Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest Florida State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are a few very good programs i know the college offers. 1)Pre-Architecture. 2)Drafting. 3)Nursing. 4)Law Enforcement.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips i have for prospective students are the same tips i received when i started. 1)Be prepared to attend all class sessions. 2)be prepared to do out-side-of-school work. 3)Don't skip, 3 times could get you hurt. 4)If getting any financial aid, use it wisely, there are people who do not get any. 5)Work hard in the short-term, enjoy your life in the long-term.

    Bang for the buck

    If any monetary help is received, use it wisely, there are several people who wish they get any, but do not, and must pay from their pockets. It is a bit expensive once enrolled in the Pre-Architectural program because of the materials needed to complete projects. It is all worth it, the more projects completed, the better the person gets at it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though it is not a huge college, it is a pretty big college for our community, allowing to attend smaller classes, which means we get to know mostly everybody. I am enrolled in the Pre-Architectural Program, which means i must take all my classes with the same class mates i started with way back in Fall-2008. We have been very helpful with each other, very friendly, etc. The one thing i enjoy the most, it my free time. The college is very flexible, is very easy to get from one building to another, it is just great.

    Am learning a lot

    Since i started attending, I've been enrolled in the Pre-Architectural Program. When started, I did not know i had any drawing skills, as time went by, i managed to complete several renderings. I've learnt several different techniques on how to bring life, movement, and color to a 2-D sketch so it would become a 3-D drawing. Math courses are very well taught, if by any reason, i happen to not fully comprehend the lecture, i can always visit the math-lab. There are about 4-5 tutors at all times, very well prepared, very polite and very friendly. There are numerous ways of getting any sort of help, online-tutoring, 24/7 online-librarians, resource center, etc.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The gym is awesome. There is a small theater in town and Destin is only 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Niceville is a small town and there are tons of restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments close to the school but being a community college there are not exactly dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, more work will be expected of you then others. But if you are willing to actually read the books and pay attention in class it is not hard to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attendance policy is enforced so make sure you go to school, and try to get there early if you want a good parking spot.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to get around and the staff and faculty are friendly. Speaking to an adviser takes time though and some classes are more challenging then others, but over all the school is nice and should be appreciated.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe with officers walking all over the campus throughout the day.

    Greek Life

    There is only one honors club at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student activities but this school is very willing to do more activities that is started by the school body.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a close and personal level class experience, then this is it. There are not many distractions since alot of people leave for work or other outside events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not many traditions since this college is still a young and small commuters college.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pretty much the cheapest school in this area. Although the must expensive purchase made on this campus has to be the food.

    What to do for fun

    There is a fall and spring fling with games and music and free food. There is also many shows at the campus art center but the prices are kind of high.

    Food and Dining

    There is a new student services center that was just opened this year (2012) but the dining area is kind of small--but the school is small also so that explains it.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't dorms for the students, just for the baskball or softball players.

    Academic Rigor

    Alot of the teachers are very open with the assignments, but there are a few teachers that can be hard on grading but there aren't many at this school. Just do research on the teachers review before signing up for the class and look at their syllabus and that could also give you a idea how the teacher is with the assignments and teaching methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always know the teachers method of teaching, which will be beneficial for each test. Also, never be scared to ask your instructors question in the classroom or outside.

    In three sentences

    This college is a very small college. It makes the campus life very close and personal which also makes it easy to always be in contact with your instructor. The class size is also small, so it is better for students that have some learning troubles.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you like the beach and shopping this is the place for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your goals an everything will fall into place. Apply for financial aid it's there to help you. Taking a challenging set of classes is good but make sure not to overwhelm yourself. Talk to advisors on the classes you should take based on your major.

    In three sentences

    A great start for anybody to better their education! Professors to compete with the best of the best. Home away from home

  • 04/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is seeking versatile hours as far as classes should be pleased with the schedule they can construct during registration. NWFSC is good with accommodating different needs, whether it be online, fast-track, or night classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to pay attention to your RaiderNet account. All important dates and information will be displayed there.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of great student resources. The staff is ready to help you in any way they can, all you have to do is ask.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very relaxed and you basically make your own pace with your schedule.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are passionate about their subjects, and it show in their lessons. Each teacher is a wellspring of knowledge!

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People on a budget, people living at home, people not going for a science major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not reccomended for people with science majors, took Chem with Teets and got my first C, i hadnt even had a B since elementary school, put me right off chemistry for life and ruined my GPA.

    Bang for the buck

    Not the best education in florida but it is challenging and gets you a degree and it is very cheap so if you are on a budget its not too bad

    Am enjoying being here

    Most of the teachers, staff and students are friendly and the campus is great! It is easy to get around and there are lot of places to go nearby, the facilities are useful and the basketball games in the brand new gym are great!

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes don't exceed 30-ish students which gives oppertunities for questions to be answered and a deep understanding of material to be obtained.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic students, individuals

    Tips for prospective students

    Just the general tips: be organized, take notes, etc. More specific tips depend on teacher.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty good price

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a good atmosphere, I really like the water features. I also enjoy the concerts and performances at the arts center and the students events, such as Fall fling.

