Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeastern Illinois University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northeastern has a texting and e-mail service to let students know everything from harsh weather conditions or crimes that may have happened in the area. You sign up through the school provided e-mail system.

    Greek Life

    During the warmer months, there are always little events held by students in clubs looking to gain members.

    Clubs and Activities

    During the warmer months, there are always little events held by students in clubs looking to gain members.

    What to do for fun

    The P.E complex always has great activities going on year round. So if you want a good fun work out, check the scheduled events there.

    Food and Dining

    Northeastern's Subway, Mexican food stand, and Salad Bar have really great food. The Asian food stand is no Panda Express but it's okay. To buy lunch everyday can get costly with the lowest price at every stand being between 5-6 dollars for a good filling meal. The lunch room is very well kept and there's always seating.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the teachers I had at Northeastern were very fair in the grading. They always remind the class when homework, exams/tests/quizzes, and papers were going to be due. They provided help/tutoring. They we're very exact about what they wanted out of the class's work too. They were understanding about late work or if personal problems conflicted with class attendance, if warned ahead of time via e-mail or told at a previous class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help! Especially for little things like directions, everyone is very kind and will stop to help.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern has a very comfortable environment. Teachers that you don't even have will ask you about your day and classes, they'll even offer any help that you would need. As well with the students, everyone is very talkative and welcoming.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NEIU has a reputation for providing affordable education for many years now. The school is one of the cheapest forms of higher education in the Chicago land area. Recently it was ranked amongst the highest schools with the less amount of graduates leaving without debt.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life at NEIU is complicated as the school is a commuter school. Needless to say many friendly people attended this university and there’s always something to get involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    Northeastern Illinois University is filled with delightful professors that go beyond the basic expectations in helping student’s succeed in their classes. All of my professors have flexible offer hours, and tutors are available free of charge by the university in the library.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    not too much social life, but good for the academic who works.

    In three sentences

    great professors that have a real interest in what the teach. nice facilities.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a pretty safe campus, i do see campus police around to make sure everything is ok.

    Great for these types of students

    Student that tend on working full time and being students full time.

    What to do for fun

    It's not really a traditional big college, it's more for students that just want continue there education also for those who do not plan on dorming , it's more of a community area than bars or anything you'd expect from a University.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch cafeteria is ok, wasn't anything special to me.

    Dorm Life

    I believe Northeastern does not provide any dorms for students.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is no so strict as with out Universities, there a bit more understanding and give you a chance to makeup any missing work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy to speak with your professors, all the professors I've had have been great whenever i had any questions or concerns regarding any class work.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy that Northeastern Illinois is a very diverse school. Professors are willing to spend time with you and help you do your best in class. Northeastern Illinois is a great school if you want to attend a smaller school than your traditional Division 1 schools.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NEIU is greatly priced for any student! The quality of the education being taught is amazing here and definitely worth the price a student pays to attend this college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although it is a commuter school and you don't quite get the whole college experience, you do get to focus more on your school work. Making friends and finding your way around the school is still easy and fun.

    Am learning a lot

    NEIU is a great commuter university. The professors are super nice and are always willing to meet with students who need one-on-one time and need extra help. Classes are great sizes (even the lecture classes as well!) and most classes are taught at a great pace.

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that NEIU would be the best fit for English, Music, Psychology, Art, or Teaching majors. The faculty in these areas seem to excel over the rest

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look into my teachers carefully but don't always listen to what people say. Talk to students who did well in any class your interested since they will have the best viewpoint on the material and teacher.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on what you are planning to study. The biology and chemistry labs seemed to be missing some equipment. There were many times when two groups needed to share some of the tools and machinery. Other than that you get what you pay for.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed being here because of the friends I made. I ended up taking many classes with a group of people throughout my last year here and they made those classes enjoyable.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot in my general education classes. Once I got into the class more for my major (Biology) the teachers got harder to understand and keep up with. I felt like I was doing majority of the learning outside of my classes just because the teacher wasn't able to express themselves very well.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your looking to either teach or be a Computer science major the school is the place for that and also if your looking to just take General Ed courses and transfer which people have done in a 2 year gap its a place to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have money everyday for food or bring food from home if you take long classes because being on campus will make you want to spend lots on food. Be sure to work your butt off on the courses you choose and take and be wise on those choices becasue choosing the classes is key in order to know what you really want to take.

    Bang for the buck

    The food prices are a pain in the cafeteria but the book store is decent just doesnt have sandwiches much just chips and drink and other stuff but mostly snack based which is ok when you need a quick fix

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being near the school, its a walking distance instead of having to take buses and wake up super early not to miss a bus to getto school because traffic can be harsh in the mornings. I also have some good friends there to so i can hang out with them and just spend time on campus and off.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned a lot from my friends and some good professors who really do care that they are teaching. Some of the professors are hard but places that on the students so they work hard too and it just takes time and patience with the teachers you choose.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police cars patrol campus regularly and emergency poles are also available.

    Great for these types of students

    for those majoring in education.

    Bang for the buck

    this school really gives you the bang for the buck. relatively low tuition comparatively.

    What to do for fun

    keep an eye out for events in village sqaure. join a variety of student oragnizations or hang out in the student union.

