Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northern Michigan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want an adventure? Go hiking on one of two mountains near Marquette. Need an adrenalin rush every once in a while? Go jump off Black Rocks or take a trip to Marquette Mountain for some boarding/skiing. Want to get a serious education after high school? The teachers are so into their field of study they're actually excited to teacher their subject to us. Want to just make some new friends and hang out? Go to the Market Place and grab something to eat or watch a movie on campus. This is probably the one school where you will find everything you want to do and a few other things you would like to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Let's see some tips for you. FYI Northern is in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It snows a bit and can pretty cold. Now don't freak out, it's not like arctic weather or anything, it's not the bad no matter what stories you hear. You should bring a very warm, heavy winter coat though and boots made to take the snow. A snowboard and skis for those who like their winter sports. Marquette Mountain is about a mile or two from campus. Now we do have nice days up here too, so bring your swim wear because Lake Superior is about a mile or two as well from campus. If your home is a long ways away from home don't worry, Northern will feel like your second home in no time. Just do something here. Join an interesting club, try-out for your favorite sport, and make friends. Good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    College isn't cheap, everyone who's heading there or has been there knows that. At Northern though it's completely worth it. You have school where some classes are challenging and some classes are fun and then you have classes that are both which is a bonus. The teachers will do whatever they can to help you out if you're struggling with a class or just have a question. The environment is great. The campus has that laid back feeling with just enough seriousness to keep you on your academic track. Dorm life was so different for me, but I loved it. All of my friends were just a walk away and up to do something when a test wasn't looming near. There is always something to do one campus, or if you feel the need to just get off campus for a bit you could walk over to the beach or take a quick drive to Marquette Mountain.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. I don't know of any other college where you can go to class and in that same day go hiking, or biking, or swimming, or cliff jumping, or sledding, or snowboarding/skiing. There all sorts of clubs from government and art to sports. You can even go see a movie on campus for free and they are even recent ones. If you're looking for a college where you spend every hour of every day either in class or studying then Northern isn't for you. If you want to balance your day with your studies and some fun then get on Northern's website and apply. Do it now! What are you waiting for?

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are so helpful. They will come in early or stay late in their office if you can't make their hours. When you ask a question they do their best to answer it. I even had teachers who would look it up and the answer it the next class. Some teachers even remember all their students names and faces, even in the 300+ lectures. The class sizes are perfect. They're just small enough that you still can get that one on one help unlike at huge colleges. The teachers do a great job keeping students attentions, like a chemistry teacher doing live demos in lecture class.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who LOVES the outdoors.. and snow. Snow is a huge part of the school year up at NMU. I can't say anything to generalize the residence halls/dorms, because each one is different! I consider myself to be an open-minded and adventurous person, and NMU has DEFINITELY brought out the best in my character. NMU has several different choices for activities, including a fully-loaded Physical Education center, complete with a ROCK WALL. There are a lot of resources available for students that need help with school, family, friends, and just adjusting to college in general. Anyone who loves the outdoors, hanging out with new people, delicious varieties of foods, and life in general will most likely thrive at NMU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to pack an open mind with your ski boots and notebooks! Moving up to NMU was a life-changing experience for me and I learned a lot about myself and college life in general. Be aware that you are not only going to school to have fun and make connections, but essentially to LEARN and PREPARE yourself for life AFTER college. Don't let yourself get too distracted or you might fall behind. Other than that.. Have fun and take FULL advantage of the campus life and facilities. I know I did :)

    Bang for the buck

    Although I am an out-of-state student, I found that NMU was more than willing to put forth financial aid for my education. I earned a good chunk of tuition payments from scholarships. However, as with most universities, there is the money issue. Classes for me were on the expensive side sometimes, mostly for lab fees and special exceptions on materials for certain instructors.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus environment of NMU is fantastic! The population is not as overwhelming as state schools, but not as confining as private universities. The surrounding city of Marquette has so much to offer, and there is always something good to be said about the people of the Upper Peninsula. There is always something to do on a slow weekend, or even weekday - and teachers and students coexist quite happily.

    Am learning a lot

    Over the course of the year, I began to realize that I was more interested in some subjects - and methods of learning - than in others. But don't let that stop you from learning something in every single class! The teachers at NMU are open to communication and will do what they can to help you, if you make yourself heard.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    northern truly has everything from L.A.R.P. to lacrosse. everyone will find a place where they will feel at home

    Tips for prospective students

    going to northern is a great experience and a great time, but every student must com equipped with the proper gear or you wont fully be able to enjoy your time there. As a start bring hiking boot, swimtrunks, sleds, snowgear, everything you think you need, and some of the things your grandparents recomend

    Am enjoying being here

    northern is a school for those who like to make their own fun. In Marquette and the sorrounding area there is so much to do you should never get bored.

    Am learning a lot

    teachers are helpful and personable they are completely willing to help those who help themselves.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NMU has all kinds of students. Have an open mind and look into the almost 300 different student clubs and organizations on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a ton of snow. Being near lake Superior keeps Marquette from getting as cold as other parts of the upper midwest, but it also means it's much wetter year round.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of state tuition is a little expensive and the books cost quite a bit, but there are also a lot of scholarships and financial aide available.

    Am enjoying being here

    Marquette is gorgeous. It's an easy walk to Superior from campus. Curving sidewalks and a lot of trees keep the campus feeling natural. Students are friendly and open-minded. Plus, the food is awesome!

    Am learning a lot

    My classes last year were great. The professors are all really nice and willing to help. They all have posted office hours that they never miss. Classes move quickly in most cases, but professors adapt each one to fit the students in it.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only is the campus super safe, so it the general community. The area is a great small town. On campus we have Public Safety watching over things and making sure everything goes smoothly. Coming here you will feel really safe and have nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is kind of small. We have four sororities and 2 fraternities. Then we also some fine arts fraternities and academic fraternities. Don't let that steer you away though its a great time and you make tons of cool people. I'm in a sorority here and its the best decision i have made since coming up here. We are involved on campus and we volunteer too.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many clubs and what ever we don't have, its super easy to start one. We have athletics, greek life, club athletics, intramurals, academic clubs, volunteer organizations. I cant even think of all we have because there are so many options.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a small town so there isn't much mainstream places around but we have some. The big thing is nature so if you love nature, and the outdoors come here you wont regret it. Also our hockey is the best so hockey fans... This is your home!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the first snowfall that sticks, one of the all boys houses, the Brule house goes on the brule run. This means they streak in the courtyard. it sounds weird but its a great time and hilarious to watch especially with fresh hot cocoa to keep you warm.

