Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest Mississippi Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are not ready for the total University experience. People who get homesick easily. People who need refreshening on their math and English skills! Someone who loved high school, and someone who is bad at directions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep your phone turned off unless it's for an emergency. Get ready for feel like you're going back to high school. And, always keep some scantrons on hand.

    Bang for the buck

    Pell grants are great! The price is decent for a community college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The thing I like most about Northwest is that it feels just like high school, so I didn't have a lot of trouble finding my classes. They have a no cell phone rule, so I've seen a many students get kicked out of class for texting, but that makes since because it is disrespectful to the teacher. The food is expensive..The cafe/eating area is pretty small, so if everyone gets out of class at the same time, you won't find a seat. It just depends. They also have many tutoring/helping programs that are free, which is great. The math teachers are also very good! I loved that they went over the basics and prepared me for college Alg. I also love that is locallly close.

    Am learning a lot

    To be honest, some of the teachers here are a little TOO easy, but it is a community college, so I guess that is expected. There are a few hard teachers, who i've learned a lot from. They have made my experience at Northwest very enjoyable. Rate my professors.com is a great way to figure out your teacher choices!

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is also great. there are always campus officials available for students. and if you are sometimes forgetful and accidentally lock your keys in your car, then the campus police can help you out there. do not worry about being safe because you are!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of student clubs and organizations on campus; they are available to all students. they are continuously active and help students to socialize and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are all decent-sized and the teachers on campus are great. they go the extra mile just to make sure that their students learn what they need too. you not only receive a great, personalized education from northwest, you also receive the advantage of joining some of the most active and fun student clubs and organizations.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of student clubs and organizations available to join. they provide different types of activities for all students to come out and join in the fun and socializing.

    Food and Dining

    northwest provides good food but in a healthy, tasty way. the cafeteria is in the center of the campus and is available to everyone. meal plans are available to students who stay in the dorms but all students can still purchase meals without a plan.

    Dorm Life

    the campus dorms give you the complete feeling of being in college. you are able to be near all of your classes, while being around your friends. the dorms are also very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    northwest has a lot of classes to offer to all types of majors. your education is the campus's number one priority. tutoring is also available to students who may need a little bit of help.

    Tips for prospective students

    joining northwest is an amazing experience but keep in mind that you should apply for financial aid. northwest has a great way of helping prospective students to get the financial aid that they need. also, planning a day to visit northwest will help you to familiarize yourself with the campus.

    In three sentences

    northwest is the best! the campus has a great vibe and everyone is very friendly and eager to help you with all of your needs. if you are looking for a college to be yourself in, this is the college for you!

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top notch here. The police on this campus take everything seriously, so you can get away with very little. Respect campus rules, or they will kick you out of school.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs on this campus. From the GSA to the Rodeo club.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is great for Fine Arts majors and Nursing majors. It has one of the best nursing programs in Mississippi.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school has a lot of fine arts majors (like me), so be ready for some loud shameless people.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth here. Northwest is cheap, and if you take the time to apply for scholarships, you can go here for free. I have a full ride, and I actually get money back from the school.

    What to do for fun

    There is very little to do in Senatobia Mississippi. The movie theatre in town charges $5 to students of Northwest. Other than the movie theatre, my friends and I just drive around on the back roads and listen to music.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not fantastic by any means, but for the most part it is edible. The biggest problem is variety. The cafeteria serves the same things every week, so it gets a little monotonous.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived in three out of the five male dorms on campus, and I have only liked one of them. Quittman and Gainey are very loud and dirty dorm style dorms, but the one I am in now, Desoto, is an apartment style dorm, and I love it!

    Academic Rigor

    The academia at this school is easy for the most part. The professors do not teach at a university level, but it is more in depth than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Northwest with an open mind. It is cheap, it is fairly easy, and you will truly get a good education and spend very little, if any money.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is probably the best decision I have made in choosing a college. I have gotten to go to this school on a full ride for two years, and it has saved me so much money. It might be a community college, but in two weeks, I will have an associates degree and I havent had to pay a cent.

  • 04/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    yes i will enjoy b/c the school have my major and sports

    Will learn a lot

    it will be cool to learn

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EMT students

    Tips for prospective students

    Has a good EMT program

    Bang for the buck

    Not to Expensive

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy it

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone fresh out of highschool. Or anyone needing to resume college later in life.

