Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Northwest Missouri State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    do not go home every weekend. the weekend is the best time to hang out in the dorms and meet everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Im out of state so my freshman year was pretty expensive, but there are scholarships available if you ask for help, and there are a lot more available for sophomores and up.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love my college! I made so many friends and have had a great time. For being such a small town, there is almost always something to do and someone to hang out with. And the campus is super pretty!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcome at Northwest, there are many different sports, intermurals, activities, greek life, most anything you can think of you can get involved with here!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at going to Northwest, a big thing to look at is the class size. Here at Northwest, the class size in a normal class is about 25 people unless you are in a lecture hall. It is a lot easier to come to a college where you only have 25 people in your class and your teachers still know your name and you feel important. When you are in a study hall and there are 60+ people in there a professor isn't for sure going to know your name and that is a big thing to some people that they don't realize when they start off looking at colleges. Another main thing that is great about Northwest is that everyone really wants you to succeed here, the teachers have office hours every week. That means that a teacher will be in there office and you can walk in or make an appointment with them to talk about anything you arent understanding in the class. There are so many different resorces on campus, unless you completely didn't try, you would succeed here!

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest is moderately expensive school for it's size, but it is all totally worth it! I have applied for many scholarships that are helping along the way and I am loving it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love that Northwest has a beautiful campus! Walking between classes isn't always the nicest when it's hot outside, but you always have beautiful trees to look at and you can just enjoy the amazing scenery.

    Am learning a lot

    Northwest has a lot of different offices around campus that can help you if you are struggling with any class you are in. There is no reason that you shouldn't be able to succeed here!

  • 12/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are looking for and educational challenge, a social adventure, and someone who wants to meet and befriend lots of interesting people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the challenges the teachers will throw at you, and be ready to have fun. I have yet to go a day without there being something interesting and fun to do.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has some of the most top of the line equipment in the CIE building and education wise you are getting what you pay for. Not to mention the food is decent and reasonably priced.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are lots of interesting people meet here. There are plenty of opportunities to meet new friends and gain new acquaintances. The small city makes the experience better because you can seen more people more often.

    Am learning a lot

    I am being given the educational challenge I desire and not only am I doing what I need to to pass with good grades but the teaching strategies used by the Professors help what I learn in class to be retained afterwards.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is good for any type of student. The school is known for its amazing education program. So if you are looking into becoming a teacher, Northwest would be a good choice to consider.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out and have fun. A lot of people who don't like it here don't go out with friends. You can go to the movies, go bowling, and when its warm you can go to the lake and hang out with friends. Studying is important but every once in a while you need to take a break and let yourself have a little fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to lie, college is expensive. Everyone knows that. However, many scholarships are offered if you ask for them. The school also uses very up-to-date technology and provides each student with their own laptop. So in the end it seems that even though you are paying a lot of money its worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my college. I have made many new friends, who I wouldn't be able to get through classes without. People are friendly there I think that is because everyone kind of in the same boat. We all want to do our best and make life long friends while we are here.

    Am learning a lot

    I really have learned a lot in my first semester here. Of course I have learned information from my classes, but I also learned things about myself. I learned that you should room with someone you know because it can turn out to ruin your friendship. When it comes to classes there are so many options to help you if you are struggling, which is one thing that I would suggest taking advantage of.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for students who love to interact with others, students who don't mind being a little chilly during the winter season, students who love a beautiful environment, and students who would love to be able to interact during classes and be able to have one-to-one time with their proffesors.

    Tips for prospective students

    A major tip for students considering NWMSU would be to bring a lot of winter gear because it does get cold.

    Bang for the buck

    NWMSU is not a high-priced institution. It is very affordable and there is a mass amount of financial opportunities available.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love NWMSU I would'nt change universities if the world's stake depended upon it. I have a numerous amount of friends attending and I overall love the campus environment.

    Am learning a lot

    My experience with the learning process at NWMSU are very optimistic. The interaction with students and teachers are overwhelming.

  • 02/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for business students and education students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! As soon as I did, I knew I'd fit in. Also, don't go home a lot until you have a good friend base. You meet so many people on the weekends! Also, although they are not as nice, the high rise dorms allow you to meet so many people, especially when you leave your door open!

    Bang for the buck

    Being an out of state student, my tuition was a little high, however, there are lots of opprotunites to lower your tuition. For example if you keep a 3.0 GPA for your first 24 credit hours, your tuition is reduced to in-state. There are many other opportunities to lower tuition costs such as becoming a Residential Assistant, which gives you free room and board, and also a free meal plan, adding up to nearly 3,000!

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met so many people here at NWMSU. Most of my closest friends I have met live on my floor. There are many opportunities to get involved on campus and meet others as well, including Greek life, intramural sports, religious groups, clubs, and many other groups.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much during my freshman year here at Northwest Missouri State University. Not only are my professors great at what they do, but they do a great job of making themselves available to help you as much as they can. There are always tutors available as well, so if you are falling behind in anything, there is always someone available to help. College has been a great time for me to learn how to manage study time and social time together.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They recently went through a 'let's be super safe' period where they handed out a bunch of t-shirts/stickers and did presentations about drunk driving, texting while driving, the Safe Ride Home Program, as well as seemingly little things like racial/sexual prejudice and other things. Overall, they keep students very well informed about issues of safety and I would definitely have to say that I feel safe at Northwest.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to join for basically anyone - Student Senate, Intramural Sports, Common Ground, Tower Choir, NETwork, marching band, and just about anything else you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest has a fairly new, yet very good, nano-science program, as well as very strong physics and microbiology programs. Depending on what you major in, you might/might not use the CIE (Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship), which has some really nice equipment for different types of scientific research.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly cheap school, so whatever 'bang' you can find is more easily felt than at an expensive school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Rec Center (free for students) on campus, as well as a nice community center (about $60 for one semester) just off campus, and in town you have a bowling alley and a movie theater, but for the most part if you want to have fun you go to St. Joe (30 mins away) or Kansas City (about 1.5 hours away).

    Food and Dining

    Uses a system called Aladine - basically they give you 'lunch money' to spend at the Union (main cafeteria - Papa John's, Quizno's, etc), the Station (convenience store on campus), ordering food from select local restaurants (Pizza Hut, The Mandarin, etc), all vending machines on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Can't say to much about parties/drinking and all that good stuff because that's not really my thing but there is a very healthy rivalry with Missouri Western in basketball and football (we dominate of course). Nationally competitive football team every year (won the D-II national championship several times in the last few years, went to the semi-finals last year). The dorm rooms themselves are average size, with community bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously depends on the classes that you take, but from my experience there isn't to much strain academically. You DO have to put in work, as I learned my first semester, but as long as you care even a little bit you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fairly cheap, but definitely a better education than you would get from a community college. If you're looking for somewhere close to home to get your Associate's Degree, you could do a lot worse.

    In three sentences

    Not a bad school for someone wanting a cheap yet quality education. I was always told not to base a college on it's campus but Northwest really does have a beautiful campus - trees and squirrels galore, bell tower, majestic-looking Administration building. The town of Maryville is not exactly a metropolis - it's got a Wal-Mart and a McDonald's but you've about a half hour drive to anywhere worth going to.