    What to do for fun

    Its right on the lake, Swimming, Cliff jumping. There is also hiking on the ever beautiful Sugar loaf. The nature is breathtaking around here and you won't want to miss it. It is however Winter for most of the year and there is a lot of snow. This is good though because you can go skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, there are always groups building snow people and other winter related activities.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to lie, the food is average. It really depends on the day if its good or not. Some of the options are great and others are ehh. Most schools are like that though but I would say its still good quality food. Also there are food places on campus that you can use campus dining dollars on like Fieras, Melted Grilled Cheese, Temaki and Tea, Smoothie King, Starbucks etc.

    Dorm Life

    Suite style :) there are bathrooms for every two rooms. It's so nice not to have to share a bathroom with the whole floor. The halls have great atmospheres and they all do activities to help you get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good and the teachers really like to help you when in need. There are great opportunities for tutoring and most classes have TAs along with them to help with study sessions if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let distance scare you. its a long way from me and I almost overlooked it. I'm so glad I didn't. Everyone is so friendly nd the people are great although you miss people back home, you meet a whole new set of great people

    In three sentences

    A friendly, fun environment. The School is really involved with the Community and vise verse. A great size and good pricing, I'm paying the same or less than I would have to go to some of my in-state School

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    small group people, people that don't likes big colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    my friends go to northern and they said its a relly good college.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to make college, truly, the best days of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you get your heart set on a school. I had originally wanted to attend MSU or CMU; but after one day at Northern my mind was completely changed. You have the opportunity to become a Big fish in a small sea up here, unlike MSU where you are the small fish in the big sea.

    Bang for the buck

    Can you say 2nd cheapest public university in Michigan? Location alone is worth the price, then add in awesome people, staff and dinning...bang for the buck is an understatement!

    Will enjoy being here

    We are planning on being in either Payne or Gant hall, love love love it. The people up north are just too kind. The community and student body both really respect each other.

    Will learn a lot

    My best friend I are going to be freshmen fall of 2012 at NMU! Couldnt be more excited to be attending such an amazing school with such great programs are professors!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When the first snow sticks for 24 hours, you go out in shorts and t-shirts and run around in the snow.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, fishing, off-roading, shopping, visiting animal shelters

    Food and Dining

    You can get on a plan where you can get food all day.

    Academic Rigor

    Your teachers help you when you need it. Your friends also help you with your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and ask professors about different courses they have. Ask former students about their experiences that they had through their years at Northern.

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan is a great college for my degree that I am interested in. The classes are small. You make tons of friends within the first few weeks of school.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whenever I have any free time I go out exploring with my friends! There are many trails to explore on but I also like to go off on my own to find never seen before spots. In the winter I enjoy going to the hockey games. Norther's team is ranked in Division 1, and they are really good!

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy most of the meals. I was lucky enough to have a dorm right near the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    There are many activities that go on in the dorm which are fun to meet other students at.

    Academic Rigor

    I am applying for the Nursing Program. It is very difficult to get in. I had to keep my GPA around a 3.8 to compete with other student who are also applying.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many trails to hike and explore right near the water. So remember to bring lots of outdoor gear!

    In three sentences

    I love Northern Michigan University. The campus is beautiful, and right near the great Lake Superior! The professors are always willing to help you, they have ample office hours where you can talk to the professor one-on-one.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for science major students and students who want to be a part of activities that are not a part of their major.

    Will enjoy being here

    This college is located in the a great little town by the water and there is much to do there. Plus the environment on the campus seems to be very welcoming and active. It seems to be a fun and very friendly place to be.

    Will learn a lot

    Just by visiting this college a professor I met taught me a lot about life and how to get by in college. It is great to know that these professors care enough about their students that they will give their wisdom to anyone who asks and is interested.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and students who benefit from extra attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what I did. Visit the campus, check out your interests. Schedule an appointment with the advisor in charge of the program your interested in. They'll be glad to see you. I was able to meet with not only the Pre-Med advisor but the Pre-Vet advisor as well. They were both kind and thoroughly informative on their respective programs. Very helpful in your decision making process!

    Bang for the buck

    Going in as an OEC athlete from Miami, I still get Resident tuition so it is the cheapest tuition I'll have to pay at any other college out of Florida. Especially since I'm planning on pursuing the Pre-Med program!!

    Will enjoy being here

    Northern Michigan University is much more special than many know. This university houses the Olympic Education Center. I am an athlete with dreams of being an Olympic medalist and after visiting the facility, coaches, and athletes at NMU, I realize that the possibilities of what some people may call unrealistic dreams are actually quite possible. The coaches are very accomplished technicians and the athletes have intact moral principles that will make the fun not only fun, but safe. The athletes were also VERY welcoming along with the rest of the NMU staff. The location is definitely different from the city like environment I am used to in Miami. Much more quiet. Very tranquil. The nature in Marquette is absolutely beautiful. I had the opportunity to visit Lake Superior, which is not even a mile from the university and is definitely one of the most beautiful things i have EVER seen! So will I enjoy it? Of course!

    Will learn a lot

    After visiting, I took note of the size of the classes. I know that a student becomes more successful in smaller classes because of the exclusivity to each student. The majority of the classes were fairly small with the exception of the lecture halls. Like many other students, I excel with that extra attention. They also offer free tutoring if you have any issues with a class!

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Very easy to get active on campus. Everyone wants you in their club!

    Great for these types of students

    Irresponsible, adventure-seeking, nature-loving, in need of escape.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gant Hall is the party dorms. Best nights are spent here.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, a great experience for not much money at all.

    What to do for fun

    Become alive in the glorious outdoors. So many countless things to marvel at.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but the on-campus restaurants are very good. Also, freshman have an unlimited meal pass and can eat whenever and however many times a day, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of nice people, but be tentative about partying. The kids here are great, however. Lots of smokers.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes I found not incredibly challenging, which had pros and cons, of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very good school to start out at if you're wanting to escape from home. Everyone is welcoming and genuinely wants to see you do well. Tuition is very affordable, which is so smart to choose as a freshman.

    In three sentences

    Truly among the most beautiful and wonderful places one can choose to live in the great state of Michigan. Campus is small compared to what I was expecting, but small in a perfect kind of way. Marquette is a small town that does not stand for crime, though, so watch out.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have been around for the one time I needed them.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a decent amount.

    Great for these types of students

    Marquette is a pretty laid back town so I would think it would suit that kind of student best.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than most colleges, aside from community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Being that Northern is so close to Lake Superior is probably one of the highlights. There are plenty of hiking and biking trails.

    Food and Dining

    I've eaten at the restaurants on-campus, but never in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms so I have no opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear other people say it's an easier college.

