Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northeastern Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think campus safety is pretty good. There is an RA + 1 walkback so someone can call if they don't feel safe and they want someone to walk them back, so I think that is a great tool to have so people feel safer when walking around campus when it's dark.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any fraternities or sororities at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    As RA's, we have to put together programs and activities every month, so there is always something going on which is good so people can meet others and just get out and enjoy the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I wanted to go to CSU all four years, but attending NJC has helped my family financially be able to pay for school and to help me save up for attending CSU in the fall.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go horse-back riding, exercise at the gym, go to the library to read or do homework, and go outside and play a sport with people.

    Food and Dining

    Not so great because it's a junior college, so apparently the food has to not taste very good. It's good at breakfast becuase it's the same and they make the eggs good, but for lunch and dinner there's no telling what kind of food will be served and evern if it's cooked right and whether or not you're going to get sick from it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun. For both of the years I have lived in the dorms, I've always found it fun and entertaining, so therefore, I never get bored. It's fun to get to hang out with people and be so close to them instead of living on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    It's good because the teachers really do help and you can tell they are there to help you, not just to get the job done because they get paid for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't eat at the caf too much and always make sure you go to class and get everything done on time.

    In three sentences

    I would rate it a 7 out of 10. While the food isn't so great at all, the teachers and faculty and staff are great and are always there for you to help you with anything you need. It's also very small, so you can get to know students along with teachers on a personal basis which is helpful.

  • 11/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think NJC is a good choice for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to make friends and come out of your shell. Most of all have a good time!!

    Bang for the buck

    NJC has the best bang for my buck. I could be at a different college and pay 4 times what I'm paying here for one semester. This is definitely a good choice in means of bang for your buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorms are really fun and we are all one big family. Everyone on the campus is nice to each other and there are a lot of campus activities that get everyone involved.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot about horses and learning better training techniques. I am also learning a lot about all the aspects of the horse industry and about animal science in general.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On Tuesdays, there is a $2 bowling night, plus money for shoes. On Thursday there is a $2 movie night at the local theater. There are plenty of activities and clubs that are planned and hosted every week.

    Food and Dining

    there are plenty of resturants and stores for people to buy or make their own food. there is also on-campus food and an on campus cafe. the cafeteria is all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are located around campus and are very close to any areas that have activities or classes in them. There is anew dormitory that was finished in Fall of 2011. All of the dorms are mixed sex except for Dowis Hall, which is women only.

    Academic Rigor

    NJC is basically a continuation of a good high school. Lots of smaller schools do not have some of the classes or the same teaching as some of the bigger high schools. This is aggod school to prepare yourself for a real college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember NJC is a junior college, not a four year university. Use the resources that are available for help. there are dorm rooms available on campus.

    In three sentences

    NJC is in a small town, so it is easy to get around, even without a vehicle. The class sizes are small and are more on a high school class setting. There are plenty of activities to do around campus and plenty of clubs to join

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no campus security at this school. Don't advise walking around after dusk alone and lock your car!

    Bang for the buck

    As far as a cheap education, that is one of the advantages of going there.

    Food and Dining

    I rarely ever ate at the cafeteria- for a good reason. Pete's Retreat inside the student center is a better way to go for food. And eat the pizza. It's delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nothing fancy. The dorms are usually noisy all hours of the day, and after midnight, no one is ever at the front desk. I recommend Dowis Hall though if you have to stay on campus. It's the best dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    After coming here, I truly regret how it hurt my future education. None of the teachers require you to perform high-level presentations or to write advanced papers, so when I transferred to a larger college, I was really in some trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all of your options first.

    In three sentences

    The perfect place to get a cheap education.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Student athletes or unsure if you want to commit to four years.

    What to do for fun

    Free Pie Night!

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no air conditioning in the older dorms. Study for your Accuplacer exams if you need to take them. You have to live in county for any good academic scholarships (Hope 3.5 GPA, Vision 4.0).

    In three sentences

    I love it here! I really like my team, the community, and proximity to home. NJC is a good place to get your Associate's Degree.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the cost of the college is low compared to other colleges so it is a good college to go to if you like the small town feel.

    What to do for fun

    honestly there is not a lot to do in sterling, co but the northeastern junior college does offer things to do and get involved with.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you check to see if you need to do the requisition classes and also check to see if you can opt out of that class if you have a high enough score.

    In three sentences

    it is a great junior college. it is easier to have a one-on-one session with the teachers there. there is not an abundant amount of students there so it is a great size college for a small town.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday's there are dancing, bowling, and the movies. Wednesday nights everyone goes to Flemming to eat at Bully's. And there are always countless of groups, clubs, and activities around campus!

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of hot spots around town to eat at. The Cafe always had a variety of food, and always is great! Something for everyone's taste.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are always fun and exciting. You really get to know people on your floor, and you become a little family. It's your home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are spectacular. Teachers really do care about you. Plenty of options for help in a class if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would really get to know your advisor, they will help you the most! Get to know your RA and Hall Director, they will help you a lot. Sterling is a little ton, but there really is a lot to do!

