Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northeastern Oklahoma A and M College is great for all kinds of students because it's a smaller school than most which makes it easier to navigate on campus and to meet a lot of interesting people. NEO A and M has many clubs that are very welcoming and support the students like nothing I have ever seen before. It just makes it nice for when you're away from home and missing your family, you can go to someone or one of the organizations and it's like family on campus! I know I love NEO A and M, and I have made some really great friends that I will never forget!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time wisely, because it is such a huge difference to move away from home and to live in a dorm on campus. You will have so much extra time.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to come.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college. Almost everyone is willing to give you a helping hand and show you around the campus. And welcoming week is a blast with a lot of exciting things to do. I'm extremely glad I canged my mind from the college I was enrolled in before I came to this one.

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes who arent yet ready to go to a bigger school, Students who are intimidated about starting college, Those students who are not able to to spend alot of money, Ag students, and part time students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! It is in a small town, but the school makes up for it. and apply for the scholarships that you can there, soon!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a GREAT price! I am so glad that i chose to go here for 2 years before i went to a university. I got an incredible collegiate athletic experience and a good education for a low price. and i am not going to be stuck with a bunch of student loans since i am only going to be attending a University for 2 years.

    Did enjoy being here

    The town and campus is small, but since it is i created some really solid friendships. There are towns that are that far away, so it actually works out really nice.

    Did learn a lot

    Considering that this was a junior college, i wasn't particularly expecting to learn as much as i did. The teachers are great, i learned alot and graduated with my Associates degree.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I think NEO is a college that is focused on helping students understand what they are being taught. NEO has really good student involvement. I would rate NEO to be a five star college.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is promoted continuously! Security is readily available in any given situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the usual clubs and activities available on traditional campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    NEO A&M Nursing program is great for anyone who wants to come out of a program with more than just book learning -- with the ability to apply what has been taught to actual clinical situations! Our program offers more clinical hours than any other program in the state that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    NEO A&M is extremely cost effective. The per hour costs are one of the lowest if not the lowest in our state. Could not go anywhere else for the same price!

    What to do for fun

    Wonderful gym services available to all students.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria has a very good selection with very good pricing -- both always good for the poor college student!!

    Dorm Life

    NA - I do not nor have ever lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars!! The nursing program will challenge you continuously, but also provide the support via staff, clinical rotations, and outside experiences to allow you to apply what you are learning to real life clinical situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a total package nursing program that will offer clinical learning experiences to help broaden your academic program, this is the place to go!

    In three sentences

    Excellent Nursing program with excellent instructors! Offers appropriate clinical rotations to support academic experiences. Would not go anywhere else!

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they don't have security, they have real cops that can arrest and all that good stuff. i Never locked my dorm room.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a Club for everything. if its not there the admin is always open to hear you. The school pays for all kinds of trips for its students: Theatre Shows, fishing, Camping, Hiking, Canoeing, Thunder, AND many more.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional, or those who feel OSU OU or U of A are just too big to start with

    Bang for the buck

    they have tons of scholarships, i was an out of state and all had to pay for was food and books.

    What to do for fun

    Walmart

    Food and Dining

    the chef is always asking what we want and what can be improved upon, it was great.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are from the 60's and feel like it, but for 600 a semester it will do. if you want newer, they just built new suite style rooms in 2012 spring.

    Academic Rigor

    not that hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your adviser knows who you are, if you don't they cant get you money or help.

    In three sentences

    Great way to get your feet wet in the college arena. It is well priced, and the staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Also, there are a lot of scholarship opportunities.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are really friendly and you alwasy see them patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Ag students- this is definitely a country based college. But i believe and type of student can find there own niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None yet.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very affordable college and as I stated above, I am extremely pleased with this investment.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs tto join and activities to be invloved in.