    In three sentences

    Northern is great for the smaller classroom sizes. I truly feel like I can get to know all of my professors if I wanted to. Also, the community is an amazing place to attend college; the outdoor activities are endless.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Outstanding

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about anything you can think of, there is a student club for it!

    Bang for the buck

    good value

    What to do for fun

    Student clubs, hockey, swimming, skiing, hiking, rock climbing, basketball, nightlife. Just about anything you want to do

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is very good and there is a large selection to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are available for one on one student assistance!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothing for Winter Semester. Temperatures can drop into the -20's Fahrenheit

    In three sentences

    Northern is a wonderful school if you like the great outdoors! Class sizes are relatively small and the school is very affordable. There are many activities for students to enjoy both on and off campus!

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top-notch, and very friendly

    Clubs and Activities

    One for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor or small town people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ah, the Brule run, held by the Brule house on campus. It is an all boys house that takes a jog (naked) around campus on the first snow fall.

    Bang for the buck

    I think we're the 2nd cheapest in Michigan. I'm not complaining and neither are my pockets.

    What to do for fun

    Where do I start?! There is hiking, skiing, swimming, the beach, downtown shops, clubs (something like 300 on campus), free campus movies, concerts held by big-name bands each semester. So in short, you're not going to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Okay this is the part that--I'm going to be honest-- is just o.k. But keep in mind it is cafeteria food. Don't be too worried about it though I mean most of the time its good food (especially at the Wildcat Den), but towards the end of the semester or before a holiday break the selection dwindles.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, especially for meeting people and making you feel like you belong on campus. Even if you live close to here I would recommend, even if only for a year, that you live in the dorms. Dorm life also offers great leadership opportunities such as Hall and house (each hall is split up by level creating a house) government, and has been a great way for me at least to build my networking skills.

    Academic Rigor

    I can speak best about this subject regarding the pre-professional program. They do not mess around here at Northern all the professors I've had are very dedicated to making sure you are going to be prepared for graduate school. I can also say that having taken an art class and seeing many of my friends in the arts programs offered here, although completely different than the pre-professional curriculum it is still very hard work. Art is no blow-off here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! NMU is the perfect school for a lot of people (I know it is for me) but make sure the small town and outdoorsy atmosphere is something you're going to like for the next 4 years. A lot of the programs here are really strong, but I would make sure that Northern offers the perfect program that is suited for you. And I know this seems obvious, but take high school seriously, because just because you passed a class in high school doesn't mean you retained the information for college use.

    In three sentences

    I feel Northern was the best choice for me because I came from a smaller high school and didn't immediately want to be dropped in the middle of a college that was bigger than a city. The atmospehere is very homey; everyone is really close and people will actually look you in the eye, smile and say hello to you, even if you don't know them. And lastly just because this college is one of the cheapest in the state doesn't mean the academics are skimpy!

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses in the US (that was my mom's favorite part!)

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, education majors, people who like being outdoors and don't mind the cold

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brule Run...guys from Brule House streak around campus at midnight after the first snowfall

    Bang for the buck

    A great value school with lots of scholarship oppourtunities

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, cliff jumping, swimming in Lake Superior, skiing, dog sled races

    Food and Dining

    Going downhill, but still better than most.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on your lifestyle and which house you live in, each has a very different feel!

    Tips for prospective students

    A car isn't necessary your freshman year!

    In three sentences

    Located in a rural area (no matter if they actually call it a city) with lots of things to do outdoors. A school where professors will know you by name. A community.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety poles with phones and emergency buttons scattered throughout the campus, as well as Public Safety making rounds. The campus is well lit with plenty of security. President Barack Obama didn't seem to have a problem visiting our campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life on campus isn't as prominent as at other bigger schools, but it exists here and those that partake love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and lots of choices. Zombies, crafts, sports, religion, aliens, movies, majors, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    There's a little bit of something for everyone here. Sports, education, shopping, crafts, nature. Whatever your little heart desires can probably be found.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual Zombie Chase is amazing. Students zombie hunting across campus throwing marshmallows and chasing each other. It's a sight to see. There's the Nearly Naked Mile where people run and take off certain clothes for charity. There's also the Polar Plunge, where students dive into Lake Superior in the Winter.

    Bang for the buck

    NMU is one of the cheapest universities in the state and is recognized around the world for being a great school. People come from across the world to join us! No matter where you go, your wallet it going to suffer, but at least at Northern the blow if manageable and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs available, including sport clubs, clubs relating to a major, religion (or lack thereof), or other hobby-related clubs. Every year there is a Zombie chase involving shooting participants with marshmallows. The campus housing often do their own parties or events that are often free or super cheap to get involved in. Throughout the city restaurants and event spaces often have discounts for students when they show their ID. Free taco at Taco Bell. There's also a TON of places to explore throughout the Upper Peninsula of beautiful Michigan. There's the Picture Rock boat tour, there are waterfalls, and cliffs (Perfect for diving off of...for fun), that big lake (ya know...Superior), and countless hiking trails. Lots of shopping and restaurants, and concerts throughout the year. There's really something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    For such a small (or medium size, as they say) campus, there are a lot of choices for food. Sandwich station, pastas, soups, salads, pizza, hamburger/chicken/fries, and a Mongo grill are some options any time. There's also a hot food line that changes every meal. The other, smaller cafe option has soup, salad, sandwiches, a grill (for burgers and other sandwiches, pizza, and another alternating hot food line. Both places also have a selection of fruit, veggies, drinks, desserts, and other random deliciousness.

    Dorm Life

    Many of the dorms are recently renovated and just lovely. The furniture is new and the buildings are kept up very nicely by the building and grounds staff. Students can also be as involved as they want to be. Go to every fun occasion or go to none, it's up to you. No pressure.

    Academic Rigor

    NMU professors are rather fair when it comes to testing and homework. As long as you do the work assigned, you should be prepared for anything they want to test you on. Show up to class, pay attention, and put in some effort and you'll be golden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Skype. A lot of people who go to NMU are from far away, and it's easy to miss your family and friends. Video chatting can make things transition more smoothly. Also, bring decorations to make your room feel like home instead of an empty white box. Don't be afraid to change your major, be undeclared, or ask for help. You have time, might as well use it.

    In three sentences

    NMU is a rather small, yet comfortable campus. It appeals to those who enjoy outdoors and athletics, as well as those that prefer shopping, clubs, and other city-like things. The campus has lots and lots of physical resources as well as a staff that will do anything they can to make your college experience the best it can be.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northern tries to make the campus life the best it can be. some of the common things to see on the weekend is watching the wildcat hockey team hit the ice.

