Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northern New Mexico College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has surveillance cameras and security guards. The college is secure and provides upmost safety.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for first time students or returning students. It helps you get on track as easy as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and other costs are reasonable. By far it is a great place to attend for your beginning years. I am greatly satisfied with there services.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports and many activites. There is also a student lounge where there are game tables, computers, and television. Outside there are benches and grassy areas for some peace and quiet.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great cafeteria on site. They have weekly specials and are very reasonable in price. Not to mention the many restaurants in the surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very student friendly. You do not need to know everything because the intructors are amazing. However, (like any college) you need to do your best to meet your deadlines.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to know stay on top of your deadlines. Do not procrastinate because it will greatly affect your success. For help with registration talk to Jan Dawson. For money matters, talk to Lydia Rivera.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college! The staff and volunteers provide the best help a person can possibly get. It offers unbelievably affordable opportunities that I am grateful for.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    jam and dance with other fine art students

    Tips for prospective students

    tutoring very helpful

    In three sentences

    small classes, caring advisors, and instructors, excellent fine arts program

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is good

    Dorm Life

    nothing in the town where the dorms are

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know who you are speaking with so you can call and speak with them directly again.

    In three sentences

    this is a great school, with a lot of opportunities. they have really turned this school around in the last year.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school always sends out newsletters about activities done on campus, though rare, they are always fun to attend. Such activities include: basketball games, barbeques, musical events, plays, film showings, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food sold in the cafeteria is made by staff and students that work through work-study. The food is always very tasty, freshly made, and reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    All the students here are very motivated and that makes a very noticeable difference in the classrooms. The teachers are very helpful and understanding. They make sure that all the students understand the course work and teach in a way that is easily understood and interesting. Any and all information a student needs is available to him/her through textbooks or the library which has excellent hours, a great selection of books, and an efficient amount of computers with internet access.

    Tips for prospective students

    My one and only tip would be when a student is in the application stage and is being sent to all the different departments to fill out forms and get everything set up to start classes, make sure to ask at every department, Is there anything else i will be needing besides this? Here at Northern they tend to send students in circles and the staff always seems to forget something or another that you will be needing, so the students spend most of their time going back and forth between departments doing things that could have been done all at once.

    In three sentences

    Northern New Mexico College is a great college to attend because of the campus, the atmosphere, and the classes. The campus at the college is very beautiful and the atmosphere is very welcoming and comforting. The classes are perfect size so that all the students get the attention they need and the teachers always see to it that everyone is understanding the course work.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great food and coffe at La Cocina restaurant

    What to do for fun

    Exercise , enjoy the beauy of New Mexico

    Food and Dining

    They could use a wonderful cafateria

    Dorm Life

    Sorry but I am not in the dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard!

    In three sentences

    Great school in a small communal town. The science department really challenges your knowledge especially on test. You are able to have art shows also within the community.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of a car being broken into or vandalized, nor have I heard of any violent crimes nor fights. Like I said before, Northern is pretty quiet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northern has a basketball team, and other academic clubs, student government, so on and so on. Personally I don't have any knowledge of all the clubs but the clubs are recruiting all the time and it sounds like fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of, the campus is pretty quiet.

    Bang for the buck

    I think so because I am pushed by my instructors to strive for the best I can do, and when I feel I have reached my limit, they push me further aiding me in breaking that mental barrier that normally would have held me back.

    What to do for fun

    Northern has indoor and outdoor basketball courts, tennis courts, work out rooms and gyms, there are several golf courses within a forty mile radius. Camping, Fishing, Hiking, Boating, hunting, movie theaters, night clubs, casinos, I guess Espanola (the town surrounding northern) is your typical small town but with plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Northern has a shop on campus that serves organic locally grown non processed food (grown by students and staff members). There are also other sit down restaurants and fast food joints to eat at in town that are not far from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned LOTS here. The academics are tough but the instructors are always there to aid when you don't understand or need help. The tough academics forces you to apply yourself so you will gain knowledge for your field of study. Lots and lots of hands on training and learning in the science departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to work hard for your education, Northern is your place.

    In three sentences

    Northern New Mexico College is a great school. There is plenty of one on one time with instructors when needed, and the classes are small with very intelligent and ambitious students. For other colleges that i have gone to, I give Northern five out of five stars.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is plently of campus security at all times to make you feel safe while attend classes there

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    The college recently added an Basketball team to the facility which has been very succesful

    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to interact with a vast variety of ethnic backgrounds

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college offers multi cultural courses and also empesizes on the hispanic culture being that the community is mainly hispanic

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended the college for one semester and would highly recommend it to any one who may feel over whelmed with a big university.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a game room for the students and there is a wellness center next door the college for recreational activities.

