Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northeast Texas Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is very important to the administration of ntcc. the school has security guards on campus during the day, and students are trying to encourage the school to provide security for night classes. i have on campus at night before and i did not feel as though i was in danger. also, the college is located in a small country town with a low crime rate so there is never a moment when i think that i am in danger at school.

    Great for these types of students

    as mentioned earlier, students who are returning to school after a few years of working would be well suited at ntcc. the staff understands that working full time, raising a family, and going to school can be demanding. if this is more or less your situation, ntcc would be great for you!

    What to do for fun

    ntcc and its organizations are always eager to host events, concerts, and give out free food! these clubs host events such as the scare affair, college nights for those looking to transfer, and back to school celebrations. the college hosts many events for students to enjoy such as guest speakers, plays, art shows, local recitals, etc. in the whatley center. on top of these annual activities, the sub provides students with plenty of things to do daily. most events that involve student interaction and activities such as video games, pool, and air hockey take place in the sub. it is a great place to student to hang out during lunch and before or after classes and relax with follow students

    Food and Dining

    the college has a dining and recreational area known as the sub or student union building. the sub serves breakfast and lunch monday thru thursday, and provides a buffet for all students and guest. there is also enough seating for students inside the sub, as well as picnic tables set up outside the sub. the sub also offers vending machines with many selections.

    Dorm Life

    ntcc has recently added on new dorms as well as a new fitness center. since the college is mostly populated by locals, there is not much demand for student housing on campus. the school does require those involved in sports to live in the dorms, but all other student may live in the dorms or in the surrounding area.

    Academic Rigor

    when i began my basics at ntcc, the workload was more or less moderate. the teachers were more involved with class discussion rather than lectures and test. but as i advanced into the more difficult sciences, the workload has increased simply because of overdose of information. and although more homework and studying is required for these classes

    Tips for prospective students

    for those that are not sure if ntcc is right for you, here's a few pro's and con's. most importantly, ntcc is one of the cheaper colleges in texas. and if you are a local resident, it is even cheaper! the school provides many scholarship programs and fundraisers for students. also, ntcc offers many clubs and sororities that could benefits those who plan to transfer later. my advice would be to become active in these groups to really enjoy a full college experience. one thing i would like to point out against ntcc is that there are students of all ages on campus, including high school students involved in the dual-credit program. although it is not a large issue, it is sort of an issue when a student wants to be a in a more mature setting in the classroom. although most teachers are great at controlling the classroom, some students still serve as a distraction to others.

    In three sentences

    northeast texas community college is great for students of all ages! most students are parents, or older adults, who are also working full time and going to school full time. the teachers and staff are very understanding of this difficulty and are usually willing to work with students.

  • 03/09/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    only hour away from home

    Tips for prospective students

    looks good for the locate and money

    Bang for the buck

    only time will tell

    Will enjoy being here

    hope to enjoy it

    Will learn a lot

    will learn alot

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do at the college. the only fun things really is to be involved in organizations like ptk or sga. events that occur at the college are usually in the whatley where they have musical, theatre performances, and a few concerts.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the college is great! they have the snack bar which has great food but not only that, they have lunch food and a salad bar! what makes the food and dining even better is that the place is very clean and employees working there are very friendly!

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life at ntcc is very boring. yes, you have roommates and get to hangout with them but there isn't much to do at ntcc unless you're involved in organizations. the town where ntcc is located in, mount pleasant, does not have many things for students to go to and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor of the college is not difficult at all. if students do all the work, study, stay on task, ask questions, and be interested, the student's gpa should be a 4.0. the homework is minimal but when it comes to the test, they are mostly difficult but with a few hours of studying, an a should be on the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    a few tips i would give to students wanting to go to northeast texas community college is to ask questions and not be shy because the teachers are willing to help you in any way. also, yes the college is small but if you get involved with organizations there, you will enjoy helping and gain leadership skills while doing it. lastly, stay on task! many students cannot stay on task or stay focused but if you do at this college, i assure you that you will get the a you want and need!

    In three sentences

    northeast texas community college is a great place to get your basics done because of the fact that you have a one to one experience between the teacher and the student. also, if you're interested in saving money, the tuition here is not very costly and they financial aid office is willing to help students in any way if needed. also, the place is small so it is less accurate to get lost and everyone is very friendly.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the college store they have NTCC gear, snacks, backpacks and supplies, books, and etc. There is a grand variety with some really cool things you can buy for a good price!

