Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NCU is great for students who would like one-on-one time with their professors and like working with other students. The number of students is just over 600, so the class sizes themselves average around 25 students, making it easy for the professors to get to know you personally and make time for you and your classroom needs. Your peers learn plenty about you as well. It's nice to have them know your name with your face, rather than just seeing your name on a paper every time an assignment is turned in. If you want to form a educational relationship with your professors, maybe even obtain a mentor in the process, NCU is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should realize that they don't just have to stay in the little campus of NCU, but explore all around or even drive with a friend to have other adventures. It can get a little claustrophobic if you only remain on campus the whole year, so getting out there is a good solution. Joining a club or a mission trip is an easy way to do this.

    Bang for the buck

    NCU is one of the more expensive schools, but it is definitely worth it. The professors are top notch, catering to each student's needs as the class sizes are small. Everyone here is really friendly and helpful, eager to get to know you. It's also very easy to become involved in the school since there are so many clubs being created every year. With your tuition you even get free laundry services and credit in the campus cafe, which makes the best smoothies around. Everything that NCU provides their students cancels out the costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though NCU is a small school, it has some diverse characters both in it's students and staff. The dorms are amazing, the best I have yet to see and the co-ed living makes students feel more comfortable without being distracted. But for those times you want to be distracted the downstairs lounge is a fun place to meet people. Being next to the U of O campus you still get to meet new people everyday and explore the area. Plus the awesome restaurants around NCU are great hang out or study spots.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are very good at keeping the class entertained and engaged. They are sure to include relevant pop culture to grab your attention on a subject. Just the other day a professor used Titanic to help describe the Greek tragedy, Antigone. The class is hardly ever bored and the information is interesting enough to be retained and used in our everyday lives. Most college professors lecture, but here they have the students going to work in their community and getting out there while also doing fun activities and group projects in class.

  • 08/13/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NCU is great for anyone, especially those small town kids like me. The campus is beautiful and the education rewarding in every way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!! Although you may thing that it is too small or not for you, apply anyone. You will be rewarded with the ultimate college experience. The school saying. small is huge really does not even begin to describe the impact NCU will have on your life and education.

    Bang for the buck

    NCU is a little expensive but I think it is well worth the money. Every penny spent there furthers your education and there are scholarships and jobs on campus to help. They are there to help you so don't be shy and get help. :)

    Did enjoy being here

    YES!! Living on campus at NCU was the best time of my life! The people and community at NCU were so friendly and welcoming. The Campus atmosphere was one of a christian family with people who all wanted to be there and all wanted to learn. Everyone respected each other and you could always count on someone making your day by saying hello or giving you a needed hug. Every Friday there is an event called a Beacon Night where the school hosts a FREE event such as a bowling, ice skating, rollerblading or even a school carnival! NCU is definitely an enjoyable univeristy to attend.

    Did learn a lot

    Northwest Christian UNIVERSITY(no longer college) is an amazing school. The education I received here was exactly what I was looking for. The professors were great, giving one on one attention when needed and each teacher got to know their students on a personal basis. The course work was appropriately challenging and all in my education experience there was perfect.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NCU is great for all students! Don't think that if you are not about a basic understanding of the Bible that you don't belong! NCU offers all the chances in the world to learn about our Father, they do not expect you to come in as a pro but, instead with a heart for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be scared away by the original price tag. NCU helps you as much as they possibly can in finding outside scholarships. NCU also has an amazing academic/merit and leadership scholarship form that can be found on their website under admissions.