    Bang for the buck

    NMU offers the best bang for your buck with comfortable learning experience with a wonderful staff of professors that want to see you grow into an inelegant experienced adult.

    What to do for fun

    There is a vast amount of things to do. With the location of campus being 5 minutes from downtown, the beach and the wonderful woodland trails there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is not a 5 star restaurant so it is as god as it should be very convenient and easy to stop in and grab food before after and in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, get to meet new people and get involved in house activities and become a family.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that you jump right in and involve yourself into on campus activities. Of course just like all schools always go to classes and make time to study. You should try and come out of your comfort zone and try something new.

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan is a place for all no matter your interests. i love going there because I know that I am always going to have a great time and really prepare for my future. There is always something to do on campus and will never be excluded from anything.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hike, cliff jump, swim, ski, snowboard and kayak. Take in a football game at the superior dome. The biggest wood dome in the world. Watch a hockey game at the Berry event center.

    Food and Dining

    There food has improved it is mainly student cooks making your food. They hardly having a morning breakfast selection actually they don't have much of a selection at all. NMU does have Starbucks, smoothie king, melted and a sushi dinner all that you can use your dinning dollars at.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms I found it very welcoming. I was placed in a all girls dorm and it really gives you a chance to get to know people and make friends. The dorms consist of a shared bathroom with you and your suite mates and a shared room with one other person.

    Academic Rigor

    It is defiantly not a Yale or a U of M but it is a great school to get your education. The school and staff want you to succeed. They will help you find jobs and set up internships as long as you do your part and get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are looking for a small campus community. It also helps if you like the outdoors because there is lake Superior and many mountains to hike. It can also get very cold in the winter if you do not like the cold and snow you may want reconsider.

    In three sentences

    Excellent environment and friends students and staff. Never feel left out because it is such a small campus with a lot going on. Lots of chances to get involved in school events and organizations.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northern Lights

    What to do for fun

    There are movie nights every weekend at Jamrich. There are always campus events going on, you just have to get out there to learn about them. There are PLENTY of ways to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge variety of food and you can always get a salad when you want one. It can sometimes get old, but if you get tired of the MP you can always go to the Den up campus to get something new. The Den has the BEST burgers and caesar salads.

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING! There are so many opportunities to get involved with the others in your dorm so that you will never feel alone. I would for sure recommend the newly renovated dorms though (Hunt/VA, Meyland/Magers)

    Academic Rigor

    I am a student that only finds Math intimidating and other things I can catch onto easily. To others, this may be different. NMU's classes aren't super easy though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open! Talk to different people, don't just stick to your one group of friends. Enjoy the nature that you are surrounded by and just do the best that you can! Do NOT miss class unless you absolutely need to, going to class is definitely necessary!!

    In three sentences

    It is a university that is surrounded in nature, so if you're into nature this place is for you. The teachers are so open to help you whenever you need it and the majority of students are nice and always willing to help. I love NMU.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    NMU provides every opportunity to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for all types of weather.

    In three sentences

    NMU is a 5 star campus. My experience here is well rounded. I can't wait to return in the fall.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lot of fun activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Must come and explore northern.

    In three sentences

    One of the best public funded university. Providing world class higher education with reasonable fee structure. State of the art modern facilities with world class amenities.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who want a degree, but are more interested in the surrounding city - Marquette is a beautiful place and there's tons to do year-round. The academics won't take a lot of time out of your day, so there's plenty of time left over for skiing, hiking, swimming, or any other outdoor activity.

    Food and Dining

    Northern actually has some pretty interesting places to go to eat. For instance, my favorite spot to go for lunch is Melted, a specialty grilled cheese place. There are a couple dining halls here and there (I wouldn't recommend the Wildcat Den, though), and there's even a Mexican joint in the basement of the library!

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment on dorm life; I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Northern has a wide variety of classes, but even in upper-level classes I don't feel challenged. I hear a lot of students complain when classes don't get out early or when homework is assigned, and that kind of attitude - the idea that college should be an easy ride - is pervasive, so that even the professors pander to the kids who haven't really learned that college shouldn't be High School 2.0.

    In three sentences

    Northern is a decent school, but I would call it average at best. The academics are adequate, but not very challenging; the students are friendly, but it's hard for off-campus students like me to make friends. If you're just looking to get a degree, it'll serve your needs, but if you're looking for a college experience, go elsewhere.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hike Dead River Falls, bike the lake shore, ski Marquette Mountain, climb Hogback mountain (the highest point in Marquette county), camp on the beach, see the Northern Lights

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and adventurous, be ready to make friends and get outside A LOT!

    In three sentences

    NMU is located in a beautiful town in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Here, we have four seasons, so you can have fun doing all of your favorite activities. Plus, Lake Superior, the largest fresh water lake in the US is literally a stone's throw away!

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often see campus police patroling. I feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of academic, sport, or other such clubs available for all students to join.

    What to do for fun

    Surrounding Northern, is the largest of the Great Lakes, Lake Superior. So students are able to enjoy the great nature. Northern also offer a wide variety of sport classes.

    Food and Dining

    Nor do I use diners at the University.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to school, so I can't relate.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that some courses, are thought to be difficult, however a person just need to put appropriate time toward each course.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest to all students that college is not the time to party but the time to study. All courses can easily be passed with outstanding achievements if only the student does the required work. Remember being at a university is a time to study.

    In three sentences

    Northern keeps up with current technology. A notebook computer is available for all full time students, and there is great internet access in surrounding areas via WiMax. As well printing, it is eco-friendly and user friendly. The computers and great internet access give students more resources for studying.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown is a good place to start. There's a pottery shop, book store, and many shops. You could also go hiking, canoeing, ice fishing, snowboarding, swimming, and even see the Northern Lights!

    Food and Dining

    The only problem about the food is that the Den closes early. The Market Place is open late, but for the students living up campus, it's not easy to make the journey through snow.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. It's comfortable and the people living here are respectable and kind.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not impossible. Study a lot and work hard. Your grade will reflect the work you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study and go to class. It seems silly, but skipping class is the quickest way to guarantee failure in classes. Take good notes and have friends over to help you study.

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan is the perfect place for me. It's located in a small town providing comfort and a community feeling in whatever you choose to do at the school. The dorms are comfortable and the people are wonderful.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marquette, is one of the nicest cities I have ever lived in. The campus itself is patrolled by real officers, not security guards, and there are emergency blue oles everywhere around campus.

    Greek Life

    The greek life here is minimal. There are a few, however, they do not live in houses together.