    Food and Dining

    has a good variety from healthy to junk foods. the cafeteria is a great hangout. sometimes you can expect to see some sort of entertainment there.

    Academic Rigor

    it is not very high. they don't have a very high standard for academic rigor. yet the school barely accepts ap credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    good for those majoring in education, language, bio. god for all types of education: secondary, elementary, or special education as well.

    In three sentences

    northeastern is a great school located in chicago's albany park neighborhood. it has a culturally diverse student body to make you feel welcome. it is a commuter school, so take the cta, ride your bike, or drive your car to school.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i definitely feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    there is a greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    wide variety of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    Bang for the buck

    classes are better than classes i've taken at a 40,000 school.

    What to do for fun

    student union activities

    Food and Dining

    subway and a few other food options.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus/off campus living

    Academic Rigor

    there are definitely rigorous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit! get a feel for the school!

    In three sentences

    northeasten is a great school, it allows you to have the flexibility you need. there are some really nice resources avaliable to you as you need them too. also since it is a smaller school, help from professors and having professors know you is very possible.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this university is very safe, there are police inside and outside of the building and they are always willing to help.

    Greek Life

    there are many sororities and fraternity if looking to have fun, network, relating to people and to get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs that i cannot list all them but chances are there is a club for every student interest such as latina in power, islam, anime, and chess club.

    Great for these types of students

    laid back, fun, smart, out going students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    many events will take place at village square which is open for everyone but also there is always a bake sale as well, so if you have a sweet tooth and are craving fresh pastries you will be happy.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap university with a lot of personality. you will be very happy attending, there are many tutors if seeking additional help also teachers are always available during office hours to break down information if having a hard time.

    What to do for fun

    there is a gym, pool, sona, and many events that take place year round such as fall into fun. there is also great deals, raffles, and giveaways such as bull tickets.

    Food and Dining

    great food and variety, different prices if you are on a budget.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at northeastern illinois university

    Academic Rigor

    teachers are very strict when it comes to homework and tardiness but they are preparing you for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    read chapter before lectures and do all of your homework it is the best way to prepare for test.

    In three sentences

    northeastern illinois university is a very great university to attend for a bachelors. there are many science majors and art majors, each teachers have there own personality and will remember you through out the years.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    neiu is one of the most ethnically diverse universities in the midwest, and it shows- you get to meet people from all different backgrounds!

    Food and Dining

    there are various food options in the cafeteria, plus a subway, which is the most affordable.

    Dorm Life

    they don't have dorms at neiu, but there has been talk about possibly building some.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on the class and the professor, just like most colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    fill out financial aid forms asap! financial aid office gets really crowded, all year round.

    In three sentences

    neiu is one of the most affordable universities in chicago. the professors are dedicated to help you succeed and i've known many peers go on to depaul and u. of i. for masters and doctorates. as a commuter school, the students tend to be more mature than at a traditional state university.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    can't really rate this one, sorry

    Greek Life

    they did not return my emails

    Clubs and Activities

    i have really tried to get involved here. i emailed sororities/fraternities as well as many other clubs and have recieved no helpful feed back. it appears alot of the organizations reach day time students and not so much night time students. i am about to get involved in the student social work organization and am a member of the veteran's club.

    Great for these types of students

    there is a great veteran population att his campus. there is a veteran's club and the veteran counselors are most helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    huge bang for your buck at any learning institution, however the knowledge i am reacieving is well worth a 45 min drive to and from school on class days!

    What to do for fun

    they have clubs and sports here, however the sports are more club sports not sport sports.

    Food and Dining

    food areas close early and i am a night student

    Dorm Life

    this is a commuter school, no dorms avail., however, this is something that they are talking about changing.

    Academic Rigor

    the instructors are very knowledgable on the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) create a plan 2)get involved 3) do your homework 4) search for scholarships/grants

    In three sentences

    northeastern seems to be a great educational institution. some of the staff could/clubs could be a little more cooperative though. i feel i am learning so much here and recomend this university to people all the time.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my time here, but I am an older student. Northeastern is a commuter school, so it does not have to traditional college atmosphere. The professors are excellent, and there are tons of opportunities for serious students.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Work, reading, research, and time management are the essentials to be successful. The CCICS is no joke when it come to academics, you will work, and for that part the University in general will have you doing the pertinent work to educate yourself to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take education serious, become mindful that with proper education comes work. Its taken my several years to grasp education period, and as a person you have to want to know more, but be open to what instructors put out, and take it upon yourself to put in the pertinent work and research.

    In three sentences

    I love Northeastern Illinois, especially the Carruthers Center for Inner-City Studies (CCICS) (The Center). This campus is located in the historical community of Bronzeville on the South Side of Chicago. The main campus is ok, but it doesn't in my opinion touch the CCICS information and history wise, just my opinion.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never had any problems

    Greek Life

    has a few but they are not very large

    Clubs and Activities

    was not involved

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do not want to have the partying college experience

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cafe is a nice spot

    Bang for the buck

    if planning to attend another college after, save your money and go to a community college

    What to do for fun

    not much to do on campus

    Food and Dining

    many options including mexican, indian, subway, salad bar and even sushi

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    did not find the classes to be overly challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Only attend if you plan on staying there till graduation, credits are hard to transfer

    In three sentences

    Its is a small nice school with many good teacher but most students just go to class and leave. Do not expect to make many lasting friends just class acquaintances.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never witnessed any crime on campus and security is always around.