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for some one wanting a degree in science!! They have one of the hardest and best science departments in Missouri! It is also a great school for anyone who wants to go into education, they even have a elementary school on campus you get to work with if your an elementary education major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in high school thinking about coming to Northwest, especially if you are wanting to get a degree in science, you better be prepared to study! The teachers teach you a lot in a few weeks that if you don't study before the test you won't pass. They give you a lot of information so study a little each day and you will be fine. Of course some classes you will have to study a lot more for than others. Also if you are coming to Northwest you will definitely have to introduce your self to people to make friends so don't be shy talk to people join organizations!! Expect to learn a lot and meet lots of really nice people.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest is one of the cheaper universities, sad that 17,000 dollars is cheap. You really get what you pay for as well when coming to Northwest. The money you pay for classes with is never going to go to waste! When a class is 50 minutes they teach you for 50 minutes and usually no less. Same goes for labs they want you to get all three hours you pay for and will give it to you. They food here is also pretty good, its school food though so what do you expect. You sign up for meal plans which you can definitely get your moneys worth going to the food court and the Station, the 24 hour grocery like store!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here at Northwest. The teachers and students both are all really nice. Of course you really have to put your self out there and introduce your self to people but its worth it in the end. Not only are the people nice but there are hundreds and hundreds of organizations and clubs you can join. I am in an organization called Sigma Society, not a sorority, that girls going to Northwest can join and help out the community by doing community service. There are also all types of people here and even international students that, at least from the many i have met, are all really nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a sophomore at Northwest and i find that the classes here teach you soooo much and try to teach you as much as they can in a short amount of time. You really get your moneys worth with these classes and, at least for the science department and what i have seen for other departments, the teachers will push you to explore other materials and will make a person really see how much they can handle and try to push you beyond.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    everything is fun!

    Food and Dining

    best ever!

    Dorm Life

    the BOMB!

    Academic Rigor

    education! five star!

    Tips for prospective students

    you won't be disappointed!

    In three sentences

    best college in the world!!!! I wouldn't ever go anywhere else! It is the BOMB!!

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety rating. Safe rides & on campus police department.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great business clubs - Enactus.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is almost always empty during the weekends because its nicknames The Suitcase College.

    Bang for the buck

    Northwest is 5 hours away from my home town but it was a good choice for me because it paid off. Not only with raising my grades but also a wonderful opportunity to spend a semester abroad in The Netherlands.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, draw, write, kick box, and play lots of sand volleyball!

    Food and Dining

    I cook most of my own meals but the cafeteria is much better compared to other Universities.

    Dorm Life

    I am a transferring junior student so I do not live in the dorms but I live in the on-campus apartments and those are extremely nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Highly ranked and effective in teaching students.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY FOR ZOOLOGY!!!

    In three sentences

    Northwest has a fantastic International Business program as well as many opportunities to Study Abroad. The low tuition costs it is highly favorable among parents. The academic opportunities and pool of well rounded students make it ideal for all students.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police does an awesome job. If you ever need help or don't feel safe going somewhere, they are ready to help at any minute. I have their number saved in my phone in case of emergencies.

    Greek Life

    I'm in a sorority here and I love it! I can't imagine not being Greek. It has opened so many doors for me and I've met so many awesome people. I know my sisters have my back and I have theirs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different organizations on campus that it's actually hard to choose from. There are so many I wanted to be involved in and had to drop a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for every type of student who wants to get a hands on education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the football game, Phi Sigma Kappa sets off a cannon after every touchdown, the Bell Tower plays random music sometimes

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely feel like I'm getting value for my money. I love it so much here and every penny is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Maryville is really small, but there is so much to do. There's the bowling alley, movie theatre, and Mozingo Lake just to name a few. The University also puts on a bunch of stuff to keep students entertained like concerts, comedians, game nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Food Court is nice, but the lines can get really long and the food can get really expensive. They can also get stingy about how much food you actually get. Having Papa John's is really nice in the Runt and you can use your aladine to order pizza in town.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the high rises. Everyone leaves their doors open when we're here and I've met so many new people that way. All the RA's are really fun and I feel like I can go to them with anything. Our floor does lots of stuff together also, like dinner, movie night, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like all my classes are difficult, but not impossible to do well in. I really have to focus and study almost every night. The Talent Development Center also provided me with a tutor to help in my hardest class. I'm doing well in all my courses, but I do have to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to meeting new people, be prepared to study even your freshman year, get involved on campus, take care of yourself

    In three sentences

    Northwest is the perfect school because everyone here is so welcoming. I live in the high rises and feel like I know everyone. I love that it's a small school, but not too small; I feel like I can talk to all my teachers about how I'm doing in the class and that I'm more than just a number.

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is great for any student that wants to be challenged. The most popular majors on campus are Science, mostly with a Biology emphasis in some way. The next largest major, in my opinion, is Education. Here there is an elementary school on campus where students get hands-on experience. Agriculture, Business, and Music all are also popular.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give anyone looking at Northwest as a college is be prepared to work hard. Students here are challenged, sometimes from day one. Another tip is to make friends in the classes you are taking; chances are if you don't understand it, they will. The last tip I would give to future students is make time to go in and talk to your professors, even if they aren't for your major. They are there to help you in your studies, and you may get good advice from them or just enjoy a good conversation.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are well worth the money they cost, you learn a lot and the information sticks with you as you continue your schooling.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is great, and the size of the campus is small enough that you can get to all your classes in time, but still large enough for there to be room to walk around and enjoy the scenery. The biggest downside is walking through the wind tunnels around campus, especially in the winter.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are challenging, especially in the science department, but all the teachers know what they are talking about and make students work to succeed. There are many teachers who are honored in their fields, and they relay that knowledge onto the students.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is a great school for pretty much any student, all the programs are great, but there are some that are better than others, just like with any school. The science department is pretty intense but it is more than worth it. I know that the education department is also very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to college just for something to do, this is probably not the school for you, this school requires dedicated students who want a good education and deserve it. Don't overload yourself, try to take it one thing at a time, because if you try to overload, you will find yourself falling further and further behind.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely a great school to go to if you are looking at the best bang for your buck. The textbooks are free, you get a laptop every year for free and there are great dorm facilities available to everyone. The education is top notch and for the price, is amazing.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a beautiful campus. The grounds keepers do an amazing job of keeping the campus clean, and the landscaping is gorgeous. It is also a small enough campus to get from one end to the other in about 10 minutes, and the people are great. There won't be a shortage of friends here.

    Am learning a lot

    The school and it's programs are designed specifically to teach each student to their capacity. It is a challenging experience, but the teachers are more than willing to help any student who needs it. There are plenty of resources to tap into on campus, such as the library, and in each dorm building there are several conference, and study rooms for the students use.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one interested in teaching of any kind, especially elementary or special education

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town students, if considering a computer related major or psychology/ sociology major, wanting to go to a university but not pay ridiculous amounts of money, its a great accredited university! Oh, and if you like the cold.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your still deciding on coming here then I highly recommend this campus for you, small classes, great price, quite a few majors to choose from, masters programs, and a great atmosphere make it all the better.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is probably one of the best you can get in Missouri and around northern Missouri. If you did A+ in the Missouri Schools then you get an easy 1500 bucks a year for 3 years, and all you need to keep is a 3.0 GPA. Even though it's a cheaper college the level of education that comes with it is awesome, its definitely a bang for your buck starting at around 14,000 a year.