    Food and Dining

    Their food is amazing and delicious!! There is a really nice dining are located in the SUB and it is spacious. Also there is a game room located in the SUB where you can hang out, watch tv, or play video games.

    Dorm Life

    they have added new dorms and they are really nice. They are apartment style dorms and a fitness center is located in front of them, it is a 24hr center. Laundry, living areas, spacious bedrooms and closets, and they are within walking distance of the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and the course work is very good. You get a quality education for way less than at a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, get involved, and visit the admissions office often to check up on things and make sure you're on track!

    In three sentences

    NTCC is simply amazing!

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. I have never seen a fight or anything close to one while at school.

    Greek Life

    This is home to Phi Theta Kappa's Alpha Mu Chi chapter! We've recently become a 5-star chapter thanks to all of the members and the hard working officer team.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student organizations are fun, friendly and always looking for ways to serve the school and the students.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a place for all types of students. Whether you are a parent, taking some extra classes on the side, an incoming freshmen straight out of school; this is a place where you can succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    The best aspect of the school isn't it's resources or buildings; it's the students and teachers. We all come together to work together to accomplish our goals. I never would have succeeded without my study group and professors that are willing to go the extra mile.

    What to do for fun

    There are several events held at the college during the year. Recently, the school organizations came together to organize Spring Fest. Amongst stands for food and drinks, there was a dunking booth and water slide.

    Food and Dining

    The food is filling, not unreasonably priced and it's always there when I need it.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms so I can't honestly rate them.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been challenged most especially in my mathematics classes. The college has recently offered more advanced classes that have proven a welcome challenge in my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't leave your work for the last minute. Nothing says you care about your education more than staying on top of your studies.

    In three sentences

    This two year institution is a great stepping stone for any field of study that a student might want to pursue. There are opportunities for academic and extracurricular for any person wanting to apply themselves. The community is friendly, supportive and helpful.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security truck always securing the campus. So you feel safe and secure.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are really affordable, and the professors really teach well, so its a little money for a lot of knowledge.

    What to do for fun

    You can take part in our atheletic program, or cruise around

    Food and Dining

    We have great meals, with our refurbished cafeteria other known as the SUB, the food is fresh, yummy, and satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    With the new dorms it seems like your in a hotel, its very clean and spacious. You can have your own room or share bedrooms, Also you can have free Internet and cable services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly Be Studious and enjoy environment.

    In three sentences

    One of the best places to get an Associates Degree. Easy, fast, and secure. Its a very friendly campus with great food options.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town is small, so it feels safe, and NTCC has never had an incident. However, I have only seen about two security guards, so if something did happen, I am not sure how well we would be protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    For the small size, NTCC has a very large array of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    NTCC is great for students who want to attend a small school and see the same students in multiple classes and in the cafeteria and everywhere else. NTCC is very small so a student will not go to many classes where they do not know at least three people.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs at NTCC consistently host events for students who belong to their clubs and for those who do not. Also, the office puts on excellent social events several times a year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has also just been remodeled and the food is good, especially for the low price you pay.

    Dorm Life

    NTCC just completed a new dorm that is first class.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never found the classes that challenging, but they are extremely interesting. All my classes encourage me to view a subject differently.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage future students at NTCC to really get to know the teachers and to join the Honors program. If a student can get into the Honors program, they will receive all kinds of free, useful things.

    In three sentences

    NTCC has helpful teachers and interesting classes. The administration office is not as well organized as I would like, but they are more organized than some colleges I have visited. NTCC has clubs for the most diverse groups of students possible.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have all kinds of extra curricular activities for our Student Body here. We have very successful sports teams, rodeo teams, clubs, plays, and a close connection with the local community.

    Food and Dining

    NTCC has many different dining options. If you stay in the dorms, you must purchase a Meal Plan. It is worth it - the food is good... Not as good as Mom's, but good.

    Dorm Life

    I'm away from home for the first time. I have been looking forward to this day for so long. NTCC offers two dorm locations; East Dorms and West Dorms. You can choose which you would prefer. The dorms are nice and clean. They are small enough to be very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Same classes offered as bigger universities, but smaller classes. The professors do seem to care here, and will know your name. When you need help, they are all available.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not where you start out or go to get your college education that matters. What matters is what you do with the education you get from your college.

    In three sentences

    I would rate my college a 9 out of 10. Here you get the same education as you would from a major university, but it comes with a sense of closeness and caring. The Academic Advisers are always eager to assist you with future plans.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a very calm and non threatening environment. Although it is a free campus to enter and exit the safety hazards are minimal.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs in the school and the number continues to grow. Sporting events and theatrical events are year round and keep students entertained. The school also has multiple events for holidays and back to school.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for all students. Plain and simple.

