Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northeast Wisconsin Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    returning adults.

    Bang for the buck

    extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    nwtc offers many activities for students. calenders are posted all around campus.

    Food and Dining

    i have never had the pleasure of eating in the cafeteria but i have heard the food is delicous.

    Academic Rigor

    great.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are many resources available for prospective students. the staff is very friendly and wants their students to succeeed. seek them out if you have any questions.

    In three sentences

    i am very happy with nwtc. i like all of my teachers, and the advisors are always willing to help.

  • 09/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good prices

    Will enjoy being here

    My older brother goes to school here and loves it!

    Will learn a lot

    Of course you will learn a lot Welcome to College!

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    probably the best campus safety i have seen, with one of the best criminal justice programs in the nation, so many safety oriented people are walking around and there is always a campus safety presence in the parking lots, especially at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    too many clubs to name them all, and an endless anount of activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who work well with othere students, who love to learn from other peoples experiances. the perfect place to ease into college, especially if your nervous about college.

    Bang for the buck

    great price, and greaet place to do some general studies courses before going to a 4 year university.

    What to do for fun

    great excersise facilities and an awesome program of intamural sports.

    Food and Dining

    nice clean cafeteria and great coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are tough but the techers make the stress level low by really caring about you and trying their hardest to make sure you are successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you need to have teachers who care, and know you, and will get to know you, this is the place to be. a great way to ease into college.

    In three sentences

    northeast wisconsin technical college is a place to learn in an environment where learning is made easier. classrooms are made comfortable by teachers who care, specifically about you. a place where you are proud to go because you know that the teachers and staffs goal is that you be successful, and they tell you exactly that.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nwtc is located in a very safe area and has a great campus security system.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are an endless amount of clubs and activities at nwtc. including program related clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    nwtc is great for students who want to experience college on a budget.

    Bang for the buck

    teachers philosophy is to give you a big bang for your buck. they rarely dismiss early so they have opportunity to teach you as much as possible and be sure you retain your new knowledge

    What to do for fun

    fun around the campus includes frequent movies playing on campus before they are released on dvd. student life center offers a game room featuring a pool table, air hockey, and arcade

    Food and Dining

    food is fairly good. there are many fast-food options around the area as well.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available. student life center will help to find housing unites if necessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    meet with your adviser once month at the least.

    In three sentences

    fun, easy paced school with a large diversity. creative and adaptive teaching techniques. they cater to your needs to succeed.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    young adults, returning adults and even the elderly

    Bang for the buck

    it is amazingly less expensive than the other two year colleges in the area.

    What to do for fun

    there is a gym and a rec area. they also have a small theater with movies playing all the time.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is okay, not necessarily the best. we also have a coffee shop that is amazing and many restaurants near school.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms as it is a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    i have to admit, it is not as hard as i had anticipated it to be. however, we do a lot of group work so it is important to want to work with others.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask for help when you need it, not when you are falling behind. make sure to use all of the resources available (tutors, special needs, etc.). make friends with fellow students and don't be afraid to take chances.

    In three sentences

    i love the school because the atmosphere is very welcoming. most of the instructors are here to help you and have been in your shoes. it is wonderful that they try very hard to get adults to return to school as well!

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everyone there is always there to help students out when they need a voice to listen, or just need directions to their next class.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of them for new and returning students

    Great for these types of students

    those who are shy can get a start on their education and make friends as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bathrooms are a great place to make new friends.

    Bang for the buck

    you get the classes that are fun to learn, and the teachers that are well-qualified to do so.

    What to do for fun

    check out the exercise room, it's fun to stay involved in your own health.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is good, and good for you.

    Academic Rigor

    they teach the material with great intent.

    Tips for prospective students

    focus, focus, focus. try your best, always. learning is fun when you stay motivated.

    In three sentences

    have a great time with your classmates learning the new material. enjoy the fun atmosphere. learn with teachers who enjoy what they are teaching.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa honor society

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good place to start. Some courses offered at 4-year schools can be taken here for much cheaper!

    What to do for fun

    Homework!

    Food and Dining

    It's acceptable

    Academic Rigor

    Moderately challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind when it comes to working with others. Always strive to do your best work, always.

    In three sentences

    NWTC has been a great place to learn. The best part has been the emphasis on teamwork. I've learned how to be a team player and focus on achieving goals on behalf of others as well as myself.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NWTC offers multiple activities to do throughout the week, as well as having a game room and movie theater. Students often can get together and have a great time using the recreational facilities offered, usually for free!

    Tips for prospective students

    NWTC offers several ways to assist with understanding your classroom materials. Taking advantage of the tutoring sessions and writing lab they offer will greatly help increase your understanding of the material assigned to you in class, and will most likely help your grade as well!

