Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Northern Oklahoma College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you will go far and enjoy college.

    In three sentences

    A one on one university, with a small school feel. A university that cares about your future. One that you will be glad you graduated from.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seemed to be a variety.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcomed there. I saw handicapped and older adults along with the traditional student.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of tuition the classes and material was exceptional.

    What to do for fun

    Since I am a working adult and have college age children, I can not speak for the social life that most college age people engage in.

    Food and Dining

    The snack bar was nice to attend, however I did not go often.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I did not find the class work to be to overwhelming, as long as I payed attention in class and reviewed the material before tests. The instructors were also understanding, if they knew you were trying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, seek out the teachers and counselors that will give you answers and press on till you achieve your goals. Small classes are great for getting a start on your college goals.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed the time I have been at Northern, this is my first experience with college and I am fifty years old. The teachers have been most helpful and pleasant to work with. I have been encouraged, and inspired.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is a two-year school, it opens a lot of doors as far as networking and career exploration are concerned.

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma College is a three-tier campus that provides students with a great learning environment. The professors are personable and are willing to answer and help individual students.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not to shabby

    Greek Life

    did not meet any

    Clubs and Activities

    im sure there were a few

    Great for these types of students

    any student that just shows up to class on a regular basis.. will get good grades

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    learn where the Adams market is and take Wakeling for college algebra. if in stillwater

    Bang for the buck

    stillwater campus more expensive than tonkowa or enid. Although you do obtain all the privileges from OSU campus

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on at campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    just go to class.

    In three sentences

    NOC is a great 2 year school. The teachers all seem to put in extra effort. Great place to beef up your GPA.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard walking around campus!

    Greek Life

    NOC does not do Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    NOC has many clubs to be involved in, Bible Study (boys and girls), Maverick Magic, Roustabouts, Band, Choir, Athletics, President's Leadership Council and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    NOC is great for all types of students! Teachers are very understanding for all athletes and their schedules. There is specifically a building for all nursing students! Fine arts are publicized all over campus and their hard work and shows!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NOC Olympics, once a year both NOC campuses come together for a great time of fun and exciting bedlam games! Spring Fling, outside of the bookstore there is a rock wall, a mechanical bull and many other activities for students to get involved! My favorite was the paintball wars! Halloween Dance, everybody loves to dress up! Get your best costume and lets go dancing! In the gym with extremely loud music and many students! Have the best costume and win money for the bookstore!

    Bang for the buck

    NOC is very cheap and affordable! One thing I learned, even though some of the classes say you need a book, there were some classes that i never opened mine! Wait a week or two before you know for sure! No one wants to spend money on an expensive book if they don't have to!

    What to do for fun

    After a long day of classes, many students would relax in the pool, or play a pick up game of basketball in the wellness center! NOC hosts the NOC Olympics once a year, this is where NOC Tonkawa competes with NOC Enid! There are volleyball, rock climbing, dodge ball, basketball and obstacle course competitions! Be involved in this!

    Food and Dining

    Picture the lunch lady with a hair net, and a furry mole? Not at all! At NOC all the lunch ladies were nice and clean! There was never a dull moment in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    I commuted, but all of my friends did! They were always telling me funny stories about the things they did! NOC has many activities to keep you busy, the swimming pool, volleyball courts and the wellness center were always filled with students!

    Academic Rigor

    There is always a tougher teacher than the others! Most teachers at NOC are very understanding and helpful! Being an athlete i missed a lot of classes, but all of my teachers were helpful when i asked! Now, they won't just hand you the answers you have to do your own work, but if you pay attention to them, they often give you the right place to look!

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students, I would recommend getting enrolled early! Classes fill up fast, and no one wants to be put in an unneeded class that does not relate to their major! Get involved in as many things as possible, NOC has all kinds of events throughout the year for students to get involved!

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma College is a great college! The teachers are always understanding and helpful. NOC is cheap and affordable!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    all kinds

    Great for these types of students

    if you're trying to pay for college yourself this would be a great place. its cheap, and it's not a bad school at all. plus if you plan on going on for a bachelors or masters or even farther, then you could definitely save some money.

    Bang for the buck

    you get the same classes that will transfer to any school for a much cheaper price.

    What to do for fun

    bon fires, concerts, basketball games, soccer games, softball, baseball, bowling, and all sorts of other things.

    Food and Dining

    great food. and if you don't like what the school is serving there are others places to eat just literally across the street.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but i've heard it's not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    its good. there's all sorts of selections for classes to take. very educated people and easy to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to go in for a little extra help, the professors here always have their door open for anyone.

    In three sentences

    great college to start at. it might be small but there are plenty of people that are eager to help out with any needs. easy people to talk to and get along with.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food and dining sucks, the people are rude and snappy.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very old, they need to be refurbished.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here could be better.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are students of all ages :)

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun things going on around campus and in Stillwater. There is never a lack of things to do!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places to eat close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early for classes you really want, but don't hesitate to ask to be added even if the class is full.