    Did enjoy being here

    Just because this college if fairly small doesn't mean there's nothing to do. Some intramural sports included things like basketball, flag football, and softball to name a few. There's also many other small organizations not designed around sports too making this place pretty awesome.

    Did learn a lot

    After completing a year of school here, I feel very prepared going to K-State now. This place challenged me, but wasn't ridiculous on course criteria. With only about 15-30 people in a class made it really easy to ask questions or get answers during a professor's office hours. This place was great!

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost is great if you live in state. I lived in state and didn't have to pay very much. Also I got some scholarships that also helped pay for them I think I ended up taking out a small loan to finish paying out my whole freshmen year.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is really nice and the people I have met are incredible and I wouldn't change meeting them for the world. I have made some great friends here. You can always walk to class and see someone you know. The only disadvantage is the town itself is really small and there isn't much to do. Also it isn't the best place if you get home sick easy and can't visit all the time.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot from Northwest. But some of the teacher's don't teacher what you really need to learn, they more give you the answers then anything else. But, the teachers that don't I have learned so much from them and I am glad.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science students should love it here (physics, chemistry, etc)! They have a great department, a lot of research opportunities, and nice equipment!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a lot of winter gear, the wind hurts and it can drop to 20 below with the windchill

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper but still good quality

    Am enjoying being here

    Not much to do here. Town is almost in the middle of no where and it is pretty cold and windy here

    Am learning a lot

    Good staff. They have a great science department and their math department is pretty good. Even though it is not a well known school it still has a competing chance with most well-known schools

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I really love this school! It is the perfect size, the class size is perfect, and everyone is fairly friendly.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in my spare time, i like to spend time with friends and family. i also enjoy taking care of my pets. i also like to watch movies and read books in my spare time.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining has not been the best in my experience because i am allergic to food that contain an source of eggs and milk. it was a challenge living on campus and i found myself buying a lot of my food outside of campus. i do not blame the school or any matter such to this because i do not believe that people or even industries should cater to my needs.

    Dorm Life

    i felt that dorm life for me personally was not right because i had lots of allergies such as to dust and maryville is full of it being in a rural area. i now live at home and commute from st. joseph, mo to maryville, mo from monday through friday.

    Academic Rigor

    northwest missouri state university has provided an excellent education that is unbiased and has helped students achieve the best to their abilities. students feel that the education received has helped them to a brighter future and a better tomorrow.

    Tips for prospective students

    i advise prospective students to do whatever they need to do in college to discover themselves and what they want to do in the future. prospective students should go to an advisor and see what classes are best for them whether they have declared a major or not. most importantly, prospective students should works had and never settle for less; if prospective students feel they are satisfied with their classes or their career they should feel free to change because it is their life and their decisions that are going to shape their future.

    In three sentences

    northwest missouri state university is an excellent school. the college education that is provide to me has provided me what to deal with in the classroom and in my future career. i have been given a clear plan and being guided to what i have to do to receive my career and how to use the educational experience to the best of my ability.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i love missouri and my dad went to northwest missouri state university.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join groups, or activities

    Food and Dining

    the few choices you have get old

    Dorm Life

    dirty and old

    Tips for prospective students

    - keep on top of your academics - ask questions - don't be afraid to ask for help - make sure you understand your loans

    In three sentences

    i am very much a city girl. the school is fine, but the town is embarrassing. i wish that there was more to do, and more support for those who aren't athletes

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since I transfered at semester, I have yet to meet a lot of people and find out all the fun things to do. So will have to get back to you an this one.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are wonderful

    Tips for prospective students

    None at this time

    In three sentences

    Just transfered to NWMS, so don't have opinions yet.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Besides being involved with active fraternities and sororities, there is a movie theater in Maryville called the Hanger, as well as a dance club, karaoke, bowling, and karate.

    Food and Dining

    Unlike some Universities, here at Northwest, we have a la cart dining. It makes it easier to not gain weight because you have to consider your money instead of just going back up for seconds and thirds on dessert.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm that I stayed in is South Complex. It is relatively quiet with a lot of privacy. People are respectful of each other.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher. I have been told we have two kinds of teachers here. Ones who will give you an A, and ones who will help you earn an A. The ones that help you earn an A are usually the ones who are the best teachers with the highest respect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take enough classes to keep yourself busy but not enough to burn you out. About 15 credit hours with maybe 2 general education courses and the rest classes in your major.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a beautiful campus to live for you college career. The music program is tough but the education is top notch. The teachers are here to help whenever it is asked of them.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a great system for campus safety. They have people on call at all times and are always quick to respond. You will always see police cars circling campus at all times of the day to make sure things are going smoothly.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is one of the best things you will experience on campus. You will find a true brotherhood/sisterhood like no other. You will meet the people you'll remember and be friend with for a lifetime.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwest has more clubs and activities than you can even imagine. I remember freshman year going to this fair thing and stopping at every booth to see what they are all about. They definitely have something for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is great for providing fun. They go out of their way to have awesome things to do on campus. One thing I really like is that they have a concert every spring and fall and only charge students ten dollars.

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion the food is OK. It is not the best food and you pay a lot of money for a mean plan, I very rarely ever even ate on campus. One great option they have on campus though is the station, which is like a mini convince store.

    Dorm Life

    To sum up dorm life for me, I would consider it the best experince ever. I have met my best friends through living in the dorm. You will meet more people than you can even remember names but when you get to feeling home sick and have forty some other people on the same floor that can relate it's a great feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    This is such a great school to go to for academics. The teachers and there to help you, they want to see their students succeed, they will not hold your hand through the process, and they will not make it easy but they also don't want to see you fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I have for prospective students would include one just for students coming out of highschool, you need to be prepared, this is nothing like high school and don't think you can get by without studying, if you think you can pull off not studying be prepared for a huge reality check. Another tip I have it to be involved, get your face out there on campus.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is one of the cleanest and most friendly college campus' I have ever been to. The teachers go out of their way to help students succeed. If you like a smaller environment and friendly, helpful people this is the place for you!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety wants students’ life to be safe or their jobs wouldn't be in demand. Giving rides for worried or lost students on a dark night. Students receive a text and e-mail of recent events that could harm a student an anyway. Officers have done a great job protecting the students on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Activities Council, Recycling, hunting, fishing, swimming, gaming club, and wildlife club are some examples of different clubs at Northwest. The spirit of Northwest comes from the interaction of students at concerts, games, and just wacky events the college holds like hot air balloon rides. Joining the fun would be highly recommended.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, swimming, running, playing board games, walking dogs, and bonfires are just a few activities anyone can do around campus or on campus. Many organizations give students a chance to many other activities like painting houses and visiting the zoo near by. There is plenty to do at Northwest with free time.

    Food and Dining

    The advantage of having a bearcat card and living on campus is that students can adjust a certain amount of money towards their food. The university sets a budget system, so the student can manage their money on food. There are different places to go on campus and off. The all access account can allow the student to order pizza from a variety of pizza places like pizza hut. Varieties of culture and taste allow the student to never get bored to eating at the same place over again.