    Bang for the buck

    NCU has a very large price tag but don't let that discourage you, its worth it! You'll receive and experience unlike anything you could get from a public school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here are so friendly. Most people know each other and as soon as they realize that you are new, they want to know you. The teachers make personal connections with the students and know you as a person, not just a dollar amount...this is not something I expected from a university!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot academically but also about myself. NCU teaches you to know yourself and this, in my mind, enhances the academic learning I have done thus far.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, Energetic, Christian, honest, down to earth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the scholarship engines. It is expensive. The less loans you have to take the better. So look for scholarships. Choose a set time of the month to look and fill out scholarships. Many students regretfully leave the school because they can't find the money to pay for it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, but like I mentioned the class sizes make it worth it. Not to mention the teachers are very helpful. I know I can always ask a teacher for additional help. Even if not for there class, if I am writing a paper, I know there are several teachers I can ask who can give me suggestions on what topic I am writing on. Making it worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this campus, which is staying a lot since I work to help keep everything in order as my on campus employment. The environment is great, and there is plenty to do around the town.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are great due to the small sizes, generally a max of 30 students, and can be as small as 6-10 depending on the class. Giving optimal opportunity to ask the teachers as many questions as you need to, till you understand the material.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is lots to do downtown with great food and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop is great and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Dont live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    To the point work that gets your mind working and makes learning fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Shop for your books on Amazon.com

    In three sentences

    Superior education. Teacher who work in the field and teach. Small classes with great discussions.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a security guard on duty. 24/7

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Options are good and new clubs form all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a small safe interactive and challenging experince.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Share a Beacon Night where the schools pays for student to do activities to get to know one another.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive

    What to do for fun

    Play sports and watch University of Oregon games. Enjoy trial runs and walks.

    Food and Dining

    Limited and only open certain times through the day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. Bathrooms are cleaned daily and activities take place to get to know your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Very demanding yet rewarding curriculum

    Tips for prospective students

    Recommend to those who enjoy a small campus.

    In three sentences

    Very Friendly Small active community High rated academics

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 campus security. You may call them if you need an escort outside at night or if there are any problems.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs, intramural sports, and you can start your own club if you like.

    Bang for the buck

    This college offers several scholarships and will work with you to help you find the money to come.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of parks surrounding. Bicycle lanes are everywhere in the town. Also very many places to go for swimming, skiing, snowboarding, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan included with residency. Coffee shop below dorms.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are a tolerable size. Everyone living there is very friendly, the doors of every room are almost always open to visitors. Bathrooms are shared. Girls are on second floor, boys on third.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great! They are very personal, and challenge you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend going to a campus tour, you get a $500 scholarship just for visiting, and it is so nice to be near such friendly people. I have attended a beacon night, which was so much fun, and also registration.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Christian University has friendly faculty, staff, and very helpful student leadership. They have helped me so much through my application/ scholarship process. Needless to say, I feel very welcome at NCU.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have sports and a ton of other extra stuff to do

    Great for these types of students

    Christians and dedicated

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive for the size of the school, but it is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    They have a ton of extracurricular activities that involve the whole school where the university actually pays for!

    Food and Dining

    I did try the food for orientation and it was very good!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I am not sure

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started school yet!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay optimistic and involve yourself in all the extra curricular activities they have going on. It gives you a chance to meet so many new people and stay on point with the lord.

    In three sentences

    I haven't attended school here yet, I will in about three weeks, but the people are so unbelievably nice. Also, everyone has been so helpful in helping me accomplish everything I need to start school in the fall. It is a smaller campus for being a university, but it still has a lot of degrees to offer as well as opportunities to succeed.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since it's Eugene, there's always going to be something fun to do! There's bike paths, beautiful views, downtown, Saturday market, malls, stores, and new things to explore everyday. Transportation is also cheap so there's no way you can't get around to enjoy the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious at NCU. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are surprises so far but they're some yummy surprises. The cafeteria's a good size and drinks, side servings, and meals are to everyone's likings.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone in the dorms has safety rules to follow and other reasonable rules. There's no curfew though, and everyone feels at home. Every hall has different assistants that make sure everyone's doing well and getting along.

    Academic Rigor

    There really isn't much difficulty at getting around NCU, with the people, or in the classrooms. Classes will probably be challenging, but that's college for you. Make the best of all opportunities given to not struggle though, everyone's very helpful, understanding, and flexible, so there isn't' much to worry about.