    Greek Life

    The greek life have increased and their are now many greek orgs on campus. We have a greek org fest to meet everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of orgs and activities on this small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a university with manageable tuition for those of middle and lower class. You receive a good education for a good price.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is in the city so there are many places to go out for fun. The campus has many orgs that have many events to go to.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of food in the food court and there are places around the campus in close distance to go eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life because there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like diversity you will like it here. Your not just a number, the classes are small so you get to know everyone. Asks questions and be persistent with your classes when registering.

    In three sentences

    Its a diverse University which I love. The tuition is reasonable for the non rich. The teachers are good but the selections of class are limited.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe, I am never worried about my safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious and focused students

    What to do for fun

    The PE complex offers alot of fun stuff to do, such as rock climbing. The music/drama department also holds concerts and plays.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway in the cafeteria that is very popular. There are good sandwhiches sold by the cafeteria, but can be very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great, especially the music teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If youre looking for a party school this is not the school for you.

    In three sentences

    It is a quiet school, making it easy for students to focus. It great for students who are just starting college, as well as those who are going back to college. It is no where near a party school, it is very good for focused students.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am still getting used to the place, and still finding out new things about it. I think that as long as you make new friends you'll get to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have to admit that I haven't tried that yet.

    Dorm Life

    I live close by so I don't live in dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, ask questions, and make new friends in each class.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place whit lots of opportunities. It has many activities. The teachers are very good.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there is always a Chicago police officer that works the front desk security.

    Bang for the buck

    Northeastern is phenomenal when it comes to tuition. You receive a great education without paying big bucks. In times like these we could all advantage from that.

    Food and Dining

    At the CCICS campus we have a small cafeteria and vending machines. There's also a small catering company that visits once a week, there menu options has a variety of choices to chose from and a lot of healthy food items.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the CCICS campus and there aren't any dorms, but it's okay with me because I have a family and I prefer to stay at home. I know there are many others that would love dorm life, sorry that's one thing they don't have.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Northeastern provide you with everything needed for assignments, everything is explained clearly on their syllabus with all the deadline dates. There are also reminders given regularly because teaches are aware that a lot of students live very full lives. They also will let you email work if there is en emergency and you can't make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask for help with anything. The staff and the students that I have came into contact with are always courteous and willing to help. I have also made new study buddies.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern is a good college to attend in my opinion. The professors are very knowledgeable of their professions always keeping you on your toes learning new things. The class room sizes are small providing you with more one-on-one attention and contact.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has security buttons. You push the button say your problem and the security will arrive in minutes.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and clubs

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home, but sometimes I eat at the fast food resaturants there.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes and professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get lost.

    In three sentences

    Its a big campus with many buildings to explore. It has many activities from clubs to sports. I also like it because it has small classes.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top priority

    Clubs and Activities

    To many to list.

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to meet new people and break stereotypes

    What to do for fun

    swimming

    Food and Dining

    quite good

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very vigorish

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for those who are interested in a career in education, and Tech.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NEIU offers many extracurricular activities. There are several different fun things to do such as magic shows, talent shows, games, and many more. Since NEIU gives such fun stuff each semester, students can relax and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered at NEIU is delicious most of the time. The good thing is sometimes they serve ethnic food. For example, they served Chana Masala and Samosa(an Indian food). As an Indian, I was happy because they had served my ethnic food. The sad thing is that they are not serving ethnic foods this year for some reason. The dining area is pretty big and there is a lot of space for students to sit where they wish to.

    Dorm Life

    NEIU does not provide dorms because it is a not a big university. Apart from that, it is located in the local area where students can use transportation to get to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    NEIU is a good place for a decent academic standing. They offer many courses for students with different majors. The only thing is that NEIU does not have any special programs offered for students who want to go into medical field.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to be able to step into NEIU, it is always to good to get good grades, good G.P.A. Apart from classes, it is always good to take part in extracurricular activities to get involved. Also, taking part in a Student Government will prepare you with good leadership skills that will be useful not only in college, but also in the future.

    In three sentences

    NEIU provides students with many different courses to choose from. The campus itself is very diverse. The programs, clubs, and other extracurricular activities offered at NEIU appeals to many students and makes it more lively.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are telephones for emergencies on campus and police are there within thirty seconds if there is an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything from radio host to ethnic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are outgoing, dedicated, and hard working.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many things to do at NEIU. It is exceptionally rewarding if you are a music major. There are many people here for Biology and Business as well.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Go work out in the PE building. Go to the library and read.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really nice and there's a subway.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I already have assignments assigned and it's the first week of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carry a map, you will get lost. I do all the time. Get to know your teachers. Be friendly and make new friends. Explore the campus and find something to do because you will need to kill time in between classes occasionally.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern is AMAZING if you are a music major like me. Any of the classes are really interesting. The campus is beautiful.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It has great diversity. There is a place for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It's one of the most cost conscious universities in the state of Illinois. It is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There could be more variety.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on time.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois University has a welcoming environment. The faculty and staff are always eager to help the student. They provide the the prospective student with the tools to make an informed decision.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always around, in and out of the buildings.