    Dorm Life

    Random roommate is the way to go. Finding a new best friend and sharing college life practically. At least there's always someone to talk too. Meeting people from different floors of the building is a plus and keeping high school friends is even better. The dorms are right next to the library and the station (university grocery store) and the view of the bell tower and administration building is fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    The library has three floors whether a student likes to interact with other students, study by drawing out definitions on white boards, or sitting on a comfy chair reading under a sky light there are three floor to that building and using one of those to study will help you succeed in the class room. Asking questions is how you better understand the material. Professors always say that the students earn the grade that they are given, so if the student needs help or doesn't fully understand the material then it's best to find a way to better understand the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is the best way to pass classes. Students who go to study sessions, talk and know the professors do better in the classroom. Anyone can find time to hang out with friends and have a good time, but as a student, having a schedule and managing free time is the best way to go when a huge test is coming up.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Missouri State is an amazing place to receive an education. Not only are the dorms and place to eat awesome, but the professors and students make the experience ten times better. Northwest is a small town: however, it has many activities and organizations to keep any individual content and busy through out the weeks being on the beautiful campus.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun on campus! There are so many clubs and organizations you may join, sports on the weekends such as: football or basketball. There are rodeos and bull rides you may attend. Maryville has numerous of restaurants you can eat at, as well.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate the campus food but I do know their are many options when it comes to dining. Also, their meal plan is great because you can choose between light, regular and heavy depending on you and how much you eat!

    Dorm Life

    I am planning on attending Northwest Missouri State University in the fall of this year (2012). I have not lived in the dorms yet, although I have taken a campus tour. From my experience, I was very pleased with the dorm setting. The rooms were quite larger than other universities and the windows were bigger also. The dorms also didn't smell of mold when I was visiting them, which is usually a plus to a future student. Overall, I don't have anything negative to say and would recommend the student live on campus their first year.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest has quite a few majors to choose from, although I will say not as much as most schools. I do like how they have now started up in the health field, which is great because most recommended jobs are in that particular field. I will say there are various majors to choose from, from nursing to broadcasting. Even though their are not as many majors to choose from, I would still recommend this school because you can still get a great education and I haven't heard any negative comments about this University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students are to not get worried, the faculty is amazing and will always be there for it's students. Also, you don't need to worry about bringing or buying a car because the campus is about a ten minute walk and the town is very small and has an easy commute. But, the best tip for future students is to work hard but, have some fun!

    In three sentences

    Northwest Missouri State University's staff truly cares and puts the students first. You can count on getting a tremendous education from this academic University. This small and beautiful campus could be a weekend getaway, but to most of us, this is what we will call home this coming fall.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has only been one robbery since I have been on campus, and the police are always strolling around so it's probably one of the safest campuses around.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is a big part of the school. I am not personally involved in a Greek Life organization, but I know that the people in them love it and have a good since of sisterhood/brotherhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an enormous amount of clubs that one can join. They have club fairs that you can go to and learn more about the club as well as join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard weekday studiers, and big weekend partiers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Disc golf course on campus is pretty legit.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall there is a lot of bad things about NW, but there is also a lot that I love. If I could do it over again I probably would have done it just the same.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun here on campus or off. Most of the fun that you can have is off campus going to house parties or the bars. Once again it is all subjective to the student.

    Food and Dining

    The student union food court is pretty pathetic for choices. The options get old after about 2 weeks, and they overcharge for everything. The station is also very inflated in there prices. This make eating on campus not worth it at all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life varies on which building that you live in. Freshman housing has the best dorm living because everyone is out and about, but Hudson and Perrin is not a very open place for new freshman. Definitely live in the high rises.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of Northwest depends on the major that you are in. Science Majors have the most difficult classes, whereas Business/Accounting majors are the easiest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you pack everything that you need for your first year, plus a generous amount of food because the prices for meals and snacks are inflated.

    In three sentences

    Northwest has a personalized teacher-student relationship setting. Northwest has a diverse campus with tons of activities. Northwest is in a rural location with not much to do off campus.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Tons!!! Way to much to list.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens! A popular one is Common Ground, the gay-straight alliance.

    Great for these types of students

    Education majors. Science majors. Nature people.

    Bang for the buck

    The Hangar, our movie theater, has fairly priced tickets (8.50 a person) but if you wish to dine with them, your pocketbook may be hurting. Things are a tid-bit pricey in Maryville.

    What to do for fun

    There's a great scene for people over the age of 19 in town. There are bars galore, most with a dance floor. There's a great movie theater (The Hangar) which also houses a restaurant. There are also several great restaurants in the area, Papichilo's is a favorite. However, if you're from a city you may feel very bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes pretty good, and the service is friendly, but the prices are pretty steep. Invest in a food plan if you're on campus a lot, it'll save you loads (or at least it will feel like it). But make sure to use all the money, because the school keeps it if you don't.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms, excuse me, residence halls, are nice enough, but are kind of overpriced for the quality. Don't worry though, there are lots of great off-campus housing options, that are mostly fair-priced, and close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major. It is expected of you to know your stuff, and if you do, than you won't have a problem. However, if you branch out of your comfort zone, you may find yourself struggling a bit.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an excellent choice if you wish to explore teaching or sciences, both of these programs are very well-developed, other programs may be a little sub-par.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is an amazing school, with a phenomenal campus. It has wonderful facilities and a super faculty to go with them. The food isn't half bad either, if it weren't so overpriced.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Near the campus pond there is a small bridge known as the Kissing Bridge. There's a campus myth that you will have bad luck for the rest of the semester if you don't kiss someone on the bridge before the first snow fall!

    What to do for fun

    Every single week there is at least one activity being put on by an organization. The resident halls also have numerous events for students to attend. And if you're adventurous enough to go beyond campus you'll discover a whole new world of opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    I've always said from day one that Northwest has some of the best food options I've ever seen for a University. The Union/ food court has over eight types of cuisine and they all serve great food! On the opposite side of campus The Station is not only open 24/7 but it has everything you could ever need from air fresheners to ground beef!

    Dorm Life

    While some of the buildings may not be your five star hotel, the atmosphere is amazing! The staff in each building really put a lot of time and effort into making your stay a lot more comfortable and fun. Choosing to live on campus not only saves you money up front, but it's such a great opportunity to really get to know other students.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Northwest defiantly except a lot of effort and work out of their students. While they guide you along the way and aid in your learning experience, they also expect a lot work out of you as well. You've really got to earn it if you want it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Different organizations are always holding a lot of free events every week, so make an effort to attend a few here and there. Also take the time to explore not just the campus, but also the town of Maryville as well!

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous and being on the outside of town it makes for a great atmosphere. I felt welcomed at the University from the first week I attended classes and still continue to feel right at home. It's a perfect fit for someone who loves that small town feel, without being too small.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things. Every week te university has something FREE for students to do. Either games, contest, concerts etc

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to stay focus because there is so much to enjoy.

    In three sentences

    I love NWMSU it is the perfect size for because I came from a small grade school and high school. It is also a very safe environment

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just take a walk, there's lots to look at.

    Food and Dining

    lots to choose from

    Dorm Life

    Look at the dorm options and choose the one that's best for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you visit the campus for any colleges you are considering, a school you like in a picture you might not like so much in person.