    Clubs and Activities

    NMU boasts over 300 different organizations across campus. There is everything for a dog walking program, to a fishing club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the outdoors, exploring, and are down to earth would love NMU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Brule Run is AMAZING! After the first snowfall sticks for 24 hours, a certain male dorm strips and runs across campus for all the spectators to see.

    Bang for the buck

    Northern Michigan University is the second cheapest 4-year university in the state of Michigan. Each student is supplied with a laptop, which is included in tuition. You'll also see a lot of students from nearby states because it is still cheaper with out of state tuition than to attend a university in state.

    What to do for fun

    There has never been a day where I have been bored. I have gone swimming, cliff jumping, hiking, biking, to the movie theater, sledding, to the ice caves, and seen the Northern Lights.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good but it gets old fast. However, we do have a Starbucks, a grilled cheese restaurant, and a Mexican restaurant on-campus. Other than this, all off-campus dining is delicious

    Dorm Life

    Fun!!! NMU really strives for the dorms to have a family feeling to them. There is also on-campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a joke at Northern that the 'n' stands for knowledge. However, I have had amazing professors and a great time learning. It's not pull you hair out difficult, but there is a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not like snow, do not come to Northern.

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan University is one of best decisions I have made in my entire life. It has tons of majors and organizations to offer and the people here are extremely friendly.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Adventure-seeking, outdoorsy, thrill-seeking people. -Photographers and Artists! NMU is surrounded by so much natural beauty! The U.P.'s muse is Marquette. -Hospitality Management students have full access to a kitchen, bakeshop, meat room, student-run cafe, student-run fine dining restaurant, and all with NO additional fees. NMU is one of 22 schools in the country that offer this luxury of hands-on experience at next to no cost (you pay for your kitchen whites). -CIS! Northern just expanded is CS/CIS majors and they are constantly growing and gaining recognition.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Pack your snow clothes! -An adventurous spirit would THRIVE here!!

    Bang for the buck

    Northern is one of the cheapest Universities in the state of Michigan, and yet Northern has a higher placement rate than the more expensive schools. http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges/northern-michigan-university-2301

    Academic Rigor

    -The classes that are FOR your major/minor are very specific and filled with information; it varies with some electives. -I've learned so much from the hands-on labs that Northern offers, and I know that not many other colleges offer them like Northern does.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I went to Orientation and by the second day, I felt like i was at home.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northern Michigan University is great for any type of student. There are athletics like football, hockey, volleyball and many more. There are plenty of academic opportunities both for credit and for non credit. We have both Fraternities and Sororities for people wanting to join one of those. Northern is just a place for anyone and everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to make friends. Things are always more fun when you have friends to do things with. And not just friends in your dorm building. Having friends all over campus can be really rewarding, especially if you want to go to something that people in your dorm hall don't want to go to. Another tip would be to go to your classes. You're paying for them after all and they really aren't as bad as some people say they are.

    Bang for the buck

    Northern is one of the cheapest universities in Michigan which is why i chose this school. You get a great education and learn a lot for the price you pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Northern! During the fall it is so pretty in the UP. Winters can be harsh but it's completely worth it. There's always something for you to do and you're never bored.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Northern all know a lot about their subjects they are teaching. They make most of the classes fun to be in. Getting one on one time with your professor is easy. They all have office hours for you to stop in and if you can't make it during those hours, they are all willing to set up a special time with you to help you with whatever you need.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for medical students and the local hospital is located right beside it. It is also ideal for students who love the outdoors and would like to get some cheap classes before transferring to another college. It also is ideal for art students to start at because most art colleges can be fairly expensive and their laptop they receive will instead be a Mac laptop.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go into college thinking you know everything or you will be proven wrong very fast. Despite the amount of work you get from your classes, as long as you stay on top of things, you will still have time for taking breaks and doing things you enjoy. Be prepared for snow and lots of it. The campus has tunnels and catwalks to get you from building to building but you still have to get from your resident hall to another building first as most resident halls do not have access to the tunnels.

    Bang for the buck

    As well as having one of the lowest public college tuition rates and it having a wide variety of students to become friends with there is even more. It is surrounded by nature and is really popular during hunting season. Camping is also popular all year long and they even have a winter camping class you can take to fulfill part of your physical education credits. If that isn't enough for outdoor activities they also have two mountains that are very popular for hiking and rock climbing nearby campus.They also have a long list of clubs for you to join that are all run by students. The only professional influence on these clubs is some of them are supervised by a teacher to get the club started but for the most part they are run by individuals who like the same thing you do. If you are worried about having to get a loan to pay for college, they also offer jobs on campus that pay fairly well. Also for students who start here without a lot of money they do provide free laptops to be

    Am enjoying being here

    Northern is a really great place for meeting new friends and most of the professors are really helpful. If you are having difficulty with a class all you have to do is ask or email a teacher for clarification or for them to look over something for you and they will be more than willing to help you succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    At first I went into Northern Michigan University with my high school mindset. In high school things were easy and required little work on my part to succeed so I was confused why people complained about college being so difficult. My views quickly changed within the first two weeks. Even though my classes I chose were good classes for a freshman, not to hard, they still proved to be more difficult than any high school class i had taken before. This opened up a whole new window for me however. In high school I learned nothing because I viewed it as stuff I already knew based around what I found as common knowledge. With the difficulty level of the classes I took in college I found that I had to focus harder than in high school which resulted in me learning more since nothing here was based around what I found as common knowledge.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have small button terminals all over campus that once pressed will send police to that direct spot no matter the time of day. We have Public Safety building right on campus and unlike some colleges that have rent-a-cops, our public safety officers are licensed police from the county of Marquette.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for any activity you could possibly think of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some things we say people have to do before saying they are NMU yoopers are eating a pasty, jumping off Black Rocks into Lake Superior (the cleanest water I have ever seen), and hiking to the top one of our mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    I have gotten everything I could possibly hope for from this university and I am glad that I came here!

    What to do for fun

    ANYTHING that you want to do! Northern Michigan University is surrounded by nature and some things I have tried first semester are hiking, cliff-jumping, slack lining, surfing, snowboarding, and rock climbing. These activities barely even make up a fraction of what you can do here for fun. If you are not into nature activities or physical activity, there is plenty of things to do around the town of Marquette. There are movie theaters, restaurants, and the strip along town have wonderful shops.

