Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeast Mississippi Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know how to balance your social life with your school work. You'll never know how important it is until you're thrown out into the real working world without an education.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, you can't beat the one on one you get from the instructors and the quality education you're bound to leave with.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved being at Northeast. It was a small enough campus that I saw people I knew everyday. Also, being in a small town, it was easy to meet new people as well.

    Did learn a lot

    College life is definitely an experience for a fresh out of high school student. It is easy to get caught up in the hustle and constant flow of activities. As long as you know how to balance your college experience with your more important school work, you will learn all kinds of things - about yourself as well as academically.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are just coming out of college or not sure what you are wanting to go in, or even if you do know what you want to go in but don't know the courses you need to take then this is the place to go. There are plenty of friendly advisers that will do their best to help you find out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to your teachers and don't mess around. This isn't high school. If you want to get by here you have to be serious about your work. Otherwise you'll end up dropping or getting dropped.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh yes, you will definitely get your money's worth here. The only way its wasted is if you don't go to the classes or don't cancel the ones your in if you don't go to them.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the personnel are really nice. They don't pass you bye like your not even their and they are always willing to help. Some girls in my dorm decided to play a prank on me in my dorm and the campus police actually looked into it and even came to me with their results instead of making me go find them. Everyone here takes their jobs seriously.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers are really good. They know their material and want to teach their students. They don't site at their desks the whole time and tell stories, nor do they just put stuff on the board or your desk and expect you to know the material.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are even up all night!

    Clubs and Activities

    any you can think of even rotc

    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive to me, but what school isn't?

    What to do for fun

    play softball and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    i don't really like the cafeteria food but i'm a picky eater.

    Dorm Life

    i like my roommate. but it can get loud at times.

    Academic Rigor

    good schooling opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to study hard and you can do anything.

    In three sentences

    northeast mississippi community college is a nice college with good people and a good teaching staff. the school here is perfect for me and i believe it's and 8 out of 10.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If there was one thing you would change about the school / campus what would it be?

    Will learn a lot

    How is the Teacher to Student ratio?

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there seem to be plenty of security on campus day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    the college seems to always have something going on from superbowl nite to nice dress up dances.

    Great for these types of students

    i think this college would be great for anyone not ready for a large university type campus. while looking around can be a little intimidating, that feeling is only for a short while. once you find your way around (doesn't take long) it is not bad at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    my grandmother went to this college, my mother and her siblings also went, so i guess we have a family tradition here. i guess my first cousins and i will be third generation nemcc students.

    Bang for the buck

    i have just started as a dual enrolled student and have not had very much experience on campus.

    What to do for fun

    there are constantly things going on at the campus. maybe a ball game (tennis,volley,football,etc.) at the dorms. there is a baptist student union where there are parties, concerts, etc. there are also two towns within appx 30mins that have concerts, movies, malls, etc.

    Food and Dining

    have not eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    as with any college, a student has to apply themselves to get the job done. the college teachers do not have time to hold your hand and push you to get things done. you are moving into the adult arena and should be responsible for your own work.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be intimidated by the difference between high school and this college. it is easy to make a smooth transition. always read your correspondence and if you have questions, you can always go to the administrative or other offices and get answers.

    In three sentences

    northeast is an excellent college for anyone to to get a 2 year degree or to get started on a longer degree. the people there are interested in you and are very helpful. my experience as a duel enrolled student has be positive, the teachers are wonderful, and very helpful.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the student government usually tries to plan an activity on campus atleast once a week. sport events are a big deal on campus, everyone enjoys going to the games!

    Food and Dining

    the food at nemcc is honestly not the best. breakfast is good, lunch and dinner are usually not that great. the staff however are amazing! most of them are very nice people!

    Dorm Life

    mississippi hall is by far the best dorms. although you do have to have a roommate, the rooms a pretty big, easily heated or cooled, and very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    i would give it at least 4 stars. i am currently in the nursing program at nemcc and the education techniques and support have benefited me greatly! i have also experience with online classes that were very beneficial to me when my schedule would not allow me to attend another class. the teachers really work with you and do whatever can to make themselves available to answer any questions you as a student may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would encourage prospective students to get involved with different groups at school such as the bsu, the westly house, student government and ptk!

    In three sentences

    nemcc is a great place to start your education and pursue your desired career! it is a small colleges so we have a close nit community between both the college students and faculty. i have very much enjoyed my experience at northeast community college.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can enjoy what Northeast has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports with my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Northeast a shot. You won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    Northeast provides a great learning environment. This school has great teachers and advisors.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the summer, there is a swimming pool on campus that is fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead, or you will be lost. Apply for all the free money you can, because it gets expensive quick. Arrive on campus early, or you will be walking a mile to your class!

    In three sentences

    NEMCC is overall a great school. The school parking is horrible tho. The campus has great security and very helpful instructors.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love a small town school, small classrooms, friendly teachers, easier academics, and want to be close to home, this is the place to be!

    What to do for fun

    Tupelo and Corinth are right around the corner, but Booneville itself does not have much.

    Food and Dining

    Considering how small the school is, the food is rather good. We have many choices and the meal ticket is decently priced.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. The dorms are clean but are old, which cannot be helped. However, dorm life is hard when there isn't a whole lot to do on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are very relaxed, and the teachers want each student to succeed. The academics are not that hard, and it is a good stepping stone here if you are looking for cheaper learning before going to a bigger school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to try really really hard to be involved here. Since it is just a community college, you'll need to dig in order to find a place to fit in. But still, Northeast is a good school with good teachers.

    In three sentences

    Northeast is a typical small town college. Small campus, small classrooms, and small bookstore. Northeast is perfect for less expensive learning opportunities.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has many activities going on weekly!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are wonderful! Their fries are the best things in the world! I do wish however their were more healthier options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not great, but what dorm is? I can not comprehend how concrete walls can be paper thin, to where you can hear everyone's conversation.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Northeast Mississippi Community Colleges are challenging. It seems to me to be the same challenging level of a university, at half the price!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just to try to look at college as a new opportunity, not a drag!

    In three sentences

    Northeast Mississippi Community College is the perfect transition from high school to college atmosphere. It is such a lovely campus. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on involving a club or activity. The student life here can be great as long as you're willing to be involved. Phi Theta Kappa always has something going on in the fall for football. In the spring there is fundraisers and activities as well.

    What to do for fun

    Booneville isn't the largest town in the state. There really isn't much to do around here unless you have great friends. When I lived in the dorms the most I did for fun was either play video games or walk around campus. There is a workout room I spent quite a bit of time in too.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining was actually very satisfactory to me. I was like most freshman and got that Freshman Fifteen where we gain about fifteen pounds. The dining room in Haney Union was great. There is always multiple choices and plenty of room to sit.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is not what I expected. I enjoyed it but moved back home after the first year. Although in my defense I did not have the best room mate. However, this is not an excuse. It's just hard to find things to do around a small town.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many challenging classes available at this school. Many of which will most certainly be prepping you for your future career. The professors are intelligent in their teachings and know their stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip for any new and upcoming student is GO TO CLASS! The more you miss the less you learn. Not to mention if you miss more than six days you are already dropped from the class.

    In three sentences

    NEMCC is a great place to start your college career. They offer a long list of majors and areas of study. Not only do they have plenty of two and four year programs, but it is very easy to transfer to a graduate school with most of your credit hours.