    Greek Life

    Check out the Student Leadership Department's website.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a designated Student Activity Hour, so that many of the students and faculty can attend, without missing class. There are Sorority and Fraternity Clubs, Poetry, Art, Music, Religious, Multicultural, Ethnic, Women-focused, Law, Hip-Hop, Jazz and Journalism Clubs, literary magazines and newspapers, Student Union, Student Leadership, Study Abroad/Scholarship programs, a full-sized, well-equipped gym, with a pool, a Ping Pong table and a Rock-climbing Wall, Art Exhibits, themed parties/events off-campus, conferences and keynote speakers. There are too many clubs/organizations for me to list.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any student interested in attending, even Senior Citizens. I like the diversity of the university.

    What to do for fun

    If you have trouble finding a club to join or something to do at this school, then you're not looking. From Bake Sales to movies, Talent Shows to Art Exhibits, poetry to theatrical productions...there is something for everyone. I joined my schoolmates IN the 83rd Annual Bud Billiken Parade, this year.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines all over campus, in nearly every building. There is a Subway restaurant, in addition to another restaurant that serves a small variety of meal choices, along with sandwiches and desserts. The school bookstore also sells a nice variety of drinks and snack food, including a selection of healthy cookies that taste rather good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I cannot rate it fairly.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm still learning about my school, but so far, the expectations are the same across the board...a solid education you can be proud of. To help every student be successful, the University has several programs in place, for those who want, or need, it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every college student should know what Credits you already have, what and how many Credits you WILL need, and which Credits will transfer to another program or school. Check this out for yourself, in addition to working with an Academic Advisor. Also, check to see what work experience or training you already have, that includes volunteer work AND high school courses and activities, that you may be able to get college credit for...less classes taken, less money spent.

    In three sentences

    NEIU was recently rated one of the cheapest 4-year universities to attend. NEIU is very active in the community. NEIU has a LOT of student-centered activities available and it has been a great experience for me.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very clean, open and compact campus, well lit and in a safe area.

    Greek Life

    There are over 20 fraternities and sororities, including co-ed and GLBTQ.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are fraternities, sororities and clubs of every kind and measure. There are centers and groups tailored to every student possible.

    Great for these types of students

    All students except medical.. we have science, business, fine art, social sciences and music, amongst others I am unaware of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a TV, Radio and Broadcasting channel, WTTW, that holds its building on our campus. There is an interesting interchange between the station and our students and sometimes some opportunity for crossover.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the 6th most inexpensive University in the nation, and it is the most diverse in the Midwest. It holds great accolade particularly in the Education Department, along with the Psychology department, and others.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus weekly to offer us so extra activities and excitement, including DJ's, raffles and barbeques.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options for food including a salad bar, several ethnic warm meals served and a Subway, with various snack and coffee bars and much access to close by food services.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, it is a communter university.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very relatable and I feel like the courses are easy to adapt to, there are so many opportunities for outside help and tutoring, the school goes out of its was to provide academic sucess for its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are integrated in all of the online systems for updates on class work and school happenings.

    In three sentences

    It is a well kept beautiful campus, very organized staffing, accomadating and effortless systems.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of activities suitable to every charachter. Besides Chicago downtown is just a few minutes away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to register. There is long lines at the registration desk.

    In three sentences

    This is a university for students looking for high educational standards. You will earn your degree as fast as you are able to. You will not find yourself looking to take classes at other colleges as this university offers a wide array of classes here.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a definite bang for your buck, the price is very reasonable for what you get - a GREAT education.

    What to do for fun

    Because I am an adult student I do not always participate in all of the activities that they have to offer, but just looking at their activity boards there is always something to do throughout the entire day.

    Food and Dining

    I take night courses, so I am not always able to make it by 6pm which is when their food services (or at least subway) shuts down, but I am sure glad that their vending machines take debit cards, because I do not always have cash on me.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a dorm so I unfortunately cannot speak to this.

    Academic Rigor

    Their courses in Economics for me at least showed me a different sort of economics (I am a much older student), it is very challenging, but I see that I am not only learning but applying for what I learned in one course is spilling over into others for Econ.

    Tips for prospective students

    The website that they have is great for giving you all the information you need as to the steps you need to follow to be on the right track to graduate, especially if you are a transfer student like me. Also once you speak to one person in enrollment services, your advisor or wherever/whomever stay with that one person, they can point you to the extra people you need to speak with with the parts of your process that they are skilled in, but always start and end with them.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois University is a great school for a working person. They have availability in the evenings and at least with this year they scheduled classes in my major of Economics where if I wanted to I can take 2 classes in the evening in one night. They have great class availability; i.e. they have required classes for your major in reasonable times for a day worker to take in the evening.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a very safe feel about it. Once, I was leaving the library at about 8 o'clock at night after a serious study session and I expected to be freaked out when going outside after dark, but the campus felt really safe. The lights made everything brighter and feel ok. We also have these pillars scattered around the campus that have a button in the middle. If there's ever an emergency, you would press the button and help would arrive soon.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are actually serious about learning. The workload will be tough if you plan to party every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Inside the school, we have subway and a salad bar, mexican food, and chinese food. Outside, we have another chinese food place, a couple korean food places nearby, and a McDonalds and Jimmy Johns just a short walk away; beware of the high school kids nearby that go out during their lunch periods... they WILL swarm.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, I was never good at biology so when I went into Bio 201, it was very difficult for me. It forced me to study much harder than I ever have. However, math, english, and history come very easily. I think it depends on the person and how much time they are putting into learning the notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work hard and make use of the resources available to you(asking help from teachers, going to tutoring, etc.) you will succeed in all your subjects, even if they aren't your strong point. The teachers here really try their best to help you learn. Follow their tips and it'll come easily. All it really comes down to is how much time you're putting away for each class.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very beautiful and they host several events here. The teachers are really helpful and try hard to help you understand what you're learning. Finally, the people who go to northeastern are really unique and interesting; there's a lot more diversity than in high school.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus very secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined any yet but there are lots of options.