    What to do for fun

    I stay busy, not sure.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, don't take your time for granted you don't realize how quickly a semester will fly buy when you stay busy with your studies. Stay on top of your paperwork and double check behind anyone who nay be helping with your aid.

    In three sentences

    A nice campus with respectable teachers. In my personal opinion it need more available evening classes with a better office staff. Needs more staff to help with financial aid and maintaining proper paper work filing.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police Always on the Heels. Very Safe and Are Very Strict on Police.

    Greek Life

    Have Fun HAHA

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Clubs to Join and Plenty of Activites

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Criminal Justice. Mostly All the Majors!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not Any.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh yes, Tops 2,000 for out of state. Half of that For instate Residents.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of Sports, Theatre, Music Shows to Go See. All free if you are a student there. Beautiful Campus. Great Town its in, Landers Center is right down the road for Hockey games and Concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing, 2 Eating places upstairs and Vending.

    Dorm Life

    Fantastic

    Academic Rigor

    Must have Great Grades and Attendence!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head high, Northwest Will help you all the way to your degree to see you start your future. Clean, Responsible, Well-Trained Staff. Theres no Way you can go wrong at NWCC also a ole miss Dual Campus is There!

    In three sentences

    Affordable to Most. Love the School and Atmosphere. Great Programs and Teachers.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I havent been there to see such things, ive only visited certain offices and buildings.

    Food and Dining

    Good :)

    Dorm Life

    Honestly they're very neat and nice:)

    In three sentences

    I believe Northwest is a well organized College. Very well attended and give great service to students and parents, which is very important. I liked strongly the environment as a student.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons!

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are about $90 per semester hour

    Academic Rigor

    You have to keep an average above a certain GPA to not be under academic probation

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Good school, especially for a freshman out of high school. Good location.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the campus of Northwest is a very safe place to be. You will always see campus police cars driving around patrolling and keeping students safe.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in the form of clubs. People rarely throw parties, but sporting events are pretty fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small variety to choose from in the cafeteria, but for the most part, the food doesn't taste that good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Northwest are a fun place to live while attending college. I have met many wonderful friends from living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes for the most part are fairly easy. If you choose good teachers, your two years at Northwest will be a breeze.

    In three sentences

    I love going to college at Northwest. The teachers are very friendly and will help you with anything you need. I am glad I chose to go to Northwest instead of starting out at a 4-year university.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are three security guards on the Oxford campus from 8-3. There is only one at night but they have added street lights in the parking lot and are in the process of adding security cameras.

    Great for these types of students

    Recently graduating High School Seniors and older returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition has gone up since I have started attending NWCC, but they have been doing a lot of remodeling and increasing some much needed security measures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Abide by campus rules and you will have no problems! Your Dean and advisor should become your best friends.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus! All of the teachers are great and extremely helpful. It is a well structured and very nice campus.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a security guard, and even though it is a small campus, things happen. I have never had any problems with my belongings or my car; I feel very safe at this school.

    Greek Life

    There is none as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are really only sports that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    It caters to the working professional; I am only able to take night classes, and I have 6 classes becuase of their amazing schedule. I work full-time, go to school full-time, and still have time to be with family and friends.

    Bang for the buck

    It is completely worth the money. The tuition for in-state full-time is only 1100 a semester, and I am very thankful for that.

