Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northeastern State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you like to make friends, learning new things, and seeing new thing than NSU is the place to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and talk to your professor if some thing happen. you never know they might do you a favor or give you a pass for that day depending on you professor or the type of assignment that was given for that day.

    Bang for the buck

    try commuting if you can and don't or have a small meal trade. your bill will be pretty small and the only big bill will be tuition but if you cant it okay because NSU is cheap for being a big school just don't get caught up in buying a lot of there merchandise its really not worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    yes i am there are a lot of thing you can do here. NSU always have some type of event going on nearly everyday and some major event on the week in. most of the event are hosted by the Greeks or volunteering people that help others get that credited for helping others.

    Am learning a lot

    no matter what class you enroll in you are going to learn a lot or at lease something while attending. its all up to you. the one class i have that i didn't like but learn thing that would be helpful to me if and only if i need that help when that day come was university strategies . a class you have to talk if you like it or not, but still a good class even though they don't know what to do most of the time.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tahlequah, the town where the university is located, doesn't have a mall. There are a few occasional activities going on around campus. You can usually find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Sudexo is the name of the food company the school uses. I know they have the capability of providing their customers with good food because they catered an honors ceremony I attended and the food was excellent. I'm sad to say that is not the case in the University's cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for two years. The buildings are completely out of date and in poor condition. There are many repairs that need to be done. They keep saying they're going to tear the buildings down and rebuild, but that is not for another 5 years.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm very pleased with my academic experience at Northeastern State University. They offer more opportunities than a junior college, but not as many as a bigger college. Professors go out of their way to help their students. I have enjoyed every minute of my academic endeavors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware of the financial aid office and the school administration. They are extremely unorganized. The financial aid office never has specific answers for your questions, but they expect you to know what's going on. Stay away from the dorm rooms, they are horrible! They are out of date; they smell old and moldy. After living there for two years, I would not recommend them to anyone. They are not worth the money you pay.

    In three sentences

    The academic aspect of this school is wonderful; the teachers are more than willing to help their students. The town the school is located in is not very big. You can usually find something fun to do around campus; events are thrown by the different organizations on campus.

  • 03/31/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    for a university the price is reasonable.

    Will enjoy being here

    The Campus is GREAT

  • 11/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price is reasonable and very much in my budget

    Am enjoying being here

    Great town, and good people, I love it!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is like a family, the administration, professors and students are so helpful to incoming freshman. I have felt so welcome and had alot of help in finding my way. I play football and my time is taken up with alot of practice, the coaches and upper classman have been a big part of my doing well here. I love it!

  • 04/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Don't be afraid to ask questions in class. Get started on reading and writing now, in college there will be plenty of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is close to my boyfriend

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently taking American Indian Studies and Cherokee language classes. There are ample resources here for people who want to learn and study the Cherokee language.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any and all

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not stress.

    Bang for the buck

    Good price and good meal trades.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great campus and friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    Just pay attention. Plus tutors are avaliable for free.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NSU Campus Police is the most understandable, respectful, and coolest department around Tahlequah. I can gaurentee or even PROMISE you'll be safe. Also I gaurentee if you do anything stupid or guilty you will be caught and brought to justice. Seen it happen many times before to idiots.

    Greek Life

    Be yourself pledge ME PHI ME (solo). Be a great student, and get out of Tahlequah with a degree. Along the way meet a couple great family mates, few great friends, lot of aquaintances, and tons of strangers. Be known have fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    FCA, great Christians fellowship groups around campus, also helpful. BCM(bible collegiate ministries). Find brother bobby limpscomb. NAB, Honor Societys, student organizations, Student athletic advisory committees, etc. Plenty of awesome clubs and they throw cool events that always award you new gifts to collect throughout the school semesters.

    Great for these types of students

    Attending Athletic events, supporting the students and their organizations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is Cherokee Nation so they have a lot of respect on campus. Events can be a little over the edge.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for Scholarships!! Oh, and ancestor check if you have Indian in your blood, I swear every student happens to be 1/68 and they fit in just fine.

    What to do for fun

    Tahlequah has its very own small attractions around town. Wal-mart is just about everything. Probably makes half the towns revenue, while NSU holds the remaining share. Some cool things to do around town with your friends. Decent loacation w/ Fayetville, AR east of town and Tulsa, Ok both within 45min-hour drive.

    Food and Dining

    Routine Breakfast Decent resturaunt selections Average hours The most amazing Cafe staff, treat them with respect and show them your love and you'll always have a full stomach, just saying.

    Dorm Life

    Decent rooms. They keep them clean for most part. Somewhat un-reliable Maintenance, A/C, hot water, utility's, etc. Depends on what halls you reside.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to Class. NSU offers great classes, even better professors. They're academic tutorial sessions are easy to get connected to. Nice network of professors, and chair department staff to help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to know your academic counselors/advisors well. Be sure to know your professors well. Be sure to know your financial advisors extremely well. Go to class. KNOW WHAT YOUR'E HERE FOR! AND DONT LOSE SIGHT OF THAT.