    Food and Dining

    the college has a snack bar. The city of Espanola has very reasonable prices food venues.

    Dorm Life

    Northern New Mexico College does not offer dormes but the town has very affordable housing for students plannning to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is fair

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college to get acquainted with their services. Attend orientations and speak with advisors.

    In three sentences

    Northern NM College is close to home for convenience. It also have a great arts program and professors who are very helpful. It is not a very large college which makes it easy cope with class sizes.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a great job here. The state police station is also about a mile away as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty decent. Classes are packed with activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafe!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. They have dorms that are located off campus. Never been there so I can't rate.

    Academic Rigor

    It's difficult in a manner that is good. It is challenging and the challenges teach you at this school. They are not blind. The teachers will teach you the concepts but expect a curve ball. This is how learning is done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Score high on your ACT, SAT or placement tests. These will help you finish your degree much faster so you don't have to do many pre-req's or remedial classes.

    In three sentences

    Northern New Mexico College is a great school. They are a upcoming school that is going to surprise many people in the state when they become a full university by 2015! The engineering department is pretty awesome

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is something that is not taken lightly with a security guard on duty everyday, with escort available if wanted.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many clubs but one in particular is the C.A.M.P club which benefits First year students the have done migrational work in the past or currently.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a first year student I dont have many places to go other than the schools C.A.M.P office which is a great program for first year students, highly recommended.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money you spend and with the money needed here it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Well you can go the the gym here or socialize. I myself go to the gym and workout.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining here is moderate with a great snack bar with tons of healthy cooked breakfast and lunch for a quick bite.

    Dorm Life

    None yet!

    Tips for prospective students

    Its is a great school to look into if you want to go to a small college with a great degree plan. Its soon going to be a even bigger school in the next couple years with dorms and much more.

    In three sentences

    Great for fist time students. Lots to offer with the right amount of help. It can get you a good degree with benefits.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For people new to espanola it is a great comfort to know that the staff is devoted to keeping a safe environment for all students. The city of espanola can rough around the edges but staff and students make the college a more than comfortable place. And lost items are always returned!

    Greek Life

    i don't know what greek life means...

    Clubs and Activities

    ****

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great start up college for individuals who are apprehensive of beginning school. it's an excellent school to choose if you have been after out of school for so long or are a first time college student. The small class rooms give you the attention and focus that you need to learn and grow. It is a challenging yet less competitive environment for motivated individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are dozens of Native American Pueblos near by where you can experience Indian artwork, ceremonies, traditions, and stories. Meeting people on campus is not difficult. It is a campus where everyone can introduce their selves and their culture freely. i don't think you get this same experience and respect from any other college.

    Bang for the buck

    *****

    What to do for fun

    Espanola is located directly between Santa Fe and Taos and there is plenty fun to do in the surrounding areas. There are miles and miles of hiking, bicycling, horseback riding trails in my backyard that i am so great-full to be near. The music and art shows and festivals in Santa Fe and Taos are also something i always look forward to.

    Food and Dining

    five stars for SUP Catering/ cafeteria (SUP restaurant located in Santa Fe)

    Dorm Life

    ***** five stars. I do not live in the dorms but they are a brand new addition to this awesome school!

    Academic Rigor

    The school and teachers will challenge and push students but it also has a relaxed, very comfortable, family feel about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first and probably most helpful tip that i could give prospective students is not to be afraid to ask for help, reach out to those advisers, teachers or whoever you feel comfortable reaching out to because they are there to help you!

    In three sentences

    Being a student at Northern gives you the opportunity to learn, dream big and to actually see that you can achieve your dreams and goals. At Northern you are in small, close knitted classes, where the teachers give you the attention you need to grow and learn. I think, because of those already mentioned reasons and many more, Northern was a great choice of college to attend after being out of school for close to 10 years!

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is fairly good

    Greek Life

    Not to sure

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    All that are open minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Towards the back we all hang out

    Bang for the buck

    Very sexy ladies attend there

    What to do for fun

    Hang out or go into town

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Don't have a dorm yet' its in progress

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn

    In three sentences

    A great college for all. They have flexible schedules for students. As well as lot of opportunities for students.