    In three sentences

    NJC is a spectacular junior college. There are plenty activities to engage in. If help is ever needed, there are plenty of options for one to chose from.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The town has deals with the school and the students get discounts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus and get involved! You miss so much when you are not there.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. There is a lot of available help. The teachers are more then willing to make sure you get the information.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small and great

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    whatever you may want to do

    Great for these types of students

    non traditional students

    What to do for fun

    go to the movies

    Academic Rigor

    very good

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to stand in long lines.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school that seems to care about their students. Counselors take their time to make sure you are taking the right classes. Every employee at Northeastern Jr. college is really helpful.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I pity the fool that would step on this campus and attempt to shoot the place up or rape someone. Very close-knit community that takes care of its' own.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs run by the faculty tend mainly to focus on light social activities and volunteer work.

    Great for these types of students

    Pre-engineering, pre-vet, pre-pre med, or agriculture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quarterly Rocky Mtn Oyster fries put on by the ag dept.

    Bang for the buck

    Easily the best bang-for-the-buck in Colorado. This is the only 2-year college in the state that offers a good pre-engineering curriculum. The prices are very low, and there is TONS of individual attention and free tutoring available.

    What to do for fun

    Cow-tipping, bonfires, hunting, water-sports at the reservoir. Pretty much standard rural Colorado entertainment which is to say almost none in a structured way. But plenty wide open spaces and freedom to make and define your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus dining is cheap if not good. Local restaurants are very reasonably priced. Check out TJ Bummers or La Fiesta Mexicana. Good eats.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are typically small, cramped, and noisy even into the late hours of the night. In other words, pretty much standard dorm life with the exception that the school takes a VERY tough stance towards drugs & alcohol. You can be forced to take a breathalyzer test to get to your dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    For math and science classes, this is as rigorous as it gets. Tougher than many 4-year schools. Credits will transfer even to tough technical colleges. For other classes, not so much. English and business classes are cupcake credits, and some schools will not accept transfer credits for those classes with anything less than a B grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    The math & science curriculum here is as challenging as any 4 year school. Plan on 2-4 hours per night of homework for 200-level classes. There are professors available most of the time in the Math Study Room to help with assignments or even just to socialize. The faculty is VERY accessible and genuinely interested in helping students succeed..

    In three sentences

    Small class-size. Challenging curriculum. Excellent value.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing...

    Food and Dining

    Old Town Bistro, Taco Johns, River City Grill, Arby's, McDonalds, Burger King, TJ bummers, Santiagos, Phi Kappa Cino, and many more.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus, so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, if you do assigned work, show up and do what you are suppose to- you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your homework, labs, and other projects. If you have any trouble in your classes visit the library and set up a tutoring appointment, all the tutors are great and very helpful!

    In three sentences

    NJC has a great Criminal Justice program, interactive and hands-on learning. The comprehensive learning center is also a great thing about NJC where there are a number of tutors to assist students in their studies. NJC is an over all good college with faculty who truly care about their students and their pursuit of a higher education.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    State park, and recreation center

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful, never gets old

    Dorm Life

    Friendly environment

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, just what I like.

    In three sentences

    Great school overall. Fun and exciting place.lots of memories in just my first year.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great Smart Caring Educated

    What to do for fun

    Play video games Watch movies Listening to music Drawing Wrestling

    Tips for prospective students

    -Stay away from parties -Focus on your acedemics -Stay away from drugs and don't do anything stupid to get yourself in trouble

    In three sentences

    The school is very,they have nice teachers and nice classes. The campuses are pretty and they have great activities and great tutors if u need help on home workand other academics. The student are and the meals that they provide is fantastic its a great school to go to i recomended it.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play basketball for fun, or hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, do not sleep alot. Reach for the stars, keep up with the work that is given to you. Listen to your instructors follow your syllabus.

    In three sentences

    I would give Northeastern College a eight. I like this school, because of the sports and the different students. I learned alot for the time that i've been here.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very well lit and the local police department does the security. Walk backs to the dorms are also available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many options available.

    Great for these types of students

    NJC is idea for students right out of high school as well as non-traditional part time students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The white out athletic events with rival teams are always fun. The entire student section dresses in all white.

    Bang for the buck

    Many scholarships available especially for local students. Very reasonable tuition rates.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities to get involved in that the college offers.

    Food and Dining

    One of the best cafeterias in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Though I never lived in the dorms, most are very modern.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very difficult but the tutors and faculty are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The activities for students are always great, attend all you can. Get involved in intramural sports, they are well organized. Apply for scholarships specifically for NJC as there are many available.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Junior College (NJC) has small class sizes for an optimal learning experience. All faculty members are very knowledgeable and helpful. Overall, a great school to attend.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Online student. Neutral.

    Bang for the buck

    Online out of state student is kinda high but reasonable for everything is included.

    What to do for fun

    Online student. Neutral.

    Food and Dining

    Online student. Neutral.

    Dorm Life

    Online student. Neutral.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't go into an online course thinking its going to be easy, because you need to read the material and do the work as required.

    In three sentences

    Rigorous online science program that is intended to make sure you know the required information. Great college and professors.