    In three sentences

    Notheastern State University is a pretty nice school. Its a pretty close knit campus thats very reliable. Decent attractions around and state of the art facilities are always on the upcome.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is good for anyone. We even have a Harry Potter reading club. Most of all we are good for students who are ready to open a new book on life and be prepared to start anew. It's college after all. It's the place where everyone gets to start over!

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had a choice to go anywhere else I'd probably make the same choice again. There's nothing like being a riverhawk! The results you achieve from this place are undeniable. Every teacher has something to share with everyone and trust me you won't want to miss out

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are cheap and even if you don't have the available resources to enjoy the full college dream the financial aid staff is always there to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    All throughout high school, the teachers act like college is going to be the hardest thing. Since I've been here all my test scores have increased and I've found I'm more determined to achieve my full potienal. You got to risk it to get the biscuit, or atleast that's what the class of 2010 from Kansas believes

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are all really great. Not a single one of them wants to see anyone fail, some even bend the rules a little to keep bad things from happening to good people. In my year here I've learned not only how to be a student but a leader to others, and a great friend.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    i think it is great for all students who are serious about their education. This university offers a wide range of majors so I am positive there is something here for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your best. Study hard but still make time to have fun. Try not to overwhelm yourself. College is a very important part of your future, not only are you paving the road for your future, you will make life long friends that will certainly help you though out your academic career.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, tuition can be a bit pricey. Especially for those of us who are out of state students. But I would say that is worth the investment in your future to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes! I enjoy coming to class and learning from my instructors. It is nice to have well structured classes available to me. NSU offers a wide time range for its classes so I am able to take classes and work at the same time.

    Am learning a lot

    This is the second college I have attended and I have found that NSU is a far more welcoming campus. I feel as though my professors want to see me succeed by making themselves available to me during class and after if I have questions.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love how there are blue light stations all over the campus. The campus police encourage all students who feel they need more security to contact them for escorts to their vehicles after class or study sessions.

    Greek Life

    My campus does not participate in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The main campus in Tahlequah offers athletics as well as Greek life. The Broken Arrow campus has an active student government in addition to the wide variety of student organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional and commuter students enjoy the Broken Arrow campus. The main campus in Tahlequah is designed for the traditional student and student-athlete.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new outdoor fitness area is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    The Education and Optometry programs house the largest number of students. The College of Business is continuing to grow.

    What to do for fun

    The Broken Arrow campus just opened and dedicated a brand new outdoor fitness area that includes a track, simple exercise stops, and a frisbee golf course. The Student Government has sponsored some Fun Runs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a great variety of food and the staff tries very hard to get to know each student that enters the premises.

    Dorm Life

    My campus is commuter and does not offer dorm life..

    Academic Rigor

    NSU is a strong academic college. The professors are mostly PhD or are currently earning their PhD. Students are challenged to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the textbook! Go to class! Get involved in at least two organizations.

    In three sentences

    NSU has a beautiful satellite campus in Broken Arrow. The student affairs, Deans, and professors seem genuinely interested in each student. The campus is close to my home.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student activity board provides a lot of opportunities for fellowship, food, and fun on campus. The Tahlequah campus is within walking distance of local shopping, bars, restaurants, and a club. Also, many students hang out by the river or lakes nearby campus.

    Food and Dining

    This school has delicious food! Besides the traditional cafeteria, students also can dine at a Pizza Hut Express, Chic-Fil-A, World of Wings, Taco Shack, and a Smoothie Bar. Also located on campus is a Grill/ convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are awesome! They are large and have furniture and a sink in the rooms. The Residence Assistants (RAs) are fun and very helpful, not scary.

    Academic Rigor

    Northeastern State University provides a large variety of degree programs. The general education courses are passable, but effective in preparing students for their careers. I think just about everyone can find a class that fits their academic needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should visit Northeastern State University and decide which of its four campuses work best for them. Also, they should talk with current students about campus life. Ultimately, prospective students should determine if NSU meets their academic needs.

    In three sentences

    At Northeastern State University, most of the professors have a Masters Degree or higher. Northeastern State offers a variety of intended majors and provides classes located in four different cities. Small class sizes and friendly, personal advisers make Northeastern State University an excellent choice for students.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. i have never had any trouble. i work in the cafeteria and usually get off about 9pm and have never felt scared walking to my room.

    What to do for fun

    the illinois river is close by and lots of fun. there are several clubs in town. the school has several parties throughout the year and always ballgames going on.