    In three sentences

    NWTC creates a great atmosphere to learn. Teachers are all willing to help you learn and actually want you to succeed. I have never had a less than satisfying experience with scheduling classes, or other things to prepare me for my upcoming years.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students, its a great learning place for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    There is a little movie theater, the student life area has a lot of things for students to do, there is an arcade, and if you don't know what is going on they always post a monthly calendar around campus to promote student involvement.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafateria is big has a lot going on, and great food choices!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your previous knowledge. As long as you go to class and do what you need to do you'll do fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help. It may seem fun to skip class, don't, it will only hurt you. Despite some of their rules, the instructors only want you to succeed. Make sure you can handle a large class load before you sign up for one.

    In three sentences

    NWTC is a great school with great instructors. The counselors and all other employees of the school are there to help you and they do a fantastic job. The other students attending are nice, generous, and very helpful also!

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you feel uncortable walking to your car at night, security will escort you.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is welcome here. It is a very diverse college

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is reasonable for a great education!

    What to do for fun

    There is a Student Life office that offers many extracirricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining area are great and fast for students on the go.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Very professional environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor to help guide you into a career path.

    In three sentences

    NWTC cares about its students. They are there to help each student succeed and be successfull in their career. Best college in the shortest amount of time.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security makes themselves seen.

    Great for these types of students

    Returing adults will enjoy the flexibility in the course offerings as well as the cost.

    Bang for the buck

    Great!!!

    What to do for fun

    On campus and off there is a lot to do in the Green Bay area.

    Food and Dining

    Great facility, inexpensive with nice variety. The staff are friendly as well.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the courses you take. I found Pshychology to be an easy course, while Anatomy and Physiology was challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just take the steps you need to get started on the path to further your education. Here or somewhere else. Just do it.

    In three sentences

    NWTC is a great place to jump start your education. Scheduling is flexible; eveningin, daytime, weekend and online classes are offered. A great place for a returing adult.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always different activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tough but the teachers will help if you ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do talk to your teachers.

    In three sentences

    This school has up dated resources which makes it easy to find any information you need. All the employees are very helpful whether they are your teacher or not. This school makes it not stressful to learn.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vending machines only although they do have special events such as birthdays cupcakes

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    In three sentences

    It has great teachers and an interesting environment to learn. It has the only fire protection class in the area.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of fun activities available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always goto a counselor when seleting courses, and get a tour.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Northeast Wisconsin Technical College. This school has been very helpful and I actually feel secure in attending it.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    student life not that great

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard

    In three sentences

    Provides a quality teaching. They provide high quality hands on learning. All for a good cost.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit up at night. There is always, seven days a week, several security vehicles driving the grounds. There are also security walking the campus. I feel completely safe when I'm on campus or leaving campus, no matter what time of night it may be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs to mention and so many volunteer opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Every day there is something fun going on. They have family movie nights several times a week, ping pong tournaments, bands, beach party picnics with free food, involvement fairs, career days, air hockey tournaments, and so much more. Every month, NWTC celebrates a different heritage; the school strongly supports diversity.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is awesome and very reasonably priced. Besides the cafeteria, there are little coffee shops and bake shops throughout campus, along with a giant vending machine area.

    Dorm Life

    NWTC does not provide dorm units.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is very casual. I have never had an instructor who was strict; as long as assignments are on time and respect is shown; which should always be the case. I have, absolutely, loved every instructor I have had in the past and the present.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize your academic advisor; they are a great help when deciding on programs and courses. The Dean and Assistant Dean are always willing to schedule an appointment with you and help in any way they can. Online courses are great; they run very smoothly and a student learns important information from their classmates through the discussion boards.

    In three sentences

    I rate NWTC very high. They offer many programs along with a very supportive team of instructors. The campus is nicely laid out and very easy to find your way around.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, I have never been in any sort of danger or had problems with other students.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student, but especially for those who like a more one on one relationship.

    What to do for fun

    There are so may activities going on at NWTC that you won't ever be bored, when you can hang out with friends or go play some pool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get behind on your work because it can get overwhelming depending on your class schedule. Try to get a long with your instructor in order to have a healthy relationship and you can understand each other.

    In three sentences

    NWTC is a very pleasant school to attend because of the one on one attention you may receive from your professors. Makes you feel very welcome and comfortable. You cannot go wrong with NWTC.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The best thing about NWTC is how safe it is. I left a computer cable in the cafeteria and somebody found it and turned it in. I've never heard of any serious crime on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very little social life. Clubs are created and disappear quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    Good bang for the buck if you have your bar of expectations set pretty low.

    What to do for fun

    The game room is OK. The gym is dismal. The showers are cold.