    Food and Dining

    Both the Wildcat Den and Marketplace have wonderful food that differs daily and is always fresh and delicious. The Wildcat Den is open less hours than the Marketplace but it generally has higher quality food, not to discount the Marketplace at all.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone I met so far has been genuinely friendly and fun. Just walking across campus you will receive smiles from everyone you pass. The dorm buildings are amazingly well-kept and I have never had an issue with anything related to my room or the building. Each room has plenty of space and the suite style bathrooms are wonderful. Most buildings encourage (but do not require) an open door policy so that everyone can interact with one another and not be stuck-up in a room the entire semester.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put in here. The professors will give you challenging work that is also not beyond your capability. If any help is require they are all to eager to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to give yourself some free time because the professors give work that you actually WANT to do and it is all to easy to lose track of time.

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan University is an amazing university that I am unbelievably happy attending. The professors are interactive, fun, and sincerely want to help you succeed. The campus is beautiful, the buildings are well kept, and you can do any activity you wish to do within minutes of campus.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety on patrol 24/ 7

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs someone could get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    students who love learning of new music, ready to make many friends, active in the outdoors, and ready to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there isn't really anything unusual. there are a lot of concerts put on by northern which are really awesome to attend.

    What to do for fun

    marquette is a beautiful town. hiking, swimming, cliff jumping, camping, snow shoeing, snowboarding.

    Food and Dining

    food could be better, the hours are also pretty crappy. but we have many other opportunities for food on campus, like starbucks and fieras.

    Dorm Life

    the people in the dorms are amazing, and the rules are common sense. these are the people who will help you through anything.

    Academic Rigor

    its not rated number 1 but they have great classes to take with moderately difficult classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    if i had the opportunity to talk to some prospective students i would tell them that marquette is beautiful so they better be ready for some outside activities. it is also a great place to meet long lasting friends.

    In three sentences

    northern michigan university is a great school for me. i love the environment, the second i arrived in marquette it felt like home. northern also has a great psychology program that i am happy to be apart of.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to go out and hike, there is so much to see in the beautiful Upper Peninsula. There is also a lot to do on campus and around the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that if you are thinking about attending NMU that you do a campus tour. I know that it helped me enormously decide that I wanted to go here, and I'm sure it will help you also.

    In three sentences

    I love everything about Northern Michigan University. I cam here because i fell in love with the community, the natural surroundings, and the campus. I could not be more pleased with my decision to attend Northern Michigan University.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of outdoors activities, especially hiking, lake sports, winter sports, and camping.

    Food and Dining

    Again, not applicable to me, rating in the middle.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know yet, so rating this in the middle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Apply early. Expect delays.

    In three sentences

    The staff have been very nice, and several very helpful. The MBA acceptance process has been exceedingly drawn out. Definitely plan ahead when submitting your application.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of physical activities-snowboarding, skiing, cross-country skiing, ice skating, everything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a heavy coat.

    In three sentences

    NMU is full of adventure, challenges, and opportunities to grow. The campus is in the middle of Marquette, a beautiful city surrounded by peaceful beaches and wondrous scenery. This is a great place to attend if you look forward to that classic college experience.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have one of the best campus safety around. You'll see blue lights all over campus and all you have to do is push the button and in under one minute a public safety car will arrive for you. Also every building on campus has what is known as the green door. This is so you can enter a building if there is danger on campus or a bad storm and you cant get to your car or building.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every first snowfall, the boys from the all boys hall in Gant, do the naked mile, you best be early to get a good view! When winter rolls around every Friday and Saturday night campus is dead, this is because EVERYONE is at the Hockey games. This is a D1 campus for Hockey! The first weekend here, you'll probably be asked to go to black rocks, dead river, or little presque, why? Cliff jumping. Its an item for every student to get off there Northern bucket list before they eave to at try it once.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something do, whether there is a guest speaker on campus like The President to a hypnotist, to the on campus movie cinema theater in Jamrich 102 every Sunday. All of this is provided to you through student activity fee and brought to you by Prime time Productions a student organization (which there are over 100 student organizations to join on campus, from Greek life to major clubs).

    Food and Dining

    Food is one of the best around. NMU has won multiple awards for there Dining and Food for students. Props to the head Chef on campus Chef Nathan.

    Dorm Life

    People always have there doors open and are friendly. Even your RA can become your best friend! I have left with some of the greatest friends fro the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is great. The class sizes are very small for the most part and very helpful. Teachers are there for help almost all the time. Teachers schedules are posted outside there doors so you can almost always catch them at there office.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having trouble with a class, go see your teacher they are more then willing to help you, and by going to there office ours, you stand out in there mind and can lead to a passing grade. Also there is a All Campus Tutoring office located next to Starbucks in the LRC, this is a great advantage to you.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very helpful and want there students to pass, not fail. There is ALWAYS something going on on campus, never a dull moment. The most friendly student body I have ever seen, Kind of like high school, It's small and very easy to get to know people.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SO safe. I love the campus safety guys! They're all really nice and have helped me jump my car when my battery died at one in the morning! There's even these nifty safety poles that have emergency buttons on them if you need help immediately, and they're on just about every 200 yards around campus.

    Greek Life

    Limited, there's only a few, but they all participate with campus happenings and volunteer in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    If it's not already a club, make a new one yourself! It's that easy.

    Great for these types of students

    All types! Athletes, Artsy, Tech-lovers, Math Nerds, Outdoor Fanatics, Science Geniuses, Hippies, Musicians, Drama Queens, Homosexuals, Bisexuals, Asexuals, Aviation Majors, Car lovers... Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You've got to try a pasty. Hike up Sugarloaf Mountain and take in the views from the top. Catch the Northern Lights! Also, take a jump off Black Rocks to pass your freshmen right of passage. (No peer pressure though, you can just cheer on your friends.) Come see one of the all-male residence halls do their annual Naked-Run on the first major snow fall at midnight! Pretty funny, plus you can throw snowballs at em'!

    Bang for the buck

    The 2nd most inexpensive university in Michigan after S.V.S.U.

    What to do for fun

    Just walk somewhere! The U.P is beautiful! Go snowboarding, hit downtown Washington Street and be sure to get a malt from Donkers, or go down 3rd street and get a breakfast bagel from The 3rd Street Bagel Shop. Join an intramural sports team with some friends and have fun trying to win the championship t-shirt! Take a bike ride down Presque Isle or jump off Black Rocks into Lake Superior for a thrill. Go to a comedy show or see one of the many famous-people seminars we have. Yes, famous people DO visit Northern, we even had Obama visit us last year.