    Bang for the buck

    The expenses are one of the main reasons I came to the college. Expenses are minimal and the financial aid office is there to provide exceptional service and help the cost affordable for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to keep students busy. The school also has a fitness center, basketball courts, and tennis courts for off time. There are also seasonal sporting events and theatrical events in the theater.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus provides food for students daily. Along with the everyday cafeteria food there are vending machines in the cafeteria and sometimes free cooking from school clubs.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. However, I have visited and they are acceptable living quarters with substantial space and are right next door to the fitness center the college has.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor varies with every teacher. However,most classes require intense reading and memorization. But don't let it scare you, professors here are always open for one on one help and aid whenever needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The business building is your life saver at this college. Financial aid, advisement, etc. is all inside this building. Use it to it's full capability! Th bookstore is another life saver. It provides cheap books and all your school necessities at a fair price. Go there!

    In three sentences

    Although this college is undermined, it is a great starting point for any college path. The minimal expenses and exceptional programs allow for broadening our education without going in debt. Whatever degree plan, Ntcc is the place to start.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a great security force and its a well lit campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society is one I am a member of, but there are many others as well. All academic courses offer clubs that help with keeping students socially and academically rounded.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a working non traditional student like me, then NTCC is the number one choice for you! It offers a competive tuition rate and many more degrees than even some 4 yr colleges. Its partnered with Texas A&M so it also offers many 4 yr degree plans as well. Their motto Start here, Go anywhere is actually just that. With being able to start here at NTCC I have earned my Bachelor's as well as much continuing Ed credits that would not have been possible without this wonderful community college. So, just because you might be nontraditional, dont let that hold you back because NTCC is perfect for the older working individual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a lot of community events, including an annual easter egg hunt, a yearly SCARE AFFAIR for community trick or treaters and many others. One they have yearly is an annual 5Krun, as well as, a bicycling event yearly for the bicyclist enthusiast.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extra curricular activites, as well as groups on campus and off. Baseball, rodeo, soccer, and the exercise facilities just to name a few. Join as many groups as you can and you will always have many group oriented activites to keep you busy socially.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and affordable. I was shocked to see the full complete salad bar with such a great selection. Of course the SUB offers a snackbar that is quick and easy as well. Its great food for great value on your dollar..

    Dorm Life

    They have just built all new dorms for this academic year, however, I dont stay in the dorms. I live off campus, but I can see that they are really nice and large and brand new!

    Academic Rigor

    All my courses were challenging to me especially because it had been many years since I graduated. As a non traditional older beginning college student, this was my biggest challenge of all. But they also offer much help and I even formed study groups with people just like myself, just trying to understand and comprehend and thus be successful. It is a great place to meet other students and form study groups and there are many places to meet on campus for such groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all it has to offer. There is a genuinely caring attitude on campus for student success. Just be sure and take advantage of their academic skills for all your tutoring needs, as well as the LRC's computer lab and caring employees who can help you with all your questions.

    In three sentences

    NTCC is definitely a great hometown college with a wonderful professor who really cares about their student's success. It's allowed me to fulfill my education dreams and thus enabling me to reach for the stars and continue my education hopes and aspirations. Without this college, I'd still be stuck in a rut of struggling to make ends meet.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northeast Texas Community College is a beautiful campus in rural Titus County Texas. Safety is the number one priority for the residents and staff here at the college. There are full time resident advisors in all the dorms and full-time security police who watch over the students while they go about their campus life.

    Greek Life

    There is an active Greek Life at Northeast Texas Community College. There is Phi Theta Kappa, Sigma Kappa Delta and many others.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many opportunities to learn and serve at Northeast Texas Community College such as the Student Government Association, The History Club, the Student Optimist Club, the Shelby Automotive Club, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Student Nurses Club, the Eagle Ambassadors and many, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Northeast Texas Community College is great for EVERY type of student. Full-time, part-time, young, old, associates degree or certificate in one of the trades programs. What are you waiting for???

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northeast Texas Community college offers activities all during the school year. There is the annual college rodeo each year, the 5K run, the Kids at College Camp each summer and various concerts and plays at the Whatley Center

    Bang for the buck

    Northeast Texas Community College offers an excellent education that is affordable. The class sizes are small, so the professors have more time to spend with individual students. Tutition is much lower than that of a private school or university.