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking general studies courses here with the intent of transferring to a 4-year UW. If you can afford not to do this, don't. These classes are like high school classes and will not prepare you for the rigors of a real university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here for general studies. You will be disappointed in the quality of the classes. Don't go here if you are a special needs student. You will be disappointed. I have a good friend with AS. He is not getting the accommodations they promised him. Teachers and staff keep dropping balls. The accommodations staff members talk at him very fast and don't listen at all. I'm the only one listening to him. I'm encouraging him not to give up. It's very sad. I hope he gets through this and transfers somewhere that will be more understanding.

    In three sentences

    Don't expect too much. The facility is much higher quality than the staff and instructors (with a few exceptions). The accommodations staff seems to have little understanding of the needs of the students that they are supposed to be serving.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    GO to the movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time for class and don't do them when you feel like it make a set day each week.

    In three sentences

    Good class selection. Easy to understand. Don't overload with homework.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never felt unsafe while at the school. There are cameras throughout the entire parking lot to ensure that nothing gets stolen or damaged. I would also assume that there are many cameras in the school. The one thing that disappointed me: The school does not have an emergency drill that I know of. With all of the school shootings, I believe there should be a drill or escape plan for something of that nature.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities. I was not involved in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for adults, students who took a break, unsure students, or those who can not handle difficult classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I am aware of. I enjoy the sitting areas off the hallways to do homework.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are expensive for being a technical college, but then again I do not have any other school tuition to compare to. The books are expensive. I rarely had to use my books and only got a third of what I paid back during the buy back. Some books I never even opened.

    What to do for fun

    I was not involved in any extra activities. There is a theatre room, game room, and gym. Some people workout and play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat at the cafeteria. I think it is too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There were not any hard classes that I encountered. I took math, physics, human anatomy, race, contemporary American society, English composition, intro to psychology, developmental psychology. They all included assignments, tests, and some projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always double check all of your classes and obligations that must be fulfilled. Make sure you are enrolled in the correct classes. Apply and register early so that the classes are not full.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of programs to choose from and it is easy to get accepted. The school has good resources, including labs and tutors. Office employees do not know enough information.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security trucks that are constantly driving around campus to make sure it is safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not quite sure what this means,

    Clubs and Activities

    NWTC promotes and offers many programs and activities to take part in, such as book clubs, trips, and even sports.

    Great for these types of students

    NWTC can fit for any student. They have many programs to choose from whether you attend in person or online.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The NWTC Green Bay campus is huge, but it is also so unique and fun to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    NWTC is the only school I have found that I truly believe you get the most fore your money.

    What to do for fun

    NWTC always has something going whether it is a fundraiser, fair, or fun activity that all can enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a diverse choice of food. It is an excellent place to enjoy a meal.

    Dorm Life

    I do not take part in dorm living, but I hear it is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculums are easy to understand and the learning experience is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes, be sure to print off all syllabuses and make sure to ask any questions you may have. The teachers are there to make sure you succeed, but you have to take initiative.

    In three sentences

    NWTC is a great school for any age. They give you the most for your money. I would recommend this school to anybody furthering their education.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a TV lounge, a movie lounge, a game room, a gym, and there are clubs you can join. You can have a lot of fun just meeting new people and making friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a whole lot of food choices for the cafeteria and most of it is a little bit pricey. There are a lot of vending machines including coffee machines around the school so you can always get snacks during the day. Most of the teachers are okay with you having some food in class as long as you don't make a mess or bother other students. I would recommend just bringing lunch or snacks from home to eat during the day.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorms. The campus is set up really nice. there are lots of areas with chairs or couches set up so you can hang out or study. All the furniture is really comfortable and the school just made some renovations around the campus. They put in new carpeting in a lot of areas and I think they got some more, new furniture. It all looks really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes and programs you are in. Some classes have a lot of homework, some classes have a lot of projects, and some classes have mainly in class work and discussions. The work isn't too hard as long as you keep up with it and not put it off to the last minute. If you're having any problems, the teachers are really nice and try to make themselves available to you to help and answer your questions. Some classes can be kind of boring, but most are pretty nice and have fun teachers. If you try and show that you care about your education, your teachers will really try to make sure you do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask your teachers for help or ask for tutoring! Everyone at the school is really nice and laid back and all the teachers are willing to help you. also, make sure you get to your classes on time or a little early. Most teachers won't yell at you or anything for being a little late, but it comes off as rude and discourages them from going out of their way to help you. If you make a good impression and show you care, you won't have any problems at all. Also, showing up early helps you get a better parking spot. The lots can fill up pretty quick.

    In three sentences

    I really like going to school here. The classes are pretty small which lets you know your teachers better and you get more of a one-on-one experience in your classes. Everyone is really nice and helpful especially during your first semester. My only complaints are that the parking lots fill up really quickly and the cafeteria isn't that great. Otherwise, everything else is really nice. The teachers are all really friendly, there's lots of places to hang out or study, and the students all seem nice.