    Food and Dining

    the food choices are great here. the cafeteria has excellent food. there are lots of other food choices on campus besides the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    i am not in a dorm but in one of the seminary suites. there are 4 bedrooms to a suite and i love it. we have a nice sitting area and kitchen and two bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    i have had no trouble with any of the classes i am taking. some of the teachers/professors are harder than others. i have learned a lot in my first year here.

    Tips for prospective students

    put yourself out there and make new friends. make studying your first priority. don't overpack as i took way too much with me.

    In three sentences

    it is a very good school and has much to offer in the way of classes. the campus is very clean and organized well. the town is clean, small and friendly.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt in any danger on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a variety of many different fraternities and sororities. each has it's own personality and each is involved in the community in different ways.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student-led organizations host many neat on-campus events such as bonfires, movie nights, comedy shows, and karaoke nights.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing tech-savvy driven involved spirited

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the last four years, campus has changed in many positive ways. There are beautiful fountains, new buildings, and even some updated traditional buildings with interesting histories.

    Bang for the buck

    Any school experience is, to an extent, what you put into it. This school is great about getting the students involved, both academically and through extra-curricular opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    The Illinois River is not far from the school and during late spring, all throughout summer, and early fall, it is a great place to hang out. Tulsa is also very close and has much to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options on campus for dining, and several landmark restaurants, such as Sam and Ellas's, off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Both the dorms and the seminary suites are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Your academic career will be what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Rookie Bridge Camp before moving in as a freshman. Ask around concerning which professors you should take. Do NOT procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    There is a wide variety of classes to choose from. You are expected to succeed at your highest potential. The area surrounding the school is full of opportunities.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, campus police along with city police patrol the campus quite a bit.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure, I am a non-traditional adult student.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who are serious about their education yet want a variety of extracurricular activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is centered around Native American tradition more specifically the Cherokee Nation.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of on campus activities and organizations to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid needs, if applicable. Please meet with your adviser on a regular basis. Have fun and pay attention to your course of study.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is a beautiful campus. It has plenty of housing options. Northeastern State University is easy to maneuver.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have top notch campus police department!

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for any type of student, it offers a wide variety and fits just about anyone.

    What to do for fun

    Join campus groups!!!! At NSU there is a little something for everyone from zombie enthusiasts to theater and science, we have it all.

    Food and Dining

    Our campus always offers a variety of meals including different ethnic and cultural dishes, as well as cereal.

    Dorm Life

    I unfortunately have never lived on campus during my student life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academia at NSU is not the easy 'sleep and still get an A' type. However, the professors are delicately challenging you to think outside the box and stretch your knowledge to explore new talents and opportunities for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour of the campus, talk to other prospective and current students alike to get a feel for the atmosphere of our wonderful campus.

    In three sentences

    Growing up as a child, with my parents dying at an early age, I wanted to change my circumstances. I wanted to become something. Through supportive faculty, excellent academics, and the overall atmosphere of my University I have done just as I set out to achieve.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NSU has it's own police department that monitors campus and surrounding areas 24/7. There are emergency phones placed around the campus and the dorms have several security measures in place. You can also call the campus police and request an escort if you have a night class.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and frats on campus. I'm not personally apart of greek life, but they are always doing something around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and there are constantly more being created. Creating one yourself is an option also! There is always something going on, whether it's campus wide or in the dorms or block parties in downtown.

    Great for these types of students

    Alot of students thrive here at NSU, from non traditional students to the very traditional. It's a small school and a historic town, very relaxing and friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two pillars on campus both built from bricks from the original historic Cherokee seminary school. It's rumored that if you pass through the pillars, you wont graduate in 4 years! I haven't tested this theory to be on the safe side, but plenty of students bravely pass through to prove it wrong. Also, in freshman orientation, you throw a rock into beta pond to signify letting go of high school and paint a new rock to signify starting over in your new life as a RiverHawk.

    Bang for the buck

    My friends pay 3 to 4 times what I do and usually end up miserable and transferring to NSU anyway!

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has some kind of free event going on from movies, concerts, and ice skating in the winter! Each dorm hold activities in the common areas and there is a gym and 2 pools on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are 9 different eateries to choose from. The main Cafe is the biggest with it's buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    While the dorms are older, you almost never notice it with their convince and laid back atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    The science department is a challenge, but as long as you don't over load yourself, you can make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus with a guide, and then explore on your own! Don't be afraid to pop into a department of interest, the professors are all super friendly and eager to help. Join a club and attend all the free events, so much fun to be had!

    In three sentences

    NSU has a small friendly campus that is easy to navigate. You get personalized help from staff and faculty. There are lot's of programs to choose from!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Apply Apply!

    In three sentences

    Great for 1:1 with teachers. Teachers encourage a productive learning atmosphere. Great onsite staff to help with any problem.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northeastern State University has a well trained police force and many programs and features in place to keep their students safe.