    Am learning a lot

    There are some pretty good teachers here, but there are also some pretty bad ones. The trick is finding ones that match your preferences. Just don't come here if you plan on majoring in Chemistry.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The baseball team and basketball team at Northwest is great, going to the games is a good way to get out and meet students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Northwest is good, it's mostly your typically college cafeteria. But also including a Starbucks coffee and also more coming!

    Dorm Life

    We do not yet have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing and the classes are also wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure about where to go to college NWFSC is a great choice for your first year. This college will definitely help you, whether you want to transfer or continue your schooling there.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Florida State College is a great school. The class sizes are perfect for interacting with your professor. I am so glad that I chose to go here for my first year in college.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The FWB campus is very small and comfortable. You feel secure there and it is in a very safe location.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities going on on the campus. I know NWFSC has a great drama group, and also has great sports teams as well.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are not yet ready to leave home, and who want to receive their A.A.'s before transferring to another college or university. It is also good for people living within the FWB community who may be older and do not want to travel to other places to get an education and want a cheaper education as well.

    Bang for the buck

    NWFSC is MUCH cheaper then going to a larger University. It is a very good college to go to if you are wanting to save up some money before you head off to a different school.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun going on at either the FWB of Niceville Campus, students receive e-mails daily about things going on.

    Food and Dining

    At the Fort Walton Beach campus (the one i attend) there are vending machines all over campus, and a conveniently located cafe in the library where they have a lot of different selections of food and beverages.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at NWFSC. But, students could live off campus at an apartment close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very good at NWFSC. There are many difficult classes to choose from, but it is up to the student/degree program to determine if they take them or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as possible, and if you are receiving financial aid, make sure that gets worked out prior to the deadline for payments or else you may be dropped from your classes. Also, make sure you try and get all of your classes at the same campus so you wont have to drive all around town.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Florida State College is a great place for students who are not ready to leave home yet. The faculty and staff are very helpful and nice, and the campus is small and secure. There are also many campuses to choose from so you can go to whichever one is closest to you.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is not very expensive to go here, and you get a lot of help while you are here. It is excellent bang for your buck.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is okay.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I'm not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes can be difficult with a lot of homework, while others are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to all the scholarships you can and sign up for classes and buy books early.

    In three sentences

    It's a very convenient college. It's not difficult to get into or to get aid from, as long as you are willing to apply for it.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe no need to worry for your safety.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    forensics, film club, community service oriented clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    returning college students.

    Bang for the buck

    it is very inexpensive great place to get pre-requisites done!

    What to do for fun

    join a club, or get involved with campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    i have never actually eaten on campus since i live at home and go there during the day.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a well rated college with excellent professors. i wouldn't say that it is particularly difficult rigor of classes, but small class sizes definitely has an advantage.

    Tips for prospective students

    applying is very easy and admission is pretty much guaranteed. take advantage of professors office hours, more than likely they are glad to help and since may students do not take advantage of the office hours i would highly suggest doing so.

    In three sentences

    an excellent school with a dedicated staff who truly enjoy teaching. several students who attend have returned to school at a later time in life giving the average age of the student who attend to be of a generally older age group. new expansions currently happening provide a positive outlook for the college in the near future.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a emergency department attached to the campus. i don't think it could feel anymore secure than that. there are often a lot of officials walking about the campus, and there is a parking person who often walks around in the parking ots as well (often giving tickets - but the school warns you about parking passes).

    Bang for the buck

    as i said earlier, it is a great way to start your bachelors degree or learn who you want to be and save money. they have a multitude of campuses around okaloosa county and offer a variety of choices and options.

    What to do for fun

    there is not too many extracaricular activities. there are a lot of short-time passtimes however. we get a lot of performers and plays and opportunities to enter into contests and participate in campus fun.

    Food and Dining

    g-r-e-a-t!! a new services center was built at the main campus and it is fantastic. great variety of food and service and affordable prices! it's a new clean space which is fantastic! plenty of space for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    i do not believe there are any dorms at nwfsc.

    Academic Rigor

    they have a variety of programs available and challenge you to be your best. a lot of teachers are very willing to work with you to get through the course if you are having problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for the best way to start your degree and not have to pay buku bucks to go to a major university, start here! they offer great programs and is one of the easiest campuses to learn, once you learn it. it will save money in the long run and you get the hometown environment on the campus itself.

    In three sentences

    northwest florida state college (nwfsc) offers some of the best a.a - transfer degrees and a variety of classes. i couldn't be more pleased with how much money they saved me as i get my bachelors! they have many convenient locations and has a great environment overall.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is very little crime on this campus if none at all. its a small town atmosphere so there really isn't much crime but we have security guards regardless if anything were too happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    the campus has tons of clubs and activities with new ones being added every year. the only drawback is that it might not be the variety of that of a larger school.