    In three sentences

    Appsolutely beautiful campus, trees everywhere. Small enough to not feel overwhelmed, big enough that you probably won't know everyone. Lots of great academic oportunities.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Kissing bridge is something that is said you are not a true Bearcat until you have Kissed on the kissing bridge. But this is not just a normal kiss. you have to kiss on the night before the first snow of the year.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many options. You can join a sorority or fraternity, there are intramural sports you can get involved in. If you can think of it, then there is probably an option of being able to do it.

    Food and Dining

    The Food court is awesome. There are so many options. The people serving like it and you can always find some good food.

    Dorm Life

    This is the place you could meet your best friends. They could be people that you would never expect, take the time to get to know everyone. There are so many people that could be like you or be completely different. Keep an open mind and have fun with it. The dorms at NW are a great place. The RA's try to get you involved and meeting new people. Always keep your door open, and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard, but you have to push through them. The teachers are there to help you. Use them to your full advantage. It is a great place to come to school and you will learn so much you just have to decide how much you are willing to take out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let your freshman year get the best of you. If you don't pay attention to your studies they will get to you. Have fun and meet new people. There is always someone out there that could become your best friend. College can be the time of your life if you let it. You learn so much through your teachers. Take the time to get to know your teachers. They have been there and done that, you can get so much information out of them if you just make the effort.

    In three sentences

    The school is amazing, the teachers are so helpful. It is a school that is small enough to make you feel comfortable, but big enough that you are always meeting new people. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do just pay attention to what is going on on campus there are sometimes cool stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    Java city, freshens, and Jw's are the best and some of the others are decent by the second week you will know what to avoid.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes it gets noisy but most of the time is quiet. The pulled fire alarms at 3 in the morning can get annoying but does not happen that often. Also make sure you do not try and sneak drugs and alcohol into the buildings because it will most likely be found.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the departments have a lot of give me classes that almost anyone can pass with an a or b.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focused and make sure you want to learn.

    In three sentences

    Is a great school depending on the department that you are in because some of them lack in major areas and then others have much more. The campus itself is also nice because of how green and lush it is.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Maryville is a very safe town and so is the campus. I've never heard of any dangerous behavior happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    I think that there are aout 40 oragnization on campus that range form Black greek letter, social organizations, and major related greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Northwest has tons of greek organizations, clubs, and events that should be pleasing and fun to everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to have fun and have the goal of learing and gaining a meaningful learning experience Northwet is the right school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Blackout days at the football games are very fun. On that day student from Northwest wear all black while sitting in the stand of the game. Northwest also has an anual event called Walk Out Day. On this day which is a friday no one goes to class and teacher excuse everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I would suggest bring a good coat fo November and December. Northwest is a great school but the town Maryville can get very cold and have very strong winds. Please dress accordingly.

    What to do for fun

    The Hangars ( movies), Outback, Molly's, the Lake. There are also event such as speakers, comedy shows, and other performers that come to the school. The events are usually free. This past October 4 comedians performed at our school for free and the last guest was Steve'O from Jackass. There is always something to do on campus for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. If you have alidine I would suggest that you eat in the union although the food can be very expensive if you are spending your own money .

    Dorm Life

    I live in West Tower Suites which is for upperclassmen only. My room has a very nice set up and is usually quiet. I would suggest living in Forest Village Apartments if you are a more social person.

    Academic Rigor

    The claases at Northwest can be very difficult but they are fun and teach you what you'll need to know to be successful in your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in communication with your teachers and check your grades regularly. Northwest is has a great reputation for having great after college job placement. Last year 95% of the seniors got jobs within months of graduating.

    In three sentences

    my school has tons of teacher who care about students. Northwest is a very small campus is growing in diversity and student involvement. Overall I feel like NW is the best school for Missouri student who are trying to get the best education at a low cost.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one of the best

    Greek Life

    i didnt join greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    didnt join many but there are a few

    Great for these types of students

    students looking to become a teacher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walk out day!... its a great day the hickory stick game Fall Classic Game

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers demand a lot out of you for how much you pay for a class. i also feel you take little away from it.

    What to do for fun

    there is not a lot to do in this town, use your imagination.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what you want to do before going to college. Changing your mind a thousand times costs you money. Do your homework and study; retaking a class is frustrating and costs more money.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a great place to go to school. The Campus is beautiful. Great Way to make connections.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Honestly there isn't enough room here for me to type out what you can do here for fun. With over 100 organizations there is something for everyone to do. You'll just have to come here and find out for yourself!

    Food and Dining

    The food is prepared fresh once you order it. There are a lot of dining options and the food is set at a reasonable price. Once thing that's different about the dining options at Northwest than other colleges is that they go by an Aladine meal plan. This means that you only pay for the food that you eat. I think this is great because I don't like the idea of having to pay to have a set amount of meals a day. This way you won't be penalized if you are a little more hungry one day, or are too busy to eat an entire meal. Plus there are multiple meal plans to choose from, which caters to however much, or little, you eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are great all over campus and it's pretty easy to get into whichever dorm you want to. Every residence hall feels like a community where you will meet some of your closest friends. My only complaint is that the internet connection can be a little slow sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all taught by professors. There isn't one class that will be taught by a student. Some classes do have Teaching Assistants and Graduated Assistants, but they are there to help you out. The professors will always be available during every class unless otherwise specified.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that has medium sized classes, then this is the perfect place to go. Attending this college I do not just feel like another number when talking to professors. They give you one-on-one attention when you need it and encourage you to seek them out for help. If money is an issue, they are great about helping their students out financially. I go to school out of state and after attending Northwest for two semesters they grant you in-state tuition along with the other forms of financial help they provide!

    In three sentences

    When I first started to look for a college to attend, Northwest Missouri State University seemed to have everything I was looking for. Out of all the colleges I visited they had the most friendly faculty, staff and students. There isn't anywhere I could go on campus and not feel like I wasn't apart of the Bearcat family!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NWMSU has a program called safe ride that you can call for a ride to anywhere within the school area. They also have police officers who are always willing to help you out. We also have security guards who come on the floors at night just to make sure everything is good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Residential Hall Assistant (RHA) Student Senate Peer education TOMS club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here at NWMSU homecoming is a very big event! I expected a dance like from high school, but here they put on a mini parade and enjoy their football game!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun! Almost everyday is a free event from a student organization. There is also many student organizations to join to keep you busy. There is a campus gym you may go to if you like to workout.

    Food and Dining

    We have what is called Student Union, they over price a lot of their food items. Most the employees are rude and just never happy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life only sucks when you have immature guys and girls living in the building. Living in the dorm you build up responsibility because you wash your own clothes, own dishes, and own room. You're also responsible if you're hungry. A plate of dinner won't just appear on your room desk. The building does supply a vending machine for late night cravings.

    Academic Rigor

    Your professors truly expect for you to do your homework and turn things in on time. There's no explanation especially when you either have the class on Tuesday's and Thursday's or Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Either way you have a day to catch up with everything, even if you have to turn down organizations you are in. your academics comes before everything else!