    What to do for fun

    That is the one downside to Northwest; there are not a lot of activities to get involved in besides sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is not dining hall at my campus, just a break room.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I hear they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    There are really hard classes and really easy classes; it just depends on what you as a student take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to pre-register because it is a very long process.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a very wise economical choice for me. The class sizes are small, and the campus is very easy to navigate. I've had a great experience here at Northwest.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you commit, and definitely talk with an advisor before deciding if this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    It needs some updating bad especially in the dorm areas. Senatobia is a very small town with not much to do. The teachers here are wonderful though.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I don't have very high standards for cafeteria food. It's not amazing gourmet food but it's not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in the best dorm on campus and i love it. It puts me in close contact with other people on campus and allows me to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the academic is fair. Most classes really challenge you to step up your game and do well.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy being on this campus. The school is great, the teachers and counselors are really helpful. This community college has been a great stepping stone in my education.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural Sports, BSU, other student activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for housing very early in the year.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice campus. Most of the teachers are good teachers. There are a lot of nice people on campus.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Basically nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus, but most of them do not advertise well enough that students know when to where the meetings are held. It is not hard to start a new club for students who have an idea for a club that would benefit the school and any students who may join.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is great for students who are smart, but may not have applied themselves as much as they could have in high school. There are many students who enroll expecting it to be easy because it is just community college, but most of them don't stay long.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There area none that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest does not cost much at all. Many students actually make money going there from refund checks because all their scholarships exceeded the cost of their tuition, room, board, and books. The education is good if the student makes an effort to pursue it, instead of just floating on through it. For a school that is this cheap, Northwest is a fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do around the School. It is in a small town with virtually no social scene. There are intermural sports to play, performances in the Fine Arts Auditorium fairly often, school sports teams play at home pretty often, and occasionally the various clubs will host an event such as a movie night.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. The cafeteria is nice, and there is often something happening in there for students to look into.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of the dorms is a real gamble for students. The dorms at northwest are harshly divided with 50% of the dorms being of average-good quality and the other 50% of the dorms being absolutely heinous. Good dorms are really average quality, but are often prioritized to certain students. The bad dorms are of extremely low quality. Stepping into one of the bad dorms is a bit like stepping into a prison that is not well lit with no guards. The majority of students at Northwest commute from home every day.

    Academic Rigor

    If a student only takes the easiest courses then they are doing themselves a disservice. The school is not that tough, but if a student takes classes that will be challenging instead of easy general classes then the effort will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students entering Northwest should check that the classes they plan to take will be relevant to their major at the school they plan to attend after finishing at Northwest, and also that those course credits will transfer to the next school they plan to attend. Also, as most classes at Northwest are entry level classes which are not that difficult, students should not only take easiest classes. Building a strong foundation by taking the more difficult classes at Northwest will better prepare students for the more rigorous courses they will face in higher level courses.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a good school for students who may not have done their best in high school, but know they can do well in college. Attending Northwest gives students who are ambitious the chance to get a jump on their education by preparing them to transfer to a 4 year school while earning valuable college credit at a reduced price. The career-technical programs offered at Northwest, are excellent, and it is a very good school for students to get their start on the long journey to a higher level college education.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always there to help!

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more clubs than I can count. There are religious clubs, science clubs, language clubs, and even an anime club.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is great for any type of student!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition isn't awful. The main problem they have is expensive dorms and food. But they always have available scholarships. I am going to Northwest on athletic and academic scholarships and all my expenses are paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There are always people outside on the band practice field playing ultimate frisbee. We have nice tennis courts, volley ball court, indoor and outdoor basketball courts, and we also have a disk golf course. We have games available at the student center for kids who want to have fun and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the cafeteria much anymore. The food is great--if you like unhealthy food. The salad bar is okay, but that is normally the only healthy option they have. Most of the time the food is fried, has gravy on it, or very greasy.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others, just like at every college. If you are lucky enough to get a really good one, your experience will be great! The dorm moms are very attentive and caring and the facilities are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and staff are very encouraging. All the coaches and teachers encourage the students to put their education first and work their hardest. The teachers are always available for academic help and the classes are very focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    All the teachers truly care about their students. The classes are smaller and the teachers really help with any problems you're having. Northwest is a great choice for any type of student!

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are wonderful. The facilities could use some improvement, but they are not terrible. I love all the athletics staff and sports teams.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You never hear abouy any kind of mischief or crimes happening on campus or on the surrounding areas

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, it is a great investment

    What to do for fun

    There are my extracurricular activities that anyone can be a part of. Also many of the students set up their own activities to keep each other entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. We dont have a food court like most. All we have is a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus but I have plenty if friends that really enjoy the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but you leave with a extensive retention of the material. Also the teachers cover materials thoroughly enough to understand everything that is taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get the opportunity it go here before a 4 year university, I would do it.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Mississippi community college is, in my opinion, the best community college in mississippi. It may not have a large population but the few people that go here make up a great environment for learning. Also the professors really know how to get in touch with their students.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out with my friends and work out in the gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should be serious about your studies. Be positive and try your best. You will succeed.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Mississippi Community College is a great place to start your future. Staff are very compassionate towards the students. I would recommend for anyone to attend this college.