    Great for these types of students

    nwfsc is for students who want the small town atmosphere and still be close enough too come larger cities. here you can really focus on getting a quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    personally after looking at the prices for tuition of some of the major universities in florida and comparing it to nwfsc i am saving a lot! the tuition isn't going to break the bank and for what you pay to attend you get great quality teachers and a better education i think. with less students teachers can focus more on individual needs and assist more.

    What to do for fun

    since the campus is only a fifteen minute drive from destin you can enjoy all that the tourist town has to offer. going to beaches, clubs, shopping and good food. but you have leave all that behind when it's time to hit the books again. it like a mini vacation every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    our cafeteria doesn't have a wide selection but what they do have is appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    since nwfsc is such a small campus and school we don't have any dorms so there is no dorm life. however, there are plenty of activities that will keep you active on campus throughout the year.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes you take and what you plan to go on to do later really determines the amount of work your teachers are going to put on you. but overall all my classes have been challenging but rewarding. however, the majors offered are limited that is the only downside to nwfsc.

    Tips for prospective students

    for students new to the campus there are guides that can help you out tremendously. and the guidance staff are extremely helpful even if you are sure what you want to major in they will give you some good advice.

    In three sentences

    i would say that nwfsc is a good school overall, they have a great diversity of classes to offer and teachers that work with the students. the staff at nwfsc is amazing they are usually always available to the students for any of there needs. and the campus is big for such a small school with general class sizes only about 30 students, which makes the atmosphere in classroom inviting.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are a couple officers on campus, but nothing ever happened in the 2 years I've attended.

    Bang for the buck

    As mentioned before, very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria on main campus has basic food available, sandwiches, fried foods, etc...nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a fairly strict attendence policy, 3 abscences in a row and you are dropped from the class, but most teachers will work with you if there is a personal issue that prevents you from attending class. Communication with your professors is key!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that before you enroll in any classes that you speak to an advisor, the college information online is a bit confusing and the advisor will be able to tell you exactly which classes you do or dont need.

    In three sentences

    Very affordable college with excellent staff. Have had some of my best teachers here who are still willing to help me with my education even years after I've been in their class. College has multiple campuses making it very accessible to students.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a security guard who likes walk around looking in people's vehicles instead of checking bumper stickers.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheap if you're a resident.

    What to do for fun

    Niceville doesn't offer much in the way of entertainment, but not too far away is Destin. Destin has great shopping, eating, and entertainment experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Too easy..... literally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here if you qualify for a four-year university elsewhere. It does work with your schedule though for working parents, etc.

    In three sentences

    It's not a good school if you actually want to learn anything or be challenged. If you're looking for a bunch of disorganized teachers and lazy students, this is the place for you. Easy A's across the board.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime is very rarely committed on campus, and when it is, they are non-violent crimes. The campus houses the 911 dispatch center, a Police Academy, and an EMT training facility; while also being placed near Eglin AFB.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities to take part in, but none to even compare with any other universities.

    Great for these types of students

    Biology, Business, Nursing, EMTs, and Engineering majors.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has the lowest tuition in Florida and is by far the best deal of any college I have ever viewed.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to join and sports teams such as Baseball and Basketball to view and take part in.

    Food and Dining

    The dining facilities on campus are cheap and keep your stomach full, though the daily student will surely find the food old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not offer dorms or any form of school affiliated housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Though some of the courses are easy, once you get into the higher level engineering and biology classes, the difficulty increases largely.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you work hard and study, the classes will be passable, and you will receive an education that matches bigger universities.

    In three sentences

    Though some may view the college as a lower-standard institution, the curriculum is challenging and the teachers are helpful. With the lowest tuition in Florida and small class sizes, you get everything you pay for and more. This college would be recommended to anyone who wants to save money and receive a great education.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A campus celebration occurs in the fall and the spring, Fall Fling and Spring Fling respectively. People on campus get together and eat free food, play games, and learn about on-campus activities and organizations.

    What to do for fun

    In Niceville, there is Turkey Creek and Lions Park. Activities such as neighborhood basketball, extreme Frisbee, football require local friends. When all else fails, people here resort to online games and communities.

    Food and Dining

    The NW cafeteria has slightly high prices, and vending machines are available around the campus. If you have a car, there are a variety of fast-food restaurants down the road including McDonald's, Quizno's, Taco Town, Wendy's, and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but there are apartments right across the road from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take and which teachers you choose, the class can be super simple or challenging. Find out about your classes from friends, classmates, or ratemyprofessors.com.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend here, I highly suggest ratemyprofessors.com to check up on which teachers you plan to take. Also, a teacher who is bad at teaching one subject might be excellent at teaching another subject.

    In three sentences

    NWFSC was a great school to attend. The student-teacher ratio was great at usually 20 or less students per teacher. The small community both within the school and within Niceville has a home-like and friendly feeling.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college offers sports so the games are very fun to attend and the theater.

