Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeast State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and non-traditional. Weekend, Internet and video courses are available for those with hectic schedules. Also, night classes for those who work all day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northeast State is a smaller college, but that does not mean your education will suffer at all! The teachers are great, the class sizes are smaller, campus is clean and easy to navigate, and the enrollment process is painless and easy. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 07/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who need or enjoy a comfortable hands on learning experience. And who also enjoy spending less money for the same classes, and better educational experiences.

    Am enjoying being here

    I only have one more semester before i graduate and i have to say that if i could do anything about college over again- i wouldn't have changed a thing. Making the choice to go to NE state first instead of a 4year college was a great choice because i took all the classes i needed and for half the price of the universities around the TN area.

    Am learning a lot

    Northeast is a rather small school but that isn't exactly a bad thing. The smaller classes provides for a more hands on learning experience and a closer student/professor relationship.

  • 08/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 2 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Slackers, people who slept through high school, people who don't mind earning less than 50,000 a year for the rest of their lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be lazy. Don't care. Don't come to class. You'll still make at least a B in most of the classes. There's no motivation to really try or give your all at anything.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap. I can say that much. However, you aren't getting the experience to do well in a career or at a four-year. The coursework isn't worthwhile and doesn't stimulate critical thinking.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that can't be a traditional student. If you have a full time job they work with you to make a study and class plan so you can continue your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have sent in anything, emailed, or called, and have yet to hear back, just call them. Sometimes people get busy, or forgetful. It is your education, so make sure you are on top of it.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cheaper than other area schools. That can really help when you have to work to pay bills and don't have a lot of money to spend on college. They even have a payment program.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is helpful and it is minimally difficult to navigate around the campus, as opposed to larger campuses where one can get lost easily. Open environment all around.

    Academic Rigor

    I had a lot of trouble first entering college. No one in my family had finished any sort of college degree, not even an associates. I found nothing but friendly, helpful staff. I was directed to what I needed when applying. They offer internet courses from the school and they help with RODP courses for adults that cannot be a full time student. Even if you are going less than part time you get full time attention and help on courses.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any student!

    Tips for prospective students

    save money!

    Bang for the buck

    the quality of the education is great!

    Am enjoying being here

    I would choose this college for anybody who wants to receive a great education.

    Am learning a lot

    I love this school, and i can't wait to start my second year! The professors and staff are very friendly and helpful. You learn a lot at this college, and have fun while doing it. The college has everything, and is always enjoyable. This college has an expensive look with an affordable tuition.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome variety of clubs and activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Again the courtyard is great for relaxation and summer sun!

    What to do for fun

    Relaxing in the courtyard on the grass is my favorite.

    Food and Dining

    I wish there was a coffee shop on campus, which we do not have currently, like starbucks or java j's something for pick me up

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on this campus

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to class and have a willingness to learn, you will go far places with this school!

    In three sentences

    I give Northeast State a 10 for Teacher interest in their students. I give them a rating of excellent on security, and I give them a 10++ for the information and assistance in the financial aid department.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe, the parking lots are well lighted, and if a person feels uneasy the campus security will happily escort you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an adult student with too many responsibilities to be in clubs ect. So I do not know much at all about the clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to acquire a Associates degree, or people who want to do core classes and then transfer on to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Subway offers a combo deal for students on campus that is cheaper than other Subway locations.

    What to do for fun

    There is a workout gym on campus, but other than that there aren't recreational things on campus that I know of.

    Food and Dining

    When I went to NESCC in 2009-2011 the only on campus dining choices was Subway. Of all the fast food choices out there I was happy with what was offered. There was some talk of getting in more choices but that may or may not have happened.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus living quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any other school academic rigor is a matter of personal perspective. Some classes I took were easy, but that could be because of my interest in the subject matter. Some classes were very difficult for me, but again I feel like that was due to the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to seek out help! There are too many very helpful people who would love to make your experience here a good one. .Believe me! But you have to ask for help, they don't have ESP

    In three sentences

    I cannot say enough good things about Northeast State Community College! A smaller school with a very personal touch in all they do. I was a high school drop out of 33 years, scared to death and very nervous about entering school. The wonderful faculty and staff on campus is who I give credit to for my new found confidence.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students and/or students who aren't sure which direction they want to go career-wise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with an advisor from the very beginning, even if you don't know what you want to major in. Take advantage of the free tutoring offered on campus as often as possible. Go to class!