    Greek Life

    Northeastern State University has nationally recognized Sororities and Fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northeastern State University has nationally recognized Sororities and Fraternities. They also have over a hundred organizations on campus, a lot of which are nationally recognized. We also have a wonderful Student Activities department that keeps the campus jumping with innovative programs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Northeastern State University is great for students just starting their college careers or students wanting to attend a smaller university.

    What to do for fun

    One of the greatest advantages to going to school at NSU is that you are close to a the Illinois River, for floating, and Lake Tenkiller, for boating and swimming. Not to mention the many local talents, movie theater and all kinds of stuff going on.

    Food and Dining

    NSU has several options for food. Some of them are good and some of them are just cafeteria... But there are lots of great dining options just off campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms on campus are old, but NSU is in the process of building several new dorms and the Suites are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors definitely push you, but they are also there to help you when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    In the first year at college don't overload yourself with classes, get involved with several groups on campus and take advantage of the college experience.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is a great school for individuals looking for small class sizes and faculty and staff that really do care about the student. I would definitely recommend NSU as a great starting place for your education!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important at NSU. All areas of the campus are well patrolled and well lit for those that are out at night.

    Great for these types of students

    NSU is a great option for people that are coming back to college and have to schedule around kids and work. The variety of class schedule options fit well to many different lifestyles.

    Bang for the buck

    This hometown option gives people in the Tulsa area a great education without having to pay the huge fees associated with the bigger colleges in the state. Additionally, the multiple campuses allow the college to serve an even greater area and keep prices lower.

    What to do for fun

    Activities are constantly planned for the students of NSU. Last week there was a float trip down the Arkansas River that was a huge success.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food is located conveniently, prices perfectly for students going to school on a budget, and the taste cannot be beat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I really do not know anything about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and NSU are taught by instructors that challenge you but are also focused on your sucess

    Tips for prospective students

    When deciding on what college be sure to think of things like travel times as well as what platform of education you are looking for. Some schools offer more online classes than others do, and that was a big thing for me since I have such a hectic schedule.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is an amazing college that provides a variety of options for people going back to school like I am. The people there have been very helpful in tailoring the school to fit my needs in getting my degree. The campus locations are gorgeous and easily accessible.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any!

    Bang for the buck

    Great for the money

    What to do for fun

    Tahlequah has great outdoor activities such as floating the river, there are concerts, and a great theater and jazz studies program that offers great entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Tahlequah has many options for dining, many within walking distance. Food court has great options.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but have friends that do and love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are manageable. Teachers are extremely helpful. Class sizes are not too big.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an excellent school. I would recommend enrolling ASAP!

    In three sentences

    NSU is an amazing school! Everyone truly cares about your success. The new website has made it so easy to manage your education!

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Superb as they even have an app for your phone.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that I have read in the school paper.

    Great for these types of students

    School is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I am non-traditional unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    Online and campus classes are available.

    What to do for fun

    Anything that you may fancy.

    Food and Dining

    Great food for the price.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown I am a non-traditional student.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research

    In three sentences

    Great College and affordable for the atmosphere.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of places to eat in the town

    Dorm Life

    the dorms can be a little small but the suites are cool

    Academic Rigor

    NSU has a very good medical program

    Tips for prospective students

    take a campus tour and go to a homecoming football game you will have fun

    In three sentences

    northeastern is a great school with very helpful faculty. the campus is very nice with strong trees that look great during the fall.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because I'm from a big city, I don't feel like this town has much danger..

    Great for these types of students

    Native Americans.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is very inexpensive for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Typically a house party is where everyone seems to gather during the school year.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Chick-Fil-A option for dining but it will cost you more then to normally eat at a Chick-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    I'd live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm from a big city, so I'd say go somewhere else if your looking for a fun undergraduate experience.

    In three sentences

    You must like a very small town feel in order to be happy here. The University has great cheap parking, but lacks sidewalks for bicycles. The Financial Aide department is a joke.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of there is a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    NSU has #2 rated optometry in the US!

    Bang for the buck

    If your a commuter its worth the money you put in.

    What to do for fun

    Intermural sports, lots of events hosted by the school such as price is right, singing competitions, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food selection.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best.

    Academic Rigor

    Its ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good place to start off if you do not know what your major is.

    In three sentences

    NSU has its ups and downs. Don't live in the dorms if you don't have to! staff is pretty friendly and you can receive lots of 1 on 1 time with instructors.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Is the food and dining nice?

    Dorm Life

    How is the dorm life?

    Academic Rigor

    What is this?

    In three sentences

    Is this a good school to attend as a freshman in collage?