    Great for these types of students

    Multicultural students will feel at home. Many different nationalities and races at this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus location is by the cemetery and I am not a fan of that.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the professor's I have had are fantastic and really open you eyes to the real world. I have been introduced to tones of information that I had no clue about.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many clubs to join so if one has time they can do that.

    Food and Dining

    I was very disappointed with the cafeteria the food is awful and not much choice, Harper College provided better food and variety

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with the dorm life, I live in the suburbs and it isn't a bad ride to school, takes me about 25mins.

    Academic Rigor

    The school does challenge your ability and is tougher then a 2 year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with the counselors about scholarship opportunities and other resources that the school provides for students.

    In three sentences

    It is a multicultural school that is open for students with many different back grounds. The tuition is reasonable and not overly expensive. The school offers a broad variety of majors and takes lots of classes from transferred college students.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here if you need aid. They will refund you money and ask for it back without knowing why. No clear staff support for students.

    In three sentences

    Faculty is very helpful and friendly. Staff is unhelpful and financial aid department is a nightmare! If you don't need aid, the faculty are worth the attendance.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    none

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    anthropos club, i love it, it is my first meeting and it is great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i go on the November 1 and 2nd when they have the dia de os muertos event atte school.

    Bang for the buck

    nothing

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay, by very minimal. nothing to really choose from

    Dorm Life

    there is none

    Academic Rigor

    best to do see a advisor when choosing your classes nobody else helps you.

    Tips for prospective students

    always get help trying to find something good to do

    In three sentences

    it is okay if you switch majors like i did. They do not treat you any better. i went from spanish to anthropology and i actually love it better. those professors treat you with respect, the worlds culture an language do not. they do not even hel you with your next semester, by picking out your classes

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    State police

    Greek Life

    Does Not Know

    Great for these types of students

    students who really want to get the most out their investment and education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Pedsro Center it's for the students to receive counseling, get help, relax and it's multicultural center.

    What to do for fun

    Check out student activities

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in check with your progress enroll in programs to help with your goals Do your best

    In three sentences

    One of the most affordable Academically compatible great environment for learning

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXCELLENT! 5 stars

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about them, but they have fun activities during spirit week.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Work Association, Cultural Alliance, Justice Studies Club

    Great for these types of students

    All nationalities.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has been rank as number one as the most affordable school in Chicago.

    What to do for fun

    Plays, musicals, bake sales, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent! I would give them 5 stars.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have that there, but if they did, I'm quite sure I would give them 5 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    I give them 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    File your FAFSA application before you come to this school, less of the headache of waiting in line for someone to help you file for it. Take the courses you need first. Get involved in the school's functions and volunteer programs.

    In three sentences

    I give Northeastern Illinois University an A+ for outstanding professionalism within the school environment. The professors are fabulous. The enrollment process is incredible.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police available to the students and staff.

    Greek Life

    Somewhat popular.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals and a wide selection of activities.

    Bang for the buck

    As I explained before, it is the cheapest state university in Illinois and the sixth best value in the United States.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, spend time with friends and/or a significant other, take advantage of the physical education complex, etc.

    Food and Dining

    They have excellent food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class(es) you're taking, classes can be anywhere from very easy to very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class on time, pay attention in class, take notes, make friends, create support systems, study, join a club, etc.

    In three sentences

    NEIU is the most diverse school in the Midwest. It is also the cheapest state university in Illinois and it is the sixth best value in the nation. Other interesting facts is that it has one of the best education programs, one of the best political science programs, and one of the best music programs.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well light, with it's own police force. Very, very safe.

    Greek Life

    Small Greek Life that do not live is communal houses.

    What to do for fun

    There is always entertainment and performances on campus. Join a club and you can be part of all the excitement.

    Food and Dining

    There is small dinning area that has a Subway along with cafeteria food. However, like the campus book store it is very over priced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms : (

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too difficult if you keep up with assigned readings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not buy your books from the campus book store. They are over priced. Also, really plan out your classes so you are not suck taking a extra semester.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern is a great college for people who are not straight out of high school. This institution allows adults to learn, without feeling old or out of place. It has classes at all times of the day so that you can keep your full time job, while pursuing your degree.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have Quite a few Sororities and Fraternities, I am a Brother of Omega Delta Phi Fraternity Inc. a service social fraternity

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, i personally Joined the Mix Martial Arts club.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, not much variety.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club, or Fraternity (they are nothing like on T.V) they help you focus on your grades, and push you to be better.