    In three sentences

    Northeast State Community College is a great way to transition into a four year college if you have been out of school for awhile. The entire staff goes the extra mile to meet your needs and help you understand the curriculum in order to achieve your goals.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. The campus police patrol the parking lots regularly. There are also emergency phones on campus.

    Greek Life

    Northeast does not offer any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northeast offers several clubs. Clubs are a great way to get involved and meet new people, while also giving back through community service.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are returning to college, planning to transfer to a university, or wanting to earn a trade.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is located right next to the Tri Cities Airport.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is at a great rate. You can earn an Associate's degree without having to go bankrupt. Northeast offers ways to get involved in the community as well.

    What to do for fun

    Most students play hacky sack and frisbe in the grass between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The only place to get something to eat on campus is Subway. A Pizza Plus is opening up across the street, which will give students another option. Other than that, the closest drive-thrus are about 15 minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    The major downside to attending Northeast is that it does not have any student housing. Every student is a commuter. It does get old having to drive half an hour to school every day.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are very passionate about their students' success. They will go to far lengths to make sure the student stays on top of the class. They will stay after class and some will even meet outside their office times to make it more convenient for the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students that are not sure what to major in should definitely attend Northeast State. You can get your core classes out of the way without spending a fortune on tuition.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State is a good school to go to to earn your Associate's Degree. It is a lot cheaper than going to a university. I love the small classes and the excellent teacher interaction!

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police patrolling from morning until night! They will walk you to your car, recover a key locked in a car, and even jump start your engine if your battery is dead! There are also campus help centers that alert the police to come to your aid anywhere on the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities at Northeast State.

    Clubs and Activities

    You may join the Greens club, the Science Fiction and Fantasy club, or any organization such as Phi Kappa Phi or Alpha Sigma Lambda. All clubs are active in the community and host annual fund raisers for scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an excellent student, a non-traditional student, or a struggling student, Northeast is the best, most affordable, and most accommodating college in our region.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite professors wears a different silly hat every class period and always takes time in class to tell a funny joke.

    Bang for the buck

    The affordability of Northeast State is unbeatable. The college will charge you half of what you would pay at a four year college with equally satisfying education.

    What to do for fun

    You can hit the tennis courts, basketball courts, or throw a frisbee in the square. If you are a nature lover, there is a wonderful nature trail right on the main campus that features a one mile walking/running trail and a certified arboretum that hosts many native trees.

    Food and Dining

    Northeast offers an on campus Subway restaurant that monthly has great specials to meet economy and student budgets. They also host student appreciation days at least four times a year to feed the students and encourage social gatherings.

    Dorm Life

    Northeast does not offer dorms on campus, however, they encourage builders to build apartment complexes near the school to encourage students to move in and get closer to their educational experience! They also offer five campuses around the region to cater to long-distance students.

    Academic Rigor

    It is no walk in the park! Northeast is challenging and fun. You must work hard to stay on top of your academics!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help about any matter. Northeast is the most friendly and helpful school in the area. Their staff strives to delight, encourage, and grow each student into an exemplary and productive citizen. The harder you work to attain your goals, the harder they try to help you reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    The small class size allows for student and teacher interactions that is mutually beneficial. All of the professors are well educated and have a true passion for teaching. Their aim is your success; not only in the classroom but in your field of study.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Bang for the buck

    I dont have to use student loans here.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of opportunities for activities at the school. Outdoor singing, dramas, and alot of volunteer stuff.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway and vending machines. Could do better with that as most people cant afford to eat at subway everyday.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get tutoring when needed. Apply for all scholarships. Ask for help when needed.