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The university is always putting on events throughout the year. From formal dances to movie nights, scavenger hunts, to the much anticipated marketplace that brings in vendors from across the area at the beginning of school and they give away all kinds of products like Ipods, Books, gift cards, etc. The university knows that our campus is much smaller than other 4 year universities in the state and they want our students to enjoy themselves on campus. The Dorms will also host events like dances, ping pong tournaments, game nights, spa parties, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent on campus. Sodexo owns and operates 90% of what is on campus. There is one large buffet cafeteria at the University Center. Most everything I have eaten there is good. I've never had any issues. There is a variety of food choices there including a wide selection on their salad bar, a cold sub station, pizza, cheeseburger station. soup, fresh breads, and one main entree station. There is also a dessert bar and a soft serve ice cream machine. 3 Coke fountains and a flavored water fountain as well. There is a starbucks on the 3rd floor that serves deli style sandwiches that are VERY good. On the basement of the UC, is a chic-fil-a, World of Wings (serves hotwings, wraps, burgers, quesadillas) and The Taco Shack. Over in Losier Hall, there is a pizza hut as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is basic. I never stayed in a dorm on campus however 2 of my closest friends live in the dorms. They started in the freshmen dorms at Losier, which are nice and big and room-y. However, once you are out of your first year on campus, they move you to a much smaller dorm, with very little room for 2 people. There is an option that you can request a private room but it will cost you a few hundred dollars to obtain one. There are also suites and apartments available right on campus that may or may not be covered in the housing allotment with financial aid and they are absolutely stunning but as far as the actual dorms go, nothing really great to write home about.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as though the academic rigor for Northeastern State is balanced across the board. The teaching staff cares genuinely about its students and less about their paychecks. They are truly dedicated professors who care about the achievement of their students. I have never met a professor who didn't take time out of their busy schedules to help a student. What is even better is that there are professors who might not even be teaching you and if you have a question, they will be the first ones to help you. I really love how the staff at NSU has always been so supportive and so enthusiastic about a college education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need not to worry about anything. The staff at Northeastern State are wonderful in helping students get everything they need or desire for the education. The best way to find out more about the school is to take a tour. The tours on campus will take you completely around the school, from dorms to cafeterias and from labs to lectures. They truly know how to make you feel like you're already a part of the community even if you're just paying a visit. There are plenty of groups and community activities to keep students engaged outside of class time as well. Our campus may be smaller than traditional 4 year universities, but this leads to a more one on one approach and learning environments are more intimate with your fellow class mates and staff.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is a great place for community learning. Northeastern State University is nestled in beautiful Tahlequah Oklahoma, which makes for a lovely setting for studying and making life long memories. The community atmosphere at Northeastern State makes every student feel as though they are part of the university.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Really have a lot of programs

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe is okay.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I am a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one thing I will suggest is go to class! You won't be successful if you have no motivation. College may seem daunting at first, but you'll start to develop a comfortable routine within the first few weeks.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Northeastern State University so far. I have learned a lot. It is a lot of hard work, but this school is a great fit.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always on patrol. They are very strict about drugs and alcohol on campus. They are nice and easy to get along with as long as you respect them.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on campus and also intramural activities. There is always a volleyball and basketball game going on. There are also sporting evenets most weekends for those who do not go home for the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food on and off campus are cheap and pretty good. They offer many places on campus that you can use your meal plan on to buy it so you do not spend your own money. If you do not want to eat on campus there are many restaurants off campus which are also decent and fairly priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and lack privacy but as long as you do not mind being around other people, it is fine. The community bathrooms are the worst part of the dorms even though they are cleaned every morning. NSU also offers a private room for those of you not wanting to share a room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly easy. There are writing and math labs for further instruction if you need help and also your instructors have office hours where you can go in to receive furtheer help with the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and you will pass. The classes are not extremely difficult except with a few instructors. So as long as you attend class you will pass the class.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern has a lot of food options on campus so it is very helpful so you so not have to drive. The campus police are very strict but easy to get along with. You always have fun on campus because there is always something to do.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on-campus police 24/7

    Greek Life

    They seem to have tons of fun

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Education majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus loves talking about ghosts.

    Bang for the buck

    It is actually the cheapest in this area.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of on campus activities. Just ask the RA,

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay at first, but it gets old fast.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, but nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are average.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going here, get some walking shoes. You'll be walking to class daily.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The teacher are average. The campus is nicely small.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on our campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do on campus with all of the student groups and clubs.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the atmosphere here! The instructors are all very helpful and care about their students. After attending 2 other colleges, I've found that I wish I had come here first!

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is highly reachable and quick to respond. The office is right in the middle of the campus.

    Greek Life

    They are very competitive. Each one wants to be the best on campus, so it keeps life interesting for the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some event going on on campus, there is never a dull week here, unless you sit in your room all day. Then you'll be very bored.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Supposedly Seminary Hall, our oldest building, is haunted. Every halloween they get a fundraising tour of it's history and their evidence. Every year NSU does the Big Event, which is community service for the town of Tahlequah. Usually the student organization hosts a concert every year which is free to students. They have many dance, singing, and pageant opportunities for students to win scholarships from the organizations or fraternities/sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    NSU is not very expensive at all. It's a good choice for a division II school comparing price to the education you're getting.