    Tips for prospective students

    The better scores you have the better opportunity. You're never letting your professor down, you're letting yourself down. Do what's best for you not for anyone. Living on campus is a great step to building up your skills of responsibility and consequences.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Missouri State University has a great laptop and book deal which is included with your tuition. The school also has a great meal deal, you can use your Bearcat card to order pizza, or get almost anything from like vending machines. Their professors and residential assistants are very involved in wanting to help you through anything that you're going through.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    there has been some tuition hikes lately.

    What to do for fun

    The Hanger is pretty cool its a movie theater plus dinner.

    Food and Dining

    We are thinking about changing the food court up so be prepared. The food is okay but the way we pay for it isn't that great, individually priced items instead of flat rate for lunch, dinner, or breakfast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking isn't so great, so know that you could end up parking a little ways away from your dorm.

    In three sentences

    Great campus. Free rented core textbooks and laptop. Plenty of organizations to join!

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small town, and there are cops always driving around campus, plus there are emergency call stations everywhere!

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of a club, Northwest has it!

    Bang for the buck

    It is such a good school. I think it is one of the best schools for the money. They have two departments that are NSF funded and are still not too expensive!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun around campus and the town. There is a lake, the movies, bowling, and so much more! There is always something happening around campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are all sorts of food options! There is also a station open twenty four hours!

    Dorm Life

    There are so many opportunities and friends to encounter living in a dorm! They are clean, fun, and filled with energy.

    Academic Rigor

    The course difficulty depends on the courses you are taking. The science program is fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Northwest, you should really make relationships with your teachers. If you show up on time, participate in discussions, and make an effort professors will go above and beyond to help you.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Missouri State University is a close knit, fantastic school. I know all of my teachers and students really well. Everyone is kind and helpful!

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I've been here a few times to drop off my cousin and gone on a visit. I never miss a chance to check it out! I love the town and the school and cant wait to go!

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwest's campus always feels safe no matter what time, day or night, it is.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on campus is amazing. There are many different social and honorary fraternities and sororities. The different fraternities and sororities work together and lift each other up and gives all students involved a sense of belonging.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest is great for all kinds of students. Whether they be shy or outgoing.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a decent price for the quality of the education received.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and groups to be involved in. There are many theatrical performances throughout the semester to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good compared to other campuses. The food court hours are sometimes inconvenient especially near holidays and finals week.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls have a great sense of togetherness and community.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest's classes challenge their students to achieve success. They push you to go above and beyond what you feel you are capable of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to go for something whether it be a job, position, or leadership role in a group because everyone has an equal opportunity.

    In three sentences

    I think Northwest Missouri State University is one of the best schools that students can attend. They have a variety of programs and majors/ minors. There is a diverse student body and clubs to join in your time there.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northwest I think is the most safe place in the world, the police are strict and always patrolling everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is surprisingly excellent. You have a wide range of choices to suite your needs from salads to burgers and pastas.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly, willing to help you whenever you need it, and there are no problems with having room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    I must say, Northwest is very strict academically. You cannot come here to think you can cheat your way through college, because that will just get you kicked out. You get what you work for, there are no free marks.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an athlete it is a great place to join and create new friends very fast. If you think you struggle academically, Professors will go out their way to help you as much as they can to make you understand the work.

    In three sentences

    I believe Northwest is a real life experience. Northwest is well known for both the academic side and the sport side and I see that. It has a really great campus with the most helpful and friendly people that you can find.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe as far as I know

    Greek Life

    I've heard of several~not my thing

    Clubs and Activities

    Not my thing so I don't know

    Great for these types of students

    Small city, fairly contained campus, diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    D2-Football champs or contenders most years~Makes for a great atmosphere in the fall season.

    Bang for the buck

    Free laundry ~ Textbooks and laptop are free

    What to do for fun

    We play basketball and sand volleyball. Hang out in each others rooms

    Food and Dining

    Not bad

    Dorm Life

    I like it and I plan to return to dorm life my sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your high school career. I was a 3.9 and am slightly challenged by NWMSU.

    In three sentences

    Great college! Good academics plus lots of non-academic activities. I plan to return next year.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I find working out fun and they have a gym that students can use. I also enjoy sports and this school has great school spirt; so watching the different sports and cheering them on is always fun. They also have concerts once in a while.

    Food and Dining

    Northwest has so many different choices you can choose from. They have many places that you can sit down and eat, or just grab and go. You can even walk into the little town of MaryVille and find other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I love how there are different dorms you can choose from. I also like how they arent too far apart so you can easily just walk to your friends. The things they offer are great too.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest has many different majors. They have a great education and athletic trainnig programs. Students here become very successful and finding jobs after college with the help of Northwest.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police patrolling at all times and a police station on campus.

    Greek Life

    Lots of different sororities and frats to get involved with.

    Clubs and Activities

    WIDE variety of clubs ranging from accounting club to anime club. Students VERY involved in on campus activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody! There are lots of ways to get involved for those who love sports, hate sports, are dedicated to school, or like to be social. You can be a quick learner or need extra help and still succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jump into Colden Pond at freezing temperatures!

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable for the size of school. Textbooks and Laptops are included in tuition, which is a huge plus!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your friends on or off campus! Movie theater, places to dance, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Great! Getting new foods options that include buffet style as well as Chick-Fil-A, Starbucks, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of options for places to live. May live in a new suite style dorm, the older dorms, apartments, frat houses, etc. Many options off campus also.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you to apply yourself and what you have learned. Very helpful if you don't understand the matieral.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will live it! Give it a shot & at least visit!

    In three sentences

    The campus is very easy to navigate with short walking distance between classes. Professors are more than happy to help you out. There is always something to do on campus so that you feel involved.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Residential Life is always planning activities for students to enjoy. Some of these include concerts, ice skaing, buffets, and movie nights. If you enjoy football the Bearcats are a great team to watch on Saturdays.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is switching to a new dining plan in the 2013 Fall semester. According to the new plan there will be many great places to eat. There is also a small store that you can buy snack food and other supplies (trash bags, cleaning supplies) and is open 24hours. You can also use your meal card on the vending machines all over campus for a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are alright and pricy. There are two choices for incoming freshmen, Hudson-Perrin and the high rises (Deitrich, Phillips, Franken, Milikan). The high rises are the better choice because of the cheaper pricing and the atmosphere. The Hudson-Perrin complex is a much quieter dormlife, if you would like to meet new people this is not the dorm to choose.

    Academic Rigor

    Northwest can be a challenge. Many of the departments are competitive in terms of academic rigor in their classes. The professors generally care about your education and provide courses that are hard, yet challenge the students. You are expected to study the material discussed in class as well as the material in the textbook. If you do fall behind the professors are there to help you. It should not be hard for a dedicated student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus more than once if you are able. This is to be sure that you are okay with Mayville's unpredictable weather (it is very windy). Maryville also doesn't have much to do around the town on a down day, this is the reason why many people transfer out of the school after their first year. Be sure that you don't have to do that.

    In three sentences

    Northwest is a great school to go to because of the small class sizes, this ensures that the student gets the attention they need for their education. It is also relatively affordable for in-state students, that means more money in your pocket. They also have a book rental program that is paid in the tuition, it is $20 and it can get you almost every textbook you need for your classes.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome. I feel secure on campus with 24/7 security patrol and escort hours.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is the way to get connected to a lot of amazing people.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides a lot of activities for any and everyone on campus to join.