    In three sentences

    They have been helpful to me on getting the necessary stuff to get me through school. They offer tutoring and assistance to me when needed. The schedule of my classes is great because I have to work around my family schedule.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheaper than other local colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions because if you don't ask, nobody will know what you need or what you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    I think Northeast State has a wide variety of classes and different career opportunities available. I think they could make the students aware of all the different services that are actually available to them. But over all, no complaints to date.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is awesome! It is a great way to ease your way into the college life. They really are here to get you there

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northeast State is great for students who only want to go to school for two years and get an A.S, A.A., or certificate. It is also great for students who do not want to start out at a larger college or university with class sizes in the 100s.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for one semester at NESCC is typically under $2,000, but academics are not compromised by the low tuition costs.

    Food and Dining

    Northeast State only has one restaurant on campus, a Subway. Within short driving distance there is a Wendy's, Pizza Plus, and Cracker Barrel. NESCC also has microwaves and vending machines with soup, pizzas, and other items.

    Dorm Life

    Northeast State is a community college and does not have dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    General education classes such as intro to psychology are relatively easy. The science classes are more rigorous and require more diligence.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you attend class, turn in your homework on time, and apply yourself you will do wonderfully.

    In three sentences

    NESCC is a great school. All of the staff and teachers are excellent and are more than willing to answer any questions you have. I love the 20-30 student class size.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many opportunities for activities in surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    Very affordable food with many options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not applicable. No on site dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is very important, and according to the research I have done this college is superior.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to attend orientation to get familiar with the college.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy this college, the class size is smaller . Location is very convenient. Price of the college is lower .

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small and very safe, there are constant patrols and well placed telephones in case of emergency.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an absolutely awesome campus and I fully recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to pay alot in tuition but wishes for a good education while they figure out their future pathway.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities going on all the time

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafe area and it only contains a subway, however there are some relatively close restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, this is a community college and does not have dorm accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are easy, but you'll find those anywhere. I would personally put my science education against any other college in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't listen to all the rumors about certain professors, they are awesome outside of class and you just have to get to know them AND put the work in!

    In three sentences

    I think the campus is wonderful. The teachers are exceptional and they get to know you on a name basis making for a pleasant environment.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Breathe easier knowing that there are able minded and able bodied campus police patrolling the grounds to keep you safe. If you should ever have a problem, from car trouble to personal problems to simply needing an escort to your vehicle after dark, these officers are here to get you there.

    Greek Life

    Northeast State doesn't host fraternities or sororities like larger universities. However, the college does have student organizations such as Phi Theta Kappa (Alpha Iota Chi), Psi Beta, and Alpha Lambda Sigma. These honor societies are a great way to socialize and spruce up your academic resume.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs on campus. From honors societies to the sci-fi club to the Greens club, there is a place for everyone here. From theater productions to carnivals, there is always something happening on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Northeast State is great for all students. From the welding student to the psychology student to the English student, everyone can find their place at this community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The third floor of the library is often the best place to study simply for the better view of the surrounding mountains. On rainy days the second floor of the theater building is lovely because of the grand sized windows.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more bang for your buck. Not only are you beginning your college education with a transferable Associate's degree, but you are also making memories and gaining valuable knowledge for your future in academia that will last a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    After classes I enjoy sitting on the grass or on one of the benches and writing, but that is my prerogative. Northeast State has a nature walk, a tennis court, a basketball court, and a pretty amazing library for their students to enjoy. There is also one play put on per semester that is free to all Northeast State students.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection is slightly limited. You can choose from vending machines or Subway. It is easy to get tired of the minimal choices.

    Dorm Life

    This isn't applicable. The campus doesn't possess any dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is there for you, but it is important that you meet them halfway. You will be challenged beyond what you believe you are capable of doing. The experience is all about learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help when you need it. There are numerous clubs on campus, be sure to join one and contribute to campus life. Do register early because classes fill up rather quickly.