    Food and Dining

    The Market Place is a great place to catch a U.P. style dish, a native american style dish, pizza, ice cream, or just to meet up with friends over coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Very active residence halls with great Resident Advisers who are friends and mentors.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but so interesting you won't even notice.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing a college, make sure to visit the campus BEFORE you make a commitment. I visited M.S.U, Central Michigan, and Wayne State all before I visited Northern. It's sort of like love at first sight, and it should be!, because once you step onto the campus that will be YOUR campus, you can feel just how right it is. Northern has the cleanest campus I have ever stepped foot on, it's extremely natural and eco-friendly, and everyone you pass is a prospective friend! Northern is a medium sized college, but the class sizes are small, so while you won't feel like your in a small town, you'll still feel special because you aren't just a face in the crowd as you would be at larger universities. Everyone is so friendly in the Upper Peninsula, complete strangers treat you like close friends. Many of my professors and I are on a first name basis, and they are more than happy to take the time to meet with you before, after, or any other time if you need extra help or just want to talk about a popular book! I know what you're thinking: It's too far and it's too cold!. The answer is yes, it is far and it can get cold. But keep in mind that the U.P. is a vacation spot with countless attractions for your friends and family. And while the winters can get a bit chilly, Marquette Mtn. is right around the corner from campus, and haven't you always wanted to try snowboarding or skiing? If not, act like a kid again and join the groups of students who are making snowmen in the courtyards and the snow-ball fights and sledding down the hill after classes. It's truly a winter wonder world. Just so you know, we all have a little geek in all of us at Northern. We like art and science and computers and sci-fi stuff. So don't be afraid to let your freak flag fly! Individuality is what we're all about. Join a club, or make a new one yourself. Northern is beautiful and fun and engaging and I hope you love it as much as I do! Northern, Naturally!

    In three sentences

    The most well-rounded, welcoming, and truly interesting university I have ever had the privilege of attending. I have made a life for myself here at NMU and I can't imagine college anywhere else. I am so glad I chose Northern!

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Public Safety Don't Play lol

    What to do for fun

    Cliff Jumping Snowboarding Swimming Exercise Movies Casiono (You only have to be 18!!!) Camping Trail Riding

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your Housing application ASAP. Bring Warm Clothes winter's can be harsh!!! Be Friendly. Venture Out!!!!

    In three sentences

    I think Northern is pretty cool, the environment is awesome and it's a has cool food, an awesome view of Lake Superior and for students in-state and out-of-state tuition is pretty fair!!!!

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a time on campus where I haven't felt safe. Being a girl, I have walked across campus alone in the dark many times and feel perfectly fine.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a HUGE way to get involved. If you want a group of close nit friends, the family feel then Greek is definitely the way to go. You meet so many new people and have the ability to volunteer in your community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 300 different clubs and activities to do on campus, you just have to find the right fit for you.

    What to do for fun

    In the summer spring and fall there are always the beaches, hiking, camping, and canoeing. In the winter you can ski or snowboard, even sled.

    Food and Dining

    You will never starve that is for sure. I would not call it a home-cooked meal, but you will only get those at a private college that is small. The food is not the worse, its better than high school.

    Dorm Life

    I would highly suggest living on campus, you meet so many more people that way. Its so easy to get involved with the people that live around you and with other campus activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Is just like it would be at any other college. You have to do your work and study, its not a breeze like high school is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your bring lots of warm clothing. Have fun, but keep up on your work. Do not Fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very open and welcoming. I love the atmosphere that is given off around campus. People are always willing to help.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northern has safety nets in all of the parking lots for your convenience. You press a button, and the campus police will be there in a few moments for your assistance. The police are always patrolling around. They have your back.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northern has something for everyone. If we don't have what you want, you can create a club or organization yourself! Grab as many people as you can, get a sponsor, and you have what you need.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student will fit in as long as they work hard and comply with rules!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Like zombies? Once a year the Zombie Club reenacts a very scary Apocalyptic zombie invasion!

    What to do for fun

    Visit the small cafes, eat at many restaurants, view shows at the small theater, work out at the pelf with a buddy, or go play a club sport!

    Food and Dining

    There is the big Market Place filled with option, including vegetarian options. The Wild Cat Den, which is a bit smaller but very tasty. Finally, other small restaurants which offer different styles of food!

    Dorm Life

    Northern offers a good variety of Dorms. They offer family friendly dorm life, to quiet dorm life, to open door community dorm life. There is something for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really care about your achievement. Most take attendance for your own good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Winters can be rough, if you don't own snow gear and don't want to invest it's not the school for you.

    In three sentences

    A very safe and productive place to be where you can get your studies done and have some fun.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Marquette is a beautiful place. Since last I saw, it had so many trees. I grew up in Marquette, but had to move to Oklahoma.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much happens around here concerning safety, just that if it's too cold or too wind outside, they will shut down the roads and campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life isn't too big around here, but much like the clubs, you will find a sorority or fraternity that will fit your personality.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 types of clubs available here, so odds are you're going to find something you like.

    Great for these types of students

    It you are the out-doorsie type, then this place will be perfect for you. NMU is surrounded by forests to walk in, mountains ski down, and a lake to go kayaking in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this unwritten tradition that in September, the incoming freshman have to jump off Black Rocks, a hidden area next to Lake Superior where you jump off the cliffs into the freezing cold great lake. I will admit that the water was numbingly cold, but it was really fun, i would recommend not missing out on it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a little over sixteen thousand, but Financial Aid is available for practically everybody.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of recreation going on hosted by some club, so there's always plenty to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty average. Nothing special, just regular cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    NMU pretty much has a dorm for every type of personality, from the frequent party goers to the quite nerds, just be sure to read the descriptions for each hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The minimum requirement for attending NMU is 2.5 GPA coming from high school and you must maintain a 2.0 once accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to pack your parkas and snow shoes, cause the winters up here can get pretty rough. On the other hand, that means more snow days :)

    In three sentences

    if you're not into the big schools with 2 mile wide campuses or a school in an urban area, then I would recommend going to NMU. It's about a 10 minute walk from anywhere on campus , it's in a rural area, and you're right next to Lake Superior, which can be seen from most of Marquette. As long as you don't mind very white winters, this school is for you.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I learned there are things to do like skiing and snowboarding, I haven't heard of any thing else.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest if you don't like the cold, get a really big coat or go somewhere else. This place is amazing, but if you are cold you will learn to hate it here.

    In three sentences

    It is absolutely beautiful!

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiking!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in your books and stay focused

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan University is a beautiful place to attend college. The professors truly care and the environment is very pleasant. Any day is a great day to be a Wildcat!!

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    strong safety

    Clubs and Activities

    lots and lots

    Great for these types of students

    open minded.