    Food and Dining

    FOOD! I love to eat & NWMSU has some great food. With the new renovations they are doing to the campus dining this year. I think the food will be even better than before. From Noodles to Quiznos to Grilled Works, the food will be a lot better.

    Dorm Life

    It's different from living at home with mommy and daddy but as you get use to the dorm life, you will soon love the dorm life. As a 19 year old, the freedom was the best but with all the freedom comes responsibility.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is key to college success. I would say that the academic rigor is great. Professors love to see their students succeed and they will go that extra step to help students.

    In three sentences

    Northwest Missouri State University is my home away from home. The people are friendly, the environment is uplifting, and the professors take care of you. I love Northwest Missouri State University because it provides first year college students with the materials they need to be prepared in the future.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the best things about Northwest. I feel really safe here and we can always call for a ride if we need it.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone. I have met some wonderful friends that I know will be my best friends for the rest of my life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to join that if you don't find one that interest you, you are probably not trying very hard.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a place to make a difference and find close friends, this is the school for you. You can get to know your professors and you are not just a number. It's small enough that you can always see someone you know and big enough that you can always meet someone new.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable and everyone gets a laptop. Books are rented which saves a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. You can always go to the gym or to a movie or take advantage of the concerts and ballgames on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We have a completely new dining plan this year that is really flexible.

    Dorm Life

    Great facilities that are close to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult but you can always get help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something!

    In three sentences

    I love Northwest and recommend it all the time.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are awesome and the safe rides program can really be useful and effective.

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports here are a joke. Almost every team requires freshman to redshirt. They put athletes on a 5 1/2 year graduating track and won't allow you to take harder classes or majors. They also want you to take 12 credits per semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Small-town students looking for a good education only.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education, but other than that not good. Do not get that college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really, very laid-back, boring campus and surrounding town.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't great. Same thing everyday. Portions are ridiculously small. Chick-Fil-A and other restaurants on campus, but you have to pay to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    Wi-fi is horrible and have to pay to get better wi-fi service. Dorms are old, small, and run down.

    Academic Rigor

    Quality teachers and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here if you are looking to have a college town atmosphere. Really small and absolutely nothing to do.

    In three sentences

    Cheap, quality education, but the education is the only quality thing. You have to pay to workout in the student weight room and the cafeteria is awful. There is also nothing to do in Maryville, and Saint Joseph is 45 minutes away.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town of Maryville is a pretty safe place overall, low crime rate.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Science Research Group for research experience as a psychology or sociology major. Anime club is a good club to join just for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Not much choices for someone with food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Have not experienced good luck with random roommate assignment system.

    Academic Rigor

    Study for your classes, many of the teachers use the textbook and the lecture material for their tests. Some classes are harder depending on the teacher. Most teachers will help you if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start working on building relationships with some of the professors in the field you want to go into so that they will be good references for job applications or grad school. Joining a club that the professor is an advisor for is a great way for the teacher to get to know you outside of class. Also taking a multiple classes with a teacher that you enjoy is another good way for them to get to know you.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I didn't participate in this.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    non that I have seen so far

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of sororities and fraternities even different clubs to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its way easier if you have all of your classes back to back instead of spreading them out. Trust me..

    In three sentences

    Its smaller than other colleges so its easier to get to your classes on time. They have good places to eat. They also have a lot of outside activities for everyone to participate in, overall its a very good college.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many college related actvities. Maryville is small be very Bearcat focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit this campus and meet the department heads for yourself, you will be sold.

    In three sentences

    This is a great University full of opportunities. Great people, I have met a number of new friends. Northwest Missouri State has a very beautiful campus. I love my professors, every class is actually taught by professors and not student aids. I am grateful for making such a good decision.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    NWMSU is worth my every penny. I love it here and I'm so glad I decided to go here. They have my major!

    What to do for fun

    I participate in the BMB, student activities council and 102 River Wildlife Club. I like hanging out with friends and walking around the beautiful campus. I also like to go to basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    There is the station located between the high rises. The union is an all you can eat buffet with numerous choices. There is also Chick-fil-A, Zen, and Einstein Bros.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the high rises. Everything is close to where I live and its really convinient. Free laundry is also available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but it is definately worth it. Just put your best foot forward and you will succeed. Attendance to all classes will also help you stay on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything NWMSU has to offer. You get free laundry, free textbooks, and a free laptop computer. There are also numerous resouces available such as the TDC to help tutor you for free.

    In three sentences

    NWMSU has a beautiful campus. The people here are so friendly and extremely helpful in assisting me with anything I need. This school has pleanty of oppertunities to get involved with things such as sports, music, art, religion, etc.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    good for people seeking for knowledge

    Tips for prospective students

    good for people seeking for knowledge

    In three sentences

    its good for study but little tough course work less campus jobs in rural area

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Barely any campus crime. I believe that is due to our own campus police that patrol 24/7. Dorms are safe as I said before and the whole campus is well lit with emergency stations every 100 feet or so.

    Greek Life

    Not a greek myself, but there are several on campus. Very involved and good times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to do if you want to take the time and do it.

    Great for these types of students

    Education, AgScience, AgBusiness, Geology, Geography, GIS/GPS, and just started a new program and is top of the art in Disaster Relief and Response

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an old church about 10 miles outside of town that has some lore about it and is said to be haunted. Weird tales surround it, and it seems like at some point every student makes their way out to it to check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition and great education. This college also has one of the highest job placements for graduates in their career field at 95%,

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports,disc golf, usually activities at the union weekly, many speakers come to campus, usually have a spring and fall concert, and have some comedians come to campus as well throughout the year, there are a ton of activities throughout the year to keep you busy so if you're bored it's your own fault. The town has few fun things to do. There are community sports for every season, a large swimming pool, 2 golf courses (Mozingo and Country Club), the Hangar (movie theater), several bars to go out to (The Palms is my favorite), Bearcat Lanes (bowling alley), Mozingo Lake has camping, swimming, boating, and many more outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a new dining hall in the Student Union, containing Papa Johns, Chik-fil-a, Einstein Bros. Bagels, and many other restaurants to satisfy anyone's palate. There are many flavors to choose from including japanese style cuisine, tex mex, italian, and homestyle cooking. There are stores in the food area of the Union (milk and produce), community building of the Apartments (anything for apartment dwellers), and a grocery store in the station. The town itself has many options from fast food to sitdown meals and one of the best mexican restaurants I have ever eaten at, La Bonita.

    Dorm Life

    NWMSU has revamped dorms. There are Suites and Apartments for upperclassmen. They are very secure with a person working the front desk at all times and having electronic entry by fob only. There are many activities put on by hall directors and RA's. The entire floor will become like a family to you. And many of your friends will stem from who you meet while living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The college has one of the best Education programs in the nation and has an elementary on campus so that students will get hands on education from the start of their degree. NWMSU has a great Ag and Ag Science department and is a leading program at NW. NWMSU is growing every semester and more and more majors are starting, too. The classes are challenging, but it's college and should be. The best thing is that the class sizes allow for a lot of interaction with the professor so if you are having trouble, help is readily available. There is a great tutor program in the library and the Talent Development Center is open and has tutors from open to close.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared for the ever changing weather. Maryville sits on the line of 2 temperate zones and receives a definite 4 seasons. It can be 70 degrees one day and snowing the next. It gets hot during the summer and usually has a relatively high humidity. Use SafeRide, a campus shuttle program, that will take you to random places in town. It will save you on gas and you can use it to go out on the town for the night. It is always better to have a sober ride than to be sorry. The college and town prides itself upon the NWMSU Bearcats. The football team has won 3 National Championships in the past 15 years, so try and make it out to cheer on this great football team. The women's and men's basketball teams are pretty good as well. The sports program overall is a good one and a staple of this college town.