    In three sentences

    Its a very small school, you'll find many colorful and supportive advisors, and professors. It also has many clubs to join.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is cheap, but there are other schools for somewhat the same price and they would probably look better on your diploma.

    What to do for fun

    Well because it's a commuter school there isn't too much to do, I guess you could join a fraternity/sorority.

    Food and Dining

    There are selections in the cafeteria such a Subway, Robinsons and more. There is not a large selection but it will do.

    Dorm Life

    Northeastern is a commuter school so there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy small classrooms and teachers being able to speak to every student in class, Northeastern is the school for that. it is also very easy to get along with people here even though there is not too much of a social scene.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would see for what you are buying the school is really good. The school for being a university is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym you could exercise in, they have tight rope obstacles. They also have a pool and racket ball. They also have a variety of sports to join.

    Food and Dining

    They're food is pretty good, the prices could be a little cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a very good academic team teaching here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help. If you do not understand something do not be afraid to ask for help. You are only helping yourself out in the end.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois has been very helpful when it came to getting academic help. The teachers are also very willing to meet up with the student when they need extra help. The campus is easy to get around.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no concerns here. There are cops inside the building, and around campus. They drive around the university making sure that the area is safe.

    Greek Life

    There are a few clubs, in the beginning they recruit and set up their posters and tables to get new members.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are sports intramural teams, no NCAA teams. There are a lot of groups and other activities for someone to join and make campus life more fun.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for students who want to be around a diverse group of students. Its good for suburbanites and people living in the city due to the location.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are none that i am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's affordable for a 4 year university. Its in the city in a great location.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the P.E complex, work out, play basketball, ping pong, racquetball, swim etc. Also hanging out in the Student union where most students meet and socialize.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and affordable, there is quite a variety, the only negative is that it is only for lunch because they close it in the afternoon so the late night students don't get to enjoy the options.

    Dorm Life

    none existing

    Academic Rigor

    it is not too hard. The class work is reasonable for the most part. Most teachers understand that many of us have other classes and jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont slack off, not even during your freshman year. Everything you learn you will probably need in the future.

    In three sentences

    Its a good community school, close to the city and surrounding suburbs. There is a lot of cultural diversity which makes classes interesting to see the different perspectives everyone has. Its affordable and the classes are fun although the campus life is not the best but there are no dorms which causes the university to sometimes feel like a community college.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good education for the price.

    What to do for fun

    student activities and study of course.

    Food and Dining

    Good food on campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are going for make sure to speak with counselors.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend with many great teachers.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I really appreciate how friendly the workers and teachers are to the people they interact with.

    What to do for fun

    I am new to Northeastern. This Summer semester is my first time attending and I like it so far. For fun, I enjoy sitting at the benches outside and observing my surroundings and doing listening to music. We all have different views of fun though.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten from the Descartes cafe and I enjoyed it. The food is fresh and is priced fairly. I also like the fact that it is convenient for students on the go.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on dorm life because I do not live on campus. I live with my mother.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor here at Northeastern is simple. Meaning, if you come to class, do your work, and participate, then you will pass. If you do not study, do your homework, or attend class, then you would either have a hard time staying afloat or fail the class(es). The teachers do work with you as long as you try to work with them as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Navigating around the school is easy. If you are looking for teachers that can work with you and your life schedule, Northeastern Illinois University is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois University has made my transition from a community college to a university as smooth as possible! I find it extremely imperative that I enjoy the teachers, as well as, the classes I take at Northeastern Illinois University to be challenging. The university as a whole has succeeded in making me love it!

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty generic. The cafe is somewhat expensive, and the drinks there are just okay. The cafeteria has various franchise outposts, such as subway and a couple others.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Northeastern. There are neighborhood apartments that are great for students, and even cater to students. But, as of yet, there are no dorms. There may be in the near future however, as there is some talk among the faculty and staff.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are northeastern are a great lot. They care about their respective disciplines and their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what your goals are. If you know what you want, right off the bat, coming in, you're on the high road to success. I highly recommend that prospective students do their research and speak with a counselor in order to maximize their academic success.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern is a great community college. It is affordable and has everything you need to succeed in whatever area you feel is your calling. Northeastern brings in a diverse lot of students too.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students who want affordable tuition and wide variety of classes to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Or do something in the city-- Chicago always has something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafeteria offerings. There are restaurants nearby if you have a car or bike.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school, so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    NEIU's nickname is Northeasy. That being said, you can definitely choose to challenge yourself academically here and get a lot out of the experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely meet with an advisor to talk about your options. Their website doesn't do the best job laying out all the programs and opportunities available, so the best way to learn is by actually speaking to someone.

    In three sentences

    NEIU is a great value school. They offer a large selection of classes, have a diverse student body, and affordable tuition rates. Though they're a bit of a commuter school, they seem like they also have an active student body.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus for the students. The Physical Education campus ( tuition includes the gym and pool ) is a good way to kill some time in between classes. The student union has always something going on, it is rarely boring on campus in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    I love NEIU's cafeteria ! It is clean, food is good(there is a salad bar, sandwiches, subway, mexican, chinese). Removed one star since the food is pricey.