    What to do for fun

    The river is nearby, so the students go out there to socialize and have fun by floating, canoeing, or just hanging out. There's a movie theater, bowling alley, skating rink, some shopping stores, and Tulsa is just an hour away. If you get bored with the food choices in town, Muskogee is 20 minutes up the road as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent in the caf, and if you don't like what they're having, they have 5 other choices of fast food that you can choose from including 2 deli/sandwich places. and one has a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms stay in a decent condition. They get renovations made every so many years. I've been here 4 years and they have renovated almost every building at least once.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers here got their degree from Division 1 schools. Every now and then, there's a teacher who is a NSU alumni.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk around, find the best teachers for you. Get to know your professors, they are more likely to help the familiar faces. And get involved in a student organization, it's so rewarding.

    In three sentences

    It's an average sized beautiful, friendly campus. The motto here is Gather Here, Go Far and the teaching staff does an outstanding job of fulfilling that motto. The teachers are very passionate about their courses, and allow each student to become a well-rounded, educated adult.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very hit or miss. They have an actual chef on staff, but on days that they are not working, the food is pretty awful. However, NSU offers several other on campus dining options, including a Pizza Hut and Chick-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    If you are going to live on campus, make sure you opt in for the renter's insurance. Some of the dorms are prone to leaking, especially South Leoser, which is traditionally freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are more difficult than others obviously, with students usually having the toughest times in the science department. My degree plan was a part of the liberal arts field, which has an excellent faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be knowledgeable about what you want and need to do to graduate. I often found that I had to be in charge of my own academic advising, because some faculty just didn't have the knowledge.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I hear they have a great band program and I'm excited to find out more!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest large university in Oklahoma

    In three sentences

    This school looks amazing, Its in my price range and close to home. Can't wait to visit campus!

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many state, local, and federal offices in Tahlequah.

    Greek Life

    I really don't care.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the local movie theater and go down to the Illinois River.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the resources NSU provides.

    In three sentences

    I rate it high. I like that the campus is pretty close together. The cafeteria is awesome.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers all over campus watching for danger and they're always willing to help someone in need. And they're also starting a panic app that you can use to use for emergencies, and the officers will respond double time.

    Greek Life

    I hear the GREEK LIFE is about the same here as it is in any other school. From what I hear, being in the Greek Life can get you jobs much easier.

    Clubs and Activities

    I saw a lot of clubs and activities that the school offers, but there's so many I'm not sure which I will join! You'll definitely have the ability to keep your schedule full.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a student and you're focused on staying that way, it's very easy to steer clear of the sex, drugs, and alcohol.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hopefully this will be something I can explain better when I make friends! I saw that they have contests throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you keep your self busy with school and leave some time for fun, I'd say its worth it. Stay focused on the tasks at hand and use your FLEX points!! Especially since you have to pay for them!

    What to do for fun

    Well there's rafting out on the river, there's swimming, clubs, the NSU playhouse, coffeehouses, bike stores, small downtown area. I'd say I'm most excited about soccer though, and going out to the river where my buddy's dad owns a lake house!

    Food and Dining

    It's a decent mix of different cultured foods. I wish there was a culinary program that I could work with on the side to bring more variety and taste to the school.

    Dorm Life

    3 stars for the dorms, and 5 stars for the suites! If I make the soccer team I get to live luxurious!!!

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any classes yet, but I hear the professors are as bright as I am, so it remains to be seen. ;) I'll stay neutral on this topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you stay focused and remember, college isn't all about being on your own and having freedom. Always remember to never let your guard down. You are there to further your education, and pursue your career. Don't let too much recreation take that from you. This time around school isn't free.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University isn't too small Definitely not too big. As far as making friends and knowing where everything is, it's just right.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a good number of places to eat on campus including Chik-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and clean. I personally am a commuter as of right now, but I am considering moving on campus at some point in time.

    Academic Rigor

    Class sizes are not ridiculously big. The biggest number I have in one of my classes is probably no more than 60. Unlike other universities, NSU isn't very big which allows for smaller class sizes and more one on one time with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I honestly just started at NSU, but if you have questions then set up an appointment with them and discuss your questions with the advisers.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is one of the best first time college experiences I have had while searching for the right school. The first visit I had there I met my entire academic team of advisers and each of them spent at least 15 minutes with me discussing different questions I had. I think that my education at NSU will be most beneficial.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of campus activities, bowling alley, Cherokee activities

    In three sentences

    NSU has interesting classes. NSU has no air conditioning at the moment. Tahlequah is a nice college town.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club. The Northeastern Activities Board is a great way to have fun and stay involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to walk. The campus is about 200 acres with classes scattered in various buildings. But the beautiful campus and walkways make it an easy and worthwhile walk.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is a fantastic school. I love all of the activities on campus for students to be involved in. I plan on spending all of my college years here.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As a non-traditional student I don't have the opportunity to be in many but there are many to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for both traditional and non-traditional students because of the many different campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    No one can beat the education here for the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is a river to float down and camping that is exceptional.