    Food and Dining

    great food in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    I will be living at home for my first two years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships ahead of time so you don't have to worry about loans or payments in the future!

    In three sentences

    I love the school, my mother and older sister attended the college. I like how it is smaller. It makes the learning experience more personal and less competitive.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Drama club, Theater shows

    Food and Dining

    The new cafe is great and confortable for studying and eating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to this school if you live close enough, it is a great school. Make sure you sign up early for classes you want.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very small and classes are just the right size. The teachers care about the students. The tuition is very good.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers free movies, seminars, and has a variety of clubs and on campus activities for students and the local community.

    Food and Dining

    We have a new cafeteria that offers ample options and the food is rather tasty. There is something for everyone to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    As of right now this school does not offer campus housing. There are some apartments across the street but nothing like what someone would expect from a bigger school.

    Academic Rigor

    The subject may be hard but the classes are not. The school has a lot of resources that they offer like tutoring in the math lab and an academic success center where students can get free tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have questions about a class and how a teacher sets it up and teaches it be sure to send the professor an email before you sign-up. The professors are good about getting back to you in a timely manner. Don't park in faculty parking. Nobody wants to pay a parking fee.

    In three sentences

    Exceptional state college that offers good resources to students and the community. I appreciate the small class sizes and have had positive experiences with all of my professors. This school is continuously expanding and one that will have much more success through its development and the success of its students.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Besides the general campus security, which is very good, there is a public safety learning department teaching new police officers on campus. Needless to say it was pretty calming to see a good number of police uniforms walking around campus.

    Greek Life

    There is not to much Greek life here, I was part of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society which recognizes the academic accomplishments of students. Its a great way to get active in the community as we focus on how to give back.

    Clubs and Activities

    Take a look at the many different clubs and organizations in the student services office to find where you belong. Out of the many that are offered, we have academic teams, book clubs, SGA, and many more so there should be something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can find a niche here. NWFSC has a collegiate high school which consists of high school students who are working toward and high school diploma as well as an Associates or Arts college degree. A great way to get ahead of the game.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions here, but NWFSC has many satellite campuses in the counties of Okaloosa and Walton. No matter which part of either county you live in there is a campus somewhere near one can attend for education.

    Bang for the buck

    With the best tuition in Florida this college certainly scores high in that you can get the basic courses you would do as a freshman at a university with a fraction of the cost. The credits you complete at NWFSC are very easily transferred so there is little to worry about what to make up when you transfer should you choose.

    What to do for fun

    Periodically their are SGA sponsored picnic and parties held for all students. Usually they are held just before finals in the fall and spring to help blow of some steam. Oh, and there is free food so you better good before its gone.

    Food and Dining

    NWFSC just recently had a new student services building built and a new cafeteria was put in. With hours that include a breakfast, you can stop by for a bit before heading to class and then come back for lunch. It closes at two o'clock each day and is not available on the weekends so plan accordingly. If you prefer not to eat at the cafeteria then a five minute drive to the center of town will open the door to popular restaurants, just be sure your back in class on time.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on NWFSC as most of the students are returning adults and recent high school graduates which have homes very close to the campus. There are plenty of apartments in the surrounding area of Niceville, Florida if someone comes from a long distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to learn because the professors are ready to teach. No matter the major, all the classes have dedicated professors with in depth knowledge in their field. Some classes may have a lot of homework, some not at all but the thing that really matters is the test the comes every few weeks. Study and you'll do alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start the application process early, the college is located in a suburban kind of location which means many others are competing for classes. If you want the best, the early bird gets the worm.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Florida State College is the best junior college option in the state of Florida. Besides the lowest tuition prices in the state, NWFSC has some of the best programs available with talented and dedicated staff. This school is a great option to start off one's collegiate academic career.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has not been any sort of crime or intrusion for safety in the campus. It's a very a safe campus and I feel comfortable since I have many classes late at night.

    Bang for the buck

    This is my first college and I thought everything was expensive. However, compared to other colleges, the classes and books are actually reasonable. Instead paying sometimes a $1000 for one class, you can pay as low even $100 per subject.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities all over the campuses. We have broadways, movie days, and parties in the county that most of the students participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The college invested a new building and made a new cafeteria with more choices of food and drinks provided. The cafeteria is modern and very clean making it a great place for students to eat and study.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are impressive and many of them have a good feel for what they teach. This helps because their interest in their subject makes it more interesting and easier to understand. This also helped my grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is best to get to know the campus so it won't be so much of a struggle to find classes. Also, most of the time establish a good relationship with your teachers can help your grades by a lot. When you have a problem in a subject, tutors are free and they are they for you!!

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and is improving on its environment. Students are able to build a closer relationship to the teacher due to the small amount of students in a classroom. Teachers are always willing to help the student when in need and the staff is very informative.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study and work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you start you financial aid in February for the following fall classes--there is no rushing their financial aid office.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending college at NWFSC, however, I had some problems with the Financial Aid office in the beginning which prevented me starting when I wanted to. I've also had a major class be canceled twice now--not sure why, but I now have to take it online to move forward.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been attending for several years and have never meet a mean person, have never had my life threatened, or ever felt unsafe.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you to be the best that you can and some may seem hard but they have wonderful teachers that only want to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study. Respect the teachers and the campus. As long as you do those three things you are sure to excel!