    Dorm Life

    NEIU does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you are taking. The general education classes are fairly easy however as you progress in your degree requirements you will notice the classes get harder. I have always been a full time student and I am able to work and get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to schedule your orientation. Always go see your academic advisor to help you pick classes you really need ( do not spend more money than you already need to on classes that do not count for your general ed or major/minor). The tutoring services and writing lab are great and the personal is very friendly( feel free to go there anytime - some requries appointments).

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois University has a great location since you do not have to go all the way downtown to get to a state University. The teachers are very attentive and their office hours are very flexible and respond to their emails in a timely matter. Overall, I really enjoy being a student here.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Also North Park, Albany Park, or Jefferson Park are not safe at all. There is shooting almost every day. There are lots of gangs, and they kill each other all the time. Sometimes they shoot innocent people because they think that they are members of the gang which is their enemy

    Clubs and Activities

    not enough to accommodate students' needs and meet their interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Also North Park, Albany Park, or Jefferson Park are not safe at all. There is shooting almost every day. There are lots of gangs, and they kill each other all the time. Sometimes they shoot innocent people because they think that they are members of the gang which is their enemy.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not taken seriously by employers, and students don't get their money worth after they graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Students party a lot. If you don't want to take your education seriously and want to party, you can come to NEIU.

    Food and Dining

    old and spoiled food which is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    It is not taken seriously and majority of students there are not taking their education seriously. Like Texas State U, its NOTHING but frats and seemingly endless supply of 18 year olds who party a lot

    Academic Rigor

    Students don't have enough homework to retain the information. Instructors provide feedbacks in several weeks about students' homework. Many students sign up for the same class, which does not provide students with the opportunity to receive the individual attention of the instructor whenever they need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's better to choose UIC, and the area there is much safer than the area around Northeastern.

    In three sentences

    There is lots of racial tension in this school among the different ethnic groups, mainly blacks against white and people born in the U.S. against Europeans and Middle eastern. This issue refers also to staff and the police department.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trying to find your footing, or just want to put your head down and finish your undergrad.

    Bang for the buck

    Rated #6 best investment by Newsweek.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nice but expensive. Pack your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter campus. There are no dorms or any other form of on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what kind of student you are. Some people breeze through, some people struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your academic and financial aid advisors ASAP.

    In three sentences

    Amazing faculty. Disorganized administration. Diverse student body.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers are always walking around the campus for help and as well as stations with help buttons posting all throughout the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tennis club, hiphop club, outdoor activity club .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pedroso Center in the B building- Best for just relaxing and hanging out.

    Bang for the buck

    As a Northeastern Illinois University student, I have adapted very well. I also have got to meet alot of other students from various different cultures. Thats the best part about northeastern, it is a very diverse university.

    What to do for fun

    Join extra circular activities, work on campus, join classes in the PE building.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria however, I would suggest to bring your own food :)

    Academic Rigor

    Plagiarizing is very important to Northeastern Illinois University, just dont do it. They take this matter very seriously because you are not only cheating your self you are also cheating the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Integrity and disipline is a very important factor to Northeastern Illinois University, do NOT plagiarize. -Northeastern expects all of its students to be respectful to the campus and its professors, so be punctual and respectful. - The more extraciricular activites you join, the more you will interact and get to know the campus.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois University is a very diverse university. It is an afforble university as well as a university that allows students to have a shorter commute on a everyday basis. Also, it is an university that allows each student to be treated respectfuly and dealt with individualy if they need extra assistance.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NEIU is a very safe place. The neighborhoods around the campus are also safe. I never have to worry about safety; because I have never felt any danger around the campus even at 9 P.M.

    Great for these types of students

    Since NEIU is very diverse, it will be great for students who think they will have a very diverse workforce.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do for fun. There is a P.E. building where you can play basketball, soccer, table tennis and more. There is also a big swimming pool. There is a big gym where there are variety of equipments you can work out with and a running track. There is an athletic field and six tennis courts outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten any food here so I can not comment on that.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories in NEIU.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken general education courses so far; they were not very hard. I have not taken any major-related course yet, so I can not say anything about that.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois University has a very diverse university. It is affordable and safe. It has a lot of clubs and activities that students can participate in.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many club events happen each day at the center of campus. All clubs have meetings on Thursdays and this allows you to organize anything you want.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pricey for what you get. There are many spots to sit and eat at if you bring your own food. Since you live off campus, its cheaper to just bring meals with you anyway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms : ) This is a commuter university. Lots of nearby apartment buildings to live in if you find roommates though.

    Academic Rigor

    Taking 5 courses at once is tough. Do not expect to work full time and do well in classes at the same time. If you are taking 3-4 classes you may be able to carry a part time job to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a new student this campus is great. If you know your intended major, start talking to those advisors ASAP. The general course advisors are not as helpful with pre-requisites as you may want. If you are a transfer student, talk to the major advisors ASAP. Not all courses are transferrable, no matter what your school of origin tells you.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very new and open. The foundation course instructors care about what they teach, but could teach better. The students tend to wear alot of perfume/cologne - unfortunate for those with allergies and chemical sensitivity.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police seem to be everywhere on campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym that is free for all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are neither to hard nor to easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or organization on campus so you can make friends.