    Food and Dining

    NEO offers a buffet style dining hall. This allows for a more diverse menu, which caters to most anyone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here at NEO are above par. I enjoy having control of my own a/c and heat. The restrooms are always clean and so are the halls.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, NEO is just a tad bit more challenging than my high school. However, I do enjoy the freedom and the style of teaching that NEO offers.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current student of NEO, my tips would be to apply early and dont be afraid to branch out and explore new things once you get on campus. College is a totally new experience so one must come out of their shell and be approchable. Also, when you apply early, you are more likely to get the classes you want at the times you would like.

    In three sentences

    NEO is a very diverse and wonderful school. The teachers and staff truly care about you and your academic progress. NEO caters not only to the country folks, but every other type of person as well.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i think NEO is a great college. it my be a small town but there is lots to do if you get yourself involved. I couldn't imagine being anywhere else.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much here, but Joplin Missouri is very close by.

    Food and Dining

    It is buffet style so pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    New updated dorms just like living in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    I find most of the classes to be pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! Most of the classes here use your attendance as part of your grade.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school to get an associates degree. It is cheap for in-state students. The professors are pretty good.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are always around and are extremely friendly. There are RA's in each dorm for each floor level.

    Clubs and Activities

    I became President of forestry club and am a member of aggie society. Both Great clubs

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spooklight is off campus but is a must see once admitted to college

    Bang for the buck

    For as cheap of a college it is it is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Go and hang with friends. Go bowling! Basketball games. Working out! Cookouts. Twin Bridges state park for fishing.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its ups and down but there is always plenty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a blast. Vann Hall!!

    Academic Rigor

    Natural Resources Program is great! Heck all of the Agriculture programs and advisers are amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to use your time wisely. Go out and make friends! Dont be afraid to make a decision and stick with it

    In three sentences

    Great college for anyone. Great Advisers. Great learning environment and plenty of activities.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play intramural sports, dances, bowling, clubs, games.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria style food service. Good food most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    Small dorms but they are very welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up. Learn to get involved with on campus activities and you will receive benefits for it.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school so you get to know people a lot easier. The classes are small so it's great to be able to talk to teachers without them dealing with a ton of other people. Great college overall.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit and the town of Miami is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any sorority's or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a numerous amount of clubs to choose from. Business clubs, Religious clubs, Agriculture Clubs, Theater and Music clubs and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Agricultural Students and Theater students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this thing by the dorms called Aggie Alley and it has place where you can practice roping.

    Bang for the buck

    NEO isn't super expensive and I wouldn't trade my memories from here in for the world.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of clubs to join! I am a part of the Baptist Collegiate Ministry but there are clubs ranging from Agriculture to Theater to a fishing club. Also we play sand volleyball a lot and go to NEO's different sport games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is only three years old, so the building itself is really nice but the food isn't so tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is super fun, minus the community bathrooms. NEO did get new dorms in the past year and they aren't community bathrooms and are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the courses aren't super hard, but the science and math courses can be challenging if you don't have the right teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect them to have every class for your major you might have to take dual credit classes from a different major. Be ready to see a lot of ag students because NEO is a huge agricultural school. Get involved with clubs and go to events, NEO is worth it if you get involved!

    In three sentences

    NEO is a great place to figure out who you are and who want to be. The education is not the best but for a junior college it isn't bad. NEO has a great student body, there is a club or group for everyone.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who needs a reasonably priced college and needs to get an Associates Degree. They also offer nursing programs and many others.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an inexpensive college and everyone is so helpful in getting you started.

    What to do for fun

    There are 2 campuses for NEO; one is in Miami and the other is in Grove. I live in Grove. Both campuses are nearby. Grove is in the heart of Grand Lake and there is always something to do at the lake and in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a good selection of courses to take. Being a full time working wife and mother, I need to do as much as I can online. Most of my classes I can take online and the classes I can't take online they offer many options to times I can take them on campus. They help me to go to school around my schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do and be proactive in getting started.

    In three sentences

    I love the helpful staff. I graduated 23 years ago and never attended college. The staff was a huge help in helping understand everything I need to do.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a car because nothing is within walking distance.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern Oklahoma University (NEO) is a great starter school to attend. The teachers and staff are helpful and will guide you through your freshman semester. I am a football player and there were many opportunities available to me for tutoring.