs and families. It's disappointing and discouraging when teachers will not work with a person simply because they have work and life matters.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Playing Rook in the student center is always fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try your hardest to complete your work, and don't be afraid to ask your teachers for help. They are willing to help if you need it. Also, always come to class because missing even one day can put you behind. If there is an emergency and you can't make it, let your teacher know and they will give you the work you need or extend the deadline.

    In three sentences

    Northeast is a great two-year school that helps you prepare for a four-year school if you plan to transfer. The professors are very helpful and respectful of all students. The class sizes are great, too, there aren't too many students or too few in each class.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is like their number one thing. They have officers that will escort you to class all times of the day and will watch over your belongings.

    What to do for fun

    Most of my time spent here is strictly on classes, but in the dinning area I have found the music that people perform is the most fun. We always have a tennis court and a fishing team..

    Food and Dining

    We have a coffee shop and cafeteria they are both great.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect of NACC is wonderful with great understand teachers. There is always a tutor session on campus to help you with anything you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take classes that you don't need stick to your major. Always take your primary classes in the fall you are less likely to fail and more motivated than in the spring.

    In three sentences

    Northeast Alabama Community College is a good starting college for all ages. The school has classes that transfer easy to about any school and great advisors to help you get on the road to success. The college is beautiful is a 9 in my book.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with a cop always on duty.

    Greek Life

    Since it is a community college there are no soriorities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join mu alpha theta, sigma kappa delta, or phi theta cappa. There is also an art club called Spectrum, a democratic club, and a few others.

    Great for these types of students

    NACC is ideal for new students or for those returning to education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes the school mascot, a horse, is running around campus and you can meet it! Yes, a REAL horse.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is BY FAR the best for school, especially since they work with every student to help them get aid.

    What to do for fun

    Being a small town, there really isn't alot to do around the school. However, NACC often holds student events and competitions and there's a never ending supply of rook partners!

    Food and Dining

    The food is EXCELLENT and very reasonably priced. Also, the little coffee shop in the student center makes the BEST coffee! Better then starbucks!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is currently unavailable at NACC.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the academics are good, but as with every school there are some teachers who are much harder than others- such as Mr. Millican for mathematics and Dr. Leles with physics.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students seeking to attend need to reach out for scholarships there. All cover tuition and there is something for everyone- such as academic, presidential host, music, art, scholars bowl, theatre, etc. Also, find an advisor you love and you'll be much more motivated to listen to their advice.

    In three sentences

    Northeast Alabama Community College is a wonderful college and a fantastic opportunity for new or returning students with the ease of admission, multitude of financial aid, and the great attitudes of teachers and staff all willing to help. The buildings are maintained well and kept clean, and a new science and engineering building is currently being constructed with anticipation of opening in the Summer. NACC is a great starter school, and with all of the additions and the good quality of education it would surprise me if it doesn't become a four year school eventually.