    Food and Dining

    The kitchens are good with lots to offer.

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure of dorm life as I am a non-traditional student.

    Academic Rigor

    This school takes pride in their rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    View all options the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with many opportunities. Everyone who graduates will have a job even before completion of a degree.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun that i can not even try and get to everything! They have free movie nights, random contests, and lots of other things! People are full of school pride here!

    Food and Dining

    The food is FABULOUS! I've heard that it is the best college food around!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. The dorms are the up there on the ranking compared to others around.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the professor you get! Most of them try to challenge you, then there are others who somewhat don't care at all!

    In three sentences

    NSU is a fantastic school! Everything is so laid back and very friendly! Perfect for students who want a smaller college environment but big enough to socially get lost!(:

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't attend campus classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    By seeing on my emails, the American Indian students have a great club!

    Bang for the buck

    Wow! Northeastern is very affordable! I have shopped around and they beat all other 4 year colleges in our region.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I rank Northeastern a 4 on this because of my experience so far. I am taking online courses and some of those are 8 week courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the chance, get ahead! I am taking online courses and some of them are 8 week classes and it is very fast - paced. If you feel your instructor has given you a grade below what you deserve, discuss it with them and if that does not solve the problem, feel free to ask for the department head contact information and have a talk with them.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is very affordable. The instructors care about you and your learning experience. They care about their reputation as a very prestigious college.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football games, bowling, campus life, shows on campus, and movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with an organization on campus. Study hard and do your best. Live on campus for the first year.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University has three wonderful campuses, with a great variety of options for you to major in. It is one of the oldest universities in the state of Oklahoma. NSU does a great job of preserving the historical building and updating others to make them more modern. I feel a sense of home at NSU.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police, emergency phones all around, and even an app to signal campus police.

    Greek Life

    I am curretnly in Tau Kappa Epsilon. They Have Lambda Chi Alpha, Pike, TKE, and KAppa Sigma, Phi Lambda Chi, and Phi Sigma. Sorority wise they have AO Pie, Sigma Sigma Sigma, Delta Zeta, and ASA.

    Clubs and Activities

    NAB, Circle K, Student government, etc..

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap, and a great school.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many options from small dorms, to suites, to apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great staff, great involvement, tons of organizations.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing campus. They keep us involved, and very busy academically and community wise.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police here work very hard to keep us safe. They gave us a seminar on what to do when an active shooter comes into the building. This seminar was very helpful considering how many shootings have happened over the past 10 years.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very prominent on campus. It is a way for people who are interested to build an on-campus family. They do a lot of activities on campus to get everyone involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities to participate in on campus and around town as well. There is something going on at least every day, maybe even every hour. I love how the activity on campus gives the place a vibrant atmosphere.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for education majors, criminal justice majors, and several more. It really is good for all sorts of people because they want you to join in in their events, but they do not pressure you to do so.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a little bit of a mysteries set of columns on campus. They were said to have been there when one of the original buildings here burnt down, and if you walk through them you will not graduate.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on around campus. From the free sporting events to the not so expensive movie showings, there is never a dull moment on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty great. I like how we have so many options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are amazing. The size is not too small, and I love having so many other people around me to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a lot from you and they want you to do your best. They offer assistance if you are having trouble, and they want to make sure you pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend your classes, it can make a difference on your grade.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State University is a very high spirited school. The people here are very friendly, and everyone is willing to help each other. I enjoy being here everyday.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you like hiking/outdoor activities there are a decent amount of opportunities for that.

    Food and Dining

    It's about the same as other colleges I've been to.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus,but it seems ok.

    Academic Rigor

    They seem to have good programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid as soon as possible because it will take a while to get processed.Also, sign up for classes as soon as possible otherwise you may not get the schedule you want because they fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    Northeastern State has a very pretty campus/nice scenery. The cost of tuition is reasonable and the staff is friendly. The campus is also located a few minutes from downtown Tahlequah.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown is a great place to hangout. There are a couple of cafe hangouts. There's a park to just walk around and relax. Its a small town, but you don't need to be driving around, unless you go to Walmart.

    Food and Dining

    The food is food. Its what you get. If the cafeteria is offering food that doesn't quite fit your needs, then there are other places within the UC. You can visit the Underground in the basement or Flo's on the 3rd floor.