    In three sentences

    Awesome! Great teachers, helpful admin staff and counselors.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very reliable system

    Great for these types of students

    Small town,

    What to do for fun

    Colvin fitness center, intermural sports, and trips

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out here and get used to college, them move to bigger upbeat college

    In three sentences

    Northern has quality education. It has helpful teacher. And also has a supportive faculty

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The rec center was open and widely used by many for basketball and many activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check portal before each class and professors' notes for class changes and updates.

    In three sentences

    The campus was easy to understand. There were small classes with credible professors that worked with you and answered all your questions. There was plenty of parking and closely encountered sports facilities.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enid is a pretty small town so there really isn't that much to do. You can go skating or bowling, but except for the occasional event downtown, there isn't much available for older kids.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate on campus either.

    Dorm Life

    I never actually lived in the dorms, but my friends say they liked it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not overly challenging. With smaller class sizes, you are able to get help from the teacher without feeling like one of the 500 because there is rarely more than 35 students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. More than likely, you're going to change your major so try not to rule out anything. It might be the path to your future career.

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma College has a relaxed, at home ambiance that relieves stress of being on your own at college. The faculty and staff seem more caring because there aren't as many students on campus for them to have to keep track of. The students pick up on these subtle cues and stay more laid back and outgoing which in turn makes the overall experience more enjoyable.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small town. What more could you ask for? Everyone takes care of each other, and the College does an amazing job of keeping the students notified in case of a potentially hazardous situation. Students are automatically enrolled in a text notification program and the college routinely tests the emergency system.

    Clubs and Activities

    The main campus has a number of activities, and groups so it should not be too hard for you to find a peer group that shares common interests.

    Great for these types of students

    A good school for a non traditional type of student. The typical student does not exist as the College really tries to be flexible for the students needs. Veterans will find other vet's to work with. I am a retired vet attending with my 19 year old son!

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely a good value for your education dollar. NOC is a great gateway to continue an education. Your time spent here will prepare you for a big time university and allow you to ease into the academic waters.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoorsy type then this is a good fit. Lots of fresh air, lots of local fishing and hunting. You will make new friends and have opportunities to network socially. Larger towns are a short drive away and always worth the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. The staff have really taken a healthy menu to heart. Pun intended.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non-traditional student and live in my own home, so Dorm life may or may not be an option for you.

    Academic Rigor

    If you plan 3 hours outside of class to study and complete assignments, you will be fine. The workload is totally manageable and within reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about last minute details, every thing that you could need is available locally. Plan for travel ahead of time as it is a bit off the beaten pat.

    In three sentences

    NOC has a superior student to professor ration. Smaller classes mean better interaction. Small town environment allows for a safer learning experience as well.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here at NOC is not the greatest, but they do give you various choices. They serve sandwiches, healthy food, and fast food everyday for lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    I am here playing soccer so i'm living in the dorms with my team and I love it. It is uncomfortable at first, but after the first semester it gets easier. Living in the dorms also helps with school work because your basically living with your classmates so they will always be around to help.

    Academic Rigor

    College education is alot different from high school. I'm pushing myself to finish my dream of finishing and earning my degree in behavioral science. NOC sets a high bar in education, but they will do anything to help students.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students have to go to Ponca City, OK to do anything for fun

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school. Food is terrible. Good for getting associates degree

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Athletics, wellness center activities, campus activities, ping pong, student union.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in campus activities, it is easier to meet friends this way.

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma College is a great school. It is in a small community with small classes. I like that my professors know me personally and are always very willing to help.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports or ag competitions or take a 10 minute drive to ponca for movies or bowling or hit up the YMCA

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very nice and serve many combinations.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small but they are really nice and fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are really amazing and awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't say no because it is small tour it first and I promise you will love it.

    In three sentences

    Its very small but that's what makes it great the teachers know your name and know who you are and what you do not just another student or number and they only know your name because its on there roll sheet. The campus staff is very active in student activities and really out going.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not much to choose from in the cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go for it!

    In three sentences

    I think that Northern is a great school. It is small enough, but is very friendly and close. It is affordable.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Northern is a great college to start at, especially if your major is undecided.

    In three sentences

    Northern is very encouraging. They really strive to make their students the best they can be.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Due to its location in a small town the police are never far away and not much happens to cause any sort of trouble.

    Greek Life

    Phi theta cappa is the other society offered on campus and is for students who have a higher academic standing than the average.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of clubs offered on campus including FCA, engineering club and many more. Although participation is fairly low they offer many great opportunities for students to get involved and learn more about that field.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for financially conscious students or students who need more academic support in order to pass classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since we don't have a football team the basket ball games are the go to sporting event.

    Bang for the buck

    School here is very affordable and there are tons of scholarships offered that may assist you even further.

