Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest Indian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small campus so almost everyone know everyone and looks out for each other. they do not have any officers that i am aware for general campus. the doors however are patrolled.

    Greek Life

    this is minimal but is available. i have not looked any deeper in to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    variety is very good. they are open to the entire student body.

    Great for these types of students

    students with children who need on site childcare. students wanting to study native americans. student who are dedicated to graduation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    very reasonable tuition and books. financial aid department always looking for new scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    ski and snowboard club major fun. nature walks year round. summer swimming at the local beaches.

    Food and Dining

    good quality but poor quantity and options. needs variety and value pricing added. recomended for those with good funding

    Dorm Life

    i have never been involved in the dorms. i know that it is a new facility and well managed. so i would say check em out!

    Academic Rigor

    there is a variety of academics at all college levels. the instructors are very serious and passionate about the academic standard. i would rate a five if the academics where more versatile for students in their junior year.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for scholarships very early. ask question and explain in detail any concerns. get to know the staff.

    In three sentences

    is a very open and understanding facility. they keep the students needs in mind during all decision making processes. they are flexible and willing to assist students in making sure they can stay in school.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of student centered activities on the main campus in bellingam.

    Food and Dining

    no dining available at swinomish site.

    In three sentences

    northwest is an amazing college institute. it is small enough to be personal and involved in our native culture; yet with enough degrees to accommodate every one's needs. could use more resources at the smaller campuses.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this isnt unusual but we really have lots of the lummi traditions.

    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs to get involed in. lots of student activitys

    Tips for prospective students

    don't forget to ask for help, that was one of my mistakes winter quarter

    In three sentences

    i really love this school. the staff is really helpful with any qwestions you have. pluse the teachers are very flexable.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Culture club, science club, sports

    Great for these types of students

    Native American, Want to learn Native American culture and history, spouses, family friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Native american cultures and traditions will be found at this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't as high as i thought it would be. It's very affordable, especially if you apply for fafsa.

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The Port Gamble site has the best Mathematics teacher ever and all the other teachers/instructors are all very knowledgable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Northwest Indian college has a main campus in Bellingham, Wa. on the Lummi reservation. It also has many off campus satellite sites on different reservations, I attend the Port Gamble S'Klallam site. You can live at the dorm on campus or find a site near you.

    In three sentences

    On a a four star scale, I give Northwest Indian college four stars. I have had a great experience here. The teachers and staff are so helpful and are willing to help you succeed in anyway they can.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety was good at the Tulalip Site.

    Greek Life

    Their are similiar texts like the Legends and Myths of Native Americans. Also the words that are found in the science books and also mainstream literature.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Cultural Awareness Club

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody that wants to know about Coastal Native American Tribes. Their customs and way of life. Anybody wanting to know about Tribal History and the past history of the relations between the United States government and the Tribal Soveriegnty's within the United States. Anybody that wants to know the truth about history and an indigenous view point on sciences, literature, writing, and all educational programs in academia.

    Bang for the buck

    Tribal institutions will tell you the truth about the history of this country and also give you more insight about what is the truth behind all sciences and education in academia.

    What to do for fun

    At the Tulalip Site we would throw evnts within the student club and with the help form the tulalip staff. We would do book readings, open mic poetry and music nights within the community. We would also go to other colleges to speak about being native and also native scholars at Northwest Indian College

    Food and Dining

    I heard the food is good but repetitive

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about dorm life at main campus but heard it is good

    Academic Rigor

    Tribal college is somewhat different that mainstream colleges due to seasonal events within communities. The classes are good and great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to order books before term starts or go to the book store on main campus. Make sure the degree program you are entering has the right classes that you need to graduate.

    In three sentences

    I loved the students and staff because of support and comfort. I did not like the online book store and Tulalips Tribes mail system. Some in the beginning of registration, I would be late to register because of the wrong classes for degree program.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No different than any other campus, that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Council

    Great for these types of students

    It does'nt matter anyone should come.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have experienced so far.

    Bang for the buck

    If your are someone returning to college, or alway's wanted to go to college but were afraid to because of the fast pace, or the intensity of being a college student, then I strongly recommend coming here.

    What to do for fun

    Talk with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but I have heard that it is pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    This college may not be as large as other colleges, but the expectations of such is the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend that prospective students take a full tour of this campus, not only to find their classes, but to get a real sense of this enviroment, and rich culture.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Indian College to me was intimidating at first until my daily routine and support from staff and friends have made it an awesome learning experience for me, in every aspect of learning.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't know about the main campus but I know they do send emails about what is going on.

    Food and Dining

    NA for me

    Dorm Life

    NA for me

    Academic Rigor

    I just started my first quarter but it makes me think in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to get into and if using GI Bill benefits make sure you know your degree plan is covered.

    In three sentences

    They actually care. They are willing to help by going above and beyond to encourage learning. Wonderful instructors.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. We have security on staff to protect both our students and the staff.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any Greek life on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities for students to get involved with on campus. They rang from pow wow committee to the Student Executive Board.