    Dorm Life

    It is a great opportunity to experience life as a college student. You meet great people and make friends very easily and quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy. Just study, stud, study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Please apply for as many scholarships as you can, you do not want to owe money to these people.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, but I am not allowed to return because I owe them money. How does this make any sense? I am not satisfied with this school.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police will give you tickets, so watch out!

    Greek Life

    AMAZING. I love my sisters!

    Clubs and Activities

    Really good opportunity to meet new people if you want to come out of your shell.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports Greek life Improv group Open Mic nights Get involved with campus organizations

    Food and Dining

    The caf is either really goog or really gross, no in between.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part, quiet. It can't be too great, it's college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the assignments as soon as they are posted or assigned. Have a good relationship with your teacher. Go to the study labs, the library, Webb building, and keep studying.

    In three sentences

    It's not a very big college. Although it is small, it makes me feel as though I have a home away from home. You really can, gather here, and go far.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I loved the volleyball courts, gym, swimming pools and University Center.

    Food and Dining

    Decent grub throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Had the time of my life living in seminary suites.

    Academic Rigor

    You can't slack and expect an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Excellent choice of schools, just maintain contact with your advisors to keep on a good plan.

    In three sentences

    Nsu is an awesome school. Its filled with tons of staff that are dedicated to get you where your going in life. I would definitely recommend this school to others.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of options and you are just about guaranteed to find at least one club that you can attend weekly and love!

    Great for these types of students

    N.S.U. has an awesome education program - if you are looking at being a teacher, you should definitely be looking at attending N.S.U.

    Bang for the buck

    N.S.U. is affordable and has great teachers and classes available - GREAT VALUE

    What to do for fun

    JOIN CLUBS! Hang out with people who like the same sorta stuff!

    Food and Dining

    There are some great options for food on campus - W.O.W, Freshens, and Starbucks coffee just to name a few! However, the cafeteria tends to have more bland meal options - but its all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of options for housing at N.S.U, but if you are an incoming freshman you are required to live on campus or with your family.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough courses and teachers who know their subjects make for a great learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too shy! Open up and get involved on campus, join a club, make some friends, go work out and get healthy at the Fit!

    In three sentences

    N.S.U. is an affordable college that has some great teachers in the English and Linguistics departments. They also have tons of clubs, ranging from the every day fraternities and sororities to the NEWTS (Northeastern Wizards Teaching Service) club that focuses on charity fundraising! There are many opportunities to become a stronger, better you at N.S.U!

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus police are always trying to improve the safety of the students here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus has tons of different organizations, from Fraternities and Sororities, to professional clubs and activity clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The entire campus has a lot of different traditions, such as Haunted Seminary Hall and Wilson Hall in the Fall, different campus events, and comedy improv shows. Some unusual locations are Seminary Hall and Wilson Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other 4 year universities, this college is one of the cheaper ones, but the educational opportunities are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there is Green Country Cinema which is only a few blocks from campus, the bowling alley, Club Efex for those ages 18 and over, I do not recommend going there, and the river in the spring. Other than that, other places to have fun is in Muskogee which is about a 30-45 minute drive or Tulsa which is about an hour and a half to two hours away.

    Food and Dining

    The auxiliary services are pretty good, the cafeteria can be at times. The meal plans vary depending on what you want and you get flex points to spend here on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are pretty kept up. The upperclassmen dorms, not so much, except for the suites. The prices are very reasonable and the dorm life, I feel, gives you a better connection with other students as compared to living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are some of the best in the state and this school is know for the Education program and has the only Optometry school in the state of Oklahoma and is ranked #3 in the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on pursuing Optometry, Medical, or Education, then this is the school for you. The student life here on campus is very diverse and multicultural. The instructors here a wonderful and are very respectful. The cost of going here is reasonable as compared to most four year universities.

    In three sentences

    NSU is a great college to be at. The classes are small, so there is a more student-teacher connection than most colleges can provide. The campus is small, but it promotes student connections.

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some on campus, but I have not participated.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students Students returning or transferring Working Adults

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    It is well-priced for a university, and I do feel like I am getting a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Tulsa is only twenty minutes away, and it has a lot of options. There are several bars downtown, bowling, hookah bars, etc. Broken Arrow itself offers less entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    At the Broken Arrow campus, there is limited dining but the food is good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the Broken Arrow campus, which doesn't offer dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework itself has not been challenging for me so far, but I have been challenged to broaden my horizons and consider new points of view in my traditional (i.e., in person) classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes, keep up with your due dates! You can usually work ahead, which is helpful if you have a hard week and can't work on school as much. Keeping in contact with your professors can offer some leniency.

    In three sentences

    This school is excellent for working adults and other nontraditional students. It offers a variety of online, blended, and in-person classes that work well with a busy schedule. I have really enjoyed most of the classes I've taken so far.