    In three sentences

    I feel Northwest Florida State wants its students to succeed in everything. It is a wonderful college with top notch professors and excellent facilities. NWFSC makes me feel like I will make a difference one day and I love attending this college.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like small colleges and class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    Joining student organizations are always fun! Leadership programs are available to all students! Going to athletic sports games are also fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe, but it usually closes around 4pm.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Take as much classes you possibly can! Study any extra time you can, while knowing breaks are good for the body! Strive for an A all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go check out where all your classes are prior to the beginning of classes. Wearing sneakers are great for comfort when traveling through the campus. Getting to know all your teachers is very important because they are the ones you can get accurate help from!

    In three sentences

    It is great for students that enjoy small-sized classes! Its not a very big college, so getting to classes on time is easily done. The advisers are great with matching your classes with your major!

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They are doing all kinds of new fun activities and clubs that I heard were really great.

    Great for these types of students

    I think you will absolutely love going there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They started this thing where every spring break they get together in the middle of the campus and they have little field day events.

    What to do for fun

    Me and my friends gets together and do a little study group and we also attend every basketball game there.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend for people to go there and focus on nothing but school and make sure you tend every class and if you end up missing one class make a friend to help you get the notes.

    In three sentences

    I love Northwest Florida State College! The environment is amazing and the school is really easy to get around. And the teachers helps you learn a lot of things just by being funny which helps me focus more.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many Broadway plays and basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    Besides vending machines..there are good hot meals at the Niceville campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know if they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Finding classes that match work schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having difficulties with understanding a class..see if the Academic Success Center can help you before you drop the class.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 stars

    Greek Life

    don't attend anything

    Clubs and Activities

    4 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student looking to take their education to the next level.

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars

    What to do for fun

    many activities available but I have not attended.

    Food and Dining

    1 star

    Dorm Life

    1 star

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to go to college, emotionally, physically and have the mindset to succeed! An education is worth more now than it was years ago. It's very important to your future.

    In three sentences

    I chose this college because it is close to home and convenient. The staff have been exceptionally helpful in my returning to school. I have been out of school for over 30 years and it hasn't been easy to return but I am very happy with my choice.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You will have to travel to destin for that. Can be slow during the winter.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria provides a great range of food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Mrs. Betsy Hansen (counselor) is incredible with providing guidance to any who arn't sure what they're next step should be.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are Northwest Florida State College go above and beyond for their students. They take the time and effort to make sure every student in their class comprehends the materical they're being taught.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    laid back students who love small class sizes and relaxed atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheep classes while receiving a great education.

    What to do for fun

    If you are new to the area you should check out Destin and maybe even attend a Friday night football or baseball game at the local high school. Down here we love our Friday night lights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good in the new relocated K building (I'm not sure what else to call it). The only problem is that the food can get a tad to pricey for my liking.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    in my opinion classes are not really that difficult. it reminds me of high school but with less busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early in order to receive good professors. Watch out for those adjunct teachers

    In three sentences

    Small school and classes. Affordable tuition.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe with our 24/7 officers.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap! You save so much money!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs around you just have to search sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    Has improved greatly over the past couple of years.

    Dorm Life

    There are none.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers helping you learn so much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it's a state college doesn't mean it's an easy school, you do have to work very hard but it pays off!

    In three sentences

    This is a great learning school, with very small classes so the teacher knows your name and always willing to help you out. They care greatly about your education here and continue to show that. They also have great free tutoring for all subjects showing even more about how much they care for the students here.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located in Niceville, Fl. enough said

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few there but nothing really that big, most people keep to themselves trying to hurry and move through the semester.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really that special about this area or campus..... but i guess if your not local you may think Destin and the beach is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    I am guessing this is asking something about the price of the school or something? So under that interpretation it is fairly cheap, a 12 credit semester will run you about 1300 and then books which will be about another 500. One good thing is they now offer book rentals or you can always sell your old books back for about half price.

    What to do for fun

    Well there's not much on campus to do unless you like watching basket ball, working out or playing tennis. I'm an art student so i spend most of my recent days in the art galleries and art department and i enjoy that thoroughly.

    Food and Dining

    All that is located on campus is the cafeteria and its closes at 2 and the overall quality of the food just isn't that appetizing (i feel sorry for athletes). Luckily it is a small town, very easy to get around and is full of different places to eat with a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms and as far as i know they do not have to many to offer so i cannot really comment.