    Bang for the buck

    i dont how to answer

    What to do for fun

    all sorts of clubs there

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    seem like people like it

    Academic Rigor

    idk yet have started there

    Tips for prospective students

    be your self

    In three sentences

    great scenic place. it a peace area. and a good size college

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they look out for the students

    Greek Life

    not to hot at this campus other than TKE

    Clubs and Activities

    theres a club rowing team and others like rugby and hockey

    Great for these types of students

    great campus for the adventurous and curious students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the beaches

    Bang for the buck

    theres a boardwalk that you can go out on at lower harbor

    What to do for fun

    for fun there is club sports and also a lake near by to have fun during the weekends at.

    Food and Dining

    they have options not only for during the day but also late at night

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun and there's many activities for relationship making and bonding.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging yet enjoyable

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the campus resources.

    In three sentences

    NMU is a place where the professors are not just there to work but to help the students learn and thrive. It has multiple resources available to help us with out success in classes. it also have many places to go to have fun and relieve stress.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful location, if you are here to have a good time enjoying the land and outdoors while getting your college education, this is the college for you.

    What to do for fun

    Anything outdoors. Mountain biking, snowmobiling, skiing, snowboarding, hiking, snowshoeing, hunting, fishing. During the summer there is sailing (being located on the shores of lake superior) and any other water sport.

    Food and Dining

    The food from the cafeteria is great! And with the food card you can get access to it all the time!

    Dorm Life

    Marquette is a college town. I've never lived in the dorms myself, but I hear they can get pretty rowdy around the holidays and such.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are paced correctly pertaining to the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid of the cold and snow. There is about 2 feet or more of snow for about 7 months out of the year. Get a great winter car and have fun.

    In three sentences

    The area around NMU is one of the most beautiful landscapes of any college town. The staff is extremely friendly and more personalized for you, allowing lots of time for one-on-one study sessions with the professor. It does get cold though, and there are long winters in the Upper Peninsula.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Watch out for ice, especially after a dusting of snow. The sidewalks around the academic mall are usually fine, but watch out for ice around the University Center and by the sculpture walk, which leads to the PEIF. That's the only real problem with the safety at NMU.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those that love the outdoors, nursing, and the sciences

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tunnel going from the library to West Science. Brulee Run (you will find out about it when you go to Northern)

    What to do for fun

    At Northern, there is so much to do. In the fall, there's Presque Isle, swimming in Lake Superior, jumping off of Black Rocks (Do at your own risk), etc. Any time of the year you can take a hike up Sugarloaf or Hogsback (Do at your own risk in the winter). There is a drag show you can go to, which is very popular. They have concerts every year. This semester was Rodney Atkins. Last year, they had Phillip Phillips. The one thing that I find the best is the hockey games. Hockey is big at Northern. If you don't like it when you start college, you will most likely learn to like it.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is great, sometimes not so much. It really depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    I live in West Hall, which is located away from all of the other dorms. In my opinion, it is the best place to live. Down campus (where most of the dorms are) has so many dorms, while West is isolated. West has more of a community compared to down campus. Everyone in the hall knows one another. The only problem is that there can be a lot of drama at times. Most of the time, the drama goes away quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for the cold! If you prepare, then it won't be as bad as you expect. Look into the classes, make sure they have what you want. Visit the campus! I'd recommend visiting in the winter, so you get the idea of how much snow, ice, etc. we get. Lastly, talk to current students. We can tell you what it's really like here at Northern.

    In three sentences

    Northern is a place for people to discover themselves. It has plenty of resources to get you to where you want to be. Although there are some uneducated professors, the education you will get is decent.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here.

    In three sentences

    Its Boring NMU Lacks Diversity The RAS are assholes

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This isn't a really sports oriented school so if that is you then I wouldn't recommend coming here.

    In three sentences

    I think Northern Michigan University is a great place to be. I love all of my teachers and the people here are great. The scenery also adds to the beauty of the campus.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels safe, even at night. Public safety patrols regularly and is only a block or so off campus. There are emergency phones all over campus. I feel safer here, than I do back home.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 300 student organizations. If none of them strike your fancy, you can always start your own.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do in Marquette. There are on campus events almost everyday and if not you can go down to Lake Superior or up to Marquette Mountain. Marquette is a college town, but with a homey feel.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but after a while it feels like there isn't any variety. It's a lot better than high school food though.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms. I live in an all girls' floor, so it's really friendly, but there's a little drama. In the dorms, you can make amazing friends and there always events each weekend to keep you busy. House Government is a good way to get involved without having to leave the building!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, how many credits you take, and extracurricular activities you're involved in, you can have anywhere between no free time and oodles of it. Classes are challenging yet interesting. The professor's want you to succeed, but you only can if you want yourself to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like cold and snow, you'll love it here. If you're a summer person, you may want to think of somewhere more south.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful, student involved campus. Class are challenging yet fun, and there's always something to do. Marquette is modern, yet with a rustic feeling; a place you can call home.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an excellent campus public safety department and a very low crime rate.

    Greek Life

    I have no experience in this category.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to earn a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Northern Michigan University has a great value compared to most universities in Michigan.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking and biking are my two favorite things to do in Marquette. Both can be enjoyed year round!

    Food and Dining

    There is a good selection of food with good availability.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some wonderful classes with great instructors. There are also classes that can be dull at times. It's important to work hard no matter what.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy all Marquette has to offer, there are many different things to see and do year round. Get to know your professors, it will pay off during final grading!

    In three sentences

    Northern Michigan University is a small, tight knit campus. Their nursing program is nationally recognized and has some great faculty. There are a lot of leadership and volunteer opportunities on and off campus.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ANYTHING outdoorsy.

    Food and Dining

    Usually college food is iffy, but it was pretty great! And there's plenty of places around town that taste so good!!

    Dorm Life

    Decent sized!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seemed appropriately challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dress WARM

    In three sentences

    I first stepped foot on campus during my tour and immediately felt like I was home. The more I learned, the more I loved it! And Northern Naturally is more than a slogan, it's a way of life up there.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    really good with campus safety you see them around everywhere

    What to do for fun

    Biking, hiking, swimming, snow activities during the winter. Ice caves, a lot of beaches. Great downtown area to shop.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent and is easy to get to when in the dorms. Open mostly all the time. A large array of food to choice from.

    Dorm Life

    Super dorms, most are built within the last couple of years. Staff are friendly and very helpful. It's a good environment to be in for the first couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    I high quality of learning here. Professors are helpful and want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get housing done in advance. Join as many groups as you can handle, and bring a bike!

    In three sentences

    Professor to student ratios are small, and it's easy to get help. The atmosphere at NMU is great and friendly. The campus is believe and close to the lake.