    In three sentences

    This may be a community college, but everyone you meet is supremely dedicated to the slogan we're here to get you there. The classes are small and make every student feel comfortable in the learning environment. If you are looking for the best place to start your academic journey, then Northeast State is the place.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety!!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is welcome there.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a great education and much more affordable than a university college.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many clubs and programs for any area the students might be interested in.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great commons area with lots of nutritional foods available.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and so they do not have on campus housing. However, if they did have housing I am certain it would be great!

    Academic Rigor

    Very great academic school and highly recommended.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be for future students to make use of all the resources available to them. I would also recommend to continually engage in every aspect of your learning and academic progress. If you need help the staff at Northeast State Community College are always willing to help meet your needs.

    In three sentences

    Great classroom size which makes learning easier than in a big university. Professors are very approachable and willing to help when needed. Campus offers many tools and student resources to help each student succeed.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Always something happening in surrounding towns like Bristol and JC.

    Food and Dining

    Subway

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the extra programs there to help you succeed and understand the process. Financial Aid papers in as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Most professors are great and work hard to help you succeed. Variety of class meeting times need to be improved not everyone wants to complete classes on-line. Financial Aid phone line can be frustrating, live persons are good to help but no longer participating with government loans may have a significant impact on school.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe. I have left my car unlocked and everything was still there. Even at night the cops sit in the students parking lot, and they are always in sight.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have tons of clubs. There is something for everyone. There is always an event going on, on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you get your education for a reasonable price. I like that they do provide help if you need it. Also give you money to print things off for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    They have plays which are great. They also have some musical shows. Northeast also offers a lot of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    They should have more to choose from. I really like that they have subway in the school because its healthy. It would bring in more money for the school if they added another place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    They have no dorm life. It would not be bad for Northeast to maybe concert it.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that they are a very good school. They have a very high graduation rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to your classes, you have paid for them. Study and give it your all, because this is your future, it is not High School anymore. Do not forget to ask for help if you need it, because the teachers are so nice that they really care enough to help.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State is the best college to go to. The classes are smaller, so you can have one on one with the teacher is you may not know something. Its cheaper and you get the same education as you would anywhere else.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have onsite officers at all times. Safety is a huge deal at Northeast State Community College. They will go as far as to have an officer walk you to your vehicle, if you are feeling unsafe. Another plus, if you lock your keys in your car the officers there will get them out for you free of charge. They will even put air in your tires, if need be.

    Great for these types of students

    New students, just begining college.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is worth your money. It is great for people on a tight budget.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym for student use. They host lots of onsite activites.

    Food and Dining

    They have snack machines and a on-site subway.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have a dorm, for it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer an associates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. The staff at Northeast State, seem to really enjoying helping students.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State Community College is very helpful. They care about their students. The staff and student all seem very friendly.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's only a subway on campus but they did add a Pizza Plus across the street recently.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life is available

    Academic Rigor

    they seem to really care about your education so i would rank the rigor high since the work should challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for scholorships as early as possible. Even if you don't plan on attending or there is another college you have in mind still apply! make sure you have a backup plan just in case.

    In three sentences

    The staff was extrememely helpful when i was making my schdeule and planning for college. They helped me to figure out what scholorships i was elegible for. I highly recommend this community college and can't wait to attend my classes there in the fall!

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have police force on campus for any situation.

    What to do for fun

    Study :) and spend time with my kids

    Food and Dining

    We only have a subway but its awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    I love the curriculum. Its not too hard but not that easy. Just enough to make you think. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say make sure you have everything together when you apply so that you aren't making more trips than necessary to the school. Do your best get a good GPA and then you can get into Honors classes and that gets you qualified for more scholarships and you graduate with honors.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State college so far has been wonderful. The curriculum is the most up to date. There is always someone there to help you no matter what the case is, financial aid, scholarships, or any questions that you may have.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    secruity on main and mini campus

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there is many clubs

    Great for these types of students

    nursing

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for and more

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    if you do not stay on task it is hard. But if you use your time wisely, listen, and stay productive its not too bad

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on task

    In three sentences

    its not a bad school. Classes are small so you can actaully learn more without distraction. It's mini campus' are very convenient

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WE do offer a school police officer and have many of those Emergency stations around the campus. Plus there are cameras everywhere on campus, keeping eyes on everything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is just about any club you can think of for this school. We have performing arts, math team, debate team, and even tennis teams.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper to go hear and get your general education classes out of the way than going to the main college in our area. As for me, a worker student paying my own bills and for school, it still is a lot harder to afford going to college.