    Great for these types of students

    Native students who are interested in their culture and would like to make a difference.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have multiple pow wows and other Native based campus events. There is a lot of chances for students to become involved on the campus;.

    Bang for the buck

    The tution isn't much for Native students. The facutly and staff make sure that you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of Native based on campus activities. The campus is also placed close to the waterfront which has a beautiful view of downtown Bellingham. It is a little further out from the city but Bellingham and Ferndale are close by for students to have fun in other activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is the dorm cafeteria here on campus but there is also Anna's Kitchen which offers both students and staff the opportunity for homemade lunches and dinners.

    Dorm Life

    It is a great place for students who are new to the area and school to live. It makes it much easier to get to and from your classes and be a part of on campus activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Students who take classes full time have a much more rigorous work load than those who don't. Also students that are parents and are employed also have a more rigorous academic life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get admissions and testing out of the way early. Make sure that financial is complete and that you communicate with advisors and other staff. Lastly make sure get involved on campus and in the community.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Indian College is great for students who are looking to learn more about their heritage. It is also a great school for Natives looking to get an education that they can use in their tribes. Lastly is great for students who like smaller classrooms.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play with students

    Food and Dining

    not bad

    Dorm Life

    I'm really comfort with it

    Academic Rigor

    pleasure to have

    Tips for prospective students

    It's nice to have a part of it...

    In three sentences

    nice and encouraging students

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is safe they have security camera's all over campus so if anything were to happen it is all caught on tape

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy doing the clubs at the college there are two that i find very interesting, they are the rocket club and the ski and snowboard club. The rocket club and the ski club are rub by two of the professors that work at the college and anyone who is interested can join.

    Food and Dining

    they have lunch everyday in the cafeteria its free for students who live in the dorms, but if you don't life in the dorms, or have a class that gives free lunch you have to pay five dollars to get lunch. If you can't get lunch at the cafeteria you can go to the school book store they have snacks and drinks you can buy for cheap.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but from what i hear the dorm's are really spacious and are worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend this college for Prospective students expectantly ones who don't know what college they want to go to

    In three sentences

    Northwest Indian college is a wonderful college.everyone here is so nice and so helpful. I love this college and i'm glad i am attending this college because they have great teachers and they are always there if you need help and they are always so nice.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full of people and eyes.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots, not too many.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A river nearby, a casino down the road, waterfront views down the road.

    Bang for the buck

    Sometimes it becomes hard to look past the smaller picture into the bigger picture of a career and choices, with lackluster teaching.

    What to do for fun

    There are walks at noon that tons of people participate in. Many days there are opportunities to join in a meeting or some type of group in the log building on campus. The library or messing around on the computer seems to be fun.

    Food and Dining

    A small restaurant with a women who cooks Mexican food and charges, WAY too much, a small store and a pop machine. The dorms also has a cafeteria. Down the road is a bigger kitchen with more options and a fitness center with healthier, cheaper options.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable, chic, casual. The perfect place for someone who is used to living in an apartment. I've only visited, but left with a good impression. Social and educational environment going on.

    Academic Rigor

    There is team spirit here, whether it be small-time or culturally, there are ample opportunities to be inspired or just bewildered. It may be small but, the student body is not lacking it's pep.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared, put college first. Know the rules of the class and follow them. Attendance is important, go to class every day. The teachers are lenient, so be nice and your wish will be granted.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Indian College is a small campus with the enough resources to acheive a developed education. I've gone here for a quarter in the past and came back because I am comfortable being here. I believe there are a lot of heartfelt and positive people who work here and are willing to put in the time to help you succeed and will believe in you and your educational goals.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are just starting to think of furthering their education. There is a lot of guidance here.

    Bang for the buck

    The Lummi Indian People are very cultural, vibrant, active, beautiful, and accepting.

    What to do for fun

    Fun on the Rez is going to very for the most part. But the City of Bellingham is only a 15 minute drive away, and there is so much to do. I-Maxx theaters, paint-balling, Bellis Fair Mall, Bowling ally's and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    If you don't like whats on campus, the store & McDonald's is only 15 minutes away = )

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I've been in them and they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The college has so much to offer, and is still growing. I predict that this college will offer Master Degrees within 30 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate! this place is beautiful!.

    In three sentences

    The North West Indian College is very well organized, the teachers are understanding, and the location is very convenient. The college itself is growing at a rapid rate, and will continue to do so. It's highly recommended! Vine Deloria Jr. ( Indian Activist ) loved this College so much that we have his personal library here on campus.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to school pow wow

    In three sentences

    Very helpful to students individual needs

  • 10/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Drum making, quilting and beading clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new Coastal Building is amazing

    What to do for fun

    Beading class, drum making class, learn how to carve, and test out a canoe

    Food and Dining

    Love the traditional foods

    Dorm Life

    Non-stop fun and adventurous

    Academic Rigor

    Love the teaching curriculum

    Tips for prospective students

    Aim high in goals and take advantage of everything you can

    In three sentences

    NWIC i8s rich in culture. Love the faculty and student life. Everyone has their own identity and story