    What to do for fun

    Northeast Texas Community College offers not only excellent opportunities in academics, but it offers many different clubs which you can join. There is a first-rate academic program, a fantastic nursing program, a rodeo club and many social clubs to enjoy as well.

    Food and Dining

    Northeast Texas Community College has a wide variety of foods to satisfy many different students attending school here. The food is hot and ready to go when you need it. The Student Union Building has a fun environment and is the place to hang out when you have free time between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Northeast Texas Community College has state-of-the-art dorms available for those who choose to reside at the college. New dorms were just opened in the Fall of 2012. Although it is a small campus, there are plenty of opportunities to meet new people and get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor required at Northeast Texas Community College is of the highest quality. The faculty and staff make sure that their students are ready to enter the workforce or to transfer to a four-year university with the tools needed for success!

    Tips for prospective students

    Northeast Texas Community college advisors are always willing and able to answer any questions you may have. Ask many, ask often!!

    In three sentences

    Northeast Texas Community College is helping me as a college senior to realize my dream to become a nurse.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, Film Club, SGA, Theatre Club

    What to do for fun

    Join groups or clubs to get involved in the social climate of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be easy to fall into the routine of putting things off til the last minute, and I know this happens at every college but it's not advisable. Keep in mind that the classes are easier than at larger universities because it is a smaller more personable college but that doesn't mean you can slack off completely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to weigh out your schedule before piling on the classes, you don't want to be overworked and overstressed.

    In three sentences

    In short, it's a very small community college right outside of town. The most accurate description would be like saying it's 13th year straight from high school or for adults wanting to return to school after a while. It is a good place to start getting basics and preparing for a transfer to a 4 year university.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is plenty of cameras and security personal driving around so it is pretty safe to even leave your car unlocked

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs and activities that you get emails about with all the info you need and when they are. i am part of the Carroll Shelby Car Club

    Great for these types of students

    i know the automotive and auto body programs are amazing. from what i hear the nursing and police academy programs are great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NTCC does not have a football team we have a rodeo team i am from the country so to me thats a plus

    Bang for the buck

    for me and my field of study college is arrordable.

    What to do for fun

    i play pool, tennis, and i take my car to the skid pad and go drifiting

    Food and Dining

    as for the food its not the best but thats just what i think.

    Dorm Life

    for me im use to living alone but so far living in a dorm is good. the people here are very friendly. there is always some kind of activity like football or a game of horse shoes going on in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    in my field of study there are quit a few challenges. from diagnosing engine problems to engine building competitions.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would highly recommend anyone that wants to learn bout working on cars to look at this program. i have been working on cars for years and i have learned that you will never stop learning when it come to new technology. http://www.shelbyautotech.com/

    In three sentences

    i am in the Carroll Shelby Automotive Program and its amazing. The teachers are highly skilled and motivated to teach and help you learn and reach your goals in any way they can. The shop environment is up to date and relaxed no stress at all.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Small, town students. Rodeo students. Students who like small classes.

    What to do for fun

    The rodeo team, Bible study, and several other fun things!

    Food and Dining

    Decent food!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but have been told the dorms are nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up on time! Take good notes! Don't procrastinate! Pace yourself!

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice for a small school and the teachers are welcoming and teach well. The advisers are extremely helpful and get what you need fast!

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, their are lights all through the parking lot so it is well lit. Plus their are not that many night classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus was used to film a movie called Humans vs. Zombies.

    Bang for the buck

    The students are really friendly, the teachers encourage communication between students, which helps freshman open up, and not be afraid to talk during class. It also helps creat friendships outside of class time.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the softball/baseball games, attend a rodeo, or join an organization, they have plenty of activities to keep you busy, while having fun.

    Food and Dining

    Their is a variety of food to pick from, the dinning hall is big and their is plenty of space for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus, but the dorms are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of homework, depends on the teacher you have. Some classes are naturally hard, while others are easy. The the teachers are very understanding. You have to study, read the chapters before class, and come prepared to class everyday; their is no missing class, because that is how you fall behind on your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. As soon as you are accepted and have your student id, set up a meeting to talk to the counselors as soon as possible so you can have your schedule the way you want it to be. Classes fill up fast. 2. Get involved in organizations, you can make many new friends and that also looks good on resumes.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good starting school if you are undecided on your major. The teachers are kind, and very understanding of the time needed to complete homework, and study time for tests. the school is very friendly and has many organizations for students to become involved in.