    What to do for fun

    On occasion, there are activities out on the courtyard like Volleyball, soccer, and sometimes live bands. Our school does many charity events like bake sales and stew contests.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway by the courtyard at this school. They server breakfast and lunch but this is the only place to eat while you are there which is kind of a downer. Although there are plenty or vending machines throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    You will not find any dorms or housing at this school. But there are apartments not far from the school that one could get.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program is awesome here. You can get just about any general studies class you would need for your major. Teachers help focus on what we really need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should register early for classes because the best classes go fast. You should also be respectful of the teacher because if you show them your respect and you need something from them, they are more likely to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State is a wonderful school to go to. We have amazing teachers who help us out when we need it. They also have flexible scheduling of the classes which makes it easier for working students.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The vending machines have an excellent selection of gourmet food.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and I am certain Northeast State does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and go to class

    In three sentences

    Northeast State is a great college. The teachers take an interest in each of their students and urge them to succeed. The class sizes are small, making it a very personal experience to receive an education there.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tons of campus police and blue lights to report activity

    Greek Life

    Academics club

    Clubs and Activities

    theater, gamers club, and academic society

    Great for these types of students

    Laid-back, slackers could probably make it by pretty easy...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing, really.

    Bang for the buck

    The money is definitely worth it for your time and education spent there.

    What to do for fun

    study....

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway and plenty of drink/food machines...

    Dorm Life

    Northeast doesn't have dorms, bummer.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics will provide you with what you need as long as you take the classes and staff seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time, take well-written notes, and keep on top of your assignments.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State Community college spends a lot of time making sure you know the material. The professors really take time to help you. I would recommend it to anymore looking to complete their core credits at a cheap community college.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They had their own police who were always friendly. They also provided free service: if you wanted to be walked to your car when it was late/dark outside, if you locked your keys in the car they had the equip to unlock it (personal experience), if your car battery was dead they would give you a jump start, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never participated in clubs but I always enjoyed their activities (food was usually involved)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I made a new family in the gym. I would go there everyday and work out.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish it was a 4 year school because they have the best prices in the area

    What to do for fun

    They had a courtyard where I've seen people throwing a football back and forth. They commonly have events going on with free food and games.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice dining area with a subway in it (which had good deals for students). They always had a microwave to heat up your food and drink machines.

    Academic Rigor

    They have deadlines that they follow very well. As far as classroom work that depended upon individual instructors. There were two specific classes I got and A in yet I learned nothing from the class. Yet there were classes I got a C in and I learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a good place to start because it is not an overwhelmingly large campus yet they won't hold your hand either and expect you to do your work. You'll have more opportunity to ask questions and interact with the class.

    In three sentences

    Northeast Community College was a great place for me to start. There were quality instructors (and a few not as quality) from which I learned many things. Some of the instructors I had truly wanted me to learn.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent safety and security. The Kingsport location is especially safe, considering it's right next door to the city police station.

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several to chose from, I suggest attending a club day when you can walk around and check out all the club booths in one spot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for the quality of education received.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of clubs and school sponsored events that students can attend. Sometimes the events vary depending on what club you're affiliated with.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus is kinda in the middle of nowhere, beside the local airport. On campus the only food offered is Subway or vending machine food.

    Dorm Life

    No housing options available.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty good, but it can depend on the professor. Certain classes are a bit frustrating if you have Windows 8 at home, because some programs won't work unless you're using Windows 7 or Office 2010, meaning you've gotta do most of your assignments on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every opportunity offered. Northeast has a lot to offer, and if you take the College Success course i'll certainly help you get off to a great start.