    Academic Rigor

    You do not have to much to worry about as long as you do your work and turn it on on time but that should be common sense. Also, the professors are all different so i would recommend using ratemyprofessor.com

    Tips for prospective students

    Just relax, enjoy do your work and remember you only really get to live this part of your life so take it slow and have fun!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending here for about four semesters and have had a pretty good experience. The professors are very helpful and go out of their way to help you pass the class if you are willing to put in the work. The worst part is just the degrees are limited and lately the classes are getting cut.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! There's usually nothing to worry about in lil' old Niceville, but if there were an emergency we don't have campus alert systems.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not enough of them!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need one on one attention, students who are struggling financially, students who don't have a stellar high school transcript but just need the opportunity to improve it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach! Go shopping! Go skating! Hang with friends! Study?

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about getting in; should be easy. If you need help, ask your professor! The library is always your friend.

    In three sentences

    NWFSC is a close knit college. It's easy to get help if you need it. It's a great spring board for bigger and more respectable colleges.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well-lit and security. Niceville is a low-crime area.

    Greek Life

    There are Greek places to eat in Fort Walton Beach!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs, but not a member of any.

    What to do for fun

    Is there time for fun? There are cinemas and places to eat. A few places to dance. Of course, close to the beautiful, sugar-like, white sandy beaches of the Emerald Coast and all the water-sports that go along with that. Great weather year-round to enjoy out-door activities.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten food on Campus, but hear there is a good cafeteria. Just opened a Star Bucks on Campus too that has snacks and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Based off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Attendance, participation, study, and learning are the focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your teachers. Read, learn and study hard as if your life depends on it, which ultimately it does!

    In three sentences

    Located in the small town of Niceville, Northwest Florida State College has so far proven to be an ideal place for learning. The grounds are well-landscaped with fountains, trees and statues, and there is a quiet, idyllic atmosphere that resonates throughout the campus.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love that as a military spouse they give me lots of options to work toward a portable degree should we get stationed elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Many groups to choose from. Singing, Dancing, Acting...whatever you love, they have it.

    Food and Dining

    They have the only Starbucks in Niceville, how cool is that??

    Academic Rigor

    Whether your going part time or full time, they will keep you busy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and keep up on your financial aid stuff.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. Lots of parking and very friendly staff. Many degrees to choose from.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am never afraid for my safety

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    great variety

    Great for these types of students

    anybody

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    spend time with friends

    Food and Dining

    food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved work hard

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school. The teachers are very knowledgable, and are always willing to help a struggling student. The school offers many clubs as well as career planning services.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 911 call center on campus, and there are cops everywhere. It's probably one of the safest campuses in the nation. I would not recommend parking illegally, because if you do there will be a ticket on your car within about 30 seconds.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life. There is an honor society that has a greek name though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to keep you busy, but you have to know what you're looking for. I keep finding out about clubs and activities I didn't know existed.

    Great for these types of students

    NWF is good for students who want to work toward a Bachelor's degree without going broke. They accommodate your schedule very well. Lots of students work full-time and still attend this school.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the least expensive colleges in the state and their financial aid program is good. The tuition and fees are pretty straightforward; this isn't one of those schools that will get you with a bunch of hidden lab fees or equipment fees or anything like that.

    What to do for fun

    NWF has a reputation as a commuter school, but there is usually something going on on any given day. There are plenty of clubs to join and sporting events to go to.

    Food and Dining

    I've been to the cafeteria a few times and the food is pretty good. There are plenty of places to eat within 2 miles of the campus in the town of Niceville.

    Dorm Life

    This being a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes will challenge you, but most are very easy. That's not to say you won't learn anything; the classes are just not as challenging as those you would find in a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit a financial aid form as soon as you can. If the main campus doesn't offer the class you are looking for, look at their other campuses and see if they would work better for you.

    In three sentences

    NWF State is a good college to attend for people who want to eventually move on to a University. Their Associate of Arts program can be completed quickly with fast track and online classes, and you can usually find classes that accommodate your work schedule. Class sizes are small and the teachers want to help you succeed.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go watch the basketball raiders play they are amazing both boys and girls.

    Food and Dining

    i do not havent ate there

    Dorm Life

    I do not know ive seen the sports housing and its pretty decent.

    In three sentences

    I would say Northwest Florida State College is a wonderful school. The school has so many great programs that i would love to join . I also think that the emotions it carriers is great and makes me feel excited and welcomed

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrols come around on golf carts, well lit at night, small campus small parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lame

    Great for these types of students

    Young or old, shy, awkward, introvert, duel enrollment, career oriented, just about anybody would do well here except football players, there is no football.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    You can earn an AA degree fast and cheap. They offer a couple of BA degrees also and many AAS degrees.

    What to do for fun

    Go to baseball games, basketball games or off campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Recently added a new student lounge looks nice never ate there

    Academic Rigor

    I did not think the classes were that hard. Good luck!

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent textbooks, ask questions about everything; no one offers any real guidance.

    In three sentences

    Great small community college that you can earn your AA degree relatively cheaply. Small classes give you an opportunity to get one-on-one guidance if needed. Not much extra curricular activities offered.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe in a good area not really a whole lot of time.