    In three sentences

    They have excellent teachers. They are conveniently located, which makes them easy to get to without a car. They have a good variety of courses for everyone.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    we have some, but I'm not part of them

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many clubs and activities

    What to do for fun

    what i do for fun, is i go to the gym play soccer, water polo, hang out with friends, or go for a swim.

    Food and Dining

    really good and you could choose from many kinds of foods

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorm, hope in the future we do

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    have fun and don't be shy. also remember to study!

    In three sentences

    NEIU, is a University where everyone is friendly and helpful. the teachers are always disposable when you need them and will help you with everything you need. nevertheless, it a safe and clean environment for you to study there.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe as far as I can tell.

    Greek Life

    I know the school has a few sorority and fraternity chapters, but i've never taken part in them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities to choose from on a weekly basis.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to get college done while maintaining a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's usually something fun and entertaining going on in the quad between the science building, student union, library, and computer lab and business department.

    Bang for the buck

    As previously mentioned, great fully accredited university for a much lower price than most other state universities. Absolutelyvbang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    It's in Chicago....figure it out. lol

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria with some entertainment on a daily basis. Plenty of good eats options in the surrounding neighborhood.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is primarily a commuter school, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very student minded curriculum designed to challenge your thoughts and ideas about what you think you know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and read all the texts.

    In three sentences

    Good school with some great teachers. Close quarters makes it easy to get from class to class. Excellent fully accredited commuter school.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Prospective teachers or music majors

    What to do for fun

    NEIU always has some type of event going on, whether it be entertainment or simply informational. There are a countless number of concerts to attend for free during the school year, which can be a lot of fun to watch and experience.

    Dorm Life

    NEIU is a commuter school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending NEIU is a great opportunity to get a good education without paying a ridiculous amount of money. NEIU is especially great of any type of Education or Fine Arts majors.

    In three sentences

    NEIU is a very welcoming and pleasant environment. The professors I have met thus far have all showed utter professionalism and care for their students' success.The tuition is reasonable, and the overall education system is definitely above average.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very friendly and helpful

    Clubs and Activities

    Inner-City Studies Major Club

    What to do for fun

    At CCICS we have vibrant intellectual discussions, as well as sometimes movies, and lectures, among other events

    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a food court. There isn't anything other than vending machines inside CCICS. There is more variety around the CCICS campus if you travel south to 43rd and Cottage Grove. West to Oakwood and King Drive. And lastly northwest to 35th and King Drive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at the Carruthers Center for Inner-City Studies are GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Become aware of everthing that NEIU offers. Unfortunately, much isn't really done to inform prospective students that there's a South Lakefront campus.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Illinois, in particular the Jacob Carruthers Center for Inner-City Studies is a great place to learn from the African-Centered concept. The main campus is ok, but in my opinion it cant does not come close. I'm basing this on the content of whats being taught. CCICS is a much needed EYE-OPENER especially for African-Americans.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Activity hour (when most clubs/activities/Greek life meet) is on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 3:05 - 4:05 pm.

    Great for these types of students

    SUPER diverse school. You can NOT feel out of place here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's rated top 5 in best for your buck on some fancy college list. I just remember it's number five on the list right after Harvard. You'll get a great education without having to pay back loans for the rest of your life.

    What to do for fun

    Hookah bar right down the street.

    Food and Dining

    There is variety. Not always the best meal you've ever had BUT it's cafeteria food not a 5 star restaurant. They do have vegetarian and gluten free options. The only thing that might be vegan is the create your own salad option or the sushi? There is also a cafe in the common area. You can always grab snacks at the bookstore or at the vending machines too.

    Dorm Life

    There currently aren't any dorms available for students. But, they are thinking about adding dorms in the near future.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do the work, pay attention, and attend class you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to be a full-time student I hope you have insurance or you'll have to add (currently) $750 a semester to your tuition to be insured by aetna who is partnered with the school. Get your financial aid done WAY BEFORE the first week of the semester. Unless, you want to pull a ticket from the dispenser (just like the one at your local deli) to wait for an hour or two to get your paperwork looked at. I think the activity hour is on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 3-4 pm. That is when most extracurricular activities meet. So if you want to be involved, take that into consideration when registering for classes.

    In three sentences

    This school has a really good education program. The music program is challenging and rewarding all in one package. The school has amazing resources: library, more than three computer labs on campus each with mac and windows computers, free $75 credit for all students to be used for printing and copies, free gym membership for students that includes fitness classes like cycling, zumba, and strength training, pool access, wttw 11 studios are on campus, near public transportation, parking garage on campus, environmentally friendly campus, and cafeteria owned by A'viands company offers variety.

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    LOTS AND LOTS OF CLUBS!

    Food and Dining

    The outside food is quite good, there are lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on my college's campus/

    Academic Rigor

    Im in the Honor's program and the rigor seems intense!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study from the start Ask teachers questions YOU'RE GONNA LOVE BEING IN COLLEGE!

    In three sentences

    It is a school that's run in my family. It is small, but thats not a bad thing. I love it already!