    What to do for fun

    Stillwater is only about 45 minuets away where any OSU event is open such as football games and student life activities as well as shopping. Wichita is also fairly close and has a very nice mall and other attractions.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is nothing special but there is a range of options for the picky eater including a salad bar, sandwich bar, and the union which offers chicken, fries, burgers, pizza and other common American food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty old and not always well cleaned but they're comfortable and all necessities are provided.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes are defiantly passable. All classes are fairly small and asking questions is encouraged. There is free tutoring available for all subjects and teachers have a range of office hours for help or discussing other needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are responsible for all your own paper work and plan out your schedule and explain to your advisor exactly what you want to do because not all advisors are well qualified for the job.

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma college is a good stop for those planning on moving on to get a higher degree. Especially if you are planning on going to OSU. Its a very close knit community and there are opportunities for all types of people.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northern Oklahoma College is rare to have serious safety issues but in the instance there are they have in place a notification system that sends text alerts.

    Greek Life

    Northern Oklahoma College does not have a greek population however students can attend activities the greeks put on.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northern Oklahoma College students can participate in a variety of activities. Student government is an interesting and fun club to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Northern Oklahoma College is great for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northern Oklahoma College during homecoming for Oklahoma State University the fountains are dyed orange.

    Bang for the buck

    Northern Oklahoma College has a comparable value for most like colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Northern Oklahoma College has access to Oklahoma State University activities so what ever your passion, you can find your place.

    Food and Dining

    Northern Oklahoma College is in a good area with a good variety of dining options. They have room to grow.

    Dorm Life

    Northern Oklahoma College dorm life can be good and bad. You have to shop around to get your fit.

    Academic Rigor

    Northern Oklahoma College is competitive enough to prepare you for university but focused enough for a freshman to adapt to their new life.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending Northern Oklahoma College utilize all of your benefits, counseling, atmosphere and the size of the college to jump start your college journey.

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma College is a great place to start your education. Northern Oklahoma College gives the opportunity for growth. Northern Oklahoma College is located in a prime area for the university experience.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Club involvement is declining.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who like a small class atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Exceptional education for a reasonable tuition!

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs that offer activities throughout the school year. Tonkawa is a very small town (not many opportunities for fun) but there are three or four larger towns that are only a ten/thirty minute drive away with lots of opportunitiesand activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent, but doesn't seem to keep a balanced diet. The student union is basically a snack bar (pizza, burgers, chicken strips). I usually eat off of campus. Check out the free lunches at the Wesley House and the BCM right off campus!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for two weeks my freshman semester. I liked it, but the upkeep in the dorms is not pleasing (no hot water, heat/air malfunctions).

    Academic Rigor

    This college has some of the best statistic in the state! I have enjoyed most of my classes and hope that you do too! There will always be a professor that rubs us the wrong way, but most students deal with their disagreements and move on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your advisers and professors, the administration workers and the librarians! You'll probably need their understanding ear during confusing paperwork and finals week. They will help you no matter what, but the quality of your attitude and relationship towards them adds cushion.

    In three sentences

    Northern Oklahoma College has well rounded education courses, lively students, and friendly faces. The college's budget does not seem to be equally distributed (more to the campus beautification and school sports, less to the up-keep of dorms and the arts), but is a very balanced college in other respects. In conclusion Northern Oklahoma College in Tonkawa, Oklahoma, is a wonderfully small and intimate college allowing for students to build relationships with fellow students and caring professors.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is save and the teachers run through things the first day of class. Or if something has occurred on the news they will take a few moments to lecture. But it's a secure campus and people are watchful. Security is around both night and day.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students can come here. Even if you are an adult who wants to go right back into the work force. To accommodate those people they have night classes or even classes online. The school doesn't have all of the degrees that are out there. But you can get your basics out of the way.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the cafeteria twice and both times I was pleased. The food is nice and the ladies are funny. They are great to talk to and they act like they want to be there. Instead of growling, What do you want! They smile at you and talk and joke around. But they get your food to you in a quick manner and it tastes very good.

    Dorm Life

    I have been inside of two of the dorms and inside of the rooms. Single rooms, so you don't have any roommates! The rooms are well equipped with closet space and room to move about and live. I cannot really go into detail with this section because I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are rules, of course, that you must follow. And not all instructors are the same with their rules. Some are pretty laid back while others are ridged the first couple of weeks. Why? To mainly weed out the ones who are not responsible enough to show up to class on time or do their work. This isn't high school. But all the teachers are nice here, I haven't met all of them. They are willing to help you and guide you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Freshman Orientation with your first semester, so it's not such a drag when you have been at the school for a year or more. Be aware that not all teachers will just love you, but that's a normal thing. Some you just have personality conflicts or they just don't like you for some odd reason. Just do your work and turn it in on time. Also, do not be afraid to approach instructors and talk with them. They are there to help you and they really do love it when you speak with them. You show initiative and pride in yourself and your grade.

    In three sentences

    The college wants to serve you and the people there are devoted to helping you. NOC excepts anyone, even if you are an adult who is past the age. It doesn't matter, the college and people there want to serve you.