    Greek Life

    not a whole lot it is a community college so it has as much as any other community college i would guess

    What to do for fun

    GO TO DESTIN!!! The beaches are beautiful and a great place to be on a nice sunny day AFTER class

    Food and Dining

    Not a traditional on campus student but have had eaten in the cafe one or twice not to bad. There are a few fast food restaurants close to the campus if cafe food just doesn't do it for you.

    Dorm Life

    Not much of a dorm life, but if you do live in house designated for college students then as long as you are willing to meet new people and get along with others then you will like it.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers are very helpful and are willing to go that extra mile to help you out as long as you are willing to help yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ALL the resources available to you!!!

    In three sentences

    It is a good opportunity to feather your college career. Which in return will allow you to get more job opportunities, ergo earn more money.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of any crimes committed on the campuses. They are very rigorous on parking stickers/registration so watch out!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. The college offers a LOT more than it used to. Fully online courses are available, fast track courses and much more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is virtually everywhere in the area. Some classes on both military bases, a location in Fort Walton Beach and a location in Crestview to accommodate students unable to attend the Niceville campus. (Which has gone through major renovations and construction recently.)

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing price for in-state tuition. Roughly $100 a semester hour. The only problem I have is the college claims many of the books are NWFSC specific. You can rent the books online and buy the specific codes needed off the manufacturers websites for much cheaper than buying from the bookstore here!

    What to do for fun

    The college offers several extra curricular activities! Check their website out for the most up to date lists of clubs an sports.

    Food and Dining

    I have never personally eaten at the campus, but I hear it is not bad!

    Academic Rigor

    Every class I have attended is very informative. Many of the professors will work with you. A LOT of them are on rate my professor. Just check into them before you select a course and you can decide for yourself if you want to deal with the professor/class as far as rigorous or lax.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything you need to enroll to make the process faster. NWFSC offers a TON of programs, so look into them and have questions prepared for a counselor if you wish to speak with one.

    In three sentences

    So far, everything has been easy for enrollment. The professor I have for my summer 3 fast track course is amazing! The college website is very user friendly.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the courtyard at the picnic tables or in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very tasty, a bit overpriced, and always available. The cafeteria was recently updated and moved, and it is much nicer than the previous building. The previous food building was renovated into a new bookstore and Barnes and Noble/Starbucks, and it is fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available at NWFSC.

    Academic Rigor

    A bit challenging but not too hard for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make use of the mahtlab and many tutors available at NWFSC. Also if a student has any questions they should ask their professor because every teacher at NWFSC is very nice and willing to help students who ask.

    In three sentences

    NWFSC is diverse and has many opportunities for all students waiting a higher education. The staff and personnel are very helpful and are quite dedicated to assisting every student for their personal needs. The facilities are top notch, and the curriculum is just challenging enough.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They offer Starbucks and nice food in the cafeteria and have A la carte cafe's at reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    This campus has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be very challenging or very easy depending on the style the teacher has in their teaching methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not choose this school if you are going to do Graduate work, go to University of West Florida instead.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Northwest Florida offers a wide variety of classes and also a wide variety of teaching styles. The campus is very beautiful and the faculty is very supportive and understanding and are willing to help students succeed. The buildings are also very well kept and offer a clean and friendly learning environment.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the classes are cheaper than at the traditional university.

    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do other than go to destin.

    Food and Dining

    no dining area either

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    since I took hard classes in high school, the classes are not as challenging for me as for others.

    Tips for prospective students

    look up the teacher online before you sign up for the class to make sure it is the right class for you!

    In three sentences

    I love going to college here. all of my teachers are very nice and understanding. they really care bout the students and their learning experience.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen a squad car or campus safety officer in six years. I've been told parking is only enforced until 1700. If there is any campus security, I'm guessing they go home at 1700. I have almost exclusively all night classes since that is the only time they are offered. Walking around campus at night I notice the outside lights along the buildings and pathways aren't even on. This is the darkest campus I have ever seen. The school is clearly more interested in reducing costs that providing security for students.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want a degree but not an education. Again, its a diploma mill. If all you need is a diploma to get a pay raise or whatever, this is a good place as very little will be expected from you and it is cheap. If yo really want to learn something or be well prepared for transfer to a real college, this isn't a good place for you as you will not be challenged in any way. Pay the higher price at a real school as it will return a greater dividend to you in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    They brag about how cheap their tuition is, but you also have to consider the unpublished fees. I had to take a number of online courses because they were required and no other method of instruction was available. These courses had up to $60 course fees. Add the fees in and its not as cheap as they want you to believe. Also, you get what you pay for. Even if you want to get an AA on the cheap and then transfer to a real school, the quality of the education here is so poor you will have to work harder on you upper level courses since you will have to learn the upper level course material plus what you didn't but should have learned here.