    In three sentences

    NWMSU is a great university with a family atmosphere. The campus is between 6,000 to 7,000 students so it is small enough to become familiar with people, but large enough to always meet new people and make new friends. The town itself is a very proud and welcoming town that has activities for students and alumni alike.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    More than enough clubs and organizations on campus. They range from sports to Greek Life to anime and anything else between. If you can't find what you like, you can start your own club. There are also big name performances on campus every semester. We've had Goo Goo Dolls and Tech-9 in the past with other big names I can't remember off the top of my head. And we have a championship winning football team, so those can be fun to watch as well.

    Food and Dining

    This is the only draw back that I have. We have a new dining system on campus. Downstairs of the Student Union is an all-you-care-to-eat buffet, but the portion sizes are small and if you are in a rush between classes, it isn't very useful.

    Dorm Life

    The residential halls are dated, but are still fun and social. If I hadn't lived on-campus, I probably would be an awkward, non-social person. (At least more than I am right now)

    Academic Rigor

    I think that the teachers push you to think. the classes are fairly small, unless you are in one of the gen. ed. science classes, then it could be up to 100 people. I have had classes mainly in three departments (Psych, Natural Sciences, and Computer Tech.) All three departments vary in difficulty, but all teachers push at some point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't use all of your meal plan money at the beginning of semester. Break it up throughout the semester or you will be disappointed at mid-terms. Also, Hudson/Perrin may be NEWER but that doesn't necessarily mean it is BETTER. You will have more fun and more interaction with people at the high-rises.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best colleges for your money in-state, possibly in the mid-west. Living on campus is required for freshmen and can get expensive, but the social aspect (especially making friends) more than makes up for it. The school provides the major things for you, like a laptop, textbooks for class, and a bookstore with anything else you might need for class.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout with the friends I made here at school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard Have fun

    In three sentences

    Northwest has given me amazing oppertunities to achieve my degree. I may struggle at school but they gave me the chance to a brighter future. I really enjoy going to school here!

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around driving by and everything. The University Police station is right on campus so they are readily available to the students if necessary. The police officers are also very nice and respectful to the students.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is fantastic. The sororities and fraternities try to stay close to each other and connected so that everyone could get the great experience and unity of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 150 clubs and organizations all over campus, so it gives students great opportunities to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Education and theater majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a kissing bridge by our central pond on campus that many people get in relationships at or even married at.

    Bang for the buck

    You get free laptops, textbooks, transportation, tutoring, and a ton more that is included into tuition. It's totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I study, work out, get involved with activities on campus, and experience the Northwest nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    They just changed the food court area and now it's really inconvenient and doesn't taste very good.

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls are close to campus yet they are far enough to make it so it doesn't feel like you live literally on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It just depends on the major you have. As a science major my academic rigor is much harder than say a business major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Go to tutors. Go to SI sessions. Go to the free concerts and speakers. Don't let Maryville intimidate you. Avoid getting an MIP, it gets put in the paper.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school surrounded by a community that supports it's students. It is a great environment with smaller classes so you just don't feel like a number. And you are sure to have a great time here.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a wonderful job, and they do their best when dealing with all cases. From fights, lost or stolen items, or speeding tickets the officers keep campus a pleasurable place to be. They also offer a program called Safe Ride. This program gives students jobs, students drive a campus van to safely give students rides to anywhere in town they need to go. It can be to the super-center for groceries, a friends house, or to safely get home from a party.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities to join, and they host charity events, game days for everyone on campus to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Northwest has many great opportunities to be involved in Greek life and sports teams.

    What to do for fun

    Campus offers a free gym to stay in shape, the dorms offer hang out areas with televisions and games, there are tennis courts and game fields, and the sidewalks are great for taking walks. Not only does campus have activities, but the town has multiple parks, dance clubs, a movie theater and a bowling alley.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, and do things such as joining extracurricular activities and clubs, things you wouldn't normally do. Be involved and don't be afraid to talk to your professors about any work.

    In three sentences

    Northwest has fantastic opportunities for students in every way. From jobs and internships, to greek life and graduate programs. Staff and professors are willing to help any way they can by giving free tutoring and study sessions.

  • 07/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty big on safety, and they offer a safe-ride program. Although sometimes the Safe Rides is not too reliable.

    Greek Life

    I can't really speak much on Greek life, but I do know that they usually are apart of the many big events that go on around campus. There are a good amount to choose from. Greek and non-Greek relations are decent but I think they could be better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for everybody. There are peer education groups (To Write Love On Her Arms), comedy/improv clubs (Comedy Inc.), groups that support LGBTQ rights (Common Ground), Student Senate, intramural sports. Basically, if you're interested in it, there is a high chance you'll find it.You can always start your own club as well

    Great for these types of students

    Nature-lovers, science oriented, people that love a sense of community, people who are looking for a school that not too big and not too small.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't had any personal experiences, but a lot of people have said that Roberta Hall (the sorority dorm on campus) is haunted, although its not really serious. It is also a tradition that the goalpost gets sawed down after the Bearcats playoff game.

    Bang for the buck

    I would definitely consider this one of the most affordable universities out there, especially for out-of-state students. They also offer a scholarship that covers the out-of-state fee for out-of-state students.

    What to do for fun

    While Maryville is not necessarily the biggest town, it is not that far from St. Joseph which is where a lot of people go to shop and eat. It does have the usual stuff, like a movie theatre, bowling alley, Applebees, a Wal-Mart. However, whenever there is a Bearcat football game, you can feel the school spirit (we were undefeated and the Division II champion this year!) and its a big deal.

    Food and Dining

    There are some decent food choices on the second floor of the union including, Chick-fil-a and Einstein Brothers Bagels. There is a Starbucks located in the library. The Bearcat Commons can get really old really fast, and sometimes the food is not the best. It's also kind of hard to find healthy choices of food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great way to meet people. The high rises, even though they are not the nicest looking, are the best places to meet people. Just keep your door open and people will stop by. Make sure you bring flip flops for the shower! It's kind of hard to meet people in Perrin-Hudson because even though they are freshman dorms they are kind of secluded from the rest of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the general education classes, don't require much rigor. However, once you start getting into classes related to your major (especially science majors), you want to be prepared to pick up the pace. Also, spring semester is typically more hectic with academics because it is shorter, so sometimes it may feel like the tests are never ending. Overall, expect to put in work so you can achieve the grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for any and all financial aid as soon as possible. The financial aid office is usually as helpful as they can be. Please get to know your professors and participate in class discussions. They are always more than happy to help and open to any questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    This is a good place to attend school if you're looking for a not-too-big, not-too-small school. Be prepared to layer up and deal with harsh winters here. The professors here are very willing to help but do expect you to put in the work to get the grades.