    Tips for prospective students

    From day one, when you step into campus, start getting to know people and faculty staff! If you personalize from the beginning, you'll definitely enjoy college better! NCU has an advantage because it's small and there's not a whole lot of students, so get around!

    In three sentences

    The four-day orientation we had was a great and welcoming experience that pretty much gave me an idea on how the social part of college would be like. It gave the students a chance to meet and start getting to know each other. Now that classes have started, we all feel better because we had a good start and are more personalized with people and staff.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    rennies, taylors, webfoot, max's tavern, the bridge, and wild duck all within walking distance

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value

    What to do for fun

    Check out some of the local night life in the area

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely worth a look

    In three sentences

    NWCU has an amazing campus, albeit small, the staff is incredibly helpful, and just plain nice. i love thats its in the heart of Eugene, and a stones throw away from te UofO. also, they have an excellent adult degree program

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus seems safe. I was down there for an orientation at night, and felt fine. It's close to the UO (literally blocks away), so that might be a good college to check out regarding their safety ratings. It would be the same for NCU since it's so close.

    Greek Life

    Unsure

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities are available, but as a non-traditional student, I haven't participated in any. Too much other stuff going on in my life!

    Great for these types of students

    Working people, parents, non-traditional. Also - the online program is great for disciplined students who just want to finish their degree without at lot of fuss.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Christian based college, so there are a lot of related functions. Also - they have their own basketball team, so you can always hit up a game.

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of spendy - but works well with my schedule.

    What to do for fun

    The UO is nearby, and it's a great city for the arts and outdoors. If you're doing the online program though - you'd never even have to step foot in Eugene if you didn't want to!

    Food and Dining

    Only stopped by the coffee shop once, but it was good.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure since I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Not incredibly hard, but definitely challenging depending on the subject. Profs are very helpful if you get stuck though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that if you are disciplined enough to do the online classes. Without discipline, it would be easy to fall behind. Classes aren't cheap either - at $430 per credit

    In three sentences

    The online program is excellent, especially if you work full or part time. I have been able to submit tests and assignments at all house of the day or night, without ever having to step foot on campus. However, the option to attend lectures is available to those who want to - but my entire degree will be able to be earned online.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on campus that are available 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    At NCU, they have a weekly event called Beacon Night. Beacon Night is every Friday where NCU will either pay for food from a nearby restaurant or host an event the can include different types of games. There are also intramural sports available for students to participate in along with a couple of dances.

    Food and Dining

    The food NCU is usually pretty good. They provide many options throughout the week to choose from. If you do not like one of the options provided that day, you can ask the cooks if they are able to make you something else.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing. They spacious rooms and really try to match you up with the perfect roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    NCU pushes their students to do the best they can while also letting the students how much they want to put into their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to find the school the best fits you and your interests.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Christian University is wonderful college with many opportunities. They get into the real world with internships while working on your degree.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In all my years at this school, no crimes have been committed to the best of my knowledge.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a good education at a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    The school will provide you with a list of 100 things to do in Eugene and the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little expensive but there are lots of close affordable restaurants around the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm...but from what I can see...the students enjoy the companionship.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great and with the small class sizes you will get a lot of attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to be expected to attend chapel every Wed. and Fri.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for students who love chapel services, community service opportunities, and small class sizes. I like the school because it is a small college. The teachers are great.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a good record of keeping people safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    no comments

    Clubs and Activities

    no knowledge of clubs and activites.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At graduation, there is the cutting of the ivy on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They have excellent instructors and advisors.

    What to do for fun

    Sightsee Eugene and Springfield. Explore the campus.

    Food and Dining

    No knowledge of this either.

    Dorm Life

    I am not able to evaluate this as I am in an online program and don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an excellent school and they expect you to do the best that you can while attending their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all information before applying for school. Ask lots of questions. Meet with advisors. Ask about their online programs as well as being on campus.

    In three sentences

    I really like the way they work with you to help you succeed in school. It has the type of programs that I am interested in. They also give you lots of feedback so that you can succeed.