    Food and Dining

    I've never bought any food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Over 50% of the classes allow open book and/or open note tests. Some have take home tests. The grading is liberal. I took two courses where you received 100% on all your assignments if you turned anything in - including a blank document! In short, if you want a degree with little effort, this is the place for you. If you actually want to learn something, look elsewhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    You�re on your own. This is largely self study whether your courses are in-class or online. The teachers teach to the average to below average students. Even the good ones are limited by the college as to how hard� they can teach because the college doesn't want to get a reputation for quality standards (this would negatively affect the diploma mill standard). I can count on one hand the number of high quality instructors I've had at this institution, but even they are required to teach to the lowest common denominator. Thus, you get a poor quality education even from the instructors capable of teaching at a high level. If you are a high achiever you will be forced to work at a level well below you ability. There are a lot of courses with group projects. High achievers will be frustrated with having to constantly work down to the level of your other group mates.

    In three sentences

    This is a diploma mill. The schools objective is to run as many students through the systems as possible. Quality education is a very distant concern.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty cheap.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great drama program.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm opportunities on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't that challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good 2 + 2 school to be able to transfer to your dream university.

    In three sentences

    I am satisfied with NWFSC. It has versatile learning opportunities for online students to still be involved. I am able to go to school online, have a student life, and have a job.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who generally focus on getting their AA through a reasonably priced method.

    What to do for fun

    The biggest thing students tend to do is just relax with their entire group of friends somewhere on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing and constantly changing! There's always something new on the menu each day, and the dining room is spacious and clean.

    Dorm Life

    I have no prior or current knowledge about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The subjects very between whichever you decide to take, but the teachers definitely make you work for the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is definitely a great college choice in order to get your AA.

    In three sentences

    The students here are vibrant and friendly. The faculty are experienced, helpful, and interesting to learn from. You can find any spot on campus to relax.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a great value for any level degree. My professors all had great experience in their fields of study but were super relatable. I actually went to school with a few of the professors' kids so it wasn't as intimidating. I'm really pleased with the education I've received here. Very affordable, very flexible, great for working and family-oriented students.

    What to do for fun

    The scenery is great for studying, lots of little animals wandering around and even some jets flying over from the nearby Air Force base and airport. Quaint and serene for the most part!

    Food and Dining

    Both campuses I attend here have awesome caf�©s and shops for in between classes!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, yet!

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Project Management BAS program and although challenging at times, the professors are incredibly helpful and have excellent experience in their fields of study. I definitely think some classes are easier than others, but all require effort and are great learning opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though tuition is very affordable here, always be proactive about financial aide, internships, and every opportunity you can get your hands on. The staff here is really helpful when it comes to getting the students resources and opportunities!

    In three sentences

    I love this school because they are flexible for full time employees, parents, etc. I work full time and I'm able to go to school full time, working during the day, and going to school at night. Their flexibility, dedicated and experience staff, and affordable tuition rates have helped me get to the point that I'm at now!

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the only one I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Renting books is probably a good idea.

    What to do for fun

    Didn't attend main campus.

    Food and Dining

    Unsure. Attended a campus other than Niceville.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Decent level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always listen and do what the professor tells you to do.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Florida State College is a very nice community college. I would recommend it. All of the personnel are very friendly.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty easy going. As far as safety is concerned, I'm fairly certain there is an officer training program on grounds. There hasn't been any physical violence or sexual misconduct on site that I know of.

    Greek Life

    Not too much, that I'm aware of. Fraternities and sororities aren't really a thing at Northwest. If there is, there are no Greek houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you like it, there's probably a club for it. Or group, of some sort. There are always fliers up on campus for different activities happening.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic folk enjoy the campus. Fresh out of high school enjoy the college, as well. A handful of 40s, 50s, and 60+ attend for a class or two.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much comes to mind. They did have a minor undertaking of zombie warfare with NERF guns. Other than that, it's just a nice place to spend the day.

    What to do for fun

    NWFSC has a Film Club that meets once a month to watch a film. They have a beautiful theater for live performances. And, for the gym junkies, a fantastic facility on campus for building yourself, and enjoying the view of other students while doing it.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried the new cafeteria, but it looks pretty good. NWFSC isn't like UCF, with Chik-Fil-A, Burger King, and all of that, but it is good. There is a Starbucks in the bookstore, though, and that's nice.

    Dorm Life

    NWFSC doesn't really have dorms yet. The school is growing, so I wouldn't doubt some oncoming. Niceville, however, is a pleasant little city with different outside housing areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher. Some are passionate and strong in their teachings (Hunt, Stanley, Weatherford) and their courses are more than worth admission. I've met very few professors who I haven't enjoyed learning under.

    Tips for prospective students

    Respect your teachers. Enjoy the campus. Meet other students, we all go to college for our own reasons, I can't speak for everyone, but I appreciate good stranger communication

    In three sentences

    Northwest Florida is a fantastic up-and-coming college. There are a few solid career path programs at the college (nursing, firefighting, business) as well as many part-time college classes (writing, theater, speech). It is a perfect entry level, fresh out of high school college to go to, or school to attend in your aging years for something to look forward to in the week.