    In three sentences

    A quality education at an affordable price. Class sizes are small, however in-class social structure is lacking. Also some of the computer software is a little dated, using Windows 7 and Office 2010 products.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students starting out or students who want to get an associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are hard to beat especially for tuition and books.

    What to do for fun

    They have basketball and tennis courts for in between classes. There also is a gym and a trail you can walk as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are snack machines and a Subway on main campus.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really take pride in teaching here. They try to help in every way they can. As long as you take a course load you can handle it really isn't to difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus isn't that big, just make sure to get there in time to learn where your classes are ahead of time. This makes it much easier when classes begin.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State is a great college to get a start for your associates degree. I love this college and it has taught me many useful skills for continuing my education. I recommend this college for anyone starting out or who is looking to get their foot in the door.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northeast State has the best security on duty. They are posted at the front door and make hourly rounds. This makes you feel really safe while at school.

    Greek Life

    Northeast State offers several sororities, and they hold a lot of benefits that raise money for charities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have recently signed up for the local Boys and Girls Club. This club is unique with helping children,. I am going to help by tutoring children a half an hour every week. I can't wait to start helping.

    Great for these types of students

    The Mobile Food Pantry is great for students that need help providing food for their families. Also as far as the on-line classes would be for those who do not want to be in the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northeast State offers a Mobile Food Pantry once a month for low income students. There are classes you could take on-line, and night classes if you work during the day. Northeast State is very convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    I save money by getting the Sunday paper and clipping coupons. It sounds silly, but this saves me at least fifty dollars a month. I love saving money and spreading the word on how to do it. Northeast State is worth every penny when it comes to your education.

    What to do for fun

    In my spare time I volunteer at the Mobile Food Pantry. Volunteering makes you feel great giving back to the community. I also play chess and frisby golf. These activities keep me in shape, and are entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    Northeast State offers vending machines and a cafeteria. I haven't eaten at the cafeteria, but I hear it has great food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about dorm life because the school is so close.

    Academic Rigor

    Northeast State focuses on plagiarism, with all the technology now it is very easy to access information. The instructors are very helpful, and just want to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I found it most important to meet with an advisor so they can help you get everything you need with financial aid. There is also Northeast State website to check out. The website is full of all kinds of useful information about the school.

    In three sentences

    Northeast State Community College has the best instructors and faculty. The school also places focus and the drive you need to succeed in school. This school is conveniently local for me as a student.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Kingsport campus is located directly across the street from the city police station where as the main campus is somewhat in the middle of nowhere beside the regional airport. The main campus has a few security officers walking around from time to time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Considering the size of the school, there's a decent amount of clubs. I often see several club booths set up selling different items and food to raise money.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very affordable college, but would be better if teachers would actually teach rather than let the one-sized-fits-most programs do all the work. It makes me feel like I'm being ripped off a little. If the teachers aren't going to teach, I feel that an online course would have offered the same experience at a cheaper price. That's not to say that all the teachers are like that - just a lot of them. Then of those that do teach, many of them will follow along word for word with the provided book and assign computer-based work. Again, I feel ripped off. If teaching is such a minimal thing, why not just sell me the teachers book rather than a student book and let me teach myself and do my own computer assignments. What's the point of having a teacher if they don't teach?

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes people meet up in the courtyard and play softball or bring their own forms of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There's only one option on campus: SubWay

    Academic Rigor

    It's fairly challenging, but a lot of work is computer based which makes me wonder why I'm paying for the in-class experience when several teachers hardly teach. They just let the programs do all the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive a little early to find a good parking space and don't be late. Pack your lunch if possible or even build in a lunch period so you can travel out a little to find food.

    In three sentences

    A nice campus within a smaller community. It's easy to navigate around campus, however the only lunch option available is SubWay. Most of the classes have lost the traditional classroom feel with many teachers using computers to their advantage making it feel more like they're only there to babysit students.